Russell Brand

Started by ballinaman, December 09, 2014, 02:19:30 PM

What do ye think?

Annoying hypocrite or spot on??

Personally, I agree with some of his analysis. Once you get past the annoying appearance and attitude...makes some decent points.
Hard not to argue with anything raised here regarding the war on ISIS.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mnhqtaHuHEU

I don't think he's a hypocrite. The argument that you can't be rich and argue for social justice is nonsense. The man is a loose cannon though. Putting that Daily Mail reporter's details on Twitter was the behaviour of a Coked-up (as opposed to coked-up) 12 year old.

Quote from: deiseach on December 09, 2014, 02:38:24 PM
I don't think he's a hypocrite. The argument that you can't be rich and argue for social justice is nonsense. The man is a loose cannon though. Putting that Daily Mail reporter's details on Twitter was the behaviour of a Coked-up (as opposed to coked-up) 12 year old.

it'll tighten him

I liked his reaction to the sun slating him too.

He's a but over the top but in general he has some very valid points in this regard. The daily mail is a xenophobic gutter press rag so it's kind of hard to feel sympathy for any of it's people.

He's very intelligent. And knows how to press the right buttons.
He calls out hypocrisy especially in the media. But he can't change anything.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s2eDj39q0Fo

Quote from: seafoid on December 09, 2014, 09:43:30 PM

He is a hypocrite himself and there are plenty of debunkings of his nonsense online if you can be bothered to look, you won't find it in the Guardian though.

Quote from: Minder on December 09, 2014, 10:28:54 PM

He is a hypocrite himself and there are plenty of debunkings of his nonsense online if you can be bothered to look, you won't find it in the Guardian though.
it's not all nonsense and he is a hypocrite but when did that start disqualifying people from media appearances?

Quote from: seafoid on December 09, 2014, 10:33:40 PM

it's not all nonsense and he is a hypocrite but when did that start disqualifying people from media appearances?

Nobody is saying he should be disqualified from media appearances, just don't know why he is indulged so much.

Silly fcuker most of his life but has a good brain and most of his current thoughts are v interesting.  Would like to see how far he will go. 

I don't get the hypocrisy charge. Do you have to be St Francis of Assisi before you can comment on possible redistributive solutions to poverty?

Quote from: deiseach on December 10, 2014, 10:44:08 AM
I don't get the hypocrisy charge. Do you have to be St Francis of Assisi before you can comment on possible redistributive solutions to poverty?
Agreed. It's impossible to make a point on capitalism in modern society without being inside it's structure..Brand uses YouTube which itself is owned by Google...I'm writing this off an iPhone sure.

I never understood why this was a hypocrisy either. A very intelligent man, but some of his ideas aren't well thoughtout. Revolution and non-voting isn't the way to go.

Quote from: Minder on December 09, 2014, 10:36:16 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 09, 2014, 10:33:40 PM

Nobody is saying he should be disqualified from media appearances, just don't know why he is indulged so much.
A lot of stuff doesn't make it into the media discourse so if he can get around that fair play to him.
We are at a very interesting stage with capitalism under so many questions. A lot of elites don't know what's going on.
He points that out too. 
I think he's too narcissistic but lots of people like him. 

Quote from: ziggysego on December 10, 2014, 12:56:33 PM

I never understood why this was a hypocrisy either. A very intelligent man, but some of his ideas aren't well thoughtout. Revolution and non-voting isn't the way to go.
I was interested in the non voting rationale and watched this yesterday..

Can see his viewpoint at bit better after this..
http://youtu.be/3YR4CseY9pk

He is an ex junkie, he is a hypocrite and he is a self publicist.

But this does not exclude him from having a view point on this or any other topic. Also the fact that he is highlighting some of the social injustice of this society can only be a good thing, if it resonates with even a few people then it maybe is worth the more unpleasant things.