Down Club Hurling & Football

Started by Lecale2, November 10, 2006, 12:06:55 AM

Trevor Hill

umpire

Fantasic Clonduff player, had great memories of  Patsy O'Hagan
May he Rest In Peace

redandblack4ever

I'll never forget the night that I met Patsy O'Hagan. It was before Christmas of 1981. My husband, a Clonduff man born and bred, had taken me to Ireland for a "delayed" honeymoon.  We were in the hotel in Hilltown (before it was remodeled in the 90's) it was getting late and I was getting a little aggravated at Mr. Wonderful, because I was tired and I wanted to go home. 

Needless to say, Patsy O'Hagan came to my rescue, he collared Mr. Wonderful, who he had known forever, and drove us home to Mr. Wonderful's mothers' house. I didn't realize who he was until he walked into the sitting room and my mother-in-law (RIP) said to Patsy,  "Well Patsy you're very welcome home from Galway. " At that I made the connection of who this stranger was and I was overwhelmed.  He sat down with us in the sitting room, had breakfast, looked at our wedding pictures, and had the craic with my MIL and Mr. Wonderful, while I sat there, like a gobshite, with my mouth hanging open.  I was in the presence of a GAA legend and my in-laws actually knew him.

He was a lovely man and my sympathy goes to all of his family.

As we Irish-Americans say, "God broke the mold when he made Patsy, we'lll be lucky to ever see the likes of him again."

RIP, Patsy

Mrs. redandblack4 ever 

"A nation of sheep will beget a government of wolves."Edward R. Murrow,American Jounalist,1908-1965

BRIDGE LAD

Joe Umbrella (hey)

Interesting to note that having played 5 games in the NFL Down have the best defensive record accross the 4 divisions with the least scores conceded. Only 2 goals conceded also, a penalty against Armagh and a goal that was'nt a goal by Tipp.

Not bad for a team with 'no defenders', hope they keep it up through to the summer.

Leo

Quote from: goldenyears on March 20, 2010, 11:04:23 PM

Down team:

Keeper - great kick out but dodgy enough in gen play:wud prefer mcveigh Alder is better choice
D Raff - class performance, heart like a lion
Agreed
McArdle - not the answer + roasted by McDonnell
Most full backs can be roasted by McDonald - I'd give him another chance
Dan - not good - struggles for height + pace v top class players
Foul-a-minute will expose us to too many scores
McKernan - played well, composed on ball + seems to have grown set of balls
Improving all the time - definitely his best position
Colgan - did well, hardly put a foot wrong
Showing leadership too
King - 3 excellent catches - looked sound despite recent performances
MOM as far as I'm concerned - a real addition
Ambrose - just ok - didn't get those surging runs going but kicked a glorious free at end
More than ok - put in a power of work despite some loose passing
Kearney - seems to lack confidence to be positive; def a worker - little contribution
James sees something in him - a few more games to assess
Clarke - absolute class act; hurt hip I hear and will be ok
Would prefer to see him play from a wing position
McGinn - love this fellas range of passing + vision
Smart and game, a big addition
Hughes - my MOM - carried ball superbly - serious turbo boost pace
Great performance
Benny - looked like a leader - class all over + trademark catch!
Looks back to his zippy best
Clarke - poor tonight, handling bad which is not like him - Donaghy def had better
Fared ok against a very good defender
Poland - not great, mixed bag
Disagree - I think he had a very industrious and effective game
Laverty - excellent when came on, never lost a ball + used well. Wee hoor lol
A great man to have in the squad.
You omitted Garvey - good solid game
Brannigan looked more than assured when he came on.

Fierce tame altogether

T O Hare

Quote from: BRIDGE LAD on March 22, 2010, 09:47:56 AM
Any Acprl results from yest?

Mayobridge  1-11 0-7 Kilcoo  Mayobridge   
Saval  4-10 3-9 Loughinisland  Saval   
ACPRL Division 2

Ballymartin  3-14 1-4 Annaclone  Ballymartin   
Tullylish  0-5 0-0 Downpatrick  Tullylish   
Carryduff  2-14 1-2 Bredagh  Carryduff   
St Johns  3-6 3-10 Ballyholland  St Johns

outstanding games are to be played during the week!
"2008 Gaaboard Cheltenham fantasy league winner"

guevara

On Saturday nights team

ALDER-  Kick outs were good but seriously at fault for the penalty. Shoulder took McDonnell & ball in first half & indecision lead to Armagh score
MCCARTAN- Ok he was at fault for the penalty but Armagh had a big FF line to be fair. Thought he went well despite fact that certain sections will never give the fella the credit some of his performances deserve
MCARDLE- Good on ball & good athlete but struggled with McDonnells cuteness
RAFFERTY- Downs best defender. Tough in the tackle & lightening quick
MCKERNAN- In my opinion he was poor. Caught 5/6 yards off his man all night. Could have walked on another day for an elbow
COLGAN- Good game & fact Armagh went to 14 allowed him to become the free man. But will be tested by a CHF who plays on him for the full game
GARVEY- No nonsense defender. Does it simple all the time. Good solid game
RODGERS- Quiet enough game but kicked some good scores.
KING- MOM for me. Matched Armagh's physical approach around the middle & came out on top
HUGHES- Worked all night for ball & provided an outlet for his half backs
CLARKE- Was giving McKeever the run around before having to come off. Has given Down a genuine playmaker at 11.
KEARNEY- With tactic of letting Colgan sit free even with 15 Hughes & Kearney are required to do the dirty work. Done his job with no fuss
POLAND- Was out in front but put off the ball too easy at times
CLARKE-Wasnt given enough good ball in. Fighting for scraps
COULTER- Back to his best in glimpses. Put the fear of God in Armagh defenders & his catch near the end was worth the admission alone.
MAGINN-He looked impish on that field!! Lost the ball too many times & cant see him getting in that side
LAVERY-Breath of fresh air. Lifted the side with his workrate & think he will start come the Championship

But we need to get back to reality before getting carried away! Great performance yes but Armagh were poor also.
A few of their boys seemed more interested in getting involved with opposing players than with the game. This suited Down who had the cooler heads & it was evident an Armagh player would walk sooner or later! McKeever & Morriarty were playing into our hands & became distracted by the occasion!
They also lacked a guy able to take out the Down defensive system by putting the ball over the bar from outside the 40. Guys like the McEntees would've done this & in my opinion outside of McDonnell Armagh lacked any genuine threat.
But onwards & upwards for Down who continue to impress under McCartan, McIver & Tally
"Some people want it to happen, some wish it would happen, others make it happen"

Michael Jordan

DownFanatic

Marsbar Kid, this should be of interest to you.

EDRL  Section A

Rd.One & Ten

Aughlisnafin   v   Kilcoo   
St. John's   v   Teconnaught   
Liatroim   v   Castlewellan   
Bryansford   v   Dundrum   
Drumaness   v   Bye   

Rd.Two & Eleven

Teconnaught   v   Drumaness   
Castlewellan   v   Bryansford   
Dundrum   v   Liatroim   
Kilcoo   v   St. John's   
Aughlisnafin   v   Bye   

Rd Three & Twelve

Aughlisnafin   v   St. John's   
Liatroim   v   Kilcoo   
Bryansford   v   Teconnaught   
Drumaness   v   Castlewellan   
Dundrum   v   Bye   

Rd.Four & Thirteen

Teconnaught   v   Dundrum   
Kilcoo   v   Bryansford   
St. John's   v   Drumaness   
Aughlisnafin   v   Castlewellan   
Liatroim   v   Bye   

Rd. Five & Fourteen

Bryansford   v   Aughlisnafin   
Kilcoo   v   Teconnaught   
St. John's   v   Dundrum   
Liatroim   v   Drumaness   
Castlewellan   v   Bye   

Rd Six & Fifteen

Aughlisnafin   v   Liatroim   
Bryansford   v   St. John's   
Drumaness   v   Kilcoo   
Dundrum   v   Castlewellan   
Teconnaught   v   Bye   

Rd Seven & Sixteen

Teconnaught   v   Liatroim   
Kilcoo   v   Dundrum   
Castlewellan   v   St. John's   
Drumaness   v   Aughlisnafin   
Bryansford   v   Bye   

Rd Eight & Seventeen

Liatroim   v   Bryansford   
Castlewellan   v   Kilcoo   
Aughlisnafin   v   Teconnaught   
Dundrum   v   Drumaness   
St. John's   v   Bye   

Rd.Nine & Eighteen

Liatroim   v   St. John's   
Bryansford   v   Drumaness   
Dundrum   v   Aughlisnafin   
Teconnaught   v   Castlewellan   
Kilcoo   v   Bye   

EDRL Section B

Rd.One & Ten

Dromara   v   Bredagh   
Bright   v   Darragh Cross   
Saul   v   St. Paul's   
Kilclief   v   Carryduff   
Ardglass   v   Bye   

Rd.Two & Eleven

Darragh Cross   v   Ardglass   
St. Paul's   v   Kilclief   
Carryduff   v   Saul   
Bredagh   v   Bright   
Dromara   v   Bye   

Rd Three & Twelve

Dromara   v   Bright   
Saul   v   Bredagh   
Kilclief   v   Darragh Cross   
Ardglass   v   St. Paul's   
Carryduff   v   Bye   

Rd.Four & Thirteen

Darragh Cross   v   Carryduff   
Bredagh   v   Kilclief   
Bright   v   Ardglass   
Dromara   v   St. Paul's   
Saul   v   Bye   

Rd. Five & Fourteen

Kilclief   v   Dromara   
Bredagh   v   Darragh Cross   
Bright   v   Carryduff   
Saul   v   Ardglass   
St. Paul's   v   Bye   

Rd Six & Fifteen

Dromara   v   Saul   
Kilclief   v   Bright   
Ardglass   v   Bredagh   
Carryduff   v   St. Paul's   
Darragh Cross   v   Bye   

Rd Seven & Sixteen

Darragh Cross   v   Saul   
Bredagh   v   Carryduff   
St. Paul's   v   Bright   
Ardglass   v   Dromara   
Kilclief   v   Bye   

Rd Eight & Seventeen

Saul   v   Kilclief   
St. Paul's   v   Bredagh   
Dromara   v   Darragh Cross   
Carryduff   v   Ardglass   
Bright   v   Bye   

Rd.Nine & Eighteen

Saul   v   Bright   
Kilclief   v   Ardglass   
Carryduff   v   Dromara   
Darragh Cross   v   St. Paul's   
Bredagh   v   Bye   

marsbarkid

Thanks DF, i've been trying 2 find that out for a long time!! Was hoping Dromara wud b in our section tho. :-[ Any eord of a starting date yet?

DownFanatic

Quote from: marsbarkid on March 22, 2010, 07:54:09 PM
Thanks DF, i've been trying 2 find that out for a long time!! Was hoping Dromara wud b in our section tho. :-[ Any eord of a starting date yet?

No word of a starting date. You just have to take it one step at a time with the East Down Board in regards to these matters  ;)

No hoper

Any1 know where the under 21 game is on wednesday night?

Trevor Hill

Quote from: No hoper on March 22, 2010, 09:44:58 PM
Any1 know where the under 21 game is on wednesday night?

Breffmi Park at 8pm

EagleLord

What are Down chances of getting 3 Ulster U21 championships in a row? I think Tyrone have done that before have they?

wobbller

Quote from: guevara on March 22, 2010, 02:19:00 PM
On Saturday nights team

ALDER-  Kick outs were good but seriously at fault for the penalty. Shoulder took McDonnell & ball in first half & indecision lead to Armagh score
MCCARTAN- Ok he was at fault for the penalty but Armagh had a big FF line to be fair. Thought he went well despite fact that certain sections will never give the fella the credit some of his performances deserve
MCARDLE- Good on ball & good athlete but struggled with McDonnells cuteness
RAFFERTY- Downs best defender. Tough in the tackle & lightening quick
MCKERNAN- In my opinion he was poor. Caught 5/6 yards off his man all night. Could have walked on another day for an elbow
COLGAN- Good game & fact Armagh went to 14 allowed him to become the free man. But will be tested by a CHF who plays on him for the full game
GARVEY- No nonsense defender. Does it simple all the time. Good solid game
RODGERS- Quiet enough game but kicked some good scores.
KING- MOM for me. Matched Armagh's physical approach around the middle & came out on top
HUGHES- Worked all night for ball & provided an outlet for his half backs
CLARKE- Was giving McKeever the run around before having to come off. Has given Down a genuine playmaker at 11.
KEARNEY- With tactic of letting Colgan sit free even with 15 Hughes & Kearney are required to do the dirty work. Done his job with no fuss
POLAND- Was out in front but put off the ball too easy at times
CLARKE-Wasnt given enough good ball in. Fighting for scraps
COULTER- Back to his best in glimpses. Put the fear of God in Armagh defenders & his catch near the end was worth the admission alone.
MAGINN-He looked impish on that field!! Lost the ball too many times & cant see him getting in that side
LAVERY-Breath of fresh air. Lifted the side with his workrate & think he will start come the Championship

But we need to get back to reality before getting carried away! Great performance yes but Armagh were poor also.
A few of their boys seemed more interested in getting involved with opposing players than with the game. This suited Down who had the cooler heads & it was evident an Armagh player would walk sooner or later! McKeever & Morriarty were playing into our hands & became distracted by the occasion!
They also lacked a guy able to take out the Down defensive system by putting the ball over the bar from outside the 40. Guys like the McEntees would've done this & in my opinion outside of McDonnell Armagh lacked any genuine threat.
But onwards & upwards for Down who continue to impress under McCartan, McIver & Tally

Not forgetting Jerome J!