Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

cavan4ever

Quote from: milltown row on June 16, 2009, 01:55:37 PM
Backer has his squad, two extra additions in Terry and Niblock should be enough. Antrim to win in Clones and set up a cracker in the final against whoever.

stop ball going into Johnstone and we will win. by playing a man in front of the space he plays should cut out a lot of ball.
no reason why we cant win the majority of kick outs. and if we improve our shooting then we will get an extra 5/6 scores

might be another 1 point win.

no clash NAG1 just done his bit i'm sure, and has other things to concentrate on

Fermanagh couldnt do it

Quote from: cavan4ever on June 16, 2009, 02:34:06 PM
Quote from: milltown row on June 16, 2009, 01:55:37 PM
Backer has his squad, two extra additions in Terry and Niblock should be enough. Antrim to win in Clones and set up a cracker in the final against whoever.

stop ball going into Johnstone and we will win. by playing a man in front of the space he plays should cut out a lot of ball.
no reason why we cant win the majority of kick outs. and if we improve our shooting then we will get an extra 5/6 scores

might be another 1 point win.

no clash NAG1 just done his bit i'm sure, and has other things to concentrate on

Fermanagh couldnt do it

Indeed, Fermanagh had 3/4 men around him at times and still couldn't stop him. I think Pierson could get a run too and prosper if antrim double up on johnstone. A few yrs ago pierson would have been considered a better\footballer than seanie.

What has happened to Pierson Myles? He scored about ten points on his ulster debut and hasn't done much of note since.

If we get too hung up on Johnston we could potentially be punished. The space needs marked though. Also we should be able to capitalise with frees which was something Fermanagh weren't able to do that day.

Quote from: imtommygunn on June 17, 2009, 09:48:56 AM
What has happened to Pierson Myles? He scored about ten points on his ulster debut and hasn't done much of note since.

If we get too hung up on Johnston we could potentially be punished. The space needs marked though. Also we should be able to capitalise with frees which was something Fermanagh weren't able to do that day.

Its hard to know. He hasn't had an injury free run in a couple of years which means he is never 100% come championship time. Then he is not the most "dedicated" footballer either. As a club man of Gowna told me once he goes on the beer and acts the bollix, then he goes mad trying to get fit in a couple of weeks and ends of injuring himself and then he has a few pints to pass the time and cycle starts again. But when he is fit and in the form he is a serious footballer. He would definetely give any team thinking of putting 2 men on johnstone another headache.

pebble-dasher

Does anyone know when the next round of league games will be, div1 fixtured for wed 24th but this will surely be put back?

Tomas was a good price for 1st goal scorer if anyone was lucky enough to back it. 12/1 with ladbrokes in ballybofey!

Glensman

Heard someone say it might be up to the clubs as to whether to play the 24th without the county players?

Would be good if all agreed to do so...set a precedent. The ordinary club footballer deserves a game.

pebble-dasher

Hope these fixtures go ahead although st galls are set to play cargin with both teams missing about 5 players each.  The other 4 games could go ahead no problem.

St. Brigids    Creggan Kickhams    St. Brigids   24/06/2009   19:30   McGrath Davy       
St. Galls    Cargin    St. Galls   24/06/2009   19:30   Mullan Patrick       
Portglenone    St. Pauls    Portglenone   24/06/2009   19:30   O'Donnell Jarlath       
Glenavy    Moneyglass    Glenavy   24/06/2009   19:30   Owen Quinn      
St. Johns    Rasharkin    Corrigan Park   24/06/2009   19:30   Quinn Paddy

BrisLion

OverThePostsAWide

Quote from: BrisLion on June 23, 2009, 11:35:23 AM
Niall McKeever has signed a 2 year AFL Rookie contract with the Brisbane Lions.

http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,25672317-5016169,00.html

Will he still be allowed to lineout for Antrim in the final in September?

BrisLion

Quote from: OverThePostsAWide on June 23, 2009, 02:15:20 PM
Quote from: BrisLion on June 23, 2009, 11:35:23 AM
Niall McKeever has signed a 2 year AFL Rookie contract with the Brisbane Lions.

http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,25672317-5016169,00.html

Will he still be allowed to lineout for Antrim in the final in September?

Won't start training with Brisbane until late October. He is a free man till then.

LandErIn

Will CJ McGourty have learned anything from getting dropped from the panel, will be back on board next year and prepared to do what he is told.

pebble-dasher

Quote from: hatchetfield on June 27, 2009, 09:02:04 AM
Funny thats what the wife said last night too - its all about the inches!!

Or lack of them!!

Cant wait to get down now, always a great buzz about clones on match day.  Antrim by 1.11 to 12              i hope

milltown row

there will be a serious amount of people hammered BEFORE the match. 7.00pm on a sat night!!!!!

a lot of buses are heading down about 2 or 3pm Curley's is going to make a fortune today

Hope you win tonight. Would be some buzz and lift for Gaelic football in Antrim and hopefully used to really pomote the game with the youngsters. I felt in 1989 in the hurling Antrim really missed a trick on that when they got to All Ireland hurling final.
Look forward to some day's craic at Ulster final with us Tyrone boys and gals.

milltown row

COME ON ANTRIM!!!!!!

WE CAN DRINK THESE CAVAN BOYS OUTTA THE PARK :P