Nathan Carter

Started by Harold Disgracey, January 29, 2013, 11:23:33 PM

I have been known to part take in the country scene .. A few years back I couldn't imagine I would have but I have had some deadly nights and it's great for meeting people.. There is a few who sing popular culture songs as well as country, Johnny Brady was doing rock music before country and was unreal , but I suppose he moved into the country as there is money in it ..

If it's the jiving your after Buckley and mizzell are the ones
If it's the Craic it's, Johnny Brady Jim Devine and Derek Ryan

Nathan doesn't do venues like the tullyglass and riding-dale anymore

Did someone mention muck savage thread  ;D ;D :P ::)

Quote from: balladmaker on May 18, 2016, 09:46:09 AM
Something not right about an Irish man or woman singing in a fake American accent ... just saying.
or wearing a stetson
and then the names....

Heavy security presence in Armagh tonight for the Irish Country Music Awards.

Quote from: leenie on May 18, 2016, 02:22:33 PM
I have been known to part take in the country scene .. A few years back I couldn't imagine I would have but I have had some deadly nights and it's great for meeting people.. There is a few who sing popular culture songs as well as country, Johnny Brady was doing rock music before country and was unreal , but I suppose he moved into the country as there is money in it ..

Is the country scene filling the void left by modern nightclubs and lack of slow sets?

Carter is supposedly a bit of a bollix behind the scenes. From the horse's mouth.

Quote from: BennyCake on May 19, 2016, 09:45:57 PM
Quote from: leenie on May 18, 2016, 02:22:33 PM

Is the country scene filling the void left by modern nightclubs and lack of slow sets?
It was always there doing its thang. Big Tom and Philomena Begley were singing in the drumlins 40 years ago. 

Jim_Murphy_74

Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 19, 2016, 08:02:50 PM
Heavy security presence in Armagh tonight for the Irish Country Music Awards.

What is that needed for?

Over-exuberant fans??....disgruntled indie kids threats?....dissident threats?....ISIS threats?...Too many tractors coming into town??...Country lads liquered up?

/Jim.

MoChara

Wouldn't be a Fan of him in general but I like his version of Banks of the Roses

The gobshite completely ruined one of my all time favourite songs (Wagon Wheel) and for that, I wish a plague of locusts on all his houses.

The song he sang on the Late Late show a few weeks ago in tribute to the Hillsborough victims was very good imo.
I don't know much about him after that.
https://youtu.be/fFaa4bWlaIo

Quote from: laoislad on May 20, 2016, 09:43:40 AM
The song he sang on the Late Late show a few weeks ago in tribute to the Hillsborough victims was very good imo.

Is this country music circuit more of a northern thing or is it the same all over ireland?

Quote from: blewuporstuffed on May 20, 2016, 09:52:28 AM
Quote from: laoislad on May 20, 2016, 09:43:40 AM

Is this country music circuit more of a northern thing or is it the same all over ireland?
Very strong in East Galway, Connemara Gaeltacht, Roscommon, north Tipp, Mayo, Donegal , Longford, Offaly afaik
The Mayo radio station must be at least 50% country music
http://www.midwestirishradio.com/radiomwir.htm

It was a brilliant song, one which we used to cover in our sets when I played in that band that I used to torture the board about.

Here's the link to the original:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1gX1EP6mG-E

I can't listen to it now without picturing thon glipe arriving up in a campervan with a load of mucksavages playing a guitar that isn't plugged in.

Quote from: The Gs Man on May 20, 2016, 09:28:30 AM
The gobshite completely ruined one of my all time favourite songs (Wagon Wheel) and for that, I wish a plague of locusts on all his houses.

Quote from: hardstation on May 20, 2016, 11:28:20 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on May 20, 2016, 09:28:30 AM
Ruined it or just made you realise it was shite in the first place?
Wagon Wheel song originally sketched by Bob Dylan. It was later modified by Ketch Secor of Old Crow Medicine Show and ruined by Nathan Carter.