Mayo Football and Hurling - Discussion pages

Started by stephenite, November 09, 2006, 11:14:18 PM

sheskin

Delighted to see Jim Kilty involved. Never does things by halves. If the setup is not right and the players are not giving 100% he will walk but I cannot see the players not responding to him. Coach to Dervilla O'Rourke. No barking or shouting but every move analyised. It will take time but the players efficiency in movement will improve dramatically.

Pietas

Some people on here seem to think that anything they disagree with is posted by a member of the county board.  

The paranoia is something fierce
In Roman mythology, Pietas was the goddess of duty to one's state, gods and family.

and some people cant seperate sarcasm from Irony.
What would people reaction be if th ecounty board said we cant afford Jom Kilty because we need to spend more on hurling?.
BTW
do they ever have combined sessions whre kily could help the hurdlers too?

Is (over use of) SAQ not blamed for causing Gilmore groin injuries? I assume that Kilty would know more than a lot of folk who latched on to these methods and over used them in the past though.

Anyone confirm what I'm saying?

Pietas

Quote from: rosnarun on December 05, 2006, 12:05:00 PM
and some people cant seperate sarcasm from Irony.
What would people reaction be if th ecounty board said we cant afford Jom Kilty because we need to spend more on hurling?.
BTW
do they ever have combined sessions whre kily could help the hurdlers too?

There would be uproard, and rightly so.  But nothing should be allowed detract from attempts to win Sam.  Nothing.
In Roman mythology, Pietas was the goddess of duty to one's state, gods and family.

I see JOM's article hasn't been update on westernpeople.ie
Has he finished that, now that he's taken up manager's role? What's the position re Mid-West, Sunday Game etc does anyone know?

and the irish times . thats a lot of moolah to give up to become mayo manager, though maybe it'd have to come to an end any due to his polictical involvement. I tjink after the 1st of januray the election rules regaurding media exposure come into play

the bucket

There would be uproard, and rightly so.  But nothing should be allowed detract from attempts to win Sam.  Nothing.

So all the hurling people in mayo BTW who are born and bred mayo people not some aliens from a foregin planet have to be sacrificed so that SAM can be brought home how sad that is, and I'm sure the vast majority of mayo people would think the same.

If natural justice is to prevail then my friends SAM Maguire will be a long time coming home.
You cant treat people the way mayo hurling is been treated and expect good fortune and luck

Question was asked:
Quotedo they ever have combined sessions whre kily could help the hurdlers too?

Pitas said:
QuoteThere would be uproard, and rightly so.  But nothing should be allowed detract from attempts to win Sam.  Nothing.

the bucket said:
Quote from: the bucket on December 07, 2006, 02:04:20 PM
...so all hurlers... have to be sacrificed so that SAM can be brought home... how sad that is, and I'm sure the vast majority of mayo people would think the same.

In fairness combining the two sessions where Mayo footballers and hurlers would train together is a joke and there would be uproar.

the bucket also said:
Quote from: the bucket on December 07, 2006, 02:04:20 PM
If natural justice is to prevail then my friends SAM Maguire will be a long time coming home.
You cant treat people the way mayo hurling is been treated and expect good fortune and luck

You can continue to be superstitious and believe in fortune and luck. Others can believe in curses over the mayo team...
but while your all counting stars and barking at the moon both Mayo hurling and football teams should be given all the facilities that they require and
no comparisons should be drawn between them. I can see you trying to stir an argument here. (Mayo Hurling Vs Football)

And to say that "if natural justice is to prevail" we shouldn't win an All-Ireland because of the way the county board treated the hurlers?

I can see your disgruntled but thats pure nonsense !

the bucket

you are right football is king in mayo and that is the way it was, is, and always will be but all we want is fair play is that not much to ask for, maybe to some it seems to be.

how could you have an argument with people who don't believe in justice luck or good fortune but i forget ye are men of faith.

QuoteIn fairness combining the two sessions where Mayo footballers and hurlers would train together is a joke and there would be uproar

I dont think this kilty guy will be doing any skills coaching so i dont see it would be that big a deal to combine the too for specialist fitness stuff. A tem with an above average level of fitness/strenght can go a long way despite a lower level of skill look at the clare hurlers or the armagh/dublin footballers.

My other question what cutbacks to the football training woulld Omahony or indeed the fans allow ro help the hurling team. the monet spent has to come from somewhere?

I think, and am open to correction, but the level of fitness and intensity between the footballers and the hurlers would make this an unviable option. Mayo in football are one of the top team, mayo hurlers are second tier at a stretch, no insult or hurt meant.
I do think the removal of browne is riduculous, he has done some fantastic things with the mayo hurlers and brought them back to a level where they were in the mid 90's, without their star player for a lot of it.
This sort of penny pinching shows that the mayo co board is only paying lipservice to the idea of developing mayo hurling

Just to brighten your day

QuoteMr. Waldron also confirmed that next week's county board convention (Tuesday, December 12, in Julian's of Midfield) will be one of the least eventful in recent years.

"There are actually no motions going before convention. I suppose the big thing this year was the appointment of a new senior manager so convention will be a quiet affair with just some by-laws to be ironed out."

So the status quo remains. As I've said before we get what we deserve.

A lot if not most of the mayo posters here are exiles of on form another and i think may  have a different agenda or view point to people working in the club who put forward these motions . after all they finally got their man this year and as regaurd the hurling no one seems to have stood up publicly to defend mr Browne nor does he seem to have complained himself and the league changes bad as though they seem have gone through a lot of debate within the county.
are we letting our righteousness blind us?

towinjustonce

the Status quo surely Barney

It would be too much to expect a freshening up on the county board committee. I suppose we should be just grateful that "we" got our man in Johnno.  But as sure as eggs are eggs - these ol cowboys will be back to haunt mayo football once again. Hopefully in the distant future, but they have some track record over the years of incompetancy and unprofessionalism

congrats to Ray dempsey on taking over the minors. looks like he has a good backroom team in place and there's a good crop of young fellas coming through the ranks too so hopefully the future will be brightish.