GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: vetoldthe on June 17, 2018, 07:01:31 PM

Title: Neil Francis
Post by: vetoldthe on June 17, 2018, 07:01:31 PM
Neil writing in the Independent today
Still having a dig at the Gaa. :(
Title: Re: Neil Francis
Post by: Itchy on June 17, 2018, 07:10:05 PM
He needs to show us the viewership number to prove his point.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 17, 2018, 07:15:13 PM
He's a dick. Paid to stir.
Post by: mrdeeds on June 17, 2018, 07:16:21 PM
In Australia the soccer viewing figures dwarfed the Rugby and Cricket.
Post by: Jinxy on June 17, 2018, 09:17:38 PM
Come on lads, don't take the bait.
The article is deliberately designed to wind people up.
It's ok to ignore these things.
Post by: moysider on June 17, 2018, 11:18:18 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 17, 2018, 09:17:38 PM
Come on lads, don't take the bait.
The article is deliberately designed to wind people up.
It's ok to ignore these things.

Ignoring things is easy. Like I always thought Gerry Kiernan had a point about GAA.
Post by: Jinxy on June 17, 2018, 11:21:49 PM
That wasn't a deliberate wind-up though.
He really does hate the GAA.  ;D
The best bit of that was clowns on social media slagging him off for 'only' finishing 9th in the marathon at the '84 Olympics.
Post by: moysider on June 17, 2018, 11:44:40 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 17, 2018, 11:21:49 PM
The best bit of that was clowns on social media slagging him off for 'only' finishing 9th in the marathon at the '84 Olympics.

A lot of people hate the GAA. Mostly in strong and successful GAA counties in my experience. A lot of GAA people hate soccer and rugby also. I just read the Francis column today and see nothing objectionable tbh. The GAA is not a national game because we don't play other nations. Our 'soccer' team seems to be getting poorer with less quality players as the years go by. Often they are unwatchable. They get hammered 5-1 in a WC qualifier and it seemed like the FAI were desperate for the manager to stay on!

Kiernan's criticism was ok too. There are lads in their 40's and 50's that spend more time running training and are fitter than some senior club players and even some senior county players in their 20s. Maybe it is not the GAA players that instigate it but all the talk of 'sacrifices' is wearing.
Post by: yellowcard on June 18, 2018, 10:21:17 AM
By claiming rugby as the national sport (again) he is simply trying to keep his name in the headlines. Francis is not the worst pundit, at least he gives his opinion but I think he is deliberately trying to wind people up on this issue knowing that he will get a reaction.

The amount of media coverage that an end of season series junket with very little meaning attracts is mystifying.   
Post by: straightred on June 18, 2018, 10:30:03 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 18, 2018, 10:21:17 AM
By claiming rugby as the national sport (again) he is simply trying to keep his name in the headlines. Francis is not the worst pundit, at least he gives his opinion but I think he is deliberately trying to wind people up on this issue knowing that he will get a reaction.

The amount of media coverage that an end of season series junket with very little meaning attracts is mystifying.   

In a vacuum maybe we might take a mild passing interest in it but the World Cup is on and we have meaningful GAA games as well so a poxy rugby friendly is way down the pecking order. Francis needs to understand that saying something repeatedly will never make it true
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2018, 10:32:58 AM

You don't understand test rugby if you think get hammered in contact by professional sports men with an average weight of 100kg is a junket. It's fair to say also you don't understand professional rugby or indeed the cultural significance around test rugby period if you think a test win has little meaning.
Post by: yellowcard on June 18, 2018, 10:45:04 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2018, 10:32:58 AM

You don't understand test rugby if you think get hammered in contact by professional sports men with an average weight of 100kg is a junket. It's fair to say also you don't understand professional rugby or indeed the cultural significance around test rugby period if you think a test win has little meaning.

You're probably right, I don't understand it then.

Die hard rugby followers might understand it but I would hazard a guess that there are an awful lot of 'event junkies' in the country who purely tune in for big Heineken Cup and 6 nations matches and do not really follow the sport outside of those occasions. I would classify myself amongst them but for Neil Francis to claim it as the national sport because of this is just for wind up purposes and I doubt if he genuinely believes his own assertion. 
Post by: Jinxy on June 18, 2018, 10:45:29 AM
Quote from: moysider on June 17, 2018, 11:44:40 PM

A lot of people hate the GAA. Mostly in strong and successful GAA counties in my experience. A lot of GAA people hate soccer and rugby also. I just read the Francis column today and see nothing objectionable tbh. The GAA is not a national game because we don't play other nations. Our 'soccer' team seems to be getting poorer with less quality players as the years go by. Often they are unwatchable. They get hammered 5-1 in a WC qualifier and it seemed like the FAI were desperate for the manager to stay on!

Kiernan's criticism was ok too. There are lads in their 40's and 50's that spend more time running training and are fitter than some senior club players and even some senior county players in their 20s. Maybe it is not the GAA players that instigate it but all the talk of 'sacrifices' is wearing.

By that rationale, they are also fitter than the vast majority of professional rugby players.
My issue with Jerry is that he thinks fitness=the ability to run long distances.
Why would somebody playing a team sport on a pitch with set dimensions train to run long distances, when intermittent sprints are the dominant activity?
I know a few veteran marathon runners who are quite happy to pound the roads for hours on end, but they have very little speed or strength.
If you put them on a football field they'd be lost, and probably end up getting hurt.
Does that mean they aren't fit?
Of course not.
Fitness is sports specific.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 18, 2018, 10:49:54 AM
Neil is an aul windbag and not to be taken seriously.
Post by: Jinxy on June 18, 2018, 10:55:13 AM
He has a point about the provincial finals to be fair.
Post by: straightred on June 18, 2018, 11:00:42 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 18, 2018, 10:55:13 AM

He has a point about one provincial final and if the likes of Meath and Kildare could get their act together he wouldn't have a point at all. The exact same point could be made about the rugby world cup. The early rounds of that are a farce
Post by: screenexile on June 18, 2018, 11:00:53 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 18, 2018, 10:45:04 AM

Die hard rugby followers might understand it but I would hazard a guess that there are an awful lot of 'event junkies' in the country who purely tune in for big Heineken Cup and 6 nations matches and do not really follow the sport outside of those occasions. I would classify myself amongst them but for Neil Francis to claim it as the national sport because of this is just for wind up purposes and I doubt if he genuinely believes his own assertion.

If you get a chance to watch that last Ireland Australia game again you should. . . it was played far from Friendly pace and the hits involved don't seem like they were from lads who were out in Australia just having a bit of craic!!

Francis is a mouthpiece and he's only saying this National Sport nonsense to get a reaction. Who really cares anyway?! Can we not watch both and enjoy them?!
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2018, 11:03:03 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 18, 2018, 10:45:04 AM

No argument there, there should be no such thing as national sport, people playing any sport is in the national interest and should be encouraged.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2018, 11:05:13 AM
Quote from: straightred on June 18, 2018, 11:00:42 AM

He has a point about one provincial final and if the likes of Meath and Kildare could get their act together he wouldn't have a point at all. The exact same point could be made about the rugby world cup. The early rounds of that are a farce

Love the way the Dublin media have played the game, it's not the GAA's fault, we deserve the millions, I mean if only Kildare and Meath got their act together. Brilliantly played...
Post by: Owenmoresider on June 18, 2018, 11:05:26 AM
Can somebody post up this deeply offensive article so we can all consider whether he has a point or is just being your average WUM?

Re the Kiernan and athletics thing, he might have a point if it wasn't presented in such a bitter resentful tone. It might be a trend in Irish athletics though - there's a local guy who's heavily involved in running at national/international level who has (or had?) a weekly column in the Weekender where he regularly threw in snide digs at the GAA whenever he could, sometimes subtle and sometimes anything but. Never had a pop at the Rovers funnily enough.
Post by: straightred on June 18, 2018, 11:11:22 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2018, 11:05:13 AM

Love the way the Dublin media have played the game, it's not the GAA's fault, we deserve the millions, I mean if only Kildare and Meath got their act together. Brilliantly played...
Dublin aren't the only team blocking their progress. Kildare can still prove me wrong this year and BTW - I'm not a Dub !

I agree with you on the National sport - its an unecessary debate and it smacks of small man snydrome. We are all free to play and watch whatever we want but I wish the likes of Francis would  stop trying to ram his preferences down all our throats just because he has some beef with the GAA
Post by: seafoid on June 18, 2018, 11:17:08 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 18, 2018, 10:45:29 AM
Quote from: moysider on June 17, 2018, 11:44:40 PM

By that rationale, they are also fitter than the vast majority of professional rugby players.
My issue with Jerry is that he thinks fitness=the ability to run long distances.
Why would somebody playing a team sport on a pitch with set dimensions train to run long distances, when intermittent sprints are the dominant activity?
I know a few veteran marathon runners who are quite happy to pound the roads for hours on end, but they have very little speed or strength.
If you put them on a football field they'd be lost, and probably end up getting hurt.
Does that mean they aren't fit?
Of course not.
Fitness is sports specific.
The voice of reason, Jinxy .
Post by: Jinxy on June 18, 2018, 11:51:46 AM
Quote from: straightred on June 18, 2018, 11:11:22 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2018, 11:05:13 AM

Dublin aren't the only team blocking their progress. Kildare can still prove me wrong this year and BTW - I'm not a Dub !

I agree with you on the National sport - its an unecessary debate and it smacks of small man snydrome. We are all free to play and watch whatever we want but I wish the likes of Francis would  stop trying to ram his preferences down all our throats just because he has some beef with the GAA

I don't think he has a beef with the GAA.
He's just a bit of a rogue and he knows what buttons to push to get attention in a soccer/GAA heavy summer sporting schedule.
Lately though I have found the excessive amount of 'this is why our sport is the best sport on the planet' nonsense within GAA circles really annoying.
I don't get the mentality of someone who would watch an amazing game of hurling and then use it as a stick (!) to beat other sports (usually soccer) with.
Dopes.
Post by: seafoid on June 18, 2018, 12:00:25 PM
Irish soccer is in a hole at the moment though. I remember when the team got to its first World Cup and all the talk was of the GAA being under threat from a global sport.

Neil Francis can be quite provocative and it has gotten him into trouble recently.
Post by: Solo_run on June 18, 2018, 12:08:49 PM
He really is a hateful piece of s***
Post by: Itchy on June 18, 2018, 12:57:19 PM
Who came up with the idea of a scrum in Rugby. A bunch of big strong men, sticking their heads between each others arses and grabing each others crotches. Its like something out of a gay porn movie. I rest my case.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2018, 01:00:36 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 18, 2018, 12:57:19 PM
Who came up with the idea of a scrum in Rugby. A bunch of big strong men, sticking their heads between each others arses and grabing each others crotches. Its like something out of a gay porn movie. I rest my case.

Is it? I have never watched gay porn to compare.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 18, 2018, 01:01:46 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on June 18, 2018, 11:05:26 AM
Can somebody post up this deeply offensive article so we can all consider whether he has a point or is just being your average WUM?

Re the Kiernan and athletics thing, he might have a point if it wasn't presented in such a bitter resentful tone. It might be a trend in Irish athletics though - there's a local guy who's heavily involved in running at national/international level who has (or had?) a weekly column in the Weekender where he regularly threw in snide digs at the GAA whenever he could, sometimes subtle and sometimes anything but. Never had a pop at the Rovers funnily enough.

Ya - I'd have huge time for athletics/running and the guy involved for his own career and coaching etc so I was a little disappointed to read those pieces by times. Especially when he has lots of positive things to write about in his own sport. The GAA doesn't have to be "weakened" for other sports to get better.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 18, 2018, 01:04:11 PM
Neil Francis is just a WUM though. One of my mates described him after last weeks piece of rubbish as "our Stephen Jones" which probably fits just right.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on June 18, 2018, 01:48:13 PM
The ultimate issue here for the rugby set is that despite unprecedented success the game hadn't grown significantly. The relative lack of interest in the Melbourne game when soccer and Gaelic games were in full swing tells it's own tale. They are miles off soccers playing numbers, football's crowds and hurling cultural significance, and you can taste the hurt.

There seems to be an orchestrated campaign from the rugby heads to brand their game as the national/people's game. The harder they try, the sillier they look
Post by: Itchy on June 18, 2018, 01:49:24 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2018, 01:00:36 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 18, 2018, 12:57:19 PM

Is it? I have never watched gay porn to compare.

You should do your research before commenting on a rugby thread!
Post by: Jinxy on June 18, 2018, 02:07:39 PM
 ???
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2018, 02:15:22 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 18, 2018, 01:48:13 PM
The ultimate issue here for the rugby set is that despite unprecedented success the game hadn't grown significantly. The relative lack of interest in the Melbourne game when soccer and Gaelic games were in full swing tells it's own tale. They are miles off soccers playing numbers, football's crowds and hurling cultural significance, and you can taste the hurt.

There seems to be an orchestrated campaign from the rugby heads to brand their game as the national/people's game. The harder they try, the sillier they look

You've enough to be worried about, without throwing your twopence worth in here!
Post by: rosnarun on June 18, 2018, 02:35:46 PM
can this not be moved to the non sport section.
in fact how about a separate section for the  peoples over reaction to shitstirrers in the press

the we can have a brolly , neil francis, Dunphy, wooly, ewan mckenna (add you own) and a break out wannabe section to cover the latest practioner not yet worjty of his own thread.
while the rest of us can ignore it and talk and bout football and stuff
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on June 18, 2018, 02:41:56 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2018, 02:15:22 PM

You've enough to be worried about, without throwing your twopence worth in here!
What?
Post by: RedHand88 on June 18, 2018, 08:10:37 PM

I can. And it is bitter. I was actually at the first Irish Australia test *cough friendly cough* out in Brisbane and if this is our sports biggest domestic competitor then the GAA is safe for years to come.
Post by: thejuice on June 18, 2018, 09:54:48 PM
When a certain tournament or sport is in its high point like the World Cup or this years hurling championship and it's getting all the headlines there will always be someone who has to come out and say they don't like it or let the world know how uninterested they are. I used to indulge in this kind of thing myself but like most people I did grow out of it eventually.

I'm a casual rugby fan and I'll watch the 6N, the World Cup and any of the four provinces if they get to the final but to be honest I wouldn't roll over in bed to watch the mid season internationals though most of the time I don't even know they're on.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 19, 2018, 12:27:34 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on June 18, 2018, 08:10:37 PM

I can. And it is bitter. I was actually at the first Irish Australia test *cough friendly cough* out in Brisbane and if this is our sports biggest domestic competitor then the GAA is safe for years to come.

The IRFU really don't see GAA as a competitor, I have said this before, they would look at the GAA and see good things (volunteers, revenues club and national) and bad things, as an example everyone in rugby looks at GAA fixture schedules or lack off and just think they are a complete shambles. The IRFU are driven by the professional game, you were in Brisbane, in a sold-out stadium watching rugby, watching Ireland and you think they are worried about the GAA?  Seriously?
Post by: Itchy on June 19, 2018, 12:46:51 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 19, 2018, 12:27:34 PM

The IRFU really don't see GAA as a competitor, I have said this before, they would look at the GAA and see good things (volunteers, revenues club and national) and bad things, as an example everyone in rugby looks at GAA fixture schedules or lack off and just think they are a complete shambles. The IRFU are driven by the professional game, you were in Brisbane, in a sold-out stadium watching rugby, watching Ireland and you think they are worried about the GAA?  Seriously?

Everybody should be worried about their competitor or frankly they are stupid. Where will their players come from if they lose their young talent to soccer or GAA or whatever. In fairness I think Rugby clubs are very tuned into the idea of competition with GAA and do a lot of clever things at underage to make the experience enjoyable for kids.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 19, 2018, 12:59:20 PM

Wasn't sold out. Nor anywhere near it. Plus I would love to know how many of the Irish people there understand the rules or would go to a club game at home. They looked like they were there for the occasion.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 19, 2018, 01:11:22 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 19, 2018, 12:46:51 PM

Everybody should be worried about their competitor or frankly they are stupid. Where will their players come from if they lose their young talent to soccer or GAA or whatever. In fairness I think Rugby clubs are very tuned into the idea of competition with GAA and do a lot of clever things at underage to make the experience enjoyable for kids.

Prime insecure GAA mentality. That's not the mentality of the IRFU, talent will follow the professional ranks, it normally does. Most rugby clubs work with local GAA clubs, pretty much different seasons. 
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 19, 2018, 01:16:10 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on June 19, 2018, 12:59:20 PM

Wasn't sold out. Nor anywhere near it. Plus I would love to know how many of the Irish people there understand the rules or would go to a club game at home. They looked like they were there for the occasion.

Laws not rules. So professional product sells tickets, do you think the IRFU are worried about spectators understanding the laws? Do you think the GAA are worried about the average Dublin supporter who doesn't know where his or her local club is?
Post by: guy crouchback on June 19, 2018, 01:49:54 PM
the gaa has nothing to worry about from rugby, and visa versa. will the gaa lose players to professional rugby? probably, but not so many as to worry about, will they lose any to the club game , again maybe a few but a good few less than rugby will lose to the gaa.

take an example of a very successful vibrant rugby club near me. Ballina RFC. this year at senior lever it won ever competition it entered and has now been promoted back to the AIL, it has had massive success at underage at all age groups, both male and female. a number of previously gaa only local secondary schools now have successful rugby teams across the age groups.

its facilities have improved dramatically, new astro pitches revamped club house and a brand new 4g pitch being laid as we speak.

it is flying high at the moment and those involved would say these are the clubs greatest days. it is particularly proud of its underage set up where it has unprecedented numbers taking part. as an example at present they over 30 under 8 boys
training.

now compare this to the local gaa scene.  those 35 players above are taken from a catchment area that would cover probably in the region of 17 gaa clubs that would conservatively have 350 under 8's at present.

the local soccer team has about 40 under 10's (or the soccer equivalent which is really under 8, its very confusing) this year, who would only draw from a catchment of about 5 gaa clubs.

ballina is a town with a long rugby heritage and a strong rugby base but even with that its tiny in comparison to the GAA.  all of those 35 rugby under 8's play football as well as rugby.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 19, 2018, 02:06:38 PM
Quote from: guy crouchback on June 19, 2018, 01:49:54 PM
the gaa has nothing to worry about from rugby, and visa versa. will the gaa lose players to professional rugby? probably, but not so many as to worry about, will they lose any to the club game , again maybe a few but a good few less than rugby will lose to the gaa.

take an example of a very successful vibrant rugby club near me. Ballina RFC. this year at senior lever it won ever competition it entered and has now been promoted back to the AIL, it has had massive success at underage at all age groups, both male and female. a number of previously gaa only local secondary schools now have successful rugby teams across the age groups.

its facilities have improved dramatically, new astro pitches revamped club house and a brand new 4g pitch being laid as we speak.

it is flying high at the moment and those involved would say these are the clubs greatest days. it is particularly proud of its underage set up where it has unprecedented numbers taking part. as an example at present they over 30 under 8 boys
training.

now compare this to the local gaa scene.  those 35 players above are taken from a catchment area that would cover probably in the region of 17 gaa clubs that would conservatively have 350 under 8's at present.

the local soccer team has about 40 under 10's (or the soccer equivalent which is really under 8, its very confusing) this year, who would only draw from a catchment of about 5 gaa clubs.

ballina is a town with a long rugby heritage and a strong rugby base but even with that its tiny in comparison to the GAA.  all of those 35 rugby under 8's play football as well as rugby.

Yep pretty much nailed it. You touched on secondary schools, that's where the IRFU see growth potential, a lot of resourcing going into schools, way more than clubs.
Post by: rosnarun on June 19, 2018, 02:16:45 PM
the reason Tugby would not be that worried about the GAA is the natural catchment areas are so very different .  protestants, professional, wannabes and shopkeepers make up the majority of the rugby senior teams team in the west of Ireland with a few corrowed from the winter from the GAA,
I used to play/ train with ballina for a few winter in a vain attempt at staying fit and thin and its a fine club very welcoming and were very early in importing foreign coaches and players who made a huge difference to the club , But there is always a sense of those who belong v tourists  and the bar afterwards was always like the vicarage tea party .
also interesting to note they now employ a fine GAA journalist as a PR agent how many GAA clubs with a paid PRO?
Post by: Crete Boom on June 19, 2018, 03:37:15 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on June 19, 2018, 02:16:45 PM
the reason Tugby would not be that worried about the GAA is the natural catchment areas are so very different .  protestants, professional, wannabes and shopkeepers make up the majority of the rugby senior teams team in the west of Ireland with a few corrowed from the winter from the GAA,
I used to play/ train with ballina for a few winter in a vain attempt at staying fit and thin and its a fine club very welcoming and were very early in importing foreign coaches and players who made a huge difference to the club , But there is always a sense of those who belong v tourists  and the bar afterwards was always like the vicarage tea party .
also interesting to note they now employ a fine GAA journalist as a PR agent how many GAA clubs with a paid PRO?

While in more traditonal rugby area's of the country in Dublin, Cork and Belfast might or might not have had this atmosphere your recollection is complete bullshit (Neil Franicis esque bullshit) as I was playing there at the same time about 2 underage groups below you. All bar a small couple of families involved in the club were involved in the Stephenites, Crossmolina or Knockmore cause Ballina RFC couldn't survive if they excluded catholics or farmers or gaa or soccer people. Most people on the senior team, your team and my team (bar one or two) went to the same shite school in the area, played GAA, probably played basketball and soccer too. One of my coaches on those underage teams also managed Crossmolina senior team for a couple of years and has managed Ardnaree and Castleconnor.
I played Junior B rugby with Stephen Rochford for a few games and the people that ran the club when I played were all men who would have come from the same backrounds/schools as the men running the Stephenites or Crossmolina and the current chairman is the father of a star player of the Mayo ladies football team. The cliques, commitee men and shit stirrers involved in Ballina RFC were no different to their GAA or Soccer equivalents as was the case with other country rugby clubs like Creggs or Monivea as there simply wasn't the numbers to sustain them exclusively from people from privately educated Protestants or Catholics schools!!
As for the bar they drank the same amount of pints of guinness or smithicks or glasses of whiskey as I saw downed in the Stephenites bar after games and many the same people drinking in both albeit on different days of the week!! Maybe in the 50's it might have been like what you described but sure back then they didn't have a clubhouse so were all probabaly drinking in Rouses or Moclairs with fior gaels anyway!! I played rugby for the same reason the majority of my team mates did as in the club was down the road, it was someting to do and it kept me out of my parents hair for a couple of hours. My Dad played no rugby at all till he was in his late twenties and nearly all the Dad's of my teammates were the exact same!!
Only when I played underage at provincial level or was involved with Ireland underage development camps did I encounter the kind of elitism of private boarding schools but I am sure in time that will all change too. Back then if you told me a team from Dalkey would be back to back All Ireland Club hurling champions I would have bet there was a better chance of me scoring 5 tries against the All Blacks!!
One of the stars back then of the Ballina Rugby team back then and backrow stalwart for years was Crossmolina All Ireland winning midfielder Thomas Loftus who wasn't just coaxed in for the winter from Gaa!! Maybe he was a Belvo or Methody or Pres Cork alum as I never asked him where he went to school??James Horan was a team mate of his on the gold plated private fields of Creggs road too!!!
Post by: DuffleKing on June 19, 2018, 04:18:25 PM

I think it's safe to say the Culture is different in Ulster. Fundamentally that is why Ulster struggle to attract non traditional support at the top end.
Post by: Itchy on June 19, 2018, 04:21:45 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 19, 2018, 01:11:22 PM

Prime insecure GAA mentality. That's not the mentality of the IRFU, talent will follow the professional ranks, it normally does. Most rugby clubs work with local GAA clubs, pretty much different seasons.

No what your saying is in my opinion naive rubbish. I coach in a small club outside a big town. Few of the young lads are playing rugby in winter and a few of them are now talking about quiting GAA - reason is the big rugby club which draws from a huge area is winning things and their GAA club isn't. In fact the GAA club is struggling for numbers. Its nothing to do with professionalism etc.

Now some people think Rugby is a good bed fellow of GAA, well I don't. Rugby produces power in a player for sure but it has a serious negative influence on ball skill by my observations. I have numerous kids on my underage team that play rugby and it takes me months every year to fix their kicking and stop their insatiable desire to charge into the nearest person in front of them. Soccer is a far better companion, teaching peripheral vision, evasion of the tackle and speed of movement of the ball. That's just my opinion.

The threat to rural GAA clubs from "super" rugby clubs in regional towns is very real. As GAA people we must be wary of them as a threat to recruitment but we should also learn from them. Their sport respects referrees. They do not have lunatics on the side line roaring and shouting at kids to anywhere near the same level as the GAA. They have a focus on fun and as the game is pretty much lacking in any high level skill its much easier to play in my opinion. I can see why kids choose it and I can see why the GAA should consider ways to counter the threat.

Soccer is also a threat with kids thinking they are going to be in premier league signing "contracts" at U15 in many counties which force them to quit other games. Of course 99.9% of them will be dumped on their arses by Galway Utd and Sligo Rovers etc when the time comes.
Post by: Itchy on June 19, 2018, 04:23:13 PM

Lad, you are way off the Mark. Maybe 20 years ago but no more. Check out where the U18s on Ballina Town club come from today.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 19, 2018, 04:39:47 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 19, 2018, 04:21:45 PM

No what your saying is in my opinion naive rubbish. I coach in a small club outside a big town. Few of the young lads are playing rugby in winter and a few of them are now talking about quiting GAA - reason is the big rugby club which draws from a huge area is winning things and their GAA club isn't. In fact the GAA club is struggling for numbers. Its nothing to do with professionalism etc.

Now some people think Rugby is a good bed fellow of GAA, well I don't. Rugby produces power in a player for sure but it has a serious negative influence on ball skill by my observations. I have numerous kids on my underage team that play rugby and it takes me months every year to fix their kicking and stop their insatiable desire to charge into the nearest person in front of them. Soccer is a far better companion, teaching peripheral vision, evasion of the tackle and speed of movement of the ball. That's just my opinion.

The threat to rural GAA clubs from "super" rugby clubs in regional towns is very real. As GAA people we must be wary of them as a threat to recruitment but we should also learn from them. Their sport respects referrees. They do not have lunatics on the side line roaring and shouting at kids to anywhere near the same level as the GAA. They have a focus on fun and as the game is pretty much lacking in any high level skill its much easier to play in my opinion. I can see why kids choose it and I can see why the GAA should consider ways to counter the threat.

Soccer is also a threat with kids thinking they are going to be in premier league signing "contracts" at U15 in many counties which force them to quit other games. Of course 99.9% of them will be dumped on their arses by Galway Utd and Sligo Rovers etc when the time comes.

So you see rugby as a competitor to GAA and the bit in bold sums up your knowledge of rugby. I coach both sports, some lads are good at both, some are good at football some are good at rugby. You sound insecure in your club and sport, sometimes it's not the attraction that drives players away from a club.
Post by: Itchy on June 19, 2018, 04:54:54 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 19, 2018, 04:39:47 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 19, 2018, 04:21:45 PM

So you see rugby as a competitor to GAA and the bit in bold sums up your knowledge of rugby. I coach both sports, some lads are good at both, some are good at football some are good at rugby. You sound insecure in your club and sport, sometimes it's not the attraction that drives players away from a club.

Yes, I am referring to underage. In terms of ball skills you need to be able to hop, solo, kick pass and hand pass in GAA. In rugby you need to be able to throw the ball and catch it. The ball isnt even round so its bounce introduces an element of luck into it too. Call me biased if you will but in terms of ball skills Gaelic Football is much harder for a kid to grasp than rugby. Hurling another notch up again. So GAA needs to do more to make the game easier to young kids who are probably finding it much easier to cope in rugby than they will in football.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 19, 2018, 05:01:11 PM
Biased or deluded if you think the only skills in underage rugby is catch and pass. You have your opinion that's fine, but in this short exchange I have a fair idea why your club is losing players to rugby.
Post by: Crete Boom on June 19, 2018, 05:05:17 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 19, 2018, 04:23:13 PM

Lad, you are way off the Mark. Maybe 20 years ago but no more. Check out where the U18s on Ballina Town club come from today.

It was way off the mark in my time there which started 25 years ago.
Post by: Itchy on June 19, 2018, 05:53:03 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 19, 2018, 05:01:11 PM
Biased or deluded if you think the only skills in underage rugby is catch and pass. You have your opinion that's fine, but in this short exchange I have a fair idea why your club is losing players to rugby.

I never said catch. I also said ball skills. But sure enlighten me to the array of complex rugby ball skills. Maybe if kildare stopped cozying up to rugby you might produce something other than big athletes with no football in them.
Post by: yellowcard on June 19, 2018, 07:48:15 PM

The predominant requirement in rugby is raw power and brute force. Some positions such as outhalf and scrumhalf may have their own defined skillset but its mostly a game of physical force. If you don't have the physical size or strength you simply won't make the grade.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on June 19, 2018, 08:32:13 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 19, 2018, 07:48:15 PM

The predominant requirement in rugby is raw power and brute force. Some positions such as outhalf and scrumhalf may have their own defined skillset but its mostly a game of physical force. If you don't have the physical size or strength you simply won't make the grade.
That's what soccer says about us
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 09:42:37 AM
Quote from: Itchy on June 19, 2018, 05:53:03 PM

I never said catch. I also said ball skills. But sure enlighten me to the array of complex rugby ball skills. Maybe if kildare stopped cozying up to rugby you might produce something other than big athletes with no football in them.

In rugby you need to be able to throw the ball and catch it

You literally said catch it.

Anyway on that pedantic point. I'm out.
Post by: Itchy on June 20, 2018, 10:09:35 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 09:42:37 AM
Quote from: Itchy on June 19, 2018, 05:53:03 PM

In rugby you need to be able to throw the ball and catch it

You literally said catch it.

Anyway on that pedantic point. I'm out.

You are right so I made a mistake and shouldnt have said catch as it is the same in GAA so no differences. So that leaves the ball skill of throwing. I await a list of the other ball skills of rugby I have missed due to my ignorance.
Post by: Jinxy on June 20, 2018, 10:43:58 AM
Whatever about the country in general, I used to really enjoy watching rugby before I was exposed to the Dublin fee-paying schools scene, via the Dublin college scene.
God, you couldn't make up some of these lads, they'd put Ross O'Carroll-Kelly to shame.
Once they found out you didn't go to Blackrock, Clongowes etc. and worse again, YOU PLAYED GAELIC FOOTBALL, they quickly ran out of things to talk about.  :D
It's good to see some of the provincial towns doing well, but for the foreseeable future the game in Leinster will be very much rooted in that incestuous South Dublin-based Senior Cup scene.
That takes some of the good out of it for me.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 10:44:50 AM
I will indulge

Top of my head passing skills

left, right, pop, spin, cat-flap, flat, short, long, disguised, "off the ground pop", "off the ground pass" "during the tackle",  "at full pace", under, over, switch, screen, wrap "off load one hand" "off load two hands", "rip and pop"

I'm sure I could add more if was engaged but I'm not so final thing now add a defined tackle where you have a heap of decisions to process and try do those skills listed above under that kind of pressure. No doubt you think the best athletes in the world (NBA) are just throw, catch and pass merchants too. There's a reason why GAA coaches rob ideas from Rugby and Basketball. My last piece of advice, unwanted no doubt, is never be dismissive of other sports other ideas especially in front of children. Kids are generally repelled by that kind of negativity, if they are playing others sports it's because they enjoy them, they don't need their choices questioned.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 10:47:14 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 20, 2018, 10:43:58 AM
Whatever about the country in general, I used to really enjoy watching rugby before I was exposed to the Dublin fee-paying schools scene, via the Dublin college scene.
God, you couldn't make up some of these lads, they'd put Ross O'Carroll-Kelly to shame.
Once they found out you didn't go to Blackrock, Clongowes etc. and worse again, YOU PLAYED GAELIC FOOTBALL, they quickly ran out of things to talk about.  :D
It's good to see some of the provincial towns doing well, but for the foreseeable future the game in Leinster will be very much rooted in that incestuous South Dublin-based Senior Cup scene.

South County Dublin is hurling country now.

Post by: Jinxy on June 20, 2018, 10:48:26 AM
Hurling is only a game for bad rugby players.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 10:50:00 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 20, 2018, 10:48:26 AM

Definitely less skillful. Hit & hope, the great undefined GAA skill.
Post by: Owenmoresider on June 20, 2018, 11:00:15 AM
And its outpost in Clongowes too.

It must have been some shock for them when a school in Roscrea won the Leinster Senior Cup though.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 11:08:56 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on June 20, 2018, 11:00:15 AM
And its outpost in Clongowes too.

It must have been some shock for them when a school in Roscrea won the Leinster Senior Cup though.

They tried to change the rules after it  ;D
Post by: rosnarun on June 20, 2018, 11:55:54 AM
Quote from: Crete Boom on June 19, 2018, 05:05:17 PM

really so are you still a member there ?
my point  they will take the players from anywhere as you would professionals , but they know who belongs there and who will be gone as soon as they stop playing unless they coach like the undertaker.
i'm not slagging them off just pointing out facts
Not all country rugby team are manned by protestants but  all protestants have some connection to the rugby club . nowhere so much as Ballina .
Post by: Itchy on June 20, 2018, 12:40:32 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 10:44:50 AM
I will indulge

left, right, pop, spin, cat-flap, flat, short, long, disguised, "off the ground pop", "off the ground pass" "during the tackle",  "at full pace", under, over, switch, screen, wrap "off load one hand" "off load two hands", "rip and pop"

I'm sure I could add more if was engaged but I'm not so final thing now add a defined tackle where you have a heap of decisions to process and try do those skills listed above under that kind of pressure. No doubt you think the best athletes in the world (NBA) are just throw, catch and pass merchants too. There's a reason why GAA coaches rob ideas from Rugby and Basketball. My last piece of advice, unwanted no doubt, is never be dismissive of other sports other ideas especially in front of children. Kids are generally repelled by that kind of negativity, if they are playing others sports it's because they enjoy them, they don't need their choices questioned.

Really all those are different ball skills?? Throw, throw and throw.

As for your last line of condescending advice it is unwanted as I never do that. I explained why kids were leaving my club in my original post which you ignored. I also said that i understood why rugby etc were successful in recruiting kids and how the GAA need to learn from it and you ignored that too. You prefer to think my club is full of ignorant dinosaurs that drive kids away. I still stand by my points that Rugby is a competitor. You respect them, learn from them but don't be a fool and consider them anything but a competitor.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 01:03:50 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 20, 2018, 12:40:32 PM
I will indulge

As for your last line of condescending advice it is unwanted as I never do that. I explained why kids were leaving my club in my original post which you ignored. I also said that i understood why rugby etc were successful in recruiting kids and how the GAA need to learn from it and you ignored that too. You prefer to think my club is full of ignorant dinosaurs that drive kids away. I still stand by my points that Rugby is a competitor. You respect them, learn from them but don't be a fool and consider them anything but a competitor.

Oh yes the Big Bad Rugby Club are winning and the lads are having, god forbid. fun. You sound like a priest from the 50s where sport is not about fun but losing, that's your life lesson now suck it up. I say you're some craic as a coach.

You see rugby as unskilled game and one you certainly don't respect, you already posted some other derogatory homophobic comments on the game, why would anyone see your club as full of dinosaurs? Now I am finally out of this conversation, give me a shout when you move into the Paleocene era.

Post by: Itchy on June 20, 2018, 01:56:17 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 01:03:50 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 20, 2018, 12:40:32 PM
I will indulge

Oh yes the Big Bad Rugby Club are winning and the lads are having, god forbid. fun. You sound like a priest from the 50s where sport is not about fun but losing, that's your life lesson now suck it up. I say you're some craic as a coach.

You see rugby as unskilled game and one you certainly don't respect, you already posted some other derogatory homophobic comments on the game, why would anyone see your club as full of dinosaurs? Now I am finally out of this conversation, give me a shout when you move into the Paleocene era.

Not sure what a priest from the 50s was like (I assume they were all the same). Yes, I am good craic as a coach, no doubt about it.

I do see rugby as a largely unskilled game yes. That wasn't the point of my post but I wont disagree with you there. Very few balls skills in comparison to Football, Hurling, Basketball etc. That makes it a lot easier for kids to pick up.

Its a game also full of dangerous head injuries and a game full of drug abuse. Its a game of muscle over brain. However it is good at some things and as an organisation the GAA should learn from what they are good at. Like self promotion for example, they are very good at getting people to watch their games who have no background in the game. Convicning people that some "test" match against Australia is important for example. Also good at no tolerance of abusing referrees.

Anyway, long may Kildare collaborate with rugby teams and produce teams that do very poorly for their sizable population of 220k.
Post by: johnnycool on June 20, 2018, 02:14:03 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 10:50:00 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 20, 2018, 10:48:26 AM

Definitely less skillful. Hit & hope, the great undefined GAA skill.

You watched much hurling recently?
Post by: rosnarun on June 20, 2018, 03:14:32 PM
I wonder does any sport have as much self loathing as the GAA, when see guys who bother to comment thousands of times on GAA mattesr run off in a huff because some one criticized rugby , I just wonder
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 03:24:21 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on June 20, 2018, 03:14:32 PM
I wonder does any sport have as much self loathing as the GAA, when see guys who bother to comment thousands of times on GAA mattesr run off in a huff because some one criticized rugby , I just wonder

Who ran off? I engaged made my point, it's now a circular argument, I'm not here to preach about rugby. When you see idiots bring in religion and sexual preference then there really is no point engaging any further.
Post by: Itchy on June 20, 2018, 04:11:20 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 03:24:21 PM

Who ran off? I engaged made my point, it's now a circular argument, I'm not here to preach about rugby. When you see idiots bring in religion and sexual preference then there really is no point engaging any further.

You are the idiot that brought priests into it. Regarding sexual preference, you are referring to a joke I made about the Scrum being like a scene out of a gay porn movie, thats weak. Surely you can slag me off with something better than that??

Anyway, I complimented rugby on a few things just because I wont agree it is a highly skilled game Dinny threw his toys away. Sure any gobshite can see it is low down in the skill level steaks
Post by: rosnarun on June 20, 2018, 04:24:41 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 03:24:21 PM

QuoteNow I am finally out of this conversation, give me a shout when you move into the Paleocene era.

sounds like running off to me , or is it refusing to engage,
people religious beliefs  have nothing to do with merely that's their tribe and their clubs and I did not confine it to Protestantsi also inclide the professions , you country solicitors and doctors and smack shopkeeprs . where the real snobbery lies ,
in short Notions
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 04:33:58 PM
Can't be arsed engaging anymore, you are both entitled to your opinion, pretty obvious we disagree and I am not going get anywhere, I didn't join the board to talk rugby but I will defend the sport, in fact I would pretty much defend all sports. Anyway that's fine, not going fall out over it, just moving on, is that ok?
Post by: Itchy on June 20, 2018, 04:56:51 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 04:33:58 PM
Can't be arsed engaging anymore, you are both entitled to your opinion, pretty obvious we disagree and I am not going get anywhere, I didn't join the board to talk rugby but I will defend the sport, in fact I would pretty much defend all sports. Anyway that's fine, not going fall out over it, just moving on, is that ok?

100%!
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 04:58:35 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 20, 2018, 04:56:51 PM

100%!

Sound. Up Tipp!
Post by: Itchy on June 20, 2018, 06:02:35 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 04:58:35 PM

100%!

Sound. Up Tipp!

You've finally lost me, Tipp?
Post by: jmk on June 20, 2018, 06:11:44 PM
I will indulge

everything that's wrong with rugby encapsulated by giving a list of bulls**t phrases
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 06:27:44 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 20, 2018, 06:02:35 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 04:58:35 PM

100%!

Sound. Up Tipp!

You've finally lost me, Tipp?

Sorry Ballina in my head. Up Down!
Post by: Jinxy on June 20, 2018, 06:52:08 PM
Keep going Dinny, you'll get there in the end.
Post by: Crete Boom on June 21, 2018, 12:11:40 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on June 20, 2018, 11:55:54 AM
Quote from: Crete Boom on June 19, 2018, 05:05:17 PM

really so are you still a member there ?
my point  they will take the players from anywhere as you would professionals , but they know who belongs there and who will be gone as soon as they stop playing unless they coach like the undertaker.
i'm not slagging them off just pointing out facts
Not all country rugby team are manned by protestants but  all protestants have some connection to the rugby club . nowhere so much as Ballina .

Yeah I'm still a member as are a good few of my teammates and there was no protestants on my team and only one lad went to Roscrea with the rest incarcerated in Muredachs, and the last president is a plasterer who was captain of the senior team when you were playing. You are not pointing out facts just pointing out what you perceived to be what Ballina RFC or rugby was to you just like somebody saying the Stephenites or Crossmolina was made up of republican knuckle dragging farmers. There was the same cliques in Ballina RFC as Cross or Knockmore or the Stephenites or anywhere where committees were in Mayo at that time and those same people tried to decide whether you belonged or didn't due to who your farther was or did or the family you came from and they were all the same people who went to the same schools and did many of the same types of jobs!! There was just as many solicitors or professionals in all those clubs and it was nothing like the traditional rugby clubs I played against in say Galway or Ulster or Cork or south Dublin, there I admit I definitely felt I wasn't wanted!!
One of the benefits of  growing up in Ballina then was that I got to play any sport I wanted as did nearly all my friends and we all had good and bad experiences in every sport but it was down to individuals we encountered not due to any of our backgrounds or what religion we were!! I am also a member of the Stephenites and my Dad's business is the main sponsor of the hurling club as that is his main love in sport. He also sponsors the Stephenites and the rugby club too cause he has friends involved in both as well as Knockmore and Cross but he could never bring himself to sponsor either as it was Ballina and the Stephenites where he was rared!! ;)
As for Protestants being connected to the club they did tend to go to protestants schools where rugby would have been the main sport just like football was the main sport in Muredachs but alot of those Protestants played football no more so than in Crossmolina as you probably know the family I am thinking of.