Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

rogercasement

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 26, 2021, 11:01:39 AM
Quote from: rogercasement on November 26, 2021, 10:59:16 AM
They can't represent armagh in camogie and antrim in football. Down teams play down championship.
Reading irish news this morning I see an Aghagallon playing in ulster camogie representing armagh. Jim is that your crew and if it is I'm opening a can of whoop ass.

Down team have been playing senior hurling in Antrim for decades, and long may it continue

Quote from: rogercasement on November 26, 2021, 11:17:57 AM
They can't represent armagh in camogie and antrim in football. Down teams play down championship.
Reading irish news this morning I see an Aghagallon playing in ulster camogie representing armagh. Jim is that your crew and if it is I'm opening a can of whoop ass.

Down team have been playing senior hurling in Antrim for decades, and long may it continue

We've been playing in Armagh for many years and our players represent Armagh at county camogie level.

Quote from: JimStynes on November 26, 2021, 11:34:36 AM
Quote from: rogercasement on November 26, 2021, 11:17:57 AM

We've been playing in Armagh for many years and our players represent Armagh at county camogie level.

Is that because the Camogie Association is separate from the GAA?

What'll happen if they do merge as looks more likely after the recent announcement that the GAA is taking over the Camogie Associations commercial activities which was one of the big stumbling blocks a few years ago.

I'm not sure. I don't see a problem with them playing in Armagh. I'd rather our underage up to the age of 13 played in the North Armagh league. It would be a 5min journey into Lurgan for a match with young children rather than an hour or more journey up to the likes of Dunloy etc. We've about 10 good Gaelic clubs right beside us.

rogercasement

Lol. I love spending half a weekend getting to Aghagallon😃 great guys they are too.

Quote from: rogercasement on November 26, 2021, 12:59:10 PM
Lol. I love spending half a weekend getting to Aghagallon😃 great guys they are too.

I totally agree! It's worth the journey and the welcome you would receive.

rogercasement

What do young hurlers around Aghagallon do?

Quote from: rogercasement on November 26, 2021, 01:42:15 PM

Generally play for Sean Traceys in Lurgan. One lad plays for Sarsfields in Belfast. As you know hurling wouldn't be played much around here though.

rogercasement

Just interested. Do ye lose many players to Lurgan, is there a defined border? We are fairly lucky here with a clear border between Antrim and Derry, I don't know of any people our side of bridge playing for Greenlough, there may be a few from pg1 families living on derry side but playing for us.

Quote from: rogercasement on November 26, 2021, 01:42:15 PM

Same as they do around Portglenone Id imagine

rogercasement

No MR2 pg1 hurlers would go to nearby club, many examples in past, Ahoghill, lavey, slaughtneil so I was merely asking!

Quote from: rogercasement on November 26, 2021, 01:57:50 PM
No MR2 pg1 hurlers would go to nearby club, many examples in past, Ahoghill, lavey, slaughtneil so I was merely asking!

I'd have assumed they did go to nearby clubs, so as they do at Jims club, going to a local club is grand, whether its in Antrim Armagh or Derry, as long as they are playing

We have lost a few to Lurgan clubs before but not too many and not for a while. You get the odd child that lives in Aghagallon that plays for a Lurgan team because of family connection but 99% of the parish all play for us. There's a stretch of road about 2 mile odd long that goes into Lurgan and on that stretch you'll go through Antrim, Armagh and Down. All the lads go to school, play other sports and socialise in Lurgan and a lot of best mates will be from Lurgan. If we had won the final and been playing Clann Eireann it would have been amazing as we know everyone on the team and loads of friends in the Clann Eireann club. Apart from county lads, we would have very little dealings with any of the clubs in Antrim. Within a 5 mile radius of Lurgan you have Aghagallon, Clann Eireann, St. Peters, St. Pauls, Clan na Gael, Eire Og, Sarsfields, Wolfe Tones, Magheralin and then slightly further out you have Tir na Nog Portadown and Maghery. And people in Belfast say there are too many clubs in West Belfast!!