Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Franko on June 02, 2010, 01:52:23 PM

Title: Nutjob on shooting spree in Cumbria
Post by: Franko on June 02, 2010, 01:52:23 PM
Fookin hell.  Something must have seriously flipped in this spacer's head...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/10214661.stm
Title: Re: Nutjob on shooting spree in Cumbria
Post by: Hereiam on June 02, 2010, 02:03:55 PM
Must of had a couple of bad runs in the taxi
Post by: passedit on June 02, 2010, 02:29:28 PM
Woman in office from whitehaven. Apparently killings not random. All people he knew including his brother and other family members. All point blank in face.
Post by: illdecide on June 02, 2010, 02:31:53 PM
Holy feck, i've family living in Egremont. Have to give them a call and see whats happening, one of them work at sellafield too
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 02, 2010, 03:17:05 PM
5 confirmed dead (inc the gunman I think)
Post by: longrunsthefox on June 02, 2010, 03:40:52 PM
Shock and horror will soon be followed by text jokes...
Post by: Minder on June 02, 2010, 04:01:43 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on June 02, 2010, 03:40:52 PM

It will be ok on this thread as the fatalities will be English.
Post by: stew on June 02, 2010, 05:36:19 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 02, 2010, 04:01:43 PM

It will be ok on this thread as the fatalities will be English.

Thats harsh and hopefully inaccurate.
Post by: Minder on June 02, 2010, 06:01:40 PM
Twelve confirmed dead.
Post by: Capt Pat on June 02, 2010, 06:12:57 PM
Thersa May has already paid tribute to the police and emergency services for doing their job so well. How does she knowthey did a good job.

Some other nutter has already been on the news saying that Britain would never get the Olympics again if guns got banned???????
Post by: no mo do yakamo on June 02, 2010, 06:32:56 PM
We can look forward to a ban on shotguns now.
Post by: Down South on June 02, 2010, 07:13:54 PM

Is it too early to post them yet?
Post by: Minder on June 02, 2010, 07:15:59 PM
Quote from: Down South on June 02, 2010, 07:13:54 PM

As long as they are allowed on the Israel/Gaza flotilla thread.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 02, 2010, 08:07:48 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on June 02, 2010, 06:12:57 PM
Thersa May has already paid tribute to the police and emergency services for doing their job so well. How does she knowthey did a good job.

Some other nutter has already been on the news saying that Britain would never get the Olympics again if guns got banned???????
Why not  ???

Wonder what makes someone go off on one like that.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 02, 2010, 08:13:03 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 02, 2010, 07:15:59 PM

Maybe the three of you could pm each other your funny jokes if yous want to act like scumbags
Post by: Minder on June 02, 2010, 08:24:43 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 02, 2010, 08:13:03 PM

Maybe the three of you could pm each other your funny jokes if yous want to act like scumbags

Where are these jokes that were posted Pints? You seem to have missed my point.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 02, 2010, 08:28:51 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 02, 2010, 08:24:43 PM

I see your point now, apologies.
I'd read it like you were the dying to post some like the other two.
Post by: Minder on June 02, 2010, 08:31:44 PM
Fair dos.
Post by: ONeill on June 02, 2010, 08:59:29 PM
I wonder what they were winding him up about the previous night at the taxi depot.
Post by: Hardy on June 02, 2010, 09:29:28 PM
Why do these bastards get it arse-backways and shoot themselves LAST?
Post by: Capt Pat on June 02, 2010, 09:32:52 PM
Apparently he wamted , walcott, Huddlestone and Leighton Baines in the England squad instead of ,Wright Phillips, Carrick and Warnock. :P
Post by: Down South on June 02, 2010, 09:51:51 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 02, 2010, 08:28:51 PM

Its called black humour pints, but then again humour doesnt seem to be something you would know much about.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 02, 2010, 10:09:24 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on June 02, 2010, 09:32:52 PM
Apparently he wamted , walcott, Huddlestone and Leighton Baines in the England squad instead of ,Wright Phillips, Carrick and Warnock. :P

Hillarious
Post by: Down South on June 03, 2010, 09:31:17 AM
According to newspaper reports today (Indo), Bird was turned away from a local hospital after seeking help with some mental issues.
Post by: illdecide on June 03, 2010, 10:28:47 AM
Quote from: Hardy on June 02, 2010, 09:29:28 PM
Why do these b**tards get it arse-backways and shoot themselves LAST?

Because if he shot himself first then it would just have been a suicide resulting in one death (his own) ???
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 03, 2010, 10:32:39 AM
i assume Hardy hoped that would have been the case. Sarcasm is seriously lost on some people here
Post by: eggy bread on June 03, 2010, 10:43:37 AM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on June 03, 2010, 10:32:39 AM
i assume Hardy hoped that would have been the case. Sarcasm is seriously lost on some people here

I know, it's as much wasted by the originator of the sarcasm, such witticisms and observational quips would appear to warrant a bigger stage than the GAABOARD. ::)
Post by: Doogie Browser on June 03, 2010, 10:52:37 AM
The wall to wall news coverage on Sky news was disgusting last night, the modern media has certainly no conscience when it somes to 'the story'.
Post by: bingobus on June 03, 2010, 10:55:47 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on June 03, 2010, 10:52:37 AM
The wall to wall news coverage on Sky news was disgusting last night, the modern media has certainly no conscience when it somes to 'the story'.

Baffled by this! You watched it all then? They will report it as such cause A: It was a major story B: People like you tuned in to watch it.

RIP to all victims and their families. Senseless killings.
Post by: Doogie Browser on June 03, 2010, 11:02:24 AM
Quote from: bingobus on June 03, 2010, 10:55:47 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on June 03, 2010, 10:52:37 AM

Baffled by this! You watched it all then? They will report it as such cause A: It was a major story B: People like you tuned in to watch it.

RIP to all victims and their families. Senseless killings.
You don't get it Bingobus, it was the dragging out of eyewitnesses and local people who were bewildered and clearly shocked that annoyed me.  Leading questions being asked of people who were quite clearly in shock.
Of course it merits massive coverage, the local MP was on newsnight last night and thanked them for the way they handled the subject whilst saying that a lot of other press had been less than sensitive to the commnunites feelings.
Post by: EC Unique on June 03, 2010, 01:38:38 PM
Shocking stuff. I actually feel sorry for the man, he must have been in an awful mental state. One of his victims was his twin brother. Very sad.
Post by: haranguerer on June 03, 2010, 01:39:30 PM
I agree doogie, some of the reporting of late borders on voyeurism. E.g. - UTV showed some lad who had tried to help your man Bobby Moffet, he started to cry on camera; the camera stayed on him, while the female reporter didnt say anything for about 10 seconds, then it was 'clearly its distressed you', obviously trying to entice more tears. In the past, that would have been straight back to studio, or the reporter would have did a piece to camera.

One of the channels also went into moffets mothers house, yuo can imagine what that was like. Asking leading questions, then passing them off as though they were statements the mother had come out with, when she was too upset to know what was going on.
Post by: clarshack on June 05, 2010, 12:36:11 AM
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/crime/7802041/Cumbria-shootings-Derrick-Bird-his-twin-and-the-60000-tax-inquiry.html

he had £60,000 in the bank but had financial difficulties? doesnt add up...

also he seems to have been popular/sociable and not the loner/weirdo as usually made out in these type of cases.
Post by: stew on June 05, 2010, 01:17:59 PM
Quote from: Down South on June 02, 2010, 09:51:51 PM

Its called black humour pints, but then again humour doesnt seem to be something you would know much about.

Balls, it is classless and repugnant.
Post by: Zapatista on June 05, 2010, 01:37:58 PM
I heard a guy on the radio yesterday saying he knew the killer. He said - this is completely out of character ???
Post by: longrunsthefox on June 05, 2010, 02:44:49 PM

You need to wind your neck in pintsize. I made a observation that these tragedies begin with handwringing followed by joke text messages. I hadn't plan to make any. Heard them all years ago when Michael Ryan massacred a load of people in Hungerford.
Are you still huffing because I made a joke about your hero Michael Jackson when he died. That was hardly a tragedy tho.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 05, 2010, 02:57:56 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on June 05, 2010, 02:44:49 PM

You need to wind your neck in pintsize. I made a observation that these tragedies begin with handwringing followed by joke text messages. I hadn't plan to make any. Heard them all years ago when Michael Ryan massacred a load of people in Hungerford.
Are you still huffing because I made a joke about your hero Michael Jackson when he died. That was hardly a tragedy tho.

no particular love for Jackson, I just don't like scumbags who think they're big men by making jokes about a death.
Post by: longrunsthefox on June 05, 2010, 03:18:15 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 05, 2010, 02:57:56 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on June 05, 2010, 02:44:49 PM

no particular love for Jackson, I just don't like scumbags who think they're big men by making jokes about a death.

as I said I hadn't planned to tho I don't think it makes them 'scumbags' especaiily were Jackson was concerned.
Post by: illdecide on June 05, 2010, 11:24:36 PM
Just found out today that the nutcase that done the shooting has two sons and one of them work for my Uncle and that my aunt was close by when the woman was shot dead in Egremont.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 06, 2010, 12:05:11 AM
On a not completely unrelated note the Florence Iron Ore Mine in Egremont is worth a visit. Probably in the top 5 of all the mines I've ever been down...
Post by: Minder on June 06, 2010, 12:06:55 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 06, 2010, 12:05:11 AM
On a not completely unrelated note the Florence Iron Ore Mine in Egremont is worth a visit. Probably in the top 5 of all the mines I've ever been down...

Pity you never stayed down it.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 06, 2010, 12:10:51 AM
Quote from: Minder on June 06, 2010, 12:06:55 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 06, 2010, 12:05:11 AM

Pity you never stayed down it.
It was good but not that good. Now, Tara or Lisheen...
Post by: Down South on June 06, 2010, 11:47:46 AM
Quote from: stew on June 05, 2010, 01:17:59 PM

"Writing that juxtaposes morbid or ghastly elements with comical ones that underscore the senselessness or futility of life. Black humour often uses farce and low comedy to make clear that individuals are helpless victims of fate and character."

Speaking of classless and repugnant Stew, will you go to Casement* this afternoon, or a bit like the other Armagh mouthpiece on the board, prefer the safety and comfort of your armchair.  ::)

* Casement Park is a GAA ground in West Belfast Stew. Just to save you and google the bother.

Post by: pintsofguinness on June 06, 2010, 11:53:46 AM
Quote from: Down South on June 06, 2010, 11:47:46 AM

"Writing that juxtaposes morbid or ghastly elements with comical ones that underscore the senselessness or futility of life. Black humour often uses farce and low comedy to make clear that individuals are helpless victims of fate and character."

Speaking of classless and repugnant Stew, will you go to Casement* this afternoon, or a bit like the other Armagh mouthpiece on the board, prefer the safety and comfort of your armchair.  ::)

* Casement Park is a GAA ground in West Belfast Stew. Just to save you and google the bother.

Casement park might be a bit of a journey for stew  ::)
Post by: Down South on June 06, 2010, 11:59:14 AM
But like your good self he`ll be on here morning noon and night. Yoursef and Stew and a few others remind me of these deluded fans of English football teams that you meet in the pub. They talk about "us" and "we" like they have some connection to the team, but they never actually go to games. Armchair fans, sure you see more on the telly.
Nice to see you are on the board to answer any topic pints, nothing gets past you.  :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 06, 2010, 12:03:47 PM
Quote from: Down South on June 06, 2010, 11:59:14 AM
But like your good self he`ll be on here morning noon and night. Yoursef and Stew and a few others remind me of these deluded fans of English football teams that you meet in the pub. They talk about "us" and "we" like they have some connection to the team, but they never actually go to games. Armchair fans, sure you see more on the telly.
Nice to see you are on the board to answer any topic pints, nothing gets past you.  :D
We can't all go to games because we don't all live in Ireland, I would have thought even you would understand that.
You spend a good bit of time on here yourself, re-registering all those new usernames must take some time also.
Post by: Down South on June 06, 2010, 12:17:05 PM
So you don't live in Ireland, you don't go to games, yet you spend all your time on a GAA forum. Maybe you would be better off on f365 with your own kind, at least you could get to the odd game.
Anyway I`d love to stay and chat, but I am off to Casement*

*Casement is .... a feck it the exercise will do you good.

I hope I am not interrupting your plans to storm the Israeli embassy.  :D :D :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 06, 2010, 12:25:36 PM
Sure it's yourself and snowedunder that keeps me coming back for more, quality entertainment.

I'd normally say safe journey to casement but if the rumours are true I know the PSNI will be looking out for you so you don't need it.
Post by: Down South on June 06, 2010, 05:45:00 PM

Quote from: stew on June 06, 2010, 03:49:41 PM
w**ker

Classless indeed.  ;)
Post by: eggy bread on June 06, 2010, 06:41:50 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 06, 2010, 12:25:36 PM
Sure it's yourself and snowedunder that keeps me coming back for more, quality entertainment.

I'd normally say safe journey to casement but if the rumours are true I know the PSNI will be looking out for you so you don't need it.

A delusion of self importance on a discussion board is closer to the truth.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 06, 2010, 07:09:17 PM
I must be important because two of you keep signing up under different names to have a go at me at every opportunity.  ;D
Post by: eggy bread on June 06, 2010, 07:18:13 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 06, 2010, 07:09:17 PM
I must be important because two of you keep signing up under different names to have a go at me at every opportunity.  ;D

Again put up or shut up with that - If you look back over my few posts you have been following me around for some reason, do you fancy a little piece of eggy  :-* - and whats with im done with you  ::)
Post by: Tyrones own on June 06, 2010, 07:29:20 PM
Jaysus get him to give you his home phone number and be done with it....who knows,
some of ye might even call it ;) :D
Post by: eggy bread on June 06, 2010, 07:41:24 PM
I'd say if the same client couldn't type it the conversation would be short lived.