GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Owenmoresider on July 25, 2016, 01:24:37 PM

Title: GAA to give the GPA €6 million per annum as part of new agreement
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 25, 2016, 01:24:37 PM
GAA to give the GPA €6 million per annum as part of new agreement.

25/07/2016 - 13:01:17

The GAA will provide the GPA with over €6 million per annum over three years (2017-19) as part of their new framework agreement – a jump of almost two and a half times the value of their current deal, writes John Fogarty.

In a new initiative, 15% of the GAA's net central commercial revenue (media coverage,
sponsorship, franchising, licensing) will be handed over to the official players body. In 2015, that figure was €2m but €2.5m is the minimum guaranteed.

A total of €1.2m per annum will go towards players' nutritional expenses, while the GAA have guaranteed an additional €800,000 per year for player services.

Inter-county players' mileage rates will also increase from 50 cent per mile to between 62.5 and 65 cent per mile with a maximum cost of €1.5m. As of present, county boards pay players' mileage but Croke Park will now distribute the expenses.

A figure of €200,000 will be set aside for surgical interventions for former inter-county players.

Outside of mileage expenses, the GAA's interim agreement with the GPA is currently worth approximately €2m.

Providing Central Council rubberstamps the deal, the GPA will also be entitled to submit one motion to Congress as well as an increase of their Congress representation to two delegates. A new working group involving players and officials will also be established to examine demands on players with their proposals going forward to Central Council by the middle of next year.

"Our inter-county players make a special contribution to the Association in so many ways," said GAA president Aogán Ó Fearghail. "The increased commitment involved in playing our games at inter-county level has been commonly acknowledged for some time. We are serious about the welfare of our players and will continue to work with the GPA to safeguard that welfare."

GPA president Dermot Earley remarked: "By pledging to support the needs of county players and recognising the increasingly challenging environment in which they operate, the GAA has taken a very important step in securing their future wellbeing."

Earley, Limerick's Seamus Hickey (GPA secretary) as well as GPA officers Richie Hogan and Paul Flynn were part of the GPA's negotiating team.
Title: Re: GAA to give the GPA €6 million per annum as part of new agreement
Post by: Rossfan on July 25, 2016, 03:31:20 PM
Will players from the 31 Counties now get their meals delivered like Dublin?
Post by: heffo on July 25, 2016, 04:39:26 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 25, 2016, 03:31:20 PM

Can we all make up a fantastical claim about Dublin GAA add the VAT and see what we come up with?

There might even be some truth in some of it
Post by: yellowcard on July 25, 2016, 06:06:11 PM
A nutritional allowance for players? How is that going to work or what are the details. Do players each get a set amount to spend on food per year, why not just simply increase the grant they already get?
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 25, 2016, 07:24:08 PM
Forgive my ignorance on mileage expenses but were HQ reimbursing county boards for paying players mileage?
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 25, 2016, 09:02:31 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 25, 2016, 04:39:26 PM

Can we all make up a fantastical claim about Dublin GAA add the VAT and see what we come up with?

Do you mean under the table or out in the open payments?
Post by: twohands!!! on July 25, 2016, 09:26:13 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 25, 2016, 07:24:08 PM
Forgive my ignorance on mileage expenses but were HQ reimbursing county boards for paying players mileage?

Quote from article

Quote. As of present, county boards pay players' mileage but Croke Park will now distribute the expenses.

A fair few instances of player upset over the years have been about county boards being slow to pay expenses, especially compared to neighbouring counties, so I'd imagine Croke Park handling it will mean squads won't be using it as a gripe.

QuoteInter-county players' mileage rates will also increase from 50 cent per mile to between 62.5 and 65 cent per mile with a maximum cost of €1.5m.

Anyone know the reason for this difference in the rate?

I think HQ should have forced the GPA to be a lot more open as regards their finances and spending, it's a gripe I've heard from a couple of places that you need to be connected to get the best out of the GPA.

Post by: heffo on July 25, 2016, 09:26:31 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 25, 2016, 09:02:31 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 25, 2016, 04:39:26 PM

Do you mean under the table or out in the open payments?

Make up whatever your little heart desires
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 25, 2016, 09:38:05 PM
A little bit more on the mileage, the County boards will continue to pay 50c a mile with the GPA paying the additional 12.5c - 15c
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 25, 2016, 10:18:14 PM
will they publish the salaries the full time GPA staff are receiving?

Post by: Over the Bar on July 25, 2016, 11:07:20 PM
QuoteWill players from the 31 Counties now get their meals delivered like Dublin?

Shhh, you aren't allowed to talk about the Dublin panellists like that or Pillar will come round your hous and ram his truncheon up your ****
Post by: The Aristocrat on July 26, 2016, 09:57:27 AM
Shouldn't be a problem with Mayo and Kerry, two of the most well funded counties in GAA history. The players from those counties get a lot.

Presume Dessie here will get an increase in his large annual salary?

The good thing with this is that the GPA can put forward 1 motion to congress annually. That is a start.

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 26, 2016, 10:08:46 AM
Complete and utter roll over from HQ. All about the $ in the GPA. To run their programmes they should need a fixed sum, not a percentage of the GAA's net central commercial revenue.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 26, 2016, 11:04:51 AM
After the reading it again it looks like most of the extra 4 millions is accounted for with 1.5m going on mileage, 1.2m for nutritional expenses and 0.8m on player services.

Anyone have an idea of what salary Farrell is on?
Post by: antoinse on July 26, 2016, 01:31:48 PM
I think I heard he was on the average industrial wage
Post by: The Aristocrat on July 26, 2016, 02:50:47 PM
Could find anything on the open net but the GPA is a registered company and it's accounts are or should be available to buy for a few euros from the CRO or other cheaper providers like solocheck and duedil etc.

It will tell you how much they paid in salaries (if anything). The company accounts won't however detail individual salaries or expenses.

Who wants to email the GPA and ask for a list of salaries and expenses and then the GAA for how much of the GPA funding comes from ticket sales to matches from all the lads at GAABoard.com ?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 26, 2016, 02:58:24 PM
Quote from: The Aristocrat on July 26, 2016, 02:50:47 PM
Could find anything on the open net but the GPA is a registered company and it's accounts are or should be available to buy for a few euros from the CRO or other cheaper providers like solocheck and duedil etc.

It will tell you how much they paid in salaries (if anything). The company accounts won't however detail individual salaries or expenses.

Who wants to email the GPA and ask for a list of salaries and expenses and then the GAA for how much of the GPA funding comes from ticket sales to matches from all the lads at GAABoard.com ?

No need to email the GAA, it's 0%. http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/confirmed-gaa-and-gpa-strike-deal-on-6m-annual-partnership-34908651.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/confirmed-gaa-and-gpa-strike-deal-on-6m-annual-partnership-34908651.html)
Post by: rrhf on July 26, 2016, 03:10:28 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 26, 2016, 02:58:24 PM
Quote from: The Aristocrat on July 26, 2016, 02:50:47 PM

No need to email the GAA, it's 0%. gpa-strike-[/color]deal-on-6m-annual-partnership-34908651.html]http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/confirmed-gaa-and-gpa-strike-deal-on-6m-annual-partnership-34908651.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/confirmed-gaa-and-%5Bcolor=red)
Post by: screenexile on July 26, 2016, 03:10:56 PM
I personally think the €200k for surgical intervention is a bit of a kick in the teeth to clubs!!

CLubs are being crippled with Cruciates/Hip surgeries/Shoulder surgeries and the GAA scheme doesn't come near to covering costs when all is said and done and that's before you look at loss of earnings for some lads!

The GAA should be setting aside an extra €6.2 million for Club injury bills rather than servicing the County Player who currently gets well enough looked after anyway!!!
Post by: rrhf on July 26, 2016, 03:17:05 PM
How much do the GAA volunteers who subscribe at the gate pay extra to fund these guys. 
This is another blow to the real GAA. 
Post by: Lone Shark on July 28, 2016, 02:16:30 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 26, 2016, 10:08:46 AM
Complete and utter roll over from HQ. All about the $ in the GPA. To run their programmes they should need a fixed sum, not a percentage of the GAA's net central commercial revenue.

This bit troubles me greatly. I've never been a fan of the GPA, either the organisation as it is currently constituted, or the very concept of it. However if it does exist, surely then it should be as advocates and possibly administrators of schemes directed at county players. It cannot be allowed to decide what projects are and aren't worthwhile in isolation, because there are a myriad of things they could do that would run contrary to the aims and rules of the GAA as a whole.

If the GPA goes to the GAA and says we want to do X - let's take increasing the mileage payment as an example. Then Central Council should sit down, discuss it, make a decision, and say yay or nay. If the GPA is to have a seat on Central Council, I could even get over that. If Central Council decides yay, then allocate the funds, and by all means let the GPA then administer.

However that's completely different to giving them a blank cheque, with no commitment in return on how the money will be used. If the GAA drives a good deal with the various broadcasters and this 15% returns €4m instead of the current projection of €3m (for argument's sake) then what's to stop Dessie and the top brass from congratulating themselves on a job well done and awarding themselves half the extra million as a bonus for being great negotiators??

This stinks to high heaven, and is completely anathema to how the GPA should be funded. It'll be the centrepiece of my Offaly Independent Column this week, and I'll be writing to my club and my county board to express my concern, to make sure delegates are aware of it. I'd hope many of ye will do the same.
Post by: seafoid on July 28, 2016, 06:15:22 AM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 26, 2016, 11:04:51 AM
After the reading it again it looks like most of the extra 4 millions is accounted for with 1.5m going on mileage, 1.2m for nutritional expenses and 0.8m on player services.

Anyone have an idea of what salary Farrell is on?

Nutritional expenses are funny. They could just as well call it handpass compensation although this would unfairly compensate Ulster players. They can't call it pay so they have to give it a bullshit title.
Post by: Real Talk on July 28, 2016, 11:41:39 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 25, 2016, 10:18:14 PM
will they publish the salaries the full time GPA staff are receiving?

and will they as a starting point also Publish the Salaries of the General Sec of the GAA (P Duffy) and the salaries of the full time officers in the Leinster, Ulster, Connaught and Munster Councils .... this question was asked at Congress a few years ago but no answer was given ..... probably it wasn't deemed to be in the National (GAA) Interest
Post by: seafoid on July 29, 2016, 08:37:40 AM
How many.players does the GPA represent?

Nutritional expenses is up there with the finest of euphemisms.

Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 29, 2016, 09:28:27 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 29, 2016, 08:37:40 AM

so county players are being paid to eat fruit & veg?
Post by: rrhf on July 29, 2016, 09:44:02 AM
Roughly 2000 players getting 6 mill between them.
Post by: lenny on July 29, 2016, 09:49:28 AM

Drug testing should be introduced immediately because I'm very suspicious about the players from a couple of counties. I've already heard anecdotal evidence re a few top players from one top Ulster county but I'd be pretty sure a good number of players are trying to give themselves an edge.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 29, 2016, 10:01:57 AM
Drug testing is already in place.
Post by: Keepthefaith93 on July 29, 2016, 10:20:16 AM
Quote from: screenexile on July 26, 2016, 03:10:56 PM
I personally think the €200k for surgical intervention is a bit of a kick in the teeth to clubs!!

Clubs are being crippled with Cruciates/Hip surgeries/Shoulder surgeries and the GAA scheme doesn't come near to covering costs when all is said and done and that's before you look at loss of earnings for some lads!

The GAA should be setting aside an extra €6.2 million for Club injury bills rather than servicing the County Player who currently gets well enough looked after anyway!!!

Couldn't agree more Screenexile.

The GAA really need to look at themselves.

The GPA are parasite that have zero interest in the good of the game or of the 99% of people who play it.
I have been involved in football for as long as i can remember, have played, managed and coached at all ages and can honestly say the way the organisation is going makes me sick.

There is never a week goes by that people from clubs all over Ulster are not knocking my door trying to sell tickets to keep their clubs going and fair play to them. My own club are constantly trying to raise money to keep things ticking over and thank God the people in our area are very generous and always support us but its getting harder and harder every year.

My children all play GAA and I love the game but Croke Park and the GPA are loosing the people who make it so great.

The next time i hear some suit from Croke Park or the Derry County Board saying our clubs are the life blood of the game i am going to hit him a kick in the stones. Our f**king Senior Club Championship was played off like an U12 Blitz last year.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 29, 2016, 10:34:44 AM
Quote from: lenny on July 29, 2016, 09:49:28 AM

Drug testing should be introduced immediately because I'm very suspicious about the players from a couple of counties. I've already heard anecdotal evidence re a few top players from one top Ulster county but I'd be pretty sure a good number of players are trying to give themselves an edge.

Drug testing already exists but I'm sure your anecdotal evidence from a bloke down the pub is much more substantial!
Post by: Rossfan on July 29, 2016, 11:13:42 AM
Hard to bate the oul' pub stories......
Post by: muppet on July 29, 2016, 04:29:57 PM
Quote from: Lone Shark on July 28, 2016, 02:16:30 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 26, 2016, 10:08:46 AM

This bit troubles me greatly. I've never been a fan of the GPA, either the organisation as it is currently constituted, or the very concept of it. However if it does exist, surely then it should be as advocates and possibly administrators of schemes directed at county players. It cannot be allowed to decide what projects are and aren't worthwhile in isolation, because there are a myriad of things they could do that would run contrary to the aims and rules of the GAA as a whole.

If the GPA goes to the GAA and says we want to do X - let's take increasing the mileage payment as an example. Then Central Council should sit down, discuss it, make a decision, and say yay or nay. If the GPA is to have a seat on Central Council, I could even get over that. If Central Council decides yay, then allocate the funds, and by all means let the GPA then administer.

However that's completely different to giving them a blank cheque, with no commitment in return on how the money will be used.
If the GAA drives a good deal with the various broadcasters and this 15% returns €4m instead of the current projection of €3m (for argument's sake) then what's to stop Dessie and the top brass from congratulating themselves on a job well done and awarding themselves half the extra million as a bonus for being great negotiators??

This stinks to high heaven, and is completely anathema to how the GPA should be funded. It'll be the centrepiece of my Offaly Independent Column this week, and I'll be writing to my club and my county board to express my concern, to make sure delegates are aware of it. I'd hope many of ye will do the same.

I am less hostile to the GPA than the average board member appears to be, but I couldn't argue against any of that.
Post by: Itchy on July 30, 2016, 10:50:37 AM
Meanwhile county players are f**king off to America for more "nutritional payments" leaving their clubs in the shit and your average club player is wondering what is the point of committing to training all year, indeed many are voting with their feet as the clubs die.
Post by: seafoid on July 30, 2016, 01:18:01 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 30, 2016, 10:50:37 AM
Meanwhile county players are f**king off to America for more "nutritional payments" leaving their clubs in the shit and your average club player is wondering what is the point of committing to training all year, indeed many are voting with their feet as the clubs die.
Are clubs merging in Cavan like in Longford?
Post by: Itchy on July 30, 2016, 02:01:46 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 30, 2016, 01:18:01 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 30, 2016, 10:50:37 AM
Are clubs merging in Cavan like in Longford?

Not yet. I work with a lot of guys from a lot of different counties, the club scene is in total crisis in the majority of places. The money is being spent in the wrong places.
Post by: Rossfan on September 29, 2016, 11:08:39 AM
Dessie to step down at end of year. 8)

How many abusive posts will follow :P
Post by: Lone Shark on September 29, 2016, 12:38:11 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 29, 2016, 11:08:39 AM
Dessie to step down at end of year. 8)

How many abusive posts will follow :P

I don't know about that, but I would be very curious as to what size of a pension pot will follow him. That's not something I expect we'll ever learn about though.
Post by: Rossfan on September 29, 2016, 12:43:23 PM
New Dublin team manager?
Post by: Jinxy on September 29, 2016, 01:33:03 PM
Banty?
Post by: joemamas on November 11, 2016, 02:42:55 PM
Read an article recently that the GPA had their annual dinner last month in the plaza hotel in New York.
By all accounts it was very successful with 400 attending.
Curious where do all the donations go and who controls it.
Does it benefit the average county footballer and if so how.