Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: giveherlong on April 09, 2018, 11:29:45 PM

Title: Avoiding rates on new house- NI
Post by: giveherlong on April 09, 2018, 11:29:45 PM
Anybody any advice on how to put off paying the rates on a new house? Appealed their completion date saying house won't be finished etc and now they want to arrange an inspection. They'll land out to find us living in the house as most of work done. I've no doorstep or wheelchair ramp access which someone mentioned could be an exemption? Anyone know of any other exemptions?
Title: Re: Avoiding rates on new house- NI
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2018, 08:52:11 AM
Quote from: giveherlong on April 09, 2018, 11:29:45 PM
Anybody any advice on how to put off paying the rates on a new house? Appealed their completion date saying house won't be finished etc and now they want to arrange an inspection. They'll land out to find us living in the house as most of work done. I've no doorstep or wheelchair ramp access which someone mentioned could be an exemption? Anyone know of any other exemptions?

Buy a caravan? Rates is rates, I just got my bill in yesterday, £1385!! Be interested to hear how I can pay less or none at all!
Post by: Rossfan on April 10, 2018, 09:53:47 AM
Ya can't smuggle a house into Louth. :D
My LPT is €90 per annum.
Post by: paddyjohn on April 10, 2018, 11:40:45 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2018, 08:52:11 AM

Buy a caravan? Rates is rates, I just got my bill in yesterday, £1385!! Be interested to hear how I can pay less or none at all!

Can you apply for a rates review?

My rates are £2100 per year and I'm thinking about applying for one.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2018, 11:41:56 AM
Quote from: paddyjohn on April 10, 2018, 11:40:45 AM

Thats a serious bill!
Post by: paddyjohn on April 10, 2018, 11:53:25 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2018, 11:41:56 AM

Thats a serious bill!

Scary! For a house up a lane with no streetlights, our own water & we've to take the bins 500 yards to the end of the lane!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2018, 11:54:15 AM
Quote from: paddyjohn on April 10, 2018, 11:53:25 AM

Thats a serious bill!

Scary! For a house up a lane with no streetlights, our own water & we've to take the bins 500 yards to the end of the lane!

So the rates are for what lol??!!
Post by: paddyjohn on April 10, 2018, 12:01:51 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2018, 11:54:15 AM

Thats a serious bill!

That's what I'd like to find out lol..
Post by: David McKeown on April 10, 2018, 12:06:35 PM
They sent me a letter in my last house as soon as I moved in in 2007 saying my apartment was rate exempt and they would get back to me when the exemption ended. Long story short the letter was issued in error and they came looking ten years of rates but we settled on 5 as they accepted it was their error and the letter should have gone to the builder.
Post by: BennyCake on April 10, 2018, 12:11:46 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2018, 11:54:15 AM

Thats a serious bill!

Nothing. An excuse to take money from you.
Post by: RedHand88 on April 10, 2018, 12:18:57 PM

Thats insane!
Post by: balladmaker on April 10, 2018, 12:36:00 PM
Rates has to be one of the most corrupt taxes in the north i.e. based on value of house, not on what you actually receive for it.  The higher the house value, the higher the rates, with a ceiling of 5k.  Because a house has a higher value doesnt mean you have more cash in the bank to pay for the extra rates.  All houses get the same services, same bin collection, street lighting (in some cases there's none), same leisure centre facilities etc etc.  And it's the direct reason why a couple I know, both now 80, have decided to sell up, can no longer afford the yearly rates of £1800.  None of the political parties are going to want the system changed either.
Post by: paddyjohn on April 10, 2018, 12:55:09 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on April 10, 2018, 12:36:00 PM
Rates has to be one of the most corrupt taxes in the north i.e. based on value of house, not on what you actually receive for it.  The higher the house value, the higher the rates, with a ceiling of 5k.  Because a house has a higher value doesnt mean you have more cash in the bank to pay for the extra rates.  All houses get the same services, same bin collection, street lighting (in some cases there's none), same leisure centre facilities etc etc.  And it's the direct reason why a couple I know, both now 80, have decided to sell up, can no longer afford the yearly rates of £1800.  None of the political parties are going to want the system changed either.

When our house was built 12/13 year ago is was worth £240k, we bought it 2 years ago and it was worth £185k. Rates have stayed the same and we tried last year to get the rates looked at but were advised not to incase they bumped them up, which happened to a family in the lane. They are saying our view comes into the decision.
Post by: BennyCake on April 10, 2018, 01:19:14 PM

Rates is bollix. If rates is paying for leisure centres, why am I charged again when using the gym or swimming?

The way I look at it is: build a big house, you obviously have more money, so we want more of that money. Load of balls.
Post by: Minder on April 10, 2018, 01:28:57 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on April 10, 2018, 12:06:35 PM
They sent me a letter in my last house as soon as I moved in in 2007 saying my apartment was rate exempt and they would get back to me when the exemption ended. Long story short the letter was issued in error and they came looking ten years of rates but we settled on 5 as they accepted it was their error and the letter should have gone to the builder.

I didn't think they could go back that far David
Post by: David McKeown on April 10, 2018, 02:10:43 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 10, 2018, 01:28:57 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on April 10, 2018, 12:06:35 PM

I didn't think they could go back that far David

Yeah they would have been limited to 6 years. We settled on 3 not 5
Post by: outinfront on April 10, 2018, 02:17:11 PM
What about Ground Rent? Is it essential to pay that?
Post by: TabClear on April 10, 2018, 02:41:02 PM

Agree with all this. An absolute joke of a tax.
Post by: yellowcard on April 10, 2018, 02:42:30 PM
The rates fee charged relative to the service provided has become scandalous. I would like them to state exactly where the money is being spent and what the justification is for charging the amounts that they do. If it's simply to get a bin collected every week then it's entirely disproportionate but people seem to just accept it for what it is.

You can request a rates review and somebody will come out and issue a new assessment but the chances of any sort of material reduction is slim. It is a grossly inflated levy for receiving very little in terms of service. 
Post by: johnnycool on April 10, 2018, 02:43:48 PM
Quote from: TabClear on April 10, 2018, 02:41:02 PM

Agree with all this. An absolute joke of a tax.

It's like road tax, just another tax that goes into the big pot that Amazon, Google and the big Tory party donors don't pay.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2018, 02:52:06 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on April 10, 2018, 02:42:30 PM
The rates fee charged relative to the service provided has become scandalous. I would like them to state exactly where the money is being spent and what the justification is for charging the amounts that they do. If it's simply to get a bin collected every week then it's entirely disproportionate but people seem to just accept it for what it is.

You can request a rates review and somebody will come out and issue a new assessment but the chances of any sort of material reduction is slim. It is a grossly inflated levy for receiving very little in terms of service.

If you did your own recycling, and dumped your own bin every week, would you get a reduction?
Post by: BennyCake on April 10, 2018, 03:03:03 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2018, 02:52:06 PM

If you did your own recycling, and dumped your own bin every week, would you get a reduction?

Yes, wondered that myself. Unlikely.

They say it's for streetlights and footpaths too. Many people live in rural areas, and have neither. A fcukin joke.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 10, 2018, 03:03:47 PM
Quote from: outinfront on April 10, 2018, 02:17:11 PM
What about Ground Rent? Is it essential to pay that?

Yes but you can buy the ground rent out and get a freehold for the property. I thinks it's 9 times the annual ground rent and then you never pay it again
Post by: yellowcard on April 10, 2018, 03:08:10 PM

I wouldn't think so. That would be like saying that I want a rates reduction because I don't use any of the leisure centre facilities (even though they charge you each time you use them anyway).
Post by: Minder on April 10, 2018, 03:31:04 PM
Think Belfast City Council give you a breakdown on your rates bill on what it is used for, probably all make believe bollocks
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2018, 03:37:17 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 10, 2018, 03:31:04 PM
Think Belfast City Council give you a breakdown on your rates bill on what it is used for, probably all make believe bollocks

Well it was value for money back in the day, with the pavements that needed replacing every summer, the street lamps were used as target practice or wrecked by the Saracen's, the leisure centres were a great place to get washed as the water works were usually were bombed and street mains vandalised by the locals, the bin men actually had to lift your bin, through the scullery, past the living room and out the front door! Ah the world was a lot simpler then. 
Post by: bennydorano on April 10, 2018, 04:24:56 PM
Would we be better off under a Council Tax system? Wasn't the Poll Tax the replacement for whatever the GB version of Rates looked like. It's a potential hot spud.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on April 10, 2018, 07:10:20 PM
My bill has arrived £1513.67. But low and behold I've got a reduction. It's a District Rate Subsidy. Happy days. My net bill is now £1513.04 as a result of this hefty sixty three pence reduction. I'm off to celebrate
Post by: BennyCake on April 10, 2018, 07:24:15 PM
How can those bastids justify sending you a bill for £1,500? That is fcukin mental.
Post by: balladmaker on April 10, 2018, 07:38:05 PM
2760 ... but not so bad, can pay near 300 per month for 10 months!!! WTF ... it's a mortgage in itself
Post by: bennydorano on April 10, 2018, 07:40:58 PM
Do yis all live in Texan style ranches or wha
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2018, 07:41:14 PM

No. We get our grey bin emptied every fortnight and have no other bins. I live in the sticks with no street lights. A Bryson House van comes and empties kerbside boxes but I don't bother and do my own. I emailed the council and said that people in the towns get a brown bin emptied as well as the grey and I got less for my rates and needed a rebate. Got told to eff off in polite terms.
Post by: BennyCake on April 10, 2018, 08:07:31 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on April 10, 2018, 07:38:05 PM
2760 ... but not so bad, can pay near 300 per month for 10 months!!! WTF ... it's a mortgage in itself

I'd live in a campervan before I'd pay that kind of money. Thats buckin mental
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on April 10, 2018, 10:21:04 PM
It's a little known fact that houses with a disabled extension are entitled to a 25% reduction in their rates bills.

There is also the possibility that houses with a public prayer room are rated exempt. I'm not sure how true this one is. The former is correct though.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on April 10, 2018, 11:13:20 PM
That's slightly misleading. My understanding is if you build an extension your rates will increase. If it's a disabled extension they reduce the increase by 25%
Post by: Targetman on April 10, 2018, 11:20:31 PM
Rates bill came today up £8 a month to £2000.26, in the house 16 years and got away for 2 years without paying rates, the first bill was approximately a grand, feckin scandalous what you have to pay in return for next to nothing apart from potholes!!
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on April 11, 2018, 03:29:28 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on April 10, 2018, 11:13:20 PM
That's slightly misleading. My understanding is if you build an extension your rates will increase. If it's a disabled extension they reduce the increase by 25%

The 25% decrease is on the total your rates bill. I have known this to work for a number of clients
Post by: JohnDenver on April 11, 2018, 08:57:14 AM
What's the definition of a disabled extension?  Is it basically just a ramp access to at least one of the doors or more than that?
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on April 11, 2018, 09:25:34 AM
Quote from: JohnDenver on April 11, 2018, 08:57:14 AM
What's the definition of a disabled extension?  Is it basically just a ramp access to at least one of the doors or more than that?

Generally a ramp with a level access to the dwelling is required on all new builds.  A disabled extension would usually contain a ground floor bedroom with additional appropriate wash facilities if required.

Post by: trueblue1234 on April 11, 2018, 09:30:30 AM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on April 11, 2018, 09:25:34 AM
Quote from: JohnDenver on April 11, 2018, 08:57:14 AM

Generally a ramp with a level access to the dwelling is required on all new builds.  A disabled extension would usually contain a ground floor bedroom with additional appropriate wash facilities if required.

Does there need to be someone in the house registered with a disability? I have a family member who has all the above but sadly the family member who required it passed away. But the rest of the family still live there. Would that qualify or do you have to justify their requirements?
Post by: Duckquay on April 11, 2018, 10:03:30 PM
The prayer room isn't correct.
If the disabled person has passed away you won't get the reduction I'm afraid.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on April 11, 2018, 10:50:11 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on April 11, 2018, 03:29:28 AM

The 25% decrease is on the total your rates bill. I have known this to work for a number of clients
So what you're saying is if your rates are £1200 a year and you build an extension for a disabled person your rates reduce to £900
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on April 12, 2018, 08:49:06 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on April 11, 2018, 10:50:11 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on April 11, 2018, 03:29:28 AM

So what you're saying is if your rates are £1200 a year and you build an extension for a disabled person your rates reduce to £900

That's how I've been advised
Post by: GJL on April 12, 2018, 08:52:28 AM
So you will save £300 a year for an extension costing £15000 - £20000. Bit of a false economy.  ???
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on April 12, 2018, 09:41:32 AM
Quote from: GJL on April 12, 2018, 08:52:28 AM
So you will save £300 a year for an extension costing £15000 - £20000. Bit of a false economy.  ???

Not if you get a grant for the extension
Post by: GJL on April 12, 2018, 09:49:15 AM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on April 12, 2018, 09:41:32 AM

Yea fair enough. Is there 100% grants available for these extensions?
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on April 12, 2018, 09:59:53 AM
Quote from: GJL on April 12, 2018, 09:49:15 AM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on April 12, 2018, 09:41:32 AM

Yea fair enough. Is there 100% grants available for these extensions?

The Housing Executive provide the grants which are 100% of the costs for the construction works.  They allow a certain percentage for architectural fees as well.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on April 12, 2018, 04:58:45 PM
The reduction is only on the extension as I think understand. So in the case I mentioned it would be like this. John and Jim live in similar houses with rates of £1200. They both build similar extensions. Johns rates increase by £400 to £1600. Jim's extension is for a disabled person. His rates go up £300 to £1500
Post by: giveherlong on April 13, 2018, 11:50:54 PM
was mentioned today to me that if you haven't got your final building control certificate you aren't eligible for Rates? That can't be correct?
Post by: Mario on April 14, 2018, 01:12:39 AM
I bought an apartment in Belfast 2 years ago and I've never received a rates bill. Will I get caught eventually?
Post by: Kidder81 on April 14, 2018, 01:14:09 AM
Quote from: Mario on April 14, 2018, 01:12:39 AM
I bought an apartment in Belfast 2 years ago and I've never received a rates bill. Will I get caught eventually?

I wouldn't bet on it, say nothing
Post by: StGallsGAA on April 14, 2018, 01:33:35 AM

Yes you will but when that happens say you just moved in the month before.   Rates are only applied when domestic property is lived in, not owned.
Post by: David McKeown on April 14, 2018, 09:27:05 AM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on April 14, 2018, 01:33:35 AM

Yes you will but when that happens say you just moved in the month before.   Rates are only applied when domestic property is lived in, not owned.

Is that right because I received a few letters to the house saying the opposite but that I could apply for a reduction in rates if the premises was unoccupied.
Post by: Duckquay on April 14, 2018, 09:44:00 AM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on April 14, 2018, 01:33:35 AM

Not correct. Vacant property rates were introduced in 2011.
Post by: Duckquay on April 14, 2018, 09:44:56 AM
Quote from: giveherlong on April 13, 2018, 11:50:54 PM
was mentioned today to me that if you haven't got your final building control certificate you aren't eligible for Rates? That can't be correct?

You're right, not correct.
Post by: Kidder81 on April 14, 2018, 11:17:52 AM
I know of a fella in a house 9 years and has never got a rates bill
Post by: paddyjohn on July 03, 2018, 11:00:31 PM
So the Mrs & I took the step of getting a rates review, a man came out to the house last week and measured it and saw what we meant about water, bins etc. Phoned this afternoon and told us that there was a miscalculation of our rates and there will be a reduction. Apparently we were
listed for having mains water and now there is a wind turbine in our view, it also helps. Not sure how much they will reduce the rates by but every little helps!
Post by: paddyjohn on July 26, 2018, 03:43:15 PM
Got the rates bill down by £439 a year. better than a kick in the stones!
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 26, 2018, 04:35:42 PM
Quote from: paddyjohn on July 26, 2018, 03:43:15 PM
No rebate too?!
Post by: paddyjohn on July 26, 2018, 04:47:57 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 26, 2018, 04:35:42 PM
Quote from: paddyjohn on July 26, 2018, 03:43:15 PM
No rebate too?!

Never thought about it to be honest.. Maybe try lol
Post by: imtommygunn on July 26, 2018, 08:21:47 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on April 14, 2018, 01:14:09 AM

No i was in 6 years then they asked me how long i'd lived there. I said a year. This is common apparently and they don't follow up. I think there is some truth in the building control thing as I was living in a place withoutit. (In fact construction company went bust so it was never coming.)
Post by: giveherlong on July 26, 2018, 09:07:52 PM
Anybody apply and get the agricultural relief lately?
Is it hard to get if you have a DARD business ID but aren't doing a pile of farming?
Post by: Hereiam on October 24, 2018, 09:18:32 AM
Have a rates review at my house in the morning and really the only thing i can hit them with is that i'm not tapped into mains water. Is there any tips you can give to help.
Post by: Yuredan on October 24, 2018, 01:51:51 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 26, 2018, 08:21:47 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on April 14, 2018, 01:14:09 AM

No i was in 6 years then they asked me how long i'd lived there. I said a year. This is common apparently and they don't follow up. I think there is some truth in the building control thing as I was living in a place withoutit. (In fact construction company went bust so it was never coming.)

Really? Surprised they're that lax about it.
Post by: giveherlong on October 24, 2018, 01:59:51 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on October 24, 2018, 09:18:32 AM
Have a rates review at my house in the morning and really the only thing i can hit them with is that i'm not tapped into mains water. Is there any tips you can give to help.

Examples of what other similar size houses in area are paying- find out the house number and street and google eg. "21 Main Street, Coalisland LPS" will give you the value
This is your best bet if you can get a like for like house paying less

Throw in the usuals like no street lighting, no footpaths, no winter gritting, no school buses, no broadband, no verge cutting, no mobile phone reception, potholes etc

Might not be much help but may sway your case
Do a bit of research on similar sized houses paying less is your best bet from experience
Post by: the goal was on on October 25, 2018, 05:10:17 PM
giveherlong, I've looked and there are several house valued less than my, even though they are much larger! Can i use this to my advantage without implicating the other houses?
Post by: giveherlong on October 25, 2018, 08:48:59 PM
Not sure of the exact process but don't think you would be implicating anyone
You are just pointing out you are overrated, the similar houses are what you should be based on
Beware of garages/sheds on these other houses or your own since last evaluation
Sheds are usually rateable unless agricultural- see Stephen Brimstone for tips!
Post by: Hereiam on October 25, 2018, 10:25:24 PM
Had them out. Waste of time as mains connection etc dont count towards the capital value of house. Environmental factors only count if it is right next door to u.
Post by: markl121 on October 26, 2018, 01:36:14 PM
How does view affect it? Thats mad, does someone come out and put a value on your view? wonder whats more valuable, mountains or lakes? Totally subjective surely