Super 8s

Started by theticklemister, February 19, 2017, 10:55:16 PM

Quote from: Syferus on August 06, 2017, 01:16:44 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on August 06, 2017, 01:11:20 PM
QuoteChange it to the "Big 5"

There is no Big 5, just a Big 3 .... Dublin, Tyrone and Kerry in that order as I see it presently.

Tyrone have no right to be in that group before Mayo. There's Dublin and then there's three teams a good step after them, nearer the rest than Dublin.

Tyrone have to be there. They nearly beat Dublin in the League in March and they beat Derry, Donegal, Down and Armagh this year - all Hammerings.

Quote from: From the Bunker on August 06, 2017, 01:22:21 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 06, 2017, 01:16:44 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on August 06, 2017, 01:11:20 PM
QuoteChange it to the "Big 5"

There is no Big 5, just a Big 3 .... Dublin, Tyrone and Kerry in that order as I see it presently.

Tyrone have no right to be in that group before Mayo. There's Dublin and then there's three teams a good step after them, nearer the rest than Dublin.

Tyrone have to be there. They nearly beat Dublin in the League in March and they beat Derry, Donegal, Down and Armagh this year - all Hammerings.

Monaghan gave Dublin a proper game in the league too - so what?

If we used league pairings as any guide for championship the Roscommon Mayo match would have both had Mayo as the Connacht champions and the end result a whitewash for Mayo. Teams peak at different times.

Tyrone have, as always, just played at one level all year. Dublin will have their best 15 playing in the semi, in the first match all year that there's the remotest chance the opposition will be competitive. If you think their league match with Dublin will be any indication of the gap between the two sides you're in for a surprise.

There are 5 teams still standing in the AI race.
We'll know the 1 to 5 order on 18th September (barring a draw).

Syph, you can park your depressive obsession with Tír Eoghain, and focus on your own fecking game at hand, muppet.

Quote from: Rossfan on August 06, 2017, 01:39:27 PM

The 5 left are not the top 5 though. They are the top 4 plus one other who is in the top 8. Whoever loses mayo roscommon has proved nothing more than being equal with the other 3 already knocked out quarter finalists...

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 06, 2017, 01:48:25 PM
Syph, you can park your depressive obsession with Tír Eoghain, and focus on your own fecking game at hand, muppet.

I talk about Tyrone so little comparative to most of the other counties remaining in the championship it's very illustrative as to where your mind is that you'd think I care enough about Tyrone to be obsessed.

I suppose the usual attitude for you is anything barring fawning poor mouthing is obsession.

If you had anything rational or objective to say it might be worth the hearing, but it's just noise, thoroughly uninformed noise.

Esmarelda

Can anyone help me with the help function to find Syferus's proposal?

From The Bunker, do you have by the way? I'm genuinely interested.

Quote from: imtommygunn on August 06, 2017, 01:53:04 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 06, 2017, 01:39:27 PM

The 5 left are not the top 5 though. They are the top 4 plus one other who is in the top 8. Whoever loses mayo roscommon has proved nothing more than being equal with the other 3 already knocked out quarter finalists...

Last week the  Ulster items told us we were the weakest of the 8 left.
Think it's fair to say ye got that very wrong.
Now ye're spluttering rubbish again.

Ok so when someone gets knocked out in the last 8 you are better than the other 3? Grand so.

Spluttering rubbish. Love the irony of that comment ;D

Also is it not the ulster people with the chip on their shoulder? Who said mayo would beat roscommon? You drew that conclusion yourself.

Quote from: imtommygunn on August 06, 2017, 02:50:02 PM
Ok so when someone gets knocked out in the last 8 you are better than the other 3? Grand so.

Spluttering rubbish. Love the irony of that comment ;D

Also is it not the ulster people with the chip on their shoulder? Who said mayo would beat roscommon? You drew that conclusion yourself.

There's a difference between drawing and being absolutely hammered. It's incredibly sad that it even needs to be said. Please stop digging a hole for yourself.

More irony ;D

Monaghan, galway, armagh and roscommon/ mayo are 5-8. Mayo and roscommon are PROBABLY better than galway and armagh. Not convinced that either are better than monaghan though.

There is a difference in each quarter finalists opposition too so whether they draw and then get beat or just get hammered isn't really that relevant. You got hammered by a team that we didn't play and we played someone worse but drew so must be better. Hardly comparable.

More chips on the shoulder. You might beat mayo you know.

Quote from: imtommygunn on August 06, 2017, 03:00:48 PM
More irony ;D

Monaghan, galway, armagh and roscommon/ mayo are 5-8. Mayo and roscommon are PROBABLY better than galway and armagh. Not convinced that either are better than monaghan though.

There is a difference in each quarter finalists opposition too so whether they draw and then get beat or just get hammered isn't really that relevant. You got hammered by a team that we didn't play and we played someone worse but drew so must be better. Hardly comparable.

More chips on the shoulder. You might beat mayo you know.

If you actually think Monaghan are better than Mayo this conversation is over.

They might be better than their opposition though ;D

Mayo aren't great this year at all. Really far off where they were unless they really waken up - whether it is still there or not still remains to be seen If roscommon can challenge them then so could monaghan unless roscommon got them on the hop. Don't forget a very average side in derry were very close to putting mayo out and clare rattled them.

Quote from: imtommygunn on August 06, 2017, 03:10:41 PM
They might be better than their opposition though ;D

Mayo aren't great this year at all. Really far off where they were unless they really waken up - whether it is still there or not still remains to be seen If roscommon can challenge them then so could monaghan unless roscommon got them on the hop. Don't forget a very average side in derry were very close to putting mayo out and clare rattled them.

But they didn't! Just like teams like westmeath, Sligo and Antrim came close to beating Kerry when they were a top team using the back door, but Didn't!