Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Syferus on January 28, 2013, 01:53:43 AM

Title: The Photograph Thread - Own Works Only! [900 pixels longest side]
Post by: Syferus on January 28, 2013, 01:53:43 AM
With the proliferation of smartphones everyone and their ball-boy seems to be taking pictures at all times so why not a thread to bring together GAA Board's undoubted photographic genius?

No rules beyond it having to be your own work and that the longest side is no more than 900 pixels, the later rule being there just to prevent massive pictures making the thread a pain for people not viewing it on-space age monitors.

Pictures can be of anything, GAA, other sports, wildlife, landscape, a sighting of a Healy-Rae.
Title: Re: The Photograph Thread - Own Works Only! [900 pixels longest side]
Post by: Syferus on January 28, 2013, 01:56:22 AM
(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8509/8421385433_48f63b5527_b.jpg)

Connacht Senior Final 2012

(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8084/8422487662_98ccffdc3b_b.jpg)

Dublin v. Mayo AISF 2012, Kevin McLoughlin's headband starring

(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8222/8421380293_ff27e1bf3f_b.jpg)

Emlyn Mulligan's last game for Melvin Gaels, versus St. Brigid's in Kiltoom, October 2012
Post by: ziggysego on January 28, 2013, 11:59:14 AM
It was a freakin' nightmare for me Fionntamhnach, as you know  ;D

Slightly bigger than the 900 pixel width, but please forgive me.

(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/Developing%20my%20skills/2013-01-20-snowmountaintop_zpse2df622d.jpg)

(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/Developing%20my%20skills/2013-01-19-snowbetweentwotrees_zps03a66a49.jpg)

(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/Developing%20my%20skills/Photography%20Exhibition%202012/bird-on-a-wire_zps1a1d38b8.jpg)

(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/Developing%20my%20skills/Photography%20Exhibition%202012/rusted-lock_zpsa4af31a8.jpg)
Post by: Orior on January 28, 2013, 01:25:19 PM
I quite like the last photo. It reminds me of a pair of girls knickers.
Post by: johnneycool on January 28, 2013, 01:57:21 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 28, 2013, 01:25:19 PM

What, badly fitted and rusty?

What sort of girls do you hang around with?
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 28, 2013, 01:59:31 PM
Who is this Dermot C Devlin fella Ziggy is stealing photos from?

I also like the rusty bolt.
Post by: ziggysego on January 28, 2013, 02:31:24 PM
Ah crap, busted  :-\
Post by: Santino on January 28, 2013, 02:47:25 PM
Anyone ever done a basic day course in photography and could recommend one? I have an SLR camera but would love to know how to use it properly....
Post by: ziggysego on January 28, 2013, 03:37:07 PM
Quote from: Santino on January 28, 2013, 02:47:25 PM
Anyone ever done a basic day course in photography and could recommend one? I have an SLR camera but would love to know how to use it properly....

I did a 22-week course at swc.ac.uk in Omagh, which gave me the basics to develop my skills. I know where are one-day courses, but I'd say they are only there to familiarise yourself with the camera. So might be worth your while, if you're only taking photos in automatic mode and want to do more.
Post by: omagh_gael on January 28, 2013, 03:48:02 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on January 28, 2013, 11:29:32 AM
(http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a14/liskey/gaaboard/gb-oma20jan.jpg)

The previous Sunday (not yesterday) in Omagh. On the left you can see three of the towers for the floodlights at Healy Park.
Funnily enough, the conditions on the main mountain in that picture contributed to Ziggy losing his mobile phone signal nearly all last week! :o

Where was that photo taken from Fionn? At a guess i'd say Ardmore Heights/Sperrin Park direction?

Post by: Orior on January 28, 2013, 03:59:13 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on January 28, 2013, 01:57:21 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 28, 2013, 01:25:19 PM

What, badly fitted and rusty?

What sort of girls do you hang around with?

No, it was the visible spider legs  ;)
Post by: johnneycool on January 28, 2013, 04:05:16 PM
so you like the unkempt type ladies?
Post by: Syferus on January 28, 2013, 04:07:54 PM
And here was I thinking it looked like a pair of bollocks and a c**k in a hole.
Post by: Orior on January 28, 2013, 04:14:12 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on January 28, 2013, 04:05:16 PM
so you like the unkempt type ladies?

I didnt saything about liking it.

I also didnt say about not liking it, lol
Post by: armaghniac on January 28, 2013, 05:37:40 PM
this is an excellent thread
some of the previous works http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7501.165

it seems you don't have to do a photography course to be brilliant
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland/photographer-is-architect-of-his-own-success-16266768.html
Post by: Rois on January 28, 2013, 05:59:27 PM
Wee reminder of how to put photos up pls??
Post by: theticklemister on January 28, 2013, 06:29:06 PM
This may sound stupid but......... is there a certain name for a type of photo which is taken which makes all the lights twinkle or run into each other. You always see them when the pictures of the city roads are taken and there are starkingly fantastic beams of lightswhere the cars have gone. I think these types of pictures are fascinating.
Post by: laoislad on January 28, 2013, 06:32:23 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 28, 2013, 06:29:06 PM
This may sound stupid but......... is there a certain name for a type of photo which is taken which makes all the lights twinkle or run into each other. You always see them when the pictures of the city roads are taken and there are starkingly fantastic beams of lightswhere the cars have gone. I think these types of pictures are fascinating.

Slow Shutter speed. The longer you leave a lens open you can achieve shots like that and also slow water down like the one  I took below.
(http://i1278.photobucket.com/albums/y508/laoisladcasey/DSC04423_zps41200f38.jpg)
Post by: theticklemister on January 28, 2013, 06:35:13 PM
Je I always wanted to know that but was too afraid to ask mo chara. Good man laoislad. Thats exactly the kind of photo I was talki g about.
Post by: laoislad on January 28, 2013, 06:35:42 PM
Quote from: Santino on January 28, 2013, 02:47:25 PM

I taught myself using youtube videos and buying camera magazines and books.
Best advice I can give is take the camera off AUTO and play around with it.
Post by: theticklemister on January 28, 2013, 06:38:57 PM
(http://www.homephotog.com/tutorials/images/shutter-2.gif)

Lethal!!!!
Post by: laoislad on January 28, 2013, 06:43:09 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 28, 2013, 06:35:13 PM
Je I always wanted to know that but was too afraid to ask mo chara. Good man laoislad. Thats exactly the kind of photo I was talki g about.
You can create some great photos by using a slow shutter speed. I haven't tried the lights yet but have a good few with water. This one is from Portmarnock beach in Dublin.
Sorry I know the photos are big for the page.

(http://i1278.photobucket.com/albums/y508/laoisladcasey/DSC03854_zps8ce34a28.jpg)
Post by: theticklemister on January 28, 2013, 06:57:28 PM
How much ye chatting for an average joe to purchase a camera with shutter speed control who is only starting off??
Post by: laoislad on January 28, 2013, 07:14:48 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 28, 2013, 06:57:28 PM
How much ye chatting for an average joe to purchase a camera with shutter speed control who is only starting off??

Any DSLR and maybe some bridge cameras will have it.
If your gonna commit to a DSLR make sure its one you like as once you start buying different lenses you are kind of stuck with that DSLR brand,unless you want to put big expense on yourself buying a different camera brand and having to buy all new lenses for it.
I have a Sony DSLR and I am very happy with it. Canon and Nikon are probably up there as the market leaders but too be honest IMO they are all pretty much the same. It's like anything you get what you pay for.
Anyway after awhile you realise its not the body of the camera that matters its the quality of the glass(lens) you put on it.
I've probably spent more on lenses than I did on actually buying a camera.
Post by: Syferus on January 28, 2013, 07:30:22 PM

I think you've combined two different effects into one there - by twinkle you'd usually get something like this:

(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8192/8423786399_f74f217308_b.jpg)

That's really simple to do that as long as your camera can be set to focus manually - you just need to turn the focus ring completely out of focus and all the lights will twinkle like your camera's got the most near-sighted eyes in existence. The problem being only DSLRs and compact system cameras (those aren't regular compact cameras) tend to have manual focusing, though there are apps that give some added focus functionality to iPhones and the like: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/focus-plus/id422556737?mt=8

When you see lights, cars, whatever, trailing it's as a result of placing the camera down on a flat surface or a tripod and setting a long exposure that captures all the light that enters while the shutter is open, and the camera collates it all into something like what Laoislad took (great stuff the the way) or the one you showed. That can be done with most any camera as long as you find the exposure setting and the camera remains steady, though how good it'll be at night will depend on how well the camera copes in low-light situations.
Post by: theticklemister on January 28, 2013, 07:36:51 PM
I meant the the second one but I could not get the words out for it!
Post by: Syferus on January 28, 2013, 07:56:59 PM
I should say that all sorts of things like aperture also effect it but really the best thing anyone interested in it could do is have a go and once you get an idea of how it works your technique and understanding of the process will get better. Even compacts are great of trying out a lot of the things that people use more expensive cameras for.
Post by: laoislad on January 28, 2013, 08:14:13 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 28, 2013, 07:56:59 PM
I should say that all sorts of things like aperture also effect it but really the best thing anyone interested in it could do is have a go and once you get an idea of how it works your technique and understanding of the process will get better. Even compacts are great of trying out a lot of the things that people use more expensive cameras for.

Good advice. Play around with the camera and take it off Auto.You'll make mistakes but it's the best way to learn.
It's funny or maybe ironic but I have spent a good bit on lenses but my favorite photo is one I took on my iphone a few months after my son was born,him grabbing my finger when I was holding him. Just proves you don't need a very expensive camera to take good photos or photos that mean a lot to you.

Post by: Santino on January 28, 2013, 09:06:28 PM
Thanks for the advice Ziggy and laoislad. Only getting started but could become a regular hobby
Post by: Myles Na G. on January 28, 2013, 09:07:53 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 28, 2013, 01:59:31 PM

Good name for a bar.  :)
Post by: theticklemister on January 28, 2013, 09:09:12 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on January 28, 2013, 09:07:53 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 28, 2013, 01:59:31 PM

Good name for a bar.  :)

Devlin............for defs a Tyrone man ;) ;) ;) ;)
Post by: laoislad on January 28, 2013, 09:16:27 PM
Quote from: Santino on January 28, 2013, 09:06:28 PM
Thanks for the advice Ziggy and laoislad. Only getting started but could become a regular hobby

I was always on about taking it up and I eventually took the plunge and bought a decent Dslr.
Don't get that much chance to get out with camera anymore but I love it when I get a day to myself and head off somewhere with camera and tripod.
Post by: ziggysego on January 28, 2013, 09:27:47 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 28, 2013, 09:16:27 PM
Quote from: Santino on January 28, 2013, 09:06:28 PM

I was always on about taking it up and I eventually took the plunge and bought a decent Dslr.
Don't get that much chance to get out with camera anymore but I love it when I get a day to myself and head off somewhere with camera and tripod.

I'm the same. Bought a bridging camera around the same time has LL got himself an dSLR. Loved it. About six months ago, I got myself a Nikon dSLR and it's the bee's knees. I'm looking for a macro lens at the moment, but I might hold off. The bridging camera has a macro function, so I'll keep it handy for now.
Post by: Syferus on January 28, 2013, 11:31:01 PM
On that topic, a macro lens or a wide angle lens are the next pieces on my wishlist. One of my personal favourites is the photo below and it was took with an Olympus compact camera before I'd even considered shelling out for a DSLR. The macro range on it beats my normal lenses because it can focus very close to a subject.

(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8080/8424476601_e229cfd451_b.jpg)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 29, 2013, 12:15:18 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 28, 2013, 07:36:51 PM
I meant the the second one but I could not get the words out for it!

In non low-light conditions you can force a longer exposure by using a 'neutral density filter' (NDF), which limits the light in a uniform manner entering the shutter, thereby causing the shutter to stay open for longer (tripod required too).

There are different ND values (2, 4, 8, etc.), with the higher the number then the darker the lens, and consequently the longer the exposure (and you can keep the camera on the auto exposure settings without having to mess around with manual values).
Post by: Syferus on February 04, 2013, 09:07:03 PM
This was our best attempt at disrupting the Sligo keeper in the second half:

(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8237/8446018948_0da1b883c9_b.jpg)

Donie going off injured:

(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8233/8446024338_f1b17d271a_b.jpg)

(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8088/8444931691_0bc056f775_b.jpg)
Post by: laoislad on February 04, 2013, 09:12:21 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 04, 2013, 09:07:03 PM
This was our best attempt at disrupting the Sligo keeper in the second half:

(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8237/8446018948_0da1b883c9_b.jpg)

Looks like a field for grazing cattle on rather than an inter county football pitch.
Post by: Syferus on February 04, 2013, 09:21:55 PM
Sure we have to make the most of the grazable land out Wesht - none of those vainty corn fields the royalties in the east deal in  ;)

Pitch was terrible and the mess we had with switching the game and then switching it back shows how worried we were about it. No games 'till early March at home so barring constant floods it should be better for the next outing.
Post by: gerry on February 06, 2013, 01:07:00 AM
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/734890_4840042371840_756586309_n.jpg)
Post by: gerry on February 06, 2013, 01:08:46 AM
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/577308_4297882138173_1601652787_n.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on February 06, 2013, 11:46:41 AM
I took this on Sunday morning.

(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/holly_zps188dcc3e.jpg)
Post by: laoislad on February 06, 2013, 01:08:54 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 06, 2013, 11:46:41 AM
I took this on Sunday morning.

(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/holly_zps188dcc3e.jpg)

Good photo Ziggy.
Self portraits are hard to do....
Post by: ziggysego on February 06, 2013, 06:07:20 PM
Cheers, you cheeky fecker  ;D
Post by: David McKeown on February 06, 2013, 08:06:03 PM
Decided to take up photography last month so just starting out as previous to that I was the worlds worst photographer.  Have already gotten addicted to it out at sunrise at least once a week for a photo.  This is my best soo far which isnt saying much

(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8375/8411813979_4312186a9d.jpg)
Post by: theskull1 on February 06, 2013, 10:48:18 PM
You need to get yourself a polariser and a tripod DK if you want to do landscapes. One exposure for the sky and one for the foreground, then blend (eg in Photoshop)
Post by: laoislad on February 06, 2013, 10:51:49 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on February 06, 2013, 10:48:18 PM
You need to get yourself a polariser and a tripod DK if you want to do landscapes. One exposure for the sky and one for the foreground, then blend (eg in Photoshop)
Was just about to say something similar.Though I'm not a fan of photoshop. You can get filters than attach to the camera that allow the sky to be exposed different to the forground. I prefer doing as much with the camera as I can rather than using software.
Also in the above photo I don't think there is a need for the wall to be in the shot,it takes away from the scenery behind imo.
Post by: David McKeown on February 06, 2013, 10:57:18 PM
Pretty sure there was a polariser used on that one although Id need to check, the sky was a horrendous and boring grey which is why I included the wall.  Definitely did use a tripod though as I say I am just starting out so I appreciate the tips
Post by: theskull1 on February 06, 2013, 11:04:50 PM
Maybe the polarizer wasn't set/twisted to the correct position. Shouldn't see the lake as blown out with the reflections from the sky if t was set properly
Post by: David McKeown on February 06, 2013, 11:10:20 PM
Ahhh I see that must be my mistake.  Its the only time i have used the polariser so obviously I wasnt doing it right.  Is there something I should be looking out for when twisting it in?
Post by: Maguire01 on February 06, 2013, 11:11:02 PM
Or you could shoot RAW files and use highlight and shadow recovery in Lightroom.
Post by: laoislad on February 06, 2013, 11:15:50 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on February 06, 2013, 10:57:18 PM
Pretty sure there was a polariser used on that one although Id need to check, the sky was a horrendous and boring grey which is why I included the wall.  Definitely did use a tripod though as I say I am just starting out so I appreciate the tips
I'm by no means an expert and I wasn't criticising your work!
It's just to me all I see is the wall,the eye is just drawn to it.
If you wanted the wall in it you could have used a shallow depth of field and blurred the wall out a little,the wall would still be there but wouldn't be as distracting.
To do this you use an aperture like f2.8 and manually focus on the background,this will blur out the foreground.
The pic I took below is sort of an example of what I mean.I couldn't find a picture with a wall but can you see the way I blurred the grass at the front giving the picture a bit of depth?

(http://i1278.photobucket.com/albums/y508/laoisladcasey/DSC04586_zps5b73e930.jpg)

Post by: theskull1 on February 06, 2013, 11:21:11 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on February 06, 2013, 11:10:20 PM
Ahhh I see that must be my mistake.  Its the only time i have used the polariser so obviously I wasnt doing it right.  Is there something I should be looking out for when twisting it in?

Look through the view finder and see what happens........glare/reflections should be minimizedso the lake in your photo should darken as you twist it to the correct position. You'll also pick up much more cloud detail.

Maguire....as good as modern sensors are these days only at certain light levels will you be able to do shadow and highlight correction without loosing detail. Normally there to much dynamic range between the sky and  foreground......that's if you want to print a decent sized HQ image
Post by: laoislad on February 06, 2013, 11:27:55 PM
I found these videos very helpful when I was learning.

http://www.cameralabs.com/photography_tips/camera_tutorials_guides_books.shtml

Here's one for using a polariser

http://www.dslrtips.com/workshops/How_to_use_polarizing_filters/reduce_haze_deep_blue_sky.shtml
Post by: David McKeown on February 06, 2013, 11:37:40 PM
Sorry Laoislad I didnt think you were criticising I was just explaining why I framed the picture the way I did so I could get feedback on it.  I appreciate the advice I had never thought of using a low aperture to blair foreground I have only ever done it to blair background when taking a portrait so I must try that one next time I am out.
Post by: theskull1 on February 06, 2013, 11:49:59 PM
Suppose I'd better post something after mouthing off  :)

(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8097/8451082597_4b58fd98cf_b.jpg)
Post by: Hardy on February 06, 2013, 11:54:32 PM
I know nothing about photography but even I can see that's pretty special. You can even see his teeth.
Post by: laoislad on February 07, 2013, 12:06:49 AM
Very good skull. What Macro lens have you got?
Post by: theskull1 on February 07, 2013, 12:12:00 AM
100mm F2.8 Macro

Works pretty good for portraits as well
Post by: laoislad on February 07, 2013, 12:30:44 AM
A dedicated macro lens is my next purchase. I have a 70-300mm Tamron lens with a Macro function but it wouldn't be as good as a macro only lens.
Post by: theskull1 on February 07, 2013, 12:43:03 AM
Yeah...nice to have... there's a bit if tweaking needed to get your hot shoe flash setup properly but I'm sure you know that
Post by: Syferus on February 17, 2013, 01:26:59 PM
After de match yesterday. The unbeatable beaten, the unbreakable broken, etc :'(

A snap shot that I think ended up looking good with the girl's head inching out the corner of the frame coupled the ridiculously creamy bokeh of the Canon 50mm 1.8 on Darren Dolan in the background.

(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8090/8481265760_1269a60c74_b.jpg)
Post by: Fluffy Che on February 20, 2013, 02:10:10 PM
(http://i1336.photobucket.com/albums/o650/strumski1/1461_zpsdde28259.jpg)

(http://i1336.photobucket.com/albums/o650/strumski1/1546_zpsbb467ba7.jpg)

(http://i1336.photobucket.com/albums/o650/strumski1/696_zps11183b40.jpg)

Ahh Paris..  so nice and so expensive!!
Post by: ziggysego on February 20, 2013, 02:47:54 PM
Love the picture you took of the Eiffel Tower Fluffy.
Post by: theskull1 on February 20, 2013, 03:05:39 PM
Great composition on all three Fluffy
Post by: Fluffy Che on February 20, 2013, 03:53:19 PM
Cheers..  think all the pix on here are pretty good. Nice to see shots from more experienced photographers to give the newbies some ideas and tips, that includes me as I got my DSLR just over a year ago. Struggled at first but plenty of practice gets you there!!
Post by: Fluffy Che on February 20, 2013, 03:56:07 PM
BTW Skull, your shot of the fly is exceptional..  magazine quality!!
Post by: muppet on February 20, 2013, 03:56:50 PM
Quote from: Fluffy Che on February 20, 2013, 03:56:07 PM
BTW Skull, your shot of the fly is exceptional..  magazine quality!!

Amazing . The Eiffel Tower is pretty cool too.
Post by: theskull1 on February 20, 2013, 05:44:41 PM
Cheers...was probably the second or third attempt with the lens and ring flash I bought so beginners luck

Macro is good fun
Post by: ziggy90 on February 20, 2013, 06:03:23 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on February 06, 2013, 11:49:59 PM

That's one class photo.
Post by: theskull1 on February 20, 2013, 11:09:57 PM
One from up by Ballintoy looking out to Sheeps Island and Rathlin
(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8231/8493761338_ac075cd18d_c.jpg)
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 20, 2013, 11:15:30 PM
You're just f**king showing off now  :)
Post by: ONeill on February 20, 2013, 11:18:10 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on February 20, 2013, 11:09:57 PM
One from up by Ballintoy looking out to Sheeps Island and Rathlin
(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8231/8493761338_ac075cd18d_c.jpg)

Photoshopped the bollocks outta that
Post by: ONeill on February 20, 2013, 11:20:00 PM

That's deadly. What you using for that?
Post by: theskull1 on February 20, 2013, 11:41:02 PM
Minimal processing in photoshop believe or not
Post by: theskull1 on February 20, 2013, 11:43:00 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 20, 2013, 11:20:00 PM

A macro lens and hot shoe flash
Post by: Hardy on February 21, 2013, 11:07:00 AM
I'm dreaming about that feckin fly at this stage.
Post by: Hardy on February 22, 2013, 08:05:13 PM
Submarine racing off Dingle.

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/ocean2_zps9828fcfa.png)
Post by: theticklemister on February 22, 2013, 08:42:20 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 22, 2013, 08:05:13 PM
Submarine racing off Dingle.

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/ocean2_zps9828fcfa.png)

a 5er on the one on the right.
Post by: Syferus on February 22, 2013, 09:48:02 PM
Lately I've become very careful about trying to make any photo manipulation I do unobtrusive but it's always a lot of fun every now and then to cut loose with the editing - this began life as a full colour, digital photograph:

(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8107/8497950149_ff63ab19ce_b.jpg)

Turlough House, the National Museum of Country Life (County Mayo, birr). It's free admission to the estate, the house and the museum itself, well worth a Sunday afternoon trip.
Post by: Fluffy Che on February 23, 2013, 12:16:45 PM
Love the shot of Ballintoy..  very dream-like!
Post by: rrhf on February 23, 2013, 12:26:14 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 20, 2013, 11:20:00 PM

Was that taken at the RDS or Croke Park?
Post by: muppet on February 23, 2013, 03:55:13 PM
Quote from: rrhf on February 23, 2013, 12:26:14 PM
Was that taken at the RDS or Croke Park?

Croker obviously, can't you see it is a fleadom fighter.
Post by: theskull1 on February 27, 2013, 11:39:19 PM
Do I need to tell the city slickers what it is?
(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8104/8514619922_32b3e24bdc_b.jpg)
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 27, 2013, 11:47:12 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on February 27, 2013, 11:39:19 PM
If she's not red keep her in the shed.
Post by: omagh_gael on February 27, 2013, 11:48:33 PM
Brum's country cousin?
Post by: theskull1 on February 28, 2013, 12:16:08 AM
Twice removed
Post by: Aerlik on March 02, 2013, 10:07:26 AM

Worth a lot of moola these days, yer auld MF35
Post by: Aerlik on March 02, 2013, 10:17:54 AM

Not a stupid question, lad, especially if you are using a piece of technology and simply don't know how to use it.  Every day is a school day.

You get Star-shot filters which can be 6-point and above. These add a twinkle effect to lights in photos.  I have a 6- and an 8-point. 

A mate has ND8 and ND4(? I think) Neutral Density Filter which creates some amazing effects.
Post by: Syferus on March 25, 2013, 03:03:37 AM
(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8383/8587376483_c734d9fafc_b.jpg)

Thomas Corcoran. Remember the name.
Post by: Íseal agus crua isteach a on March 25, 2013, 05:18:26 AM
(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/Seamus%20goes%20to%20Ireland/74910_10151237934462424_242640922_n_zps3b7fe764.jpg)
Post by: theticklemister on March 25, 2013, 07:00:54 AM

Its a cow stupid
Post by: theskull1 on March 25, 2013, 08:05:24 AM
Quote from: Íseal agus crua isteach a on March 25, 2013, 05:18:26 AM
(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/Seamus%20goes%20to%20Ireland/74910_10151237934462424_242640922_n_zps3b7fe764.jpg)

Very nice Iaci. Thats shot from just above Ballintoy harbour (or close to it I'm guessing)? What were your settings?
Post by: orangeman on March 25, 2013, 08:41:08 AM
Quote from: Íseal agus crua isteach a on March 25, 2013, 05:18:26 AM

Beautiful picture.

Why go to Norway to see this light show when you can see them at home ?.
Post by: theskull1 on March 25, 2013, 11:32:37 AM
North Coast is hard to beat for landscape/seascape. Heres one close to Garron Point. The wide angle lens offers a weird perspective.

Banana Slices
(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8244/8492696397_e675cd320e_b.jpg)

Post by: Tony Baloney on March 25, 2013, 01:50:40 PM
That's a good un Skull. Sky is impressive looking.
Post by: David McKeown on March 29, 2013, 11:31:40 PM
My first try in weeks, much better camera but just a standard kit lens

(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8111/8601955228_5b2c022c9e_c.jpg)

Please be as brutal as possible
Post by: Orior on March 30, 2013, 07:29:33 PM
That's brilliant David.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on March 30, 2013, 08:27:54 PM
(http://s22.postimg.org/ft4rui40x/streetpic.jpg) (http://postimage.org/)
free image hosting (http://postimage.org/)

Had a go at some astrophotography

(http://s22.postimg.org/871i40fdt/133292_10152133459950714_1071443188_o.jpg) (http://postimage.org/)
upload pic (http://postimage.org/)

Picture of Jupiter and four of it's largest moons.

Not an expert on the camera yet, even after almost a year I am still getting the hang of it.
Post by: Íseal agus crua isteach a on March 30, 2013, 09:06:42 PM
These are not my pictures but my brothers. He is not a member of the GAA board so I will share them on his behalf.

These were taken in Baile an tuaighe he used a fuji film fine pix s9600.

(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/294600_10151141724404846_1872812332_n_zpsd63babef.jpg)
(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/549023_10151269700909846_896239496_n_zps419fd296.jpg)
Post by: theskull1 on March 30, 2013, 11:26:26 PM
He was a member at a time was he not? Remember seeing some great shots of his a few years back...thought it was on this forum
Post by: heffo on March 31, 2013, 08:51:55 AM
Some really good pics here
Post by: Norf Tyrone on March 31, 2013, 10:10:12 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on March 29, 2013, 11:31:40 PM

That shot reminds of The Hobbit. Cool photo!
Post by: David McKeown on March 31, 2013, 11:44:22 AM
Quote from: Orior on March 30, 2013, 07:29:33 PM
That's brilliant David.

Thanks. I'm awful at photography so I just thought I'd set myself a goal this year of getting better. I've improved a little but I've a lot further to go
Post by: Fluffy Che on March 31, 2013, 11:53:31 AM
Some crackers here..  I feel a distinct Middle-Earth vibe! Nice work.
Post by: Hardy on March 31, 2013, 12:43:41 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on March 31, 2013, 10:10:12 AM

I don't know much about photography but there seems to be amazing depth of field in that pic - if that's what you call it when the foreground and middle ground both seem to be in focus. How is that done?
Post by: laoislad on March 31, 2013, 01:15:03 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 31, 2013, 12:43:41 PM

I don't know much about photography but there seems to be amazing depth of field in that pic - if that's what you call it when the foreground and middle ground both seem to be in focus. How is that done?
You have to have a small aperture by setting the f/stop to a high number like f/22
Post by: David McKeown on March 31, 2013, 01:44:07 PM
Quote from: laoislad on March 31, 2013, 01:15:03 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 31, 2013, 12:43:41 PM

You have to have a small aperture by setting the f/stop to a high number like f/22

Usually I would use f/22 but this was f/10 as an experiment as much as anything else
Post by: Hardy on March 31, 2013, 02:26:31 PM
Thanks. It looks great anyway.
Post by: NAG1 on April 03, 2013, 01:59:03 PM
Guys have been looking in this thread for a while, have an interest in photography and am using a basic enough kodak camera, was looking to upgrade to a proper DSLR camera, doesnt need to be top of the range or anything even second hand doesnt bother me to I figure out what iIam doing with it properly.

So any advice on a start up camera/ kit? cheers
Post by: Fluffy Che on April 03, 2013, 08:01:37 PM
You could start with a bridge camera, to take you across so to speak! I started with a Fugifilm Finepix S1800. cracking wee camera that I still use on occasion, got a great zoom on it. Takes superb shots, crisp and sharp. Then I jumped on the wagon and got a Canon Rebel/1000D. basically entry level DSLR and the quality of the photographs jumped considerably. Have won the odd comp. with that one! But there's loads of choice out there, which can be part of the problem!!
Start off small, see if you fancy it..  then Sky's the limit. or your pocket more like.

Fugi was around £130 and Canon was £340. Good luck
Post by: Armaghgeddon on April 03, 2013, 08:19:39 PM
I agree with Fluffy Che. If you have no experience of a SLR camera then don't bother wasting the money on the camera and lenses, go for a bridge camera first and learn about the manual settings with that. You can still take some amazing pictures with a bridge camera that won't cost you £100's. I have got a Sony HX100V super zoom camera and it still does a very good job. The only reason I would want to go for an SLR would be for Astrophotography.
Post by: Fluffy Che on April 03, 2013, 08:29:52 PM
(http://i1336.photobucket.com/albums/o650/strumski1/032_zpsf859ab56.jpg)

Taken with bridge camera...  Fugifilm Finepix.
Post by: Fluffy Che on April 03, 2013, 08:31:41 PM
(http://i1336.photobucket.com/albums/o650/strumski1/033_zps85a30ded.jpg)

Taken with DSLR...Canon 1000d.

Sorry about sizes...  have'nt cracked it yet.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on April 03, 2013, 09:38:49 PM
Just thought I would have a go at pics of jupiter to see if I could get it's colour. Couldn't but got an ok pic as usual. This time with the Galilean moons in line.

(http://s22.postimg.org/or615cp41/DSC03581.jpg) (http://postimage.org/)
free picture hosting (http://postimage.org/)
Post by: theskull1 on April 03, 2013, 10:29:38 PM
Two keepers there che....excellent compositions
Post by: Fluffy Che on April 04, 2013, 11:34:52 AM
Cheers skull...  was trying to show the difference between the two cameras, maybe not a lot depending on the viewer, different scenes may present better on different formats. All down to individual choice I suppose.
I think these two have lost a little clarity on their travels...
Post by: Syferus on April 04, 2013, 03:58:39 PM
Top class stuff Che, you've got a real eye for framing scenes.
Post by: NAG1 on April 05, 2013, 10:41:35 AM
Quote from: Fluffy Che on April 04, 2013, 11:34:52 AM
Cheers skull...  was trying to show the difference between the two cameras, maybe not a lot depending on the viewer, different scenes may present better on different formats. All down to individual choice I suppose.
I think these two have lost a little clarity on their travels...

Just a bit more info, I am currently using a Kodak EasyShare DX6490 Digital Camera, is this what you would term a bridging camera?

I think its a great camera, but can be slow to react at times and doesnt offer the greatest variety in terms of manual settings etc.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 05, 2013, 11:01:12 AM
The evolution of this board reflects the slow emasculation of men that has been happening for the last 30 years, I recall threads about cooking, man bangs and now a love in about photography, no wonder the Arabs see us as fair game for picking off!  Oh for the days of pints of stout, 2am fry ups and a good auld session of dog kicking before bating/being bate by the wife! :P
Post by: Syferus on April 05, 2013, 12:44:22 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 05, 2013, 11:01:12 AM
The evolutions of this board reflects the slow emasculation of men that has been happening for the last 30 years, I recall threads about cooking, man bangs and now a love in about photography, no wonder the Arabs see us as fair game for picking off!  Oh for the days of pints of stout, 2am fry ups and a good auld session of dog kicking before bating/being bate by the wife! :P

I tried to take pictures of Cross people but they had no reflection. I guess I was lucky I had some garlic bread on the way to the match.
Post by: Hardy on April 05, 2013, 05:23:35 PM
The evolution of this board reflects the slow emasculation of men that has been happening for the last 30 years, I recall threads about cooking, man bangs and now a love in about photography, no wonder the Arabs see us as fair game for picking off!  Oh for the days of pints of stout, 2am fry ups and a good auld session of dog kicking before bating/being bate by the wife! :P
You're dead right, but I don't recall that one (thankfully).
Post by: Bord na Mona man on April 05, 2013, 05:25:24 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 05, 2013, 05:23:35 PM
One of the soccer topics maybe!
Post by: muppet on April 05, 2013, 06:17:35 PM

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=14983.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=14983.0)

Then there was the Male Grooming thread. The amazing amount of 'lads' that use moisturiser. I tried it and hated it, then I added brandy and could just about force it down.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 05, 2013, 07:41:55 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 05, 2013, 06:17:35 PM

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=14983.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=14983.0)

Then there was the Male Grooming thread. The amazing amount of 'lads' that use moisturiser. I tried it and hated it, then I added brandy and could just about force it down.
Forgot about that thread!

Disturbingly there are 4 among our number using hair straighteners. Must be Dubs or McCooeys.
Post by: Fluffy Che on April 05, 2013, 08:15:51 PM
Cheers Syf...

Just a bit more info, I am currently using a Kodak EasyShare DX6490 Digital Camera, is this what you would term a bridging camera?

I think its a great camera, but can be slow to react at times and doesnt offer the greatest variety in terms of manual settings etc.

Have looked at some results online from the Kodak and they look fine to me, though less variety in the manual dept. may be a problem if you were shooting in low light or motion shots. Having said that some of my own fave shots have been captured on auto..  there can be a bit of snobbery and a lot of wankery about technical settings etc. I always go with the captured image and if it's good then who cares what your settings are?
I think the Kodak is def bridge territory and if you're happy with the results then that's good enough!
Post by: laoislad on April 05, 2013, 08:28:59 PM

A tool who uses a man bag,or worse one of those man scarfs, is hardly the same as someone who is into Photography.
Photography is a skill. 
Post by: gortnaleck on April 06, 2013, 02:13:27 AM
Hey Syferus,  I played with Tom  Corcoran out in San Fran for a few years
Post by: Syferus on April 06, 2013, 03:10:05 AM
Quote from: gortnaleck on April 06, 2013, 02:13:27 AM
Hey Syferus,  I played with Tom  Corcoran out in San Fran for a few years

I assume it's a different Thomas Corcoran? This lad's still in secondary school.
Post by: ziggy90 on April 07, 2013, 11:54:53 AM
Quote from: laoislad on April 05, 2013, 08:28:59 PM

A tool who uses a man bag,or worse one of those man scarfs, is hardly the same as someone who is into Photography.
Photography is a skill

Mostly employed by people who use man bag's or horror of horrror's a man scarf. :P
Post by: Syferus on April 13, 2013, 09:39:04 PM
Urlaur Lake, County Wa-yo:

(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8102/8645615175_894a9cb690_b.jpg)
Post by: Fluffy Che on April 14, 2013, 10:30:05 AM
Cool reflection...   and I like the lonely swan!
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 30, 2013, 08:55:50 PM
I know the Nikon D3100 has been out a few years but it is very attractively priced at less than £300 in Curry's Anyone think it is worth a punt as an entry point into DSLR photography? Decent reviews on Amazon.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B00403MA4M (http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B00403MA4M)
Post by: Orior on April 30, 2013, 09:23:01 PM
Acton Lake, outside Poyntzpass at 6am last Saturday morning, taken with an iPhone.

(http://img5.imageshack.us/img5/1218/27apr2013022.jpg)
Post by: Syferus on June 06, 2013, 11:51:13 PM
It's amazing how good phone cameras have become, compacts really are starting to feel the squeeze now. Great stuff, Orior.

I had an ould walk down the meadow now that the Leaving Cert weather is upon us:

(http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3816/8973590130_877ec03749_o.jpg)
Post by: Puckoon on June 07, 2013, 12:02:21 AM
I like that picture there Syferus. Thanks for sharing that one.
Post by: moysider on June 07, 2013, 12:56:39 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 06, 2013, 11:51:13 PM
It's amazing how good phone cameras have become, compacts really are starting to feel the squeeze now. Great stuff, Orior.

I had an ould walk down the meadow now that the Leaving Cert weather is upon us:

Good luck with the rest of the exams Sy.
Post by: Syferus on June 07, 2013, 01:00:56 AM
Quote from: moysider on June 07, 2013, 12:56:39 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 06, 2013, 11:51:13 PM

Good luck with the rest of the exams Sy.

Already sent my exam paper in to the Mr. Breheny! Anxiously waiting results. Wish me the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Post by: theskull1 on June 07, 2013, 01:07:21 AM
My lightspeed peacock ..you need to stand back from the monitor

(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8229/8493953462_f8b72f1995_b.jpg)
Post by: Syferus on July 05, 2013, 03:06:08 PM
Big Eammo lining out for the Sligo minors:

(http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3741/9216667152_b956d72a3a_o.jpg)
Post by: Syferus on July 23, 2013, 10:24:39 PM
The King of Mayo on his return to Connacht final Sunday after missing the last two at Dr. Hyde, ahem:

(http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2860/9354913508_3a7c4259c8_o.jpg)
Post by: Norf Tyrone on August 27, 2013, 06:18:56 PM
Anyone know of anywhere that does camera repairs in the wee six? It's not a massively complicated job, but I'd rather leave it to an expert!
Post by: ziggysego on September 04, 2013, 10:17:28 AM
(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/2013-06-25_invisible-omagh_zps951cb372.jpg)
Post by: Orior on September 04, 2013, 11:03:14 AM
Is that nearing exploitaton Ziggy?

A good photo by the way.
Post by: ziggysego on September 04, 2013, 12:08:22 PM
Quote from: Orior on September 04, 2013, 11:03:14 AM

Paid him for it and he was happy to do it.
Post by: Orior on September 04, 2013, 01:34:24 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 04, 2013, 12:20:48 PM
It's no big issue.

very good!
Post by: ziggysego on September 04, 2013, 01:45:40 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 04, 2013, 12:20:48 PM
It's no big issue.

Ba-da boom!  ;)
Post by: theskull1 on September 04, 2013, 10:54:15 PM
Nothing more than a gratuitous self portrait  ;)
Post by: Babe Ruth 47 on September 04, 2013, 11:16:34 PM
One of my favourite snaps. The building has been subsequently demolished.

(http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6207/6037231712_cc36bd7a7c_z.jpg)
Post by: Syferus on September 04, 2013, 11:50:58 PM
Wonderful pic, Babe. I love pictures of decay, they always reach down a little deeper.
Post by: ziggysego on September 05, 2013, 09:24:43 AM
Quote from: Babe Ruth 47 on September 04, 2013, 11:16:34 PM
One of my favourite snaps. The building has been supsequently demolished.

(http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6207/6037231712_cc36bd7a7c_z.jpg)

Love this picture Ruth. The composition of the arches works wonderfully here.
Post by: highorlow on September 05, 2013, 10:44:39 AM
Is that the part of the athletic grounds where they used to hold Francie before a match?

Looks like he was doing a lot of damage before he was released onto the field.
Post by: Square Ball on September 23, 2013, 03:17:23 PM
(http://i952.photobucket.com/albums/ae8/boyddevlin/IMG_0132_zpsc53a320a.jpg)

(http://i952.photobucket.com/albums/ae8/boyddevlin/IMG_0134_zpse65fa112.jpg)

(http://i952.photobucket.com/albums/ae8/boyddevlin/IMG_0103_zpsb78ab871.jpg)
Post by: Orior on September 23, 2013, 03:59:41 PM
The bottom one reminds me of an old joke.

Back in the 1920s, the nuns in a convent were going to get their photograph taken. The photographer gets all the nuns to sit is a group, then he sets up his tripod and disappears under a cloak at the back of the camera.

One nun says to the other "what is he doing now?"

"He is going to focus"

"What? All of us?"
Title: 21 Yard free taking in hurling
Post by: joe cullinan on September 23, 2013, 05:23:09 PM

Hi All
I have sent this content to Croke Park for the powers that be to check the rule book on 21 yard free taking in hurling

I want you to check the rules on 21yard frees in relation to where the player should take the free from

Is it from 21 yards out or is it from 12 yards out as happened in the all Ireland hurling final

I am concerned in relation to the Safety of the players in the net trying to stop the ball going into the net

There is a very high risk of injury to those players in the net based on risk assessment that i have carried out

The difference between the two distances and the speed of the ball causing a hazardous situation for the players please look into my concerns

If the player taking the 21 yard free does not adhere to the rules layed down it should be a free out

Health & Safety Consultant

Regards
Joe Cullinan
Title: Re: 21 Yard free taking in hurling
Post by: Orior on September 23, 2013, 05:39:09 PM
Quote from: joe cullinan on September 23, 2013, 05:23:09 PM

Hi All
I have sent this content to Croke Park for the powers that be to check the rule book on 21 yard free taking in hurling

I want you to check the rules on 21yard frees in relation to where the player should take the free from

Is it from 21 yards out or is it from 12 yards out as happened in the all Ireland hurling final

I am concerned in relation to the Safety of the players in the net trying to stop the ball going into the net

There is a very high risk of injury to those players in the net based on risk assessment that i have carried out

The difference between the two distances and the speed of the ball causing a hazardous situation for the players please look into my concerns

If the player taking the 21 yard free does not adhere to the rules layed down it should be a free out

Regards
Joe Cullinan

Joe, did you not wear a helmet when you were playing?

Get your eyesight checked.  This is the photography thread.
Post by: Nally Stand on September 23, 2013, 05:57:05 PM
Quote from: Orior on September 23, 2013, 05:39:09 PM

Hi All

Regards
Joe Cullinan

Joe, did you not wear a helmet when you were playing?

Get your eyesight checked.  This is the photography thread.

Absolutely right. No man should be allowed to even walk onto past a hurling field without the following as a minimum....

(http://www.eiha.co.uk/Portals/1/NetMinder%20Kit.jpg)
Post by: Syferus on September 23, 2013, 06:34:09 PM
How could you pollute my thread so, Joe? :(
Post by: ziggysego on September 23, 2013, 06:39:47 PM

Hi All

Regards
Joe Cullinan

(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/images_zpsd48fcd7b.jpeg)
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 23, 2013, 08:50:00 PM
Great pictures from my auld sod Square Ball.
Post by: Minder on September 23, 2013, 08:53:35 PM
Good lad Square Ball, tough climb up Lurig ? Haven't been up it in years
Post by: Square Ball on September 23, 2013, 09:04:28 PM
it was in deed tough but well worth it for that view, it was stunning given Scotland was so clear. was down in August for 10 days, no finer place to be. raging that we wernt there for the festival but gonna make sure were there next year.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 24, 2013, 08:26:50 AM
Some good shots there Fionn.

They need to let the sheep onto the field in the bottom picture.
Post by: Bensars on October 03, 2013, 10:46:41 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 04, 2013, 10:17:28 AM
(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/2013-06-25_invisible-omagh_zps951cb372.jpg)

One tip for the future Ziggy,  Make sure your own reflection isnt in the shot you are taking !

Reminds me of the story Sam Torrance  told on question of sport !
Post by: AQMP on October 03, 2013, 10:52:59 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on October 03, 2013, 12:18:25 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 24, 2013, 08:26:50 AM

Last two photos was an away league game. :p
We've a reputation to keep up!

Who's that you're playing in the white and red Fionnt??
Post by: johnneycool on October 03, 2013, 11:09:58 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on October 03, 2013, 11:05:54 AM
Quote from: AQMP on October 03, 2013, 10:52:59 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on October 03, 2013, 12:18:25 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 24, 2013, 08:26:50 AM

Last two photos was an away league game. :p
We've a reputation to keep up!

Drumquin.

I presume its junior B going by the physique of some of the players..
Post by: AQMP on October 03, 2013, 11:18:54 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on October 03, 2013, 11:13:37 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on October 03, 2013, 11:09:58 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on October 03, 2013, 11:05:54 AM
Quote from: AQMP on October 03, 2013, 10:52:59 AM
Drumquin.

I presume its junior B going by the physique of some of the players..
Division 3/Junior football league in Tyrone.

Looks like the grass could do with a bit of a trim there Fionnt!
Post by: ziggysego on October 03, 2013, 11:28:59 AM
Quote from: Bensars on October 03, 2013, 10:46:41 AM
One tip for the future Ziggy,  Make sure your own reflection isnt in the shot you are taking !

Reminds me of the story Sam Torrance  told on question of sport !

(http://www.adinnerguest.com/wp-content/uploads/homer_doh.png)
Post by: theskull1 on October 03, 2013, 11:48:12 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on September 04, 2013, 10:54:15 PM
Nothing more than a gratuitous self portrait  ;)

A whole month for that penny to drop  ::)
Post by: Orior on October 03, 2013, 12:20:45 PM
I like the picture of the young girls match. They have no idea about positioning or space - just everyone run after the ball.
Post by: johnneycool on October 03, 2013, 12:28:41 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 03, 2013, 12:20:45 PM
I like the picture of the young girls match. They have no idea about positioning or space - just everyone run after the ball.

Bloody ignoramus, that's a blanket defence.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 11, 2013, 11:37:21 PM
Looking possibly to get a camera for xmas, though the missus has got me something completely different!!!

What type of camera for beginners would be the best buy? Would like it for taking (don't know if this is right) action shots? like gaa games, sports my kids are playing in or whatever else.
Post by: theskull1 on December 11, 2013, 11:49:58 PM
You'd need a high end dslr with a good long glass for taking action shots. Technique and positioning important as well

Ball park £1500 at the very low end, all the up to £15000 for likes of what curly works with :o

Post by: Syferus on December 12, 2013, 12:28:11 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on December 11, 2013, 11:49:58 PM
You'd need a high end dslr with a good long glass for taking action shots. Technique and positioning important as well

Ball park £1500 at the very low end, all the up to £15000 for likes of what curly works with :o

I get away with a Cannon 600D (700D is the newest model in that range) that was £400ish with a £120ish 50-250mm Cannon lens at matches perfectly fine. Set it to sport mode and you'll get good shots if your timing is good.

No reason to go straight for the mad dear stuff if you're making you first steps into DSLR.

A bridge camera might be a better (and far cheaper than any DSLR) if you're a total beginner with cameras. Will be slower but they tend to have good range and get you experiment with a lot of direct aspects of photography that would require multiple lens in the DSLR world.
Post by: theskull1 on December 12, 2013, 01:06:18 AM
Quote from: Syferus on December 12, 2013, 12:28:11 AM

I get away with a Cannon 600D (700D is the newest model in that range) that was £400ish with a £120ish 50-250mm Cannon lens at matches.

And it shows  :D

Post by: Syferus on December 12, 2013, 01:19:53 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on December 12, 2013, 01:06:18 AM

I get away with a Cannon 600D (700D is the newest model in that range) that was £400ish with a £120ish 50-250mm Cannon lens at matches.

And it shows  :D

(http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8084/8422487662_98ccffdc3b_b.jpg)

Nah
Post by: ballela-angel on December 12, 2013, 02:26:53 AM
The Photographer
The Smiths were unable to conceive children and decided to use a surrogate father to start their family. On the day the proxy father was to arrive, Mr. Smith kissed his wife goodbye and said, "Well, I'm off now. The man should be here soon."
Half an hour later, just by chance, a door-to-door baby photographer happened to ring the doorbell, hoping to make a sale. "Good morning, Ma'am", he said, "I've come to..."
"Oh, no need to explain," Mrs. Smith cut in, embarrassed, "I've been expecting you."
"Have you really?" said the photographer. "Well, that's good. Did you know babies are my specialty?"
"Well that's what my husband and I had hoped. Please come in and have a seat".
After a moment she asked, blushing, "Well, where do we start?"
"Leave everything to me. I usually try two in the bathtub, one on the couch, and perhaps a couple on the bed. And sometimes the living room floor is fun. You can really spread out there."
"Bathtub, living room floor? No wonder it didn't work out for Harry and me!"
"Well, Ma'am, none of us can guarantee a good one every time. But if we try several different positions and I shoot from six or seven angles, I'm sure you'll be pleased with the results."
"My, that's a lot!", gasped Mrs. Smith.
"Ma'am, in my line of work a man has to take his time. I'd love to be In and out in five minutes, but I'm sure you'd be disappointed with that."
"Don't I know it," said Mrs. Smith quietly.
The photographer opened his briefcase and pulled out a portfolio of his baby pictures. "This was done on the top of a bus," he said.
"Oh, my God!" Mrs. Smith exclaimed, grasping at her throat.
"And these twins turned out exceptionally well - when you consider their mother was so difficult to work with."
"She was difficult?" asked Mrs. Smith.
"Yes, I'm afraid so. I finally had to take her to the park to get the job done right. People were crowding around four and five deep to get a good look"
"Four and five deep?" said Mrs. Smith, her eyes wide with amazement.
"Yes", the photographer replied. "And for more than three hours, too. The mother was constantly squealing and yelling - I could hardly concentrate, and when darkness approached I had to rush my shots. Finally, when the squirrels began nibbling on my equipment, I just had to pack it all in."
Mrs. Smith leaned forward. "Do you mean they actually chewed on your, uh...equipment?"
"It's true, Ma'am, yes.. Well, if you're ready, I'll set-up my tripod and we can get to work right away."
"Tripod?"
"Oh yes, Ma'am. I need to use a tripod to rest my Canon on. It's much too big to be held in the hand very long."
Mrs. Smith fainted  ;D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 12, 2013, 09:00:19 AM

f**k!!!!! That'll not keep her happy, I only spent £200 on her lol, ah well I worth it and more time out of the house is always a bonus.

Cheers lads, her heads melted after getting me something that I might not like according to her, though its a sporting thing so can't be all bad
Post by: laoislad on December 12, 2013, 09:07:16 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 12, 2013, 09:00:19 AM

f**k!!!!! That'll not keep her happy, I only spent £200 on her lol, ah well I worth it and more time out of the house is always a bonus.

Cheers lads, her heads melted after getting me something that I might not like according to her, though its a sporting thing so can't be all bad
Should have just giving you money so you could buy something you actually want.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 12, 2013, 03:14:50 PM

I get away with a Cannon 600D (700D is the newest model in that range) that was £400ish with a £120ish 50-250mm Cannon lens at matches perfectly fine. Set it to sport mode and you'll get good shots if your timing is good.

No reason to go straight for the mad dear stuff if you're making you first steps into DSLR.

A bridge camera might be a better (and far cheaper than any DSLR) if you're a total beginner with cameras. Will be slower but they tend to have good range and get you experiment with a lot of direct aspects of photography that would require multiple lens in the DSLR world.

Canon EOS 400D / Digital Rebel Xti 10.1 MP Digital SLR Camera

Going for 150 on ebay, well what ya think?

Post by: Syferus on December 12, 2013, 03:46:43 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 12, 2013, 03:14:50 PM

A big question to ask if it's not been stated is how many actuations (basically, shots taken) the camera has. Most consumer DSLRs are rated for about 100k actuations.

If the 400D has relatively low wear and tear that's a decent price - older DSLRs can still produce excellent picture quality - does it come with any lens?
Post by: Main Street on December 12, 2013, 03:58:11 PM

It's a bog standard quality dslr and that's a good price.
What type of lens is with it? or is it just the body?
You only have a viewfinder image of the picture you about to take. The image of the  picture you are about to take does not show on the lcd screen, only after you take it. No movie recordings.
No manual zoom, which is no issue at all.
I had a 18 -135 IS lens    a wide field  excellent for wide angle -  sports and landscape.
If you just have a camera body, then you have to factor in a lens about £180  s/h
Having an IS in the lens name is compulsory, stands for Image Stabilisation. It's a hoor to keep a rock solid steady camera just held by hand, especially in lower light situations.

I used this camera for a few years and loved it but I had to learn to use it.
Post by: Syferus on December 12, 2013, 04:10:46 PM
Quote from: Main Street on December 12, 2013, 03:58:11 PM

It's a bog standard quality dslr and that's a good price.
What type of lens is with it? or is it just the body?
You only have a viewfinder image of the picture you about to take. The image of the  picture you are about to take does not show on the lcd screen, only after you take it. No movie recordings.
No manual zoom, which is no issue at all.
I had a 18 -135 IS lens    a wide field  excellent for wide angle -  sports and landscape.
If you just have a camera body, then you have to factor in a lens about £180  s/h
Having an IS in the lens name is compulsory, stands for Image Stabilisation. It's a hoor to keep a rock solid steady camera just held by hand, especially in lower light situations.

I used this camera for a few years and loved it but I had to learn to use it.

The Canon 50-250mm lens I mentioned has IS (and excellent range and reviews) and is £137 delivered on Amazon. It was actually only 124.99 last night but as these are sellers whose orders are being fulfilled by Amazon the price can fluctuate. The price of lens fluctuate at the best of times anyways.
Post by: Main Street on December 12, 2013, 04:31:32 PM
That's a good price, no question.
Personally I don't want to be carrying around lenses and would want a wide angle zoom lens starting at ca 18mm.
The camera and one lens is more than bulky enough.There's already enough paraphernalia for me to consider, my classic iPod, phone  full sized headphones, headphone amp, wallet and dog (sometime on a leash).
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 12, 2013, 05:21:55 PM
Quote from: Syferus on December 12, 2013, 03:46:43 PM

A big question to ask if it's not been stated is how many actuations (basically, shots taken) the camera has. Most consumer DSLRs are rated for about 100k actuations.

If the 400D has relatively low wear and tear that's a decent price - older DSLRs can still produce excellent picture quality - does it come with any lens?

Not sure, seller said mint condition!!  :P
Post by: Main Street on December 12, 2013, 08:56:28 PM
It probably has the standard lens  18-55mm.

Post by: Bingo on December 19, 2013, 09:00:59 PM
http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/5597879/c_1/1%7Ccategory_root%7CPhotography%7C14419436/c_2/3%7Ccat_19780865%7CDigital+cameras%7C14419441.htm (http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/5597879/c_1/1%7Ccategory_root%7CPhotography%7C14419436/c_2/3%7Ccat_19780865%7CDigital+cameras%7C14419441.htm)

Lads, anyone tell me if this camera is good value and a good camera?

Or this one http://www.pcworld.ie/Product/NIKON-D3100-Digital-SLR-Camera-with-1855mm-Zoom-Lens/298550/12.4 (http://www.pcworld.ie/Product/NIKON-D3100-Digital-SLR-Camera-with-1855mm-Zoom-Lens/298550/12.4)

Cheers
Post by: laoislad on December 19, 2013, 09:06:39 PM
Quote from: Bingo on December 19, 2013, 09:00:59 PM
http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/5597879/c_1/1%7Ccategory_root%7CPhotography%7C14419436/c_2/3%7Ccat_19780865%7CDigital+cameras%7C14419441.htm (http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/5597879/c_1/1%7Ccategory_root%7CPhotography%7C14419436/c_2/3%7Ccat_19780865%7CDigital+cameras%7C14419441.htm)

Lads, anyone tell me if this camera is good value and a good camera?

Cheers

Yeah I think that's decent and a fair price.
You won't go wrong buying Canon or Nikon to be honest.

Will be looking for a new DSLR myself after xmas. I dropped my Sony A700 Dslr a few weeks ago up near the Bailey lighthouse and it will be cheaper buy a new one nearly than get it repaired.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 25, 2013, 08:35:52 AM
Ok Santa has just left me a Nikon 1 J2 model Zoom lens kit

Looks fairly hi tec but I'll wait on judgement from those who know more about it, so what ya think?
Post by: ONeill on December 25, 2013, 09:42:03 AM
Heap a shite
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 25, 2013, 09:44:24 AM
Quote from: ONeill on December 25, 2013, 09:42:03 AM
Heap a shite

Thanks  ;D

I'll take it back lol
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 25, 2013, 12:05:04 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 25, 2013, 08:35:52 AM

Looks fairly hi tec but I'll wait on judgement from those who know more about it, so what ya think?

Cracking bit of kit. What about the Mrs, Bon Jovi LPs blasting around chateau Milltown this morning?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 25, 2013, 12:22:01 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on December 25, 2013, 12:05:04 PM

Cracking bit of kit. What about the Mrs, Bon Jovi LPs blasting around chateau Milltown this morning?

Aye chuffed to bits, Black Sabbath and the rest!!
Post by: Syferus on December 25, 2013, 12:47:29 PM

A great camera. Buy the Nikon 50mm lens when you're feeling confident, it's cheap as all hell and even though compared to other cameras a kit lens is great the difference between it and a quality prime lens is night-and-day - and it will come into its own at night when it can snap away in low light with very few problems.

Will be a bastard trying to get Santa to honour the warranty, though.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 19, 2014, 11:04:49 PM
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/1546078_711204165580699_879285250_n.jpg)
Post by: Syferus on January 19, 2014, 11:12:51 PM
Deadly stuff Milltown, but you really shouldn't be taking pictures while you're reffing! :D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 19, 2014, 11:17:51 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 19, 2014, 11:12:51 PM
Deadly stuff Milltown, but you really shouldn't be taking pictures while you're reffing! :D

I'd love to take a shot like that, but hopefully as the year goes I'll get close
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 20, 2014, 08:50:17 AM
Quote from: hardstation on January 19, 2014, 11:48:45 PM
Did you miss the 'Own Works Only' bit in the title?

FFS milltown, wake up.

I know, anyone think this deserves a yellow card?
Post by: armaghniac on January 20, 2014, 10:15:31 AM
QuoteI know, anyone think this deserves a yellow card?

Black card. Off with you.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 20, 2014, 10:36:51 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 20, 2014, 10:15:31 AM
QuoteI know, anyone think this deserves a yellow card?

Black card. Off with you.

No black cards in hurling ;)
Post by: orangeman on February 04, 2014, 03:00:49 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/in-pictures-25983313

Some deadly photies here.
Post by: ONeill on February 11, 2014, 01:30:54 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BfuxLg6CcAAf4Wr.jpg:large)

I was in Granard yesterday.
Post by: Billys Boots on February 11, 2014, 01:37:55 PM
QuoteI was in Granard yesterday.

Did you take that pic?  Looks to have had a bit of modernisation done recently.
Post by: EC Unique on March 05, 2014, 05:00:31 PM
Obviously not my own works but seriously cool selfie!

(http://db2.stb.s-msn.com/i/96/194ef3076afff5ba4b4f3c2e946f/_h170_w300_m6_otrue_lfalse.jpg)
Post by: southdown on March 20, 2014, 03:47:29 PM
Got a Nikon D5000 SLR and a book called "The Nikon D5000 for dummies." Hoping to get some pics up here soon.  In the meantime, Im just using the auto mode and its proving fine so far but I will develop as I go through the book.
Post by: David McKeown on July 16, 2014, 01:31:33 AM
After a long layoff with illness I am finally back working on landscape HDR stuff. It feels like trying to relearn everything. Here was last nights effort.

(https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5484/14470643919_2f4bfa3757_c.jpg)
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 16, 2014, 06:09:01 AM
Folks. This deal looks a bit too good. What am I missing here?

I was going to buy a 100-300mm lens for it as well which will be another £75 or so.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Nikon-D5200-Digital-DSLR-Camera-18-55mm-G-VR-Zoom-Lens-Kit-in-UK-Best-Buy-Deal-/271545335946?pt=UK_CamerasPhoto_DigitalCameras_DigitalCameras_JN&hash=item3f395d008a (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Nikon-D5200-Digital-DSLR-Camera-18-55mm-G-VR-Zoom-Lens-Kit-in-UK-Best-Buy-Deal-/271545335946?pt=UK_CamerasPhoto_DigitalCameras_DigitalCameras_JN&hash=item3f395d008a)
Post by: ludermor on July 16, 2014, 08:39:17 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on July 16, 2014, 01:31:33 AM
After a long layoff with illness I am finally back working on landscape HDR stuff. It feels like trying to relearn everything. Here was last nights effort.

that is some shot! 
Post by: theskull1 on July 16, 2014, 09:33:40 AM
HDR is a love or hate thing for photographers. I've seen some urban/industrial/indoor HDR shots which I really love. This is the type of HDR shot I hate though. I think a bracketed long exposure would have given a more pleasing result (to my eye anyway)

Good to hear your back to health
Post by: Hardy on July 16, 2014, 03:13:48 PM
Quote from: ludermor on July 16, 2014, 08:39:17 AMthat is some shot! 

Yeah - pot bunker right, ocean left and centre. And you can't see the flag.
Post by: David McKeown on July 16, 2014, 05:30:35 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on July 16, 2014, 09:33:40 AM
HDR is a love or hate thing for photographers. I've seen some urban/industrial/indoor HDR shots which I really love. This is the type of HDR shot I hate though. I think a bracketed long exposure would have given a more pleasing result (to my eye anyway)

Good to hear your back to health

Yeah I'm not convinced if I like it either but I'm such a bad photographer that I am doing some HDR stuff to improve my framing and long exposures and editing abilities.
Post by: David McKeown on July 25, 2014, 03:33:58 PM
Got out for a couple more during the week, still not fussed on them but I think I am getting a little better. 

(https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5573/14740769472_309e0d8d4e_z.jpg)

(https://farm4.staticflickr.com/3879/14740880092_fcab6c3311_z.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on July 25, 2014, 04:06:52 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on July 25, 2014, 03:33:58 PM
Got out for a couple more during the week, still not fussed on them but I think I am getting a little better. 

(https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5573/14740769472_309e0d8d4e_z.jpg)

(https://farm4.staticflickr.com/3879/14740880092_fcab6c3311_z.jpg)

Is this Dunlewey?
Post by: David McKeown on July 25, 2014, 06:53:03 PM
Top one is yes the other is Bartin's Bay Aghagallon
Post by: ziggysego on July 25, 2014, 06:54:37 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on July 25, 2014, 06:53:03 PM
Top one is yes the other is Bartin's Bay Aghagallon

Thought I recognised that Church. My friend lives at the top of that wee lane. Lovely part of the country.
Post by: David McKeown on July 25, 2014, 06:58:58 PM
Yeah it's gorgeous up there
Post by: moysider on July 25, 2014, 10:55:27 PM
Quote from: ludermor on July 16, 2014, 08:39:17 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on July 16, 2014, 01:31:33 AM

that is some shot!

Yeah. Surreal effect to that.

Post by: mc_grens on July 27, 2014, 12:05:59 PM
Hiya lads. Ive been stopping and starting photography for a year or two- I struggle with setting aside enough time. These are a few of my favourites...

(https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5567/14203634352_b87bba9c39.jpg) (https://flic.kr/p/nD8kDs)KeyWestBassPlayer (https://flic.kr/p/nD8kDs) by ciaran_mcg (https://www.flickr.com/people//), on Flickr

(https://farm4.staticflickr.com/3762/9047267559_493df71d11.jpg) (https://flic.kr/p/eMtBrH)Brooklyn Bridge Sundown (https://flic.kr/p/eMtBrH) by ciaran_mcg (https://www.flickr.com/people//), on Flickr
(This was taken with no tripod in low light so its perhaps not the sharpest, but I love the view)

(https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7158/6681807137_293dbd5881.jpg) (https://flic.kr/p/bbs1tk)Shine A Light (https://flic.kr/p/bbs1tk) by ciaran_mcg (https://www.flickr.com/people//), on Flickr

(https://farm7.staticflickr.com/6093/6351163149_2b5fc800b9.jpg) (https://flic.kr/p/aFenwV)Redmond Bridge, Waterford (https://flic.kr/p/aFenwV) by ciaran_mcg (https://www.flickr.com/people//), on Flickr
(I think this is probably too dark- need to recalibrate my laptop screen!)

(https://farm9.staticflickr.com/8285/7711507114_9539bab278.jpg) (https://flic.kr/p/cKrupd)IMG_3191 (https://flic.kr/p/cKrupd) by ciaran_mcg (https://www.flickr.com/people//), on Flickr

(https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7408/9539824968_6b1b2f71c9.jpg) (https://flic.kr/p/fx16AQ)Mary Elizabeth.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/fx16AQ) by ciaran_mcg (https://www.flickr.com/people//), on Flickr

Feedback is very welcome.
Post by: Syferus on August 05, 2014, 07:30:12 PM
Wonderful stuff, mc_glens.

The one with the church tower is particularly spectacular, the colours are gorgeous. What kit are you using?

Was just calling by to post this, from this year's Connacht final. Mayo, Galway and an elephant. Everything that haunts childrens' nightmares.

(https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5562/14814965416_993e2bff79_o.jpg)
Post by: mc_grens on September 13, 2014, 10:40:19 PM
You're much too kind.

I'm using nothing mad. Just a Canon 500D with a mid range zoom. I think the church was taken using the kit lens.

These are newer:

(https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5591/15192968525_9c9f9486f8.jpg) (https://flic.kr/p/p9xWec)Dun Laoghaire West Pier (https://flic.kr/p/p9xWec) by ciaran_mcg (https://www.flickr.com/people/34497620@N04/), on Flickr

(https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5561/15157764001_36b95d4398.jpg) (https://flic.kr/p/p6rv9D)Howth_ Lighthouse2 (https://flic.kr/p/p6rv9D) by ciaran_mcg (https://www.flickr.com/people/34497620@N04/), on Flickr
Post by: David McKeown on September 15, 2014, 12:10:00 AM
I really like both of those. 
Post by: ziggysego on September 15, 2014, 12:19:01 AM
Excellent mc_grens. I particularly like the bottom picture, the colours of the sun breaking through the clouds.
Post by: nrico2006 on September 15, 2014, 08:29:10 AM
I love the photo of Brooklyn Bridge, have a real fondness for good photos of that bridge and even have one on a wall at home.
Post by: mc_grens on September 15, 2014, 10:19:12 AM
Cheers lads. When people say good things it helps the push to always get a wee bit better.
Post by: hsthompson on January 15, 2015, 05:28:32 PM
Gents I'm a newcomer to this craic but I'm thinking on buying a decent camera with the view to taking some decent quality pictures of club games for our website, and possibly for a club calendar. Any suggestions on what camera I could get that isn't going to bankrupt me?

While I'm here - I also want to buy a decent GoPro that would be able to film club games, but I could also take on holiday. Again nothing insane, I wouldn't want to spend much more than 200sterling on either. Am I being unrealistic? Can you take decent pictures with a GoPro video camera? If I could kill two birds with one stone that would be mighty.

Thanks lads.
Post by: muppet on January 15, 2015, 06:46:12 PM
Quote from: hsthompson on January 15, 2015, 05:28:32 PM
Gents I'm a newcomer to this craic but I'm thinking on buying a decent camera with the view to taking some decent quality pictures of club games for our website, and possibly for a club calendar. Any suggestions on what camera I could get that isn't going to bankrupt me?

While I'm here - I also want to buy a decent GoPro that would be able to film club games, but I could also take on holiday. Again nothing insane, I wouldn't want to spend much more than 200sterling on either. Am I being unrealistic? Can you take decent pictures with a GoPro video camera? If I could kill two birds with one stone that would be mighty.

Thanks lads.

If you are not a professional you could try this cheap imitation of the GoPro: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mobius-ActionCam-Full-HD-Sports-Camera-1080P-30FPS-720P-60FPS-Pocket-Camcorder-/151071891306?rmvSB=true (http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mobius-ActionCam-Full-HD-Sports-Camera-1080P-30FPS-720P-60FPS-Pocket-Camcorder-/151071891306?rmvSB=true)

Far, far cheaper than the GoPro and ideal for someone dipping their toes in this sort of stuff. The one drawback of the Mobius is that there is no viewer so you just turn it on and point. The quality is good though and it records for about 4 hours. Battery lasts an hour but you can use a USB connector to use it beyond an hour.
Post by: moysider on January 17, 2015, 06:34:32 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 15, 2015, 06:46:12 PM

Thanks lads.

If you are not a professional you could try this cheap imitation of the GoPro: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mobius-ActionCam-Full-HD-Sports-Camera-1080P-30FPS-720P-60FPS-Pocket-Camcorder-/151071891306?rmvSB=true (http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mobius-ActionCam-Full-HD-Sports-Camera-1080P-30FPS-720P-60FPS-Pocket-Camcorder-/151071891306?rmvSB=true)

Far, far cheaper than the GoPro and ideal for someone dipping their toes in this sort of stuff. The one drawback of the Mobius is that there is no viewer so you just turn it on and point. The quality is good though and it records for about 4 hours. Battery lasts an hour but you can use a USB connector to use it beyond an hour.

No viewer though! That can t work so well can it?
Post by: muppet on January 18, 2015, 04:49:57 PM
Quote from: moysider on January 17, 2015, 06:34:32 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 15, 2015, 06:46:12 PM

Thanks lads.

No viewer though! That can t work so well can it?

If you use it on, say your car, bike helmet, set it up to record a match etc, you can easily manage without a viewer. Otherwise you will need to connect it via USB to a devise to see anything.
Post by: Denn Forever on July 03, 2015, 12:07:19 PM
This a photo from our clubs tournament.  It's a Photo on Facebook so can't put it up.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=471264996384727&set=a.471258496385377.1073741969.100005036916341&type=1&theater&notif_t=photo_reply

(https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=471264996384727&set=a.471258496385377.1073741969.100005036916341&type=1&theater&notif_t=photo_reply)