GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Mossy Bruce on January 31, 2019, 10:58:57 PM

Title: Laois - Bits & Pieces
Post by: Mossy Bruce on January 31, 2019, 10:58:57 PM
Does anyone have any recommendations for a hurl maker, there is Laois, who will ship them to The States?

Thanks.
Title: Re: Laois - Bits & Pieces
Post by: on the hop on February 01, 2019, 12:19:53 AM
look up Holland Hurls on Facebook
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 01, 2019, 12:51:12 AM
Thanks, On the Hop! :D I'll do a Google search as I don't have FB.
Post by: burdizzo on February 01, 2019, 07:38:47 AM
Cuddy Hurleys, Dooley Hurleys, Cahill Hurleys... - there's heaps of 'em!
Post by: Don Draper on February 01, 2019, 10:00:00 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on February 01, 2019, 07:38:47 AM
Cuddy Hurleys, Dooley Hurleys, Cahill Hurleys... - there's heaps of 'em!
I doubt too many would deliver to the States though?

Joe Fitz is making hurleys too, and looks to deliver around Ireland, a man who gave good service to Laois Hurling, you could give him some business Mossy.

https://www.fitzhurleys.com/
Post by: Tony on February 01, 2019, 04:30:24 PM
Why wouldn't they post to USA, that's ridiculous. I'm sure most, if not all, would be delighted to package up a hurl and send it to the states if postage was paid. Especially if it's to a proud Laois man, like Mossy
Post by: South Laois man on February 01, 2019, 06:30:42 PM
Anyone else thinking of getting the retro Laois jersey that Darren Strong has for sale. Looks class but haven't got anything off him before. Could anyone tell me what his stuff is like?
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 01, 2019, 07:24:00 PM
Thanks for the suggestions, lads. Time to do some shopping!
Post by: merman on February 01, 2019, 09:05:51 PM
Quote from: South Laois man on February 01, 2019, 06:30:42 PM
Anyone else thinking of getting the retro Laois jersey that Darren Strong has for sale. Looks class but haven't got anything off him before. Could anyone tell me what his stuff is like?

Are Laois GAA going to get any of the profits?
Post by: The PRO on February 01, 2019, 09:18:20 PM
Quote from: South Laois man on February 01, 2019, 06:30:42 PM

Get a size or 2 bigger than you normally would. I'm not the biggest fan of his stuff but also I'm not going to run down a lad who has done well in a competitive business.
Post by: Don Draper on February 02, 2019, 08:17:25 AM
Quote from: Tony on February 01, 2019, 04:30:24 PM
Why wouldn't they post to USA, that's ridiculous. I'm sure most, if not all, would be delighted to package up a hurl and send it to the states if postage was paid. Especially if it's to a proud Laois man, like Mossy
Relax will you, don't be so tetchy
Post by: BallyroanAbu on February 12, 2019, 10:27:53 AM
Arles Kilcruise interesting enough transfer Chris O Donovan,  did he not play for Cork a good few years ago.
Post by: recyclebin on February 13, 2019, 09:55:07 PM
Club league fixtures are up on the website now.

No mention of the county fixtures or results. Latest news is from December!!!!
Post by: Heshs Umpire on February 16, 2019, 05:55:18 PM
Quote from: recyclebin on February 13, 2019, 09:55:07 PM

New website supposed to be in the pipeline. Badly needed.
Post by: Don Draper on February 16, 2019, 05:58:56 PM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on February 16, 2019, 05:55:18 PM

Not worth a flying f**k unless they assign someone to update it.
Post by: SCFC on February 18, 2019, 03:03:01 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on February 16, 2019, 05:58:56 PM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on February 16, 2019, 05:55:18 PM

Not worth a flying f**k unless they assign someone to update it.
True. Hopefully they streamline it a bit and make it more readable.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 03, 2019, 10:23:33 PM
Just for laughs (or not):

If you, as a Laoisman, are watching a match as a neutral where the outcome has no effect on Laois' standing, what top three counties do you tend to favor and what three counties do you tend to not like?

For me, as one who only follows hurling, I tend to shout for:
1. Clare (only because we recently found out that a part of our family originated there. Otherwise, they'd be on my "do not like" list)
2. Galway
3. Antrim (just because they are the lone hurling county up north)

I do not like:
1. Cork ( >:()
2. Limerick ( >:()
3. Carlow
Post by: burdizzo on March 03, 2019, 10:32:13 PM
Heh! Laois always love beating Offaly! Number one nemesis! So, very strange to be wanting an Offaly win today! The Dubs also would be ones everyone would like to see beat!
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 03, 2019, 10:49:20 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on March 03, 2019, 10:32:13 PM
...The Dubs also would be ones everyone would like to see beat!
You're right. I can't think of ever being sympathetic to the Dubs.

I realized my first two dislikes go a bit beyond sport rivalries--more based on encounters of personalities from those areas.  ;)
Post by: The PRO on March 04, 2019, 11:42:23 AM
For some reason, I don't like Clare at all. I like seeing them lose. Cork are fierce arrogant too. I like Kilkenny best apart from ourselves and it was nice to see Galway and Limerick win the last two AI's. I've great time for Offaly too despite the number of times we've suffered at their hands.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on March 04, 2019, 01:07:53 PM
Quote from: The PRO on March 04, 2019, 11:42:23 AM
For some reason, I don't like Clare at all. I like seeing them lose. Cork are fierce arrogant too. I like Kilkenny best apart from ourselves and it was nice to see Galway and Limerick win the last two AI's. I've great time for Offaly too despite the number of times we've suffered at their hands.

Offaly always provided hope for small counties like our own. I seriously doubt that a small hurling county will ever reach their heights again. A county needs serious money, population and focus to do well now.
Post by: steven seagal on March 04, 2019, 01:12:38 PM
Good thread Bruce!

I never liked Kildare, I'd happily see them beaten any day of the week. Dublin obviously as well. I never really minded Carlow until recently but the antics of their football management setup have turned me off them, so let them go and sh*te too. Probably Cork as well, I ended up in college with a load of lads from Cork and they were insufferable. Outside of that I wouldn't get too upset about any other county.

I always liked Kerry, but that's probably because I idolised Maurice Fitz growing up, and I loved watching him play. The free he kicked off the ground with his left foot into the Canal end in the 1997 All-Ireland final is one of the best points I've ever seen. Same goes for Down, I loved watching Mickey Linden and Greg Blaney and so I like to see them doing well. I liked Tipp too because we had family down there so I used to keep an eye out for them.
Post by: The PRO on March 04, 2019, 01:24:15 PM
I was going with hurling only.

Kildare are my number one dislike in the big ball. Then it would be Tyrone and Armagh joint second. Meath historically but they don't register much with me these times.
I love watching a good Kerry team in full flow. And I have to say, apart from that spell in the mid noughties under Pillar, I like Dublin.
Apart from that I'd love to see a different county make the breakthrough and win Sam. Hon Leitrim!
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 30, 2019, 10:31:58 PM
I'm getting ready to order a hurl and investigate some training drills for my 3-week old granddaughter.

Too soon?
Post by: laoislad on June 30, 2019, 10:43:44 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on June 30, 2019, 10:31:58 PM
I'm getting ready to order a hurl and investigate some training drills for my 3-week old granddaughter.

Too soon?
Its never too soon!
Post by: The Boy Wonder on June 30, 2019, 11:11:13 PM
Hi Mossy,

https://www.rte.ie/radio1/the-marty-squad/ (https://www.rte.ie/radio1/the-marty-squad/)

THE MARTY SQUAD COMPETITION 2019

SEARCH FOR A GAA HURLING AND FOOTBALL SUPERFAN!
THE MARTY SQUAD in conjunction with GAAGO is offering you the chance to win a great prize during the 2019 championship season.
GAAGO is a subscription based sports channel from RTÉ and the GAA - aimed at an international market and at the Irish diaspora around the world.
We want to find a hurling superfan and a football superfan living outside Ireland.

We have two prizes:

1.   One return flight home from anywhere in the world -  and two tickets for the All Ireland Hurling final
2.   One return flight home from anywhere in the world –  and two tickets for the All Ireland Football final

Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 30, 2019, 11:23:34 PM
Jaysus! I'm going to look into this. Thanks, Boy Wonder!
Post by: MasterJ on July 01, 2019, 11:54:04 AM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on March 03, 2019, 10:23:33 PM
Just for laughs (or not):

If you, as a Laoisman, are watching a match as a neutral where the outcome has no effect on Laois' standing, what top three counties do you tend to favor and what three counties do you tend to not like?

For me, as one who only follows hurling, I tend to shout for:
1. Clare (only because we recently found out that a part of our family originated there. Otherwise, they'd be on my "do not like" list)
2. Galway
3. Antrim (just because they are the lone hurling county up north)

I do not like:
1. Cork ( >:()
2. Limerick ( >:()
3. Carlow

Mine are:
1.Wexford
2. Clare
3. Limerick

I don not like:
1. Offaly
2.Galway
3. Cork
Post by: Mossy Bruce on July 15, 2019, 09:44:16 PM
Club Hurling

I am hoping to start following club hurling. What are the main club hurling competitions in Laois that are somewhat parallel to the Walsh Cup, NHL, Joe McDonagh Cup, etc. in inter-county hurling? And what months of the year are they played? I'm fairly sure I asked this question, long ago, on Laoistalk and I am definitely sure I forgot the answer. :-[

Thanks!
Post by: MasterJ on July 16, 2019, 08:51:37 AM
There is really only a long enough league and the championship. League is played from around start of March and just ended on Wednesday. Championship from late August to Middle of October.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on July 16, 2019, 10:06:33 AM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on July 15, 2019, 09:44:16 PM
Club Hurling

I am hoping to start following club hurling. What are the main club hurling competitions in Laois that are somewhat parallel to the Walsh Cup, NHL, Joe McDonagh Cup, etc. in inter-county hurling? And what months of the year are they played? I'm fairly sure I asked this question, long ago, on Laoistalk and I am definitely sure I forgot the answer. :-[

Thanks!

If you go onto the Laois GAA website you can get the fixture list for the club championships. The leagues are wrapping up and the championships are starting up. The group stages of the senior championship have been moved back to August because of the extended run by the senior hurlers

http://www.laoisgaa.ie/ 

The website is pretty poor for everything else except fixtures IMO. Intermediate championship starts this week I think.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on July 16, 2019, 04:52:55 PM
Quote from: MasterJ on July 16, 2019, 08:51:37 AM
There is really only a long enough league and the championship. League is played from around start of March and just ended on Wednesday. Championship from late August to Middle of October.

Quote from: blueandwhite1 on July 16, 2019, 10:06:33 AM
If you go onto the Laois GAA website you can get the fixture list for the club championships. The leagues are wrapping up and the championships are starting up. The group stages of the senior championship have been moved back to August because of the extended run by the senior hurlers

http://www.laoisgaa.ie/ 

The website is pretty poor for everything else except fixtures IMO. Intermediate championship starts this week I think.
Thanks, MasterJ and BlueandWhite!
Post by: GAA-SMART on July 17, 2019, 06:14:58 PM
I see the 14s got Dublin and Galway in the Tony Forristal- How are the team shaping up this year?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 17, 2019, 06:18:34 PM
The Yanks think we're MAD....
https://www.facebook.com/joshpraycomedy/videos/479993336085193/
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 21, 2019, 02:27:53 AM
Now shake hands and get on with it  ..  ;D

https://twitter.com/i/status/1152655597902487552
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 24, 2019, 11:48:32 PM
This is brilliant from TG4, that's the way to do it lads...

QuoteTen GAA matches being broadcast Live on TG4 this weekend
July 24, 2019

TG4 will provide live coverage of no fewer than ten Gaelic Games matches next weekend beginning with the broadcast of Donegal v Mayo on Saturday lunchtime in the TG4 All Ireland Senior Ladies Football Championship.
TG4's cameras will be at Bord na Mona O'Connor Park in Tullamore, Croke Park and at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park in Longford to broadcast live coverage from the Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Football Championship Quarter-Finals and Minor Hurling Semi Finals, All-Ireland U20 Football Championship Semi-Finals and the TG4 All Ireland Senior Ladies Football Championship.

TG4's live coverage will be presented by Micheál Ó Domhnaill, Gráinne McElwain, Marcus Ó Buachalla and Cuán Ó Flatharta who will be joined by a host of analysts such as former Cork player Jamie Wall, Galway player Paul Conroy, Clare Football captain Gary Brennan, Waterford Ladies Football star Michelle Ryan, Donal O'Grady, Pat Fleury, Jarlath Burns, Seán Óg de Paor, Cathal Moore, Diarmuid Lyng, Aodán Mac Gearailt, Máire Ní Bhraonáin and Daithí Ó Géibheannaigh.

SATURDAY 27 JULY

1:30pm    TG4 All Ireland Senior Ladies Football Championship, Round 3 - Donegal v Mayo, Live from Bord na Mona O'Connor Park, Tullamore   *Live on TG4 (main channel).

3:15pm    TG4 All Ireland Senior Ladies Football Championship, Round 3 - Armagh v Cork, Live from Bord na Mona O'Connor Park, Tullamore       *Live on SpórtTG4 YouTube

3:00pm    Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Football Championship Quarter-Final - Mayo v Dublin, Live from Glennon Brothers Pearse Park, Longford    *Live on SpórtTG4 YouTube

4:00pm    Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship Semi-Final, Limerick v Kilkenny, Live from Croke Park    *Live on TG4 (main channel).

5:00pm    EirGrid All-Ireland U20 Football Championship Semi-Final, Galway v Dublin, Live from Glennon Brothers Pearse Park, Longford   *Live on TG4 YouTube and full deferred coverage on TG4 at 7:30pm.

7:00pm    Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Football Championship Quarter-Final, Kildare v Galway, Live from Glennon Brothers Pearse Park, Longford   *Live on SpórtTG4 YouTube

SUNDAY 28 JULY

1:30pm    Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship Semi-Final – Wexford v Galway, Live from Croke Park    *Live on TG4 (main channel).

2:00pm    Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Football Championship Quarter-Final – Kerry v Tyrone, Live from Bord na Mona O'Connor Park, Tullamore    *Live online on TG4.ie

4:00pm    EirGrid All-Ireland U20 Football Championship Semi-Final – Cork v Tyrone, Live from Bord na Mona O'Connor Park, Tullamore   *Live online on TG4.ie

6:00pm    Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Football Championship Quarter-Final – Monaghan v Cork, Live from Bord na Mona O'Connor Park, Tullamore         *Live online on TG4.ie

MONDAY 29 JULY
8:00pm     GAA 2019 highlights on TG4
Hour-long highlights from all of the weekend's matches in the All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Semi Finals, TG4 All Ireland Senior Ladies Football Championship, Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship Semi-Finals, EirGrid All-Ireland U20 Football Championship Semi-Finals and Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Football Championship Quarter-Finals.
Post by: GAA-SMART on July 26, 2019, 04:27:47 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/07/26/laois-u-15-footballers-set-for-semi-finals-vs-cork/
Post by: GAA-SMART on July 26, 2019, 04:28:27 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/07/26/eight-young-players-to-watch-out-for-in-the-intermediate-football-championship-2/
Post by: justinn on July 26, 2019, 06:49:31 PM
Just looking at U15 panel - Barrowhouse well represented with seven players.
Post by: GAA-SMART on July 27, 2019, 02:45:30 PM
Have to say that was a fantastic performance by the 15s
Post by: Chrimtain on July 27, 2019, 03:05:58 PM
Quote from: GAA-SMART on July 27, 2019, 02:45:30 PM

Short one or two as well, I think.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 27, 2019, 04:32:01 PM
Quote from: GAA-SMART on July 27, 2019, 02:45:30 PM
Would it be possible to let everyone who couldn't get there know what happened. Things like if they won or not, how they played and what the score was. This is a forum after all and the idea of it is to share information on games in Laois
Post by: merman on July 27, 2019, 08:27:56 PM
Laois A won by a point.
Laois B soundly beaten.

Unsure if it was Cork A/B or they had 2 even/regional teams. I've heard 2 conflicting reports from people at the game.
Post by: GAA-SMART on July 27, 2019, 10:04:56 PM
My understanding is Laois A were in the Cup Semi Final v Cork A team which is regional, the cork team in the cup far superior to that in the shield. Conor Counihan and Derek O Connor looking after the Cup team. Laois won 2-10 to 2-09 and played their hearts out and play Kerry in the final. Beaten well in the B but a few people said that was expected as alot of new lads played in that game, Cork have numbers and we struggle numbers wise. Anyway fair play to everyone imvolved there, last year wicklow and offaly bet this team,.improvement under the new lad has been excellent.
Post by: Keyser Söze on July 27, 2019, 10:17:26 PM
Good news. Who is the "new lad"? Who else is involved with this team?
Post by: GAA-SMART on July 27, 2019, 10:32:01 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on July 27, 2019, 10:17:26 PM
Good news. Who is the "new lad"? Who else is involved with this team?

Mark Bates looking after the team, he is a nephew of Paddy Bates from Clonaslee but lives in Dublin. Think there is a lad Alan from stradbally, Patrick from Donegal, he is a teacher of one of my lads in portlaoise, there is a 4th not sure his name.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 27, 2019, 11:31:10 PM
Thanks for that GAA-SMART, nice to know how our future stars are shaping up and how well they are being looked after.
Any idea where and when the final will be played??
Post by: GAA-SMART on July 27, 2019, 11:57:53 PM
I think August 17th is set.. OConnor park was the rumour
Post by: Mossy Bruce on August 03, 2019, 12:36:41 AM
Oldest Club Players

I was curious about the age of some of the oldest club players there in Laois--small ball or big ball. No need to mention names but I would like to know their ages and which code(s) they play. Thanks!
Post by: The PRO on August 03, 2019, 07:55:39 AM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on August 03, 2019, 12:36:41 AM
Oldest Club Players

I was curious about the age of some of the oldest club players there in Laois--small ball or big ball. No need to mention names but I would like to know their ages and which code(s) they play. Thanks!
Paudge Conway played senior football championship Wednesday night and I reckon he's 43. A fair achievement.
He will probably edge John Kealy, Danny Doogue, Noel Garvan and Chris Conway for the oldest player in the senior football.
Greg Ramsbottom played last year for Strad but not sure if he's playing this year. He'd be 42 this year.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on August 03, 2019, 08:15:14 PM
Thanks, PRO.

What about Intermediate and Junior divisions? Any lads in their late 40s or even 50s still out on the pitch?
Post by: burdizzo on August 03, 2019, 11:22:14 PM
Certainly are! Junior is riddled with auld lads!
Post by: Mad Mentor on August 04, 2019, 12:09:45 AM
Neil Browne played Junior B for Rathdowney Errill last week. He has to be 57 at least. His 19 year old nephew Sean also played. Beat that.😀
Post by: Mossy Bruce on August 04, 2019, 01:08:02 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on August 03, 2019, 11:22:14 PM
Certainly are! Junior is riddled with auld lads!
Quote from: Mad Mentor on August 04, 2019, 12:09:45 AM
Neil Browne played Junior B for Rathdowney Errill last week. He has to be 57 at least. ....
This is what I was hoping to hear.
Awesome!
Post by: Jd on August 04, 2019, 02:23:44 PM
John O Connell played for courtwood's team in a recent div 1B league match a few weeks back v Mountmellick. He's definitely 50 at least. Played the 91 Leinster senior football final  so that's 28 years ago
Post by: Heshs Umpire on August 04, 2019, 06:54:33 PM
Quote from: Jd on August 04, 2019, 02:23:44 PM
John O Connell played for courtwood's team in a recent div 1B league match a few weeks back v Mountmellick. He's definitely 50 at least. Played the 91 Leinster senior football final  so that's 28 years ago
He didn't. That was his younger brother Eamonn who's only 46! 😀
Post by: GAA-SMART on August 06, 2019, 08:26:17 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/08/05/laois-u-15s-gearing-up-for-prestigious-adam-mangan-cup-final-with-kerry-following-epic-cork-win/

Nice article on the 15s reaching the final.
Post by: delgany on August 06, 2019, 08:41:10 PM
Would the Mangan Cup be an A grade  level competition ?
Ard there more than one grade ?
Post by: GAA-SMART on August 06, 2019, 09:03:26 PM
Generaly ranked the number 1 competition for U15 but in reality its on a par with the Brian Mc Lernon Cup. Youd have your top 20 or so teams in those two cups on paper.. but at 15 you might find a particulary good team in Clare or something, hard to know.. to be fair to these lads tho theyve played and beaten what has been put infront of them so far. I watched a few games so far and they are going well to be fair.. Kerry youd imagine be very good, looking at results aswell
Post by: Mossy Bruce on August 08, 2019, 07:31:04 PM
In the last couple of months, I've seen several Twitter bits and click-bait articles arguing over what that ash stick is called--a "hurl" or a "hurley." So what do you lads in Laois call it? I've always thought it was a "hurl."
Post by: burdizzo on August 08, 2019, 10:43:39 PM
Definitely a hurl in Laois. In most of Munster it'd be a 'hurley'.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on August 12, 2019, 02:51:35 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on August 08, 2019, 10:43:39 PM

I would say that those who call it a hurl are in a minority among hurling counties. "Two hands on the hurl" is definitely stronger in Laois and Wexford at matches! Munster and Galway call it a hurley. Not sure about Offaly, Kilkenny or Westmeath. A quick search of makers shows mostly 'hurley makers' but I did see hurl makers in Dublin and Wexford.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on August 12, 2019, 03:49:45 PM
In following some of those Twitter feed replies, it sounds like they say "hurl" in Kilkenny.
Post by: LooseCannon on August 12, 2019, 03:59:57 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on August 12, 2019, 03:49:45 PM
In following some of those Twitter feed replies, it sounds like they say "hurl" in Kilkenny.
Hurl here as well. Not as if we're relevant or anything.
Post by: ottoman on August 13, 2019, 08:53:55 AM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on August 12, 2019, 02:51:35 PM

I would say that those who call it a hurl are in a minority among hurling counties. "Two hands on the hurl" is definitely stronger in Laois and Wexford at matches! Munster and Galway call it a hurley. Not sure about Offaly, Kilkenny or Westmeath. A quick search of makers shows mostly 'hurley makers' but I did see hurl makers in Dublin and Wexford.

A "hurl" in Kilkenny and Offaly too. The trend seems to be Munster and Galway its "hurley" and Leinster its a "hurl"
Post by: blueandwhite1 on August 14, 2019, 10:56:38 AM
Quote from: ottoman on August 13, 2019, 08:53:55 AM

A "hurl" in Kilkenny and Offaly too. The trend seems to be Munster and Galway its "hurley" and Leinster its a "hurl"

Listening to Sambo McNaughton last night talking about walking down the streets in the 6 counties with hurls in their hands and what that symbolized. It seems it may well be a North / East thing (Ulster / Leinster) to call it a hurl and a South / West (Munster / Galway) to call it a hurley. Camán does the trick, immune from regional varation.
Post by: ottoman on August 14, 2019, 01:48:05 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on August 14, 2019, 10:56:38 AM
Quote from: ottoman on August 13, 2019, 08:53:55 AM

Listening to Sambo McNaughton last night talking about walking down the streets in the 6 counties with hurls in their hands and what that symbolized. It seems it may well be a North / East thing (Ulster / Leinster) to call it a hurl and a South / West (Munster / Galway) to call it a hurley. Camán does the trick, immune from regional varation.

It funny as I don't think people from our region particular care either way whats its called. But I remember when I hurled in Sydney for a few years, there was a few Cork lads on our team and anytime anybody referred to it as a "hurl" you could nearly see their heads explode. They just couldn't fathom it.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on August 14, 2019, 06:05:30 PM
Quote from: ottoman on August 14, 2019, 01:48:05 PM
It funny as I don't think people from our region particular care either way whats its called. But I remember when I hurled in Sydney for a few years, there was a few Cork lads on our team and anytime anybody referred to it as a "hurl" you could nearly see their heads explode. They just couldn't fathom it.
Yeah, following the Twitter tweets about the hurl/hurley question, the last couple of weeks, it seems like a lot of the "hurley" camp are a bit adamant that the camán should be called a hurley and to do otherwise would fall somewhere between ignorance and treason.
Post by: Mad Mentor on August 15, 2019, 07:30:49 AM
For me its always been a hurl. Hurley sounds a bit......girly.
Post by: GAA-SMART on August 19, 2019, 10:01:19 AM
Interesting weekend for the 15s and 16s. 15s won the Shield but beaten in the Cup Final and the 16s won the Gerry Reily Shield.

I went to Tualamore, was a great win for the second team. Always looked in control of the game and some very good footballers on the team. The cup final was a game of really high skill level accross both teams. Laois went against a strong wind in the first half and showed some really good character and defensive ability to be 6-4 down at Ht. They just never really got going in the second half and the referee just consistently gave scorable frees to Kerry (About the only consistent thing about him) he turned down an absolute stone wall penalty for Laois aswell. In fairness to the team they showed really good heart and got a brilliant goal to bring the game back to 1 point with about 12 to go, but unfortunately Kerry just kept tipping the ball over the ball and got a soft goal aswell. Overal this was a very good year for them. I rememeber watching them at 14s last year where Wicklow and Offaly beat them and this year theyve beaten anyone theyve played and only went down to Kerry by a very harsh scoreline.

Between the 15s and the 16s we will hopefully have a very competitive Minor team next year.
Post by: Giovanni on August 19, 2019, 04:52:35 PM
Thanks for the report.

Good to see the future looking brighter.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on August 27, 2019, 03:51:41 PM
Quote from: Mad Mentor on August 15, 2019, 07:30:49 AM
For me its always been a hurl. Hurley sounds a bit......girly.

Ha ha. For me it always sounded a bit baby-ish to call it a hurley. A bit like wee-wee and pee-pee.
Post by: Blow-in on August 27, 2019, 04:09:57 PM
6 games postponed in Laois the last two weeks because of referee crisis. County seems to be at breaking point now.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on December 23, 2019, 11:43:16 PM
Happy Christmas to all of you, back there in Laois! Here's to a happy and prosperous New Year for all of us and to the hurlers staying put in the Leinster Championship for 2020 and beyond!

Laois abú!
Post by: portlaoisekid on December 24, 2019, 08:58:06 AM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on December 23, 2019, 11:43:16 PM
Happy Christmas to all of you, back there in Laois! Here's to a happy and prosperous New Year for all of us and to the hurlers staying put in the Leinster Championship for 2020 and beyond!

Laois abú!
Happy christmas Mossy....have a good one
Post by: SCFC on December 24, 2019, 12:26:57 PM
Happy Christmas to all who post here. Best source of information out there.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 29, 2019, 07:41:14 AM
Zach at his best...
https://www.facebook.com/Geelong.Cats/videos/2468300390111049/?v=2468300390111049
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 30, 2019, 06:15:24 PM
Not a great start for John Sugrue's U-20 Kerry team, a lot of work ahead of him..
https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/walsh-injury-a-dampener-as-gores-hat-trick-helps-cork-to-22-point-win-972660.html
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 19, 2020, 01:11:27 PM
Kieran Donaghey wants all these forums shut down...

Donaghy calls for GAA to 'shut down' fan forums 
https://the42.ie/5012310
Post by: blueandwhite1 on February 19, 2020, 02:15:34 PM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 19, 2020, 01:11:27 PM
Kieran Donaghey wants all these forums shut down...

Donaghy calls for GAA to 'shut down' fan forums 
https://the42.ie/5012310

Problem goes far beyond the GAA but he has an excellent point. Costs nothing to fire abuse from an anonymous keyboard.

As for whatsapp groups...
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 20, 2020, 06:51:48 PM
True, but you can't shut them all down because of the actions of a few clowns, these forums give useful info to fans who otherwise would have to depend on sometimes very poor official county GAA sites..
Post by: redsetanta on February 25, 2020, 04:14:19 PM
Anyone know how to upload a video clip that isn't on a link i.e. saved on computer
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 27, 2020, 12:38:53 AM
Quote from: redsetanta on February 25, 2020, 04:14:19 PM
Anyone know how to upload a video clip that isn't on a link i.e. saved on computer

The easiest way is to upload it to YouTube. When you do you will be given a link to it. Copy the link and past it into a message here..
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 28, 2020, 10:11:44 AM
American comedian's reaction to Gaelic Football captures the madness of the sport

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C1GEeHGovUw
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 28, 2020, 08:01:59 PM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 28, 2020, 10:11:44 AM
American comedian's reaction to Gaelic Football captures the madness of the sport

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C1GEeHGovUw
Damn funny.
Post by: on the hop on March 13, 2020, 09:23:16 PM
Anybody have any footage of the 2003 semi v Dublin
Post by: redsetanta on March 16, 2020, 10:53:27 AM
Just reading a newspaper report thrown up by Jack McDonald from 1951, Laois v KK in leinster hurling. When did we stop using the word 'Laoighas'? Why the change does anybody know?
Post by: South Laois man on March 17, 2020, 02:32:08 PM
Laochra Gael with Alan Brogan should be interesting this evening. Laois are to feature a good bit in it.
Post by: seafoid on April 04, 2020, 08:37:49 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/pat-critchley-you-teach-or-coach-the-person-first-and-the-subject-or-the-game-second-1.4218368?mode=amp
Post by: redsetanta on April 08, 2020, 02:01:55 PM
https://www.gaa.ie/football/news/flashback-2003-leinster-sfc-final-laois-v-kildare/ (https://www.gaa.ie/football/news/flashback-2003-leinster-sfc-final-laois-v-kildare/)

Sit down, relax and watch this classic. A cracking game of football as Micko would say.
Post by: Zooming around on May 06, 2020, 12:25:07 PM
Nothing on this board for a month. Easy know the schools are off.
Post by: redsetanta on May 18, 2020, 10:07:33 AM
Fantastic achievement by Cahir Healy over the weekend. What an example this man is to the GAA and the community as a whole.
Post by: redsetanta on May 26, 2020, 09:45:44 AM
Anyone want to have a go at the Laois 'Mount Rushmore' which Off the Ball are doing for every county.

Pat Critchley, Ann Keenan Buckley, Tony Byrne - footballer played for Ireland and had a career at Millwall and Southampton, TJ Doheny.
Post by: Gmac on May 27, 2020, 03:18:46 AM
Quote from: redsetanta on May 26, 2020, 09:45:44 AM
Anyone want to have a go at the Laois 'Mount Rushmore' which Off the Ball are doing for every county.

Pat Critchley, Ann Keenan Buckley, Tony Byrne - footballer played for Ireland and had a career at Millwall and Southampton, TJ Doheny.
tommy Murphy
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on May 28, 2020, 12:06:17 AM
Can we claim Bob O Keeffe?
Post by: SCFC on May 28, 2020, 09:53:56 AM

I think Zack might make it. He has had a super career at the top level of his sport.
Post by: Zooming around on May 30, 2020, 09:05:58 AM

Willy Hyland and Ross Munnelly have to be right up there too along with Cheddar, Niall Handy and Jack Nolan
Post by: The PRO on May 31, 2020, 06:00:19 PM
Alison Miller might be in with a shout.
I would go with Tommy Murphy, Zack Tuohy, Pat Critchley and either Anne Keenan Buckley or Alison Miller.
Post by: Giovanni on June 03, 2020, 11:05:40 AM
Sue Ramsbottom? Was reminded of how good she really was a couple of weeks ago on TG4. They go on about Cora Staunton but I think she was better.
Post by: clonadmad on June 04, 2020, 02:43:15 PM
Open letter from Park Chairman to Laois CB and Croke Park

https://twitter.com/parkratheniska/status/1268515342055280641?s=21

Fair fucks to him for using his office to say what we are all thinking

Attn: Peter and all GAA administrators,

Peter, we have spoken in past weeks and I expressed my views regarding the reopening of the GAA grounds. Further time has passed whereby I feel the need to write to you and the GAA leadership in general. The GAA 'lock out' has gone on long enough. 

COVID19 has obviously had a huge impact on all our lives and I am very concerned regarding the impact on people in general and in this case GAA people and clubs. As we know the GAA is rooted in communities across Ireland and GAA people have been doing their best to help in any way possible in their local areas. However, regretfully, I feel in other ways, the GAA is not helping enough.

The national GAA 'lock out' closing gates of all GAA clubs across the country is too draconian in my view and fails the people that we pride ourselves in caring for. It fails in a number of ways:

1.   The GAA is currently not functioning as a result. Interaction, young and old, interest in our sport is paused and connection with the community waning.

2.   Physical Wellbeing: GAA and sport is about exercising, testing yourself and staying physically fit. The closing of clubs sends out the message this isn't important currently.

3.   Mental wellbeing: It's obvious the national COVID19 lockdown is having a huge impact on mental health. For the vulnerable, mentally fragile at this time, locking the gates fails these members. I think of the quiet fella that just loves to smack the Sliotar off the hurling wall on his own and let it all out. Or the father that can only get some life from his son/daughter by going to the pitch to kick a few balls. I could go on and on.

4.   Safety: Referring back to point two, physical exercise. The 'lock out' has resulted in new road exercise. In my case, I have 3 kids and to get them to do any exercise we take to the local roads on the bikes. Trying to keep this fresh within 5km, using different routes if possible is tricky. I see many, many other locals doing similar things. While this is good, it's now silage season and the roads can be dangerous places. Ending the 'lock out' will allow families to return to off road activity and reduce the road safety issues.

5.   The elderly. I can't imagine the isolation of not meeting anyone for a full day or a number of days. Here I think of the local bachelor/widower that loves to drive into the club, park on the grass bank and watch any game that's on or training session. He might make it as far as lying against the pitch side fence. I noticed two such elderly local members 'hanging' in their cars at the statue of Mary in the village. We need to support these people better.

6.   Participation: I would have a great fear that kids/adult players who are lukewarm about sport or parents who are lukewarm about driving their kids everywhere will get out of the habit of the GAA and sport in general. The loss to the Association may only felt in the coming years, not just 2020. The loss to the individuals and society might be much greater in terms of a lack of sport in people's lives. I won't even get into girls participation in sport. I have two girls and I would worry about their interest level to return to GAA. The GAA has approx. 2,200 clubs in Ireland. If each club averages 8 teams across all ages. If each team in every club was to lose 3 players in 2020. That's over 50,000 players lost! If like in many clubs those 3 players make numbers at for example U15 too tight to make a minor team next year, the club may lose a team. You get my point, which I don't believe is too far fetched

7.   Financial: Not the main concern of my letter but a huge area also.     

I could go on. I see golf clubs now reopened and that is good. However, I can see the odd occasion on every round where players are rooting in the trees for a ball and social distancing is compromised, or on the green by the flag. None of this will be perfect, and the GAA should not expect to be either.

People are showing compliance out on the public road outside the grounds, I have no reason to doubt it won't be the same inside. There will be some exceptions, some urban clubs will open slower/differently, some members in every club will stay away for a bit longer due to personal/family health situations. But let these be understood exceptions. 

I am not calling for matches to return at this time, not full time training, just to open again to our members and community. Let the walkers return, let the Kelly's puck around in one goal, the Baileys kick around at the other goals. Let the local bachelor sit on the grass bank and look at what's going on, even if that is very little. The GAA need to step up now, end the 'lock out' and open our arms once again to our communities.

Le mise,

John Kelly

Chairman Park Ratheniska GAA

Post by: Giovanni on June 04, 2020, 04:58:59 PM
It's not easy for GAA administrators to make these calls when there are such vastly different messages coming from experts on such simple things as whether you should wear a mask and whether the water needs to be warm when you're washing your hands. I do understand why there was a safety first approach.

On the other hand, I think this letter really sums up all the downsides and there is no question that there are several. Well done to him.

Post by: The PRO on June 04, 2020, 05:26:28 PM
It's a bit long winded but knowing the lad in question I've know doubt it's from the heart.
Whether throwing it out in the open like that will make any difference, I doubt it.
Looks like we are going to have a very truncated club season and for a dual club like Park R, I can only imagine how difficult it will be.
Post by: SCFC on June 04, 2020, 05:33:39 PM
Four weeks training for a knockout club championship?
I know these are exceptional times but that's a fierce slap in the face for club players. I would argue that inter county (2-3% of the players) should start first. I've heard Woolly make the same point on his podcast.
Post by: Keyser Söze on June 07, 2020, 10:45:54 AM
I'm sure John Kelly (and others) are well intentioned. I would however caution people to be careful what they wish for. People tend to bend rules and push things to the breaking point and beyond, it's in our nature.

Officer roles in GAA clubs are tough gigs at the best of times. Some of what I have read over the past few days (temperature checks, keeping detailed records of attendees, sanitising equipment after training etc) puts huge strain on these same people.
I'd question the morality of asking well intentioned volunteers to supervise/control all of this. There are large numbers of players in every club living in the same household as elderly parents/grandparents, people with immunodeficiencies, and vulnerable people in general. With ever widening circles of interaction I would be very fearful of how this could end.
I certainly wouldn't like to be the person manning a gate at the local club if a hub of cases developed in the locality.

Say what you want about the GAA at central level, their blanket ban protected vulnerable people and protected volunteers who would have come under undue pressure to relent and open the gates/turn a blind eye.
Please God there are no unintended consequences out of this, but I'd be genuinely fearful.

It's unlikely that many players will decide its unsafe to return, given how community spirit and local pride rules in the GAA. When you multiply 30 guys x their workplaces x their work colleagues homes & social circles x their work colleagues' families' social circles & recreation places etc etc there is an ever expanding series of circles there, almost like a giant Venn diagram.
It really is something you can't control. Given the absence of alternatives & the likely lack of student employment this summer, GAA pitches could slowly become the central gathering places for young people, especially in rural areas. Even if this is managed/avoided, the same people will simply meet up in a different location (to the same affect).

The best of luck to everyone with the return to action. I believe the GAA were correct, you can't ask volunteers to manage a situation like we had (or have??). The likes of Colm
O' Rourke (who would have been acutely aware of the difficulties schools were/are facing) should have known better and if he was determined to use his public profile to get involved in this debate, he should have used it more responsibly.
I just hope that this decision is not something that we look back on with regret. Even one club having to proceed with the implication that they were responsible for/central to any local outbreak is too heavy a price to pay for a couple of months of games (in my opinion).

Best of luck to everyone. Stay safe & mind each other.
Post by: Zooming around on June 08, 2020, 01:10:02 PM
Former Leinster GAA coach Lester Ryan was tragically killed at the weekend. He served as a selector/administrator with our Senior Hurling team for a year.
Post by: redsetanta on June 19, 2020, 05:28:00 PM
Reading Hungry Hill at the moment. Some great stuff in it. You can hear Pat's regret with regard to the Laois hurlers in that period 80-85. It woudn't have taken much more to have a title winning team.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on June 22, 2020, 10:02:32 PM
There was an item on RTE Six One Sports News this evening on O'Moore Park - the loss of business to locality and Co Board due to the lockdown.

No mention of maintenance work on pitch unlike a similar piece on RTE recently showing groundsmen manicuring Nowlan Park in Kilkenny to the nines.

Just wondering if any remedial work has been done on O'Moore Park pitch which was in a bad state prior to lockdown.
Post by: SCFC on June 24, 2020, 12:31:07 PM
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on June 22, 2020, 10:02:32 PM
There was an item on RTE Six One Sports News this evening on O'Moore Park - the loss of business to locality and Co Board due to the lockdown.

No mention of maintenance work on pitch unlike a similar piece on RTE recently showing groundsmen manicuring Nowlan Park in Kilkenny to the nines.

Just wondering if any remedial work has been done on O'Moore Park pitch which was in a bad state prior to lockdown.
I believe it's in great nick. Or should that be "serious nick"!
Post by: blueandwhite1 on June 25, 2020, 01:43:40 PM
Either Pat Critchley or Steven Poacher for the Carlow job.

Couldn't be two more different individuals.
Post by: Keyser Söze on July 12, 2020, 07:34:49 PM
Couple of clubs in Laois stood down I believe?
Inevitable.
We may not have to worry too much about the limitations placed on number of spectators the way the R number is steadily rebounding. You don't have to be a genius to figure out how it could spread from a single challenge match with an R number of 1.
It's madness really.
The priority needed to be getting to a point where we could safely reopen the economy. We never actually reached that point and a second economic cliff edge is on the horizon.
Post by: clonadmad on July 12, 2020, 07:38:05 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on July 12, 2020, 07:34:49 PM
Couple of clubs in Laois stood down I believe?
Inevitable.
We may not have to worry too much about the limitations placed on number of spectators the way the R number is steadily rebounding. You don't have to be a genius to figure out how it could spread from a single challenge match with an R number of 1.
It's madness really.
The priority needed to be getting to a point where we could safely reopen the economy. We never actually reached that point and a second economic cliff edge is on the horizon.

Which Clubs in Laois?
Post by: The Boy Wonder on July 31, 2020, 06:49:55 PM
I've just enjoyed a Ballykilcavan Bin Bawn Pale Ale from Lidl - going back tomorrow for more !
Great to see such a fine beer being produced in Stradbally, Laois.

Post by: redsetanta on July 31, 2020, 11:00:10 PM
Where is 12 acres brewed in Laois.
Post by: smcder on August 02, 2020, 02:21:51 PM
13 acres is somewhere near crettyyard.

Post by: Keyser Söze on August 03, 2020, 07:18:32 PM
Is that two games wiped next weekend?
Post by: SCFC on August 04, 2020, 11:21:15 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on August 03, 2020, 07:18:32 PM
In all seriousness, you'd really wonder at the wisdom of any games going ahead.
I've heard a chap got tested on Friday for Covid, went on and hurled championship with his club on Sunday and got a positive result yesterday.
Huge contacts and transmission levels out there.
Post by: Keyser Söze on August 04, 2020, 02:09:58 PM
I agree. Said it here few weeks ago when John Kelly (ironically PR club) came out with a statement.
It's a disaster waiting to happen. And it won't be the players that will suffer.
Post by: clonadmad on August 04, 2020, 02:29:30 PM
Quote from: SCFC on August 04, 2020, 11:21:15 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on August 03, 2020, 07:18:32 PM
In all seriousness, you'd really wonder at the wisdom of any games going ahead.
I've heard a chap got tested on Friday for Covid, went on and hurled championship with his club on Sunday and got a positive result yesterday.
Huge contacts and transmission levels out there.

He went and got tested weds because he's working in irish dog foods in naas

Neglected to tell the relevant club officers

Was in the PRT  squad Friday night v Mountmellick and Saturday night v the harps

Post by: oneflewoverthecuckoonest on August 04, 2020, 02:51:39 PM
if that is the truth Clonadmad, and that is what I am also hearing, then this one fellow should have had the cop on to self isolate. If you are in a potentially hazardous environment, be it home or work, then you have no business getting involved in any multi group setting.

for instance if someone from one of the senior club football panels, has just returned from a holiday in Spain/France/Portugal, then he has no business joining his club squad this weekend.
Post by: CluainABU on August 05, 2020, 12:26:37 PM
What's also looming in the background and I've yet to see anyone refer to it, is not just the impact of positive tests now - but there is potential here for clubs to abuse this when it gets to relegation stages. I don't know if anyone would really be prepared to take that step due to the impact on their personal situation (self-isolate), but I hope if a positive test is reported (and please God there's few/none), they need to show absolute proof that there was a positive test result recorded, before 1 or more championships are deemed null and void due to clubs involved having to step down.
Post by: Keyser Söze on August 05, 2020, 12:45:57 PM
I don't think GDPR would allow for that? Personal medical records...
Post by: Keyser Söze on August 06, 2020, 12:36:42 AM
If the reported 2,000 subscribers to Laois TV last weekend translates as roughly €6,500 profit (going on the reported €1,000 fee per game, and allowing for a discount for Saturday's almost double header), how would this compare to a regular weekends profits?

I presume we can also add in another €1000 per game for supporters tickets x at least 12 games- SHC/PIHC/IHC). 

Would take the weekend up to around €20,000 takings when you include a few euro from the various JHC games.
There are approx 11 such weekends between hurling and football on the Laois GAA calendar by my calculations- 5 in hurling & 6 in football.
Football weekends possibly draw bigger crowds & there are more games at senior level. Also the final stages are surely the big purse drawers.
Are they really losing out on gate receipts?

Post by: clonadmad on August 06, 2020, 12:46:55 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on August 06, 2020, 12:36:42 AM
If the reported 2,000 subscribers to Laois TV last weekend translates as roughly €6,500 profit (going on the reported €1,000 fee per game, and allowing for a discount for Saturday's almost double header), how would this compare to a regular weekends profits?

I presume we can also add in another €1000 per game for supporters tickets x at least 12 games- SHC/PIHC/IHC). 

Would take the weekend up to around €20,000 takings when you include a few euro from the various JHC games.
There are approx 11 such weekends between hurling and football on the Laois GAA calendar by my calculations- 5 in hurling & 6 in football.
Football weekends possibly draw bigger crowds & there are more games at senior level. Also the final stages are surely the big purse drawers.
Are they really losing out on gate receipts?

I must dig out the County Board annual reports but in 2018 the hurling receipts were definitely greater than those of the footbal,2019 I cant remember which was greater
Post by: SCFC on August 07, 2020, 12:25:37 PM
You'd have to wonder at the wisdom of going ahead with GAA for the next fortnight. It's really very worrying.

https://www.midlands103.com/news/midlands-news/laois-td-calling-on-gaa-to-cancel-fixtures-this-weekend/
Post by: Heshs Umpire on August 07, 2020, 07:32:46 PM
Quote from: SCFC on August 07, 2020, 12:25:37 PM
You'd have to wonder at the wisdom of going ahead with GAA for the next fortnight. It's really very worrying.

https://www.midlands103.com/news/midlands-news/laois-td-calling-on-gaa-to-cancel-fixtures-this-weekend/
All games off now. I wonder will that game that Timahoe were reported to have forfeited be now rescheduled?
Post by: Heshs Umpire on August 07, 2020, 11:54:59 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on August 07, 2020, 08:38:31 PM
They will surely have to be afforded the opportunity HU?
Agreed. Surely. Strangest of times. Our own lads were supposed to train tonight ahead of a local derby but instead were told to stay at home and await the next steps.
Post by: Spiritof1915 on August 08, 2020, 11:33:14 AM
An absolute disgraceful decision by the government to cancel gaa. They have done everything right and more since games have resumed. Mental health will be severely affected. A lot of people don't know that suicide has claimed more lives in laois that covid since March. Sean Fleming should be ashamed of himself also
Post by: Blow-in on August 08, 2020, 12:29:08 PM
So we blame Sean Fleming? Blame the ones who have followed the guidelines. We can blame all the factories, all the foreign people all want, but us Irish have been as bad!
Also stop with the Mental Health stuff. Every year be begging lads to go to the field, they wouldn't go if it's opened. Mental health bull as usual. Poor me card in relation to the GAA. Stay at home. Don't go on your holidays for one summer.
Post by: Spiritof1915 on August 08, 2020, 01:07:52 PM
Quote from: Batman!!! on August 08, 2020, 12:29:08 PM
So we blame Sean Fleming? Blame the ones who have followed the guidelines. We can blame all the factories, all the foreign people all want, but us Irish have been as bad!
Also stop with the Mental Health stuff. Every year be begging lads to go to the field, they wouldn't go if it's opened. Mental health bull as usual. Poor me card in relation to the GAA. Stay at home. Don't go on your holidays for one summer.
an absolutely deluded comment. So you saying mental health/suicide isn't relevant in all this. Practically everyone I know has followed the lock down rules impeccably and now laois in particular has been made a scapegoat because of failings in other sectors. I could start with the severe impact this 2 week lock down will have on businesses in laois but its a gaa forum. So while the rest of the country get to go and enjoy championship games in the bright summer evenings laois, offaly and kildare have to suffer. What are you even doing on a gaa forum.
Post by: SCFC on August 08, 2020, 03:04:39 PM
Quote from: Spiritof1915 on August 08, 2020, 01:07:52 PM
Practically everyone I know has followed the lock down rules impeccably.
You must live a very sheltered life. Jesus, the amount of house parties, BBQ's, drinking in huge groups I've heard of is unreal.

It's not just GAA either. It's all sports are suffering.

Personally, I think it is no harm to pause things locally for a fortnight until we have a better picture.
Post by: The PRO on October 24, 2020, 01:41:11 PM
No luck for Zack down under this morning. Was a very poor game to watch I thought.
Post by: Keyser Söze on October 24, 2020, 02:49:20 PM
Not sure if this will post here. But a great image of 4 very committed Laois men here about 3 seconds in. Blink or you'll miss it stuff unfortunately. Presume it was after the NHL Quarter Final in 1996?

https://twitter.com/cianlynch1996/status/1319628617605877760?s=21

Tried to post a screenshot, but it's beyond me!
Post by: SCFC on October 25, 2020, 08:31:01 PM
Quote from: The PRO on October 24, 2020, 01:41:11 PM
No luck for Zack down under this morning. Was a very poor game to watch I thought.

I saw a lad from Emo saying "Great result" on social media after the game! Still sick about 2015 I suppose😂
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 26, 2020, 01:05:30 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on October 24, 2020, 02:49:20 PM
Not sure if this will post here. But a great image of 4 very committed Laois men here about 3 seconds in. Blink or you'll miss it stuff unfortunately. Presume it was after the NHL Quarter Final in 1996?

https://twitter.com/cianlynch1996/status/1319628617605877760?s=21

Tried to post a screenshot, but it's beyond me!

Here ya go Keyser Soze

(https://i.postimg.cc/C1KRh5Gb/Hurlers.jpg) (https://postimages.org/)
Post by: Keyser Söze on October 28, 2020, 02:08:05 PM
Cheers, God bless your tech ability!!
That was a great day!
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 29, 2020, 01:09:31 AM
No problem...
Post by: Blow-in on November 03, 2020, 01:50:40 PM
Dosent look like Chris Conway will manage a Laois inter county anytime soon from his latest interview. Also maybe a harsh dig at Portlaoise CBS not in the A grades?
Post by: Helix. on November 03, 2020, 05:38:51 PM
Quote from: Batman!!! on November 03, 2020, 01:50:40 PM
Dosent look like Chris Conway will manage a Laois inter county anytime soon from his latest interview. Also maybe a harsh dig at Portlaoise CBS not in the A grades?
Didn't think he was too harsh with CBS Portlaoise. Definitely should be pushing more towards the A long term if it meant bringing up the standards of football across the board. Even winning in the B would be a start.
Post by: on the hop on December 08, 2020, 05:32:21 PM
Sean Dempsey to Ballinteer St. John's. I think one of the Brennan's is there. Good to see him answering pat gilroy's call for more volunteers in Dublin 😀
Post by: clonadmad on December 08, 2020, 10:03:04 PM
Quote from: Helix. on November 03, 2020, 05:38:51 PM
Didn't think he was too harsh with CBS Portlaoise. Definitely should be pushing more towards the A long term if it meant bringing up the standards of football across the board. Even winning in the B would be a start.

900 odd boys in the CBS

A school that's completely underperforming in both codes

A microcosm of where juvenile gaa stands in the county
Post by: on the hop on December 09, 2020, 10:06:39 AM
Quote from: clonadmad on December 08, 2020, 10:03:04 PM
Quote from: Helix. on November 03, 2020, 05:38:51 PM
In the school in the 80's-90's, always B grade in both codes. I don't know where they are now. Main rivals were ballyfin who I think reached the B hurling final in 92 and won in 1993 in Leinster. They had both john Lyons and the cuddy twins plus boarders David bourke who hurled league with tipp and Ronan Mooney who played Offaly in football for years but was a good hurler. I don't think ballyfin even won the B football at that time and they would have had a massive pick including Willie Kirby who won a senior with Kerry at midfield.

Ok I am starting to ramble......
900 odd boys in the CBS

Post by: Keyser Söze on December 09, 2020, 10:30:10 AM
900 odd boys in the CBS

Completely agree with that part.
Jesus there is some potential there. You'd imagine it would be a football powerhouse almost despite itself.
Post by: clonadmad on December 09, 2020, 11:30:32 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on December 09, 2020, 10:30:10 AM
900 odd boys in the CBS

Jesus there is some potential there. You'd imagine it would be a football powerhouse almost despite itself.

It could and should be a Dual powerhouse

You have low numbers in each year that play sport,lower numbers again playing Gaa and the same cohort are playing nearly all sports.

I saw numbers a while back and participation numbers were shocking,that coupled with indiference/lack of leadership/lack of emphasis on playing sport and you have a perfect storm of underachievement

compare and contrast with the ladies that share the same campus

And that's before you start talking about Dunamaise and Portlaoise College
Post by: merman on December 09, 2020, 12:53:42 PM
The difference between the two schools mentioned is alarming.
One treasures and celebrates sport; the other seems to see it as an inconvenience.

I note one of the Vice-Chairperson candidates encouraging the idea of a combined 'Laois Schools' side.
I understand the appeal and I'm not necessarily opposed to it but I do worry that it further absolves the schools of any 'responsibility' in developing a stronger emphasis on GAA. Perhaps I'm over-thinking it.

Knockbeg College continue to be competitive and to their credit, seem intent on enhancing their reputation as a 'Football School'. I saw some mention of a 'Knockbeg Army' who go to support the teams. Only a small thing; but it helps champion excellence and promote high standards.
Mountrath CS seem to be holding their own as say a Tier 2/3 hurling school within Leinster.
They should have a decent Senior team in a couple of years when the current Camross U15s come through.
St Fergals, despite reduced numbers in recent years, seem to maintain good standards and have that strong tradition.

Heywood, Mountmellick, Coláiste Iosagáin, Clonaslee and the Portlaoise schools don't seem to be making the same impact despite some having very strong feeder clubs.

Like with clubs, I suppose, it comes down to volunteerism. Teachers/Parents willing to commit the time year in year out.

Post by: Laois Rising on December 09, 2020, 12:55:06 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on December 09, 2020, 10:30:10 AM
900 odd boys in the CBS

How are you surprised- lads are not going to start playing GAA going into secondary school. Need to rejuvenate juvenile football in the town and get lads involved playing from 5, 6, and 7 years of age. Need a healthy club scene for that in the town.
Post by: clonadmad on December 09, 2020, 01:14:46 PM
Quote from: merman on December 09, 2020, 12:53:42 PM
The difference between the two schools mentioned is alarming.
One treasures and celebrates sport; the other seems to see it as an inconvenience.

I note one of the Vice-Chairperson candidates encouraging the idea of a combined 'Laois Schools' side.
I understand the appeal and I'm not necessarily opposed to it but I do worry that it further absolves the schools of any 'responsibility' in developing a stronger emphasis on GAA. Perhaps I'm over-thinking it.

Knockbeg College continue to be competitive and to their credit, seem intent on enhancing their reputation as a 'Football School'. I saw some mention of a 'Knockbeg Army' who go to support the teams. Only a small thing; but it helps champion excellence and promote high standards.
Mountrath CS seem to be holding their own as say a Tier 2/3 hurling school within Leinster.
They should have a decent Senior team in a couple of years when the current Camross U15s come through.
St Fergals, despite reduced numbers in recent years, seem to maintain good standards and have that strong tradition.

Heywood, Mountmellick, Coláiste Iosagáin, Clonaslee and the Portlaoise schools don't seem to be making the same impact despite some having very strong feeder clubs.

Like with clubs, I suppose, it comes down to volunteerism. Teachers/Parents willing to commit the time year in year out.

There was a Laois Schools football side to go into the Senior Schools A Football last year and it never happened.

There's 19 Senior A Football schools in Leinster and just the one from Laois.

At the next census there's 26k expected to living in Portlaoise Parish

A 5th GDA needs to be put into Portlaoise Parish as per the strategic Plan,

he would be flat out dealing with just the schools in the Parish alone at first and second level.

The sucess of the Colaiste has a lot to do with one man,if he wasnt there they would probably be in rag order too

Post by: High Fielder on December 09, 2020, 05:12:54 PM
When you think of the ways we divide and subtract from our potential player pool, it's amazing that we are competitive at all. We have hurling and football a lot more evenly split than most counties. And then in the middle we have Portlaoise, which is only supplying one club.

There isn't that much juice left to squeeze, but what's going on in Portlaoise should be of real concern to the CB. I don't think it even dawns on them. If anything, I think there are a lot of people who are happy enough to see Portlaoise slip back into the shadows. I see no future for us at any level unless Portlaoise is providing us with the strongest of backbones.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on December 09, 2020, 05:17:13 PM
Have the numbers playing GAA in Portlaoise reduced since they moved grounds? Their underage record has been poor in recent years, they should have 2-3 teams competing. I think Kilmacud have 4 minor teams.
Post by: Keyser Söze on December 09, 2020, 05:22:59 PM
There are a number of ex InterCounty hurlers & footballers teaching in the CBS. Would that be correct?
Post by: Mossy Bruce on January 01, 2021, 01:00:28 AM
I just want to drop in to say Happy New Year to everyone! It's been one frikkin' insane year :o, here, as I am sure it has been back there. I've only been able to check the forum, here, a few times this last year. I hope all of you and your families are healthy and happy.

Here's to something resembling normalcy in 2021!
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 02, 2021, 11:28:08 AM
Happy New Year Bruce, sounds like it was a tough year. Stay strong.
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 03, 2021, 10:54:33 PM
RIP Johnny Dalton. Filled many of the less glamorous roles on LCB over many years. Put a lot of time into juveniles and raising money for charity. A well respected man who encountered some unfortunate personal tragedy.
Another Laois Gael departed.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on January 03, 2021, 11:30:21 PM
RIP Johnny a good guy
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 04, 2021, 12:58:41 AM
RIP Johnny, another true Laois Gael who never sampled the joys of success other than one Leinster title after all his hard work..
Post by: The PRO on January 04, 2021, 08:41:52 AM
I was very sorry to hear about Johnny's passing. He was a gentleman and always had a smile on his face. Losing two children was an awful cross to bear.
Post by: Zooming around on January 05, 2021, 10:44:14 AM
RIP Johnny. A very nice man with a bit of a divil in him. A very likeable character and he will be missed. May he rest in peace. 
Post by: steven seagal on January 05, 2021, 04:45:32 PM
RIP Johnny, would meet him regularly, he'd talk GAA or politics til the cows came home. He didn't have it easy, but always seemed to be in good spirits, condolences to his family.
Post by: Gmac on January 05, 2021, 05:43:58 PM
Was he a Laois minor selector in the early 90s ?
Post by: Hospital Pass on January 12, 2021, 10:14:10 AM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/hurling/2021/0111/1189062-long-term-cahir-healy-bows-out-of-laois-gaa/

Congrats and Thanks To Cahir on what was a great career, effectively retiring.
Probably the most dedicated Footballer/Hurler of his generation in my opinion.
All players make a personal sacrifice to play county/club nowadays but he went above and beyond. 

Post by: The Boy Wonder on January 12, 2021, 08:19:40 PM
Very good interview with Cahir in today's Irish Independent (you won't see it all online without a subscription)
https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/people-were-asking-why-do-you-go-back-and-forth-sure-i-was-living-my-dream-cahir-healys-laois-obsession-39958624.html (https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/people-were-asking-why-do-you-go-back-and-forth-sure-i-was-living-my-dream-cahir-healys-laois-obsession-39958624.html)

If ever a player belonged to the ranks of genuine Laochra Gael it is surely Cahir Healy.
What a contribution he has made to his club and county.

Hopefully he will enjoy some more years with St. Brendan's and London.
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 15, 2021, 03:10:44 PM
I see LT have a podcast on the go with Liam O' Neill. I haven't listened yet, but look forward to doing so. I wonder is there any chance he could be persuaded to stand for the Chair in the next year or two?
He's done everything else, and it would probably benefit any future runs for Laois County Council also. Things are certainly less challenging than the last time he held office in Laois.

I would love to see it. A traditionalist in ways, he also has taken some very progressive stances over the years. I'd imagine Laois Camogie & LGFA would be delighted to see him get there, or at least they should be.

It's probably unlikely, and I'd imagine unprecedented for an ex president to return to county officership,  but it would be great.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on January 16, 2021, 02:51:52 PM
Thanks for that Liam 👍😉
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 16, 2021, 04:02:58 PM
Post by: on the hop on January 23, 2021, 11:26:46 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on January 15, 2021, 03:10:44 PM
I see LT have a podcast on the go with Liam O' Neill. I haven't listened yet, but look forward to doing so. I wonder is there any chance he could be persuaded to stand for the Chair in the next year or two?
He's done everything else, and it would probably benefit any future runs for Laois County Council also. Things are certainly less challenging than the last time he held office in Laois.

I would love to see it. A traditionalist in ways, he also has taken some very progressive stances over the years. I'd imagine Laois Camogie & LGFA would be delighted to see him get there, or at least they should be.

It's probably unlikely, and I'd imagine unprecedented for an ex president to return to county officership,  but it would be great.

interesting interview, very traditionalist in his view on some things especially I thought in relation to the amalgamation of teams. they are his views and he is entitled to them. not surprising that he wouldn't accept his part in the current Dublin destruction of leinster football, in fairness Stephen pushed him a bit on it and he really didn't cover himself in some of his answers, a bit flippant I thought. A more aggressive interview would have exposed him but this was more a wide ranging interview and this was only a part of it.
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 24, 2021, 11:16:03 AM
I listened to the 2nd part this morning, not impressed unfortunately and I'd have to agree with you OTH.

Should have been challenged a lot more on Dublin funding, Sky & amalgamations.
Possibly wasn't the platform, so wouldn't have expected SM to go too hard on him, but he'd have been torn to shreds on another platform.

Everyone's entitled to their views and opinions, but you can't square some of his stances (protect the small man/club at all cost) with others (everyone has Sky TV anyways), and I'd prefer to go to games than watch on TV (his access to tickets might be slightly better than most people's).
Very simplistic view on Mayo's failings v Dublin. Don't think this is far off a direct quote; "They need to get someone in to work on their mindset because they simply give up with 10 minutes to go".

For a man who claims he was never afraid to try & fail and he spent serious energy on proving how correct he was in many instances! I suppose that's human nature.

Not trying to character assassinate the man either, he has some remarkable achievements to his name, and Laois GAA have benefited greatly from some of these.
Post by: clonadmad on January 24, 2021, 02:54:12 PM
if Liam is so opposed to amalgamations and so pro the smal club

Maybe he could start at home and not have Trumera's juveniles being coached everywhere bar Trumera
Post by: on the hop on January 25, 2021, 10:50:17 PM
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-40214039.html?type=amp

Looks like things won't be changing
Post by: Keyser Söze on February 15, 2021, 10:28:14 PM
Bit bizarre.
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2021/02/15/laois-gaa-end-tradition-of-media-attending-county-board-meetings-as-decision-taken-to-go-in-camera/

What are they thinking. It's surely better that Laois Today report on these than 50 different versions of a story being spread around the county by the various delegates. Baffling.

Also, for them to think they have any right to control the media engagements of an amateur player during the offseason?
A manager is effectively an employee of Laois GAA. That bit makes sense.
Post by: High Fielder on February 16, 2021, 10:09:05 AM
A natural progression for them imo. The only surprising bit is that Laois Today got the bullet. They were hardly critics of the CB. I guess they couldn't be seen to be allowing some in and not others. I think this is another own goal. We all know that most decisions were made long before the Convention and CB meetings took place. Now even the rubber stamp and transparency is out of view. Embarrassing
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on February 18, 2021, 12:46:36 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2021/02/18/13-transfers-granted-by-laois-gaa-ahead-of-2021-season/

Few interesting bits in this.
Post by: redsetanta on March 01, 2021, 11:19:36 AM
The new supporters club seems to be getting approval. Any county with aspirations needs a functioning supporters club so best of luck to Bryan Breen and co.
Post by: Chrimtain on March 01, 2021, 05:09:50 PM
I think we should all get behind this new supporters club.
Post by: South Laois man on March 04, 2021, 09:58:20 AM
Quote from: redsetanta on March 01, 2021, 11:19:36 AM
The new supporters club seems to be getting approval. Any county with aspirations needs a functioning supporters club so best of luck to Bryan Breen and co.
one of the best parts of the supporter's club could be buses to the away games. I remember a few years back we played Roscommon in a league game in Portlaoise and they had huge numbers. A Roscommon fella beside me explained the supporter's club put on the buses at a tenner a head return. If the supporter's club only achieved that it would be a huge positive.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on March 05, 2021, 09:43:33 AM
Great point South Laois. The social aspect must be nurtured. The days of people driving and having a few pints are well gone but a supporters bus could generate comraderie and fill this void. People would have to consistently avail of it though to make it work. Maybe a football, hurling and dual away game season bus ticket could be bought upfront to ensure it was well supported?
Post by: Keyser Söze on March 06, 2021, 09:53:04 AM
Supporters Club seems like a well organised venture. Fair play to the 3 or 4 driving it!

On another story, I see the greasy pole is still very climbable!
Post by: redsetanta on March 22, 2021, 11:30:18 AM
Good piece in the Sindo yesterday on the late Colm Maher. Very sad story and truly shocking for the family and Port community. Only met Colm once at a Laois Asscoiation event in London when the Laois footballers visited in the early nineties. He was a funny man and some character.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on April 15, 2021, 12:45:25 AM
If there's anyone here from the Heath football club go here and claim €300 before Saturday or its gone...

https://www.freegaalotto.com/club_draw
Post by: SCFC on May 16, 2021, 01:22:52 PM
I see there's club games in Laois on 12 or 13 June. Semi finals of last year's junior football and hurling championships.
Very unfair on the clubs who are only allowed play challenge games from 7 June which means they will have to play the semi finals without even a challenge game!