The Official Roscommon Thread

Started by Shrewdness, November 30, 2015, 01:56:10 PM

Beffs

Ah, the bould Cyril. To be fair to him, he goes to away league games too.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/can-you-fill-sombrero-of-super-fan-cyril-198435.html

Quote from: Beffs on February 20, 2016, 09:59:01 PM
Ah, the bould Cyril. To be fair to him, he goes to away league games too.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/can-you-fill-sombrero-of-super-fan-cyril-198435.html

Fair enough. Austin 3:16 with the sign might be more of a glory hunter. Mayo had St. Patrick but he retired from that after a few turns of Horan fecking things up.

"GAA Supporter of the Year". Did he award it to himself by any chance?

Sombrero man was in PĂ irc Ui Rinn tonight for the foulfest ( but few frees of course) with th'oul shticks.
Hope they left a few blades of grass for next week.

Beffs

Do ye not play them at home? Ye were away last time to Kerry?

Quote from: Beffs on February 20, 2016, 09:30:14 PM
I think Roscommon could very well bate Cork. The langers are all over the shop, especially upstairs. Once the heads start to drop, that's usually it. It must be hugely frustrating for their supporters, as they have some very talented players, especially in the forward line. Put it up to them early on and the jury is very much out on what kind of a reaction you will get. That doesn't seem to be the case with the Rossies. McStay seems to have their noggins in a good place.
Cork haven't lost many home games in the league over the last 3 or 4 years, It would be a surprise to see a newly promoted side like Roscommon beat them in Cork.

Quote from: Beffs on February 20, 2016, 11:51:02 PM

Cork and Donegal away. Down, Mayo and Dublin at home.

2 away in a row but finish with 2 in a row at home v Mayowestros and franchise Teamdublin.

Quote from: Rossfan on February 21, 2016, 12:05:03 AM
2 away in a row but finish with 2 in a row at home v Mayowestros and franchise Teamdublin.

2 slow.

Beffs

Right you are. Thought ye had them at home. Still don't think you haven't anything to get overly intimidated by. If Roscommon weren't cowed by facing Kerry at home, Cork should be more of same.

They have a better home league record than most, but that was when games were at Pairc Ui Chaoimh. Pairc Ui Rinn is a different story. It's a very small, tight pitch. Very hard and sandy too. One bad bounce & you have half the Kalahari Desert blowing up in your face.

There'll probably be just as many Rossies as locals at the game, so the home town crowd factor won't be at play, the way it is at most games.

We'd expect to outnumber them 3 to 1 at least.
Seems to be a great spot for sand alright.

Quote from: Beffs on February 21, 2016, 12:12:03 AM
They have a better home league record than most, but that was when games were at Pairc Ui Chaoimh. Pairc Ui Rinn is a different story. It's a very small, tight pitch. Very hard and sandy too. One bad bounce & you have half the Kalahari Desert blowing up in your face.
Mayo well beaten in Pairc Ui Rinn a few weeks ago. Last year in the league they beat Dublin and hammered Kerry in Pairc Ui Rinn.

Quote from: Rossfan on February 21, 2016, 12:05:03 AM
I Heard That Vulture Capital LLC were thinking of moving the TeamDublin franchise to Murmansk where more locale would support it.  A shady outfit known as Dhera LLC Is believed to Be acting in The background.

giveballaghback

Senan and Cathal Shine set to return for Sunday, Cathal Compton fit but wont be played this weekend,
D. Murtagh and Harney definately out and wont even make the bench, its a big ask and a hard place to get a result.
Our game against the all-Ireland whinging champions on Easter Sunday could be a winner stays in div 1 clash yet.
Travelling down to Cork on Saturday and really looking forward to it.

Beffs

Quote from: Cunny Funt on February 21, 2016, 12:52:37 AM
Mayo well beaten in Pairc Ui Rinn a few weeks ago. Last year in the league they beat Dublin and hammered Kerry in Pairc Ui Rinn.

The Mayo and Dublin games were first round games. You can't really set much store by them imo. Kerry are always shite in the early rounds. I've been banging that drum for a while now too. A fired up team, who really put it up to Cork, can get results. Get an early lead and their heads begin to drop.

Quote from: Beffs on February 23, 2016, 08:19:36 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on February 21, 2016, 12:52:37 AM

The Mayo and Dublin games were first round games. You can't really set much store by them imo. Kerry are always shite in the early rounds. I've been banging that drum for a while now too. A fired up team, who really put it up to Cork, can get results. Get an early lead and their heads begin to drop.

Cork v Kerry was a round 4 game in last years league.

If Roscommon are you pull off another result against the odds down south this weekend I think they will deserve a bit more credit than just saying Kerry are shite in the early rounds or Cork not much better if you put it up to them. Only five years ago Roscommon were playing their league football in div 4 a million miles from faring off against Kerry and Cork.