Official Monaghan GAA Thread

Started by GrandMasterFlash, February 02, 2007, 08:42:21 AM

pk205

Has anyone got the correct names and ages of the current Monaghan panel? Ta.

Quote from: pk205 on July 15, 2009, 03:48:29 PM

Buy a programme and add 1 year onto Dermot McArdles age. He's the new Couchie Duffy!!

pk205

Quote from: bingobus on July 15, 2009, 03:54:12 PM

Buy a programme and add 1 year onto Dermot McArdles age. He's the new Couchie Duffy!!

I used to go to all the matches (70s/80s/90s) but don't get to the games so much anymore and haven't bought a programme since the Cork game - not sure if I can find it now. Apologies if my request is unreasonable.

Quote from: pk205 on July 15, 2009, 04:03:20 PM
Quote from: bingobus on July 15, 2009, 03:54:12 PM

I used to go to all the matches (70s/80s/90s) but don't get to the games so much anymore and haven't bought a programme since the Cork game - not sure if I can find it now. Apologies if my request is unreasonable.

Its not thats it unreasonable but I doubt anyone would know all the ages of the Monaghan panel, unless someone will type it out from the programme for you.

Panel
Padriag McBennett
Dessie Mone
Vinny Corey
Dermot McArdle
Damien Freeman
Gary McQuiad
Darren Hughes
Eoin Lennon
Dick Clerkin
Stephen Collogy
Paul Finlay
Conor McManus
Rory Woods
Ciaran Hanratty
Raymond Ronaghan
Shane Duffy
John Paul Mone
Mark Downey
Brendan McKenna
Paul Meegan
Kieran Hughes
Gary McEneaney
Donal Morgan
Mark McNally
Eddie Lennon
Neil McAdam
Shea McAlear
Martin Corey
Paul McGuigan
Thomas Freeman
Shane Smyth
Ciaran Hughes
James Conlon

They all where all panel in National league and/or championship during the year. Could be some I've missed.

Quote from: thebandit on July 15, 2009, 11:44:53 PM
Anthony Rooney!

Rooney wasn't on panel this year after last years....ah, display  ;)

Quote from: bingobus on July 13, 2009, 10:28:13 PM
Quote from: JMohan on July 13, 2009, 05:32:52 PM
Quote from: bingobus on July 13, 2009, 04:55:57 PM
Quote from: JMohan on July 13, 2009, 04:03:01 PM
What about your own club men ?

Loughman?
The 'other' McEnaney?

Declan only a few years into Management and needs to prove himself at senior club level ie win us the fecking championship!! He'll be a canditate if it was up but I'd hope he'd pass it up.
Eamon may be looking a job  ;) He's a very clever manager and like banty, would be very organised. He'd be better tactically than Banty but may not get the same level of intensity or passion.

I've a feeling Banty may stay on though.

I don't rate McEneany at all.

I think he'd be a terrible move for you - and he had a shot before too ...

What about other clubs? Scotstown or Magheracloone? Got any candidates?

Maghercloone would have had muostly outsiders and thats a tough job! Scotstwon would have big Gerry McCarville who was with Banty in his first years and Prob got him the job. He's alot too prove too.

Mick O'Dowd has a good reorcd and won with Cavan Gaels but that should be a given in any year. Thye should be looking to Ulster but never made it.

Is it Mickey McConville from Cross? He's very highly rated by those who have had him. Untried at County level though and I think we'd need someone who has a track record outside clubs. Gerry McEntee had Dublin U21's or Minors, would be a candiatate.

If Banty does go, I'd reckon he will be picking his replacement.

Firstly I'd say hard luck to Monaghan after last weekand and its a pity they are out of the championship, whil eI may have pointed out a certain way how (I believe) they play, I dont think that theres much wrong with it and I wish Derry and my own team could play more like it.

Hope you can get Mcenaney to stay as hes most def a fantastic manager.
If not maybe youd consider Frank Mc - imo hed be better than what yer listing here well

JMohan

Quote from: JMohan on July 16, 2009, 04:28:58 PM
Frank McEneaney?

Jaysus, he might take thebandit with him as his right hand man!!

JMohan

Suppose it's hardly Frank McGuigan!

Frank McEneaney yes - well I think he has done ok with Louth
he is certainly better than a couple of the aforementioned names imo

JMohan

JMohan

That would be a step backwards for Monaghan!

Quote from: JMohan on July 16, 2009, 06:50:41 PM
That would be a step backwards for Monaghan!
youd know what a real giant backward step was if you appointed the wrong candidate !
at least Eamonn Mc has a bit of a clue at what he's doing