The DUP thread

Started by armaghniac, December 31, 2022, 05:22:31 PM

Quote from: GJL on March 03, 2023, 09:22:49 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 03, 2023, 08:18:08 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on March 02, 2023, 10:02:09 PM
Apologies if this has been   brought up previously......

If a deal is  agreed that leaves the north  in an unique situation, with access to UK/EU markets, then big companies might  be drawn to that unique trading position.

Let's say big tech companies,  manufacturing,  medical companies set up home in the north.  And the north becomes an economic boomtown,  and things are good economy-wise. Plenty of jobs, better wages, people have  more expendable income etc etc..... then a United ireland would  sail off down the river. I mean , even  if you were a hardened republican,  you'd be  mad to  look for a United ireland when you're living in an  economic  utopia, and never had it so good.

Unionists  just have to tuck that penalty kick  in the net , and that would become a reality. Bye bye United ireland. The union would be more  secure than it ever has been .   If only they  would have the foresight to see  that far

Some businessman on with Mark Carruthers made this point last night, common sense to most but not the DUP who are being led by the nose by a taxi caller from Donaghadee who's making the most of his 15 minutes of fame.

Problem moving forward is 25% corporation tax in the north with 12.5% in the 26 counties. Would this not be a big problem to large companies setting up?
Does the new agreement not have some allowance for setting Corp tax?

Quote from: Sportacus on March 03, 2023, 09:39:48 AM
Nolan cutting the line off on Matthew O'Toole this morning, and loyalist paramilitary representatives on tv last night for as long as they like.  BBC need to catch a grip.

Ridiculous. A lot of complaints headed into the BBC off the back of it. Nolan should be hauled in front of the Editorial bosses to explain himself.

Quote from: trailer on March 03, 2023, 02:27:42 PM
Nolan cutting the line off on Matthew O'Toole this morning, and loyalist paramilitary representatives on tv last night for as long as they like.  BBC need to catch a grip.

Ridiculous. A lot of complaints headed into the BBC off the back of it. Nolan should be hauled in front of the Editorial bosses to explain himself.

What happened??

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/dup-s-brexit-ads-who-bankrolled-the-secretive-435-000-campaign-1.4320055

Longford-born journalist Peter Geoghegan was sitting in a train carriage in Newcastle just before the Brexit referendum in 2016 when a quest began to unravel a mystery about the Democratic Unionist Party's role in winning it.
Flicking through a "well-thumbed copy" of the Metro newspaper, Geoghegan, who works now in Glasgow and London, saw the free newspaper's front page "wraparound" advertisement.
In it, British voters were urged to "Take back control", the slogan of the official Vote Leave campaign," Geoghegan recalls in his new book, Democracy for Sale, which is published by Head of Zeus on Thursday.
"I turned the paper over. An imprint on the back said that the advert had been 'paid for by the Democratic Unionist Party'," says Geoghegan, a journalist with opendemocracy.net.
"This was very curious. Since its foundation in 1971, the Democratic Unionist Party had never run a single candidate outside Northern Ireland, " he writes.
It was a little epiphany that ultimately led him down a number of other tracks and has resulted in the book.
It is filled with the likes Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, Dominic Cummings, Boris Johnson, Nigel Farage and a former head of Saudi Arabian intelligence, Prince Nawwaf bin Abdul Aziz al Saud.
Right there, too, is the DUP, which spent £435,000 "on a massive ad campaign promoting Brexit in England. I knew that election spending in the UK is tightly capped."
"I also knew, having worked as a reporter in Belfast, that political donations to Northern Irish parties were kept secret under anachronistic local laws. Perhaps this was a way around campaign limits?"
So, would he solve the mystery?
In his sleuthing Geoghegan examines how the DUP was "bankrolled by the biggest [political] donation in Northern Irish history" to support the campaign to take the UK out of the European Union.
Geoghegan contends in Democracy for Sale that the money was channelled to the DUP through the official Vote Leave campaign because Vote Leave had almost used up its permitted spending of £7 million.
Vote Leave and the DUP have denied the claim.
Geoghegan contends that the money was channelled to the DUP through the official Vote Leave campaign
Uncommunicative group
Other organisations on both sides of the campaign were allowed additional spending of up to £700,000. The author recounts how he discovered that an uncommunicative organisation called the Constitutional Research Council (CRC) donated £435,000 to the DUP to support the Leave crusade.

To prop up his Vote Leave-DUP connection conviction, Geoghegan writes, "Two months before the referendum, Matthew Elliott, Vote Leave's chief executive, wrote in an email to senior staff: 'The DUP also have a £700k spending limit, which can be spent nationwide!' "
"At that stage the DUP had yet to register as a referendum participant," Geoghegan writes. "It only did so in late May. When the CRC started giving money to the DUP, Vote Leave had almost completely exhausted its spending allowance."

https://ft.com/content/abc098e2-6529-44e8-9365-ef0a1ba70194
And, beneath it all, is the Unionists' conviction that they are losing every battle. The Brexit they backed to loosen links to the Irish Republic has instead weakened ties with the UK.

Quote from: seafoid on March 03, 2023, 07:36:50 PM
And, beneath it all, is the Unionists' conviction that they are losing every battle. The Brexit they backed to loosen links to the Irish Republic has instead weakened ties with the UK.
Perhaps you should change your username to Paywall?

Just how many members here do you think have a FT subscription?

dec

Quote from: Main Street on March 03, 2023, 09:58:18 PM

If someone erects a 10ft wall just use a 12ft ladder https://12ft.io/proxy?q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ft.com%2Fcontent%2Fabc098e2-6529-44e8-9365-ef0a1ba70194

Saffrongael

FT is £55 a month online sub
Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

Quote from: dec on March 03, 2023, 10:31:33 PM

If someone erects a 10ft wall just use a 12ft ladder https://12ft.io/proxy?q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ft.com%2Fcontent%2Fabc098e2-6529-44e8-9365-ef0a1ba70194

You don't even need to, with the FT if you enter the link into Google Search then you generally are able to read the article or if you open an account you get a few free articles.

Also if you clicked every link SF put on here you'd not have very much time left in your life so ignoring might be a better policy  ;D

Quote from: imtommygunn on March 04, 2023, 08:41:40 AM
Also if you clicked every link SF put on here you'd not have very much time left in your life so ignoring might be a better policy  ;D

+1,000,000

HiMucker

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 04, 2023, 08:43:14 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 04, 2023, 08:41:40 AM

+1,000,000
Ah lads yous are a bit harsh  ;D. I appreciate the articles to the relevant subject matters. Definitely a lot of good ones that I wouldn't have came across otherwise. Keep sticking them up Seaf!

Sportacus

Quote from: RedHand88 on March 03, 2023, 02:38:26 PM

What happened??
Along these lines: MO'T says big David Campbell's appearance on The View was sinister.  Nolan says don't be casting aspersions on Campbell.  MO'T says well ok, but I think we all know the craic.  And Nolan cuts him off quick as a flash.  Couldn't wait to get showing him who is boss. 

Not right in my opinion.  O'Toole has a mandate and it's valid for him to be on the airwaves. Campbell shouldn't be anywhere near a studio, and if he was theres only one question - when are the drug dealers leaving.

Quote from: Sportacus on March 04, 2023, 10:04:31 AM

What happened??
Along these lines: MO'T says big David Campbell's appearance on The View was sinister.  Nolan says don't be casting aspersions on Campbell.  MO'T says well ok, but I think we all know the craic.  And Nolan cuts him off quick as a flash.  Couldn't wait to get showing him who is boss. 

Not right in my opinion.  O'Toole has a mandate and it's valid for him to be on the airwaves. Campbell shouldn't be anywhere near a studio, and if he was theres only one question - when are the drug dealers leaving.

SDLP should boycott Nolan now. Simple as.

Quote from: marty34 on March 04, 2023, 10:38:04 AM
Quote from: Sportacus on March 04, 2023, 10:04:31 AM

What happened??

SDLP should boycott Nolan now. Simple as.

Everyone should boycott him.