2018 NFL Division 1

Started by Kuwabatake Sanjuro, January 02, 2018, 09:17:32 PM

How good are Galway? Mightily impressed since last year and can see them as the great culchie hope against the Jacks for the next couple of years. Or is it too early to gauge?

They are absolutely effin brilliant,  no team ever had so much talent.
Probably stop Dublin doing the 6 in a row and then do 3 themselves. 
Breheny blowing bullshit about them today in the Rag.

Quote from: ONeill on March 15, 2018, 09:01:20 PM
How good are Galway? Mightily impressed since last year and can see them as the great culchie hope against the Jacks for the next couple of years. Or is it too early to gauge?
It is very hard to.win Connacht because there are 4 teams who on their day can beat any of the others.:

-Roscommon nurse  deep grudges and specialise in schadenfreude.as well as the quick ball out of defence.
- Mayo are martyrs and specialise in self flagellation.
- Galway are arrogant and self indulgent . They don't care about other counties' feelings.
-Mayo's own worst enemy is the team with the best record against Mayo.

Any one of these teams could win.
The emotional aspects are torrid especially if Roscommon are playing and they are being ignored.
Ulster is far easier by comparison.

Quote from: Blowitupref on March 15, 2018, 06:12:54 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on March 15, 2018, 05:35:14 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on March 15, 2018, 04:52:24 PM
Open to correction but didn't the Mayo traveling support only became big in 2012 as I recall a small enough crowd at the All Ireland quarter final against what was the defending champions at the time.

Mayo played Down in the quarter final in 2012 and their was a very small contingent from Mayo their that day, probably only a few thousand. The game against Cork was in 11.
Yes i know that game v Cork was 2011. From what i see Mayo have been getting big traveling support to their games ever since beating Dublin in the AI semi final 2012.
That's true alright. While they've always had a decent following it has definitely mushroomed significantly over the last 5-6 years.
My own in laws are from Mayo.
When I started going out with herself none of the lads in the family went to many games - the very odd championship game every now and again that's about it.
They would have had a vague passing interest in football - none of them played ball after national school.
Now - 3 of them go to pretty much every league game in Castlebar.
5 years ago they wouldn't have dreamt of going to a league game.
Have definitely noticed that over the last 5-6 years - I am from a border area and live in Mayo now.

Quote from: Rossfan on March 15, 2018, 09:24:36 PM

Makes a change. Usually he's the first to stick the boot in.

MayoBuck

Quote from: galwayman on March 15, 2018, 10:11:32 PM
Open to correction but didn't the Mayo traveling support only became big in 2012 as I recall a small enough crowd at the All Ireland quarter final against what was the defending champions at the time.

Mayo played Down in the quarter final in 2012 and their was a very small contingent from Mayo their that day, probably only a few thousand. The game against Cork was in 11.
Yes i know that game v Cork was 2011. From what i see Mayo have been getting big traveling support to their games ever since beating Dublin in the AI semi final 2012.
That's true alright. While they've always had a decent following it has definitely mushroomed significantly over the last 5-6 years.
When I started going out with herself none of the lads in the family went to many games - the very odd championship game every now and again that's about it.
They would have had a vague passing interest in football - none of them played ball after national school.
Have definitely noticed that over the last 5-6 years - I am from a border area and live in Mayo now.

It was probably hammering Galway in 2013 that brought a lot of the casual fans on board. There was massive support in Croke Park that year for the Donegal and Tyrone games.

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 15, 2018, 10:32:49 PM

He's a terrible journalist. Talk about a bullshitter.

Quote from: seafoid on March 15, 2018, 09:41:22 PM
It is very hard to.win Connacht because there are 4 teams who on their day can beat any of the others.:

-Roscommon nurse  deep grudges and specialise in schadenfreude.as well as the quick ball out of defence.
-
A long time since we got the ball out quick.
We've turned into a 20 throw passes where 1 quick ball is all that's needed. :'(

Quote from: Rossfan on March 16, 2018, 12:10:45 AM
Quote from: seafoid on March 15, 2018, 09:41:22 PM

-
A long time since we got the ball out quick.
We've turned into a 20 throw passes where 1 quick ball is all that's needed. :'(

Given we score about 20 points a match you must think we should be scoring 30 or 40 points a match..

They probably weren't in Longford in 2010 then.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 16, 2018, 08:33:47 AM

They probably weren't in Longford in 2010 then.
100% not.
And they won't be heading to Castlebar too much either if Mayo happen to fall back into the pack again n a few years time.

Mayo are like any other county  , if we get a smell of success we will turn up in droves otherwise its just the much smaller hard core support .
but there is great goodwill towards the team and many are just looking for a chance to hit the road

Beffs

Quote from: rosnarun on March 16, 2018, 10:05:40 AM
Mayo are like any other county  , if we get a smell of success we will turn up in droves otherwise its just the much smaller hard core support .
but there is great goodwill towards the team and many are just looking for a chance to hit the road

Exactly. Mayo are just as guilty of being event junkies as anyone else. If they fall back into the chasing pack, or drop down to Div 2, or go back to getting knocked out in the early stages of the Championship, you'll soon see their numbers go back to their pre 2011 ones.

Quote from: galwayman on March 15, 2018, 10:47:33 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 15, 2018, 10:32:49 PM

He's a terrible journalist. Talk about a bullshitter.

Backed the losing horse when the players ousted Anthony Cunningham. Never wrote about him being wrong over it.

Orchard park

They are absolutely effin brilliant,  no team ever had so much talent.
Probably stop Dublin doing the 6 in a row and then do 3 themselves. 

no doubt hyping up his club man Shane walsh for the 7th consecutive year