Stag do

Started by haveaharp, January 08, 2009, 01:05:06 PM

HiMucker

Quote from: take_yer_points on May 31, 2019, 09:04:16 AM
Heading to Galway on a stag here this afternoon. What's the story with getting into the bars? There's 15 or so, better splitting up? Where's good?
Definitely go in to the bars in small groups. Don't bother with the Whiskey Bar, yous will be asked to leave if there is a crowd of yous.

Heading to Galway on a stag here this afternoon. What's the story with getting into the bars? There's 15 or so, better splitting up? Where's good?

My stag was in Galway.  A right while ago now but the whole group didn't manage to get into any clubs etc together.  Tried the small group craic but sure doesn't the old northern accent give the game away quite handily.

Bars during the day were no problem... Taaffes etc

GetOverTheBar

Quote from: lurganblue on May 31, 2019, 10:22:19 AM

My stag was in Galway.  A right while ago now but the whole group didn't manage to get into any clubs etc together.  Tried the small group craic but sure doesn't the old northern accent give the game away quite handily.

Bars during the day were no problem... Taaffes etc

Yep as above, as the evening progresses you'll probably naturally break up anyway but I'd say 4s and 5s would be better. Normal stuff applies, no point crying about not getting in if your swaying everyroad and clearly steamed. One thing about Galway bouncers - a bit of manners goes a long way.

take_yer_points

Cheers lads, expected as much.

Heading now and going to be at the M50 at 5pm. Coming from the north. Go with the M50 or try and avoid it?

GetOverTheBar

Quote from: take_yer_points on May 31, 2019, 03:08:18 PM
Cheers lads, expected as much.

Heading now and going to be at the M50 at 5pm. Coming from the north. Go with the M50 or try and avoid it?

M50 is your best bet tbh. You'll get a bit of traffic obviously but nothing like being stuck behind all sorts going through the country. Go with what you know.

shark

Point to note about Galway is that the bouncers of quite a few establishments are in contact throughout the night. Any group causing hassle in one spot could find themselves shut out of everywhere.
15 should be fine. Go up in 3/4 groups. I was on a stag there a few years ago with 40. We got in to the first pub (Taaffes) as a group, in dribs and drabs. That was the last time we were all together.

As has been said by others - definitely smaller groups is the way to go. And the smaller the better. Honestly go in 2's and 3's if ye want to get in anywhere in the city centre after a good few beers.

take_yer_points

Thanks everyone. M50 was grand, bit slow when we got off it bit not too bad. Just landed in now. Civil enough crowd so we should be ok getting in if we spilt up. Looking forward to it.

Any recommendations or where to go? Especially for the match tomorrow night

RossieBull

Quote from: take_yer_points on May 31, 2019, 07:33:52 PM
Thanks everyone. M50 was grand, bit slow when we got off it bit not too bad. Just landed in now. Civil enough crowd so we should be ok getting in if we spilt up. Looking forward to it.

Any recommendations or where to go? Especially for the match tomorrow night

Freeney's, Sonny Molloy's & Murphy's are all great pubs on Quay St with a great pint of stout. Love them.

For the match The Skeff on Eyre's Sq has loads of TVs and will have a good atmosphere. Or Monroe's on Dominic St also.

Enjoy, a great spot.

Quote from: galwayman on May 31, 2019, 04:41:46 PM
As has been said by others - definitely smaller groups is the way to go. And the smaller the better. Honestly go in 2's and 3's if ye want to get in anywhere in the city centre after a good few beers.

Tigh Chóilí is a favourite of mine.

NotedObserver

Guys what is the best place in Ireland for a stag these days? Group of 15 or so in October?

Quote from: NotedObserver on July 17, 2019, 08:53:20 PM
Guys what is the best place in Ireland for a stag these days? Group of 15 or so in October?

It would surely vary depending on your age, and whether you want into nightclubs.

NotedObserver

Quote from: thewobbler on July 17, 2019, 10:18:52 PM
Quote from: NotedObserver on July 17, 2019, 08:53:20 PM

It would surely vary depending on your age, and whether you want into nightclubs.

30 range and probably would like to end up in a late bar/nightclub

Organised a stag in Lahinch back in April. Spent the Saturday on Inis Oirr in a pub. Great craic, low key, lots of pints and some great music in the bars in town

Quote from: gallsman on July 17, 2019, 10:58:12 PM
Organised a stag in Lahinch back in April. Spent the Saturday on Inis Oirr in a pub. Great craic, low key, lots of pints and some great music in the bar in town
What more do you want