GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Feckitt on February 12, 2017, 02:12:38 PM

Title: Slaughtneil
Post by: Feckitt on February 12, 2017, 02:12:38 PM
Slaughtneil play Cuala in the All -Ireland hurling semi final in Armagh in a fortnight. I'm not going to rehash the achievements of this small club,  you all know the story. 
However I am going to ask you and your family to turn up at the Athletic Grounds for the match. Let's give Slaughtneill and Ulster hurling some support.  Let's make this the biggest Hurling match in Ulster in 20 years.
Are you from a small club who aspire to succeed like Slaughtneil?  Go to the match.
Are you a lifelong GAA man who has never gone to the hurling?  Go to the match.
Are you a sporting romantic and lover of the underdog?  Go to the match.
Would you love to see a hurling game in Ulster that the media couldn't ignore?  Go to the match.
Are you likely to be doing nothing else anyway?  Go to the match.
I'm not a Slaughtneil man, a Derry man or even a Hurling man, but I'm a Gaa man from a small rural club,  and was priveliged to see Slaughtneil win over St Vincents in Newry yesterday.  I wouldn't miss the next match for all the world,  and full heartedly encourage you all to join me there.
Title: Re: Slaughtneill
Post by: seafoid on February 12, 2017, 02:27:52 PM
Ar fheabhas ar fad.
Post by: BennyCake on February 12, 2017, 02:39:29 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 12, 2017, 02:27:52 PM
Ar fheabhas ar fad.

If only we had an Irish Language act in the North, we would've understood that.
Post by: macdanger2 on February 12, 2017, 03:10:22 PM
What's going to happen if Slaughtneil make the hurling final as well? Will one of the games be postponed?
Post by: seafoid on February 12, 2017, 03:25:48 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on February 12, 2017, 02:39:29 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 12, 2017, 02:27:52 PM
Ar fheabhas ar fad.

If only we had an Irish Language act in the North, we would've understood that.
The literal translation is "if Sinn Fêin are voted the largest party , our way of life will be destroyed"
Post by: Feckitt on February 12, 2017, 03:59:38 PM
25th February 2017, Athletic Grounds,  Armagh.
#SlaughtneilDay
Post by: Rois on February 12, 2017, 06:13:35 PM
I really admire your sentiments and actually considering heading to Armagh for this, but that Twitter #thingy will never catch on unless you stop putting an extra 'L' at the end of Slaughtneil!
Title: Re: Slaughtneil
Post by: Feckitt on February 12, 2017, 08:28:52 PM
Oops,  changed that now
Post by: clarshack on February 13, 2017, 01:18:50 AM
What is the membership total of slaughtneil?
Post by: Under Lights on February 13, 2017, 08:12:37 AM
What happens if they make the final? Will they split it from the football final?
Post by: nrico2006 on February 13, 2017, 09:11:31 AM
Quote from: Under Lights on February 13, 2017, 08:12:37 AM
What happens if they make the final? Will they split it from the football final?

They obviously have to, but knowing the GAA they won't.
Post by: BennyCake on February 13, 2017, 10:52:59 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 13, 2017, 09:11:31 AM
Quote from: Under Lights on February 13, 2017, 08:12:37 AM

They obviously have to, but knowing the GAA they won't.

They can't not. But could we see a few dodgy decisions against Slaughtbeil to make sure it doesn't cause a headache?
Post by: ONeill on February 15, 2017, 08:04:30 AM
What a club. Throw in the achievement of the camogs and there's been nothing like them.
Post by: vallankumous on February 15, 2017, 08:44:12 AM
Quote from: Feckitt on February 12, 2017, 02:12:38 PM
Slaughtneil play Cuala in the All -Ireland hurling semi final in Armagh in a fortnight. I'm not going to rehash the achievements of this small club,  you all know the story. 
However I am going to ask you and your family to turn up at the Athletic Grounds for the match. Let's give Slaughtneill and Ulster hurling some support.  Let's make this the biggest Hurling match in Ulster in 20 years.
Are you from a small club who aspire to succeed like Slaughtneil?  Go to the match.
Are you a lifelong GAA man who has never gone to the hurling?  Go to the match.
Are you a sporting romantic and lover of the underdog?  Go to the match.
Would you love to see a hurling game in Ulster that the media couldn't ignore?  Go to the match.
Are you likely to be doing nothing else anyway?  Go to the match.
I'm not a Slaughtneil man, a Derry man or even a Hurling man, but I'm a Gaa man from a small rural club,  and was priveliged to see Slaughtneil win over St Vincents in Newry yesterday.  I wouldn't miss the next match for all the world,  and full heartedly encourage you all to join me there.

Maith thú
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 17, 2017, 12:30:47 PM
Watched both teams, and the Culla team are serious operators, quick accurate and great stickwork... Slaughtniel will be their biggest test, physically, mentally and the ability to get over the line Slaughtniel are ahead of Culla... Will be a cracking game... Hopefully they will win and give me two days out at the club!!
Post by: imtommygunn on February 17, 2017, 12:45:20 PM
Cuala are very physical and very fit. I thought that was what won them leinster as much as pure hurling.

Slaughtneil will have this though not convinced they will have the hurling in them. Hope i am wrong.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 17, 2017, 01:43:11 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on February 17, 2017, 12:45:20 PM
Cuala are very physical and very fit. I thought that was what won them leinster as much as pure hurling.

Slaughtneil will have this though not convinced they will have the hurling in them. Hope i am wrong.

I though Leinster was poor enough from what i watched, OTB should have stuffed O'Loughlin Gaels, only for a complete collapse in the second half by OTB they'd be competing the Lenister final and giving Culla a harder challenge that the Gales did
Post by: blanketattack on February 17, 2017, 07:14:09 PM
Bookies have Cuala at 1/8 to win which is about right
Post by: quiganmaster on February 17, 2017, 09:12:55 PM
I'm as impressed at slaughtneils achievement as anyone is but if you call slaughtneil a small club then you are deluded
Post by: manfromdelmonte on February 17, 2017, 09:33:34 PM
Quote from: quiganmaster on February 17, 2017, 09:12:55 PM
I'm as impressed at slaughtneils achievement as anyone is but if you call slaughtneil a small club then you are deluded
why is that then?
just wondering
Post by: imtommygunn on February 17, 2017, 10:42:09 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 17, 2017, 01:43:11 PM

I though Leinster was poor enough from what i watched, OTB should have stuffed O'Loughlin Gaels, only for a complete collapse in the second half by OTB they'd be competing the Lenister final and giving Culla a harder challenge that the Gales did

I would agree. Hard to know how good cuala are but i think slaughtneil have a chance. I think the hurling isn't as high a standard this year as normal.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 18, 2017, 12:24:33 AM
Quote from: quiganmaster on February 17, 2017, 09:12:55 PM

Are they smaller than St Vincent's Kilmacud Ballymun ??
Post by: Jinxy on February 18, 2017, 03:07:59 PM
To be honest, I hope Slaughtneil lose to Cuala.
They've a great chance of winning the football final, they've no hope of winning the hurling final.
I'd hate to see them make two finals and lose both.
Making the hurling final as well would be a great story, but it would negatively affect their preparation for Crokes.
Post by: theticklemister on February 18, 2017, 03:32:08 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 18, 2017, 03:07:59 PM
To be honest, I hope Slaughtneil lose to Cuala.
They've a great chance of winning the football final, they've no hope of winning the hurling final.
I'd hate to see them make two finals and lose both.
Making the hurling final as well would be a great story, but it would negatively affect their preparation for Crokes.

Balls
Post by: longballin on February 18, 2017, 05:23:35 PM
Fantastic achievements by Slaughtneil but is a lot of sentimental nonsense being written as well about a little country club. There are a load of players involved from very wide area and not all from Slaughneil... say it as it is or say nothing.
Post by: No wides on February 18, 2017, 06:16:20 PM
Quote from: longballin on February 18, 2017, 05:23:35 PM
Fantastic achievements by Slaughtneil but is a lot of sentimental nonsense being written as well about a little country club. There are a load of players involved from very wide area and not all from Slaughneil... say it as it is or say nothing.

(http://www.bittersweetcampaign.com/img/announcement/bitter.png)
Post by: Hoof Hearted on February 18, 2017, 06:26:08 PM
I wish people would pronounce this right - it's not slaughtneil its SLACH-NAIL
Post by: Targetman on February 18, 2017, 06:31:58 PM
Why is there a load of blow inns playing for the NAIL!!
Post by: longballin on February 18, 2017, 10:57:00 PM
Quote from: No wides on February 18, 2017, 06:16:20 PM

(http://www.bittersweetcampaign.com/img/announcement/bitter.png)

Not bitter at all. I hope they win all three All Irelands, just saying it as it is.
Post by: the green man on February 19, 2017, 12:33:49 AM
There are a load of players involved and not all from Slaughneil... say it as it is or say nothing.

Interesting to know who you think are not slaughtneil men playing
Post by: longballin on February 19, 2017, 03:25:00 PM
Quote from: the green man on February 19, 2017, 12:33:49 AM
There are a load of players involved and not all from Slaughneil... say it as it is or say nothing.

I'll let you find that for yourself...
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on February 19, 2017, 09:54:02 PM
Quote from: longballin on February 19, 2017, 03:25:00 PM
Quote from: the green man on February 19, 2017, 12:33:49 AM

I'll let you find that for yourself...

I'm interested too. Not too many who aren't second, or even third, generation Emmets.
Post by: The Stallion on February 19, 2017, 10:04:11 PM
Or both lol.
Post by: longballin on February 19, 2017, 11:04:53 PM
Ah good luck to them  8)
Post by: Billy Magoo on February 19, 2017, 11:30:49 PM

So let's name the players that have transferred in,  the players that haven't played for us right through underage or the players whose fathers /grandfather's / uncles didn't play for Slaughtneil before them. 
Post by: longballin on February 19, 2017, 11:41:14 PM
Not naming players on this board but there are players lived and have been living in catchment area of other clubs who play for Slaughtneil.
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on February 19, 2017, 11:46:13 PM
Quote from: Billy Magoo on February 19, 2017, 11:30:49 PM

So let's name the players that have transferred in,  the players that haven't played for us right through underage or the players whose fathers /grandfather's / uncles didn't play for Slaughtneil before them.

I heard our girls saying there's a girl called Graham from Antrim that shouldn't be playing for you and your footballers are from all over the place
Post by: Billy Magoo on February 19, 2017, 11:54:11 PM
Quote from: longballin on February 19, 2017, 11:41:14 PM
Not naming players on this board but there are players lived and have been living in catchment area of other clubs who play for Slaughtneil.

Easy way out longballin.  Saying you'll name no player simply cause you know there are none.  As for Shannon Graham. Yes she's from Antrim.  Her mother was one of the Cassidys,  sister of Thomas. My understanding is that she opted to come to slaughtneil as her own club had no team.  As for the footballers tones you wanna name any who fall into the category I outlined above?
Post by: longballin on February 19, 2017, 11:56:57 PM
You saying there are no players from cathchment areas of other clubs? When did GAA bring in the grandparents/uncles/parents rule?
Post by: Billy Magoo on February 20, 2017, 12:20:41 AM
Of course there are,  but let me get this right longballin,  your saying that a man who's father played for Slaughtneil,  who played all his underage for Slaughtneil,  who was brought up watching Slaughtneil should play for a neighbouring club just because of where he lives?  What about the man who lives in Slaughtneil,  who plays all underage for club,  plays Seniors, gets wed and has to move to a house a couple of miles away in neighbouring Maghera or Swatragh? Should he demand a transfer?  Proclaim his love for his new club and forget about the last 30 odd years of his life?  When did the GAA bring in the 'play for the club closest to you' rule?  ;)
Post by: ONeill on February 20, 2017, 12:48:56 AM
longballin has just been destroyed. RIP.
Post by: theticklemister on February 20, 2017, 10:18:59 AM
Longball answer me this....

Niall Holly was born and lived in Derry City and was in the catchement of Steelstown my own club. He never ever played for us as he travelled to Coleraine to play and train with them for years.

Post by: Maximus Marillius on February 20, 2017, 10:30:38 AM
Long long time since I have posted, but after reading that this morning about Slaughtneil I felt obliged to post. There are players playing who live in other catchment clubs, I don't mind being corrected, the most of them Glen, or maybe more accurately Maghera. But as Billy pointed out all of them have fathers, grandfathers, mothers, aunts, uncles etc who were s'neil members all their lives, so they took their children back to the club. Planning issues restricted new builds going up in S'neil for years, the fathers and mothers had no choice but to purchase their homes somewhere else close to their community, we had the same problem in our club until property prices started to rise and the local land owners greed ensured they sold before the thing went bust. Those players have got all their coaching and playing through underage to senior at Slaughneil. And as I said we are talking about 3/4 mile. In my view that is what club loyalty is all about, club and family first, what the Gaa is about. Never could understand a player who was committed to a club for the first 30 years of their lives and who then for whatever reason ends up living a handful of miles away not taking their children to the club the father/mother came from, however I will respect their choice to do it unequivocally, but I won't stand back and watch others criticise people who did what I would do, can't understand how anyone could not see this a bedrock of Gaa culture.
Post by: longballin on February 20, 2017, 10:47:47 AM
Aye I see what yis are saying... point I originally made was this wee picture went on social media of huge St Vincents area  v tiny Slaughneil area and all the talk of a small countryside catchment area is untrue as many players live well outside the catchment area. But it suits that narrative.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 20, 2017, 11:06:50 AM
Quote from: longballin on February 20, 2017, 10:47:47 AM
Aye I see what yis are saying... point I originally made was this wee picture went on social media of huge St Vincents area  v tiny Slaughneil area and all the talk of a small countryside catchment area is untrue as many players live well outside the catchment area. But it suits that narrative.

I think if you checked the playing membership of St Vincents and the playing membership of Slaughniel then thats where you are getting mixed up... A cachement area in Dublin will take in far more people that a rual area in Derry
Post by: Walter Cronc on February 20, 2017, 11:08:44 AM
Fair played to Slaughtneil. Personally I've no issue with any of the lads on that team. Yes a few of them may live in Glen/Maghera but as pointed out none have ever played for us. Possibly Cormac O'Dohertys older brother Cathal years ago I believe, but never Cormac himself.

My only gripe is this assumption and its a GAA wide one, not just Slaughtneil/Derry, is that urban areas somehow should produce better teams. In that area of Dublin you have plenty of other sports competing not to mention the social issues that impact on playing numbers. We often hear about the heroes of GAA being from small clubs (Joe Brolly) but personally I've more respect for men from clubs like Sean Dolans, Doire Colmcille etc who have massive challenges to turn out teams. Clubs like Glen, Bellaghy, Lavey, Rossa etc get it handy in that regard!
Post by: The Stallion on February 20, 2017, 01:54:50 PM
Someone from another Ulster County remarked to me over the weekend that he was shocked to hear a number of Slaughtneil players live in other clubs' catchment areas.

He said it's not something he was aware of until very recently and it does put all this small club talk into perspective.
Post by: johnneycool on February 20, 2017, 02:16:34 PM
Quote from: The Stallion on February 20, 2017, 01:54:50 PM
Someone from another Ulster County remarked to me over the weekend that he was shocked to hear a number of Slaughtneil players live in other clubs' catchment areas.

He said it's not something he was aware of until very recently and it does put all this small club talk into perspective.

This isn't something new and happens everywhere. We've people playing for us not in the parish boundary but their parents/grandparents have played for us just like there's families within our parish boundaries who play for other clubs for the very same reason.
Swings and roundabouts.
Post by: johnneycool on February 20, 2017, 02:22:44 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 17, 2017, 01:43:11 PM

Cuala's forwards tore the gaels asunder and will be a step up to what Slaughtneil have faced to date. Deny them the time and space to operate and S'Neil are in with a chance, but I'd still have Cuala as favourites as getting out of Dublin is no easy task in the hurling either.

I'll be cheering on Slaughtneil all the same.
Post by: The Stallion on February 20, 2017, 02:50:56 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on February 20, 2017, 02:16:34 PM

This isn't something new and happens everywhere. We've people playing for us not in the parish boundary but their parents/grandparents have played for us just like there's families within our parish boundaries who play for other clubs for the very same reason.
Swings and roundabouts.

I'm not disputing that it happens elsewhere.i just think it's something which has veen swept under the carpet when all this talk of a small rural club has been bandied about.

Happy the more accurate picture is emerging now.
Post by: oakleaflad on February 20, 2017, 03:23:55 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 20, 2017, 10:18:59 AM
Longball answer me this....

Niall Holly was born and lived in Derry City and was in the catchement of Steelstown my own club. He never ever played for us as he travelled to Coleraine to play and train with them for years.
Steelstown are hardly in a position to complain
Post by: theticklemister on February 20, 2017, 03:29:19 PM
They never complained lol. I was showing an example of how a player doesn't have to live in a catchment area can play elsewhere. That is all
Post by: thebuzz on February 20, 2017, 03:50:26 PM
Quote from: The Stallion on February 20, 2017, 02:50:56 PM

Swings and roundabouts.

I'm not disputing that it happens elsewhere.i just think it's something which has veen swept under the carpet when all this talk of a small rural club has been bandied about.

Where's the more accurate picture? Are there 2 players from Glen and Swatragh or 22? It still doesn't make any odds. Slaughtneil is still a small rural club no matter what way you look at it.
Post by: The Stallion on February 20, 2017, 04:12:37 PM
I haven't suggested otherwise. However, as I stated, the fact players from outside their normal catchment are playing for them has been kept very quiet in this discussion.

Glad to highlight it in order to give a more accurate picture of the situation.
Post by: longballin on February 20, 2017, 04:36:32 PM
Quote from: The Stallion on February 20, 2017, 02:50:56 PM

Swings and roundabouts.

Exactly what I was saying.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on February 20, 2017, 05:21:48 PM
I'm sure Cuala has a few lads not from the heartland of Cuala, wherever that is (Killiney?)

(http://www.cualagaa.ie/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/web_map_cuala_area.jpg)

they have a HUGE pick
Post by: Jinxy on February 20, 2017, 07:39:55 PM
Dalkey is a real hotbed of hurling at the moment.
You'd often see young lads in Cuala gear pucking a ball off the gable end of Bono's house on Vico Road.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on February 20, 2017, 08:28:20 PM
Slaughtneil doesn't have a traditional parish-based catchment area like most clubs. There aren't many townlands in the Glen and Granaghan parishes that are the exclusive preserve of any of the three clubs. You'll see slaughtneil flags at the foot of the Glenshane Pass and at the Ponderosa; you'll see them on the way out of Maghera towards Swatragh and on the way out of Swatragh towards Maghera, but you're more likely to meet Glen or Swatragh folk in these parts. Slaughtneil also hoovered up many of the Tirgarvil and Lisnamuck White Heather players when these clubs folded in the 50s and 60s, even though they could have gone to Swatragh, Maghera, Screen or Kilrea.

This was never a problem when Slaughtneil weren't winning anything, when they were combining with Swatragh at underage level, when they were sending a dozen lads down from the mountain for minor matches against us, when Glen were winning 97 minor titles on the trot.

The bottom line is that everyone in the GAA in Derry knows that a Cassidy or a McGuigan or a Bradley or a McEldowney or a McKaigue is destined to play for Slaughtneil from the day they draw their first breath, regardless of which part of the locale they live in. And rather than snipe, their achievements should be celebrated.

Slaughtneil are what most other Gaelic clubs would like to be.
Post by: The Stallion on February 20, 2017, 09:22:57 PM
I don't see Slaughtneil's dull brand of football as something anyone should aspire to.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on February 20, 2017, 09:49:05 PM
Have the goal posts just moved?
Post by: theticklemister on February 20, 2017, 09:55:36 PM
Stallion your a miserable oul soul; be it in any thread you post in.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 20, 2017, 10:08:20 PM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on February 20, 2017, 09:49:05 PM
Have the goal posts just moved?

I think so, apparently it is a bigger aspiration for your local club to play nice football than for them to get to three all Ireland senior finals in one year across three different disciplines. Some people are hard to please.

Reminds me of a Frankie Boyle joke. When John Logie Baird invented the television, his mate commented "aye, but there's f*ck all on"!
Post by: theticklemister on February 20, 2017, 10:14:11 PM
Benny you over for Congress?
Post by: BennyHarp on February 20, 2017, 10:21:05 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 20, 2017, 10:14:11 PM

I'm not. Are you on that jolly this year?
Post by: The Stallion on February 20, 2017, 10:34:34 PM
" i think so, apparently it is a bigger aspiration for your local club to play nice football than for them to get to three all Ireland senior finals in one year across three different disciplines. Some people are hard to please"

Many people seem to think winning an All Ireland playing the dull brand of football Slaughtneil play is something to aspire to. That's their opinion and I understand it's a widely held one.

Personally I think its a real shame men are prepared to abandon all the good things about the game in favour of risk free, cynical football in order to win a medal.

It's just my opinion. I'm well aware many people are proponents of the win at any cost mentality but I think it's a blight on the game.
Post by: TransitVanMan on February 20, 2017, 10:43:02 PM
You know Stallion, you can get Kerry Golden Years on DVD now.  That old tape of yours is bound to be getting a bit fuzzy.
Post by: The Stallion on February 20, 2017, 10:57:42 PM
I don't have a tape or DVD of it. Not sure why you would think that. No apology necessary, but please don't make things up in future.
Post by: Minder on February 20, 2017, 10:59:47 PM
Stallion hell bent on ruining another thread with his "routine"
Post by: theticklemister on February 20, 2017, 11:00:20 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on February 20, 2017, 10:21:05 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 20, 2017, 10:14:11 PM

I'm not. Are you on that jolly this year?

Yeah I'm over for it. Not a jolly, some serious work!
Post by: The Stallion on February 20, 2017, 11:01:49 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 20, 2017, 10:59:47 PM
Stallion hell bent on ruining another thread with his "routine"

I'm not sure why you think me expressing my opinion is ruining a thread. Please explain.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on February 20, 2017, 11:15:04 PM
Quote from: The Stallion on February 20, 2017, 10:34:34 PM
" i think so, apparently it is a bigger aspiration for your local club to play nice football than for them to get to three all Ireland senior finals in one year across three different disciplines. Some people are hard to please"

Many people seem to think winning an All Ireland playing the dull brand of football Slaughtneil play is something to aspire to. That's their opinion and I understand it's a widely held one.

Personally I think its a real shame men are prepared to abandon all the good things about the game in favour of risk free, cynical football in order to win a medal.

It's just my opinion. I'm well aware many people are proponents of the win at any cost mentality but I think it's a blight on the game.

Personally I think it is a real shame that someone has to abandon all the good things about a GAA related thread in favour of risk free, cynical posts in order to make a point. They think that these dull and boring messages are something to aspire to.....
Post by: The Stallion on February 20, 2017, 11:20:34 PM
I see what you're trying to do there, but for me it didn't quite work.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on February 20, 2017, 11:39:32 PM
Well, it was posted to undermine your opinion, it was not supposed to 'work' for you. Job done.
Post by: The Stallion on February 20, 2017, 11:44:04 PM
Not sure how it undermined my opinion but you seem happy with it. Good for you.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on February 20, 2017, 11:51:30 PM
Thanks
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 21, 2017, 12:01:34 AM
Quote from: The Stallion on February 20, 2017, 04:12:37 PM
I haven't suggested otherwise. However, as I stated, the fact players from outside their normal catchment are playing for them has been kept very quiet in this discussion.

Glad to highlight it in order to give a more accurate picture of the situation.

Accurate picture of what?? Your pure bitterness, your negativity, your childish rants, of being a WUM?? You did, well done!

Anyone that thinks players should not play for their club cause they live up the road in a different town is a nob
Post by: The Stallion on February 21, 2017, 06:52:11 AM
"Anyone that thinks players should not play for their club cause they live up the road in a different town is a nob"

I have never suggested this. You seem to be arguing with a viewpoint which you wrongly assume I hold.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 21, 2017, 08:22:16 AM
Quote from: The Stallion on February 21, 2017, 06:52:11 AM
"Anyone that thinks players should not play for their club cause they live up the road in a different town is a nob"

I have never suggested this. You seem to be arguing with a viewpoint which you wrongly assume I hold.

The first paragraph is for you, the second is for those righteous ones
Post by: The Stallion on February 21, 2017, 08:40:39 AM
I'm not sure why you think I'm bitter. I don't begrudge Slaughtneil their success, in fact I bet on them to win the All Ireland.

I just find their dull, cynical brand of football hard to watch. Others clearly don't.
Post by: rabbit on February 21, 2017, 09:31:58 AM
Who are the Slaughtneil players from outside the catchment?
Post by: general_lee on February 21, 2017, 09:33:00 AM
Would Slaughtneil be smaller than ballinderry? I read somewhere they'd something like 300 households which to me isn't that small a pick at all
Post by: TransitVanMan on February 21, 2017, 10:58:30 AM
If I am totally honest (unlike Stallion) I do begrudge Sneil their success.......just a bit mind. Most clubs would be envious of the success of their neighbouring club.

But to cal their style dull and cynical is just untrue. Sammy, Poddy Cassidy, Shane McGuigan, Cormac Doherty are all exciting players to watch. The McKaigues, Rogers, McNeill, Feeney and the twin will all burst out from defence to join attacks.

Certainly they know how to close out a game, but don't forget that they work themselves into a postion where they are able to do just that. When they are in full flow they are good to watch. They can't control how the opposition chooses to set-up but have proven adept at counter-acting different approaches.

Pace, agression, control, accuracy, good game management -  I look for these attributes when I judge performances.

I suppose it depends what your looking for in a team.

What do you look for Stallion?
Post by: The Stallion on February 21, 2017, 11:23:20 AM
A brand of football which doesn't bore the life out of me is always a good start.

Young McGuigan is certainly a fine footballer. It's unfortunate he is shackled by the tactics Slaughtneil employ.
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on February 21, 2017, 12:44:06 PM
Quote from: Billy Magoo on February 19, 2017, 11:54:11 PM

Easy way out longballin.  Saying you'll name no player simply cause you know there are none.  As for Shannon Graham. Yes she's from Antrim.  Her mother was one of the Cassidys,  sister of Thomas.
My understanding is that she opted to come to slaughtneil as her own club had no team.  As for the footballers tones you wanna name any who fall into the category I outlined above?

According to our girls Billy, that's not true at all, that Creggan have a very good camogie team and to say the least were not all pleased with how Slaughtneil prised her way and claim that her transfer was illegal and that the Derry clubs will be objecting to her playing in Derry leagues and championship this year
Post by: Taylor on February 21, 2017, 12:52:24 PM
Agree with Stallion on this.
Very boring team to watch throughout most of the Derry & onwards cship (from games I saw).

Nothing expansive or exciting about them but by god they know how to win games.

Begrudge their success for sure but have a slight admiration for them.

As for taking players from other places - moot point considering all of the top/successful teams do it - recent prime example being Cross or indeed Galls and thats not even going into Dublin clubs
Post by: PW Nally on February 21, 2017, 12:55:38 PM
Christ sake, clear as mud that Stallion and Taylor one and the same plonker ruining multiple threads and making a joke of the board.

Time to check out here perhaps.
Post by: JoG2 on February 21, 2017, 12:56:29 PM
Quote from: Taylor on February 21, 2017, 12:52:24 PM
Agree with Stallion on this.
Very boring team to watch throughout most of the Derry & onwards cship (from games I saw).

Nothing expansive or exciting about them but by god they know how to win games.

Begrudge their success for sure
but have a slight admiration for them.

As for taking players from other places - moot point considering all of the top/successful teams do it - recent prime example being Cross or indeed Galls and thats not even going into Dublin clubs

In a nutshell
Post by: The Stallion on February 21, 2017, 01:25:55 PM
Quote from: PW Nally on February 21, 2017, 12:55:38 PM
Christ sake, clear as mud that Stallion and Taylor one and the same plonker ruining multiple threads and making a joke of the board.

Time to check out here perhaps.

I have never posted under any other username, and I'm happy for any moderator to confirm that I am not Taylor. Perhaps then you can apologise for the wrongful accusation.
Post by: The Stallion on February 21, 2017, 01:27:25 PM
And to be clear, unlike Taylor, I don't begrudge them their success, nor do I have slight admiration for them.

Hope that clears up any confusion.
Post by: OverTheBlackSpot on February 26, 2017, 09:48:02 AM
Quote from: tonesfirstandlast on February 21, 2017, 12:44:06 PM
Quote from: Billy Magoo on February 19, 2017, 11:54:11 PM

Easy way out longballin.  Saying you'll name no player simply cause you know there are none.  As for Shannon Graham. Yes she's from Antrim.  Her mother was one of the Cassidys,  sister of Thomas.
My understanding is that she opted to come to slaughtneil as her own club had no team.  As for the footballers tones you wanna name any who fall into the category I outlined above?

According to our girls Billy, that's not true at all, that Creggan have a very good camogie team and to say the least were not all pleased with how Slaughtneil prised her way and claim that her transfer was illegal and that the Derry clubs will be objecting to her playing in Derry leagues and championship this year

Our girls lol, if the girl in question here was to the standard of your own players would you be worried about her transfer ? I'm getting the feeling of sourgrapes here, if she wasn't playing in this years championship V Bellaghy would yous have put up a better performance?
Plus has she not been playing for Slaughtneil for a few seasons, but only now after winning an Ulster title and reaching the AI final "our girls" claim the transfer was illegal ?
Post by: Whishtup on February 26, 2017, 10:26:27 PM
Why does everybody say shhhhllacchtneil?  Is this how they say it around sschhhlllactneil?
Post by: The Stallion on February 26, 2017, 10:31:11 PM
Some might suggest that the pronunciation is the least objectionable thing about the place.

I wouldn't have time for such folk though.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 26, 2017, 10:55:03 PM
Quote from: The Stallion on February 26, 2017, 10:31:11 PM
Some might suggest that the pronunciation is the least objectionable thing about the place.

I wouldn't have time for such folk though.

Good to know you're not a bitter man/woman and the positivity you have on the threads you post on is a breath of fresh ..... muck
Post by: The Stallion on February 27, 2017, 07:01:38 AM
You seem to have an unhealthy obsession with my posts. It might be better for your mental health to just ignore them in future.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 27, 2017, 07:41:59 AM
Quote from: The Stallion on February 27, 2017, 07:01:38 AM
You seem to have an unhealthy obsession with my posts. It might be better for your mental health to just ignore them in future.
Just when you talk shite
Post by: Mrs mills on February 27, 2017, 12:10:20 PM
Quote from: The Stallion on February 27, 2017, 07:01:38 AM

There there Stallion. Do not let these jesters bring out that wild side in you. Hold your head high, be calm and continue to coach those underage players in your club the way football should be played. At least you are giving freely of your time. Every week you are there at the pitch, striving to make the wee lads future county stars. I'm proud of you!
Post by: The Stallion on February 27, 2017, 12:30:08 PM
Thank you for the kind words Mrs Mills. Although I am perplexed by your decision to fabricate information about me.

If you wanted to make a point you probably should have just made it rather than pretend to have knowledge of how I spend my spare time.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 01, 2017, 11:11:53 AM
How come in all these pages the term "balubas" hasn't been mentioned? 😀😀😀😀😀
Post by: Aerlik on March 02, 2017, 11:31:31 AM
Been off the board for awheena months and have just come back (ahem...in time for the new AFL season - but I'll not elaborate on that!) and there yiz all are berating the Emmets.

Well, in my humble opinion what that club has achieved is fantastic, remarkable and worth every column inch of praise the club has been getting.

When I started out for the Kilrea u-12s, the one game you were guaranteed to win was against the Emmets.  And that continued for years.  The club often struggled to turn out a full team in the various grades, and it was not uncommon for u-16s playing senior reserve football.  Same with hurling.  You knew you'd be in a game with the Emmets, too, though. 

But the one thing that was so tangible among the Emmets was the spirit and club pride.  They introduced the forward-planning mentality and when the first signs of success were beckoning it wasn't long before they had the ball and were running.  Adrian McGuckin did exactly the same thing at Ballinderry, setting up excellent underage structures that was bought into by the whole community.  I recall playing at a S.Derry u-16 final and looking into the stands and seeing a whole raft of Ballinderry senior players on the sidelines roaring on their team.  We never had that same support in Kilrea and never enjoyed much success despite there being some incredibly talented players.

So,no, I don't care where the McGuigans live, or how many generations of Cassidys played for the club or other such shite that some have been spewing on here on this thread. 

The club is a wonderful example of GAA culture, Irish culture and just great community spirit.  I was most pleased for the hurlers as they broke the hoodoo Derry teams losing Ulster finals.  Sure they didn't beat Cuala but as Cuala are in unchartered ground too, I will be hoping they win the final.

Billy Magoo, hats off to your club, fella.  And here's to an All-Ireland double. 
Post by: OverTheBlackSpot on March 02, 2017, 09:00:14 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on March 02, 2017, 11:31:31 AM
Been off the board for awheena months and have just come back (ahem...in time for the new AFL season - but I'll not elaborate on that!) and there yiz all are berating the Emmets.

Well, in my humble opinion what that club has achieved is fantastic, remarkable and worth every column inch of praise the club has been getting.

When I started out for the Kilrea u-12s, the one game you were guaranteed to win was against the Emmets.  And that continued for years.  The club often struggled to turn out a full team in the various grades, and it was not uncommon for u-16s playing senior reserve football.  Same with hurling.  You knew you'd be in a game with the Emmets, too, though. 

But the one thing that was so tangible among the Emmets was the spirit and club pride.  They introduced the forward-planning mentality and when the first signs of success were beckoning it wasn't long before they had the ball and were running.  Adrian McGuckin did exactly the same thing at Ballinderry, setting up excellent underage structures that was bought into by the whole community.  I recall playing at a S.Derry u-16 final and looking into the stands and seeing a whole raft of Ballinderry senior players on the sidelines roaring on their team.  We never had that same support in Kilrea and never enjoyed much success despite there being some incredibly talented players.

So,no, I don't care where the McGuigans live, or how many generations of Cassidys played for the club or other such shite that some have been spewing on here on this thread. 

The club is a wonderful example of GAA culture, Irish culture and just great community spirit.  I was most pleased for the hurlers as they broke the hoodoo Derry teams losing Ulster finals.  Sure they didn't beat Cuala but as Cuala are in unchartered ground too, I will be hoping they win the final.

Billy Magoo, hats off to your club, fella.  And here's to an All-Ireland double.

Good man, at last someone talking sense.
Post by: PW Nally on March 03, 2017, 10:33:12 AM
Was there always hurling in the area and does it have equal standing with the football?
Post by: The Stallion on March 03, 2017, 02:20:14 PM
Hurling doesn't have equal standing with football in any club in Derry in my opinion. No doubt someone will claim otherwise but it certainly doesn't seem that way to me.

It's a real pity because Derry have always produced really good hurlers and as they showed in 2000 when they gave Offaly a scare, when they all get together and play they're capable of being competitive. That side obviously had better players than now like Geoffrey, the Collins and Biggs brothers etc, but if hurling was treated as seriously as football those times could return.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 03, 2017, 07:35:15 PM
Quote from: PW Nally on March 03, 2017, 10:33:12 AM
Was there always hurling in the area and does it have equal standing with the football?

Paid lip service by the county board, lots of hurlers moved to a playing county football rather than throw their lot into hurling, the schools always produced tough teams and when I played at juvenile level they played in the Antrim leagues and it was tough!!

Derry have too small a pick to generate a quality senior team, football will always be the sport of choice, hopefully S'Neil's run of late will spur on a log of youngsters to take up the caman. It remains to be seen though, only takes a decent run from the footballers to take the shine of that
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on March 03, 2017, 09:09:30 PM

Great post Aerlik, but Slaughtneil (I nearly typed Balubas to please magpie seanie) didn't have an under 12 team in your day, hence the guaranteed two points. They started at under 14; some of their team would have played under 14 for Slaughtneil on a Friday night and then under 12 for ourselves on a Saturday morning.

You're under-selling your own club as well, Kilrea had a super group throughout your underage career.
Post by: Billy Magoo on March 04, 2017, 12:38:03 AM

GRMA.
Post by: Aerlik on March 05, 2017, 03:53:04 PM
Champion the wonder horse, seeing it was 38 years since I played u-12, I could be forgiven for forgetting that the Emmets had to join with Swatragh.  But you're spot on with that as when I went to St. Pats most of the Emmets did indeed play for the Davitts.

Kilrea had many very good players but we just weren't coached.

Interestingly, I began reading Siege of Jadotville and saw a reference to the Balubas.  Here's me thinking they were just a figment of the Swatragh imagination/sense of humour.

Watching the Senior Camogie final livestream at the moment.  The weemin are leadin.
Post by: orangeman on March 05, 2017, 04:37:58 PM
The weemen won. What a result for them.

Double is on.
Post by: vallankumous on March 05, 2017, 04:41:28 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 05, 2017, 04:37:58 PM
The weemen won. What a result for them.

Double is on.

Great stuff!!
Post by: Aerlik on March 05, 2017, 05:10:37 PM
Jaysus that was quare value.    So impressed with that performance from the girls. 

A very big congratulations from Perth, Australia.  Well past my bedtime but worth the wait.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 05, 2017, 07:39:07 PM
Stallion will be devastated
Post by: The Stallion on March 06, 2017, 07:07:07 AM
I'm not devastated. In fact I've never been devastated by any GAA team winning any trophy. I am happy for some of the ladies I know on the panel, but beyond that I have little interest.

There seems to be a misunderstanding on your behalf. I don't begrudge Slaughtneil their success. I just don't enjoy the dreary, cynical brand of football they employ.

Happy to clear up the confusion.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 06, 2017, 10:26:41 AM
Congrats to the Camógs of Slaughtneil, great win. :)
Post by: magpie seanie on March 06, 2017, 12:30:20 PM
Well done Slaughtneil.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 09, 2017, 01:53:01 PM
Have a pair of free (adjacent) Lower Cusacks for the club finals -- PM if interested, on a first come first served basis.
Post by: Aerlik on March 19, 2017, 02:24:30 AM
I'm disappointed with the final result and while there will be internal incriminations and investigations about what went went wrong and what might have been, a sincere grma to the Emmets for keeping Derry exiles entertained this year in all three codes.   

Doire abu.
Post by: Syferus on March 19, 2017, 03:11:40 AM
You're supposed to lose one to win one. Not many sides get a third bit at the cherry..
Post by: The Stallion on March 19, 2017, 06:37:19 AM
There wasn't much entertainment to be had from watching the footballers. Unless you count laughing at the hypocrisy of them complaining about cynical fouls.
Post by: shark on March 19, 2017, 10:23:37 AM
Quote from: Syferus on March 19, 2017, 03:11:40 AM
You're supposed to lose one to win one. Not many sides get a third bit at the cherry..

Not many, but some do. Nemo came back from 01 and 02 final defeats to win in 03. There may be others that I can't think of.  But it's a long long road. Certainly there are more examples of teams winning on the second bite.
Post by: ONeill on March 19, 2017, 10:31:07 AM
Roscommon's Clann na nGael kept coming back, and back, and back.
Post by: Avondhu star on March 19, 2017, 04:38:39 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 19, 2017, 10:31:07 AM
Roscommon's Clann na nGael kept coming back, and back, and back.
A very good club side but just couldnt go the extra step at club final level
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 19, 2017, 05:28:05 PM
Eire Og in Carlow too...win numerous Leinster titles but couldn't push on.
Post by: Walter Cronc on March 19, 2017, 05:30:39 PM
Other than Kilcoo, Scotstown and possibly Cross there's not a whole lot in Ulster to seriously challenge them so they may well be back.
Post by: oakleaflad on October 22, 2017, 05:50:18 PM
Ulster Hurling and Camogie champions again. Would be some achievement if they could retain the football title too. I wouldn't bet against it though.
Post by: JoG2 on October 22, 2017, 07:05:21 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on October 22, 2017, 05:50:18 PM
Ulster Hurling and Camogie champions again. Would be some achievement if they could retain the football title too. I wouldn't bet against it though.

This run Slaughtneil are on really is incredible. They've been on the road now for a long time without much of a break, and a good few of them dual players to boot. Collectively they've some fire in the bellies.
Post by: Syferus on October 22, 2017, 07:09:46 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on October 22, 2017, 07:05:21 PM

This run Slaughtneil are on really is incredible. They've been on the road now for a long time without much of a break, and a good few of them dual players to boot. Collectively they've some fire in the bellies.

Unless they're all IC players it's hard to make out they haven't had a break.
Post by: JoG2 on October 22, 2017, 07:15:31 PM
Quote from: Syferus on October 22, 2017, 07:09:46 PM

You're due a break
Post by: Syferus on October 22, 2017, 07:20:50 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on October 22, 2017, 07:15:31 PM

You're due a break

You got corrected and this is your response. Nice.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on October 22, 2017, 07:42:03 PM
Open to debate whether he got corrected or not laddo
Post by: currychip on October 22, 2017, 07:52:25 PM

Why bother making a comment like that.  He was just pointing up that they are high achievers.  Derry clubs dont win hurling titles.  They did back to back and a big proportion of that team excel at football as well.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on October 22, 2017, 08:36:12 PM

At this juncture, I would just like to point that you do not have a clue.
Post by: longballin on October 22, 2017, 08:39:17 PM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on October 22, 2017, 08:36:12 PM

At this juncture, I would just like to point that you do not have a clue.

Feeling a bit left out... whats a IC player?
Post by: Newbridge Exile on October 22, 2017, 08:52:29 PM
Intercounty I would hazard a guess
Post by: longballin on October 22, 2017, 09:07:43 PM
Ok... thanks
Post by: Syferus on October 22, 2017, 10:25:30 PM
Quote from: currychip on October 22, 2017, 07:52:25 PM

Why bother making a comment like that.  He was just pointing up that they are high achievers.  Derry clubs dont win hurling titles.  They did back to back and a big proportion of that team excel at football as well.

I have huge respect for what Slaughtneil have done. I don't know who wouldn't. But it's wrong to say they've had no break, realistically only McKaigue and the like have went without much of a break and even then Derry didn't exactly have that long of a summer. Their achievements stand high enough to be worthy of praise without adding unrealistic relish to it.
Post by: OgraAnDun on October 22, 2017, 10:35:31 PM
Quote from: Syferus on October 22, 2017, 10:25:30 PM

I have huge respect for what Slaughtneil have done. I don't know who wouldn't. But it's wrong to say they've had no break, realistically only McKaigue and the like have went without much of a break and even then Derry didn't exactly have that long of a summer. Their achievements stand high enough to be worthy of praise without adding unrealistic relish to it.

They started training for the 2016 season in January 2016. It finished in March 2017, at which point they would have  continued training for the 2017 season, which is still ongoing. Providing they win Ulster, that will be two years.
Post by: screenexile on October 22, 2017, 11:19:59 PM

Ah now I know they've been on the go from Jan 2014 but they had at least a 3 month break there between 2015 and 2016. Also at least half the panel play hurling as well so that's a good beak for them too. . .

What are you even talking about Syf you haven't the slightest clue!!

Unbelievable achievement and personally I don't think we'll see the likes of it again!
Post by: JimStynes on October 22, 2017, 11:27:49 PM
I wouldn't count that as a proper break. A proper break would be when they're out of all competitions and mentally able to switch off. Not constantly worrying about not being able to go on the beer or what they're able to eat becasue they need to stay in some sort of shape for their next round, which might be a month or 2 away because GAA fixture schedules are shite. Amazing run by a serious set of highly motivated individuals and club.
Post by: screenexile on October 22, 2017, 11:31:18 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on October 22, 2017, 11:27:49 PM
I wouldn't count that as a proper break. A proper break would be when they're out of all competitions and mentally able to switch off. Not constantly worrying about not being able to go on the beer or what they're able to eat becasue they need to stay in some sort of shape for their next round, which might be a month or 2 away because GAA fixture schedules are shite. Amazing run by a serious set of highly motivated individuals and club.

They were beat by Scotstown in November 2015 Jim so I'd say they took a break then for 3 months without any hassle but 3 months in the last 4 years isn't much of a break ... hard to believe that they looked dead and buried in a County final three years ago only for a last minute disputed goal and they haven't looked back since!
Post by: JimStynes on October 22, 2017, 11:37:30 PM
I was only counting the last couple of years but 3 months break from 2014 is even more amazing.
Post by: Gold on October 23, 2017, 12:38:20 AM
Hats off to that club. Incredible
Post by: Sandy Hill on October 23, 2017, 04:25:31 PM
Quote from: Gold on October 23, 2017, 12:38:20 AM
Hats off to that club. Incredible

+1 Something else!!!!!
Post by: manfromdelmonte on October 23, 2017, 11:41:19 PM
I encountered them at Feile in Wexford this summer
never heard so much Irish spoken around the place
Post by: Feckitt on October 25, 2017, 10:58:06 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on October 23, 2017, 11:41:19 PM
It's no coincidence that the huge growth of the Irish language in that area is matched by the huge success of the club. It's a cliché that the club is the heart of the community in parishes across Ireland,  and in most parishes that is true. But in Slaughtneil there appears to be a total buy in from the whole community.  Language,  Football,  Culture, Community,  Camogie,  Gaeltacht,  Hurling. They're all on the one road and success is the result.
Post by: armaghniac on October 26, 2017, 12:21:27 AM
Quote from: Feckitt on October 25, 2017, 10:58:06 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on October 23, 2017, 11:41:19 PM
It's no coincidence that the huge growth of the Irish language in that area is matched by the huge success of the club. It's a cliché that the club is the heart of the community in parishes across Ireland,  and in most parishes that is true. But in Slaughtneil there appears to be a total buy in from the whole community.  Language,  Football,  Culture, Community,  Camogie,  Gaeltacht,  Hurling. They're all on the one road and success is the result.

And not a stripper in sight, unless paint stripper when they are doing up the clubhouse.
Post by: oakleaflad on October 26, 2017, 10:39:14 AM

Have you realised you're wrong yet?