GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Down => Topic started by: Faceinthecrowd on October 27, 2013, 09:44:32 PM

Title: Down U20 football championship 2013
Post by: Faceinthecrowd on October 27, 2013, 09:44:32 PM
Interesting start to the U20 championship today........big wins for Bryansford and Burren in group D. Surprised at Shamrocks doing so poorly against Bryansford, obviously Bryansford are very strong this year. Whilst Burren hit a big score against Attical, it's impressive that Attical can field a team at this level, for a club with small numbers, and fair play to them entering the competition.
Much tighter games in group C and group A. Bredagh did very well against Castlewellan. Castlewellan looked very impressive at times but failed to keep their nerve and discipline when under pressure from a tenacious looking Bredagh outfit. Carryduff took the points against Longstone/Glassdrumman, but believe there was poor discipline from the visitors in this game also.
Not much in the Kilcoo v Rostrevor game in group A, with the reds winning by the narrowest of margins. Similar difference in the St Patricks v St Brigids game, but not exactly sure which clubs are involved in these amalgamations?
Warrenpoint and Clonduff had comfortable wins in group B against Mayobridge and Drumcross respectively. Mayobridge only hitting 2 scores against CPN is a bit of a surprise.
Good to have this competition at this stage of the year and looking forward to next week
Title: Re: Down U20 football championship 2013
Post by: Down Follower on October 28, 2013, 10:48:57 AM
Burren always seem so strong in this competition which is a marvellous thing to have if you are looking towards your senior team.  Likewise Bryansford in the last few years have been quite strong.  The problem for these two teams is that they are in the same group! Only one to go through.

Amazed at the Mayobridge result against the Point. Not that they were beaten Warrenpoint have been strong at underage, but that they were hammered!!  A club that has just reached the Minor Champ Final and have a number of young players on the senior team, this should not happen.  Warrenpoint if i recall got to the Minor Final two years ago with this group of players so admittedly they should be strong and looks like they will give it a rattle.

Rostrevor beat Kilcoo by a point but I am sure there were a number of Kilcoo seniors not playing so this may be one of the weaker groups with two amalgamated teams also in. Louginisland/Ballykinlar are St Brigids while Downpatrick/Saul are St Patricks.  Bredagh are a coming force in Down football i believe so their result against Castlewellan is not surprising.
Post by: Mourne Rover on October 28, 2013, 12:37:59 PM
Kilcoo won the Down MFC for three years in a row, 2009, 2010 and 2011, so on paper would have been the favourites for this year's u20 competition.  They have 10 u20 players on their senior panel, with three in the starting line-up for the win in last week's senior county final, so perhaps a Kilcoo poster could indicate how many of these were unavailable yesterday. Rostrevor look certain to make the semi finals as a result.

Mayobridge have not been strong at this particular level so their defeat to Warrenpoint, who are also likely semi finalists, was predictable, while Burren and Bryansford should have quite a battle for qualification.

The final group looks a very tight one, with Bredagh and Carryduff meeting in the last round of fixtures and Castlewellan and Lower Mourne both capable of bouncing back after their defeats yesterday.
Post by: spirit0f91and94 on October 31, 2013, 10:55:41 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on October 28, 2013, 12:37:59 PM
Kilcoo won the Down MFC for three years in a row, 2009, 2010 and 2011, so on paper would have been the favourites for this year's u20 competition.  They have 10 u20 players on their senior panel, with three in the starting line-up for the win in last week's senior county final, so perhaps a Kilcoo poster could indicate how many of these were unavailable yesterday. Rostrevor look certain to make the semi finals as a result.

Mayobridge have not been strong at this particular level so their defeat to Warrenpoint, who are also likely semi finalists, was predictable, while Burren and Bryansford should have quite a battle for qualification.

The final group looks a very tight one, with Bredagh and Carryduff meeting in the last round of fixtures and Castlewellan and Lower Mourne both capable of bouncing back after their defeats yesterday.

Bridge won it in 2011 and then got beaten in the ulster final and were beaten Down finalists in 2012 by Bryansford who won ulster - some crap posted on this site!
Post by: Mourne Rover on October 31, 2013, 11:46:56 PM
Spirit, `at this particular level' meant this age group. In other words, Mayobridge were not a force at minor two years ago, or at u16 four years ago and so on. They have obviously had good u20 sides in the past, but the group of players involved in this year's competition were not regarded as being in the same category.
Post by: befair on November 01, 2013, 02:32:29 AM
Results at U-20 level largely depend on how many lads are still around. Many will be at uni or 3rd level and unable to turn out, which is why few clubs bother entering. Moving the age limit back from U21 makes it even harder for small clubs to fill teams, and was very short-sighted. It's a good way of giving lads football, but not much prestige attached
Post by: Faceinthecrowd on November 01, 2013, 07:02:28 PM
I'm not convinced clubs struggling for numbers is the major issue, the u20 competition permits players born in 1993, 1994, 1995 and 1996, a four year span. There's no real issue other than lack of commitment for a lad at 3rd level in ireland not making an effort to play for his club on a Sunday afternoon. If you look at the entrants most of the bigger clubs are involved in the competition and credibly some smaller clubs standing on their own. I'm sure they all would be very keen to make a mark at this level. Football at this level is good to watch, slightly less physical than senior and generally faster. I would be very proud to have an u20 title in our club and believe any of the clubs in the competition would have a similar view
Post by: Line Ball on November 01, 2013, 09:25:54 PM
Are Down the only county in Ulster who run an U.20 competition rather than an U.21 competition?  It is well known that the senior management have requested this so they can get a look at players for next years Ulster U.21 championship which is fair enough but there is little thought for the club player who misses out because the County Board have changed the age of this competition.  Does this also mean that the club winning this competition may then bring in players for the Creggan U.21 competition who were ineligible to play in the Down one?  You will then have lads losing out who have played in Down but won't get their place in the Ulster competition as older players come into the team.

There were probably clubs who had a decent U.21 team but not an U.20 team and probably didn't enter the competition then. Just wondering was there any consultation with clubs about changing the age for this competition or is this another example of the Down Way of doing things?
Post by: befair on November 02, 2013, 11:58:06 AM
Quote from: Line Ball on November 01, 2013, 09:25:54 PM
Are Down the only county in Ulster who run an U.20 competition rather than an U.21 competition?  It is well known that the senior management have requested this so they can get a look at players for next years Ulster U.21 championship which is fair enough but there is little thought for the club player who misses out because the County Board have changed the age of this competition.  Does this also mean that the club winning this competition may then bring in players for the Creggan U.21 competition who were ineligible to play in the Down one?  You will then have lads losing out who have played in Down but won't get their place in the Ulster competition as older players come into the team.

There were probably clubs who had a decent U.21 team but not an U.20 team and probably didn't enter the competition then. Just wondering was there any consultation with clubs about changing the age for this competition or is this another example of the Down Way of doing things?

Same thing was passed a few yrs ago, suddenly changing it from U21 to U20, then reverted. I presume the rationale is to look at next years county U21 candidates, but they would be playing at U21 anyway so makes no sense. So many lads are at Uni or college in England/Scotland now, or have left to find work, hardly feasible for them to come home at weekends, no matter how dedicated they are
Post by: Faceinthecrowd on November 09, 2013, 05:52:45 PM
Final group games tomorrow. St Patricks v Rostrevor and Bredagh v Carryduff being the pick of the games.
Predictions for 'A' championship semi-finals:
Rostrevor
Warrenpoint
Bredagh
Burren

Post by: Lecale2 on November 09, 2013, 10:07:14 PM
The Bredagh v Carryduff game has been moved to Saul following an official objection from Carryduff to the use of Cherryvale.  :-\
Post by: No1 on November 09, 2013, 10:16:00 PM
Don't blame them. Such an important game shouldn't be played on an oul shite council pitch.
Post by: east down gael on November 09, 2013, 10:38:45 PM
Being from kilclief I'm presuming that post was ironic!
Post by: No1 on November 09, 2013, 10:48:41 PM
Nope. Never had to rely on anyone else for a pitch to play on. With the notable exception of the fine Gaels of Ballykinlar who gave us a dig out for a year when we were sorting our OWN pitch out.
Post by: east down gael on November 09, 2013, 10:57:05 PM
Point taken,I'm sure bredagh not having their own pitch discussion has been done to death.
Post by: spirit0f91and94 on November 10, 2013, 02:39:03 PM
Looking at today's results its not very encouraging for County selectors when so many clubs don't field.
Perhaps this FC has runs it course or needs played at a different time of the year.
Post by: Square Ball on November 10, 2013, 03:06:03 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on November 09, 2013, 10:07:14 PM
The Bredagh v Carryduff game has been moved to Saul following an official objection from Carryduff to the use of Cherryvale.  :-\

this could have a lot wider implications than just this fixture
Post by: Faceinthecrowd on November 10, 2013, 04:23:22 PM
St Paul's/Carryduff just too good for Bredagh today. St Paul's Matthew Grimley had a huge height advantage in the middle of the park and Sean McGonigle up front took some excellent scores. Despite the midfield dominance by St Paul's/Carryduff, Bredagh competed very well, turning over possession and forcing a lot of mistakes. If Bredagh had taken their chances and were more ruthless up front it would have been a different game.
Anyone know the score in the St Patricks v Rostrevor game?

Post by: Mourne man on November 10, 2013, 07:17:41 PM
Sounds like  you bredagh boys have a chip on your shoulder!! If that Carryduff team is an amalgamation because they let two players play from another club play. what would we call your senior teams who are made up of players from every corner of the country!!!
Post by: Square Ball on November 11, 2013, 08:46:20 AM
Quote from: Mourne man on November 10, 2013, 07:17:41 PM
Sounds like  you bredagh boys have a chip on your shoulder!! If that Carryduff team is an amalgamation because they let two players play from another club play. what would we call your senior teams who are made up of players from every corner of the country!!!
Pop quiz mourn man, what corners are they from? So if a gaa member moves from the country to the city or visa versa they shouldn't be allowed to play?
Post by: johnneycool on November 11, 2013, 11:15:05 AM
Quote from: east down gael on November 09, 2013, 10:57:05 PM
Point taken,I'm sure bredagh not having their own pitch discussion has been done to death.

I'd say its a little bit different buying 4 or 5 acres of ground in the greater Belfast area than off the local farmer, maybe give Peter Robinson a ring, he could help.

I presume the objection was based on a lack of perimeter fence, which in all honesty will only keep a civil person out, a lunatic will still mount the standard 3' fence around most club pitches.
Post by: outinfront on November 11, 2013, 12:04:24 PM
Out of 15 starting positions in this year's Championship team, 14 of them were occupied by fellas born in Bredagh area who all played for the club at underage level and for local schools. 
Post by: Corner Forward on November 11, 2013, 01:37:38 PM
Quote from: outinfront on November 11, 2013, 12:04:24 PM
Out of 15 starting positions in this year's Championship team, 14 of them were occupied by fellas born in Bredagh area who all played for the club at underage level and for local schools. 

Does Bredagh have a defined 'area'? not having ago genuinely interested. Always wondered when i was a student living in belfast was there any restrictions to whom i could join?

how many of them boys are part of the senior panel/will be?Bredagh seemed to have been strong at underage down through the years but havent been able to translate that into success at senior level.
Post by: Mourne man on November 11, 2013, 02:35:47 PM
Squareball your senior teams are littered with outsiders one example I'll give is Niall Mullholland a native from Teconaught ill not bother mentioning how many imports you have representing your senior ladies and hurling team!!!
Post by: outinfront on November 11, 2013, 03:19:47 PM
Well to stand up for my team, the majority of the footballers are locals originally from Bredagh. 

Bredagh Area is basically from Ormeau Bridge, Rosetta to Four Winds.

Post by: Square Ball on November 11, 2013, 03:48:38 PM
Quote from: Mourne man on November 11, 2013, 02:35:47 PM
Squareball your senior teams are littered with outsiders one example I'll give is Niall Mullholland a native from Teconaught ill not bother mentioning how many imports you have representing your senior ladies and hurling team!!!
Answer my question please.
Post by: Mourne man on November 11, 2013, 05:57:12 PM
Of course they should be allowed to play! I never said they shouldn't ! My point is that if I was to take your line if thought then bredagh are an amalgamation!!!
Post by: Faceinthecrowd on November 11, 2013, 05:57:31 PM
Semi-final games

Sunday 17th at 11.30am

'A' championship
Burren v St Paul's/Carryduff @ Clonduff
CPN v Rostrevor @ An Riocht

'B' championship
Bryansford v Bredagh @ Downpatrick
Clonduff v St Patricks @ Laitroim
Post by: outinfront on November 11, 2013, 09:34:16 PM
Am I missing something here? Where's this chat about amalgamations? Confused
Post by: Square Ball on November 12, 2013, 09:07:53 AM
How in under god can bredagh be classed as an amalgamation in your eyes? The St Pauls players were still registered to their own club thus an amalgamated team.
Post by: lecale4 on November 12, 2013, 12:59:41 PM
Quote from: Mourne man on November 11, 2013, 02:35:47 PM

"Littered" with outsiders e.g. Niall Mulholland. It think if you look at the Bredagh Championship team this year Niall was the only starter from outside the Ormeau area. Admittedly 10 years back Bredagh had many "blow-ins", who helped keep the club going during tough times - not the case now though. Get your facts right Mourne Man - obviously a wind up merchant. I wonder what club you represent and how many "blow-ins" you field regularly.

Post by: Down Follower on November 12, 2013, 02:03:27 PM
Semi Final predictions

CPN v Rostrevor - Warrenpoint to take it

Burren v Carryduff - Burren with something to spare
Post by: elk on November 17, 2013, 07:13:33 PM
No real surprises today both CPN and Burren winning easily enough. Didn't make it to either of the games were there any stand out candidate's for next years U21's
Post by: Down Follower on November 18, 2013, 02:03:51 PM
Quote from: elk on November 17, 2013, 07:13:33 PM
No real surprises today both CPN and Burren winning easily enough. Didn't make it to either of the games were there any stand out candidate's for next years U21's

Yeh no real surprises.  Could be a tight final.
Post by: PAULD123 on November 19, 2013, 03:46:51 PM
Is the final in Parc Esler? and does anyone have the time it is on?
Post by: whitegoodman on November 19, 2013, 10:11:07 PM
Heard it might be at 4 in Newry on Sunday after the league semi final between Burren and Kilcoo. 

Nothing confirmed though.
Post by: Courtney on November 20, 2013, 11:02:58 AM
Burren look like strong favourites given their championship pedigree,CPN just might be a year or two  too soon.Donnach McAleenan and Ryan Magee still young though great talents and a steady keeper with McCartan in the middle but I think the match up between Magee and Shay McArdle could be interesting but Burren to shade it.Gerard McGovern developing into a serious player ,this Burren team will not be beaten.
Post by: elk on November 20, 2013, 12:14:36 PM
Quote from: Courtney on November 20, 2013, 11:02:58 AM
Burren look like strong favourites given their championship pedigree,CPN just might be a year or two  too soon.Donnach McAleenan and Ryan Magee still young though great talents and a steady keeper with McCartan in the middle but I think the match up between Magee and Shay McArdle could be interesting but Burren to shade it.Gerard McGovern developing into a serious player ,this Burren team will not be beaten.
Going by the clubs history you would have to say Burren are big favourites but on the day its down to the two teams on the pitch who have the chance to make their own history. Burren have two outstanding players at this level in Mc Ardle and Mc Govern but CPN have a great presence and player in Mc Cartan, he may well pick up Mc Ardle. Hopefully the weather will be kind and we witness an entertaining tight game.
Post by: our_fella on November 22, 2013, 01:08:52 AM
Is it just me, or is warrenpoints "rebranded" name of CPN gay as f**k?
Post by: east down gael on November 22, 2013, 02:23:16 AM
Bedtime our fella!
Post by: Brick Tamlin on November 22, 2013, 09:26:34 AM
Match now 2pm in Kilcoo on sunday.
Post by: elk on November 22, 2013, 10:40:02 AM
Ridiculous taking these two teams to Kilcoo for a county final instead of the Marshes.Give them their big day out on the county's first choice pitch. Better for the spectators too!
Post by: Faceinthecrowd on November 24, 2013, 08:36:32 PM
Well done to Warrenpoint and Clonduff winning their respective U20 competitions earlier today. Fairly comprehensive wins by both teams judging by the scores. So that's it for Down championship football for this year. Interesting to note the only championship success for Burren this year was at U14 level even though they contested a number of county finals. I wonder which clubs will stand out in 2014?
Post by: Leo on November 24, 2013, 09:59:19 PM
Quote from: our_fella on November 22, 2013, 01:08:52 AM
Is it just me, or is warrenpoints "rebranded" name of CPN gay as f**k?

In an era where the GAA strives to cement the "community" aspect of club activity the rebranding of a club always known as Warrenpoint or "The Point" with its close identification with its geographical area to some abridged version of a combined Irish Language / Catholic Parish strikes me as being the very opposite of that inclusive type of idreal and ther is a touch of marketing silliness about it. Many Point people I've encountered believe it stands for "Can't Pronounce the Name"! And every single jubilant Point person I have met tonight is rightly celebrating the clearly identifiable victory of Warrenpoint U20 over geat rivals Burren (or CMN as some might possibly dub them). Well done the Point.
Post by: upandwin on December 04, 2013, 08:00:43 PM
Leo, a chara,

Your comment above just epitomizes the ignorance of some in this part of the country unfortunately. The GAA is not just an organisation that facilitates an odd game of Football or Hurling. More than that, it is intrinsically linked to the preservation of our (Irish) culture and heritage also. I think if you genuinely spoke to anyone with half a brain in Warrenpoint then you would know that club members for the most part, embrace the new name of Cumann Pheadair Naofa, or CPN. If it is not to your liking then I suggest you merely don't associate or speak about our club, given its apparent inconvenience in your life. Astonishingly I do agree with one point of yours, well done to CPN u-20s on a fabulous championship victory. Great to see it, God knows we have been waiting long enough for real success in the club. Comhairdeas a chairde agus maith sibh!

As always, great corresponding with you Leopold. Top man.  :)
Post by: elk on September 11, 2014, 12:30:57 PM
Does anyone know if this is an U20 or U21 championship this year?
Post by: supersub on October 07, 2014, 01:37:22 PM
U21
Post by: umpire on October 09, 2014, 10:12:27 PM
17 teams in U21 league,
3 league of 4 teams and I league of 5 teams.
winner of each league goes into semi final
Don't know teams involved.
Post by: Square Ball on October 13, 2014, 02:49:54 PM
Quote from: umpire on October 09, 2014, 10:12:27 PM
17 teams in U21 league,
3 league of 4 teams and I league of 5 teams.
winner of each league goes into semi final
Don't know teams involved.
Group 1 Burren, Bryansford, carryduff, Glenn and castlewellan
Group 2 Bredagh, saval, point, Tullylish Gaeil na Cósta   an l'island
Group 3 rostrevor, shamrocks, clonduff, Mayobridge D cross and DPK
Post by: Down Follower on October 13, 2014, 04:35:45 PM
This represents the same teams as last years competition as it was an Under 20 tournament.
Based on that Warrenpoint would be sizeable favourites as they won it quite comfortable last year, and if anything, appear to have improved. The only question mark would be will their involvement in the Ulster club impact on it!
Other teams who should do well -
Burren - reached the final last year
Glenn - young players showed well in Division 1
Basically all of group C - that will be one tough group to come out of!!
Post by: Centre 3/4 on October 16, 2014, 05:30:00 PM
Group  1 looks the strongest in my opinion with two of last years semi finalists along with glenn and bryansford who will also be strong. Fancy burren and carryduff to progress itll be tight to see who comes out on top
Post by: elk on October 17, 2014, 09:04:10 AM
Burren would be my favourites, unlike Warrenpoint they have no Ulster championship to distract them, won the minor championship so there should be some lads from that squad to step up and strengthen last years squad plus they were beaten finalists last year so that should spur them on to go one better this year.
Post by: Down Follower on October 20, 2014, 11:21:31 AM
No huge upsets in the games yesterday although Mayobridge beating Clonduff and Bredagh beating Glenn were somewhat of a surprise. St Colmans (Saval and Ballyholland) look to be strong and may give favourites CPN a game. Burren and CPN definitely the early favourites.
Post by: Centre 3/4 on October 20, 2014, 12:39:56 PM
It was carryduff who beat glenn and should have won by more. Glenn played v defensive and on the small pitch made it difficult but never really threatened a carryduff side who could cause teams problems this year
Post by: Down Follower on October 20, 2014, 02:02:09 PM
Quote from: Centre 3/4 on October 20, 2014, 12:39:56 PM
It was carryduff who beat glenn and should have won by more. Glenn played v defensive and on the small pitch made it difficult but never really threatened a carryduff side who could cause teams problems this year

Indeed it was Carryduff, my apologies. Good win in Glenn in any case.
Post by: elk on October 22, 2014, 01:35:07 PM
Any truth in the rumour that Kilcoo are now back in the U21 championship in Group 1. If so they will provide some serious opposition for Burren in that group.
Post by: elk on October 27, 2014, 01:33:52 PM
Good win for the Bridge over Rostrevor yesterday, was C.Mooney playing for Rostrevor? Surprised Warrenpoint beat the Saval/Ballyholland combination as easily as the score line suggests.
Post by: Down Follower on October 27, 2014, 01:37:01 PM
Quote from: elk on October 27, 2014, 01:33:52 PM
Good win for the Bridge over Rostrevor yesterday, was C.Mooney playing for Rostrevor? Surprised Warrenpoint beat the Saval/Ballyholland combination as easily as the score line suggests.

Feisty affair in Mayobridge I gather.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 27, 2014, 01:50:46 PM
Was there a row or something, can anyone give us a report of some sort.?
Why be surprised at the ease of the win. Sure they have practically the same team as last year that went to an Ulster final, and also a slap of them playing seniors this 2 seasons now, and also preparing for Ulster senior intermediate.
Post by: elk on October 27, 2014, 02:28:25 PM
I thought with some of the Saval/Ballyholland lads playing 1st division football this year they would have been fairly competitive and they didn't play in it last year so assumed they were decent after their big scoreline the previous week. Lesson learned today - don't assume anything!!!
Post by: 5 Sams on October 27, 2014, 02:39:39 PM
Quote from: elk on October 27, 2014, 02:28:25 PM
I thought with some of the Saval/Ballyholland lads playing 1st division football this year they would have been fairly competitive and they didn't play in it last year so assumed they were decent after their big scoreline the previous week. Lesson learned today - don't assume anything!!!

Have to say I was impressed with the point Elk. There is a big difference between a team playing together fulltime since underage and another that has been thrown together after 3 or 4 training session
Post by: supersub on October 28, 2014, 02:32:54 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on October 27, 2014, 01:50:46 PM
Was there a row or something, can anyone give us a report of some sort.?
Why be surprised at the ease of the win. Sure they have practically the same team as last year that went to an Ulster final, and also a slap of them playing seniors this 2 seasons now, and also preparing for Ulster senior intermediate.

Caolan was playing yes. It was feisty alright. Several rows all over the field at different times. Referee had no control over it and seemingly didn't want to know. No protection for players who were being dragged and hauled and arguably targeted the whole game.

A poor game which the Bridge edged, neither team really played well.
Post by: elk on December 04, 2014, 05:29:39 PM
Looking forward to the matches this Saturday. Will be interesting to watch Mooney playing with plenty of space to operate and use his pace. Burren couldn't be meeting the Point at a better time, the Point lads are bound to be feeling the effects of a long season and just got over the line in their last  U21 game plus everything seems to going right for Burren this year at underage. Rostrevor and Burren for me.
Post by: Down Follower on December 04, 2014, 05:33:55 PM
Quote from: Down Follower on October 13, 2014, 04:35:45 PM
This represents the same teams as last years competition as it was an Under 20 tournament.
Based on that Warrenpoint would be sizeable favourites as they won it quite comfortable last year, and if anything, appear to have improved. The only question mark would be will their involvement in the Ulster club impact on it!
Other teams who should do well -
Burren - reached the final last year
Glenn - young players showed well in Division 1
Basically all of group C - that will be one tough group to come out of!!

Got some predictions absolutely spot , Warrenpoint and Burren (although that wasnt hard), while others, i.e. Glenn, were well off the mark.
Carryduff pushed Burren all the way and beat Loughinisland who took Warrenpoint to extra time so they will be hard to beat for Rostrevor.
Warrenpoint are probably in better shape than they were last year when they beat Burren in the U20 final so I think they will repeat the dose.
Post by: Centre 3/4 on December 07, 2014, 10:40:23 AM
Carryduff beat rostrevor well in the end after a superb second half and cpns ability to score goals was fantastic to watch, two division 2 teams!
Post by: elk on December 08, 2014, 11:32:34 AM
Rostrevor were very poor, Carryduff should have won by more. Apart from Mooney they have no talent coming through. Warrenpoint/Burren game was more entertaining for at least the 1st half but then the point just eased away in the 2nd half. They have a few fine prospects and it will be interesting to see how they fare next year in Div 1.
Post by: supersub on December 08, 2014, 12:25:48 PM
Quote from: elk on December 08, 2014, 11:32:34 AM
Rostrevor were very poor, Carryduff should have won by more. Apart from Mooney they have no talent coming through. Warrenpoint/Burren game was more entertaining for at least the 1st half but then the point just eased away in the 2nd half. They have a few fine prospects and it will be interesting to see how they fare next year in Div 1.

Very harsh and short sighted opinion.

Rostrevor never got going in the U21 competition at all and were never able to field their strongest team. There are a number of very good players coming through and for one reason or another (injuries and colleges) were not available consistently through this short competition. There is no doubt Rostrevor were shocking on Friday night and despite this they only trailed by a point until the last few minutes - Carryduff hardly set the world alight!

Along with Caolan Mooney; Piaras Kane, Jordan Fegan, Joe Morgan, Conor Doyle, Conall Gordan, James Rice are all players who are top quality and will be around for a while. Piaras and Jordan played a combined 30 mins in the whole competition, indeed Friday night's sub appearance was Piaras' first game while Jordan played a bit of the second half in the Clonduff play off game. Joe, Conall and James have been tied up with school football and haven't really been about consistently but have been performing admirably for St Colman/Louis. To say there is nothing coming through is incorrect, these players plus a few others are more than capable of making the step up - just because the team performed poorly on Friday does not mean it's the end of the line. All of these boys are still very young and will be around for another 2/3 years at this level, indeed Joe is still a minor! I wouldn't write them off as a result of the 2014 U21 competition.

Indeed as mentioned these aren't the only talented players Rostrevor have at this level, just the main ones. Rather than the problem being a lack of talent, the problem lies with harnessing the talent and developing it which hasn't been optimised with the 5/6 minor winning teams of the last 10 years!
Post by: speculative on December 08, 2014, 03:49:39 PM
Rostrevor have a plethora of young talent, however, they always have. Throughout the 00's they basically had a monopoly on the Minor Championship which has transferred into basically nothing at Senior level, when was the last time they made an impression on a Championship or even a league? What is to say that these new "stars" are going to materialise into anything at Senior level? How many underage sensations have Rostrevor produced who don't even play or play for their 3rds? Must be infuriating for those involved with the club.
Post by: Walter Cronc on December 08, 2014, 04:50:36 PM
Quote from: speculative on December 08, 2014, 03:49:39 PM
Rostrevor have a plethora of young talent, however, they always have. Throughout the 00's they basically had a monopoly on the Minor Championship which has transferred into basically nothing at Senior level, when was the last time they made an impression on a Championship or even a league? What is to say that these new "stars" are going to materialise into anything at Senior level? How many underage sensations have Rostrevor produced who don't even play or play for their 3rds? Must be infuriating for those involved with the club.

Interested to know the reasons behind this? Have they not had a core of senior players to help ease the transition for younger players? When was the last time Rostrevor won the senior championship?
Post by: supersub on December 08, 2014, 11:55:24 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on December 08, 2014, 04:50:36 PM

Interested to know the reasons behind this? Have they not had a core of senior players to help ease the transition for younger players? When was the last time Rostrevor won the senior championship?

Hence my final paragraph - well aware of the downfall and lack of development beyond underage and indeed it is frustrating. I do not dispute that. I was merely commenting on the very harsh and extremely short sighted opinion that there is 'nothing coming through'.

To answer your questions- last championship win was 1998 and one league win in 2005 when the first of these minor teams was beginning to break into Senior set up. Since then there has basically been a whole team lost over a very short period and left with only a couple of 'senior' players on the panel. 4 at most.
Post by: Down Follower on December 09, 2014, 10:58:34 AM

Interesting to note their Under 21 management team was made up of a few senior players, Shaun Parr, Brian Cole and Jarlath Farrell. From what I gather, there is a concerted effort going on within Rostrevor to bring their senior team up a level (or two).
Post by: supersub on December 09, 2014, 01:10:59 PM
Quote from: Down Follower on December 09, 2014, 10:58:34 AM

Interesting to note their Under 21 management team was made up of a few senior players, Shaun Parr, Brian Cole and Jarlath Farrell. From what I gather, there is a concerted effort going on within Rostrevor to bring their senior team up a level (or two).

Correct - I wouldn't want to give the impression nothing is being done about it, quite the opposite hence what you mention here! these three along with Minor manager Aidan Murray made up U21 team.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on December 09, 2014, 02:07:14 PM
any particular reason or area that would contributed to this situation where talent doesn't transfer as maybe it should have?
Kilcoo, Burren and Bridge seem to be have handled fairly decent bunches of players at underage level through the system, to produce it for the senior side.
Post by: supersub on December 09, 2014, 11:29:52 PM
I think there are a broad range of things. To give you an example Rostrevor had 7 representatives on the Down Minor All Ireland winning team in 05 - 4/5 were regulars on the team and as of the end of the 2014 season not one of them is playing Senior (or any) football for the club. Mostly down to emigration and or work commitments, and one transfer (although he is also away now too). Obviously this isn't the only reason but I am just giving an example of the lost talent from that particular year.
Post by: Down Follower on December 10, 2014, 10:33:23 AM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on December 09, 2014, 02:07:14 PM
any particular reason or area that would contributed to this situation where talent doesn't transfer as maybe it should have?
Kilcoo, Burren and Bridge seem to be have handled fairly decent bunches of players at underage level through the system, to produce it for the senior side.

You could expand this issue to the county side even!