Recent posts

GAA Discussion / Re: GAA moneybags and Sean Cav...
Last post by Milltown Row2 - Today at 12:55:07 PM
No need to be tarnishing a mans business ffs!

If he's not great at being a pundit, that's grand, but lots of lads behind the computer putting a mans and his families business down is out of order
Antrim / Re: Antrim Football Thread
Last post by imtommygunn - Today at 12:55:02 PM
Ai but the playoff stuff should change a lot of that.
Last post by tbrick18 - Today at 12:52:24 PM
Quote from: lfdown2 on Today at 09:48:45 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on Today at 09:36:35 AMA point I've made about GAAGO a few times is that, to me, it 100% seems like a staging post on the route to semi-pro GAA. Once it gets really established costs will further recede and profits increase. I've no doubt Sean K looks at GAA financial figures throough his previous GPA head - how long before we hear 'GAAGO made €Xm this year and the players who are the product get nothing'  only a matter of time imo.

How is that different than 'the GAA got €Xm from Sky/RTE/TG4 this year...'

I don't necessarily understand the point here (not specifically yours Benny), is it that all games should be available free to air all the time? Or just all the good games? Who should pay for this? Should funds be diverted from capital projects so that people can sit at home with a bowl of crisp and crack open a beer to watch the games?

And Sean Cavanagh has just been completely embarrassed with his hyperbolic statement being called out, I teel you what, based on his handle on numbers I wouldn't be wanting to drop a set of company accounts in to him.

100%.
He's trying to be controversial and failing miserably.
Not a good pundit, doesn't offer any insight and does regularly have digs at people. A poor man's Joe Brolly.
General discussion / Re: The far right
Last post by Milltown Row2 - Today at 12:51:33 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on Today at 12:14:15 PMYeah, exactly. When are the Guards and politicians going to stop harassing local populations by forcibly planting hundreds of unvetted men from completely different cultures into peaceful communities?

Under the current laws (cause whether you like that or not, that's the way its meant to be, until its changed)

Unvetted person comes to Ireland and seeks asylum, under the current system how should that be done?

If they are vetted and approved, are you ok with that?  even though they are from different cultures? Or is it just different cultures that have you up in arms (literally) ?
Down / Re: Down Club Hurling & Footba...
Last post by Godsown - Today at 12:51:10 PM
Quote from: Targetman on May 13, 2024, 08:35:46 PMBosco vDrumgath tonight, the referee forgot to turn up, and he's from Newry, like WTF!!
Better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt
GAA Discussion / Re: Sam Maguire 2024 Group 1 ...
Last post by p3427977 - Today at 12:50:48 PM
When will the fixtures be confirmed?
General discussion / Re: Time Travel
Last post by Orior - Today at 12:49:00 PM
1. Go back and have a word with yourself- What would you say?
- believe in yourself

2. To witness a great/infamous event, be it your own or other event (give reasons)
- when Charles Poyntz defended Poyntzpass from the last strands of Earl of Tyrone's army. I would love to see the lay of the land of my homestead.

3. To change something, but beyond your DOB and reasons
- Battle of Kinsale, and tell the Earl of Tyrone that he had the English bate, or
- Wake up Brian Boru and get him out of that tent before the Dane arrived.

Last post by seafoid - Today at 12:45:28 PM
The condensed season with all the extra matches in a shorter period of time is the real problem. It's hard to keep up with what is happening and not everything can be televised. GAA people have developed expectations about what will be available. And the football product isn't what it used to be either.
Last post by gallsman - Today at 12:42:11 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on Today at 12:34:15 PMI think the issue was that the subject matter has the potential to be quite emotive - the conflict between needing to raise revenue and at the same time trying to ensure that the product is available to as large an audience as possible.

I thought Cavanagh's approach played on that emotion - the inference of the cold, cash hungry GAA denying many the right to see our games, in their pursuit of money.

It could not go unchallenged and the response was an extremely powerful put down.

This is absolutely the crux of it and what he was implying.
Quote from: clarshack on Today at 11:33:43 AMWhat is the big deal about what Cavanagh has said anyway?. The GAA has cash in the bank and is asset rich therefore some people might think it is a wealthy organisation. Bit of an over reaction from Burns IMO.

I think the issue was that the subject matter has the potential to be quite emotive - the conflict between needing to raise revenue and at the same time trying to ensure that the product is available to as large an audience as possible.

I thought Cavanagh's approach played on that emotion - the inference of the cold, cash hungry GAA denying many the right to see our games, in their pursuit of money.

It could not go unchallenged and the response was an extremely powerful put down.