GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Taylor on April 25, 2017, 10:50:44 PM

Title: 12 Week Ban For Geezer
Post by: Taylor on April 25, 2017, 10:50:44 PM
While it is always good to see an Apple muncher get a ban surely 12 weeks is a bit much considering other recent bans.
Joe McQuillan v all northern brethren perhaps??
Title: Re: 12 Week Ban For Geezer
Post by: Syferus on April 25, 2017, 10:55:09 PM
Sure Frankie Dolan got a 48 week ban in 2013 for giving Marty Duffy a bit of a bollocking after he fücked up the Connacht senior club final. Reduced on appeal, same likely to happen here unless McGeeney went full MMA.
Post by: Taylor on April 25, 2017, 10:57:48 PM
He allegedly threatened poor wee Joe.
Already appealed and it failed.

Davy Fitz should thank his lucky stars he isn't from north of the border
Post by: OgraAnDun on April 25, 2017, 11:06:46 PM
Quote from: Taylor on April 25, 2017, 10:57:48 PM

I would have threatening a referee as a more serious offence than a bit of argy bargy with the opposition players, even if it was on the field of play.
Post by: delgany on April 25, 2017, 11:08:53 PM
This all tied up to antrim player fiasco
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 25, 2017, 11:44:53 PM
If Joe McQuillan didn't exist McGeeney would have had a far better managerial career.
Post by: Aaron Boone on April 25, 2017, 11:52:23 PM
He will bounce back in the only way he knows - an Ulster title for Armagh in 2017.
Post by: macdanger2 on April 26, 2017, 12:08:26 AM
2 match ban so effectively the same as Davy Fitz
Post by: seafoid on April 26, 2017, 06:13:55 AM
It might be great for Armagh . Maybe the players might take on responsibility for doing stuff like making sure there are no last minute goals. Geezer reminds me of Terry Butcher. Great player but mediocre manager
Post by: Taylor on April 26, 2017, 07:26:17 AM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on April 25, 2017, 11:06:46 PM

I would have threatening a referee as a more serious offence than a bit of argy bargy with the opposition players, even if it was on the field of play.

So actually going on the field of play, giving the ref a mouthful and perhaps threatening or calling him a bollix, then getting physically involved with players of opposing team before leaving the field is worse than allegedly threatening.

Right so Ted
Post by: ck on April 26, 2017, 07:48:57 AM
McGeeney is a bully and is used to getting his own way through bullying tactics. Fair play to McQuillan for standing up to his intimidatory nature. Can no Armagh people see the balls hes making of this job with no one to blame but himself.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 26, 2017, 08:48:27 AM
Suffering from the same rule as I did in the past. When a referee makes a statement in his report it cannot be overturned as it is taken to be the absolute truth under GAA rule book. So, if anything is in the referee's report then you have no chance of having it successfully appealed.  I was reported for calling the referee a cheat while on the sideline but this was untrue, I simply said to him after the game, 'that was a disgrace'.  I also entered the field twice to hand back footballs to the umpire to keep the game going and stood talking to him for about a minute.  The upshot was that the rule that the referee's report is always right was invoked, I eventually ended up with a 48 week ban which was fed to Winker Watson to report on the BBC news and mentioned by Sidebottom during his match commentary.
Post by: mrdeeds on April 26, 2017, 09:22:13 AM
Am I right in saying if the ban was upheld properly he wouldn't be allowed onto any GAA pitch such as Armagh training? Obviously this won't be enforced.
Post by: Avondhu star on April 26, 2017, 09:59:00 AM
Quote from: ck on April 26, 2017, 07:48:57 AM
McGeeney is a bully and is used to getting his own way through bullying tactics. Fair play to McQuillan for standing up to his intimidatory nature. Can no Armagh people see the balls hes making of this job with no one to blame but himself.

Living off a one time winner medal.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on April 26, 2017, 10:44:04 AM
What odds McQuillan will be given the Down Armagh game?
Post by: OgraAnDun on April 26, 2017, 11:05:02 AM
Quote from: Taylor on April 26, 2017, 07:26:17 AM

So actually going on the field of play, giving the ref a mouthful and perhaps threatening or calling him a bollix, then getting physically involved with players of opposing team before leaving the field is worse than allegedly threatening.

Right so Ted

The irony. I've not heard anything yet about Davy Fitz threatening the referee. But yes, I do believe that threatening a referee is a more serious offence than telling him that he's a blind bollox.
Post by: general_lee on April 26, 2017, 11:08:32 AM
McQuillan really hates Armagh.
Post by: mrdeeds on April 26, 2017, 11:38:08 AM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on April 26, 2017, 11:05:02 AM
Quote from: Taylor on April 26, 2017, 07:26:17 AM

Right so Ted

The irony. I've not heard anything yet about Davy Fitz threatening the referee. But yes, I do believe that threatening a referee is a more serious offence than telling him that he's a blind bollox.

It's only acceptable in Wicklow.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on April 26, 2017, 12:07:02 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on April 26, 2017, 08:48:27 AM
Winker Watson to report on the BBC news and mentioned by Sidebottom during his match commentary.

And how, pray tell me, did he garner such a moniker?  ;D
Post by: Jinxy on April 26, 2017, 01:12:26 PM
Suffering from the same rule as I did in the past. When a referee makes a statement in his report it cannot be overturned as it is taken to be the absolute truth under GAA rule book. So, if anything is in the referee's report then you have no chance of having it successfully appealed.  I was reported for calling the referee a cheat while on the sideline but this was untrue, I simply said to him after the game, 'that was a disgrace'.  I also entered the field twice to hand back footballs to the umpire to keep the game going and stood talking to him for about a minute.  The upshot was that the rule that the referee's report is always right was invoked, I eventually ended up with a 48 week ban which was fed to Winker Watson to report on the BBC news and mentioned by Sidebottom during his match commentary.

What were you talking to him about?
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 26, 2017, 01:19:46 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 26, 2017, 01:12:26 PM

About what a bollox the ref was.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 26, 2017, 01:23:39 PM
Quote from: general_lee on April 26, 2017, 11:08:32 AM

It's not a lonesome existence  ;)
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 26, 2017, 01:44:33 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on April 26, 2017, 12:07:02 PM
Winker Watson to report on the BBC news and mentioned by Sidebottom during his match commentary.

And how, pray tell me, did he garner such a moniker?  ;D

He uses it as his twitter name. Winker Watson was a character in the Dandy comic.
https://twitter.com/winkerwatson1?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Eauthor (https://twitter.com/winkerwatson1?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Eauthor)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Winker_Watson (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Winker_Watson)

(http://i.imgur.com/iBEmY1k.jpg) 
Stephen Watson - BBC sports reporter
(http://i.imgur.com/iVHJ8sy.jpg)
Winker Watson - comic book character
Post by: AZOffaly on April 26, 2017, 01:45:14 PM
Owen, I'd suggest you're skimping on detail here. 48 Week Ban for calling the ref a cheat sounds a bit excessive. Did you call him that as you held him down and threw footballs at his head or something? :)
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 26, 2017, 01:56:11 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 26, 2017, 01:12:26 PM

It was an evening game in the Athletic Grounds and the locals didn't like the floodlights on above their houses and were in dispute with the Armagh County Board so they burnt something that produced a heavy cloud of smoke just above the pitch.  On that night, there was little wind and the smoke hung low above the pitch with the floodlights giving the area a strange glow.  The linesman and I were discussing the visibility and I was explaining why the smoke was being produced. 
Post by: Jinxy on April 26, 2017, 02:17:58 PM
It really is another world up there.  ;D
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 26, 2017, 02:27:53 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 26, 2017, 01:45:14 PM
Owen, I'd suggest you're skimping on detail here. 48 Week Ban for calling the ref a cheat sounds a bit excessive. Did you call him that as you held him down and threw footballs at his head or something? :)

For a start the referee's report was pure fiction and the ban for 48 weeks from all playing fields belonging to the GAA was a conversion of a 12 week ban to a 48 week ban without appeal because it was established that I was not a member of the GAA.  It was then leaked to the media.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 26, 2017, 02:51:32 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on April 26, 2017, 02:27:53 PM

For a start the referee's report was pure fiction and the ban for 48 weeks from all playing fields belonging to the GAA was a conversion of a 12 week ban to a 48 week ban without appeal because it was established that I was not a member of the GAA.  It was then leaked to the media.

For all my bad press the worst I got was 12 weeks which was overturned as it was wrong😂  (Well technically wrong...I did what I was accused of!). You're an awful hound Brannigan😂
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 26, 2017, 03:24:22 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 26, 2017, 02:51:32 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on April 26, 2017, 02:27:53 PM

For all my bad press the worst I got was 12 weeks which was overturned as it was wrong😂  (Well technically wrong...I did what I was accused of!). You're an awful hound Brannigan😂

Coming from you, I will take that as a compliment! ;D
Post by: Itchy on April 26, 2017, 10:02:14 PM

Or maybe as a referee he doesn't like getting verbally abused by an over hyped gym monkey?
Post by: Avondhu star on April 26, 2017, 10:41:01 PM

Does he? I always thought he was a Bollix but that changes my opinion. He can't be too bad so
Post by: bennydorano on April 26, 2017, 11:29:24 PM
Think McQuillan was Linesman at the Antrim game not Ref - presumably doesn't make a big pile of difference.

More motivation for Armagh.
Post by: yellowcard on April 26, 2017, 11:31:51 PM
In what world would geezers crime be deemed greater than what Davy Fitz done last weekend. Davy Fitz suspension was about right but the geezer one is ridiculous. McQuillan was probably pissed off having to do the line at a division 3 league match so the attention seeker had to find another way of making the headlines.
Post by: ONeill on April 26, 2017, 11:32:26 PM
Wonder what Geezer called him.

Post by: magpie seanie on April 26, 2017, 11:37:16 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on April 26, 2017, 11:31:51 PM
In what world would geezers crime be deemed greater than what Davy Fitz done last weekend. Davy Fitz suspension was about right but the geezer one is ridiculous. McQuillan was probably pissed off having to do the line at a division 3 league match so the attention seeker had to find another way of making the headlines.

Have a read of the rulebook and you'll see there are different penalties for different grades of infractions. Minimum penalties are quoted for each infraction.
Post by: Rossfan on April 26, 2017, 11:38:27 PM

So it's all Joe's fault but poor Geezer gets suspended.
Ye're some craic!!
Post by: tonto1888 on April 27, 2017, 12:01:23 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 26, 2017, 11:38:27 PM

So it's all Joe's fault but poor Geezer gets suspended.

sounds about right
Post by: BennyCake on April 27, 2017, 12:49:56 PM
No word of bans for McCarthy and Walsh from the Div 1 final?
Post by: RedHandTom on April 27, 2017, 01:03:39 PM
McGeeney deserves every bit of his 12 weeks suspension based on what he said. He's an absolute bully and is a liability to Armagh. This stuff needs ripped out of our games. Well done to McQuillan for standing up to it.

"Put your hand up again for another Armagh man and 'I'll cut your f*ckin hand off, I mean that, I'll cut your f*ckin hand off"
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 27, 2017, 01:22:12 PM
Quote from: RedHandTom on April 27, 2017, 01:03:39 PM
McGeeney deserves every bit of his 12 weeks suspension based on what he said. He's an absolute bully and is a liability to Armagh. This stuff needs ripped out of our games. Well done to McQuillan for standing up to it.

"Put your hand up again for another Armagh man and 'I'll cut your f*ckin hand off, I mean that, I'll cut your f*ckin hand off"

You were there?
Post by: yellowcard on April 27, 2017, 01:28:06 PM

Presuming that you are Tom from Tyrone as your username suggests, what were you doing situated in the dugout during a Div 3 league match involving Armagh and Antrim that allowed you to be privvy to the conversation. Or did you just decide to stick a couple of quotation marks around a made up sentence so that you could let on that you were there?
Post by: tonto1888 on April 27, 2017, 02:58:12 PM

Really? Is that really what he said?
Post by: Syferus on April 27, 2017, 04:26:15 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on April 27, 2017, 01:28:06 PM

Presuming that you are Tom from Tyrone as your username suggests, what were you doing situated in the dugout during a Div 3 league match involving Armagh and Antrim that allowed you to be privvy to the conversation. Or did you just decide to stick a couple of quotation marks around a made up sentence so that you could let on that you were there?

Not like the Tymoanies to make something up.
Post by: AFS on April 27, 2017, 05:00:09 PM
Any word on Stephen Beatty's suspension from the same game? If saying something bold to a linesman gets you 12 weeks, then f**king the ball at the ref and punching two opposition players in the space of ten seconds must merit a year or two on the sidelines. Strange that news of GAA suspensions comes out in dribs and drabs like this. Almost as if they're too embarrassed by the inconsistencies and disproportionalities to release information in a transparent, systematic manner.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 27, 2017, 05:04:09 PM
Quote from: AFS on April 27, 2017, 05:00:09 PM
Any word on Stephen Beatty's suspension from the same game? If saying something bold to a linesman gets you 12 weeks, then f**king the ball at the ref and punching two opposition players in the space of ten seconds must merit a year or two on the sidelines. Strange that news of GAA suspensions comes out in dribs and drabs like this. Almost as if they're too embarrassed by the inconsistencies and disproportionalities to release information in a transparent, systematic manner.

The point is that no disciplinary matters are supposed to be made public, they are considered to be confidential matters.  It is always interesting how some are leaked and others are not.  As listed above the result of the cards issued in the league final have not been announced. 
Post by: AFS on April 27, 2017, 05:23:18 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on April 27, 2017, 05:04:09 PM

The point is that no disciplinary matters are supposed to be made public, they are considered to be confidential matters.  It is always interesting how some are leaked and others are not.  As listed above the result of the cards issued in the league final have not been announced.

This confidentiality is a charter for doing whatever they want. A transparent process that openly publishes results would do a lot to dispel suspicions that some can find themselves on the end of inconsistent and inequitable treatment.

The issue here isn't the suspension, but the near certainty that others will perpetrate the same offence over the course of the summer but not find themselves on the end of the same punishment. It happens every year.
Post by: Itchy on April 27, 2017, 06:51:45 PM
I heard that he threatened the referee. He deserves what he got and you Armagh muppets with your victimhood complex should start to look at yourselves instead of blaming referees and whatever else yer having.
Post by: smelmoth on April 27, 2017, 07:09:30 PM
The county board are big on this sort of thing and quick to defend their own publicly. If he is innocent there will be a definitive statement. No statement means he is guilty and the conversation moves on to the proportionality of the punishment. You need to know the exact words used for that debate
Post by: ck on April 28, 2017, 05:50:28 AM
Quote from: Itchy on April 27, 2017, 06:51:45 PM
I heard that he threatened the referee. He deserves what he got and you Armagh muppets with your victimhood complex should start to look at yourselves instead of blaming referees and whatever else yer having.

Well said. These people blindly defending McGeeney and blaming everyone accept him should take a hard look at themselves. No-one gets 12wks for nothing. If he actually said what hes rumoured to have said then he deserves every bit of his 12wks!!
Post by: Taylor on April 28, 2017, 07:07:21 AM
As a neutral in this what I and a few others find baffling is the length of the ban considering what, for example, Davy Fitz got.
Surely the GAA have to be transparent and consistent?
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 28, 2017, 08:48:43 AM
Quote from: ck on April 28, 2017, 05:50:28 AM

Well said. These people blindly defending McGeeney and blaming everyone accept him should take a hard look at themselves. No-one gets 12wks for nothing. If he actually said what hes rumoured to have said then he deserves every bit of his 12wks!!

Yes you can in the GAA.  Under GAA rules anything written in a referee's report cannot be contradicted even when it is wrong.  Only video evidence can be introduced to attempt to put a counter view but even then the referee's written report always is given a higher standard of evidence.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 28, 2017, 08:56:43 AM

Well share your knowledge of what happened and any idea of your source if it wasn't RedHandTom? Perhaps you were at the game and heard and observed what happened?

While you brand Armagh people as 'muppets with a victimhood complex' for questioning what happened, there appears to be a vindictiveness in others who are willing to condemn McGeeney without even a shred of first hand evidence, such hatred of an individual is disturbing.
Post by: mup on April 28, 2017, 09:55:52 AM

Do you really believe that people get suspensions for nothing?

Well I can tell you I got a four week suspension from the sideline  for using abusive language during an u14 game. I absolutely 100% did not use any form of abusive language and I pleaded my case before a committee. It fell on deaf ears. The comb-overs on these committee's have no interest in hearing your side of the story. I would have sworn on a bible that the ref was wrong but it still wouldn't have mattered.

Post by: Ethan Tremblay on April 28, 2017, 10:23:58 AM
Feel it is a bit harsh slating him even though nobody knows what he has said.  Marc O'Se made a good comment that the linesman should have addressed the situation there and then with the referee and it could have been dealt with.  Any one that has played GAA knows that managers and coaches get vocal on the sideline with officials, in most cases I've witnessed, the ref has told the manager/coach to leave the pitch and stand in the crowd or he would blow the game up and walk away. 

On the other side of the coin 12 weeks may sound excessive but effectively is only going to be a 2 game ban.  Further still Armagh will inevitably have Joe as an official again at some stage and we all know how he is going to sway when it comes to disputed 50/50 decisions.         
Post by: five points on April 28, 2017, 11:01:23 AM

They're confidential to the point that the CCCC don't disclose them to the media or anyone else. If a player, manager or county board who gets a ban wish to tell the media, they are free to do so.
Post by: StGallsGAA on April 28, 2017, 11:29:56 AM
Quote from: Ethan Tremblay on April 28, 2017, 10:23:58 AM
Feel it is a bit harsh slating him even though nobody knows what he has said.

We don't need to know.  He's a gulpin/hallion from South Armagh.  An uneducated, ignorant savage by birthright.  During harder times they ate their own children ffs!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 28, 2017, 11:36:02 AM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on April 28, 2017, 11:29:56 AM
Quote from: Ethan Tremblay on April 28, 2017, 10:23:58 AM
Feel it is a bit harsh slating him even though nobody knows what he has said.

We don't need to know.  He's a gulpin/hallion from South Armagh.  An uneducated, ignorant savage by birthright.  During harder times they ate their own children ffs!

And we didn't even have salt!!!  The funny thing is that he's lived outside of south armagh longer than he has lived in it....if anything he's the least south armagh man you'd find round south armagh!!!
Post by: mackers on April 28, 2017, 11:46:52 AM
Quote from: AFS on April 27, 2017, 05:23:18 PM

This confidentiality is a charter for doing whatever they want. A transparent process that openly publishes results would do a lot to dispel suspicions that some can find themselves on the end of inconsistent and inequitable treatment.

The issue here isn't the suspension, but the near certainty that others will perpetrate the same offence over the course of the summer but not find themselves on the end of the same punishment. It happens every year.
For God's sake stop with this reasoned argument AFS.  It's much better craic getting stuck in with bitter crap and blindly slating people and where they're from with no evidence to back it up.
Post by: mup on April 28, 2017, 12:04:46 PM

You weren't allowed post this on another well known GAA Forum because of it being filtered.

You were determined to get it out in the public domain somewhere.
Post by: armaghniac on April 28, 2017, 12:12:22 PM
Quote from: mup on April 28, 2017, 12:04:46 PM

You weren't allowed post this on another well known GAA Forum because of it being filtered.

I think he probably accused McQuillan of being a wannabe Meath man.
Post by: Rossfan on April 28, 2017, 12:18:39 PM
Time for Owen Brannigan to open a top 20 Suspensions thread ;D
Post by: mup on April 28, 2017, 12:32:45 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 28, 2017, 12:12:22 PM
Quote from: mup on April 28, 2017, 12:04:46 PM

I think he probably accused McQuillan of being a wannabe Meath man.

Was it McQuillan that gave that controversial free to Bernard Brogan against Kildare in 2011?
Post by: mup on April 28, 2017, 12:45:57 PM
That was actually Cormac Reilly.
Post by: Rossfan on April 28, 2017, 02:22:53 PM
Quote from: mup on April 28, 2017, 12:45:57 PM
That was actually Cormac Reilly.
Enough said.
Post by: AFS on April 28, 2017, 06:08:36 PM

These posts are almost satirical. Between this forum and one other I've 'heard' four different accounts of what McGeeney is 'rumoured' to have said to the linesman and/or the referee. That's a lot of misinformation. Yet the people questioning the details of this issue are the 'muppets' who should 'take a hard look at themselves'.
Post by: Itchy on April 28, 2017, 06:11:48 PM
Quote from: mup on April 28, 2017, 09:55:52 AM

Well I can tell you I got a four week suspension from the sideline  for using abusive language during an u14 game. I absolutely 100% did not use any form of abusive language and I pleaded my case before a committee. It fell on deaf ears. The comb-overs on these committee's have no interest in hearing your side of the story. I would have sworn on a bible that the ref was wrong but it still wouldn't have mattered.

So you think it's plausible that McGeeney went up to a ref agitated as witnessed by people at the game and said nothing abusive and that one of the top refs in Ireland ( regularly in the top 8) made up a load of lies of what he said, reported it and McGeeney got an unfair suspension??? You think that pile of nonsense is plausible?
Post by: AFS on April 28, 2017, 07:00:21 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 28, 2017, 06:11:48 PM

So you think it's plausible that McGeeney went up to a ref agitated as witnessed by people at the game and said nothing abusive and that one of the top refs in Ireland ( regularly in the top 8) made up a load of lies of what he said, reported it and McGeeney got an unfair suspension??? You think that pile of nonsense is plausible?

The allegation is that McGeeney offended a linesman, not a referee. Nobody at the game 'witnessed' McGeeney going up to a ref 'agitated', because this did not happen. Perhaps, if you are so uncertain of the particulars of this issue, it might save you some embarrassment to not post anything else on this thread.
Post by: Itchy on April 28, 2017, 08:44:27 PM
Quote from: AFS on April 28, 2017, 07:00:21 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 28, 2017, 06:11:48 PM

The allegation is that McGeeney offended a linesman, not a referee. Nobody at the game 'witnessed' McGeeney going up to a ref 'agitated', because this did not happen. Perhaps, if you are so uncertain of the particulars of this issue, it might save you some embarrassment to not post anything else on this thread.

Ref or linesman it doesn't matter. You think they made up a load of rubbish just to "get" McGeeney? Ye really are obsessed with being victims. Sadly ye are crap at getting any benefit from this siege mentality.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on April 28, 2017, 09:33:04 PM
Quote from: AFS on April 28, 2017, 06:08:36 PM
These posts are almost satirical. Between this forum and one other I've 'heard' four different accounts of what McGeeney is 'rumoured' to have said to the linesman and/or the referee. That's a lot of misinformation. Yet the people questioning the details of this issue are the 'muppets' who should 'take a hard look at themselves'.

Your point is articulate and well made, but unfortunately you're wasting your time. What you're dealing with here are bitter, small minded individuals who cannot debate these things in a reasonable manner without that bitterness coming through. Reasoned debate - as your post alluded to - is all but impossible.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 28, 2017, 10:21:39 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on April 28, 2017, 09:33:04 PM

Your point is articulate and well made, but unfortunately you're wasting your time. What you're dealing with here are bitter, small minded individuals who cannot debate these things in a reasonable manner without that bitterness coming through. Reasoned debate - as your post alluded to - is all but impossible.

Post by: Itchy on April 28, 2017, 10:26:29 PM
Why don't ye ask McGeeney what he said. Why doesn't he come out and tell us what it was so ye can all decide if 12 weeks was enough. Why don't Armagh county board tell us what he said?
Post by: trueblue1234 on April 28, 2017, 10:56:41 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 27, 2017, 04:26:15 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on April 27, 2017, 01:28:06 PM

Not like the Tymoanies to make something up.
Coming from the man who was caught lying on here a number of times.
Post by: Armamike on April 28, 2017, 11:42:18 PM

Why are you getting so riled?  Are you rankled because McQuillan is from Cavan and you're standing up for your own?  You seem like the one with the victimhood complex.
Post by: smelmoth on April 29, 2017, 08:31:05 AM

It's impossible for us fans to know if he is guilty or not. We don't know what he said. Its pointless pretending to know what he said or condemning or defending him without the knowledge of what he said.

That said the content of the referee's report cannot just be dismissed.

Other punishments should only be used as context for this one if they were for the same offence and the severity of both offences known
Post by: smelmoth on April 29, 2017, 08:41:44 AM
Quote from: Itchy on April 28, 2017, 10:26:29 PM
Why don't ye ask McGeeney what he said. Why doesn't he come out and tell us what it was so ye can all decide if 12 weeks was enough. Why don't Armagh county board tell us what he said?

The process may be ongoing. At the end of it all he may be found innocent or accept his guilt. I'm not saying either is likely but they would at least draw a line under the matter. If he doesn't accept the outcome then I would expect some statement. After all the Board have been quick to issue statements in the past and if they hold the view that their county manager is innocent and banned for 12 weeks I cannot see why they stand down from the earlier willingness to go public.

I do accept that there is much evidence that siege mentalities achieve much. Especially for us
Post by: RedHandTom on April 29, 2017, 09:46:08 AM
What I stated in previous post on what McGeeney is reported to have said is accurate. Its what was contained the referees report I am reliably informed. I am simply sharing it with you. No other agenda.

To those who have been spouting nonsense on here about me making it up and the referee making it up. Wise up.
Post by: smelmoth on April 29, 2017, 01:59:20 PM

You should appeal for calm on the armagh gaa forum. Some disgraceful comments and very few reasoned ones. Completely lost the run of ourselves if that is representative
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 29, 2017, 02:19:41 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on April 29, 2017, 01:59:20 PM

You should appeal for calm on the armagh gaa forum. Some disgraceful comments and very few reasoned ones. Completely lost the run of ourselves if that is representative

What? Nobody being banned?
Post by: Throw ball on April 29, 2017, 03:54:59 PM

I think most of it is in jest. As you say no one knows the truth. In the heat of the moment I would doubt even the 2 involved hand on heart could be sure what was said.
Post by: Main Street on April 29, 2017, 04:14:55 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on April 29, 2017, 03:54:59 PM

I think most of it is in jest. As you say no one knows the truth. In the heat of the moment I would doubt even the 2 involved hand on heart could be sure what was said.
We do know the truth as it stands now. McGeeney said the truth is in the referee's report and if the ref stands by it  then it remains the truth.
We give the referees the authority and we trust them to make an honest report.
Joe McQuillan is the top ref in Ulster and one of the best in the country, therefore I would expect that a high degree of integrity is one of his qualities.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 29, 2017, 04:50:44 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 29, 2017, 04:14:55 PM

We do know the truth as it stands now. McGeeney said the truth is in the referee's report and if the ref stands by it  then it remains the truth.
Joe McQuillan is the top ref in Ulster and one of the best in the country, therefore I would expect that a high degree of integrity is one of his qualities.

McGeeney said the truth is in the referee's report:  Please give us your source for this.

we trust them to make an honest report: Personal experience would confirm for me that this is not always the case and another poster, Mup, has given his experience that this is not the case.  http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=27853.msg1691212#msg1691212 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=27853.msg1691212#msg1691212)

Joe McQuillan is the top ref McQuillan wasn't the referee, it was an inexperienced colleague who had lost control of the game.
Post by: Main Street on April 29, 2017, 06:38:09 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on April 29, 2017, 04:50:44 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 29, 2017, 04:14:55 PM

McGeeney said the truth is in the referee's report:  Please give us your source for this.

Sorry, you said it. not McGeeney
"When a referee makes a statement in his report it cannot be overturned as it is taken to be the absolute truth under GAA rule book."

Quotewe trust them to make an honest report: Personal experience would confirm for me that this is not always the case and another poster, Mup, has given his experience that this is not the case.  http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=27853.msg1691212#msg1691212 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=27853.msg1691212#msg1691212)
Along with your own questionable evidence, there is a  random anecdote being presented from some u14 game somewhere, as definitive proof that Joe McQuillan is a liar or that he did not accurately hear what McGeeney was mouthing into his ear?

QuoteJoe McQuillan is the top ref McQuillan wasn't the referee, it was an inexperienced colleague who had lost control of the game.

Who said Joe was the ref?
"Disciplinary officials have confirmed McGeeney is to be banned from the sideline for the June 4 Ulster quarter-final against Down in Páirc Esler and beyond after an exchange with linesman Joe McQuillan."
I trust it was bould Joe who reported an account of the exchange to the ref.
Honest Joe is a top ref who embodies integrity in the game.

Post by: Throw ball on April 29, 2017, 06:58:27 PM
Main Street I have no doubt something was said. How serious I do not know. We also do not know if Joe himself would have reported it if he was referee. He may have passed it off as heat of the moment. Having watched Gaelic sport for many a year it is obvious referees do not report all such incidents. If every incident was reported and dealt with - as they probably should - this story would not have made many headlines.
The major question is does the punishment fit the crime. Is it consistent with other incidents?  It does not appear so. It also does not look like the rules give any leeway
As a final point if McGeeney did say something worth a suspension does anyone actually think he would have carried out the threat? I really doubt it.
Also considering how he reacted to a number of bizarre decisions thus year I feel his reaction was more to do with the welfare of his players than any spite against McQuillan.
Post by: BennyCake on April 29, 2017, 08:54:19 PM
Is this really going to hamper our chances this summer? McGeeney will still be in the dressing room before and at half time. It might even benefit us him being higher up with a better view. And with technology these days, he can rely instructions to the bench.

But let's face it, this might gee us up to beat Down but that's as far as we'll go anyway. We're not Ulster or AI contenders.

It done with. Let's move on.
Post by: naka on April 29, 2017, 09:01:56 PM
Think it says more about what a precious  ::) JOE is than what it says about Mc geeney
Post by: seafoid on April 30, 2017, 04:39:23 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2017/0426/870608-mcconville-expects-fight-extreme-ban-all-the-way/
Post by: Rossfan on April 30, 2017, 07:12:21 PM
So McGeeney did/said nothing.
Joe McQuillan told the ref to make a false report.
Seems refs in club games in Armagh submit false reports all the time.

Funny oul world up North. ::)
Post by: Itchy on April 30, 2017, 07:39:32 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 30, 2017, 07:12:21 PM

Yes that's way more likely than McGeeney verbally abusing the ref and getting a deserved suspension for it
Post by: Throw ball on April 30, 2017, 08:20:05 PM

Who said this?
Post by: seafoid on April 30, 2017, 10:04:43 PM
Anyone can lose it all
Just slack marking of Tipp on the last ball
Anyone can lose it all

Anyone can make a mess
anyone can make a mess
Just take on Armagh and make it less
Anyone can make a mess

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yMZSxehxHEc
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 30, 2017, 10:22:19 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on April 30, 2017, 08:20:05 PM

Who said this?

Post by: smelmoth on May 02, 2017, 01:11:15 PM

When people say the linesman deserved the threat to be carried out or that he has never ever been impartial - is that humour?

There were a few references to the Davy Fitz punishment. It has zero relevance. Geezer got the minimum punishment. He could not have got less. Someone else getting a different punishment for a different offence with a different punishment scale is of no relevance.

Also I think someone said it was mad for decisions to be made on the word of an official. Unbelievable

"In the heat of the moment " doesn't work either. I wasn't close enough to hear what was said. No fan was but what is the evidence that the linesman was hot and bothered?
Post by: smelmoth on May 02, 2017, 01:17:16 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on April 29, 2017, 06:58:27 PM
Main Street I have no doubt something was said. How serious I do not know. We also do not know if Joe himself would have reported it if he was referee. He may have passed it off as heat of the moment. Having watched Gaelic sport for many a year it is obvious referees do not report all such incidents. If every incident was reported and dealt with - as they probably should - this story would not have made many headlines.
The major question is does the punishment fit the crime. Is it consistent with other incidents?  It does not appear so. It also does not look like the rules give any leeway
As a final point if McGeeney did say something worth a suspension does anyone actually think he would have carried out the threat? I really doubt it.
Also considering how he reacted to a number of bizarre decisions thus year I feel his reaction was more to do with the welfare of his players than any spite against McQuillan.

Are you seriously arguing for a sentence less than the minimum tariff? How is that going to work?

Not all fans buy into the persecution complex. Start winning meaningful matches and we won't need one
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 02, 2017, 01:28:09 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on May 02, 2017, 01:11:15 PM

When people say the linesman deserved the threat to be carried out or that he has never ever been impartial - is that humour?

There were a few references to the Davy Fitz punishment. It has zero relevance. Geezer got the minimum punishment. He could not have got less. Someone else getting a different punishment for a different offence with a different punishment scale is of no relevance.

Also I think someone said it was mad for decisions to be made on the word of an official. Unbelievable

"In the heat of the moment " doesn't work either. I wasn't close enough to hear what was said. No fan was but what is the evidence that the linesman was hot and bothered?

It's the rule that the word of a referee in his report cannot be contradicted.

Of course the officials were 'hot and bothered'. The alleged incident occurred at the end of a game when an experienced referee had lost control, had doled out three red cards and, according to reports, the discipline of the Antrim players had broken down. 

In addition, McGeeney is being treated differently because of the behaviour of Davy Fitz and the uproar it caused in the media.  As set out by Colm O'Rourke, common sense was not being used, and officials on a committee decided to use the report on McGeeney to send out a warning to other managers.  It is just like how the cards are used hot and heavy in the first few weeks of the championship and by the end there is hardly a card issued. 

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/colm-orourke-why-losing-the-head-never-works-out-35666459.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/colm-orourke-why-losing-the-head-never-works-out-35666459.html)

BTW I can hardly imagine that McGeeney was as hands on as Davy given the TV and photo evidence.......

(http://i.imgur.com/LNJ0sDD.jpg)
Post by: Throw ball on May 02, 2017, 01:55:01 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on May 02, 2017, 01:17:16 PM

Are you seriously arguing for a sentence less than the minimum tariff? How is that going to work?

Not all fans buy into the persecution complex. Start winning meaningful matches and we won't need one

If you read what I wrote when I said the rules give no leeway I think it shows that I do not think any reduction can be implemented.
The problem is in the GAA the application of the rules does not seem appropriate. I know I may be biased but I cannot see how what McGeeney is alleged to have done is worse than what Fitzgerald accepted that he did.
To make it clear. If McGeeney broke the rules he should be punished. But as I said no one on here can definitely say what he did or said. I just hope the punishment fits the crime and it is uniformly applied from now on.
Post by: smelmoth on May 02, 2017, 02:57:47 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on May 02, 2017, 01:28:09 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on May 02, 2017, 01:11:15 PM

It's the rule that the word of a referee in his report cannot be contradicted.

Of course the officials were 'hot and bothered'. The alleged incident occurred at the end of a game when an experienced referee had lost control, had doled out three red cards and, according to reports, the discipline of the Antrim players had broken down. 

In addition, McGeeney is being treated differently because of the behaviour of Davy Fitz and the uproar it caused in the media.  As set out by Colm O'Rourke, common sense was not being used, and officials on a committee decided to use the report on McGeeney to send out a warning to other managers.  It is just like how the cards are used hot and heavy in the first few weeks of the championship and by the end there is hardly a card issued. 

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/colm-orourke-why-losing-the-head-never-works-out-35666459.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/colm-orourke-why-losing-the-head-never-works-out-35666459.html)

BTW I can hardly imagine that McGeeney was as hands on as Davy given the TV and photo evidence.......

(http://i.imgur.com/LNJ0sDD.jpg)

You misunderstand me. The refs say he said something then he said it. End off. Anything would be chaos. Just like if the ref says it's a foul, linesmans says the ball touched an opponent on the way out or umpire says he saw foul play. We put these decisions in the hands of officials.

Neither you nor TB offer any evidence that the linesman was hot and bothered. I have read no sensible argument that the linesman made this up or that once guilty that the 12 week suspension is not automatic. Deal with it and move on. Summer ain't started yet
Post by: smelmoth on May 02, 2017, 03:03:54 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on May 02, 2017, 01:55:01 PM

If you read what I wrote when I said the rules give no leeway I think it shows that I do not think any reduction can be implemented.
The problem is in the GAA the application of the rules does not seem appropriate. I know I may be biased but I cannot see how what McGeeney is alleged to have done is worse than what Fitzgerald accepted that he did.
To make it clear. If McGeeney broke the rules he should be punished. But as I said no one on here can definitely say what he did or said. I just hope the punishment fits the crime and it is uniformly applied from now on.

It seems to me that its the rules (one set of tariffs being higher than the others) you don't like rather than their application (as the rules have been applied correctly). Your energies would be better directed at some campaign for a rule change. That way might lie happiness.

The Fitzgerald thing is done and dusted. The authorities cannot make a judgment call and give Geezer a lower punishment than Fitzgerald if it goes below the minimum tariff. End of
Post by: Throw ball on May 02, 2017, 06:40:37 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on May 02, 2017, 03:03:54 PM

It seems to me that its the rules (one set of tariffs being higher than the others) you don't like rather than their application (as the rules have been applied correctly). Your energies would be better directed at some campaign for a rule change. That way might lie happiness.

The Fitzgerald thing is done and dusted. The authorities cannot make a judgment call and give Geezer a lower punishment than Fitzgerald if it goes below the minimum tariff. End of

There are so many rules need updating I could have a full time job! Won't pay the bills though.
Post by: Itchy on May 02, 2017, 07:29:19 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on May 02, 2017, 03:03:54 PM

If you want sensible argument you've come to the wrong place. You can have "poor Armagh, why always us" arguments instead!
Post by: magpie seanie on May 04, 2017, 07:06:46 PM
I think what this thread proves is how little most people know about the rules and disciplinary procedures of the GAA. In short, being abusive and being threatening are two different things. It appears that McGeeney has been reported for threatening behaviour for which the minimum suspension is 12 weeks. Comparisons with Davy are null and void as Davy was not accused of being threatening.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 04, 2017, 07:32:02 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 04, 2017, 07:06:46 PM
I think what this thread proves is how little most people know about the rules and disciplinary procedures of the GAA. In short, being abusive and being threatening are two different things. It appears that McGeeney has been reported for threatening behaviour for which the minimum suspension is 12 weeks. Comparisons with Davy are null and void as Davy was not accused of being threatening.

I think they were similar offence but one was grade IIa and other grade IIIa offences hence 8 weeks minimum and 12 weeks minimum suspensions.
Post by: Itchy on May 04, 2017, 09:31:56 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on May 04, 2017, 07:32:02 PM

I think they were similar offence but one was grade IIa and grade IIIa offences hence 8 weeks minimum and 12 weeks minimum suspensions.

Look on the bright side, I think Armagh have a better chance to win without him on the sideline!
Post by: magpie seanie on May 06, 2017, 10:14:56 AM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on May 04, 2017, 07:32:02 PM

I think they were similar offence but one was grade IIa and other grade IIIa offences hence 8 weeks minimum and 12 weeks minimum suspensions.

Exactly
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 07, 2017, 01:25:40 AM
Quote from: Armamike on April 28, 2017, 11:42:18 PM

Why are you getting so riled?  Are you rankled because McQuillan is from Cavan and you're standing up for your own?  You seem like the one with the victimhood complex.

I did find it funny that Cavan went and started a brawl three years ago with Armagh, got softened up in it and then whinged about it.
Post by: Erwin Rommel on May 07, 2017, 09:28:17 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on May 07, 2017, 01:25:40 AM
Quote from: Armamike on April 28, 2017, 11:42:18 PM

I did find it funny that Cavan went and started a brawl three years ago with Armagh, got softened up in it and then whinged about it.

Post by: Itchy on May 07, 2017, 11:57:21 AM
Cavan started the fight
The ref made up a story about geezer
Willie Frazer isn't really from Armagh, he's a Tyrone man sent in to make Armagh people look like imbeciles
Getting locked before a game is the best way to watch Armagh play
The earth is flat

Do is life through the eyes of your average Armagh man
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 07, 2017, 02:05:25 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 07, 2017, 11:57:21 AM
Cavan started the fight
Willie Frazer isn't really from Armagh, he's a Tyrone man sent in to make Armagh people look like imbeciles
The earth is flat

Not an Armagh man but it was quite clear that Cavan started it in 2014 and then got whingy when they got softened up in the brawl.
Post by: LCohen on May 07, 2017, 02:18:23 PM
Not all Armagh fans are whingers. In fact most of us are not but there is a vocal minority that are obsessed with victimhood, a misguided belief that a siege mentality can outfox tactical nouse and a refusal to meaningfully assess the current team and management.

Anyone who is positive about the potential of the current team is shouted down and if you dare to think positively that things can be done better then you are being disloyal to the guru on the sideline and treated as a traitor. My worry is that minority are disproportionately present in and around the current management and county set up.

We are too willing to become embroiled in phoney wars
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on May 07, 2017, 02:37:42 PM
Quote from: LCohen on May 07, 2017, 02:18:23 PM
Not all Armagh fans are whingers. In fact most of us are not but there is a vocal minority that are obsessed with victimhood, a misguided belief that a siege mentality can outfox tactical nouse and a refusal to meaningfully assess the current team and management.

Anyone who is positive about the potential of the current team is shouted down and if you dare to think positively that things can be done better then you are being disloyal to the guru on the sideline and treated as a traitor. My worry is that minority are disproportionately present in and around the current management and county set up.

Indeed not all Cavan men are bitter towards Armagh and McGeeney - there are though a vocal few.

You make some good points in your post, and I was largely in agreement with a lot of it. Yes indeed there are those who will not countenance any negativity and there is of course those exercising a siege mentality. However in Armagh, we're lucky, as we have a nice balanced set of viewpoints. For every man, woman and child refusing to acknowledge the negative, there are many who will refuse whatever positives are out there and show only too readily a willingness to put the boot in. Geezer and the current management are normally the target of their ire and many of those will use disparaging and ironic references to Geezer along such lines as, 'the guru'. 

I have to say I genuinely be taken aback by the ire that is directed towards Geezer around the country. Dublin and many of the Ulster counties come to mind - Cavan and Donegal are two in particular I have remarked on Boards.ie but it is very prevalent in our own County, which I believe is nothing short of a disgrace.

And before someone rushes in with it, no, that doesn't mean he gets a free pass. He should be held accountable like any other manager. I myself would have concerns with what I've seen in the way of selections and gameplan.

However when being held to account in our own County, my hope would be that those weighing these things up, acknowledge the paucity of top class players in our County and the fact that an awful lot of the slings and arrows which have befallen the team have been self-inflicted wounds, or as Dan Maskell used to say, 'unforced errors'. And a bit of respect might be in order too - considering 1999 - 2008. I'd say the fella has earned that.
Post by: Armamike on May 07, 2017, 04:00:20 PM
Cavan started the fight
The earth is flat

Give it a rest ffs. For some reason you've got your knickers in a real twist over Armagh. Give yourself a bit of respite and move on from whatever it is that's eating at you.

Post by: AFS on May 07, 2017, 04:03:27 PM
Just back to the main business of the thread for a minute, found out the other day that Stephen Beatty got a one match ban for his behaviour in the Antrim - Armagh league game. So to clarify:

Hitting the ref with the ball + punching two opposition players = one match ban
Saying something bold to a linesman = 12 week ban

This makes sense.
Post by: Armamike on May 07, 2017, 04:07:28 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on May 07, 2017, 02:37:42 PM

Indeed not all Cavan men are bitter towards Armagh and McGeeney - there are though a vocal few.

You make some good points in your post, and I was largely in agreement with a lot of it. Yes indeed there are those who will not countenance any negativity and there is of course those exercising a siege mentality. However in Armagh, we're lucky, as we have a nice balanced set of viewpoints. For every man, woman and child refusing to acknowledge the negative, there are many who will refuse whatever positives are out there and show only too readily a willingness to put the boot in. Geezer and the current management are normally the target of their ire and many of those will use disparaging and ironic references to Geezer along such lines as, 'the guru'. 

I have to say I genuinely be taken aback by the ire that is directed towards Geezer around the country. Dublin and many of the Ulster counties come to mind - Cavan and Donegal are two in particular I have remarked on Boards.ie but it is very prevalent in our own County, which I believe is nothing short of a disgrace.

And before someone rushes in with it, no, that doesn't mean he gets a free pass. He should be held accountable like any other manager. I myself would have concerns with what I've seen in the way of selections and gameplan.

However when being held to account in our own County, my hope would be that those weighing these things up, acknowledge the paucity of top class players in our County and the fact that an awful lot of the slings and arrows which have befallen the team have been self-inflicted wounds, or as Dan Maskell used to say, 'unforced errors'. And a bit of respect might be in order too - considering 1999 - 2008. I'd say the fella has earned that.

Would agree with that.  Always struck me that he seems to attract a fair amount of ire from outside the county. Not sure why.
Post by: Armamike on May 07, 2017, 04:14:03 PM
Quote from: AFS on May 07, 2017, 04:03:27 PM
Just back to the main business of the thread for a minute, found out the other day that Stephen Beatty got a one match ban for his behaviour in the Antrim - Armagh league game. So to clarify:

This makes sense.

Yes. The guy lost it.  The punishments from these various types of offences don't seem very proportionate.
Post by: Itchy on May 07, 2017, 04:16:28 PM
Quote from: Armamike on May 07, 2017, 04:07:28 PM

Would agree with that.  Always struck me that he seems to attract a fair amount of ire from outside the county. Not sure why.

Well you must have your head squarely between your arse cheeks if you don't know why there isn't much love for him in cavan.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 07, 2017, 04:47:59 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 07, 2017, 04:16:28 PM

Well you must have your head squarely between your arse cheeks if you don't know why there isn't much love for him in cavan.

Ah, now we get to the crux of your bitterness.  So, no matter what McGenney does in the rest of his life you will always resent the fact that Seany Johnson turned his back on Cavan and tried to become a Kildare man and blame the whole sorry mess on McGeeney.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 07, 2017, 04:56:28 PM
Quote from: Armamike on May 07, 2017, 04:14:03 PM
Quote from: AFS on May 07, 2017, 04:03:27 PM

This makes sense.

Well, it would appear that the referee did not include all of the actions by Beatty which included an assault on him which would be the same offence as McGeeney was charged with and should have earned Beatty a 12 week ban.  It's a pity that whoever helped the referee with his report ensuring that the incident with the linesman was included did not ensure that being assaulted himself with a football by a player who also assaulted two others was also included. 

Yes. The guy lost it.  The punishments from these various types of offences don't seem very proportionate.
Post by: Itchy on May 07, 2017, 05:23:13 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on May 07, 2017, 04:47:59 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 07, 2017, 04:16:28 PM

Ah, now we get to the crux of your bitterness.  So, no matter what McGenney does in the rest of his life you will always resent the fact that Seany Johnson turned his back on Cavan and tried to become a Kildare man and blame the whole sorry mess on McGeeney.

I'm not bitter at all. McGeeney showed many times since then what a bluffer he is as a manager. Yet ye would rather blame neutral referee and linesman rather than accept the punishment ye have been dealt. From the outside looking in it is a sizeable proportion of the Armagh support who are bitter with everything and at the back of it all ye are just not that good anymore. No skin of my nose if ye want to live in siege mentality denial for the rest of your lives.
Post by: LCohen on May 07, 2017, 05:44:58 PM

anyone refusing to acknowledge any positive will have a skewed outlook on life. And there are some who just don't like  McGeeney. He seems to have a marmite effect.

My concern is that any criticism of the man seems to result in accusations of being anti-geezer or putting the boot in. It's the easy option for some and they don't hesitate to take it. As long as that is the case there won't be any sensible discussion on how we get things moving.

I call him the Guru because I keep getting told that he is. An expert on conditioning. A master at man management. Ask the same people what this is based on and conversation drys up.

You and I both know we have the players to beat teams that we have struggled against in recent times. Whether those players are top class is a red herring.

Full respect for McGeeney the playing legend. He earned that respect. Armagh don't have to win All Irelands for him to earn that respect as a manager. No manager could get an AI out of this bunch. But we can do a lot better than we are at the moment. Here's hoping that we have a championship like 2014 which at this stage of the season nobody saw coming
Post by: Erwin Rommel on May 07, 2017, 06:43:00 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 07, 2017, 05:23:13 PM
No skin of my nose if ye want to live in siege mentality denial for the rest of your lives.

LOL - of course it isn't. That's why your all over this thead like a rash!

You were saying something about a head up an arse!?!??  ;D
Post by: pearseog on May 08, 2017, 02:43:39 PM
Cavan started the fight
The earth is flat

Was that the same fight that Marty Dunne broke his hand when the Armagh player headbutted his closed fist?
Post by: Itchy on May 08, 2017, 04:34:22 PM
Quote from: pearseog on May 08, 2017, 02:43:39 PM
Cavan started the fight
The earth is flat

Was that the same fight that Marty Dunne broke his hand when the Armagh player headbutted his closed fist?

Poor Martin never played again for Cavan after that headbutt. There is a rumour that McGeeney used mind power to break Martins hand as he was seen leaving a mind guru training camp hosted by another legendary guru Uri Geller.
Post by: mrdeeds on May 08, 2017, 04:54:23 PM
I'm a Cavan man and like McGeeney. Fascinating character. I despise McQuillan who I think is one of the worst referees in Cavan club football and whatever McGeeney said was probably right. 
Post by: ck on May 08, 2017, 09:26:11 PM

I can give you my viewpoint for what it's worth. For me it goes back to the GPA. McGeeney fronted it from the outset. I'm anti GPA and I saw McGeeney as someone who simply wanted to line his pockets. Not long later he was doing exactly that in Kildare. A man who didnt hold down a full time job and getting a full time salary in Kildare. Fact. A lot of people have no issue with this, fine, but I do.
McGeeney then heads back to Armagh, and for all his salary demands, his teams don't perform and he brings them to Div.3. At the same time he's running around with MMA and inviting media in to watch him train and that. I dislike his desire for profile.
All in all, i dislike the guy. I dislike what he stands for and most of all i dislike his arrogance. His comments to officials recently underline the character of the man. I know most of you will disagree with me but these are the reasons he's not a popular man.
Post by: Beffs on May 08, 2017, 10:25:50 PM
Don't have strong feelings about him, one way or another. I'm just baffled at the gushing, uber deferential treatement that he gets from a largely adoring media, when his managerial career really doesn't warrant it. They bang on about his legendary intensity and ferocity and ability to inspire cult like devotion in his players. But there is rarely any real analysis of his tactical acumen on the side line. Or lack therof. Brian Cody's decision making come in for more rigourous attention than Geezers does. It's baffling.

Yes, he was a legend of a player, but that was a long time ago. He should be judged on his achievements now, not what he did over a decade ago. No other former player manager has his playing days constantly brought up over and over, when the conversation should be about them as a manager. Why should he be different? I really don't get it.

No problem at all, with him making a few bob on the side. Anthony Daly and James Horan's bank managers must be the happiest men in the country these days and fair play to them for it. But they acheived real milestones in their last managerial gigs. When you see Geezer rocking up to yet another Off The Ball roadshow, or be the subject of yet another Barry Egan style adoring profile in the Indo, it's hard not to roll your eyes & wonder what did he achieve as a manager, to warrant yet another big pay day.
Post by: mcklatchee on May 08, 2017, 10:27:46 PM
I feckin hate MMA but you can't hate a man for liking something you don't. As for the money craic you're spot on.

McGeeney doesn't really seem to have any love for the game or its traditions. I get that he likes training. Likes the physical side of the game but never really got the impression that he would get any real thrill from a cracking game if he had no connection with either team. Maybe that latter comment is incorrect but it is the impression he gives
Post by: tonto1888 on May 09, 2017, 12:16:34 PM
Quote from: ck on May 08, 2017, 09:26:11 PM

I can give you my viewpoint for what it's worth. For me it goes back to the GPA. McGeeney fronted it from the outset. I'm anti GPA and I saw McGeeney as someone who simply wanted to line his pockets. Not long later he was doing exactly that in Kildare. A man who didnt hold down a full time job and getting a full time salary in Kildare. Fact. A lot of people have no issue with this, fine, but I do.
McGeeney then heads back to Armagh, and for all his salary demands, his teams don't perform and he brings them to Div.3. At the same time he's running around with MMA and inviting media in to watch him train and that. I dislike his desire for profile.
All in all, i dislike the guy. I dislike what he stands for and most of all i dislike his arrogance. His comments to officials recently underline the character of the man. I know most of you will disagree with me but these are the reasons he's not a popular man.

Armagh were in Division 3 when he took over
What were his salary demands and what were his recent comments towards officials
Post by: Applesisapples on May 10, 2017, 04:53:59 PM
A lot of people on here making assupmtions. What do we know? Geezer said something to McQuillian, he had a personal hearing and ended with a ban which to my knowledge he is not appealing. In fairness to both Geezer and the CB I have not seen nor heard any excuses or justification. Given the lack of respect to officials I think it is only right that should anyone speak out of line to an official then they need to be reprimanded. If...big if Geezer was threatening and agressive then a two match ban is not excessive. If anything and much as I love to watch Davy Fitz on the line he deserved more for his actions. It is unfortunate that given the nature of our games a two match suspension can mean the end of the summer for a player or a manager. But how else do we get discipline? That said too many matches are now decided by poor referees. Perhaps a fairer suspension should have been for the competition, I don't know.
Post by: PAULD123 on May 11, 2017, 11:59:35 AM
McGeeney was lauded by the media for a fantastic record at Kildare. The reality was that in a weak province he reached only one Leinster final and relied on beating lots of div3/4 teams in the back door. In six years with Kildare he managed only one victory against Division one sides - Derry (who had just been relegated in 2010). It took him 5 years to get out of division 2. Since going to Armagh things have not been glorious.

McGeeney is disliked by a lot of people outside Armagh because he was lauded as a great manager, he earned absolutely top dollar and people think he deserved neither the adulation nor the money.

It may be fair to say he was overrated and over paid but that isn't a reason to dislike him. If Kildare wanted to pay him then that was their choice. It wasn't Geezer's fault that they paid him more than his results deserved. Also if the media choose to overstate his accomplishments again that wasn't his fault. Just because something is not fair doesn't mean the recipient is to blame.

he is no Messiah, but he is not a criminal either
Post by: tonto1888 on May 11, 2017, 12:11:26 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on May 11, 2017, 11:59:35 AM
McGeeney was lauded by the media for a fantastic record at Kildare. The reality was that in a weak province he reached only one Leinster final and relied on beating lots of div3/4 teams in the back door. In six years with Kildare he managed only one victory against Division one sides - Derry (who had just been relegated in 2010). It took him 5 years to get out of division 2. Since going to Armagh things have not been glorious.

McGeeney is disliked by a lot of people outside Armagh because he was lauded as a great manager, he earned absolutely top dollar and people think he deserved neither the adulation nor the money.

It may be fair to say he was overrated and over paid but that isn't a reason to dislike him. If Kildare wanted to pay him then that was their choice. It wasn't Geezer's fault that they paid him more than his results deserved. Also if the media choose to overstate his accomplishments again that wasn't his fault. Just because something is not fair doesn't mean the recipient is to blame.

how many times did Kildare play Dublin in Leinster when McGeeney was the manager?
How much did he earn in Kildare?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 11, 2017, 12:42:11 PM

He's a very naughty boy though!!!

The big concern I have with Geezer is not just him but the whole management structure. There is ongoing work with levels of mediocrity that will hold the county back. There is talent in Armagh, some really serious talent but there is no one at the helm or close to it who has any knowledge or experience of managing a team to real success. What is needed to be a good player is vastly different to what is needed to be a good manager. As it stands the county risks wasting another generation of talent like they have over the last 20 years because they do not have the right people and structures in place.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 11, 2017, 01:27:06 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 11, 2017, 12:42:11 PM

The big concern I have with Geezer is not just him but the whole management structure. There is ongoing work with levels of mediocrity that will hold the county back. There is talent in Armagh, some really serious talent but there is no one at the helm or close to it who has any knowledge or experience of managing a team to real success. What is needed to be a good manager is vastly different to what is needed to be a good manager. As it stands the county risks wasting another generation of talent like they have over the last 20 years because they do not have the right people and structures in place.

Do you mean coach?

Are you referring to the backroom team that are with McGeeney?  They have virtually been the same people at its core for a long time, even before McGeeney was in charge.
Post by: Applesisapples on May 11, 2017, 02:08:17 PM

The big concern I have with Geezer is not just him but the whole management structure. There is ongoing work with levels of mediocrity that will hold the county back. There is talent in Armagh, some really serious talent but there is no one at the helm or close to it who has any knowledge or experience of managing a team to real success. What is needed to be a good manager is vastly different to what is needed to be a good manager. As it stands the county risks wasting another generation of talent like they have over the last 20 years because they do not have the right people and structures in place.
BCB, I am a big admirer of Cross and the way they go about being a club and playing football. However, and you may be close to the truth here in terms of structures the very evident divide between Cross and the rest needs to be closed. I say that and acknowledge that the fault is not all on Cross's side and the County Board needs to show some leadership here. We do need the likes of the McEntees, Oisin or Gareth O'Neill to get involved. I would add that this is the observation of an outsider in terms of the workings of football in the county.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 11, 2017, 02:38:17 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on May 11, 2017, 01:27:06 PM

Do you mean coach?

Are you referring to the backroom team that are with McGeeney?  They have virtually been the same people at its core for a long time, even before McGeeney was in charge.

Meant player Owen.

The core staff being there a long time is the whole point. They are the same people involved in the management of under age structures and are simply not the answer. There are deep lying and long standing issues that will not be addressed as it stands. There is too much talent that will be lost if the right people are not in place within the county structures and by right people I mean people from my club.
Post by: Taylor on May 11, 2017, 03:08:33 PM
Oisin has the big RTE gig now so he is gone.

What is the other McEntee doing now? Hard to believe if he isnt involved with someone.

Dont know much about ONeill managing but he produces good players anyway.

From the outside looking in the players there dont seem to be good enough to be at the top table but a top 12 should be within their grasp.
Post by: DuffleKing on May 11, 2017, 09:48:27 PM

The big concern I have with Geezer is not just him but the whole management structure. There is ongoing work with levels of mediocrity that will hold the county back. There is talent in Armagh, some really serious talent but there is no one at the helm or close to it who has any knowledge or experience of managing a team to real success. What is needed to be a good player is vastly different to what is needed to be a good manager. As it stands the county risks wasting another generation of talent like they have over the last 20 years because they do not have the right people and structures in place.

There could be some truth in what you say but then the solution to what you query maybe doesn't lie in cross. The word you left out was "county" success. The difference now between club and county football has never been more pronounced and if your logic is to be applied, Armagh need to head hunt Malachy O'Rourke, Jim McGuinness or Mickey Harte.

Is it possible that what armagh lack is a a Donal murtagh, Packie mcconville or Gareth O'Neill influencing teams and player development? Tim Gregory maybe?

If there was any indication that this would translate into immediate or medium term success we could all embrace it, however the evidence really isn't there.

For example, the hostility previously and ongoing emanating from some parts of the county against Peter McDonnell is startling when you consider that he has won county and provincial club titles as well as bringing all Ireland U21 and Ulster senior titles to armagh.
Post by: smelmoth on May 11, 2017, 10:33:58 PM
What is the hostility towards Peter?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 11, 2017, 11:06:25 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on May 11, 2017, 09:48:27 PM

There could be some truth in what you say but then the solution to what you query maybe doesn't lie in cross. The word you left out was "county" success. The difference now between club and county football has never been more pronounced and if your logic is to be applied, Armagh need to head hunt Malachy O'Rourke, Jim McGuinness or Mickey Harte.

Is it possible that what armagh lack is a a Donal murtagh, Packie mcconville or Gareth O'Neill influencing teams and player development? Tim Gregory maybe?

If there was any indication that this would translate into immediate or medium term success we could all embrace it, however the evidence really isn't there.

For example, the hostility previously and ongoing emanating from some parts of the county against Peter McDonnell is startling when you consider that he has won county and provincial club titles as well as bringing all Ireland U21 and Ulster senior titles to armagh.

You're right but the reality is that there are limited amounts of successful internet county managers that are available. The county is at a low base and to my mind the step up from strong club set ups to improving a division 3 team is not a huge one.

I also agree with you that the ire shown to Peter McDonnell when he was manager was wrong and from what I heard it was very deliberate and driven by a few individuals within the county set up which in turn had a big influence on a wider scale.
Post by: Taylor on May 12, 2017, 09:52:26 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 11, 2017, 11:06:25 PM

You're right but the reality is that there are limited amounts of successful internet county managers that are available. The county is at a low base and to my mind the step up from strong club set ups to improving a division 3 team is not a huge one.

I also agree with you that the ire shown to Peter McDonnell when he was manager was wrong and from what I heard it was very deliberate and driven by a few individuals within the county set up which in turn had a big influence on a wider scale.

It is a huge step up. Make no mistake.

While Cross are a credit to say it is not a big step up to county level is way off the mark.
Perhaps Division 4 teams like London etc are like Cross but Div 3 teams is miles apart from a club team
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 12, 2017, 05:20:38 PM
Quote from: Taylor on May 12, 2017, 09:52:26 AM

While Cross are a credit to say it is not a big step up to county level is way off the mark.
Perhaps Division 4 teams like London etc are like Cross but Div 3 teams is miles apart from a club team

If the same resources were to be spent on a top club setup like Cross that are ploughed into any Div 3 county team then the club side would have been promoted from Div3.
Post by: DuffleKing on May 12, 2017, 11:54:42 PM

Ffs.
Post by: stew on May 13, 2017, 10:28:59 AM
Quote from: Taylor on May 12, 2017, 09:52:26 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 11, 2017, 11:06:25 PM

I used to admire Cross, when abroad I would pay to watch their AI runs and root for them, no more, having seen their act when getting it tight a few times over the past year I have no time for them, they try and bully, they goad and are arrogant to the extre,e to the point if they played Burren I would rather the Down club won.

I do admire what they have done but not for who they are on the field, they are an unreal outfit, I just watched them demolish the Ogs, but you couldnt like them if you reared them based on what I have seen of them in the three games I watched them play the Harps and Ogs.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 17, 2017, 06:29:41 PM
And so it rolls on as Joe Brolly is brought in to defend an Antrim player...............

Why Saffrons won't take a hit

Big ban: Antrim's Matthew Fitzpatrick has been given a heavy suspension
By Declan Bogue
May 17 2017

A little bit of hard news for you at the top of the column; Antrim will be appealing Matthew Fitzpatrick's suspension, having lodged the appeal on Tuesday night.

The man heading it up, will be no less than...drum roll here... Joe Brolly! An intriguing case just went nuclear.

Let's rewind and recap how we got here. At first, a grainy still image of a player was sent to Antrim, who were asked to identify a player involved in an off-the-ball incident against Armagh. A member of the team management and a member of the county board thought it was a player alright, but not Matthew Fitzpatrick.

On the basis that no-one could offer a certain identification, Fitzpatrick won his appeal.

The Central Competitions Control Committee then acquired a short video clip and asked Antrim to identify the player. A county board officer did so. Again it was not clear, with the players' face and number obscured so Fitzpatrick won his second appeal.

On Monday night, the CHC requested Fitzpatrick for a third meeting. This time they had a much longer clip. They froze the clip at one point and asked Fitzpatrick if he was the player identified. When he confirmed, they laid a charge against him of 'misleading an investigation'.

The length of time of the ban changed, because the charge changed. From striking, to misleading an investigation.

Of course, it will not stick. Antrim are pursuing their case through another layer of GAA bureaucracy with the Central Appeals Committee and are enlisting the help of the legal profession.

At best, it could be thrown out. Antrim are clinging to the stipulation that a video clip, edited in any way, cannot be used in evidence. At worst, Fitzpatrick's suspension would be at least halved.

The odd thing is that Antrim are now being punished off the back of evidence provided by Armagh, in an effort to clear one of their own players.

As joint-manager Gearoid Adams said on Monday night: "The fact they have another DVD of it, which apparently is different from the last one, shows that there is some sort of an agenda.

"If you look at Fitzy's, he was actually hit first in the evidence. So are they going to do the guy who hit Fitzy?

"What does it take for Croke Park or the GAA to go after Matthew Fitzpatrick?"

Adams is intimately familiar with Fitzpatrick, having coached him from he was under-16 at their club, St John's.

To his mind, he can barely recall the forward picking up a yellow card in his career, let alone a red.

What seems clear at this point is that Fitzpatrick did transgress. Let's not forget that. But the GAA culture is not to accept punishments.

It's not the populist thing to say, but when you take this case in isolation, digest the fact that the GAA are going to take a dim view of misleading evidence, then you cannot logically disagree with some form of punishment although the length is ridiculous.

Hold it up against the light of various cases down through the years however and the GAA look as if they are making it up as they go along.

In 2015, Armagh and Dublin played a challenge match that 'got a bit tasty'. Dublin defender Davey Byrne ended up hospitalised overnight with facial injuries.

The GAA asked for video evidence of the match, and neither county provided it. In an age where every training session is recorded on video, we were expected to believe that two of the most resourced, professional teams did not have a video man.

Neither county released names of those involved. Nobody was suspended. There was a significant fine, reduced to a less significant fine on appeal.

And then there was the time Diarmuid Connolly was recorded on video punching Lee Keegan in the 2015 All-Ireland semi-final. He received a red card, but escaped the suspension after Dublin had the means and the expertise to bring it to the Disputes Resolution Authority, prising open a loophole big enough to squeeze through.

This is how it works, in the two-tier GAA justice system.

Say it ain't so, Joe.

Belfast Telegraph
Post by: Throw ball on May 17, 2017, 06:57:44 PM
Without naming the player involved I thought the Armagh player involved in the Davey Byrne incident got a ban later in that year. As he was injured it had no effect though.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 18, 2017, 01:53:17 PM
Joe sorts it out........

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/it-was-complete-bs-joe-brollys-comments-sum-up-whole-farce-as-he-confirms-antrim-star-has-been-cleared-35728464.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/it-was-complete-bs-joe-brollys-comments-sum-up-whole-farce-as-he-confirms-antrim-star-has-been-cleared-35728464.html)
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on May 18, 2017, 02:16:52 PM
The disciplinary process / procedures essentially need to be ripped up and a fresh start made. This is but one example of justice not being served. I was at the match and there was an Antrim player who appeared to momentarily lose all self control and was willing to wreck anything - not in an Antrim jersey - that moved. I'm open to correction, but no Antrim player has been suspended as a result of that particular rampage incident. And that's not to have a go at Antrim, because this is simply the latest in a long, long line of issues. 

I would suggest that any new system would need to have a very straightforward / simple appeals process and that the appeals decision was final, and that all participants, by virtue of the fact they were playing our games, had signed up to an understanding along those lines.

I'm reminded of the quiz master who at the outset lays down the law - "The quizmaster is always right, even when he's wrong!"

Might actually help instill a bit of discipline into our games! Stranger things have happened!!  ::)
Post by: ck on May 18, 2017, 02:52:40 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on May 18, 2017, 02:16:52 PM
The disciplinary process / procedures essentially need to be ripped up and a fresh start made. This is but one example of justice not being served. I was at the match and there was an Antrim player who appeared to momentarily lose all self control and was willing to wreck anything - not in an Antrim jersey - that moved. I'm open to correction, but no Antrim player has been suspended as a result of that particular rampage incident. And that's not to have a go at Antrim, because this is simply the latest in a long, long line of issues. 

I would suggest that any new system would need to have a very straightforward / simple appeals process and that the appeals decision was final, and that all participants, by virtue of the fact they were playing our games, had signed up to an understanding along those lines.

I'm reminded of the quiz master who at the outset lays down the law - "The quizmaster is always right, even when he's wrong!"

Might actually help instill a bit of discipline into our games! Stranger things have happened!!  ::)

Discipline in our games starts with respect of officials. Some of the tripe on this thread alone against match officials would suggest the average GAA supporter is an ignorant caveman with no manners. McGeeney threatening to cut the hands off an official underlines our problem. Some people think this is just fun and part of the game, I just think it's precisely the problem and a 12 week ban to McGeeney is the correct response to his thuggery.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on May 18, 2017, 05:51:03 PM
Quote from: ck on May 18, 2017, 02:52:40 PM
Discipline in our games starts with respect of officials. Some of the tripe on this thread alone against match officials would suggest the average GAA supporter is an ignorant caveman with no manners. McGeeney threatening to cut the hands off an official underlines our problem. Some people think this is just fun and part of the game, I just think it's precisely the problem and a 12 week ban to McGeeney is the correct response to his thuggery.

Good grief.  ::)

The incident I referred to, and which you quoted, included the referee being hit on the back with a football thrown at him by an Antrim player. Having looked through this thread it appears that I was mistaken in my belief that the player in question was not punished. AFS indicated in an earlier post that the player actually received a one match ban and it was not Fitzpatrick.

We thus have a disciplinary process whereby a referee was assaulted and the player who committed the assault received a one match ban whilst Fitzpatrick stands accused of committing an offence on the field that warranted a ban but will not now serve one.

Both those issues, I feel, serve to underline the point I'm making that the disciplinary procedures are not fit for purpose.

Given that you feel the process needs to start with respect for the referees, would you care to comment on the fact that a player who threw a ball at the ref received a one match ban, or would like to respond by taking another opportunity to have a bitter rant at McGeeney?

In light of your contributions to this thread to date, there is genuinely nothing that will surprise me in your response. 
Post by: ck on May 18, 2017, 07:12:27 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on May 18, 2017, 05:51:03 PM

The incident I referred to, and which you quoted, included the referee being hit on the back with a football thrown at him by an Antrim player. Having looked through this thread it appears that I was mistaken in my belief that the player in question was not punished. AFS indicated in an earlier post that the player actually received a one match ban and it was not Fitzpatrick.

We thus have a disciplinary process whereby a referee was assaulted and the player who committed the assault received a one match ban whilst Fitzpatrick stands accused of committing an offence on the field that warranted a ban but will not now serve one.

Both those issues, I feel, serve to underline the point I'm making that the disciplinary procedures are not fit for purpose.

Given that you feel the process needs to start with respect for the referees, would you care to comment on the fact that a player who threw a ball at the ref received a one match ban, or would like to respond by taking another opportunity to have a bitter rant at McGeeney?

In light of your contributions to this thread to date, there is genuinely nothing that will surprise me in your response.

No idea how I seem to have offended you here, I was actually agreeing with you! And given the name of the thread is about McGeeneys suspension and the match you were referring to was the same match, I'd hardly call my contribution a "bitter rant"!
I never hide the fact that I dislike what McGeeney stands for but his alleged ill discipline in this case really annoys me. In fairness to the man though, he took his suspension and made nothing of it, unlike the Antrim player who has sidestepped a suspension.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 18, 2017, 09:47:47 PM
Quote from: ck on May 18, 2017, 07:12:27 PM

No idea how I seem to have offended you here, I was actually agreeing with you! And given the name of the thread is about McGeeneys suspension and the match you were referring to was the same match, I'd hardly call my contribution a "bitter rant"!
I never hide the fact that I dislike what McGeeney stands for but his alleged ill discipline in this case really annoys me. In fairness to the man though, he took his suspension and made nothing of it, unlike the Antrim player who has sidestepped a suspension.

As you 'missed' my reply to one of your previous comments I will give it again. What were the salary demand McGeeney was making. Also what were his comments towards the official? And don't quote me what some other poster speculated previously
Post by: Armamike on May 18, 2017, 10:23:46 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on May 18, 2017, 02:16:52 PM

Who did he hit?
Post by: Itchy on May 18, 2017, 11:46:16 PM
Why did McGeeney not appeal his ban?
Post by: Throw ball on May 19, 2017, 12:22:17 AM
Quote from: Itchy on May 18, 2017, 11:46:16 PM

If he didn't appeal it could be for a number of reasons. The first is that he said something and thought it best to accept the punishment. A second reason would be that he could not remember what he said and so thought it best to accept the punishment. Thirdly there is the possibility that he has no proof  that he did not say what was suggested and as he could not prove his innocence there was no point in appealing. We have to remember that when it is included in the referees report guilt is assumed and you have to prove your innocence - or utilitize a loop hole in the rules!
Post by: Applesisapples on May 19, 2017, 09:10:07 AM
Fair play to him for taking it on the chin, a pity Antrim Footballers couldn't do the same.
Post by: maddog on May 19, 2017, 09:29:56 AM

Would it be better if he did ?
Post by: Jinxy on May 19, 2017, 09:42:26 AM
It's a wonder Brolly didn't offer his services.
Post by: seafoid on May 19, 2017, 09:43:50 AM
I thought he accepted it for the good of the team
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 19, 2017, 09:56:59 AM
In my humble opinion if Geezer had said nothing then it would have been incumbent on the county board to make a statement to that effect, even if they were not appealing it. Something along the lines if Kieran maintains that he did nothing outside the rules of the game however for the benefit of the teams preparations and to avoid the obvious unnecessary media distraction then we will not be appealing the decision. Then keep shut till the game with no media interviews apart from local press me build up the omertà that would be akin to the way he operates and build the perfect siege mentality storm....them and us...southern bias etc etc. Would have world a dream. The silence from the Armagh camp would suggest to me that there is more than a grain of truth in what was said. 
Post by: Fuzzman on May 19, 2017, 11:00:20 AM
In that match between Armagh and Dublin where Davy Byrne got injured, was there an official referee there or why could the GAA not get the referees report on the incident?
Post by: Itchy on May 19, 2017, 12:29:30 PM
He is a great man. He is innocent but never breathed a word in defense of himself. Maybe it is more likely that he is guilty as charged.
Post by: Throw ball on May 19, 2017, 12:51:33 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 19, 2017, 11:00:20 AM
In that match between Armagh and Dublin where Davy Byrne got injured, was there an official referee there or why could the GAA not get the referees report on the incident?

Think Fergal Kelly was referee. Not 100%
Post by: ck on May 19, 2017, 11:11:38 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 18, 2017, 09:47:47 PM

As you 'missed' my reply to one of your previous comments I will give it again. What were the salary demand McGeeney was making. Also what were his comments towards the official? And don't quote me what some other poster speculated previously

Sorry must have missed your reply.
1. Its a well known fact that McGeeney went on a fundraising tour of key business men after being appointed in Armagh and he was on a percentage.
2. He threatened the linesman with personal damage along the lines of cutting his throat.
Post by: mrdeeds on May 20, 2017, 12:17:41 AM
This thread must be open 12 weeks.
Post by: Erwin Rommel on May 20, 2017, 12:34:51 AM
Quote from: Itchy on May 19, 2017, 12:29:30 PM
He is a great man. He is innocent but never breathed a word in defense of himself. Maybe it is more likely that he is guilty as charged.

Why are you still here? You mentioned a while back about people defending McGHeeney was no skin of your nose which come across that you didn't care but your still here. Have you some sort of personality disorder we don't know about?
Post by: Itchy on May 20, 2017, 12:45:33 AM
Quote from: Erwin Rommel on May 20, 2017, 12:34:51 AM

Why are you still here? You mentioned a while back about people defending McGHeeney was no skin of your nose which come across that you didn't care but your still here. Have you some sort of personality disorder we don't know about?

Why are you still here asks man who is still here.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 20, 2017, 03:03:24 AM
Quote from: ck on May 19, 2017, 11:11:38 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 18, 2017, 09:47:47 PM

Sorry must have missed your reply.
1. Its a well known fact that McGeeney went on a fundraising tour of key business men after being appointed in Armagh and he was on a percentage.
2. He threatened the linesman with personal damage along the lines of cutting his throat.

Is it a well known fact? How much was raised. How do you k ow he was on a percentage?
How do you know that's what he done?
Post by: Erwin Rommel on May 20, 2017, 11:24:06 AM
Quote from: Itchy on May 20, 2017, 12:45:33 AM

Schizophrenic?
Post by: Itchy on May 20, 2017, 11:59:17 AM
Quote from: Erwin Rommel on May 20, 2017, 11:24:06 AM
Quote from: Itchy on May 20, 2017, 12:45:33 AM

Schizophrenic?

Who McGeeney? I don't think so. An aggressive bully though is more likely.
Post by: Erwin Rommel on May 20, 2017, 12:13:34 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 20, 2017, 11:59:17 AM
Who McGeeney?

No, you.
Post by: Itchy on May 20, 2017, 02:59:21 PM
Quote from: Erwin Rommel on May 20, 2017, 12:13:34 PM
Who McGeeney?

No, you.

Don't think we are.
Post by: Erwin Rommel on May 20, 2017, 04:05:25 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 20, 2017, 02:59:21 PM
Who McGeeney?

No, you.

Don't think we are.

Maybe your just squeamish then petal, I mean all those slappings Armagh would have given Cavan in Big Bad Geezer's times wouldn't have made you that hysterical surely.
Post by: Itchy on May 20, 2017, 04:26:05 PM
Quote from: Erwin Rommel on May 20, 2017, 04:05:25 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 20, 2017, 02:59:21 PM
Who McGeeney?

No, you.

Don't think we are.

Maybe your just squeamish then petal, I mean all those slappings Armagh would have given Cavan in Big Bad Geezer's times wouldn't have made you that hysterical surely.

A bit like cavan, Armaghs glory years are well behind them. But at least when we were on top we got a few all Ireland's and 39 Ulster's. I only recall losing one champ game to Armagh when playing McGeeney, players 70 mins with 14 players after Francis Bellew dived like a big girl.
Post by: Erwin Rommel on May 20, 2017, 04:37:23 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 20, 2017, 04:26:05 PM
A bit like cavan, Armaghs glory years are well behind them. But at least when we were on top we got a few all Ireland's and 39 Ulster's. I only recall losing one champ game to Armagh when playing McGeeney, players 70 mins with 14 players after Francis Bellew dived like a big girl.

Eureka!!  LOL!   ;D  That's what it was!! Ha ha!!

Sure times a great healer - twenty years from now there wont be a word about it!!   ;D
Post by: Itchy on May 20, 2017, 05:08:18 PM
Quote from: Erwin Rommel on May 20, 2017, 04:37:23 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 20, 2017, 04:26:05 PM

Eureka!!  LOL!   ;D  That's what it was!! Ha ha!!

Sure times a great healer - twenty years from now there wont be a word about it!!   ;D

Yes that right you have uncovered the truth, I should never have thought I could evade a genius like you. I admit it now, I have a hatred for McGeeney because Francis Bellew dived and got Pearce McKenna sent off in 2004.
Post by: Erwin Rommel on May 20, 2017, 05:35:46 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 20, 2017, 05:08:18 PM
Yes that right you have uncovered the truth, I should never have thought I could evade a genius like you. I admit it now, I have a hatred for McGeeney because Francis Bellew dived and got Pearce McKenna sent off in 2004.

Of course not petal - it wasn't you - you're level headed - the previous post was your alter ego!! 

Brillaint!!   ;D 
Post by: Itchy on May 20, 2017, 05:41:33 PM
You remind me of Jamie Bryson, claiming victory when all else fails. Oh well whatever floats your boat.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 20, 2017, 09:57:28 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 20, 2017, 05:41:33 PM
You remind me of Jamie Bryson, claiming victory when all else fails. Oh well whatever floats your boat.

When all else fails
We can whip the horse's eyes
And make them sleep
And cry
Post by: Erwin Rommel on May 20, 2017, 11:05:32 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 20, 2017, 05:41:33 PM

Victory!?!?!   ???
Post by: smelmoth on May 21, 2017, 10:49:27 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 19, 2017, 09:56:59 AM
In my humble opinion if Geezer had said nothing then it would have been incumbent on the county board to make a statement to that effect, even if they were not appealing it. Something along the lines if Kieran maintains that he did nothing outside the rules of the game however for the benefit of the teams preparations and to avoid the obvious unnecessary media distraction then we will not be appealing the decision. Then keep shut till the game with no media interviews apart from local press me build up the omertà that would be akin to the way he operates and build the perfect siege mentality storm....them and us...southern bias etc etc. Would have world a dream. The silence from the Armagh camp would suggest to me that there is more than a grain of truth in what was said.

I think this is the position of most fans. People were getting excited at the time but as we get close to game time people seem to have moved on. There is a winnable game to be won
Post by: PAULD123 on May 22, 2017, 12:30:31 PM
McGeeney clearly abused a refereeing official and I think he deserves a huge ban. I think that not because I am from Down and he's an Armagh legend but because I think anyone who has ever seen a rugby match will agree that that is how they do it and the way players conduct themselves to referees is vastly better.

However also in rugby the referees are respectful and co-operative with the players. And, most importantly, referees are assessed and held accountable for their displays.

Also (off-topic) I think we really need a rugby-style citing panel that reviews every tape and decides on punishments for infringements. Something consistent and organised not the current ad-hoc arrangements of trial by TV where Brolly decides if the CCC should review the tape.
Post by: Throw ball on May 23, 2017, 08:12:25 PM
I see Philly McMahon got a 1 match ban for abusing referee in league final.
Simple question?  If the referee did not deem the offense bad enough to send him off during game why is he subsequently banned?
Post by: LCohen on May 23, 2017, 10:41:09 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on May 23, 2017, 08:12:25 PM
Simple question?  If the referee did not deem the offense bad enough to send him off during game why is he subsequently banned?

A guess but the referee got it wrong originally and corrected it?
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 24, 2017, 12:23:33 AM
Quote from: LCohen on May 23, 2017, 10:41:09 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on May 23, 2017, 08:12:25 PM

A guess but the referee got it wrong originally and corrected it?

Obviously not up to black carding him during the game but wrote it in his report because under GAA rule no content of the report can be contradicted and is taken as the only truth in the matter.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 24, 2017, 10:36:06 AM
The Philly McMahon one strikes me as very strange. Like some other incidents recently it seems they're taking a long time to be processed which I don't understand.
Post by: Rossfan on May 24, 2017, 11:43:30 AM
If a Dublin buck is involved they probably have to get a team of barristers to go through the thing in minute detail?
Post by: Taylor on May 24, 2017, 12:14:49 PM
Or perhaps the referee didnt have the balls to black card him during the game?

Cant be doing that on Dubs
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 24, 2017, 12:23:20 PM
My understanding is that a manager will always be hit harder than a player for any breaking of the rules. I know I did something once as a manager which would barely get you sent off as a player and I was given 12 weeks. There's a higher expectation on management in regards to discipline
Post by: magpie seanie on May 24, 2017, 02:49:16 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 24, 2017, 12:23:20 PM
My understanding is that a manager will always be hit harder than a player for any breaking of the rules. I know I did something once as a manager which would barely get you sent off as a player and I was given 12 weeks. There's a higher expectation on management in regards to discipline

Dishing out melters again?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 25, 2017, 10:50:11 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 24, 2017, 02:49:16 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 24, 2017, 12:23:20 PM

Dishing out melters again?

A gentle shove!!