Help with Sound System (PA)

Started by Bud Wiser, February 03, 2011, 07:57:52 PM

Yep, sure enough, its another help request.

I want to buy a sound system and the difference between getting a good one and a bad one is dependent on how much I have to spend so if I buy from these boys I will get a better system much chaper.

I remember one time down home I was working in a garage and this eejit came in looking for "batteries for a transistor" and I asked him what type and he said he wanted a look at a few different types and then the boss shoved me outa the way and he sez to yer man, "what type of transistor did ya buy" and the clown said, I have3n't bought one yet, I am just checking the price of the batteries ! !

Now, this is the mixer I want to get  http://www.thomann.de/ie/behringer_pmp_4000.htm but I am unsure about matching the amp to the speakers.  I want it to do a fair size room and I want the speakers to have subs either built in or stand alone under with stand mount.  I want the system to be suitable for to relocate in a marquee from time to time but mainly used for a large sized room for functions. 

Even if I buy all the gear wud I get a sound man to set it up first time if I paid him?

Bud, what's the PA for?  Vocals? Band? DJ?

If it's a combination of all 3 why not go for something like this:

http://www.thomann.de/ie/the_box_cl_108115_basis_bundle.htm

The bass bin will power your mixer.  It's also a pretty easy setup and easily transportable.

We have used something similar for gigs in medium sized venues (200-300 people) and have always had plenty of room if we needed to turn it up.  Bear in mind we had 4 vocals, 2 guitars, keyboard, fiddle going through it and it's still pretty clear i.e. vocals sat well over the instruments.  So if it's only being used for public address (vocals only) then it will be more than adequate.

Also, I can't recommend Thomanns highly enough.  Quick delivery and everythings well packaged.

Are you getting speakers?  It'll help if the speakers are powered rather than the mixing desk powers the speakers.

Thanks very much lads.  I am not looking for a system that is transportable in the real sense, as in the Transit Van. I want to use it inside a venue and then move it just outside to a marquee on occasion.  The budget is about 3k.

The list I have in me head is,
Speakers,including bass bin/sub
3 Monitors,
Mixer (the thoman 4000 or 6000)
Amp,
1sm58 Mike, three average mikes and one mike for drum.
Mike Stands and speaker stands
lashings of cables

I want it for to have Open Mike Nights and for an in-house system for bands (although I suppose no matter how good it is they will turn their noses up at it)

[quoteInsert Quote
Are you getting speakers?  It'll help if the speakers are powered rather than the mixing desk powers the speakers.][/quote]

I had in my head that music went into the mike -mixer-amp-speaker so if I had a two channell amp I would use one channell to send  the low sounds to sub woofer and the other one to the speakers - but then again I haven't got a clue.  Wud these boys not just design an entire system for me.

Quote from: The Gs Man on February 03, 2011, 10:40:22 PM
Bud, what's the PA for?  Vocals? Band? DJ?

If it's a combination of all 3 why not go for something like this:

http://www.thomann.de/ie/the_box_cl_108115_basis_bundle.htm

The bass bin will power your mixer.  It's also a pretty easy setup and easily transportable.

We have used something similar for gigs in medium sized venues (200-300 people) and have always had plenty of room if we needed to turn it up.  Bear in mind we had 4 vocals, 2 guitars, keyboard, fiddle going through it and it's still pretty clear i.e. vocals sat well over the instruments.  So if it's only being used for public address (vocals only) then it will be more than adequate.

Also, I can't recommend Thomanns highly enough.  Quick delivery and everythings well packaged.

Thanks very much.  What mixer,amp etc would I match to that package?

Bud, you could use that Behringer one you linked to, although you could go for a slightly cheaper model (not powered) as the bass bin (powered) will power the mixer. 

If it's for bands you will want to have as many channels as possible.  I would recommend a 16 channel mixer with at least 8 mic inputs.  The likes of this would suit:

http://www.thomann.de/ie/behringer_xenyx_x2222_usb.htm

So your chain would be:

Mic - mixer - powered bass bin - speakers

There are also main outputs which will go from mixer to Monitors.  However, if going from mixer to monitors you would need to ensure the monitors are powered (active).  For example:

http://www.thomann.de/ie/the_box_ma82cl.htm

I would also recommend buying 2 or 3 DI boxes.  These will help if you have for example, an acoustic guitar player.  They plug their lead into the DI box, then you take a line out from the box into the mic input in the mixer.  Provides a far better signal and limits distortion etc.  Bands will normally ask if there are DI Boxes.

http://www.thomann.de/ie/millenium_di33.htm

If none of that makes sense let me know!!!!

However, I just noticed your budget is £3k!!  You could get a far better system for that kind of money than the one I linked to in my first post!

Sorry for annoying ye again with this but when I finally decided and went to press the little icon that removes all the money from your credit card it turned out they did not have the Bass Binns/Sub Woofers that I had selected.  I have chosen to go for an Active Speaker system.

Will the subwoofers match the tops in this case, by this I mean the tops have a peak of 1000watts while the subs have 500watts so will the subs be loud enough. I would be a happy man if someone will tell me this. The first link is the tops and the second is the subs.

http://www.thomann.de/ie/behringer_b815neo.htm

http://www.thomann.de/ie/the_box_ta18.htm

(Mixer)  http://www.thomann.de/ie/behringer_xenyxxl_1600.htm

Monitor x 3  http://www.thomann.de/ie/the_box_ma120_mk_ii.htm