GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 08, 2017, 10:46:40 PM

Title: Top 10
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 08, 2017, 10:46:40 PM
Rate your top 10 teams in the country

1 Dublin

2 Tyrone
3 Kerry

4 Mayo

5 Roscommon
6 Monaghan
7 Armagh
8 Cavan
9 Galway
10 Tipp

Kildare gal ros mon don down cavan armagh cork tipp
Title: Re: Top 10
Post by: omagh_gael on August 08, 2017, 10:50:30 PM
Dublin

Kerry

Mayo - Tyrone

No point rating the rest based on this year's championship
Post by: J70 on August 08, 2017, 10:50:50 PM
There's not a whole lot to go on when rating anyone in the ten or so below Mayo.

Are Roscommon better than Monaghan, for example?

Would they beat Galway a second time?

Are Armagh better than Donegal? Are Cavan? Are both better than Galway?

Its all over the place this year.
Post by: Orior on August 08, 2017, 10:53:25 PM
1. Dublin
2. Kerry
3. Mayo
4. Tyrone
5. Galway
6. Kildare
7. Donegal
8. Roscommon
9. Cork
10. Monaghan
Post by: seafoid on August 08, 2017, 11:45:25 PM
Mayo
Dublin
Kerry
Throne
Galway
Kildare
Monaghan
Roscommon
Armagh
Carlow
Post by: Solo_run on August 08, 2017, 11:49:14 PM
Dublin
Kerry
Tyrone
Mayo
Galway
Monaghan
Roscommon
Armagh
Kildare
Cork
Post by: From the Bunker on August 09, 2017, 12:33:29 AM
Dublin
Kerry
Tyrone
Mayo
Cork
Roscommon
Galway
Monaghan
Down
Armagh

Post by: Syferus on August 09, 2017, 01:24:13 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 09, 2017, 12:33:29 AM
Dublin
Kerry
Tyrone
Mayo
Cork
Roscommon
Galway
Monaghan
Down
Armagh

Cork don't deserve to be near a top ten list.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 09, 2017, 01:36:07 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 09, 2017, 01:24:13 PM
Dublin
Kerry
Tyrone
Mayo
Cork
Roscommon
Galway
Monaghan
Down
Armagh

But they took Mayo to extra time, ye lot took Mayo to a replay...

Btw, Bunker if Cork and Ros are in your top 10, what about Derry? They took us to extra time too.

Et cetera... 
Post by: punt kick on August 09, 2017, 02:25:21 PM
Dublin
Kerry
Tyrone
Mayo
Cork
Roscommon
Galway
Monaghan
Down
Armagh

Nor Armagh.
Post by: rosnarun on August 09, 2017, 02:45:02 PM
Quote from: punt kick on August 09, 2017, 02:25:21 PM
Dublin
Kerry
Tyrone
Mayo
Cork
Roscommon
Galway
Monaghan
Down
Armagh

Nor Armagh.

of the teams ive seen this year Cork look to have the best chance of crossing the Gap to the top 4 then Kildare and i would have said galway but i think they need a few stronger players in the backs and midfield if they can find them.
where as i think the rossies down and Armagh got every bit of value out of the team this year and donegal and monaghan are in reverse 
Wexford could have made a breakthrough but i think Banty outsmarted himself ar rge end of the league

Dublin
Mayo
Kerry
Tyrone
Cork
Monaghan
Galway
Armagh
Down
Clare
Post by: punt kick on August 09, 2017, 02:47:08 PM
The truth is there is no top ten - there is a top 4 and then a huge gap to a collection of counties who are on a par.
Post by: mrhardyannual on August 09, 2017, 03:02:51 PM
Quote from: punt kick on August 09, 2017, 02:47:08 PM
The truth is there is no top ten - there is a top 4 and then a huge gap to a collection of counties who are on a par.
I'd agree. Outside of the top four and regardless of results, Kildare would have struck me as the team that had improved the most and have found big athletic type players who will continue to improve. Galway have a problem in the full-back line and midfield that could be sorted quickly and as both will operate out of Div 1 next year I would expect improvement. Tipp have players but the lure of hurling might hold them back but they look better able to survive Div 2 than Clare. Cork are sleeping giants who could emerge rapidly just as their hurlers did with proper leadership. Donegal and Monaghan could be in for a quiet period. Down & Armagh might take a while to build. A big winter for the Rossies and Royals.
Post by: Hound on August 09, 2017, 03:17:53 PM
Funny thing is, if you took the top 4 out, there'd be at least 10 teams who'd think they could win the All Ireland and more than 20 teams who'd think they could win their provincial title.

In such a scenario I think the bookies would make Cork marginal favourites for the All Ireland, just ahead of Galway.
Post by: mrhardyannual on August 09, 2017, 03:24:14 PM
Quote from: Hound on August 09, 2017, 03:17:53 PM
Funny thing is, if you took the top 4 out, there'd be at least 10 teams who'd think they could win the All Ireland and more than 20 teams who'd think they could win their provincial title.

In such a scenario I think the bookies would make Cork marginal favourites for the All Ireland, just ahead of Galway.

After winning the League six times in a row in the 1930s Mayo withdrew from the league for a year (to give the weaker counties a chance ;D). Perhaps we could ask Dublin to do something similar when they complete the inevitable six in a row.
Unfortunately Mayo won the league again on their first year back! ;D ;D ;D
Post by: twohands!!! on August 09, 2017, 05:43:05 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on August 09, 2017, 02:45:02 PM
Dublin
Kerry
Tyrone
Mayo
Cork
Roscommon
Galway
Monaghan
Down
Armagh

Nor Armagh.

of the teams ive seen this year Cork look to have the best chance of crossing the Gap to the top 4 then Kildare and i would have said galway but i think they need a few stronger players in the backs and midfield if they can find them.
where as i think the rossies down and Armagh got every bit of value out of the team this year and donegal and monaghan are in reverse 
Wexford could have made a breakthrough but i think Banty outsmarted himself ar rge end of the league

Dublin
Mayo
Kerry
Tyrone
Cork
Monaghan
Galway
Armagh
Down
Clare

Cork??
Cork whose best forward this year was a 36 year old Donnacha O'Connor and who have zero idea whatsoever how to defend.
Cork who struggled to beat Waterford by a point.
Cork who are going to be struggling massively for cash to pay for the white elephant of a stadium.
Cork whose county board sees football as a bit of a nuisance and an interference with the real business of hurling.

The only thing Cork have in their favour is their large number of players, beyond that they are going nowhere.
Post by: mrhardyannual on August 09, 2017, 05:56:52 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on August 09, 2017, 05:43:05 PM
Dublin
Kerry
Tyrone
Mayo
Cork
Roscommon
Galway
Monaghan
Down
Armagh

Nor Armagh.

Dublin
Mayo
Kerry
Tyrone
Cork
Monaghan
Galway
Armagh
Down
Clare

Cork??
Cork whose best forward this year was a 36 year old Donnacha O'Connor and who have zero idea whatsoever how to defend.
Cork who are going to be struggling massively for cash to pay for the white elephant of a stadium.
Cork whose county board sees football as a bit of a nuisance and an interference with the real business of hurling.

The only thing Cork have in their favour is their large number of players, beyond that they are going nowhere.
And that's the point that was made. Cork have the numbers and with proper management are best placed to make a quick surge. Donncha O Connor's age is only a problem in your mind..not in his. If you are good enough, you are good enough...young or old.
Post by: twohands!!! on August 09, 2017, 06:27:22 PM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on August 09, 2017, 05:56:52 PM
Dublin
Kerry
Tyrone
Mayo
Cork
Roscommon
Galway
Monaghan
Down
Armagh

Nor Armagh.

Dublin
Mayo
Kerry
Tyrone
Cork
Monaghan
Galway
Armagh
Down
Clare

Cork??

And that's the point that was made. Cork have the numbers and with proper management are best placed to make a quick surge. Donncha O Connor's age is only a problem in your mind..not in his. If you are good enough, you are good enough...young or old.

The fact that the Cork County Board came out and said they were looking for a new coach as opposed to a new manager indicates to me that there is little to no chance of proper management being put in place - instead it will be very much like the last 2 lads, guys who know their place with respect to where they are in the pecking order compared to Frank and friends and will take whatever the Cork County board deigns to give them in terms of resources. If things don't go there way I wouldn't be a bit surprised to see Cork getting relegated to Division 3 next year.
Post by: mrhardyannual on August 09, 2017, 09:51:45 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on August 09, 2017, 06:27:22 PM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on August 09, 2017, 05:56:52 PM
Dublin
Kerry
Tyrone
Mayo
Cork
Roscommon
Galway
Monaghan
Down
Armagh

Nor Armagh.

Dublin
Mayo
Kerry
Tyrone
Cork
Monaghan
Galway
Armagh
Down
Clare

Cork??

The fact that the Cork County Board came out and said they were looking for a new coach as opposed to a new manager indicates to me that there is little to no chance of proper management being put in place - instead it will be very much like the last 2 lads, guys who know their place with respect to where they are in the pecking order compared to Frank and friends and will take whatever the Cork County board deigns to give them in terms of resources. If things don't go there way I wouldn't be a bit surprised to see Cork getting relegated to Division 3 next year.
I dont know where you got this nugget from but the remainder of your comment is the usual "Frank Murphy is the root of all evil" that is thrown out each time Cork's football or hurling go through a slump. It's the kind of lazy ill-informed nonsense spewed out when things are going badly and put aside to be used again when things improve
Post by: twohands!!! on August 09, 2017, 10:26:17 PM

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/ger-lane-replacing-peadar-healy-is-top-priority-455613.html

QuoteGer Lane: Replacing Peadar Healy is top priority

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

By Eoghan Cormican
Sports Reporter
Cork GAA chiefs intend to replace outgoing senior football boss Peadar Healy with a coach rather than a manager.

County Board chairman Ger Lane has revealed that finding a coach is their top priority, an appointment he hopes will be made "sooner rather than later".

John Considine and John Meyler, when charged with overseeing the Cork U17 and U21 hurlers for 2017, were brought in as coaches and not as managers. This approach is now set to dictate who fills the void left by Healy.

"I think the manager has to be a coach who can coach the team," Lane told the Irish Examiner.

"John Meyler and John Considine came in as coaches. It was something we thought was worthwhile at the time and it is a road we might now take with the football. The manager is the manager, but we feel the coach is the key person, really."

Former Kerry footballer Tomás Ó Sé suggested on RTÉ's The Sunday Game that, in the past, not enough scrutiny was given to the managerial appointment process in Cork. Ó Sé said: "Too often in Cork, it's a case of, 'Oh, who wants the job? Yeah, I'll take it'. No. That's not good enough. They actually need to nail this. They need to get it right."

Lane took umbrage with this portrayal, labelling it as factually incorrect.

"I certainly couldn't agree with that at all. There was a long process went through the last time in terms of getting a manager in, a very long process, actually. I'm not going to divulge the secrets of that, but it certainly wasn't a case of someone put their hand up and we appointed them." Among those in the frame to succeed Healy — he resigned on Saturday evening after Cork's one-point extra-time defeat to Mayo in the All-Ireland SFC qualifiers — are former Cork selector Ronan McCarthy, former Cork U21 football boss Sean Hayes and current Cork ladies football manager Ephie Fitzgerald. Billy Morgan has also been mentioned. The board chairman refused to be drawn on the perceived front-runners.

"There is speculation in the media. I'm not going to add or subtract from that. It is all media speculation at this stage."

Two and a half months was the period of time between Brian Cuthbert tendering his resignation late in July of 2015 and Peadar Healy being unveiled as his successor. Lane is hopeful for a swifter turnaround on this occasion. Both Healy and Cuthbert reigned for no more than two seasons, highlighting Cork's struggles to make an impact at the business end of the championship. Not since 2012 has the county been seen in an All-Ireland semi-final, while they've now fallen at the fourth round qualifier hurdle for the past three years.

"It is a results business and the results didn't go our way," said Lane of Healy's two-year term.

"We would like to acknowledge the work Peadar and his committee did, but, unfortunately, it didn't really work out in terms of results." The chairman added: "We hope to have a process in place before the next county board meeting on August 15 with regard to how we will proceed in getting the right man in. The sooner we put people in charge of Cork football, the better."

Post by: Rossfan on August 09, 2017, 11:30:24 PM
Based on this year's Qtr Final and Round 4 results
1-4 the Semi finalists final standings TBF
5 Ros Drew and lost QF, also won Provincial title.
6 Galway
7 Monaghan
8 Armagh
9 Cork -brought a semi finalist to extra time
10 Down.
Post by: punt kick on August 10, 2017, 10:39:29 AM
I doubt very much Armagh would have beaten Donegal this year.
Post by: Syferus on August 10, 2017, 11:15:42 AM
Quote from: punt kick on August 10, 2017, 10:39:29 AM
I doubt very much Armagh would have beaten Donegal this year.

A stiff breeze could have beaten Donegal this year. They were dead on arrival in the championship this year.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 10, 2017, 11:35:14 AM
Dublin.................................................Kerry..............................................Tyrone..Mayo...Monaghan/Donegal/Galway/Kildare.........................................................the rest...............................................
Post by: AZOffaly on August 10, 2017, 11:41:10 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 10, 2017, 11:35:14 AM
Dublin.................................................Kerry..............................................Tyrone..Mayo...Monaghan/Donegal/Galway/Kildare.........................................................the rest...............................................

I'd suggest you're generous with Kildare and Donegal there.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 10, 2017, 11:50:18 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 10, 2017, 11:41:10 AM

You leave my bait alone although they are both in Division 1 next year, the only proper ranking system.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 10, 2017, 11:53:36 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 10, 2017, 11:50:18 AM

You leave my bait alone although they are both in Division 1 next year, the only proper ranking system.

The next logical step is a Division 1A and 1B, so we can start to ignore the 1B teams and let the other 4 bucks play away with each other.
Post by: Rossfan on August 10, 2017, 12:38:59 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 10, 2017, 11:53:36 AM

The next logical step is a Division 1A and 1B, so we can start to ignore the 1B teams and let the other 4 bucks play away with each other.
A bit like the hurley stuff.
They could play home and away in the League, then tip their hats to tradition by playing in the Provincials/Qualifiers with the rest of us and then play a "Super4"  to determine the AI finalists.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 10, 2017, 01:42:13 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 10, 2017, 12:38:59 PM

They could play home and away in the League, then tip their hats to tradition by playing in the Provincials/Qualifiers with the rest of us and then play a "Super4"  to determine the AI finalists.

There you go. And RTE pundits could spend all week talking about the next Super Dooper Saturday/Sunday, and the new Sean Óg O'Ceallachain could read out the results from the other games at 11 o'clock on a Sunday night, like when I was a young lads and loved hearing about these exotic clubs like Fighting Cocks, Shelmaliers, Dreadknots, Gneeveguilla etc. The youngsters in 10 years could be marvelling at names like Longford, Carlow, Offaly and Westmeath.
Post by: Rossfan on August 10, 2017, 03:30:43 PM
In Leinster ye'll have North Leinster, Midlands, South Leinster and Dublin to try and have a bit of competitiveness.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 11, 2017, 05:12:03 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DG8ztdVXoAE5Bog.jpg)
Post by: easytiger95 on August 11, 2017, 05:24:38 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 10, 2017, 01:42:13 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 10, 2017, 12:38:59 PM

There you go. And RTE pundits could spend all week talking about the next Super Dooper Saturday/Sunday, and the new Sean Óg O'Ceallachain could read out the results from the other games at 11 o'clock on a Sunday night, like when I was a young lads and loved hearing about these exotic clubs like Fighting Cocks, Shelmaliers, Dreadknots, Gneeveguilla etc. The youngsters in 10 years could be marvelling at names like Longford, Carlow, Offaly and Westmeath.

AZ, I'm assuming they wore the Carlow colours, smoked a lot of ganja, and listened to Bob Marley's "Exodus", whilst looking to be delivered from Babylon (ie anywhere outside Dublin)? ;)
Post by: Rossfan on August 11, 2017, 05:29:33 PM
We're Dreadnoughts from Louth?
Do Skeoghvosteen and Skeheenarinka still exist?
Post by: AZOffaly on August 11, 2017, 05:47:04 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 11, 2017, 05:29:33 PM

Skeheenarinky are a junior (I think) hurling club in Tipp.
Post by: seafoid on August 11, 2017, 06:02:43 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 11, 2017, 05:47:04 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 11, 2017, 05:29:33 PM

Skeheenarinky are a junior (I think) hurling club in Tipp.
Class name. It is on the old Cork to Dublin road
Another great name on that road is newtwopothouse.
Post by: RedHand88 on August 11, 2017, 06:31:33 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 11, 2017, 05:12:03 PM

How is that measured?
Post by: Blowitupref on August 11, 2017, 07:21:06 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 11, 2017, 05:12:03 PM

Monaghan with their size and resources really sticks out there, it shows how good of a job O Rourke has done with them. Kerry the worse defence of the top four but getting by with a good offence. Dublin the best offence and 2nd defence no wonder they are the best team. Galway are surprising high considering they haven't seen past the last 8 since 2001.

Your own county Kildare are ok on the offence side of things but still need improving in defence as was proved again this summer.