GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: omagh_gael on July 07, 2018, 10:55:57 PM

Title: Tyrone v Roscommon Croke Park 14/15th July
Post by: omagh_gael on July 07, 2018, 10:55:57 PM
So there we have it, the red hands against the Rossies. Whoever draws first blood here stands a great chance of progressing to the Semis.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2018/0707/977085-cregg-massive-achievement-to-reach-super-8s/

Cregg getting a bit carried away there by saying it's a massive achievement getting to super 8s. Jaysis, you were beat by Galway and only beat Leitrim and scrapped by Armagh! In contrast, we've played Monaghan, Meath, Carlow, Cavan and Cork. One division one team, three division 2 teams and Carlow who moved up to division three. Some craic that is.

Think the big win today for our lads will do us the power of good and they'll be well up for this game.

Lastly, Syferus be a sound Aul skin and be on your best behaviour ;)
Title: Re: Tyrone v Roscommon Croke Park 14/15th July
Post by: Syferus on July 07, 2018, 11:15:20 PM
Grudge match of the fûcking year.
Post by: The Bearded One on July 07, 2018, 11:19:36 PM
Couple of lads around me started mentioning the All Ireland u21 semi final before Tyrone had even entered the field...let it go lads, we bate you out the gate.
Post by: seafoid on July 08, 2018, 12:04:52 AM
None of the teams Tyrone beat are as good as Ros.    Tyrone are the same as last year. Ros are not .
Post by: Rossfan on July 08, 2018, 12:05:22 AM
Looks like a Tymoan victory by at least 15 points going by their arrogant posters here.
How even dare we go out on the same pitch as those superman.
Post by: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 12:07:50 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 08, 2018, 12:04:52 AM
None of the teams Tyrone beat are as good as Ros.    Tyrone are the same as last year. Ros are not .

I'd expect we'll make lighter work of Roscommon than your boys did.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 08, 2018, 12:14:26 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 08, 2018, 12:05:22 AM
Looks like a Tymoan victory by at least 15 points going by their arrogant posters here.

We don't do the poor mouthing. Tyrone to win by as many as we want.
Post by: Rossfan on July 08, 2018, 12:15:02 AM
They're hard to listen to in real life but Jasus they take the biscuit altogether on GAAboard.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 08, 2018, 12:15:26 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 07, 2018, 10:55:57 PM
So there we have it, the red hands against the Rossies. Whoever draws first blood here stands a great chance of progressing to the Semis.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2018/0707/977085-cregg-massive-achievement-to-reach-super-8s/

Cregg getting a bit carried away there by saying it's a massive achievement getting to super 8s. Jaysis, you only beat Leitrim and scrapped by Armagh! In contrast, we've played Monaghan, Meath, Carlow, Cavan and Cork. One division one team, three division 2 teams and Carlow who moved up to division three. Some craic that is.

Think the big win today for our lads will do us the power of good and they'll be well up for this game.

Any reason why you mentioned the one Div one team (Monaghan) in the list of teams Tyrone have played while didn't mention that Roscommon played Div one Galway?
Post by: Rossfan on July 08, 2018, 12:16:38 AM
I presume they bet Monaghan out the gate.... ;D
Post by: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 12:19:28 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 08, 2018, 12:16:38 AM

To be fair to Monaghan, they have managed a couple of victories in Championship matches in Croke Park in the past 17 years. Am I correct in saying Mayo are the only side in Connacht to win a Championship match in Croke Park since Sligo beat Tyrone in 2002?
Post by: weareros on July 08, 2018, 12:20:32 AM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 08, 2018, 12:15:26 AM

Cregg getting a bit carried away there by saying it's a massive achievement getting to super 8s. Jaysis, you only beat Leitrim and scrapped by Armagh! In contrast, we've played Monaghan, Meath, Carlow, Cavan and Cork. One division one team, three division 2 teams and Carlow who moved up to division three. Some craic that is.

Any reason why you mentioned the one Div one team (Monaghan) in the list of teams Tyrone have played while didn't mention that Roscommon played Div one Galway?

He could have saved himself a lot of hot air by writing: both played a Div 1 team and losht! Each team now has a chance to bate a Div 1 team next weekend.
Post by: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 12:21:55 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 08, 2018, 12:05:22 AM

If we end up winning by 15 points then surely it wasn't arrogant?
Post by: omagh_gael on July 08, 2018, 12:22:26 AM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 08, 2018, 12:15:26 AM

Apologies my man, duly corrected.
Post by: Rossfan on July 08, 2018, 12:24:05 AM
So Kildare bet Fermanagh who bet Monaghan who bet Tyrone...
Post by: The Bearded One on July 08, 2018, 12:24:11 AM
In all seriousness, I was able to watch the first game today without emotion and thoroughly enjoyed it. Had a groups of Rossies beside me and the craic was good and football conversation interesting. With 15 mins left they were worried about fitness and felt Armagh were coming strongly but the dug in and deserved their win. It'll be a good tussle next week and is hard to call, offensively Roscommon looked very sharp but looked a bit naive at the back, hopefully Tyrone can exploit this.
Post by: Rossfan on July 08, 2018, 12:37:46 AM
Sharp attack, naive defence.
You've sussed us out in a nutshell  :-\
Post by: Syferus on July 08, 2018, 12:44:37 AM
If John Mac finally scores a fûcking point there will be no stopping us.
Post by: Rossfan on July 08, 2018, 12:57:59 AM
http://www.countysongs.ie/song/ode-to-jimmy-murray

Son of a Derryman
Post by: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 06:18:52 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 07, 2018, 11:15:20 PM

::) Don't flatter yourselves. Roscommon aren't significant enough to be a grudge match for us.
Post by: armaghniac on July 08, 2018, 06:58:18 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 08, 2018, 12:37:46 AM

Very offensive, the Rossies.
Post by: seafoid on July 08, 2018, 07:10:17 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 08, 2018, 12:37:46 AM
The more top class matches Ros get, the better. Imagine last year if they had 2 matches after the Mayo replay
Post by: Syferus on July 08, 2018, 10:00:41 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 06:18:52 AM

::) Don't flatter yourselves. Roscommon aren't significant enough to be a grudge match for us.

Yet this was your contribution. Telling.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 10:09:39 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 08, 2018, 10:00:41 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 06:18:52 AM

Yet this was your contribution. Telling.

Not really. The grudge which I presume you are referring to is the u21 semi final which is nothing but a distant dot in the memory of most Tyrone fans. I hold no grudge towards Roscommon in the slightest.
Post by: Rossfan on July 08, 2018, 10:49:53 AM
Anyway the general consensus is we haven't a hope here as
1 we bet nobody
2 we have no defence
3 Tyrone won't let us score 2-22.

Ah well sure it'll be nice to get to Croke Park -sure everyone wants to play there and won't we be able to stay on then and watch the greatest team of all time ( who were just Lucy enough to be all born round the same few tears).
We can gape slack jawed at the wonderful surroundings that we paid for and maybe buy porter in a plastic glass at  €6 a pint.

Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 08, 2018, 11:05:00 AM
Tyrone will devour Roscommon.
They didn't get out of 2nd gear yesterday to beat Cork.

6+ points win.
Post by: The Black Mamba on July 08, 2018, 11:08:04 AM
After an excellent attacking display yesterday, the next target for this team is to take a scalp in Croke Park. It's no secret as to how a Tyrone team under the management of that dinosaur will play ... here's hoping for David Gough to be referee.
Post by: Gael85 on July 08, 2018, 11:26:00 AM
Quote from: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 12:19:28 AM

To be fair to Monaghan, they have managed a couple of victories in Championship matches in Croke Park in the past 17 years. Am I correct in saying Mayo are the only side in Connacht to win a Championship match in Croke Park since Sligo beat Tyrone in 2002?

Correct
Post by: longballin on July 08, 2018, 11:29:02 AM
It's good Tyrone get Roscommon first, handy enough win and keeps momentum going until the bigger challenges of Dublin and Donegal.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 08, 2018, 12:02:11 PM
Very important it's first as IF we win it as most would expect us to then we will be a lot more confident at home 5obthe Dubs. Away to Donegal will be a tough one. Have we ever won there? I cant remember winning there, ever.
I must say when I first heard about the super 8s format I thought God wouldn't it be great to bring the Dubs to Omagh for a game but then realised to do so you would need to get through as a qualifier not Ulster champions.
And here we are.
Living in Dublin 22 years now and always slagging the Dubs that they've no idea what it's like to play a proper AWAY championship game as they think a neutral venue is an away game. Away venues where the home crowd are up in arms from the start and creating a real hostile venue.
It's a long time since we as Tyrone fans have really got behind the team like we used to in the 90s and 00s.
Too many of us now just sit and be to quiet.

I've not really watched Roscommon this year but I was in Croker last year when they took Mayo to a draw.
We nearly always have their number but we cannot let Sat big win paper over the cracks. We looked very impressive but was that more to do with Cork than us? Who knows.

Still I'm very content we've stepped it up a gear since almost losing to Meath and hopefully we'll have both Sparky and Lee Brennan available as super Subs v the Dubs. Is that Sunday week?

You gotta say we've had an easy enough route to here since losing to Monaghan
Post by: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 12:05:00 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on July 08, 2018, 11:26:00 AM

Correct

That's pretty shocking, particularly for Galway. You'd wonder where Seafoid gets his arrogance from when Galway are presiding over a record like that.
Post by: seafoid on July 08, 2018, 12:13:01 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 08, 2018, 11:05:00 AM

6+ points win.
How many gears do Tyrone have other than neutral?
Post by: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 12:27:31 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 08, 2018, 12:13:01 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 08, 2018, 11:05:00 AM

6+ points win.
How many gears do Tyrone have other than neutral?

Enough gears to win a Championship game at Croke Park anyway.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 08, 2018, 01:08:41 PM
 Happy enough to get Roscommon first. Good to have a handy game before the real stuff starts.
Post by: Orchard park on July 08, 2018, 01:12:45 PM
Jaysus lads stop trying to taunt Syferus with cheap taunts
Post by: seafoid on July 08, 2018, 01:13:35 PM
Quote from: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 12:05:00 PM

Correct

That's pretty shocking, particularly for Galway. You'd wonder where Seafoid gets his arrogance from when Galway are presiding over a record like that.

Sure we have the hurling to glory in while the footballers prepare for the summit.
17 years of mediocrity is nothing iin the big picture. Galway's. first all Ireland was 1925, 78 years before Tyrone''s first Sam.
Post by: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 01:19:57 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on July 08, 2018, 01:12:45 PM
Jaysus lads stop trying to taunt Syferus with cheap taunts

Taunts?

I've only referenced a body of empirical evidence. If he's taunted by the truth then that's his problem.
Post by: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 01:23:40 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 08, 2018, 01:13:35 PM
Quote from: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 12:05:00 PM

Correct

Sure we have the hurling to glory in while the footballers prepare for the summit.
17 years of mediocrity is nothing iin the big picture. Galway's. first all Ireland was 1925, 78 years before Tyrone''s first Sam.

17 years and counting.

You must be confused however as there is a separate hurling forum if you want to discuss hurling. The Galway football side's recent record at Croke Park is embarrassing for a county of their tradition and playing numbers.

1925? There's not many living people that will remember that. You seem to have an obsession with Tyrone that sates your need to deflect from your own county.
Post by: Orchard park on July 08, 2018, 01:39:28 PM
Baggio, the only question  for Tyrone ovrr the last 9 years is when you run out of road...

You are I no position to slag off other teams who haven't hit the summit yet...

I hope it's next weekend, not sure we are good enough bug it certainly won't be fear of Tyrone  that will hold the Rossies back...... if we're not good enough I'll be first to acknowledge it esp if ye play better football....
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2018, 01:45:54 PM
Paddy Power has Tír Eoghain @ 4-9, and Ros @ 9-4, which isn't too far away I'd say. Sure knock yourselves out Rossies. ;) :D
Post by: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 02:08:26 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on July 08, 2018, 01:39:28 PM
Baggio, the only question  for Tyrone ovrr the last 9 years is when you run out of road...

I hope it's next weekend, not sure we are good enough bug it certainly won't be fear of Tyrone  that will hold the Rossies back...... if we're not good enough I'll be first to acknowledge it esp if ye play better football....

I'm aware of it.

Seafoid loves to talk about Tyrone and not his own county.

We're a better team than Roscommon so I expect us to win, naturally - that's not arrogance.
Post by: seafoid on July 08, 2018, 02:19:16 PM
Quote from: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 02:08:26 PM

I'm aware of it.

We're a better team than Roscommon so I expect us to win, naturally - that's not arrogance.
What do you think about young mcInerney at CHB Bombio?

I dunno if Tyrone are better than Ros  McStay is a better manager for a start.
Ros have better forwards.
However Tyrone are better at moving the ball sideways
#Jaysus
Post by: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 02:26:11 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 08, 2018, 02:19:16 PM
Quote from: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 02:08:26 PM

I'm aware of it.

What do you think about young mcInerney at CHB Bombio?

I dunno if Tyrone are better than Ros  McStay is a better manager for a start.
Ros have better forwards.
However Tyrone are better at moving the ball sideways
#Jaysus

I don't think you believe what you type.

Galway seem to be the best team around at moving the ball sideways at the minute. You seem to be projecting a little too much, is it the impending fear of Croke Park that's causing you to lash out?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2018, 02:49:30 PM
Quote from: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 02:26:11 PM

Galway seem to be the best team around at moving the ball sideways at the minute. You seem to be projecting a little too much, is it the impending fear of Croke Park that's causing you to lash out?

nonsense, sorry seafoid (note to self: as Gaeilge, as fecking Gaeilge ;) ), is simply exercising his anti-Tír Eoghain compulsive obsessive disorder (total COD), pay no heed :)
Post by: seafoid on July 08, 2018, 02:57:24 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2018, 02:49:30 PM

nonsense, sorry seafoid (note to self: as Gaeilge, as fecking Gaeilge ;) ), is simply exercising his anti-Tír Eoghain compulsive obsessive disorder (total COD), pay no heed :)

Bomber is a dose.

Meanwhile

https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/colm-orourke-this-is-the-end-of-mayo-as-we-have-known-them-37068850.html

"Nobody will want to meet Tyrone but there should be a health warning with their matches.

The standard was not good but it looks as if Tyrone are bound for the Super 8. However, they were quite sloppy and are still a bit behind the top sides. They have not changed from last year when their style was picked apart by Dublin."

Tyrone should do what the Galway hurlers did in 2011. Drop the chokers and start to build a culture of winners.
Post by: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 02:59:40 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 08, 2018, 02:57:24 PM

Bomber is a dose.

Meanwhile

https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/colm-orourke-this-is-the-end-of-mayo-as-we-have-known-them-37068850.html

"Nobody will want to meet Tyrone but there should be a health warning with their matches.

The standard was not good but it looks as if Tyrone are bound for the Super 8. However, they were quite sloppy and are still a bit behind the top sides. They have not changed from last year when their style was picked apart by Dublin."

Tyrone should do what the Galway hurlers did in 2011. Drop the chokers and start to build a culture of winners.

Maybe you should be more worried about what Galway should do. I'm having to labour the point on you that they haven't won at Croke Park in Chamionship for 17 years.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2018, 03:00:31 PM
Has that Meath numpty (O'Rourke) eaten his hat yet? :P
Post by: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 03:01:04 PM

Bomber is a dose.

Meanwhile

If that's the blueprint then why did Galway footballers go down the route of getting a Tyrone man in to train them how to play like Tyrone. At least it seems to be improving them anyhow.
Post by: Orchard park on July 08, 2018, 03:40:14 PM
Quote from: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 02:59:40 PM

Bomber is a dose.

Meanwhile

Maybe you should be more worried about what Galway should do. I'm having to labour the point on you that they haven't won at Croke Park in Chamionship for 17 years.

you have a masochistic delight in labouring it in fairness
Post by: The Black Mamba on July 08, 2018, 03:52:33 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 03:01:04 PM

Bomber is a dose.

Meanwhile

If that's the blueprint then why did Galway footballers go down the route of getting a Tyrone man in to train them how to play like Tyrone. At least it seems to be improving them anyhow.

t's holding them back, Galway are a much better side when they let loose a bit. Looking to Tyrone to progress won't get them anywhere. At the very top, that style of play has been made defunct by the Dubs.
Post by: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 03:57:04 PM
Quote from: The Black Mamba on July 08, 2018, 03:52:33 PM

Bomber is a dose.

Meanwhile

t's holding them back, Galway are a much better side when they let loose a bit. Looking to Tyrone to progress won't get them anywhere. At the very top, that style of play has been made defunct by the Dubs.

Their defensive issues have been well highlighted in their last few meetings at Croke Park. There's a reason they play as they do.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 04:02:12 PM

Bomber is a dose.

Meanwhile

Maybe but Galway have been nowhere near the very top for a long time and look better placed than ever to get there this year, we'll see if they get found out in the coming weeks. It does however seem strange for thon Galway man to pontificate about what Tyrone need to do to improve when his own county turns to the Tyrone blueprint to improve themselves.
Post by: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 04:06:28 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 04:02:12 PM

Bomber is a dose.

Meanwhile

Maybe but Galway have been nowhere near the very top for a long time and look better placed than ever to get there this year, we'll see if they get found out in the coming weeks. It does however seem strange for thon Galway man to pontificate about what Tyrone need to do to improve when his own county turns to the Tyrone blueprint to improve themselves.

He doesn't even have any expectations for his own county, very much sits on the fence and sees where the wind blows.
Post by: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 04:06:59 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 08, 2018, 04:06:01 PM

Bomber is a dose.

Meanwhile

Don't be replying to that animal and giving him the oxygen he craves. Makes the good Tyrone posters look very bad by attaching himself to their cause.

Post reported.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 04:08:22 PM

Bomber is a dose.

Meanwhile

Don't be replying to that animal and giving him the oxygen he craves. Makes the good Tyrone posters look very bad by attaching himself to their cause.

Are you referring to me?  :o If you are trying to create some sort of grudge - I don't think its going to work! We just don't care enough about the Rossies.
Post by: Syferus on July 08, 2018, 04:19:16 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 04:08:22 PM

Bomber is a dose.

Meanwhile

Are you referring to me?  :o If you are trying to create some sort of grudge - I don't think its going to work! We just don't care enough about the Rossies.

Sorry Benny, quoted the wrong the post. It was meant to be one of the ones quoting IlBomberBaggio.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 04:23:38 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 08, 2018, 04:19:16 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 04:08:22 PM

Bomber is a dose.

Meanwhile

Sorry Benny, quoted the wrong the post. It was meant to be one of the ones quoting IlBomberBaggio.

Fair enough!
Post by: Orchard park on July 08, 2018, 04:27:18 PM

Prrhaps for you personally  but far from that for any of the players  I know
Post by: Jinxy on July 08, 2018, 04:27:26 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2018, 03:00:31 PM

Reported for hate speech.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2018, 04:38:11 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 08, 2018, 04:27:26 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2018, 03:00:31 PM

Reported for hate speech.

Sorry Colm, must remember not to hold Meath hoors, sorry men, at their word. ;)
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 08, 2018, 05:00:57 PM
Roll on the 16th of July if this shit between baggio and Syf rumbles on all week.
Post by: rrhf on July 08, 2018, 06:09:25 PM
Have Roscommon ever beaten Tyrone in anything. Can't see that changing soon.
Post by: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 06:11:22 PM
Quote from: rrhf on July 08, 2018, 06:09:25 PM

Careful now, some of these lads are very sensitive about this.
Post by: seafoid on July 08, 2018, 06:14:27 PM
Unfortunately Tyrone didn'tmanage to get out of Ulster any time Ros had a good team. Tyrone won their first Ulster in Football  in 1956. Ros had 2 Sams by then
Football didn't actually start in 03.
Post by: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 06:16:14 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 08, 2018, 06:14:27 PM
Unfortunately Tyrone didn'tmanage to get out of Ulster any time Ros had a good team. Tyrone won their first Ulster in Football  in 1956. Ros had 2 Sams by then

It certainly seems to have ended for Galway post 2003.
Post by: Rossfan on July 08, 2018, 06:31:21 PM
I remember we bet then in a League match in Dungannon in the days when  the NFL  started in Autumn.
I also seem to recall we bet them in the League in 2003 in the Hyde. It sticks in the mind because it may have been their only defeat that year.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 06:40:29 PM

If the CCCC fix this game to take place before 1956,  then we are in big trouble.
Post by: Syferus on July 08, 2018, 06:41:05 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 06:40:29 PM

If the CCCC fix this game to take place before 1956,  then we are in big trouble.

This attitude is going to age very badly.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 07:30:46 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 08, 2018, 06:41:05 PM

Chill out and enjoy the build up to the game Syferus, you aren't going to turn this into a grudge match no matter how hard you try. Anyway, my response was directed more at Seafoid's tedious interjections into Tyrone related threads than any particular dig at Roscommon. I'm actually looking forward to seeing Roscommon play live, they appear to be a decent attacking team though I must admit I haven't followed them very closely. Hopefully it l should be a good marker for where Tyrone are at with respect to being able to deal with a potent attack, whilst being able to keep a few more men in advanced positions. Back at Croke Park for the first time since the nightmare last summer too throws another little dynamic into the mix. We'll know a lot more about whether our style has really advanced over the past 12 months by this time next week.
Post by: Orchard park on July 08, 2018, 07:42:47 PM

How many Tyrone men do you personally know  ??  You seem to have a really irrational hatred for people  you dont know ....

I have the  height of respect for the county that brought us Plunkett Donaghy, Frank Mcguigan, Eugene McKenna, the mad goalie Skelton and art McRory as shrewd a football man as I ever met. I regret they not winning in 1986 only next to our losses in 80 and 91......

But then Syferus I had personal exposure to the state supported bullying that the men of 86 suffered most nights and as a result will always respect the GAA in Tyrone even if I have little time for their current mgmt or his autocratic rule and questionable tactics...

I do not speak for all Rossies nor  ever pretend to,  but my opinion would be more widespread than the questionable  "hate" you peddle
Post by: Itchy on July 08, 2018, 07:53:24 PM
Ros could win this. Tyrone better defensively than Ros and Ros have better forwards than Tyrone.
Post by: seafoid on July 08, 2018, 07:54:59 PM
This is the big match for the 2 qualifiers. Lose it and the going gets much harder.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 07:57:53 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 08, 2018, 07:53:24 PM
Ros could win this. Tyrone better defensively than Ros and Ros have better forwards than Tyrone.

Genuine question - which of their forwards are better than Matty Donnelly, Niall Sludden or Peter Harte?
Post by: Orchard park on July 08, 2018, 08:05:47 PM
I suppose we playing with 5 forwards is an improvement....

Only sludden is a forward in the mickey Harte world of football . And hd is a very good one too.  Where is Mattie Donnelly normally played rf does he even know after so many positions.

Diarmuid, both Smith's and Cathal Cregg would be starters on the Tyrone forwards i think.....
Post by: rodney trotter on July 08, 2018, 08:11:21 PM
Lee Brennan was quality against Roscommon at minor and u21 level.. Is he back to fitness? Looked good early stages of the League

Diarmuid murtagh. Cathal Gregg and the the Smith's are great forwards
Post by: Itchy on July 08, 2018, 08:15:33 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 07:57:53 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 08, 2018, 07:53:24 PM

Genuine question - which of their forwards are better than Matty Donnelly, Niall Sludden or Peter Harte?

Murtagh and two smiths better than anything Tyrone have, just my opinion. I tbink Tyrone probably at their weakest in a decade at the moment. Cavan were within 3 points and tget were completely clueless. But then I look at what Ros were at in the last quarter against Armagh in defence and I wonder what they were at. It should be s good tight match but Ros are well capable of bucking history and winning
Post by: Syferus on July 08, 2018, 08:16:22 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on July 08, 2018, 07:42:47 PM

How many Tyrone men do you personally know  ??  You seem to have a really irrational hatred for people  you dont know ....

I have the  height of respect for the county that brought us Plunkett Donaghy, Frank Mcguigan, Eugene McKenna, the mad goalie Skelton and art McRory as shrewd a football man as I ever met. I regret they not winning in 1986 only next to our losses in 80 and 91......

But then Syferus I had personal exposure to the state supported bullying that the men of 86 suffered most nights and as a result will always respect the GAA in Tyrone even if I have little time for their current mgmt or his autocratic rule and questionable tactics...

I do not speak for all Rossies nor  ever pretend to,  but my opinion would be more widespread than the questionable  "hate" you peddle

Hate? Stop yer grandstanding.
Post by: Orchard park on July 08, 2018, 08:22:52 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 08, 2018, 08:16:22 PM

No grandstanding,  explain your loathing/ disresoect/ dislike/ hate for all things Tyrone.....

I have clearly explained  I am in  total opposition to your view but would love to try and understand  the dirge you arec pouting  're grudge matches.....
Post by: ONeill on July 08, 2018, 08:28:41 PM
I think it's great Roscommon are still here. Gives hope to the Wicklows and the Waterfords of this world.
Post by: Rossfan on July 08, 2018, 08:35:06 PM
Wicklow haven't our heritage and tradition while Waterford is a hurley place.
I think Tyrone coming from the dregs to win Ulsters and All Irelands after 78 and 115 years is what gives hope to Wicklow
Post by: seafoid on July 08, 2018, 08:58:03 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 08, 2018, 08:28:41 PM
I think it's great Roscommon are still here. Gives hope to the Wicklows and the Waterfords of this world.
Neutrals everywhere were delighted when Armagh won Sam because it gave such hope to Tyrone
Post by: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 09:06:01 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on July 08, 2018, 08:22:52 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 08, 2018, 08:16:22 PM

No grandstanding,  explain your loathing/ disresoect/ dislike/ hate for all things Tyrone.....

I have clearly explained  I am in  total opposition to your view but would love to try and understand  the dirge you arec pouting  're grudge matches.....

Seriously though, where does this grudge match thing come from? I genuinely didn't realise Tyrone had any sort of grudge with Roscommon.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 08, 2018, 09:11:16 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 08, 2018, 08:35:06 PM
I think Tyrone coming from the dregs to win Ulsters and All Irelands after 78 and 115 years is what gives hope to Wicklow

Yea maybe Wicklow will win 5 provincial titles in a decade, or 3 all irelands in 6 years.
Maybe Wicklow gaels will donate millions of their own money to build a state of the art multi million euro training complex.
All set against a background of intolerance and bigotry from Loyalists from within their own county!!

When Wicklow come through all that, then you can compare them to Tyrone.
Post by: Hound on July 08, 2018, 09:35:58 PM
Given the authorities surely have to give Monaghan the full 7 days recovery and fix them for Sunday, so you'd think this would be the Saturday 5pm game, and given Tyrone and Rossies have such awesome supporters as evidenced by this thread (!), we're not going to be far away from a sellout on Saturday I'd say.
Post by: Syferus on July 08, 2018, 09:37:35 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 08, 2018, 09:11:16 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 08, 2018, 08:35:06 PM

Yea maybe Wicklow will win 5 provincial titles in a decade, or 3 all irelands in 6 years.
Maybe Wicklow gaels will donate millions of their own money to build a state of the art multi million euro training complex.
All set against a background of intolerance and bigotry from Loyalists from within their own county!!

When Wicklow come through all that, then you can compare them to Tyrone.

The irony of Tyrone people living in the past.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 08, 2018, 09:43:42 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 08, 2018, 08:58:03 PM
Neutrals everywhere were delighted when Armagh won Sam because it gave such hope to Tyrone

Yes Armagh showed Tyrone the way in 2002 if that didn't happen Tyrone would probably still be on zero senior All Irelands won.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 08, 2018, 09:44:22 PM
Tyrone have ONE more senior All Ireland than Roscommon 

Ros shouldn't fear this crowd

Post by: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 10:17:28 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 08, 2018, 09:43:42 PM

Yes Armagh showed Tyrone the way in 2002 if that didn't happen Tyrone would probably still be on zero senior All Irelands won.

But it did and Tyrone ended up with three. It must make Armagh's win bittersweet for them. Do Armagh folk sometimes wish they had never won the bloody thing in the first place?
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 08, 2018, 10:46:18 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 10:17:28 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 08, 2018, 09:43:42 PM

But it did and Tyrone ended up with three. It must make Armagh's win bittersweet for them. Do Armagh folk sometimes wish they had never won the bloody thing in the first place?

No Armagh's one win will always carry the most weight and most joy for neutrals. Its a decade now since Tyrone last won the All Ireland yet they haven't lost any of their arrogance which neutrals has no time for and Armagh aren't to blame for that arrogance as Tyrone are born and bred in that way.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2018, 11:03:24 PM
Yes, our arrogance is intact, and bejaysus without it we'd have won nothing-- suffice it to say that, thon arrogance notwithstanding, should we fail to beat the Rossies next day out, then we can kiss all 2018 aspirations goodbye.

No condescension, just hard, unforgiving reality.
Post by: seafoid on July 08, 2018, 11:14:07 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2018, 11:03:24 PM
Yes, our arrogance is intact, and bejaysus without it we'd have won nothing-- suffice it to say that, thon arrogance notwithstanding, should we fail to beat the Rossies next day out, then we can kiss all 2018 aspirations goodbye.

I don't think arrogance is the right attitude for Tyrone at the moment. Last year it built up into a big fall.  Also in the league the mojo was absent until mid February.
I think this was on RTE  : "the ability to mix your game and ask a variety of questions of opponents is what sets the very best teams apart". That might justify arrogance. But Tyrone are not there yet. 

I agree about losing to the Rossies and the implications.
Post by: longballin on July 08, 2018, 11:17:37 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 08, 2018, 11:14:07 PM

I don't think arrogance is the right attitude for Tyrone at the moment. Last year it built up into a big fall.  Also in the league the mojo was absent until mid February.
I think this was on RTE  : "the ability to mix your game and ask a variety of questions of opponents is what sets the very best teams apart". That might justify arrogance. But Tyrone are not there yet. 

Tyrone arent All Ireland material. Might beat Roscommon and have  a chance against Donegal now that McBrearty is out but not within a country mile of Dublin or Kerry. Doubt if they would Galway either.   
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2018, 11:26:39 PM
Quote from: longballin on July 08, 2018, 11:17:37 PM

Tyrone arent All Ireland material. Might beat Roscommon and have  a chance against Donegal now that McBrearty is out but not within a country mile of Dublin or Kerry. Doubt if they would Galway either.

Take your relentless negativity and shove it up you know where! You know, this sort of shite polluted my mind long before you ever saw a ball, longballin.  >:(
Post by: longballin on July 08, 2018, 11:30:00 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2018, 11:26:39 PM

Take your relentless negativity and shove it up you know where! You know, this sort of shite polluted my mind long before you ever saw a ball, longballin.  >:(

Tell you what we'll revisit this in three weeks and see. Last year was similar abuse when peeps said Dublin would beat Tyrone and we saw how that went.. but sure you're the expert. 
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2018, 11:34:49 PM
Quote from: longballin on July 08, 2018, 11:30:00 PM

Tell you what we'll revisit this in three weeks and see. Last year was similar abuse when peeps said Dublin would beat Tyrone and we saw how that went.. but sure you're the expert.

Aye, keep your wise counsel until then, and I'll raise a jar to you. One thing I won't be engaging in is this self-flagellating self-submissive crap -- spare me those details, please.
Post by: longballin on July 08, 2018, 11:36:14 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2018, 11:34:49 PM

Aye, keep your wise counsel until then, and I'll raise a jar to you. One thing I won't be engaging in is this self-flagellating self-submissive crap -- spare me those details, please.

Can't speak until you say so... lol!!  :D
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2018, 11:39:50 PM
Quote from: longballin on July 08, 2018, 11:36:14 PM

Only if you really insist, but sure why not -- go on, go on :D
Post by: longballin on July 08, 2018, 11:40:50 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2018, 11:39:50 PM
Quote from: longballin on July 08, 2018, 11:36:14 PM

Only if you really insist, but sure why not -- go on, go on :D

Thanks  8)
Post by: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 11:47:49 PM

Exactly, Tyrone played the roll over and get your belly tickled role for most of my early time following them to Croke Park or to play any Southern team- now we go to play them with our chests puffed out expecting to turn them over and they don't like it. We heard all that negative stuff for far too long, God knows I was the most pessimistic Tyrone fan during the 1980s and 90s and was proved right nearly all the time. Its no skill to claim that your team is going to get beaten at some point ffs. Enjoy these days when we are competing there or there abouts and don't sniff at big victories over the likes of Cork, regardless of how bad they may be. In fact, look at them and think what you can easily become if you take your eye off the ball.
Post by: longballin on July 08, 2018, 11:53:04 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 08, 2018, 11:47:49 PM

Exactly, Tyrone played the roll over and get your belly tickled role for most of my early time following them to Croke Park or to play any Southern team- now we go to play them with our chests puffed out expecting to turn them over and they don't like it. We heard all that negative stuff for far too long, God knows I was the most pessimistic Tyrone fan during the 1980s and 90s and was proved right nearly all the time. Its no skill to claim that your team is going to get beaten at some point ffs. Enjoy these days when we are competing there or there abouts and don't sniff at big victories over the likes of Cork, regardless of how bad they may be. In fact, look at them and think what you can easily become if you take your eye off the ball.

Thats well put Benny. Food for thought. I hope Tyrone go and give it a lash and if they die at least die with their boots on. You know what I'm talking about. But yeah it's a different year so okay fair enough...
Post by: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 12:32:02 AM
I'm still laughing at that Fear lad thinking Tyrone were the team to beat Dublin last year..
Post by: From the Bunker on July 09, 2018, 12:43:01 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 12:32:02 AM
I'm still laughing at that Fear lad thinking Tyrone were the team to beat Dublin last year..

In fairness he was led on by the media who were anxiously looking for anyone they could find to create a myth around a new team beating Dublin to sell papers, ads and Game tickets!
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 09, 2018, 08:09:21 AM
Any chance of discussing match ups etc?
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 09, 2018, 08:17:04 AM
Tyrone have been pretty settled of late and I dont imagine a huge amount of changes either personnel or positional from the last couple of game.

One of the MF slots possibly up for grabs, and thats about it. I would imagine Bradly and possibly Brennan will be kept to use from the bench along with RON
Post by: Whishtup on July 09, 2018, 08:35:08 AM
If you were to look at this objectively, Tyrone are in the perfect place as far as building towards a grandstand finish to the championship goes.  Laboured early in the league and finished well when the pressure was on to survive.  Laboured early in the championship but seem to be physically in the and mentally in the right place to peak for July/August.

I would say the same of Monaghan and maybe Kildare.  The rest are unknowns.  Could we have Dublin/Kerry failing to qualify?
Post by: Stan Laurel on July 09, 2018, 08:39:22 AM
Quote from: Whishtup on July 09, 2018, 08:35:08 AM
If you were to look at this objectively, Tyrone are in the perfect place as far as building towards a grandstand finish to the championship goes.  Laboured early in the league and finished well when the pressure was on to survive.  Laboured early in the championship but seem to be physically in the and mentally in the right place to peak for July/August.

I would say the same of Monaghan and maybe Kildare.  The rest are unknowns.  Could we have Dublin/Kerry failing to qualify?

No.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 09, 2018, 08:53:29 AM

That's fair enough

I just don't like the way they play the game
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 09, 2018, 09:51:23 AM
Quote from: Baggio90 on July 08, 2018, 04:06:59 PM

Bomber is a dose.

Meanwhile

Post reported.

Irony.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 09, 2018, 10:05:57 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 09, 2018, 08:53:29 AM

That's fair enough

When you look at a performance like yesterday when they score 3:20 (against an admittedly very poor Cork side) and tear them apart going forward, kicking some very nice scores, what exactly is it you dont like?
Is it just the fact they dont kick the ball enough?
Post by: seafoid on July 09, 2018, 10:12:39 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on July 09, 2018, 10:05:57 AM

That's fair enough

When you look at a performance like yesterday when they score 3:20 (against an admittedly very poor Cork side) and tear them apart going forward, kicking some very nice scores, what exactly is it you dont like?
Tyrone can beat disorganised teams 'til the cows come home.
but they haven't been able to beat the decent teams for a few years.
And that is partly down to their style. Or maybe it is the same problem that Martin O'Neill has.
Something is not working.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 09, 2018, 10:27:02 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 09, 2018, 10:12:39 AM

That's fair enough

And that is partly down to their style. Or maybe it is the same problem that Martin O'Neill has.

Thats fair enough comment.
But i dont see much difference in the way Tyrone played and what they did to cork yesterday, to what Dublin regularly do to poor teams in Leinster and get eulogised for.

Tougher tests lie ahead, and ultimately thats what this Tyrone team will be judged on.
Post by: ONeill on July 09, 2018, 10:54:32 AM
Lads we need to stick together and beat these bastids. They gave us Percy French who gave us 'Who Said the Hook Never Hurted the Worms?', though the Mountains of Mourne wasn't too bad.

Show no weakness.
Post by: reddgnhand on July 09, 2018, 10:57:42 AM

That's fair enough

Thats a fair point. How many goalscoring opportunities have they missed this year. As if it hasnt been highlighted in the past. The decision making of certain players Meyler and McShane in particular is awful. This has been obvious for a while. Is the management able to fix these problems?
Post by: BennyHarp on July 09, 2018, 11:14:32 AM
Quote from: Stan Laurel on July 09, 2018, 08:39:22 AM
Quote from: Whishtup on July 09, 2018, 08:35:08 AM

No.

Kerry have a very young team and are untested. At some point this year a team is going to get in their faces and ask these young lads questions that they never faced at underage - I suspect Galway will do that and we'll see what these young lads are made of. If Kerry are heading to Clones in round 2 needing a win to keep their Championship ambitions alive then I wouldn't be putting too much money on them. Dublin however will stroll through.
Post by: weareros on July 09, 2018, 11:33:43 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 09, 2018, 10:54:32 AM
Lads we need to stick together and beat these bastids. They gave us Percy French who gave us 'Who Said the Hook Never Hurted the Worms?', though the Mountains of Mourne wasn't too bad.

Show no weakness.

Well we Rossies need to do it for Percy. He gave his life writing lovely songs about Ulster counties, tried to bring a bit of culture yere way. In return ye sent down Nathan Carter to terrorise us.
Post by: reddgnhand on July 09, 2018, 11:37:43 AM
Quote from: weareros on July 09, 2018, 11:33:43 AM

Show no weakness.

Well we Rossies need to do it for Percy. He gave his life writing lovely songs about Ulster counties, tried to bring a bit of culture yere way. In return ye sent down Nathan Carter to terrorise us.

We done nothing of the sort.Sure isnt he from Liverpool?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 09, 2018, 11:52:52 AM

Can't argue with that, however, we'll find out very soon what's working and what's not at the business end of 2018.
Post by: ONeill on July 09, 2018, 12:20:14 PM
Quote from: reddgnhand on July 09, 2018, 11:37:43 AM

Show no weakness.

A ha....but they've displayed a frailty now. Pity game wasn't in Omagh. Could have Wagon Wheeled the fcuk outta them in the changing rooms.
Post by: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 12:30:09 PM
Mickey is probably searching Facebook for our players' wives and girlfriends names as we speak.
Post by: Rossfan on July 09, 2018, 12:33:32 PM
Surely a super orthodox Catholic isn't thinking of breaking the 6th Commandment  :o
Post by: weareros on July 09, 2018, 12:43:35 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 09, 2018, 12:34:11 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 12:30:09 PM
Mickey is probably searching Facebook for our players' wives and girlfriends names as we speak.
https://m.facebook.com/roscommon.mart/?locale2=en_GB

Have at it. I know McStay and McHale are consulting Flann O'Brien and De Selby for an insight into the complex Tyrone mindset and are deliberating if a clue to their defensive mindset is to be found in De Selby's theory of reality as "a succession of static experiences each infinitely brief". If we can get beyond that, we can win.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 09, 2018, 12:51:03 PM
Good to see the Rossies beat Armagh and make the super 8's. A loss here isn't the end of the world for either team as there's a decent chance that Roscommon, Tyrone & Donegal will win one game each given the way the fixtures gave worked out.

I'd like to think Roscommon's forwards have learnt from the Galway game but then again Tyrone will have learnt from Galway's first half horror show. I expect Tyrone to win but it won't be a shock if they don't. I just don't know where this Tyrone team are at.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 09, 2018, 01:25:18 PM

Mickey is a devout Catholic and a fantastic ambassador to the game.
Post by: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 01:29:57 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 09, 2018, 01:25:18 PM

He can be as devout as he likes but no one outside of Tyrone buys his sanctimony when he's sending out cynical and dirty teams who essentially revolutionised sledging as much as they did defensive tactics. Sport isn't a special case where rules of decency are not applied or can be ignored.

If Mickey really cared about what was right he would have stopped his players acting like playground bullies on the field a decade and a half ago.
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 09, 2018, 02:04:30 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 01:29:57 PM

He can be as devout as he likes but no one outside of Tyrone buys his sanctimony when he's sending out cynical and dirty teams who essentially revolutionised sledging as much as they did defensive tactics. Sport isn't a special case where rules of decency are not applied or can be ignored.

If Mickey really cared about what was right he would have stopped his players acting like playground bullies on the field a decade and a half ago.

Lol, Was thinking it wouldn't take long. I just hope the sane Roscommon supporters don't start making up untrue allegations and broadcasting their (OK maybe just one) opinions as if they were fact again. 
Post by: ONeill on July 09, 2018, 02:19:00 PM
Bingo!
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 09, 2018, 02:25:15 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 09, 2018, 12:51:03 PM
Good to see the Rossies beat Armagh and make the super 8's. A loss here isn't the end of the world for either team as there's a decent chance that Roscommon, Tyrone & Donegal will win one game each given the way the fixtures gave worked out.

I'd like to think Roscommon's forwards have learnt from the Galway game but then again Tyrone will have learnt from Galway's first half horror show. I expect Tyrone to win but it won't be a shock if they don't. I just don't know where this Tyrone team are at.
Let's be honest the only horror show in that game was Roscommon shooting or should i say shot selection in the 2nd half. Was nothing horror about Galway's 1st half, Roscommon just played the better football in that half and deserved their lead. 
Post by: Kurtz on July 09, 2018, 03:44:04 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 09, 2018, 02:25:15 PM

Let's be honest the only horror show in that game was Roscommon shooting or should i say shot selection in the 2nd half. Was nothing horror about Galway's 1st half, Roscommon just played the better football in that half and deserved their lead.

Roscommon shot selection was truly awful for Galway game
They are in bonus territory now. can go out on Sat, enjoy the game hopefully win
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 09, 2018, 03:51:57 PM
Quote from: Kurtz on July 09, 2018, 03:44:04 PM

They are in bonus territory now. can go out on Sat, enjoy the game hopefully win

Do you think so? I would have said the opposite for both teams. Both last years provincial winners, who lost out this year. I think a bad performance in the S8 will show clear regression. 
Post by: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 04:08:49 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on July 09, 2018, 03:51:57 PM

Do you think so? I would have said the opposite for both teams. Both last years provincial winners, who lost out this year. I think a bad performance in the S8 will show clear regression.

A take so bad it needs to be quoted. Tyrone have already regressed from last year, btw.
Post by: seafoid on July 09, 2018, 04:18:57 PM
Quote from: weareros on July 09, 2018, 12:43:35 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 09, 2018, 12:34:11 PM
https://m.facebook.com/roscommon.mart/?locale2=en_GB

Have at it. I know McStay and McHale are consulting Flann O'Brien and De Selby for an insight into the complex Tyrone mindset and are deliberating if a clue to their defensive mindset is to be found in De Selby's theory of reality as "a succession of static experiences each infinitely brief". If we can get beyond that, we can win.
Another relevant De selby quote is that "a journey is a hallucination".
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 09, 2018, 04:25:42 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 04:08:49 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on July 09, 2018, 03:51:57 PM

A take so bad it needs to be quoted. Tyrone have already regressed from last year, btw.

Great reasoning and explanation as always Syferus. You're posts are always full of sh!te facts
Post by: Jayop on July 09, 2018, 04:27:25 PM
Jesus this thread is painful to read. How about wising up with the BS and just talk about the game?
Post by: Jayop on July 09, 2018, 04:34:13 PM
Was watching the videos from TTM there after the Cork game and the lads, Skeet, Meyler and O'Neill we're all talking well about that game, what they wanted to got from it and the Super 8. All three were all well versed on not looking past the Rossies and full of compliments for their forwards, especially O'Neill. The interviewer a few times tried to get them to talk about Dublin in Omagh and none of them bit and kept to the scipt that it's all about this game.

In fairness, this is without a doubt the biggest games for both of these teams in this group as you'd imagine it's the pne game that both teams have earmarked as the most winnable.
Post by: oliverkelly on July 09, 2018, 04:46:32 PM
I would fancy Donegal in the Hyde as the most winnable. Might be way off but thats my opinion before a ball in thrown in
Post by: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 04:54:05 PM
Quote from: Jayop on July 09, 2018, 04:34:13 PM
Was watching the videos from TTM there after the Cork game and the lads, Skeet, Meyler and O'Neill we're all talking well about that game, what they wanted to got from it and the Super 8. All three were all well versed on not looking past the Rossies and full of compliments for their forwards, especially O'Neill. The interviewer a few times tried to get them to talk about Dublin in Omagh and none of them bit and kept to the scipt that it's all about this game.

In fairness, this is without a doubt the biggest games for both of these teams in this group as you'd imagine it's the pne game that both teams have earmarked as the most winnable.

You'd be wrong.
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 09, 2018, 04:57:05 PM
Quote from: oliverkelly on July 09, 2018, 04:46:32 PM
I would fancy Donegal in the Hyde as the most winnable. Might be way off but thats my opinion before a ball in thrown in

It's hard to know with Donegal. The McBearty loss would most likely scupper any realistic hopes they had of winning the whole thing. But I still think there's a kick in them somewhere. They have a good young team coming through, they've just lifted Ulster again and their tails were up prior to the injury news.
I honestly don't think there's much between Donegal, Roscommon and Tyrone and wouldn't be overly surprised if they all win one each. If forced to rate them I'd prob have Donegal, then Tyrone and then Roscommon. But with little in-between.
Post by: Jayop on July 09, 2018, 05:08:34 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 04:54:05 PM
Quote from: Jayop on July 09, 2018, 04:34:13 PM

You'd be wrong.

Great input thanks.
Post by: Jayop on July 09, 2018, 05:10:26 PM
Quote from: oliverkelly on July 09, 2018, 04:46:32 PM

Fair enough. I thought that you'd have us down as the one that you'd most likely beat but I suppose home advantage is a big thing as Kildare have proven. Donegal have kicked an average of 2-19 in the 4 games in Ulster with the scores being pretty evenly spread out so while McBrearty is a big loss they're still a serious scoring outfit this year.
Post by: Rossfan on July 09, 2018, 05:28:34 PM
David Gough to Ref it.
That should cut down on the dirty tricks.
Post by: Jayop on July 09, 2018, 05:38:08 PM
I think he has potential to be a really good ref but he decides too many games himself and is much too fussy. All well and good calling those off the ball fouls around the 21 but the fact is that you go to any game he refs and he will pick a team and give them 3/4 of them and maybe one for the other side regardless of how much it's happening.
Post by: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 05:43:42 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 09, 2018, 05:28:34 PM
David Gough to Ref it.

This would be bad news for Tyrone.
Post by: Rossfan on July 09, 2018, 05:47:01 PM
So.... to be a good ref. you have to ignore off the ball fouling/dirt.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 09, 2018, 05:50:15 PM
David Gough to Ref it.

Great, another game ruined by an anomalous amount of soft frees.

Post by: Jayop on July 09, 2018, 05:53:55 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 05:43:42 PM
David Gough to Ref it.

He's one of those refs that Tyrone generally have to allow for a few extra points to get the win when we play with him. He tends to give a lot of soft frees against Tyrone and if there's any opportunity at all to hand the harshest card available to a Tyrone player he will take it while giving the opposing players the lesser card for the same foul.

Generally when he's reffed games for us against teams outside the top 3 we have enough in the tank to not make it an issue. It's generally only when we play the likes of a Mayo or other top team that it's mattered.

Shouldn't make much of an impact here hopefully.
Post by: Jayop on July 09, 2018, 05:56:37 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 09, 2018, 05:47:01 PM
So.... to be a good ref. you have to ignore off the ball fouling/dirt.

Not at all. To be a good ref you shouldn't favour one team over the other for these things and any time I've watched Gough and not just when Tyrone have played he seems to pick one side and ride them for the day. Generally when it's Tyrone he's reffing he picks us.

Some of the off the ball stuff he calls is grandstanding from him. Most of them aren't fouls at all and imo if you're going to call those they should be absolutely blatant. Tyrone got one on Saturday for a 'foul' on Skeet and he was barely touched. It was just the ref showing off that he had eyes on the back of his head.
Post by: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 06:00:26 PM
Quote from: Jayop on July 09, 2018, 05:53:55 PM
David Gough to Ref it.

He's one of those refs that Tyrone generally have to allow for a few extra points to get the win when we play with him. He tends to give a lot of soft frees against Tyrone and if there's any opportunity at all to hand the harshest card available to a Tyrone player he will take it while giving the opposing players the lesser card for the same foul.

Generally when he's reffed games for us against teams outside the top 3 we have enough in the tank to not make it an issue. It's generally only when we play the likes of a Mayo or other top team that it's mattered.

The line "Tyrone have to allow for a few extra points to win" when discussing the referee who is nearly-universally regarded as the best in the game is more telling than you might realise.
Post by: Jayop on July 09, 2018, 06:05:56 PM
Another insightful post without actually saying anything. What a waste of time you are.

Had we got the extra few points to ensure the win in 2016 then Gough giving Mayo everything wouldn't have mattered. That's pretty much exactly what I meant and a perfect example of it in action.

Someone being the best ref in the GAA at the minute isn't much of a compliment when the lot of them are absolute chumps.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 09, 2018, 06:06:34 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 01:29:57 PM

Take off the tinfoil hat. There are better pundits outside of Colm O Rourke.
Post by: Aughafad on July 09, 2018, 06:10:33 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 06:00:26 PM
Quote from: Jayop on July 09, 2018, 05:53:55 PM
David Gough to Ref it.

The line "Tyrone have to allow for a few extra points to win" when discussing the referee who is nearly-universally regarded as the best in the game is more telling than you might realise.

You sir are full of the stuff that comes out of a horses back end if you think anybody regards him as the best in the business.

Generally the best get more than one all ireland finals, how many has gough?
Post by: Rossfan on July 09, 2018, 06:31:13 PM
Obviously the GAA want to protect our innocent clean footballers from the dark arts.
Long may it continue if it gives people entertainment like we and Armagh provided last Saturday.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 09, 2018, 06:35:17 PM
David Gough to Ref it.

You may be surprised to find out on Saturday that Tyrone are perhaps the most disciplined tacklers in the country. I know you think we bullied your poor little U21s a few years ago - but this is the big league now, I hope your guys are a little bit more resilient these days.
Post by: seafoid on July 09, 2018, 06:38:08 PM
https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/eight-super-heroes-battle-for-control-of-the-football-universe-853841.html
If there's to be a surprise result, what will it be and why?

"After seeing their performance against Armagh Saturday, I'd give Roscommon a good chance against Tyrone next week. While Tyrone could run the bench in the second half against Cork, this will be their fourth game in as many weeks and if Roscommon can bring similar energy levels and pace it could give them a physical advantage. They will need to pair that with the smarts to break down Tyrone defensively but I believe they have the forwards who could do it."
Post by: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 06:40:33 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 09, 2018, 06:35:17 PM
David Gough to Ref it.

You may be surprised to find out on Saturday that Tyrone are perhaps the most disciplined tacklers in the country. I know you think we bullied your poor little U21s a few years ago - but this is the big league now, I hope your guys are a little bit more resilient these days.

You may be surprised when this is exposed as a total fabrication.

Christ you lads want to be the victims in every situation. The whole world is out to get you. Yap yap yap.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 09, 2018, 06:45:26 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 06:40:33 PM
David Gough to Ref it.

Christ you lads want to be the victims in every situation. The whole world is out to get you. Yap yap yap.

Check the stats and you may be surprised. You are living in the past with the dirty tricks nonsense. If anything we are too nice these days. You still haven't explained why this is a grudge match by the way.
Post by: Orchard park on July 09, 2018, 07:02:34 PM
I have been ignored asking the same question and accused of grandstanding when highlighting the respect Tyrone football  is held in by most Rossies, ( Mickie Harte and the rosary beads  and pro"life" campaign are excluded from this respect I feel in most houses )
Post by: rrhf on July 09, 2018, 07:04:37 PM
I just hope Tyrone aren't bullied out of it. Young possibly a bit naive against a team planning to kick them round the field motivated by an Illogical and outrageous sense of grievance from when they were kids.
Post by: Jayop on July 09, 2018, 07:10:39 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 09, 2018, 06:45:26 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 06:40:33 PM
David Gough to Ref it.

Check the stats and you may be surprised. You are living in the past with the dirty tricks nonsense. If anything we are too nice these days. You still haven't explained why this is a grudge match by the way.

He doesn't understand stats or fact. Prefers to talk shite and pollute a thread. Against Cavan Tyrone didn't give a single free up for 31 minutes anywhere on the pitch. Not sure how claiming that we're a pretty disciplined team is playing the victims but that's the kinda crap you'd expect from a few posters on here and on other gaa boards when discussing Tyrone.
Post by: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 07:19:08 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on July 09, 2018, 07:02:34 PM
I have been ignored asking the same question and accused of grandstanding when highlighting the respect Tyrone football  is held in by most Rossies, ( Mickie Harte and the rosary beads  and pro"life" campaign are excluded from this respect I feel in most houses )

You're being ignored because you're just doing your usual trick of pretending like I'm somehow representing anyone but myself, ironically these two posts here by you are much more in keeping with the self-appointed spokesperson for Roscommon that you've attempted to portray me as. Daft.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 09, 2018, 07:20:26 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 07:19:08 PM

You're being ignored because you're just doing your usual trick of pretending like I'm somehow representing anyone but myself, ironically these two posts here by you are much more in keeping with the self-appointed spokesperson for Roscommon that you've attempted to portray me as. Daft.

Yes, but why is this a grudge match??
Post by: Jinxy on July 09, 2018, 07:41:13 PM
I've no idea but I'm guessing ye did something bad to the Rossies.
Post by: Rossfan on July 09, 2018, 08:00:34 PM
It's just Syferworld's parallel universe ::)
Post by: Aughafad on July 09, 2018, 08:19:23 PM
Are/where Armagh a better team this year or last year?

Tyrone absolutely beat them out the gate in 2017 with Jamie Clarke whereas Roscommon needed a last minute goal to put gloss on their victory this year.
Post by: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 08:25:22 PM
Quote from: Aughafad on July 09, 2018, 08:19:23 PM

Tyrone absolutely beat them out the gate in 2017 with Jamie Clarke whereas Roscommon needed a last minute goal to put gloss on their victory this year.

Roscommon led for more than the last 50 minutes of the match you're trying to use as a prop there.
Post by: Jayop on July 09, 2018, 08:27:08 PM

Limped out badly against Fermanagh but put up a big score against Westmeath and Clare and a pretty good score against Sligo. I'd say Clarke or not they have been a better side this year.
Post by: Orchard park on July 09, 2018, 08:34:17 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 07:19:08 PM

I'm clarifying your  opinions dont represent me. What you represent fact is personal opinion and nothing more, at times it has a really solid basis and at times it's groundless, but your inability to answer a simple question like why is this a "grudge match" when you championed  it as such  is baffling....
Post by: ONeill on July 09, 2018, 09:42:39 PM
Wud Percy be a common name in Roscommon?
Post by: Jayop on July 09, 2018, 09:48:42 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 09, 2018, 09:42:39 PM

About as common as Flann in Tyrone :)
Post by: RedHand88 on July 09, 2018, 11:00:35 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 08:25:22 PM

Roscommon led for more than the last 50 minutes of the match you're trying to use as a prop there.

Tyrone were 1-6 to 0-0 up after 15mins and never looked back. Armagh star man Jamie Clarke took it that bad he left the country! Stop trying to compare that with your tight game against them last week.
Post by: weareros on July 09, 2018, 11:36:16 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 09, 2018, 11:00:35 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2018, 08:25:22 PM

[w/quote]

Tyrone were 1-6 to 0-0 up after 15mins and never looked back. Armagh star man Jamie Clarke took it that bad he left the country! Stop trying to compare that with your tight game against them last week.

Last year means nothing: Roscommon hammered Galway, Galway hammered Donegal, Tyrone hammered Armagh, Mayo hammered Roscommon, Dublin hammered Tyrone... things change, not worth drawing conclusions.
Post by: Syferus on July 10, 2018, 12:23:54 AM
Was IlBomber felled again?
Post by: omaghjoe on July 10, 2018, 06:38:14 AM
Beating Roscommon is a must...

No errant playing in the super 8s if you cant beat the team that is happy just to be there.
Post by: seafoid on July 10, 2018, 07:57:17 AM
Under the old system there were only 2 matches after the quarter final stage. There was also a nice gap between matches.  It didn't matter if you lost early in Ulster.
This year the schedule is compacted with less time for recovery.
This may be an issue for Tyrone in the last 5 minutes. The Rossies are hoors for scenting blood.

https://youtu.be/lTvUT6rjDjQ
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 10, 2018, 09:37:10 AM
Well done to our resident wum, he's managed to turn this into a grudge match all on his own.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 10, 2018, 09:49:37 AM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 10, 2018, 09:37:10 AM
Well done to our resident wum, he's managed to turn this into a grudge match all on his own.

Has he? Maybe a grudge match between him and other Rossies by the looks of it.
Post by: oliverkelly on July 10, 2018, 10:40:10 AM
To be honest i dont understand half the shite going on here between us and Tyrone fans. Watching the game against Armagh last weekend there was a group of Tyrone gentlemen beside us and you couldnt meet nicer(And that wasnt just because they were shouting for us). And i have never had a problem with any Tyrone fan at any game we have faced them before either Senior or underage. For some reason it seems this website brings out the worst in both
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 10, 2018, 10:46:32 AM
Quote from: oliverkelly on July 10, 2018, 10:40:10 AM
To be honest i dont undertsnad have the shite going on here between us and Tyrone fans. Watching the game against Armagh last weekend there was a group of Tyrone gentlemen beside us and you couldnt meet nicer(And that wasnt just because they were shouting for us). And i have never had a problem with any Tyrone fan at any game we have faced them before either Senior or underage. For some reason it seems this website brings out the worst in both
The reason is obvious. One of your own is hell bent on causing trouble wherever he/she/it goes and this thread is no exception.
Post by: seafoid on July 10, 2018, 10:50:28 AM
I'd say there are more in Tyrone in fairness
I was looking at newsletter.Co.UK and I couldn't find the GAA section.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 10, 2018, 11:10:40 AM
To be honest i dont understand half the shite going on here between us and Tyrone fans. Watching the game against Armagh last weekend there was a group of Tyrone gentlemen beside us and you couldnt meet nicer(And that wasnt just because they were shouting for us). And i have never had a problem with any Tyrone fan at any game we have faced them before either Senior or underage. For some reason it seems this website brings out the worst in both

Like I've said umpteen times - I know of no Tyrone fan who has a grudge with Roscommon. That's why I was surprised that it was labelled "the grudge match of the year". Still waiting for the explanation on that one.
Post by: Syferus on July 10, 2018, 11:12:07 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 10, 2018, 11:10:40 AM

Like I've said umpteen times - I know of no Tyrone fan who has a grudge with Roscommon. That's why I was surprised that it was labelled "the grudge match of the year". Still waiting for the explanation on that one.

You'll be waiting a a long time so.
Post by: Rudi on July 10, 2018, 11:29:28 AM
I was up in Healy Park last year, sound bunch the Tyrone ones. The fella calling out the announcements even thanked the Rossie team for staying in the local hotel overnight. He even repeated himself. I don't know any Rossie supporters who have any issues with Tyrone. The power of the voice of one lunatic on social media has a lot to answer for.
Post by: Syferus on July 10, 2018, 11:49:15 AM
Quote from: Rudi on July 10, 2018, 11:29:28 AM
I was up in Healy Park last year, sound bunch the Tyrone ones. The fella calling out the announcements even thanked the Rossie team for staying in the local hotel overnight. He even repeated himself. I don't know any Rossie supporters who have any issues with Tyrone. The power of the voice of one lunatic on social media has a lot to answer for.

The incredible irony of calling another a lunatic while trying to grandstand about fraternity in the previous sentence is probably lost on you. The sadly usual use of mental health as a prop when you don't like something on the internet is at best OTT and at worst plain disgusting.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 10, 2018, 12:04:49 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 10, 2018, 10:50:28 AM

The newsletter is a belfast paper. It's as affiliated with Galway as much as it is Tyrone.
Post by: redhandefender on July 10, 2018, 12:10:18 PM
This Seyfrus guy is a clown. No life but stuck on this thing!

I think this game is very hard to call. Roscommon will come out the way they finished the last game and that cork game won't have helped tyrone at all. We may have been building a bit of momentum but that game on Saturday was a joke. I thought we were poor enough.

One things for sure will be a great evening in croke park and the losers of our game its game over!

You have to commend mc stay to, very good manager, not many of those pundits talk the talk and back it up
Post by: trailer on July 10, 2018, 12:10:41 PM
So what are we all thinking here? Tyrone by 6? Would imagine we've the firepower to see this one out comfortably. Roscommon were put to the pin of their collar by a very ordinary Armagh outfit. Anything less than a Tyrone win by 6 or 7 points would be a bad result.
Post by: kopite on July 10, 2018, 12:21:21 PM
Quote from: Rudi on July 10, 2018, 11:29:28 AM
This was because we were the first team to stay locally before a game in Tyrone..the likes of Dublin Kerry stay across the border the night before ..
The ramblings of syferus have reached farcical levels..trying to rustle up enmity between counties who've met probably 10/12 times in 30 years at senior level is twisted..I've followed Roscommon to every county in Ireland for over 40 years and the warmest welcomes have always been in the occupied counties..Tyrone play it hard and on the edge,the way Roscommon were always known for..we have good footballers again and playing these games and division one next year will bring us on some more..I rate Tyrone and cant wait to see how we shape up on Saturday ..
The likes of syferus speak for a tiny minority of Roscommon supporters and indeed GAA supporters in general ..
Post by: ONeill on July 10, 2018, 12:49:19 PM
Yiz give Syferus a hard time.
Post by: seafoid on July 10, 2018, 12:54:36 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 10, 2018, 12:04:49 PM

The newsletter is a belfast paper. It's as affiliated with Galway as much as it is Tyrone.
Hmmn
I was in Omagh in 2003 when Sam Maguire first visited the county and the officiating Mayor was a Protestant  So there must be a few of them there all the time.
Post by: Oldira on July 10, 2018, 12:55:00 PM
Folks Roscommon have only one grudge match and thats against Mayo. Any clowns trying to say there is some sort of 'history' between us and Tyrone is deluded. Tyrone fans are entitled to believe thery will win this one easily and they could well be right. However I am hoping that perhaps Tyrone are not as good as people think and that just maybe we are a bit better than given credit for. In the Conn Final we kicked some shocing wides and drop shorts yet Galway only won the game in injury time. Yet they are spoken of as All Ireland Contenders while we are there to make up the numbers and be thrilled to be there with the big lads. Roscommon have every chance of winning on Saturday but that said I do think Tyrone will have a bit more craft to get them over the line by 2-3 points.  draw woulde be good though...beat Donegal at home and all we would need to do is lost to Dudlin by less than Tyrone do. I am sure the Dubs would do us a favour there  ;) ;)A
Post by: Jayop on July 10, 2018, 12:55:45 PM
I can't believe someone called Kopite is the voice of reason.

Anyway, predictions I reckon Tyrone to win but by the odd point or two and if we do that I'll be delighted. A win is a win by a point or by 10.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 10, 2018, 12:56:25 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 10, 2018, 11:12:07 AM

I'll take this as an admission that you feel a little bit silly that you are the only one still carrying a grudge about that U21 semi final a few years ago.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 10, 2018, 01:06:01 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 10, 2018, 12:54:36 PM

Hmmn
I was in Omagh in 2003 when Sam Maguire first visited the county and the officiating Mayor was a Protestant  So there must be a few of them there all the time.

Of course there is. Doesn't make the newsletter a Tyrone paper.
Post by: Syferus on July 10, 2018, 01:11:37 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 10, 2018, 12:56:25 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 10, 2018, 11:12:07 AM

I'll take this as an admission that you feel a little bit silly that you are the only one still carrying a grudge about that U21 semi final a few years ago.

I feel perfectly comfortable in what I said. It's you that seem to really have trouble getting over it.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 10, 2018, 01:21:11 PM
Is this 'grudge' carried on from Tyrone beating Ros in an u21 match a year or three back?
Post by: Rossfan on July 10, 2018, 01:27:20 PM
Time ye all added th'eejit to ye're ignore list.
That way the adults can get on with adult discussion .
Post by: Blowitupref on July 10, 2018, 01:39:52 PM
Quote from: trailer on July 10, 2018, 12:10:41 PM
So what are we all thinking here? Tyrone by 6? Would imagine we've the firepower to see this one out comfortably. Roscommon were put to the pin of their collar by a very ordinary Armagh outfit. Anything less than a Tyrone win by 6 or 7 points would be a bad result.
Was the 3 point win v Cavan and the extra time win v Meath considered as bad results? because Roscommon are a better side than both Cavan and Meath.
Post by: Syferus on July 10, 2018, 01:41:37 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 10, 2018, 01:27:20 PM

Oh, grow up. You're tiresome at this stage. Find a new act.
Post by: GJL on July 10, 2018, 02:15:37 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 10, 2018, 01:27:20 PM

Done that a while ago.
Post by: Jayop on July 10, 2018, 03:07:01 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 10, 2018, 01:39:52 PM
Quote from: trailer on July 10, 2018, 12:10:41 PM
Was the 3 point win v Cavan and the extra time win v Meath considered as bad results? because Roscommon are a better side than both Cavan and Meath.

Exactly. It's the later stages of the championship. I don't care if we're playing Dublin, Rosscommon or bloody London. A win is a win and that doesn't matter if it's a 10 point hammering or a late goal to steal a one point win.

The only thing I'd say is that with the schedule we've had the last month or so it would be amazing to have the game wrapped up and be able to take a few key players of like we did against Cork but the reality is that that is not going to happen and the likes of Harte will have to play the full 70+.
Post by: redhandefender on July 10, 2018, 03:10:28 PM

Hmmn

Well numb nuts, not sure where to start here. Were you taking magic mushrooms on your visit to Omagh because we have never had a mayor! Maybe a Chairman of Fermanagh and Omagh district council who in 2003 was Pat McDonnell of the SDLP.

Not sure what you are getting at but pretty idiotic to try and connect west tyrone with the belfast loyalist paper, the newsletter lol. I'm pretty sure that's their smallest market in the north. Tyrone being the second biggest buyer for the irish news outside of Belfast.

With regards Roscommon and tyrone connections. Club Tyrone basically assisted the Rossies in setting up Club Rossie. They have worked very close since the start and still do so there is a good strong connection between both counties.
Post by: seafoid on July 10, 2018, 03:49:08 PM
Quote from: redhandefender on July 10, 2018, 03:10:28 PM

Hmmn

Well numb nuts, not sure where to start here. Were you taking magic mushrooms on your visit to Omagh because we have never had a mayor! Maybe a Chairman of Fermanagh and Omagh district council who in 2003 was Pat McDonnell of the SDLP.

Not sure what you are getting at but pretty idiotic to try and connect west tyrone with the belfast loyalist paper, the newsletter lol. I'm pretty sure that's their smallest market in the north. Tyrone being the second biggest buyer for the irish news outside of Belfast.

With regards Roscommon and tyrone connections. Club Tyrone basically assisted the Rossies in setting up Club Rossie. They have worked very close since the start and still do so there is a good strong connection between both counties.
He wasn't SDLP.

I thought Tyrone was a whole county. Anyway, who cares ?
Should be a good match. 
Post by: redhandefender on July 10, 2018, 04:20:05 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 10, 2018, 03:49:08 PM

Hmmn

He wasn't SDLP.

Should be a good match.

He wasn't SDLP as there is no mayor in Omagh, he didn't exist

Tyrone is a whole County!

And I care because you are trying to take the p**s and now just look stupid.

Enjoy watching Tyrone (the whole of it) v Galway. If you miss it I wouldn't check the newsletter for the score
Post by: seafoid on July 10, 2018, 05:11:04 PM
Quote from: redhandefender on July 10, 2018, 04:20:05 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 10, 2018, 03:49:08 PM

Hmmn

He wasn't SDLP.

Should be a good match.

He wasn't SDLP as there is no mayor in Omagh, he didn't exist

Tyrone is a whole County!

And I care because you are trying to take the p**s and now just look stupid.

Enjoy watching Tyrone (the whole of it) v Galway. If you miss it I wouldn't check the newsletter for the score
Fermanagh and Omagh district council didn't exist in 2003

It may have been Gibson who welcomed the team

http://www.ark.ac.uk/elections/lgomagh.htm

2001 Results 

Ind gain from Alliance. (spreadsheet)

First Count: 
Sean Begley (SF) 1,123 
Oliver Gibson (DUP) 1,087 
Paddy McGowan (Ind) 1,074 
Joe Byrne (SDLP) 1,007 
Paddy Gallagher (SF) 763 
Johnny McLaughlin (Ind) 759 
Josephine Deehan (SDLP) 629 
Reuben McKelvey (UUP) 614 
John Anderson (UUP) 552 
Vincent Campbell (SDLP) 178 
Thomas McCordick (DUP) 171 
Kevin Taylor (Ind) 19Votes by party:
UUP: 1,166 (23.2%), 1 seat
DUP: 1,258 (22.8%), 1 seat
SF: 1,886 (23.6%), 1 seat
SDLP: 1,814 (15.8%), 2 seats
Ind: 1,8

Some of the older Tyrone posters might remember
Post by: Jayop on July 10, 2018, 06:06:37 PM
FML is this the level that the trolling has stooped to?
Post by: ONeill on July 10, 2018, 07:08:13 PM
Pure class.

Draw.
Post by: In hiding on July 10, 2018, 08:34:16 PM
The Omagh Town ward was only part of the Omagh District council.

Keep it going though
Post by: Rossfan on July 10, 2018, 09:05:09 PM
Can we have our thread back please?
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 10, 2018, 10:57:17 PM
McStay said last Sat there's a real push about Roscommon this year, it sounded very much at national level.
Post by: weareros on July 11, 2018, 12:55:02 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 10, 2018, 05:11:04 PM

First Count:
Sean Begley (SF) 1,123
Oliver Gibson (DUP) 1,087
Paddy McGowan (Ind) 1,074
Joe Byrne (SDLP) 1,007
Paddy Gallagher (SF) 763
Johnny McLaughlin (Ind) 759
Josephine Deehan (SDLP) 629
Reuben McKelvey (UUP) 614
John Anderson (UUP) 552
Vincent Campbell (SDLP) 178
Thomas McCordick (DUP) 171
Kevin Taylor (Ind) 19Votes by party:
UUP: 1,166 (23.2%), 1 seat
DUP: 1,258 (22.8%), 1 seat
SF: 1,886 (23.6%), 1 seat
SDLP: 1,814 (15.8%), 2 seats
Ind: 1,8

Some of the older Tyrone posters might remember

Jaysus, that's a defensive looking lineup. Some of those bize won't want to give an inch.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 11, 2018, 04:46:15 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 10, 2018, 09:05:09 PM
Can we have our thread back please?

I might just start a new thread for match talk only.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 11, 2018, 01:19:29 PM
When you're on to the Omagh council elections from nearly 20 years ago, you're off topic.
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2018, 06:51:22 PM
Tight enough.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 14, 2018, 06:53:20 PM
Are we still a defensive team??????
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2018, 06:54:45 PM
The grudginess was hanging outta those players.

And shove it up ye McStay, after what ye said about Derrytresk .
Post by: rrhf on July 15, 2018, 09:16:15 AM
Ye sat on that one for long enough..
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 19, 2018, 09:46:12 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 09, 2018, 12:20:14 PM
Quote from: reddgnhand on July 09, 2018, 11:37:43 AM

Show no weakness.

A ha....but they've displayed a frailty now. Pity game wasn't in Omagh. Could have Wagon Wheeled the fcuk outta them in the changing rooms.

You should be looking commission from Tyrone Tribulations for this O'Neill.

https://tyronetribulations.com/2018/07/18/tyrone-officials-to-pump-carters-wagon-wheel-non-stop-into-dublin-changing-rooms/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=facebook