GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: thejuice on July 08, 2019, 11:34:49 AM

Title: Meath vs Donegal - 3rd time lucky??
Post by: thejuice on July 08, 2019, 11:34:49 AM
1 week turnaround is going to be a killer. It'll be interesting to see how we go but to honest I don't know how much fuel we have left in the tank for these three games but I think we can get a result somewhere and at the very least bloody a few noses of the big boys.

"Que sera sera" to be quite honest
Title: Re: Meath vs Donegal - 3rd time lucky??
Post by: meathie on July 08, 2019, 11:56:01 AM
yea the week turnaround might be abit too much for our lads but there is no pressure on us whatsoever and thats why we could cause an upset or two. I think Donegal is the hardest opposition of the 3 but weve ran them close the last 2 meetings (esp the league up in Ballybofey, we let that go ourselves in the end). Mayo Im not sure of though we always seem to put up a huge game against them and Kerry at home could be a real shoot out battle..... just never know whats going to happen......
Post by: rosnarun on July 08, 2019, 12:23:03 PM
Quote from: meathie on July 08, 2019, 11:56:01 AM
yea the week turnaround might be abit too much for our lads but there is no pressure on us whatsoever and thats why we could cause an upset or two. I think Donegal is the hardest opposition of the 3 but weve ran them close the last 2 meetings (esp the league up in Ballybofey, we let that go ourselves in the end). Mayo Im not sure of though we always seem to put up a huge game against them and Kerry at home could be a real shoot out battle..... just never know whats going to happen......
meats possible progression I woud rackn depends hugely on the fitness of Mickey newman , a class act
Post by: thejuice on July 08, 2019, 02:03:30 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 08, 2019, 12:23:03 PM
meats possible progression I woud rackn depends hugely on the fitness of Mickey newman , a class act

Absolutely. We'd win nothing without him this year. He was interviewed after the game and his injury didn't even get a mention so perhaps he's alright but nothing scientific about that
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2019, 06:27:02 AM
My thesis was proven correct and he's clear to play.

Team from the league final:

MEATH: Andrew Colgan; Seamus Lavin, Conor McGill, Shane Gallagher; James McEntee, Donal Keogan, Ronan Ryan; Bryan Menton, Shane McEntee; Cillian O'Sullivan, Ben Brennan, Bryan McMahon; Barry Dardis, Mickey Newman, Thomas O'Reilly.

Very consistent team selection this year as the core of that team would start on Sunday with maybe Ryan, Dardis and O'Reilly making way for Harnan, Conlon and McGovern with Graham Reilly also a potential starter.

The two McEntees havent nailed down starting places as yet and could be replaced for this game. Shane Walsh who made an appearance against Clare is being spoken about as a great prospect only got named among the subs for the first time at the weekend.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 09, 2019, 07:45:20 AM
Quote from: thejuice on July 08, 2019, 11:34:49 AM
1 week turnaround is going to be a killer. It'll be interesting to see how we go but to honest I don't know how much fuel we have left in the tank for these three games but I think we can get a result somewhere and at the very least bloody a few noses of the big boys.

The one week turnaround didn't do Laois any harm in the hurling at the weekend. However it will be a big step up for Meath after Clare. Hopefully Meath can create a mighty shock.
Post by: fearsiuil on July 09, 2019, 08:19:40 AM
No sign of Jinxy about the board?
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2019, 09:30:15 AM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on July 09, 2019, 07:45:20 AM
Quote from: thejuice on July 08, 2019, 11:34:49 AM

The one week turnaround didn't do Laois any harm in the hurling at the weekend. However it will be a big step up for Meath after Clare. Hopefully Meath can create a mighty shock.

I appreciate that and obviously I don't know how the legs are feeling but we've been going at a high level in terms of fitness all year to gain promotion etc. maybe it's just me that's feeling tired following them after all the short summers we've had.

As for Jinxy and Hardy, I'm not sure if they're still following Meath at all. Perhaps they'll be back when we have a realistic chance of some silverware.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 09, 2019, 01:55:02 PM
I worry for Meath, I do think they'll perform a lot better this weekend then they did against Clare as the pressure is off but just don't think Meath have the quality required to cause Donegal enough problems. Do Meath have any quality forwards coming through? A few on social media seemed excited by Shane Walsh coming on last weekend.

Post by: StephenC on July 09, 2019, 06:27:36 PM
All teams looking to get off to a positive start so will be a big battle here. At home, and coming off a good run in Ulster, I'll be disappointed if we don't take this one by 3-4.
Post by: Clinker on July 09, 2019, 09:23:11 PM
Quote from: StephenC on July 09, 2019, 06:27:36 PM

I'll be disappointed if we don't take this one by 3-4.

Just checking on Paddy Power there,  3-4  -  they don't seem to do exact goals and points winning margins like that but Donegal to win by 13-15 points is priced at 7/1 so if Donegal take this by 3-4 or 3-5 or 3-6 you still would collect. (or 2-7 2-8 2-9 or 1-10 1-11 1-12 etc.)
Post by: BennyCake on July 09, 2019, 10:56:35 PM
Just watching Clare Meath highlights tonight. Newman colliding with post looked nasty. Was he ok afterwards?
Post by: sligoman2 on July 09, 2019, 11:38:03 PM
Quote from: Clinker on July 09, 2019, 09:23:11 PM
Quote from: StephenC on July 09, 2019, 06:27:36 PM

I'll be disappointed if we don't take this one by 3-4.

Just checking on Paddy Power there,  3-4  -  they don't seem to do exact goals and points winning margins like that but Donegal to win by 13-15 points is priced at 7/1 so if Donegal take this by 3-4 or 3-5 or 3-6 you still would collect. (or 2-7 2-8 2-9 or 1-10 1-11 1-12 etc.)

My head is spinning, could you please explain what the last sentences means in terms of odds . 
Post by: meathie on July 10, 2019, 12:12:51 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 09, 2019, 10:56:35 PM
Just watching Clare Meath highlights tonight. Newman colliding with post looked nasty. Was he ok afterwards?
Yea it didn't look great but as far as we know he's good to go as thejuice said. Dead leg and head injury but all ok 🤞
Post by: sid waddell on July 10, 2019, 01:21:31 AM
Meath are going to lose all three games in this group.

But the key to who qualifies may be how they perform in each game - a three way tie between Kerry, Donegal and Mayo is a big possibility.

Given that they're starting from scratch in this group, and coming off the back of a morale boosting win, you'd logically expect them to put in their best performance against Donegal.

If they fall behind early against Mayo, it's curtains for them in the championship. How they react to that will tell a tale. Teams can often completely give up in Croke Park, Roscommon against Tyrone last year is an example.

One thing I'm certain of is that if Kerry need a win in their final game and Meath are already out, they'll be cannon fodder, Navan or no Navan.

That's why if it comes to scoring difference, I'd be backing Kerry to be one of the teams that gets through.

Post by: thejuice on July 10, 2019, 09:31:32 AM
It's hard to send a team out not fully geared towards winning but if I were Andy I'd be targeting Mayo in Croker and Kerry at home. How bad would it be to rest lads against Donegal, let them run up a score if so happens then go hammer and tongs for the last two games and who knows. We'd give Donegal the top spot and put Mayo and Kerry more under pressure for their games against us.

I'd be completely barefaced about it and have loads of starters on the bench at the weekend. But I'm not the manager and that won't happen
Post by: imtommygunn on July 10, 2019, 10:38:22 AM
Donegal are to me a bit untested - they are the least experienced team outside meaty here. Meath have a chance here though depends how good Donegal actually are. You really put it up to them both league matches. What is to say not again? I don't think Meath will win but honestly think this game is the best chance.

Post by: thejuice on July 10, 2019, 01:41:03 PM
Donegal weren't at full strength or fitness in the league. They've upped the intensity for the championship and are well rested since the Ulster final. It's hard to say how much we've improved if at all since then given the calibre of opposition we've faced so far. We'll be no pushovers by any means and I think we'll get a result somewhere in the last 8 group stage but can't say exactly when.
Post by: thejuice on July 10, 2019, 02:04:24 PM
Bit of a trip down memory lane

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1VagDms4tuE

One of my earliest memories of going to Croker! We were trying to recreate Flynn's two goals in the back garden for a few weeks after.

August 19, 1990
Semi-final
Meath   3-9 - 1-7   Donegal

Meath scorers:
B. Flynn (2-2),
B. Stafford (1-2),
P. J. Gillic (0-4),
D. Beggy (0-1).      

Donegal scorers:
M. Boyle (1-2),
D. Bonner (0-3),
T. Boyle (0-1),
M. McHugh (0-1
Post by: inthrough on July 11, 2019, 08:29:56 PM
The fact that Donegal are at home, are well rested & are in a hugely positive frame of mind leaves me seeing them win by 6 - 10 points.

The biggest worry from a Donegal perspective is their tendency to take the foot off the gas in the second half of games. I f they do that in the Super 8's then scoring difference could get them.
Post by: Jayop on July 11, 2019, 08:42:12 PM
I don't often shout for Meath but I'll be hopping around of you can turn this lot over. Just hope someone warns the Meath lads not to touch a Donegal man anywhere over their belly button or they'll be rolling around like Neymar clutching their face looking for cards.

Donegal, generally sound support. Despise this team and manager more than anything Jim McGuinness ever put out.
Post by: J70 on July 12, 2019, 04:54:34 AM
Quote from: Jayop on July 11, 2019, 08:42:12 PM
I don't often shout for Meath but I'll be hopping around of you can turn this lot over. Just hope someone warns the Meath lads not to touch a Donegal man anywhere over their belly button or they'll be rolling around like Neymar clutching their face looking for cards.

Donegal, generally sound support. Despise this team and manager more than anything Jim McGuinness ever put out.

You must be in a serious moral quandary with your own county if you despise diving.

You're a Tyrone lad, right?

And we get the usual Tyrone bullshit about Bonner. Time to move on lads. I'm sure Bonner has, four years later, whatever about Micheal Carroll.
Post by: thejuice on July 12, 2019, 05:21:48 AM
We don't seem to get much neutral support which is interesting.

The typical analysis I'm hearing from pundits seems to be "ah Meath will win nothing" as opposed to "haven't they done well and who knows what might happen on the day, things might work out for them" which I'd expect Clare would have gotten had they got through. I suppose it comes from being seen as a successful county despite our most recent major success is now 2 decades ago. There seems to be a level of expectation around us both within and outside the county that if we're not winning titles we're dismissed. Just an observation though I know some aspects of our performances have been praised.
Post by: greatpoint on July 12, 2019, 01:08:05 PM

I suppose as long as there are no fingers being stuck into orifices or players being spat on Donegal will be happy enough.
Post by: Hound on July 12, 2019, 01:31:28 PM
He's a long way to go before being a 'class act'. He was in hiding for most of the game v Dublin. So while I wouldn't question his talent, I would question his attitude.
Conlon, on the other hand,  has a great attitude and looks like he could turn into top footballer.

Meath have a very good defence (I think the corner backs have really come on and Keoghan is up there with any of the best wing backs in the country) and when Conlon, Newman, O'Sullivan and McMahon all click on the same day, they'd be a match for most. But the latter 3 seem all a bit windy.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 12, 2019, 03:32:22 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 12, 2019, 01:31:28 PM
He's a long way to go before being a 'class act'. He was in hiding for most of the game v Dublin. So while I wouldn't question his talent, I would question his attitude.
Conlon, on the other hand,  has a great attitude and looks like he could turn into top footballer.

Meath have a very good defence (I think the corner backs have really come on and Keoghan is up there with any of the best wing backs in the country) and when Conlon, Newman, O'Sullivan and McMahon all click on the same day, they'd be a match for most. But the latter 3 seem all a bit windy.

If Cillian Sullivan chased his man in same way he does referees he be a all star 😉
Post by: Jayop on July 12, 2019, 03:37:51 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 12, 2019, 04:54:34 AM

You must be in a serious moral quandary with your own county if you despise diving.

You're a Tyrone lad, right?

And we get the usual Tyrone bullshit about Bonner. Time to move on lads. I'm sure Bonner has, four years later, whatever about Micheal Carroll.

Nah I hate diving and I hate it when it's done by Tyrone more than anything.

I don't think Donegal actually dive per-say, it's more than every time they are touched they roll around holding their face regardless of where they were touched. I don't like Bonner, maybe it's because of that, but I think it's more because how your team play now.

I've zero sour grapes with Donegal people, my Da is Donegal and half my family are. Soundest people around. I just dislike this team.
Post by: Jayop on July 12, 2019, 03:43:51 PM
Quote from: greatpoint on July 12, 2019, 01:08:05 PM

I suppose as long as there are no fingers being stuck into orifices or players being spat on Donegal will be happy enough.

Both filthy acts to be condemned.
Post by: ardtole on July 12, 2019, 04:13:52 PM
Donegals Paddy Campbell, was the first player I ever heard of sticking his fingers, where they were not wanted. I think Ends Muldoon was his victim from memory.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 12, 2019, 08:34:42 PM
Nahh. he grabbed his balls and enda thumped him. Must have be some conversation piece between them up at Owenbeg.
Post by: inthrough on July 12, 2019, 09:54:24 PM

You can probably get help for that.
Post by: Jayop on July 12, 2019, 10:11:16 PM
Quote from: inthrough on July 12, 2019, 09:54:24 PM

You can probably get help for that.

Nah it's gone past help for me I'm afraid.
Post by: thejuice on July 13, 2019, 08:20:31 AM
Meath (All-Ireland SFC v Donegal):
Andrew Colgan;

Seamus Lavin, Conor McGill, Shane Gallagher;
Donal Keogan, Padraic Harnan, Gavin McCoy;

Bryan Menton, Shane McEntee;

Ethan Devine, Bryan McMahon, Thomas McGovern;
Cillian O'Sullivan, Mickey Newman, James Conlon.

Reilly on the bench, Devine gets the start
Post by: meathie on July 13, 2019, 07:46:13 PM
Hey all Donegal people here, can anybody give us any suggestions, tips for tomorrow with parking pubs etc? Have to say I haven't been to a game there before! So obviously coming from the Meath side where is best to park, will it be bottle neck traffic wise or what kind of place is it for games? Cheers
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 13, 2019, 08:25:02 PM
Not from Donegal, but you'll be best coming up the N2, then parking out the Strabane road, for the drive home to Meath again, back down the N2 via Strabane, Omagh, Aughnacloy, etc.

Regarding pubs, Mc Kelveys beside Jacksons Hotel is a grand spot, and you might well do worse ;)
Post by: meathie on July 13, 2019, 10:54:45 PM
Cheers fear. Well we're coming in on n15 so thinking somewhere near lidl? Any donegal ppl in the know?
Post by: J70 on July 14, 2019, 12:16:31 AM
Quote from: meathie on July 13, 2019, 10:54:45 PM
Cheers fear. Well we're coming in on n15 so thinking somewhere near lidl? Any donegal ppl in the know?

There's a large car park between Navenny St and Newline road, which is or the Donegal Town side, before MacCumhaill Park, but close to it. Could be full when you get there though, and it can take a while after getting back out.

You could swing around and park on the main road facing back towards Donegal Town, before heading deep into Ballybofey. Definitely make things easier afterwards. But I'm not sure what restrictions there are these days on that type of strategy. And it would be a ten minute walk to the ground.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 14, 2019, 01:59:34 PM
Was Jamie Brennan getting a head injury assessment there during warm up? Certainly looked like it on the TV.
Post by: Hound on July 14, 2019, 02:03:36 PM
Feck sake OSullivan. Very poor decision
Post by: omagh_gael on July 14, 2019, 02:10:19 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 14, 2019, 02:03:36 PM
Feck sake OSullivan. Very poor decision

Unbelievable. 3 on 1 and its fisted over. Surely to feck you go for goal every time there. Wooly Parkinson will be ripping.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 14, 2019, 02:13:37 PM
Good game here. Meath with a couple of classy points there.
Post by: Jayop on July 14, 2019, 02:21:01 PM
McBrearty dives and gets a knee to the head for his troubles.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 14, 2019, 02:29:36 PM
McBrearty with a fine finish on that goal. Meath from just 1 point down to now 5 ahead in a flash. All scores from play so far.
Post by: Jayop on July 14, 2019, 02:29:41 PM
Why do the smaller meath players think they can run through the much bigger Donegal players? Stupid stuff.
Post by: J70 on July 14, 2019, 02:41:26 PM
Good half. Donegal shading it due to McBrearty's goal and being able to get into decent scoring positions a wee bit easier.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 14, 2019, 02:42:36 PM
Half time Donegal 1-9 Meath 0-8.  Loads of space for both forward lines in this game and it should end up a high scoring game.
Post by: J70 on July 14, 2019, 03:06:20 PM
Donegal look a wee bit rusty.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 14, 2019, 03:08:01 PM
Let off for Donegal there. Meath goal ruled a square ball.
Post by: J70 on July 14, 2019, 03:10:34 PM
Donegal slow to get going this half. Lucky with that square ball. Meath lad was stupid to be in there.

Now we've a penalty...
Post by: Blowitupref on July 14, 2019, 03:11:08 PM
Goal for Meath from a penalty. Donegal 1-11 Meath 1-9  45 mins played.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 14, 2019, 03:11:26 PM
Considering how poor Leinster football is it's amazing they are giving Donegal a game
Post by: J70 on July 14, 2019, 03:11:42 PM
Donegal need to up it here.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 14, 2019, 03:13:21 PM
Level game 1-11 each.
Post by: J70 on July 14, 2019, 03:14:09 PM
Thoroughly deserved
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 14, 2019, 03:19:34 PM
Meath 1-12
Donegal 1-11
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 14, 2019, 03:21:15 PM
Not a black card for me
Post by: J70 on July 14, 2019, 03:21:39 PM
WTF was that tackle? ;D
Post by: Blowitupref on July 14, 2019, 03:22:55 PM
Donegal's first score since the 8th minute and then they score another point straight after it to lead 1-13 to 1-12
Post by: Blowitupref on July 14, 2019, 03:27:05 PM
8 minutes to play. Donegal 1-16 Meath 1-13.  Have Donegal weathered the storm?
Post by: armaghniac on July 14, 2019, 03:29:01 PM
Meath not having much luck.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 14, 2019, 03:40:04 PM
Poxy enough for Mayo that Donegal have padded out the score
Post by: Blowitupref on July 14, 2019, 03:41:56 PM
FT Donegal 2-19 Meath 1-13.  A hard earned win for Donegal the final scoreline harsh on Meath who put in such a competitive performance after a tough encounter last week.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 14, 2019, 03:42:08 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 14, 2019, 03:11:26 PM
Considering how poor Leinster football is it's amazing they are giving Donegal a game

Post by: sid waddell on July 14, 2019, 03:43:04 PM
Donegal's funding the difference here

Donegal players don't have to work and get free meals and sponsored cars etc.

Professionals v amateurs

Blah blah blah

Somebody called this Meath team "the fittest Meath team ever" some weeks back

Well they have to get fitter because they were wiped out on the run in there
Post by: J70 on July 14, 2019, 03:47:32 PM
Very poor third quarter from Donegal. Complacency?? They were getting cleaned out at midfield and making poor choices up front when in great positions. Both Ban andRyan McHugh steamed through the middle and had easy points on, but lost the ball. Langan skyed one when he had a man outside him for an easy tap over.

But at least Murphy then asserted himself, they got an easy score from a poor kick out, and kicked on then to win easily. Nine points was not a reflection of the game, but scoring difference could be vital so very important that they padded it at the end.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 14, 2019, 03:47:42 PM
A flattering margin of victory for Donegal. Bonnar and co need to shore up that defence as if not they will not beat Mayo,Kerry defending that poorly.  What won the game today for Donegal was better fitness as Meath had nothing left in tank for the final quarter.

Post by: screenexile on July 14, 2019, 03:54:50 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 14, 2019, 03:47:42 PM
A flattering margin of victory for Donegal. Bonnar and co need to shore up that defence as if not they will not beat Mayo,Kerry defending that poorly.  What won the game today for Donegal was better fitness as Meath had nothing left in tank for the final quarter.

Strange when the Dubs had a similar performance yesterday and they're still the best thing since slice bread!
Post by: Itchy on July 14, 2019, 04:02:22 PM
I thought Donegal played quite poorly, still won by 9. They've a lot more in the tank.
Post by: thejuice on July 14, 2019, 09:16:23 PM
This is the fittest Meath team ever just not the most talented. The problem is for us is the bar has been raised year on year and we've quite a bit of catching up to do. Our fitness under Mick O'Dowd was appalling. But now we are putting the work in but it's not a quick fix. Today's game is about acclimatizing to the top teams and getting ourselves in a position to play them regularly. Today and the next two games will bring these lads on a lot and Andy will have learned a lot from it. Mayo next week will be another great opportunity for these lads.