Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: tonto1888 on March 26, 2020, 07:43:14 PM

Title: Bands you for forgot you liked
Post by: tonto1888 on March 26, 2020, 07:43:14 PM
So all this staying in has had me going through my music. I feel like I've just discovered oasis having not listened to them in years. What a band. Anybody else rediscovering bands they had forgotten them liked
Title: Re: Bands you for forgot you liked
Post by: bennydorano on March 26, 2020, 07:56:01 PM
JJ72 - specifically the I to the sky album, in heavy rotation atm.

Also slightly related - i've recently taken to watching the Now 70s on the MTV platform, so many great tunes from a neglected and overlooked era.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 26, 2020, 08:02:21 PM
Big Country.
Post by: gallsman on March 26, 2020, 08:08:06 PM
Interpol
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 26, 2020, 09:13:39 PM
Quote from: gallsman on March 26, 2020, 08:08:06 PM
Interpol

Pre Carlos Dengler leaving though.
Post by: ziggy90 on March 26, 2020, 09:19:13 PM
The Spencer Davis Group.
Post by: armaghniac on March 26, 2020, 10:00:47 PM
Nirvana
Post by: weareros on March 26, 2020, 11:25:39 PM
The Proclaimers - heard The Streets of Edinburgh recently and those lads can still pen a good tune.
Post by: ned on March 27, 2020, 08:32:42 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 26, 2020, 08:02:21 PM
Big Country.

Loved them in the 80s. First band I was into!
ZZTop.
Post by: Taylor on March 27, 2020, 08:50:40 AM
A Womans Heart - was a compilation album I had completely forgot about.

It really is superb stuff
Post by: seafoid on March 27, 2020, 09:05:23 AM
Ultravox
Post by: five points on March 27, 2020, 09:45:37 AM
Big Country.

Ditto. Went through a recent phase of playing Fields of Fire over and over on Youtube. Stirring stuff. Chance is good too, hadn't heard it in I'd say 20 years.
Post by: illdecide on March 27, 2020, 10:04:36 AM
The Stone Roses (Made Od Stone 1989)
Post by: seafoid on March 27, 2020, 11:43:47 AM
The Cult. She sells sanctuary is still looking well.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on March 27, 2020, 12:12:34 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 27, 2020, 11:43:47 AM

Even better during Layer Cake.

Anyone admitting to U2...at the start obviously.
Post by: Substandard on March 27, 2020, 01:07:40 PM
James- so much more to them than Sit Down.
Ocean Colour Scene.
REM's first 4 albums all worth a listen.
Post by: johnnycool on March 27, 2020, 01:40:44 PM
Quote from: Taylor on March 27, 2020, 08:50:40 AM

Ah sweet fúck, a womans heart you say. I'd shared a house with two girls who loved that and it was on repeat for years.

I think I'd boke if I ever hear it again.

Getting back into G'N'R, Use your illusions albums, vastly underrated.
Post by: BennyCake on March 27, 2020, 01:44:06 PM
Quote from: Substandard on March 27, 2020, 01:07:40 PM
James- so much more to them than Sit Down.
Ocean Colour Scene.
REM's first 4 albums all worth a listen.

Good call.
Post by: Armamike on March 27, 2020, 02:13:20 PM
Quote from: five points on March 27, 2020, 09:45:37 AM
Big Country.

Ditto. Went through a recent phase of playing Fields of Fire over and over on Youtube. Stirring stuff. Chance is good too, hadn't heard it in I'd say 20 years.

Saw them at the Kings Hall December 1984.  Best ever gig I was at.  Brilliant live band, great stirring music.
Post by: mackers on March 27, 2020, 02:53:20 PM
Quote from: Armamike on March 27, 2020, 02:13:20 PM
Big Country.

Saw them at the Kings Hall December 1984.  Best ever gig I was at.  Brilliant live band, great stirring music.
Went to see them in the Mandela Hall in the Queen's Student Union in the early 90's.  Absolutely brilliant concert. 
Post by: Taylor on March 27, 2020, 03:25:28 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 27, 2020, 01:40:44 PM
Quote from: Taylor on March 27, 2020, 08:50:40 AM

Ah sweet fúck, a womans heart you say. I'd shared a house with two girls who loved that and it was on repeat for years.

I think I'd boke if I ever hear it again.

Getting back into G'N'R, Use your illusions albums, vastly underrated.

If it was on repeat for years I may have a different opinion
Post by: ned on March 27, 2020, 06:34:35 PM
Quote from: mackers on March 27, 2020, 02:53:20 PM
Quote from: Armamike on March 27, 2020, 02:13:20 PM
Big Country.

Went to see them in the Mandela Hall in the Queen's Student Union in the early 90's.  Absolutely brilliant concert.

Very jealous! Have seen plenty on YouTube of their live stuff. Very good.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 27, 2020, 06:37:05 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on March 27, 2020, 12:12:34 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 27, 2020, 11:43:47 AM

Even better during Layer Cake.

Anyone admitting to U2...at the start obviously.

I'm not ashamed to say I always liked U2. Never went off them. Some of their stuff is timeless. Sounds as good today as it ever did. Bono's voice isn't what it used to be but it's still a great show to watch live.
Post by: naka on March 27, 2020, 07:16:19 PM
Hothouse flowers
Had them on earlier, jeez it took me back to
Self aid, rds, etc.
Post by: seafoid on March 27, 2020, 07:30:55 PM
My bloody valentine
Post by: bennydorano on March 28, 2020, 10:11:39 AM
Quote from: seafoid on March 27, 2020, 07:30:55 PM
My bloody valentine
Missed MBV first time round but the movie Lost in Translation turned me on to them because of the Kevin Shields connection.

Jesus & The Mary Chain another great band, Sometimes Always should be on everyone's playlist
https://youtu.be/O9UHvh9Zr_Q
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on March 28, 2020, 01:19:34 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 26, 2020, 07:56:01 PM
Also slightly related - i've recently taken to watching the Now 70s on the MTV platform, so many great tunes from a neglected and overlooked era.

Great channel and great call, Benny. I will bow to no-one in my determination to proclaim 1978 as the greatest year in music history.

Quote from: seafoid on March 27, 2020, 09:05:23 AM
Ultravox

Quality!

And on a guilty pleasure path, I'm watching a lot of Supertramp / Roger Hodgson on youtube. The fella is a genius.
Post by: armaghniac on March 28, 2020, 01:29:40 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on March 28, 2020, 01:19:34 PM
I will bow to no-one in my determination to proclaim 1978 as the greatest year in music history.

After all , who could ever forget this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kWbMikrZ91U
Post by: seafoid on March 28, 2020, 02:48:59 PM
The waterboys

https://youtu.be/ff9OX1letxU
Post by: ziggy90 on March 28, 2020, 03:25:37 PM
Spade.
Post by: Targetman on March 28, 2020, 03:51:48 PM
Deacon Blue, (Real gone Kid) class song
Post by: seafoid on March 29, 2020, 06:50:02 AM
Prefab Sprout
Post by: johnnycool on March 30, 2020, 02:02:06 PM
Soul Asylum...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NRtvqT_wMeY&list=PL11s9bFptKJrCIMYNJdD6hoRZjiA4B8g4&index=1 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NRtvqT_wMeY&list=PL11s9bFptKJrCIMYNJdD6hoRZjiA4B8g4&index=1)
Post by: seafoid on March 30, 2020, 08:17:27 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 30, 2020, 02:02:06 PM
Soul Asylum...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NRtvqT_wMeY&list=PL11s9bFptKJrCIMYNJdD6hoRZjiA4B8g4&index=1 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NRtvqT_wMeY&list=PL11s9bFptKJrCIMYNJdD6hoRZjiA4B8g4&index=1)
fantastic timeless song
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 31, 2020, 05:49:05 AM
Apparently A-Ha weren't as big in the States, they were seen as a one-hit wonder with Take on Me. I introduced my wife to some of their other stuff last night and she was blown away by how good it was. She'd never heard The Sun Always Shines on TV until last night. Stay on These Roads, Train of Thought, You Are the One (bit on the cheesy side), all great stuff that I'd forgotten how good it is until I listened again and played it back for her. No wonder they were so big at the time, it was great stuff.
Post by: armaghniac on March 31, 2020, 12:55:59 PM
The Sun Always Shines on TV because it is generally filmed in southern California.
Post by: J70 on March 31, 2020, 06:19:46 PM
Awesome song. I've introduced a few yanks to it myself.
Post by: ziggy90 on March 31, 2020, 06:28:14 PM
Split Enz.

https://youtu.be/YmQlBfxh4Us
Post by: Gmac on March 31, 2020, 06:34:32 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 31, 2020, 12:55:59 PM
The Sun Always Shines on TV because it is generally filmed in southern California.
was it an RTÉ sports  stadium intro?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 31, 2020, 07:47:44 PM
Quote from: Gmac on March 31, 2020, 06:34:32 PM

The Final Countdown was the intro, but they used an instrumental version of The Sun Always Shines on TV for continuity and the like. They did a recap of the 1987 Tour de France that ran over a few weeks, they used it for that.
Post by: Substandard on March 31, 2020, 07:57:44 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 31, 2020, 07:47:44 PM
Quote from: Gmac on March 31, 2020, 06:34:32 PM

99% sure they used to play it for the GAA Goal of the Season options in hurling and football on Sports Stadium,  if I remember correctly?!

The Final Countdown was the intro, but they used an instrumental version of The Sun Always Shines on TV for continuity and the like. They did a recap of the 1987 Tour de France that ran over a few weeks, they used it for that.
Post by: Walt Jabsco on March 31, 2020, 08:33:14 PM
The The

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XKukFy18nes
Post by: seafoid on March 31, 2020, 08:46:30 PM
The Pretenders

https://youtu.be/uFY5EqtsoaI
Post by: Walt Jabsco on March 31, 2020, 09:13:39 PM
Sorry Seafoid but The Pretenders  would for me come under the category of bands I would like to forget. Just couldn't warm to Chrisie Hynde from day one. Don't know why
Post by: bennydorano on April 03, 2020, 08:33:37 PM
Badly drawn boy- Silent Sigh, great tune. I thought he was gonna be around for a long time.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 03, 2020, 08:50:18 PM
Ocean colour scene https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1rr4tXN2eJM
Post by: Ambrose on April 09, 2020, 11:14:28 PM
Something Happens. Listening to 'Stuck Together With God's Glue'. Has to be one of the best ever albums by an Irish band.

There's a girl in a dress in a sinful mess
With a face just made for kissing
What kind of god gives you a rod
And say's you can't go fishing

Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 09, 2020, 11:26:46 PM
Quote from: Ambrose on April 09, 2020, 11:14:28 PM
Something Happens. Listening to 'Stuck Together With God's Glue'. Has to be one of the best ever albums by an Irish band.

There was a bit of a golden age of Irish bands around that time, they got a lot of airplay on 2FM. Cry Before Dawn, The Golden Horde, The Adventures, etc..

Do Irish bands still get priority on 2FM?
Post by: armaghniac on April 09, 2020, 11:31:58 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 09, 2020, 11:26:46 PM

There was a bit of a golden age of Irish bands around that time, they got a lot of airplay on 2FM. Cry Before Dawn, The Golden Horde, The Adventures, etc..

RTÉ Gold play all these, the tracks stand the test of time.
Post by: Ambrose on April 09, 2020, 11:36:20 PM

Definitely a golden age for Irish bands, I was listening to Cry Before Dawn earlier on youtube, their algorithms brought me to Something Happens, brings back a lot of great memories from the late 80s and early 90s.

Not sure what 2FM's position is on Irish bands, I know they used to play something like 25% Irish music back in the day. Dave Fanning was a great man for playing up and coming local bands.

Power of Dreams, Immigrints, Emmigrants and Me is next up.
Post by: johnnycool on April 10, 2020, 09:32:45 AM
Quote from: Ambrose on April 09, 2020, 11:36:20 PM

Definitely a golden age for Irish bands, I was listening to Cry Before Dawn earlier on youtube, their algorithms brought me to Something Happens, brings back a lot of great memories from the late 80s and early 90s.

Not sure what 2FM's position is on Irish bands, I know they used to play something like 25% Irish music back in the day. Dave Fanning was a great man for playing up and coming local bands.

Power of Dreams, Immigrints, Emmigrants and Me is next up.

Yer Man Eoghan McDermott would play a lot of Irish bands and one's you'd not necessarily have heard much about.
Think he's left 2FM now.

Post by: bennydorano on April 10, 2020, 09:42:07 AM
That era of great Irish bands coincided with firstly Drumsill Hotel & then the Arena nightclub in Armagh being a proper band venue. In the space of a year or two I remember seeing: The Stunning, An Emotional Fish, Hot House flowers, Devlin, Something Happens, Saw Doctors, Sultans of Ping FC, ( think I saw them in Arena, possibly somewhere else) There's a half dozen + that I can't even remember
Post by: mackers on April 10, 2020, 10:37:32 AM
Cry Before Dawn played it twice as well Benny.  Once in the old night club and once in the Arena.  Both great concerts.
Post by: illdecide on April 10, 2020, 04:53:41 PM
Quote from: mackers on April 10, 2020, 10:37:32 AM
Cry Before Dawn played it twice as well Benny.  Once in the old night club and once in the Arena.  Both great concerts.

Them were the days...you City men used to beat the shite outta us, beat us onto the buses. Why was it always a beating session after the arena...lol?
Post by: mackers on April 10, 2020, 05:15:12 PM
That would have been the Blackwatertown boys......mad for fighting.
Post by: ONeill on April 10, 2020, 11:58:58 PM
Tiberious Minnows. Until I heard the story behind the minnows and Tiberious. Hit me hard in 1998 at the Pink Pussycat.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 17, 2020, 09:51:10 PM
Ice House. Underrated IMHO. Bit vanilla for a lot of people's tastes but I found it uplifting.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on April 18, 2020, 07:40:39 PM
https://youtu.be/4vashrNoXTE

Opus live is life 1985. Maradona in his pump. Love this video.