The Sunday Game

Started by Jinxy, May 11, 2008, 10:47:55 PM

Quote from: thewobbler on February 05, 2018, 12:02:45 PM
f**k here we go again. RTE are shitbags because they won't sent OB units to all 30-odd national league matches. Even when they do, they're still shitbags as they didn't send the 3 camera men, sound man and editor needed to do the game justice. And even when they do that they're still shitbags as their 90 minute show focuses only on scores, and should be a 5 hour show with detailed analysis from properly interesting GAA pundits who have no bias. Oh and don't forget that we, the taxpayer should be able to press a button to swap hurling in front of football and vice versa.

Sky TV charge £35pm for such a service and even at that only make their money out of the English football game's international profile. But let's lose these facts in favour of giving off.

no harm to you but yis are all as f**king mad as batshit upstairs.

Aye but what about that oul fella from the west coast of Ireland who cant get to the games but has the right to see every single match? 

Quote from: BennyHarp on February 05, 2018, 12:27:48 PM
f**k here we go again. RTE are shitbags because they won't sent OB units to all 30-odd national league matches. Even when they do, they're still shitbags as they didn't send the 3 camera men, sound man and editor needed to do the game justice. And even when they do that they're still shitbags as their 90 minute show focuses only on scores, and should be a 5 hour show with detailed analysis from properly interesting GAA pundits who have no bias. Oh and don't forget that we, the taxpayer should be able to press a button to swap hurling in front of football and vice versa.

Sky TV charge £35pm for such a service and even at that only make their money out of the English football game's international profile. But let's lose these facts in favour of giving off.

Aye but what about that oul fella from the west coast of Ireland who cant get to the games but has the right to see every single match?

What a combination of piss-poor posts.

Why can TG4 do a better job with highlights with far less money? It immediately ruins that little spiel.

The programme is a token gesture to tick a box.

RTE had camera's at one football game over the weekend and that was a pathetic attempt at coverage and they used Eir Sports & TG4 footage for the other games.

They have no problem finding a budget for showing the u20's Rugby on a friday night prime time spot.

Once again, what was the deal for the rugby U20 in relation to the internationals? Perhaps the IRFU required that both be covered?

.... and throughout the summer they've no problem finding budgets for championship matches across the country.

It's 2018 folks. The results of national league games are published in 2,000 online sources by 4pm the same evening. Putting up a graphic of the results at 10pm that night doesn't have the value it once had.

Quote from: Syferus on February 05, 2018, 12:35:02 PM

Why can TG4 do a better job with highlights with far less money? It immediately ruins that little spiel.

Explain how tG4 do a better job with highlights than RTE. I must be asleep every week when TG4 covers action from a dozen games they sent OB units to

Esmarelda

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Quote from: From the Bunker on February 05, 2018, 12:26:41 PM

Yeah, a graphic with results and tables of lower divisions cost a fortune! We are not asking them to use CGI. We are not asking them to show all Lower division game either. Just a few here and there. Acknowledge it exists. The national League is only 8 weekends!

In every sport in the world, the higher levels of the game enjoys the media focus, while the lower echelons try to ride a little on those coat tails.

Plus other sports don't have feckin hurling looking a 50:50 (or better) share of the airtime.

——

But most of all, this. Throughout the national league, counties will play weakened teams and experimental tactics. Win lose or draw, 9 out of 10 results won't be celebrated or commiserated by those who played in the matches, including the actual fecking finals.

The GAA is responsible for the delivery of a substandard product; a competition that isn't worth celebrating. Asking RTE to then treat it with respect is more than a touch trite imho.

I cant believe it but I agree with you. Wobblers post was such bullshit I had to read it again.

First off, last year the coverage was crap. Sent a camera to the ground and proceeded to show 2 mins of highlights. People rightly questioned this and requested our public broadcaster (who gets 100% of everyones TV licence fee and hefty government subsidies) on what they were doing.

This year is even worse. No camera at any Div 2 game. A guy with what looked like a phone recording the game in Newbridge. All games shown in any detail had already been shown live elsewhere. The coverage is now worse rather than better with only the top 4 games in the country covered. That is not good enough.

Prediction - there will be a camera at one Div 2 game next week, Cavan v Meath, because Eir Sport are covering it!

Also - You must be blind if you dont think TG4 coverage is far better than RTE. They show minor games, club games, U21 games, Sigerson etc etc. How do they do that?

Quote from: Itchy on February 05, 2018, 12:59:18 PM
Also - You must be blind if you dont think TG4 coverage is far better than RTE. They show minor games, club games, U21 games, Sigerson etc etc. How do they do that?

By covering 2-3 games maximum per day. That's how.

But that's really not what people are expecting from TSG.

Quote from: Itchy on February 05, 2018, 12:57:48 PM

I cant believe it but I agree with you. Wobblers post was such bullshit I had to read it again.

First off, last year the coverage was crap. Sent a camera to the ground and proceeded to show 2 mins of highlights. People rightly questioned this and requested our public broadcaster (who gets 100% of everyones TV licence fee and hefty government subsidies) on what they were doing.

This year is even worse. No camera at any Div 2 game. A guy with what looked like a phone recording the game in Newbridge. All games shown in any detail had already been shown live elsewhere. The coverage is now worse rather than better with only the top 4 games in the country covered. That is not good enough.

Prediction - there will be a camera at one Div 2 game next week, Cavan v Meath, because Eir Sport are covering it!

Okay fair enough.

So, two things I need from you:

1. What level of coverage across the 30-odd National League games would actually be acceptable to you? Seriously, try to put a line in the sand here so I can get a better understanding of when it might become a suitable viewer experience.

3. Let me know how much extra per year you'd be willing to add to your licence fee for that privilege.

Quote from: thewobbler on February 05, 2018, 01:03:58 PM
Quote from: Itchy on February 05, 2018, 12:57:48 PM

Okay fair enough.

So, two things I need from you:

1. What level of coverage across the 30-odd National League games would actually be acceptable to you? Seriously, try to put a line in the sand here so I can get a better understanding of when it might become a suitable viewer experience.

3. Let me know how much extra per year you'd be willing to add to your licence fee for that privilege.

Incredibly rich coming from the lad from Newry.

RTE coverage of the NFL is shite not sure why a debate is even open on this. Time someone else takes the NFL coverage off their hands.

Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 05, 2018, 01:18:37 PM
RTE coverage of the NFL is shite not sure why a debate is even open on this. Time someone else takes the NFL coverage off their hands.

RTÉ do not cover the NFL in general. They do have a highlights programme with some games using Eirsport or TG4 coverage. TG4 already have a highlights programme, how much more can you take it off RTÉ?