TV Show recommendations

Started by Archie Mitchell, June 23, 2009, 11:32:19 PM

Severance, 8.7 imdb. 3 episodes in, does it take off? Painful enough watch atm tbh

It does get better (though IMO it is vastly overrated), but it takes its own sweet time.  The scenes between John Turturro and Christopher Walken are worth watching for.

JPGJOHNNYG

Full contact season 2. What a mess! Just  as unwatchable as season 1.
I love rugby but this has been put together by a clown.

I don't know where to start. The timeline is f@cked. You see England play 3 matches before Ireland and France get a mention. Some matches get a big build up and then others are just mentioned almost in passing. If you don't know rugby or even know rugby but don't remember the results from last yr then you will be completely lost. You won't have a clue who is placed where and who is challenging for the title until the end

It's a massive missed opportunity. Season 1, Welsh rugby was imploding players about to go on strike and all we got was a few of the lads having a chat or going for a walk with their identikit dull wives ffs.

Does netflix not pay anyone with any rugby knowledge to point out that it's all a bit shit.

The blatant commentary that's been added   at a later date is awful and ruins what little actual rugby is in the show.

A train wreck of a show and not one lesson learnt from the dire season 1.

I heard there will be no season 3. Thank f@ck

It's the big thing where these sports docs are all too tied in with the entities that own it and they are dull as fook! There's always an exec sports guy too.

Liek when you see the classic 30 for 30 they deal with all the grey and different angles. These are just paid promo really. In fairness The Last Dance was good as Jordan didn't really care about people liking him.

Started watching Paradise which is an interesting concept and solid actors too.

tiempo

Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on January 29, 2025, 11:28:53 PMFull contact season 2. What a mess! Just  as unwatchable as season 1.

I don't know where to start. The timeline is f@cked. You see England play 3 matches before Ireland and France get a mention. Some matches get a big build up and then others are just mentioned almost in passing. If you don't know rugby or even know rugby but don't remember the results from last yr then you will be completely lost. You won't have a clue who is placed where and who is challenging for the title until the end

It's a massive missed opportunity. Season 1, Welsh rugby was imploding players about to go on strike and all we got was a few of the lads having a chat or going for a walk with their identikit dull wives ffs.

Does netflix not pay anyone with any rugby knowledge to point out that it's all a bit shit.

The blatant commentary that's been added   at a later date is awful and ruins what little actual rugby is in the show.

Didn't get past episode 1, laughable shite, a tour de force on how not to make a sports documentary

A good GAA one is overdue, for all Tommy Nibs foibles he did a good job on the Crossmaglen documentary, would love a proper fly on the wall from a D1 county team, but not as a bland GPA type device to perceive everyone as victims, just a good honest documentary, Year til Sunday and 97 Lions being the gold standard template

Wee Roddy

I see Netflix have bought over the American wrestling. I have never watched any of it before but I watched a bit last night. Both male and females are supremely fit athletes but what are the rules? Is the winner of every match determined before they go into the ring?

Quote from: tiempo on January 30, 2025, 11:11:08 AM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on January 29, 2025, 11:28:53 PMFull contact season 2. What a mess! Just  as unwatchable as season 1.

The blatant commentary that's been added  at a later date is awful and ruins what little actual rugby is in the show.

Didn't get past episode 1, laughable shite, a tour de force on how not to make a sports documentary

A good GAA one is overdue, for all Tommy Nibs foibles he did a good job on the Crossmaglen documentary, would love a proper fly on the wall from a D1 county team, but not as a bland GPA type device to perceive everyone as victims, just a good honest documentary, Year til Sunday and 97 Lions being the gold standard template

I think Drive to Survive is the amazing. I hadn't watched F1 for years then this came along and resparked the interest. Some great characters and adds real drama to the races.

tiempo

Quote from: Wee Roddy on January 30, 2025, 11:26:30 AMI see Netflix have bought over the American wrestling. I have never watched any of it before but I watched a bit last night. Both male and females are supremely fit athletes but what are the rules? Is the winner of every match determined before they go into the ring?

Sports entertainment, basically a frotting contest

By the seems of it the boul Vince was involved in a fair bit of exploitation verging on trafficking

The old timers tell a good story in terms of the excess and life on the road, but a lot of sad endings and collateral too

New timers have their head more screwed on so don't fall off the rails as much, and far more commercially aware

Ye have to laugh at the overt sexuality and homoeroticism while hicks and rednecks go off their tits in excitement, hard to beat a bit of escapism

Its amplified Americana, and Trump tapped into it to get elected, he made a few appearances in the noughties and to be fair the clever f**ker realised the answer (manic energy of populism) to POTUS was staring him in the face, he just needed the vehicle of mass media to get him traction, by f**k did he hit a home run

Netflix were feeding off crumbs as the blazers associated with each governing union severely limited access beyond boring PR puff. That Wales strike story should and could have been gold but instead you get riveting footage of Seb Negri going for an espresso with the missus. It was never going to be sustainable as a concept without relatively unfettered access, so I'm not surprised they've binned it after 2 seasons.

Netflix should have insisted they get full access or else not have bothered... it's for f**k all!

South Africa have won the last 2 WCs and have had fly on the wall documentaries.

Are the RFU trying to sell the game or not??

LC

Quote from: tiempo on January 30, 2025, 11:11:08 AM

The blatant commentary that's been added  at a later date is awful and ruins what little actual rugby is in the show.

Maybe he should give Jimmy McGuinness a shout...... ;)

Madness on Netflix is decent enough. I don't recognise any of the actors, but a good enough turn.
7/10.

Quote from: tbrick18 on February 04, 2025, 10:22:36 AMMadness on Netflix is decent enough. I don't recognise any of the actors, but a good enough turn.
7/10.

Watched the first episode, she didn't like it so have it on my 10pm watch list lol

The main actor was in the Fear the Walking Dead, sorta likeable character.. 

Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 07, 2025, 09:34:29 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 07, 2025, 09:32:04 PMStarted watching Bosch, dunno how I missed it, just finished S2, so plenty more to come. Enjoying it. 
It was my binge when I had Covid a few years ago. Really enjoyed it.
Nearing the end now. Even Bosch Legacy's 2 series to date are excellent. Real quality show. Legacy S3 is due out in March, last one ever apparently.

Quote from: tbrick18 on January 28, 2025, 12:30:58 PMAmerican Primeval - I thought this was really good. Felt a bit like Revenant.

Enjoyed this too. It's gory and raw.