Cycling

Started by Jimmy, February 18, 2010, 10:20:27 PM

Who wants to do the Marmotte or Haute Route with me next year?

One of our club guys doing the Marmotte Jim, he'll be doing it at about 20mph if you fancy it ???

Quote from: bennydorano on October 04, 2014, 03:18:17 PM
One of our club guys doing the Marmotte Jim, he'll be doing it at about 20mph if you fancy it ???
I need a training partner if I am going to do it. Ur mate will just keep me back at 20mph  ;) I take it he is a racing man? The haute route looks unreal as well

No, just strong as a horse. He's doing the Fred Whitten again too, check it out.

Dan Martin wins Lombardy, the last monument/classic of the year.

Don't think it was even mentioned on RTE news tonight.
Savage performance.
4th win by an Irishman in the last classic of the year. Kelly won it 3 times.
Well done Dan Martin.

Quote from: bennydorano on October 05, 2014, 06:09:21 PM

Looking at it, the other 6 fucked up, no one was willing to chase him and when they realized it was too late. Fair play, he got his timing spot on, great performance!

Quote from: bennydorano on October 05, 2014, 06:09:21 PM

Once they hesitated that was it. Did a silly fiver ew on him with PP. Cheers Dan.

Dan Martin still blazing that trail, maith an fear:

Mountain-top victory for Dan Martin in Tour of Beijing

Attack by Garmin-Sharp team-mate on final climb allows Irish rider to pounce

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/other-sports/mountain-top-victory-for-dan-martin-in-tour-of-beijing-1.1962095

Best winter tyre, best mud guard and best lights for this winters cycling lads?

Quote from: JimStynes on October 19, 2014, 02:59:11 PM

Has your bike got mudguard eyes ?

Quote from: maddog on October 19, 2014, 03:01:35 PM

I don't think it. It's for the winter bike, the good one is being put away for a few months. Was thinking of one of those blade things, they seem handy to fit but obviously don't provide the best protection.

Quote from: JimStynes on October 19, 2014, 03:22:16 PM

I don't think it. It's for the winter bike, the good one is being put away for a few months. Was thinking of one of those blade things, they seem handy to fit but obviously don't provide the best protection.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SKS-Raceblade-Road-Bike-Cycling-Mudguard-Set-700-x-18-23c-BLACK-/291088777263?pt=UK_SportGoods_CyclAcces_RL&hash=item43c63e402f

These are grand, ive a pair on the Trek. Just get the flap for the front one

Quote from: JimStynes on October 19, 2014, 03:22:16 PM

Don't do much for the man behind you either!

Great to get back out this weekend, 165k over the two days at a nice clip, great weather albeit a bit windy, can't wait for the winter training!