Is there anything that people in RoI won't take to court?

Started by Owen Brannigan, April 27, 2017, 04:50:35 PM

Owen Brannigan

A survey of court reports in RoI on almost a daily basis shows the amount of money that is being claimed and the variety of reasons for the claims.

Some of the claims are almost unbelievable.  The level of payment achieved seems to be very high compared to the many smaller claims in N.Ireland.

These are examples of cases from the last week:

Parents sue club because son suffers PTSD because he wasn't picked for the team
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/teen-who-sued-soccer-club-for-trauma-after-he-was-dropped-from-team-loses-case-35660200.html

Children bitten by bed bugs
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/8k-payout-for-children-bitten-by-bed-bugs-while-living-in-dublin-hostel-35659598.html

A personal injury claim for €120,000 fails
http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/dublin-airport-worker-spotted-lugging-baggage-drops-120-000-injuries-claim-1.3062094

Injury to child on day out from creche
http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/high-court/boy-who-injured-elbow-on-creche-outing-gets-20-000-settlement-1.3061235

Injured at a GAA camp
http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/girl-who-was-struck-in-the-face-at-gaa-camp-awarded-40-000-1.3061024

I got sued twice in the states, once a division 1 college prospect went after me after I told her she should go to the best camp she was invited to in Alabama, i had coached her for nine years, yhe argument was i told her my thoughts after the parrnts asked my opinion, one hundred and seventeen thousand dollars she got to go along with an acl tear and a torn miniscus.

the second one was thrown out as there was evidence to the contrsry and I got damages as the thing made the papers and news, i was happy with that result.

I read about that first one on t'internet today. Absolutely mental. Sounds like the worst sort of parent bolloxology. I better stock up on the auld insurance if every young lad I drop off a county panel reads that!

As for the rest, haven't read them, but compo culture is nothing new in ROI. It's a blight, and I always think people who get money that way will have no luck for it. It also trivialises the whole process and is unfortunate for people who are genuinely left with lift changing injuries that they need help with for the rest of their lives, due to some fault or negligence.

Agreed AZ, I always had the belief that no luck follows that sort of shite.  The judiciary need to put more effort into stamping it out.  Some of the figures they award are totally ridiculous.  At the end of the day, if there's money to be made, unscrupulous lawyers will chase it and they'll encourage every bollix to pursue these ridiculous claims.  The judges are the only ones with the power to take the carrot away.

Quote from: Owen Brannigan on April 27, 2017, 04:50:35 PM
A survey of court reports in RoI on almost a daily basis shows the amount of money that is being claimed and the variety of reasons for the claims.

Some of the claims are almost unbelievable.  The level of payment achieved seems to be very high compared to the many smaller claims in N.Ireland.

These are examples of cases from the last week:

Parents sue club because son suffers PTSD because he wasn't picked for the team
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/teen-who-sued-soccer-club-for-trauma-after-he-was-dropped-from-team-loses-case-35660200.html

Children bitten by bed bugs
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/8k-payout-for-children-bitten-by-bed-bugs-while-living-in-dublin-hostel-35659598.html

A personal injury claim for €120,000 fails
http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/dublin-airport-worker-spotted-lugging-baggage-drops-120-000-injuries-claim-1.3062094

Injury to child on day out from creche
http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/high-court/boy-who-injured-elbow-on-creche-outing-gets-20-000-settlement-1.3061235

Injured at a GAA camp
http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/girl-who-was-struck-in-the-face-at-gaa-camp-awarded-40-000-1.3061024

Two of those are ridiculous and frivolous and an abuse of the system: the kid dropped from the team with alleged PTSD, and the lowlife with the car accidents and false suits.

The rest look fair enough to me. You expect your kid in the crèche to be properly looked after. You expect the landlord/hotelier to sort out the bedbug issue and keep rooms clean.

Looks like the Irish has followed the American fad of suing for everything and anything.

Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 27, 2017, 05:56:36 PM
Looks like the Irish has followed the American fad of suing for everything and anything.

We follow all their fads eventually.  Imagine telling an aul fella you were going for a coffee.  Jaysus.

Quote from: Franko on April 27, 2017, 06:00:17 PM

We follow all their fads eventually.  Imagine telling an aul fella you were going for a coffee.  Jaysus.
Imagine telling him you were getting a capuchino, or a mochachino? He'd think you were on about a fancy car.

Quote from: AZOffaly on April 27, 2017, 06:03:36 PM

Imagine telling him you were getting a capuchino, or a mochachino? He'd think you were on about a fancy car.
I dunno. They sound like something Fiat would make. Hardly fancy.

Quote from: laoislad on April 27, 2017, 06:05:33 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 27, 2017, 06:03:36 PM

I dunno. They sound like something Fiat would make. Hardly fancy.

Not up to your standards of course. But an auld lad might think they were fancy.

I definitely would have no issue with any of them apart from the one about the lad being dropped and the one of the foreign lad swinging the lead. In fact I think the other ones except the bed bugs one were not contested ones by the sound of it and were simply quantum matters where the court was approving or setting the amount of damages to be awarded. People who talk about a compo culture need to understand something....95% of claims are 100% legit. The level of damages awarded are high but they have been reigned in in the last 10 years significantly. People only jump up and down because the 'joe Duffy' bandwagon jump up and down and the compensation being awarded. The reality is that Solictors and judges are not stupid (well most anyway ) and most will only run with legitimate cases. The one above about the young lad being dropped should never have been taken and the solicitor who did should be given a right boot in the hoop. Cases like that give the majority of us bad names.

bc, no harm to you, but I've seen lads limping around the place, or wearing the famous 'compo' collars when they go out, and the same lads leaving the crutches behind after a few pints, or taking the collar off when going out for the night.

As I said, they give genuine cases a bad name, but even a goodly amount of the ones you hear about are absolute nonsense.

Quote from: AZOffaly on April 27, 2017, 07:40:06 PM
bc, no harm to you, but I've seen lads limping around the place, or wearing the famous 'compo' collars when they go out, and the same lads leaving the crutches behind after a few pints, or taking the collar off when going out for the night.

As I said, they give genuine cases a bad name, but even a goodly amount of the ones you hear about are absolute nonsense.

The point is that these cases do make it seem like every case that happens is dodgy. I know from working in it and having worked for firms that were basically litigation firms that the amount of legitimate claims far outweighs the dodgy ones.