Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: heganboy on September 14, 2016, 06:42:37 AM

Title: Best Concert ever
Post by: heganboy on September 14, 2016, 06:42:37 AM
I'm looking for big hits:  the best gigs (who and where)
and the big misses: and the acts you with you'd got to but never did.

Miss for me was Queen, by all accounts spectacular.
Also never got to see his royal grumpiness Van Morrison

Big Hits:
Luka Bloom Mandela Hall QUB 93 maybe
Simple Minds in the RDS August '89 (texas opened remember Charleen Spiteri?)
U2 that concert in Botanic Gardens- more the occasion than the performance
the 4 of Us in small session in Belfast at the Black Box about 5/6 years ago
Bruce Springsteen Giant stadium NJ '09
Coldplay giant stadium 06 (no hating, Richard Ashcroft opened)
The Verve- Slane
Christy at the Point March 17th '94
Oasis in Cork '96

notable mentions which were great at the time, but have somewhat diminished with age

bryan adams at dundonald ice bowl '91
Bon Jovi in the Ulster hall maybe '90

2 useless facts for you - the ulster hall was where led zeppelin played stairway to heaven for the first time, and Handel's messiah was first played in fishamble in Dublin

by the way the worst thing I ever paid money for was to watch the wolfe tones in an Irish bar in New jersey. An embarrassment for all concerned

There was a thread for 1st real concert which was great - here http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=20482.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=20482.0)
Title: Re: Best Gig ever
Post by: DownFanatic on September 14, 2016, 10:20:17 AM
Ash at the Fresher's Ball October 2004 in Mandela Hall. Sweat infused mayhem.
Enjoyed Slane in 2003; QOTSA, Foo Fighters and RHCP headlining. They were excellent that day.
Post by: ziggy90 on September 14, 2016, 10:25:37 AM
Springsteen and The E St Band, Ricoh Arena, Coventry earlier this year.
Springsteen and The Seger Sessions Band, NEC Birmingham.
Slade, Birmingham Odeon, 1974 (ish).

Misses.
The Spencer Davis Group and Tom Petty.
Post by: johnneycool on September 14, 2016, 10:30:44 AM
A sunny Slane  in 1992;

Headlined by Guns and Roses in their pomp, supported by the Red Hot Chilli Peppers and Faith No More!

Didn't get any better back in the day
Post by: omagh_gael on September 14, 2016, 11:01:07 AM
Kings of Leon (before they went commercial) October 28th 2004 at the University of Liverpool!
Post by: The Subbie on September 14, 2016, 11:17:57 AM
Quote from: heganboy on September 14, 2016, 06:42:37 AM

I'm looking for big hits:  the best gigs (who and where)
and the big misses: and the acts you with you'd got to but never did.

Miss for me was Queen, by all accounts spectacular.
Also never got to see his royal grumpiness Van Morrison

Big Hits:
Luka Bloom Mandela Hall QUB 93 maybe
Simple Minds in the RDS August '89 (texas opened remember Charleen Spiteri?)
U2 that concert in Botanic Gardens- more the occasion than the performance
the 4 of Us in small session in Belfast at the Black Box about 5/6 years ago
Bruce Springsteen Giant stadium NJ '09
Coldplay giant stadium 06 (no hating, Richard Ashcroft opened)
The Verve- Slane
Christy at the Point March 17th '94
Oasis in Cork '96

notable mentions which were great at the time, but have somewhat diminished with age

bryan adams at dundonald ice bowl '91
Bon Jovi in the Ulster hall maybe '90

2 useless facts for you - the ulster hall was where led zeppelin played stairway to heaven for the first time, and Handel's messiah was first played in fishamble in Dublin

by the way the worst thing I ever paid money for was to watch the wolfe tones in an Irish bar in New jersey. An embarrassment for all concerned

There was a thread for 1st real concert which was great - here http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=20482.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=20482.0)

Simple minds and Texas in the RDS was the first proper gig I went to and remember it because I was allowed to go because I passed my inter cert ! Great gig.

Before The Verve played Slane they played at the SFX on the North Circular Road, 97 I think , right at the height of Bitter sweet symphony, brilliant brilliant gig.

Prodigy in the point depot , 1998, brilliant.

Creamfields 2001, Mosney, messy but good messy.

Faithless , Dublin Castle , 2005, the day after Monaghan beat Meath with the last kick of the game to win the Div 2 National League. Brilliant brilliant few days!

Alabama 3 , Mc Hugh's Drogheda, 2006. Probably the best proper live performance I have ever seen.

Muse , Marley park , 2008 I think. Up there with the best of them.

Stone roses at a festival in Sydney, Randwick racecourse, 2013, the festival wasn't great but scratched a long term itch by seeing the stone roses live, they are playing the Sydney Opera House this coming Dec, tickets got, can't wait!!!!

Post by: blewuporstuffed on September 14, 2016, 11:34:15 AM
The Chili peppers/foo fighters/Qotsa at sale in 2003 as mentioned above was excellent (the start of a great weekend with Tyrone beating Kerry in the infamous 'puke football' game the next day.

Pearl Jam in the O2 in London 2009 was fantastic.

Arcade fire at the Point 2010

Bon Iver at the Point

Radiohead  @ Marlay park

I have seen the Frames quite a  few times and always enjoy the show they put on, The Forum Theatre in melbourne was probably my favourite, although a Glen Hansard solo show in the ulster hall a few years ago was superb too.
Post by: maigheo on September 14, 2016, 11:55:08 AM
Moving Hearts final appearance in the national stadium October 1982
Post by: bennydorano on September 14, 2016, 01:32:06 PM
Saw loads of Irish & British bands in my younger years, nothing outstanding springs to mind. Fella called Hat Fitz, an Aussie married to an Armagh girl was best show I'd seen locally ever (Blues), he reappears here occasionally and tours in Oz extensively I think. Worth keeping an eye out for.

Saw Air twice a few years back, in Dublin & Belfast. Dublin gig in Olympia theatre was fantastic. Belfast gig in Waterfront was a bit sterile.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 14, 2016, 01:48:06 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on September 14, 2016, 01:32:06 PM
Saw loads of Irish & British bands in my younger years, nothing outstanding springs to mind. Fella called Hat Fitz, an Aussie married to an Armagh girl was best show I'd seen locally ever (Blues), he reappears here occasionally and tours in Oz extensively I think. Worth keeping an eye out for.

Saw Air twice a few years back, in Dublin & Belfast. Dublin gig in Olympia theatre was fantastic. Belfast gig in Waterfront was a bit sterile.
Appears at the 7 Hills Blues Festival in Armagh every few years with Cara Robinson. Meant to go on more than one occasion and didn't manage it but have heard good reports.
Post by: J70 on September 14, 2016, 02:06:05 PM
Springsteen RDS in '88
Levon Helm in Beacon Theater 7 or 8 years ago (voice was almost shot from the cancer, but still an amazing presence and gig)
Fun Lovin Criminals at Olympia (or was it Gaiety?) in late 90s - very fun gig. Even Bono was there.
Brian Wilson in Hammerstein Ballroom (he is odd and awkward as f**k, but the sheer beauty of the music...)
Arcade Fire in Barclay Center in 2014
Avett Brothers at MSG earlier this year. My wife is the fan, and it would have been better in a smaller venue, but excellent concert.
Kris Kristofferson at Point in early 2000s

Regrets - didn't get to see The Highwaymen when they came to Dublin in early 90s- Johnny Cash, Waylon Jennings, Willie Nelson and Kris Kristofferson
Post by: theskull1 on September 14, 2016, 02:22:31 PM
For me it was Nirvana - Kings Hall 1992
Post by: mouview on September 14, 2016, 02:24:50 PM
Leonard Cohen in Lissadell House, Sligo, was good.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 14, 2016, 03:52:58 PM
Brendan Shine in the hall in Clarinbridge during the Oyster festival back in 1993 or so. Savage stuff :)
Post by: charlieTully on September 14, 2016, 05:38:30 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 14, 2016, 10:30:44 AM
A sunny Slane  in 1992;

Headlined by Guns and Roses in their pomp, supported by the Red Hot Chilli Peppers and Faith No More!

that was some day. Saw faith no more in the ulster hall circa 1990, first proper gig, stage diving the lot, that was me hooked for life on gigs. Saw nirvana in kings halls but was actually a bit disappointed with them on the night.
RHCP Ulster hall, blood suger tour, Oasis at witness and Wembley were great gigs. metallica at the odyssey was immense. Saw New order just a week ago at electric pinic and thought they were outstanding. the stone roses at tenants vital was brilliant. Caught a band called girl band last year at EP and it was one of them gigs that just blew you away. King kong company from Waterford brilliant live. I could go on all day tbh.

miss- not going to the stones at slane.
Post by: Boycey on September 14, 2016, 05:44:23 PM
AC/DC supported by Y&T at the RDS Simmonscourt Oct 1982, have been lucky enough to see them several times since but that night has never been beaten.
Title: Re: Best Concert ever
Post by: tbrick18 on September 15, 2016, 04:24:50 PM
Hits: Skunk Anansie in Queen's SU must have been 96-97. SLF in the Empire in Belfast around the same sort of time.
Miss: Oasis '96 in Cork....Prodigy supported them and were unreal, whole crowd pumped...then up steps Oasis with Wonderwall and it just seemed boring. Stereophonic in the oddessey arena Belfast. Bored to tears. U2 in slane....just because you couldnt listen to Bono ranting.

I'd love to see Seasick Steve, AC/DC
Post by: 5 Sams on September 17, 2016, 12:36:55 AM
Ive seen U2 maybe 10 times and it was always spectacular....two weekends in a row in Slane stand out...shortly after Bono's father died...2001??

Went to see Queen in the RDS in the early 80s and it was so good people thought it was tapes and Freddie was miming.

I've seen The 4 of Us on various occasions just like Heganboy and while they are not in the same league as the above...jaysus they put on some show....

But...thee best ever

Fill Your boots... the Boss...Slane 1985

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3nly_JYMs7Q

Post by: Mayoffs on September 17, 2016, 02:35:33 AM
Slane 2003

Queens of the Stone Age
Foo Fighters
Red Hot Chilli Peppers

Nearly 100,000 people,  25 deg weather, will live long in the memory

Post by: seafoid on September 17, 2016, 10:41:25 AM
Ivo Papasov and his Bulgarian Wedding band in Whelans 93
Iarla O Lionaird in Dublin and London
Martin Hayes in the NCH and during a City lunchtime when he even had English people yelping
Will Oldham  in Whelans 94
Fluke somewhere in Dublin in 96
Arab Strap in London 98
U2 in Wemberlee 98
Flora Purim and Airto Moreira in Ronnie Scotts 02 and 03
The Dirty Three and Arvo Part in the Royal Festival Hall 99

With kids I would be more familiar with Peppa Pig these days 
Post by: mikehunt on September 17, 2016, 05:41:19 PM
A sunny Slane  in 1992;

Did RHCP play that one? I remember Faith no More were great. GnR left us waiting.  Wasn't there some Irish band called My Little Funhouse playing too?

Post by: naka on September 17, 2016, 08:51:14 PM
Undertones
Killeavy
1981 ;) first bottle of old English cider

Tenpole Tudor Dundalk Adelphi
First strongbow mix with charger lager 1983 I think
Post by: 5 Sams on September 17, 2016, 09:16:42 PM
Quote from: naka on September 17, 2016, 08:51:14 PM
Undertones
Killeavy
1981 ;) first bottle of old English cider

Tenpole Tudor Dundalk Adelphi
First strongbow mix with charger lager 1983 I think

I was there too!! Me and Mickey Kearney curted two yokes from Whitecross at the end of the night and then walked it home to Ballyholland.
Post by: naka on September 17, 2016, 10:15:15 PM
Must mention it to Mickey 😗
Post by: 5 Sams on September 17, 2016, 10:46:55 PM
Quote from: naka on September 17, 2016, 10:15:15 PM
Must mention it to Mickey 😗

:-[
Post by: muppet on September 18, 2016, 12:05:30 AM
Saw some amazing stuff when I was too young to have a clue WTF I was watching. Occasion at the Castle, for those that know what that was.

I love U2 (and all top Irish artists), Springsteen and Radiohead and have seen many concerts from all of them.

But the O2 (3Arena) and Bowie and FleetwoodMac were as good as anything I've seen.
Post by: The Subbie on September 18, 2016, 04:02:16 AM
In addition to what I have already mentioned Gary Moore at the Monaghan Blues Festival , 2000. A supreme axe merchant.

Seen Van Morrison at the same festival in 1998 and if I never seen the grumpy **** again it would be too soon, apparently he got £30,000 to play that night.
Title: !!!!
Post by: screenexile on September 19, 2016, 10:09:49 AM
Best concert I was ever at was Slane 2003

Feeder
PJ Harvey
QOTSA
Foo Fighters
RHCP

It was phenomenal.

Special mention to Oxegen 2005

Bravery
Bloc Party
Doves
Prodigy
QOTSA
Frames
Foo Fighters
Green Day
Killers
Snoop Dogg

It was my first festival and it was class!!!

Miss: Oasis at the Odyssey Halloween 2008 they were terrible so boring and no craic it was a huge let down
Glastonbury 2011 the weather was horrible and I ended up watching Beyonce over QOTSA and it was just really really tough going, Wednesday morning to Monday morning is a long time to be drinking, camping and watching bands!
Post by: blewuporstuffed on September 19, 2016, 10:59:24 AM
That Slane Concert was 2003
Post by: screenexile on September 19, 2016, 11:00:45 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on September 19, 2016, 10:59:24 AM
That Slane Concert was 2003

Correct thanks
Post by: johnneycool on September 19, 2016, 01:38:35 PM
Quote from: mikehunt on September 17, 2016, 05:41:19 PM
A sunny Slane  in 1992;

Did RHCP play that one? I remember Faith no More were great. GnR left us waiting.  Wasn't there some Irish band called My Little Funhouse playing too?

I would have swore they were, but Wiki is saying different. Ah well!

Faith No More were big back then in their own right

My little fun house were first on the bill, can't say I remember them.

Title: Re: !!!!
Post by: Puckoon on September 19, 2016, 08:33:34 PM
Quote from: screenexile on September 19, 2016, 10:09:49 AM
Best concert I was ever at was Slane 2003

Feeder
PJ Harvey
QOTSA
Foo Fighters
RHCP

It was phenomenal.

Special mention to Oxegen 2005

Bravery
Bloc Party
Doves
Prodigy
QOTSA
Frames
Foo Fighters
Green Day
Killers
Snoop Dogg

It was my first festival and it was class!!!

Miss: Oasis at the Odyssey Halloween 2008 they were terrible so boring and no craic it was a huge let down
Glastonbury 2011 the weather was horrible and I ended up watching Beyonce over QOTSA and it was just really really tough going, Wednesday morning to Monday morning is a long time to be drinking, camping and watching bands!

Super show, and for a sound-wise hit or miss band like the RHCP, it was absolutely excellent.

Run pretty close by Green Day on the American Idiot tour in Sacramento ~2005.
Post by: Oraisteach on September 29, 2016, 11:03:53 PM
Can't pick out the best, but a number stand out in my memory:

Roxy Music - Liverpool Empire
Lou Reed - Liverpool Empire
Pink Floyd (Dark Side) - Liverpool Empire
Emmylou Harris - Manchester Free Trade
David Bowie - Manchester
Rory Gallagher - Lancaster University
Lynyrd Skynyrd - Lancaster Uni
Planxty - lots of places
Steeleye Span/Horslips - Lancaster Uni
Thin Lizzy - Lancaster Uni
Simon & Garfunkel - Akron Rubber Bowl
Rolling Stones - Cleveland Stadium
Little Feat - Blossom Music Center
Iris DeMent - Peabody's Cleveland
Cleveland Orchestra Beethoven's 9th - Blossom

Inexcusable misses: Queen and Van Morrison - Lancaster Uni
Post by: ONeill on September 29, 2016, 11:06:13 PM
Michael Bolton 1996
Post by: DownFanatic on November 12, 2016, 08:29:48 PM
Ash in Mandela Hall last night were sublime.
Done Therapy's Screamager for the encore.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 12, 2016, 08:30:31 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on November 12, 2016, 08:29:48 PM
Oh yeah?
Post by: DownFanatic on November 12, 2016, 08:31:04 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 12, 2016, 08:30:31 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on November 12, 2016, 08:29:48 PM
Oh yeah?
😂
Post by: Syferus on November 12, 2016, 08:36:03 PM
Saw Doctors.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on June 09, 2017, 07:31:05 AM
4 tickets to arcade fire in Belfast next Tuesday for sale. If anyone is interested PM me.

Post by: stew on June 09, 2017, 08:25:13 AM
George Thoroghgood and the Delaware Destroyers in their home town, absolutely brilliant altogether.

Most disappointing, one of my favourites, the Rolling Stones in Slane back in the day, they were pure dung.
Post by: theskull1 on June 09, 2017, 08:38:37 AM
Quote from: stew on June 09, 2017, 08:25:13 AM
George Thoroghgood and the Delaware Destroyers in their home town, absolutely brilliant altogether.

I thought they would have been bubububad  ;)
Post by: Orior on June 09, 2017, 03:53:11 PM
My best concert ever was Andre Rieu, in Belfast last year.
Post by: Ball Hopper on June 10, 2017, 08:24:54 AM
Quote from: Orior on June 09, 2017, 03:53:11 PM

Attending one of his concerts later in the year...what made it great for you?

Post by: reddgnhand on June 10, 2017, 11:01:58 AM
Big Country Kings Hall 1984 I think.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on June 10, 2017, 11:38:23 AM
Eddie Vedder last night in the point was pretty special.
A 3 hour set, including a rendition of the auld triangle in the encore
Post by: Orior on June 10, 2017, 07:45:52 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on June 10, 2017, 08:24:54 AM

You will recognise everything he plays. He tells a story with every thing he conducts and there is some humour thrown in.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 09, 2017, 05:37:54 PM
A lot people raving about Coldplay at HQ last night.....not my cup of tea...roll on U2 and Bonio ;) ;) ;)
Post by: straightred on July 09, 2017, 05:41:33 PM
springsteen in slane 1985 (yes - i'm old)

A few U2 gigs would be a close 2nd but this gig always stands out for me
Post by: red hander on July 09, 2017, 08:45:09 PM
Neil Young in the Odyssey last year was pretty awesome
Post by: ziggy90 on July 10, 2017, 10:26:23 AM
Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers + Stevie Nicks in Hyde Park yesterday. Rockin'.
Post by: lurganblue on July 10, 2017, 03:56:13 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 10, 2017, 07:45:52 PM

You will recognise everything he plays. He tells a story with every thing he conducts and there is some humour thrown in.

Went to one of his concerts.  Sound a bit like Tony here but i went because I got free tickets (daughter was singing in the choir on stage for a song or two)... I wasnt really expecting much but came away thinking what a cracking show it was. Would def go again.
Post by: north_antrim_hound on July 10, 2017, 04:05:01 PM
Quote from: stew on June 09, 2017, 08:25:13 AM

Most disappointing, one of my favourites, the Rolling Stones in Slane back in the day, they were pure dung.

You sir have great taste, seen them myself many years ago
Also "john spencer blues explosion " where brilliant live
Iggy pop in his younger days was good
More corny but still good Dr Feelgood
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2017, 04:12:06 PM
Bowie in the Point and Arcade Fire in the tent at EP. Shout out to No Sweat at the Derby Festival in Kildare in 89.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E3RxysQ43yU (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E3RxysQ43yU)
Post by: Billys Boots on July 10, 2017, 04:53:39 PM
Martin Stephenson and the Daintees - Barry's Tudor Rooms, May 1988.  Just brilliant. 
Post by: Main Street on July 11, 2017, 12:17:56 PM
If I was to pick out one best ever concert above the rest then it's the Bothy Band's first ever concert in the mid '70s at Trinity exam hall. Nobody knew what was coming but there was a feeling of something very special in the air.

Post by: Syferus on September 21, 2017, 01:24:17 PM
Not the best concert ever, but as someone who grew up listening to the Chili Peppers finally getting to see them live last night lived up to expectations.

Kiedis is 54 now..! Still such great energy in the band and Josh Klinghoffer is about as good a guitarist and you could hope for to replace a generational talent like Frusciante. You could tell the average age of the crowd by which songs they reacted the most to - Suck My Kiss and Give It Away paled in comparison to Californication and By the Way, whereas 12-13 years ago it would have been the Blood Sex Sugar Magik tracks bringing the house down. About the only disppointment was they didn't play Can't Stop or Under the Bridge, though you can be sure they will tonight.
Post by: Puckoon on September 21, 2017, 02:06:07 PM
I'm glad RHCP fans still get to hear them. JK Is a good player but it's good that the band are nearing the end rather than growing the music - Id rather lep in the DeLorean and hear them with Dave Navarro (woefully under rated album and time with the RHCP - he was hung out to dry by their addictions and inability to deal with Fruiscante's first hiatus).

12-13 years ago was the hayday of Californication and BTW, by the way - it wasn't a BSSM fest at their shows back then. Those albums are 18 and 16 years old respectively (I rounded up). BSSM is almost 25 years old, fooking hell!

Unfortunately JK is really just there for continuity of the Fruiscante sound - even their decent new songs just have that Fruiscante feel on the guitar sections. Nothing wrong with that - it's just safe. Not an approach the Chilli Peppers made their name with!
Post by: Syferus on September 21, 2017, 02:15:44 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 21, 2017, 02:06:07 PM
I'm glad RHCP fans still get to hear them. JK Is a good player but it's good that the band are nearing the end rather than growing the music - Id rather lep in the DeLorean and hear them with Dave Navarro (woefully under rated album and time with the RHCP - he was hung out to dry by their addictions and inability to deal with Fruiscante's first hiatus).

12-13 years ago was the hayday of Californication and BTW, by the way - it wasn't a BSSM fest at their shows back then. Those albums are 18 and 16 years old respectively (I rounded up). BSSM is almost 25 years old, fooking hell!

Unfortunately JK is really just there for continuity of the Fruiscante sound - even their decent new songs just have that Fruiscante feel on the guitar sections. Nothing wrong with that - it's just safe. Not an approach the Chilli Peppers made their name with!

The Getaway is a good album to be honest, and the reaction for Dark Necessities was better than for Suck My Kiss. Klinghoffer has apprenticed with RHCP for a very long  time - he was writing songs with Frusciante as far back as his 2004 solo album Shadows Collide with People. Klinghoffer would have been 22-23 at that time.

The reason he sounds similar is as much a product of his musical education as it is any kind of attempt to replace like for like. It should be remembered how young Frusciante was when he joined, and indeed a big part of why he got the job was he had learnt the Peppers' back catalogue off by heart and was a sort of super fan. Klinghoffer is certainly far better than Dave Navarro, who warped RHCP into a sort of generic alt rock band. It's the funk, melody and energy that makes them special and Klinghoffer fits that perfectly.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on September 21, 2017, 04:33:29 PM
James Brown back in 2001

the man was a peformer
Post by: Puckoon on September 21, 2017, 05:14:18 PM
Popular response, but Dave Navarro didn't warp (nice use of the word) them, he was at best 1/4 of the band. One Hot Minute was anything but generic, and the sound shift was heavily due to Keidis' relapses. Still one of my favourite albums.

I don't think we can say one is a better player than the other - I agree JK is a better fit for the RHCP, but original he ain't.

Suck my Kiss and Give it Away, while two of the most popular songs, wouldn't be considered 2 of the best - except for nostalgia and impact purposes.

Good Times though.

Post by: Syferus on September 21, 2017, 05:42:39 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 21, 2017, 05:14:18 PM
Popular response, but Dave Navarro didn't warp (nice use of the word) them, he was at best 1/4 of the band. One Hot Minute was anything but generic, and the sound shift was heavily due to Keidis' relapses. Still one of my favourite albums.

I don't think we can say one is a better player than the other - I agree JK is a better fit for the RHCP, but original he ain't.

Suck my Kiss and Give it Away, while two of the most popular songs, wouldn't be considered 2 of the best - except for nostalgia and impact purposes.

Good Times though.

Suck My Kiss was voted the fifth best RHCP song by Rolling Stone and Give It Away won a Grammy and was "included in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's unordered list of the "500 Songs That Shaped Rock"; in 2002 Kerrang! placed the song at number 67 in their list of the "100 Greatest Singles of All Time"; in 2004 Q included it in their unordered list of the "1001 Songs You Must Own!"; and VH1 awarded the song the 50th spot in its 2009 compilation of the "100 Greatest Hard Rock Songs"." - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Give_It_Away_(Red_Hot_Chili_Peppers_song)

Both were popular and critical hits.
Post by: Puckoon on September 21, 2017, 07:03:57 PM
Donald Trump was voted PUSA!

EDIT: What this fan wanted to say was "shouldn't be considered' - not wouldn't.
Post by: Ball Hopper on December 05, 2017, 07:48:45 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on July 10, 2017, 03:56:13 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 10, 2017, 07:45:52 PM

Went to one of his concerts.  Sound a bit like Tony here but i went because I got free tickets (daughter was singing in the choir on stage for a song or two)... I wasnt really expecting much but came away thinking what a cracking show it was. Would def go again.

Was at a recent concert of his...very impressed.  Great atmosphere and good humour from him as mentioned.  Would definitely recommend.

I see he is in Dublin 8 and 9 Dec and in Belfast on Sunday 10 Dec.  Here is a small sample of his music  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YmDNhi07_Ho
Post by: Syferus on January 11, 2018, 02:45:34 PM
I went to Christy Moore in Vicar Street last night and it probably was the most perfect concert I've ever been at, perfect set list, Christy in great form and a crowd totally enthralled.

I remember back in college the lad I used to get a lift in with had a scratched up CD of Live at the Point 1994 that has been left in the car when he bought it. It'd auto-play when you turned on the car so we must have listened to it 100 times at least. You'd get to Black is the Colour (the fifth track) and the fûckin thing would start skipping all over the place. I don't think I heard the second half of the album until three years later. Anyways, that was the first time I really took notice of Moore and I always wanted to see him live, so me and the same lad booked a table for last night and we both came out amazed by how fantastic a performer he is.

This didn't feel like watching the Rolling Stones now or even the Chilli Peppers, he still felt as vital and as full of energy as he was on that Live at the Point album 23 years earlier. If anything he sounds better now, and one of the best songs of the night was Where I Come From, which is only four years old from the album of the same name. He must be coming near the end of touring at 72, but I'm definitely going to see him again soon. There wasn't a single bad song.
Post by: ziggy90 on January 11, 2018, 04:50:54 PM
Isn't "Black is the colour" a kind of Roscommon anthem?
Post by: magpie seanie on January 12, 2018, 12:05:10 PM
Were ye allowed to drink and sing along? Breathe?

He has some good tunes but he's just as well known if not better known for covers.
Post by: Syferus on January 12, 2018, 01:20:07 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 12, 2018, 12:05:10 PM
Were ye allowed to drink and sing along? Breathe?

He has some good tunes but he's just as well known if not better known for covers.

Christy went "f**k" when he stalled on one of the lyrics to St. Brendan's Voyage and when some lad in the crowd gave him a dig out Christy was full of praise after it, the crowd loved it. He even dealt with some eejit interrupting him introing how Bobby Sands got the lyrics of McIlhatton to him during the hunger strikes. I know he has a reputation for being sour but I think if he knows the crowd are really into the music it makes a massive difference. The only typically Christy thing was if you went to the jacks you had to wait in the hall till the song he was playing finished before you'd be let back in.

Half the songs everyone was humming along. Vicar Street is the perfect size of a venue for his type of concert too.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 12, 2018, 08:14:51 PM
I can still remember a "put your hands in your pockets" instruction in London.
Post by: stew on January 12, 2018, 09:11:00 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on January 11, 2018, 04:50:54 PM

Ballymenas anthem as well hi. )
Post by: foxcommander on January 12, 2018, 09:59:43 PM
Quote from: stew on January 12, 2018, 09:11:00 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on January 11, 2018, 04:50:54 PM

Ballymenas anthem as well hi. )

Enough of your racism or I'll get the board's PC brigade on to you.