GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: shyted on July 24, 2018, 11:13:42 PM

Title: hurler of the year so far anyone?
Post by: shyted on July 24, 2018, 11:13:42 PM
whos looking gud so far?
Title: Re: hurler of the year so far anyone?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 25, 2018, 09:38:23 AM
John Conlon or Peter Duggan for Clare?
Galway lads haven't really clicked in yet.
Cian Lynch is doing well for Limerick, although I didn't see the Kilkenny game.
Cork are funny. I don't think any of them are really on fire, although Pat Horgan is having a very good year.

So far I'd say Conlon.
Post by: johnnycool on July 25, 2018, 10:30:49 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 25, 2018, 09:38:23 AM
John Conlon or Peter Duggan for Clare?
Galway lads haven't really clicked in yet.
Cian Lynch is doing well for Limerick, although I didn't see the Kilkenny game.
Cork are funny. I don't think any of them are really on fire, although Pat Horgan is having a very good year.

So far I'd say Conlon.

Conlon
Daithi Burke
P Mannion
TJ Reid
Pat Horgan

Lynch wasn't great against Clare and Kilkenny but can turn things around this weekend if he has a stormer. Limerick will need him on loads of ball in midfield.
Guillane could be in with a shout.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 25, 2018, 11:51:29 AM
Whats the predictions for the weekend?
Post by: CitySlicker11 on July 25, 2018, 03:25:40 PM
Galway by 4
Cork by 1
Post by: johnnycool on July 25, 2018, 04:24:07 PM
I think Galway will win alright, but it might be closer than people think as both teams have a propensity of lulls in the game where the opposition are on top. It'll depend on who doesn't lull as badly as the other.

Clare have a better forward unit in general than Kilkenny and will be expecting a better return from their forwards from play, but the Galway defence when on their game is a big step up to what the Clare forwards have faced to date.
The Burke battle with Conlon with be a humdinger but for Clare to succeed then Conlon will need to win it hands down and I just don't see that happening.

Galway by 3 for me.

I can see Limerick give Cork a right good rattle and will need Guillane, Mulcahy and Flanagan with Dowling in reserve to get at the Cork fullback line who've been exposed a few times already this summer. A few goals are a must as Cork have proven to be able to fire points over from all angles and distances when needs be. Patrick Horgan, Harnedy and a somewhat subdued Lehane to date may just do it.

I'm hoping for Limerick for a novel AI pairing and will go with a 2 point win.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 29, 2018, 03:41:15 PM
Conlon has been outstanding
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 29, 2018, 05:17:37 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on July 29, 2018, 03:41:15 PM
Conlon has been outstanding
Lehane
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 29, 2018, 05:28:30 PM
Cian Lynch?
Post by: spuds on July 29, 2018, 05:56:18 PM
Gearóid Heggarty was immense when Limerick were struggling and always puts in a solid athletic shift. Maybe not flash enough?
Post by: mouview on July 29, 2018, 10:42:48 PM
Padraig Mannion. Immense, gach rud, gach la.
Post by: Duine Eile on July 30, 2018, 12:09:11 AM
Quote from: mouview on July 29, 2018, 10:42:48 PM

Agreed
Post by: Orchard park on August 01, 2018, 01:51:54 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on July 30, 2018, 12:09:11 AM

Agreed

A far superior hurler than Gearoid Mcinerney  in my book but thankfully for his own sake the media haven't cottoned on.
Post by: Roashter on August 01, 2018, 07:47:48 PM
Conlon up front & Mannion in defence
Post by: johnnycool on August 02, 2018, 08:08:38 AM
Quote from: Orchard park on August 01, 2018, 01:51:54 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on July 30, 2018, 12:09:11 AM

Agreed

A far superior hurler than Gearoid Mcinerney  in my book but thankfully for his own sake the media haven't cottoned on.

Agreed, but McInerney offers a physical dominance in that area which Galway depend on now. It was their achilles heel in 2012 when they'd KK on the rack but couldn't land the finishing blow with Shefflin moved out to 11 and took Tony O'g Regan apart.

Both are vital cogs for different reasons.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 02, 2018, 10:59:54 AM
Agree with this. One of the features of Galway's emergence is the size and physicality of them. Galway always had hurlers, but the likes of Broderick, Hayes, Kerins etc could all be horsed out of it. McInerney, the Burkes, Glynn, Flynn and the rest have really changed that perception of Galway, and the fact that they can all hurl as well is a potent mix. McInerney sort of epitomises that for me. Mannion is another great hurler, and really has come into himself, but different strokes for different folks.

Interesting that Clare are the team that seem to have stumbled (intentionally I'm sure) on a formula to unsettle them though. The legs in the Clare team are serious, and if Galway can't match that, their size may not be the advantage it is against less mobile teams. I'm not saying Galway are slow or anything, but Clare are a different type of team. Styles make fights as they say, and this clash of styles is great.

If Limerick end up playing Galway, I think it will be more of an arm wrestle.
Post by: johnnycool on August 02, 2018, 12:13:46 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 02, 2018, 10:59:54 AM
Agree with this. One of the features of Galway's emergence is the size and physicality of them. Galway always had hurlers, but the likes of Broderick, Hayes, Kerins etc could all be horsed out of it. McInerney, the Burkes, Glynn, Flynn and the rest have really changed that perception of Galway, and the fact that they can all hurl as well is a potent mix. McInerney sort of epitomises that for me. Mannion is another great hurler, and really has come into himself, but different strokes for different folks.

Interesting that Clare are the team that seem to have stumbled (intentionally I'm sure) on a formula to unsettle them though. The legs in the Clare team are serious, and if Galway can't match that, their size may not be the advantage it is against less mobile teams. I'm not saying Galway are slow or anything, but Clare are a different type of team. Styles make fights as they say, and this clash of styles is great.

If Limerick end up playing Galway, I think it will be more of an arm wrestle.

It's a bit like the Clare lads on proboards giving out about the poor hurling from Cathal Malone and to a lesser extent Conor Cleary.
When they'd a midfield of Kelly and McGrath and David McInerney at 6 in a few league games every team ran through them like a dose of scar.
With Malone in there and Cleary in at 6 in particular, he's not spectacular but meets the physical challenge head on.
Post by: Judes hurling sevens on August 02, 2018, 01:36:44 PM
I'm judging on hurling alone....

Mcinerney fills a key role but to my eyes hasn't been properly tested by opposition. Physically string  under dropping ball but give him a run around and see what he's up to
Post by: johnnycool on August 02, 2018, 02:12:07 PM
Quote from: Judes hurling sevens on August 02, 2018, 01:36:44 PM
I'm judging on hurling alone....

Mcinerney fills a key role but to my eyes hasn't been properly tested by opposition. Physically string  under dropping ball but give him a run around and see what he's up to

He sits in the pocket protected by his midfielders so it's very rarely you see an opponent attack him at pace with a bit of space to work in.
I'd say whilst he's no sprinter, he's not slow either.
Post by: Orchard park on August 19, 2018, 07:08:53 PM
Whether it was post injury but Mcinerney was cleaned today
Post by: Capt Pat on August 20, 2018, 12:23:39 AM
Mannion the half back from Galway was the unanimous choice from the experts on the sunday game.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 20, 2018, 01:02:56 AM
Quote from: Capt Pat on August 20, 2018, 12:23:39 AM
Mannion the half back from Galway was the unanimous choice from the experts on the sunday game.

Was scripted as Des let the Cat out of the bag.
Post by: johnnycool on August 20, 2018, 10:06:44 AM
Quote from: Orchard park on August 19, 2018, 07:08:53 PM

He did well when in the vicinity of the ball, but Limerick had a smart enough gameplan to avoid him with Hayes drifting out in and around the midfield area.

Joe on the other hand did very little other than dead balls. Wasn't fit IMO.
Post by: Zooming around on September 06, 2018, 04:44:43 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on August 20, 2018, 10:06:44 AM

He did well when in the vicinity of the ball, but Limerick had a smart enough gameplan to avoid him with Hayes drifting out in and around the midfield area.

In my opinion Galway made  a cardinal error by stating an all ireland with an unfit centre back and centre forward. Witness the havoc caused by Hannon in the first half and Hayes in the second allied of course to the diminished performance of both McInerney and Canning. A double double belt to Galway if you like.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 07, 2018, 08:37:51 AM
Quote from: Zooming around on September 06, 2018, 04:44:43 PM

In my opinion Galway made  a cardinal error by stating an all ireland with an unfit centre back and centre forward. Witness the havoc caused by Hannon in the first half and Hayes in the second allied of course to the diminished performance of both McInerney and Canning. A double double belt to Galway if you like.

Said this after the reply semi final and was told by the experts on here that 2 weeks would be plenty time to heal the walking injured!
Post by: johnnycool on September 07, 2018, 08:40:17 AM

I get your point and maybe like Cody starting Shefflin when it was obvious the leg was hanging off him O'Donoghue succumbed to internal pressures to start the big names as he'd no confidence in his bench which I've already said before.
Some of those U21's need game time in March.
Post by: seafoid on September 07, 2018, 08:55:48 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 07, 2018, 08:40:17 AM

I get your point and maybe like Cody starting Shefflin when it was obvious the leg was hanging off him O'Donoghue succumbed to internal pressures to start the big names as he'd no confidence in his bench which I've already said before.
Injuries have always been a feature of the game but the round robin approach makes them
more likely.
Post by: spuds on September 07, 2018, 02:21:02 PM

What are you saying here exactly?
Post by: johnnycool on September 07, 2018, 02:36:40 PM
Quote from: spuds on September 07, 2018, 02:21:02 PM

I'm saying that he probably knew they both weren't fully fit (as with Daithi Burke in the semifinal) but felt the need to play them and hope for the best.

It didn't work for him but Galway weren't a million miles away.
Post by: spuds on September 08, 2018, 01:29:48 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 07, 2018, 02:36:40 PM

I'm saying that he probably knew they both weren't fully fit (as with Daithi Burke in the semifinal) but felt the need to play them and hope for the best.

The succumbing to internal pressure part is what I was asking. Think O'Donoghue is his own man.
Post by: johnnycool on September 10, 2018, 10:13:11 AM
Quote from: spuds on September 08, 2018, 01:29:48 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 07, 2018, 02:36:40 PM

The succumbing to internal pressure part is what I was asking. Think O'Donoghue is his own man.

I'm not saying he isn't but he knew full well they weren't fully fit, but still played them as options were limited.

Cody probably took Shefflin at his word even though he also knew he wasn't fit.

Big call to make, leaving your star man off.
Post by: Orchard park on September 10, 2018, 12:28:43 PM
Donoghue possibly his own man but his huge weakness is actual game time responses.

has team prepared, drilled etc to the nines but needs someone to read the game. Like that was a 1 point hammering, Limerick deserved possibly a 10 point margin to reflect their superiority but Galway bench was frozen rigid
Post by: johnnycool on September 10, 2018, 12:50:48 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on September 10, 2018, 12:28:43 PM
Donoghue possibly his own man but his huge weakness is actual game time responses.

has team prepared, drilled etc to the nines but needs someone to read the game. Like that was a 1 point hammering, Limerick deserved possibly a 10 point margin to reflect their superiority but Galway bench was frozen rigid

Easy to be frozen rigid when you look behind you and you don't see any game changers to spring!

He went with the usual suspects and there was no kick from them.

Contrast that with Limerick and their subs.

This is also an issue with Cork and Tipp IMO, strong enough 15 on the field, but when someone has an off day the replacements aren't there.
Post by: Orchard park on September 10, 2018, 01:04:15 PM
its been a feature of Donoghue throughout his career.

when winning nobody blamed the bench in 2017.

the more obvious injured player who was started and cleaned was hanbury
Post by: seafoid on September 13, 2018, 04:10:57 PM
https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/revealed-limerick-lead-the-way-with-15-allstar-nominations-as-two-tribesmen-are-shortlisted-for-top-gong-37311032.html

The Hurler of the Year award, which will be voted on by inter-county players, is also likely to go the wire. Joe Canning is nominated with team-mate Pádraic Mannion and Limerick's Cian Lynch.
Post by: Lar Naparka on September 14, 2018, 08:10:12 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 13, 2018, 04:10:57 PM
https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/revealed-limerick-lead-the-way-with-15-allstar-nominations-as-two-tribesmen-are-shortlisted-for-top-gong-37311032.html

The Hurler of the Year award, which will be voted on by inter-county players, is also likely to go the wire. Joe Canning is nominated with team-mate Pádraic Mannion and Limerick's Cian Lynch.
Has to be Joe for me.
Post by: seafoid on September 14, 2018, 08:26:39 PM
Limerick never won one. The rule seems to be that it goes to the all Ireland winner, unless someone from Waterford is in contention.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/All_Stars_Hurler_of_the_Year#Winners_by_county

Post by: haveaharp on November 01, 2018, 04:18:53 PM
When is this announced ?
Post by: johnnycool on November 01, 2018, 04:30:01 PM
Quote from: haveaharp on November 01, 2018, 04:18:53 PM
When is this announced ?

Is it not on the night of the All star awards?

Post by: Tony Baloney on November 02, 2018, 08:21:33 PM
Cian Lynch.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on November 03, 2018, 12:54:04 PM
Congrats to Cian Lynch, a very fine hurler and caps off a great for him and Limerick
Post by: seafoid on November 04, 2018, 09:25:58 AM
So Limerick 6, Galway 3 and Clare 2
Leaving just 4 for the old firm.
Post by: Sean3 on November 04, 2018, 07:08:39 PM
Padraig Mannion would have been my choice but congratulations to Cian Lynch, a fine hurler and ambassador for the game.

On a different note I was saddened to hear of the death of Leonard Enright, a great fullback on a Limerick team that interrupted Cork hegemony in Munster. May he rest in peace.
Post by: johnnycool on November 05, 2018, 09:53:14 AM
Quote from: Sean3 on November 04, 2018, 07:08:39 PM
Padraig Mannion would have been my choice but congratulations to Cian Lynch, a fine hurler and ambassador for the game.

On a different note I was saddened to hear of the death of Leonard Enright, a great fullback on a Limerick team that interrupted Cork hegemony in Munster. May he rest in peace.

The legendary left handed full back, Leonard Enright got to see his beloved Limerick lift Liam McCarthy again before departing his earth. RIP Leonard.

As for the player of the year, it was either Mannion or John Conlan.

Big fan of John I is.

When Limerick take off a corner forward to bring on a spare defender to try and curb your influence then that speaks volumes, not to mention traditional Cork playing a sweeper in front of you in the second half of the Munster final then I think that should have been the deal done.
Post by: seafoid on November 09, 2018, 09:35:18 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on November 05, 2018, 09:53:14 AM
Quote from: Sean3 on November 04, 2018, 07:08:39 PM

The legendary left handed full back, Leonard Enright got to see his beloved Limerick lift Liam McCarthy again before departing his earth. RIP Leonard.

As for the player of the year, it was either Mannion or John Conlan.

Big fan of John I is.

When Limerick take off a corner forward to bring on a spare defender to try and curb your influence then that speaks volumes, not to mention traditional Cork playing a sweeper in front of you in the second half of the Munster final then I think that should have been the deal done.

That 80s Limerick team was very unlucky to come up against Galway and Offaly who were both gagging for all Irelands before the big 3 came back. 3 all stars is testament to the hurler he was.

Hurling goes back a very long way in Limerick

https://voicesfromthedawn.com/knock-aine/
"From the top of Knock Áine one can see the hills around Lough Gur, and the cairn on top of Knockfierna more than 20 km (12.5 mi) away. Here, the fairies of KnockÁine led by Áine, played a hurling match against the god Donn Firinne of Knockfierna, The victors would ensure the success of their next potato crop."

Hurling reaches the parts that Gaelic football just can't.