GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: ross4life on September 26, 2011, 06:46:41 PM

Title: Connacht Senior club championship 2011
Post by: ross4life on September 26, 2011, 06:46:41 PM
Tourlestrane, Glencar-Manorhamilton won the Sligo,Leitrim championships yesterday while the Roscommon championship is at the final stage (St. Brigid's  v Elphin) & the Galway,Mayo championships are down to the last 4 & 5.

Corofin,St Brigid's & Ballintubber look the best of the bunch but we might get a few shocks along the way.

Sunday 16th October Tourlestrane v Glencar-Manorhamilton - Pairc Seain MacDiarmuida   
Sunday 6th November   Ballintubber v   Tuam Stars/Corofin - McHale park
Sunday 6th November St. Brigid's v Tourlestrane - Sligo venue
Sunday 20th November Final

Title: Re: Connacht Senior club championship 2011
Post by: SLIGONIAN on September 26, 2011, 08:48:18 PM
Best of luck to Tourlestrane in this, we need Sligo club to show better than last yr in this against 4 in row champs glencar manor will be tough.
Post by: Rossfan on September 27, 2011, 09:37:54 AM
And Elphin will be tougher  ;)
Post by: ross4life on September 27, 2011, 07:33:35 PM
Will be interesting to see what tactics Elphin will use v St Brigid's this year will have to be more adventurous if they want to win.  Glencar have forwards like Croal,Glancy etc that can do damage to any team in Connacht so it will be a tough game for the Sligo champs.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 27, 2011, 07:56:15 PM
Down to last five in Galway

Corofin v Milltown

Salthill v Mountbellew-Moylough or Tuam Stars

Salthill have been the form team in Galway so far.
Post by: ross4life on October 09, 2011, 07:06:54 PM
Was at the Roscommon final today poor enough game played in awful weather conditions same result as last year with St Brigid's beating Elphin by 5 points.

Corofin are into Galway final but it seems they will have to wait a while for the final & i expect a repeat result in the Mayo final.

Post by: Rossfan on October 09, 2011, 07:07:39 PM
St Brigids win through in Ros in a poor game on a bad day.
They certainly don't look anything as sharp as last year and  I fear we could be in for a shock on 6th November.
Post by: sans pessimism on October 09, 2011, 07:37:22 PM
Salthill v Tuam next Sun-Finally Salthill get to play after weeks n weeks,through no fault of their own.
Post by: Syferus on October 11, 2011, 02:38:51 AM
Brigid's are a better team this year than last.

In my humble opinion Brigid's are easily among the the top three or four club teams in the country at their moment, their set-up is first class and the sheer depth of players they have is the envy of most of the country.

They swept aside the best of the rest in Roscommon this year without ever really needing to get out of second gear. If anything that's an ominous sign for the rest of Connacht rather than one that they're slipping. With all due respects to Tourlestrane and Glencar-Manorhamilton, Brigid's have to be looking at the draw as a golden opportunity to put back-to-back Connacht titles together.

Adding to that Ian Kilbride, who was a huge part of last year's run, came on as a sub in the county final on Sunday after returning from his tour of duty in Lebanon so Brigid's will only be an even more complete proposition the next time they play.

EDIT: It turns out he timed his leave to coincide with the county final. I don't when his tour of duty actually ends.
Post by: sans pessimism on October 11, 2011, 02:37:47 PM
Quote from: Syferus on October 11, 2011, 02:43:15 AM
Quote from: Syferus on October 11, 2011, 02:38:51 AM
Brigid's are a better team this year than last.

In my humble opinion Brigid's are easily among the the top three or four club teams in the country at their moment, their set-up is first class and the sheer depth of players they have is the envy of most of the country.

They swept aside the rest in Roscommon this year without ever really needing to get out of second gear. If anything that's an ominous sign for the rest of Connacht rather than one that they're slipping. With all due respects to Tourlestrane and Glencar-Manorhamilton, Brigid's have to be looking at the draw as a golden opportunity to put back-to-back Connacht titles together.

Adding to that Ian Kilbride, who was a huge part of last year's run, came on as a sub in the county final on Sunday after returning from his tour of duty in Chad so Brigid's will only be an even more complete proposition the next time they play.
How many club sides (outside Ros )have you seen
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on October 11, 2011, 03:02:37 PM
I saw Brigid's when we played them in a challenge game earlier in the year. Both sides were missing their county men but Brigid's movement and speed and link play was a joy to behold. They really know what they're at and will take beating. I think Ballintubber will give them a good go though, if they get out of Mayo and past Galway, of course.
Post by: ross4life on October 11, 2011, 07:16:12 PM
I understand Ian Kilbride would be available for selection if they make the Connacht final. St Brigid's are good enough to win another Connacht title but i don't buy this 2nd gear business they came up against defensive teams & had to grind out results in Roscommon & If they make the Connacht final it's likely to v another defensive team.

Without a doubt the best Roscommon club side since the Clann na nGael sides of the 80s/90s.
Post by: Syferus on October 14, 2011, 03:52:04 AM
Quote from: ross4life on October 11, 2011, 07:16:12 PM
I understand Ian Kilbride would be available for selection if they make the Connacht final. St Brigid's are good enough to win another Connacht title but i don't buy this 2nd gear business they came up against defensive teams & had to grind out results in Roscommon & If they make the Connacht final it's likely to v another defensive team.

Without a doubt the best Roscommon club side since the Clann na nGael sides of the 80s/90s.

It's hard for me to say they've overly exerted themselves in any of the it county championship matches this year, the two most indicative games for me were the group and semi-final matches against Western Gaels, for my money the second best team in the county by a noticeable margin, and they beat them by ten points on both occasions.

Brigids have no reason to fear any team, be it Gleencar-Manorhamilton or Crossmaglen. It'll take alot of work (and a bit of luck) to actually get there, but I fully believe this team is capable of winning an All-Ireland.
Post by: Lone Shark on October 14, 2011, 11:00:20 AM
Quote from: Syferus on October 11, 2011, 02:38:51 AM

They're a good side, but to say they're easily in the top three or four is stretching it a long way. As good as Kilmacud, Cross or Galls? Absolutely not. As good as Portlaoise, or Dr Crokes? I personally don't think so, but I accept that the betting would be close to 50/50 in either of those situations. That's before you allow for clubs in Dublin that have very impressive panels but haven't made it out yet - Plunketts, Parnells, Sylvesters, Vincents. I'll grant that Brigids have achieved more than them and deserve to be rated higher than them, but I can assure you now that if there was an All Ireland semi between Brigids and any of those four, I'd suspect the Dubs would be the odds on team.

St Brigids are third in the betting for the All Ireland now, despite having their county title already won, because they've to beat feck all to get to the last four. The only other team in Connacht that would be shorter than 10/1 at All Ireland semi final stage is Corofin, and that's due to experience, they aren't even playing that well this year. In contrast, Crossmaglen have to beat probably Galls, Ballinderry and either Burren or Cavan Gaels to get to a semi, while Galls have the same route. Kilmacud have a ferocious run of games ahead of them.

Their setup is first class and they do have a huge pick, as do all the South Roscommon clubs. If the chips fall right for them they are All Ireland contenders certainly, but that doesn't mean that they are suddenly one of the best three or four teams in Ireland. If they had the same route to the AI final as Crossmaglen or Galls, they'd be 25/1 or 33/1 shots now.   
Post by: magpie seanie on October 14, 2011, 11:19:12 AM
Good luck to Tourlestrane.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 15, 2011, 12:57:20 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 14, 2011, 11:19:12 AM
Good luck to Tourlestrane.
+1 Best of luck to Coolaney/Mullinabreena aswell, please God put some pride back in connacht competitions for Sligo..
Post by: ross4life on October 16, 2011, 03:39:53 PM
HT Tourlestrane 1-05 Glencar/Manorhamilton 1-05 sounds like a good game. In the Intermediate championship Coolaney shipped a bad beating to Melvin Gaels today.
Post by: ross4life on October 16, 2011, 04:24:27 PM
FT Tourlestrane 1-15 Glencar/Manorhamilton 2-07 & another draw in Galway championship today how many is that now?

Post by: Mano on October 16, 2011, 04:26:07 PM
Brilliant win for Tourlestrane. Couldn't make it down as the better half is due any day now, had to make do with the radio.
Our forwards were on fire today - we relied on Brian Egan a lot in the Sligo championship but we must have got 7/8 players on the scoreboard.

Sounds like we let in 2 sloppy goals - they will have to rectify that for the next day.
Brigids in the next game and thats a different proposition altogether.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 16, 2011, 06:11:17 PM
Yet another draw in Galway to slow things down even more.

Salthill 1-5 Tuam Stars 0-8
Post by: galwayman on October 16, 2011, 09:39:56 PM
Yep Galway are in danger again of not completing the championship on time. In fairness this time it was different than other years given all the various cases/objections etc taken out bu Mountbellew.

Galway champs due to play the Mayo champs in 3 weeks time. That means the semi replay has to be played next weekend and final the weekend after. Another draw in semi or final and it won't be completed in time.
Another complication is that Finian Hanley is due to fly to Oz with the Irish Compromise Rules team next week.

Do I recall Bernard Brogan missing out on the Compromise Rules in Oz a few years back due to his club still being involved in the Dublin championship?
Regardless I don't think any one of the 3 Galway clubs left will win Connacht.Corofin will probably win in the end but lose out in Connacht
Post by: Don Johnson on October 17, 2011, 12:36:54 PM
Betting:

St Brigids evens
Corofin 9/4
Ballintubber 6/1
Castlebar 15/2
Salthill 11/1
Tourlestrane 12/1
Tuam Stars 20/1
Post by: ross4life on October 17, 2011, 05:55:37 PM
Quote from: galwayman on October 16, 2011, 09:39:56 PM
Regardless I don't think any one of the 3 Galway clubs left will win Connacht.Corofin will probably win in the end but lose out in Connacht
Only two years ago more or less the same Corofin team hammered the Mayo Champions in the Connacht final & last year Killererin looked like they had Connacht title won only for a last minute goal by St. Brigid's

For me whoever beats the Galway Champions will win Connacht.
Post by: ross4life on October 23, 2011, 04:56:03 PM
Ballintubber back to back Mayo County champs but can they beat the Galway champions?
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 23, 2011, 05:17:08 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 23, 2011, 04:56:03 PM
Ballintubber back to back Mayo County champs but can they beat the Galway champions?

Hopefully. They deserve the support of all Mayo people.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 23, 2011, 07:35:15 PM
Salthill 0-9 Tuam Stars 1-8

The Stars in their first county final since 1995. Real local derby too against Corofin who beat them in 95.
Post by: ross4life on October 23, 2011, 07:38:47 PM
Low scoring games in Galway this year, so i take it the final will be next weekend.
Post by: galwayman on October 23, 2011, 09:21:47 PM
Yeah I think the final is next Sunday. Neither Tuam nor Corofin are any great shakes though I think myself
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 23, 2011, 09:32:54 PM
Quote from: galwayman on October 23, 2011, 09:21:47 PM
Yeah I think the final is next Sunday. Neither Tuam nor Corofin are any great shakes though I think myself

Corofin never seem overly impressive but they always tend to grind out wins regardless. Not sure how much life the current team has left in them though. They've been on the go a long while now.
Post by: ross4life on October 30, 2011, 04:21:53 PM
So as i expected Corofin win the Galway senior championship

Connacht semi finals next Sunday Nov 6th
Ballintubber v Corofin McHale park
Tourlestrane v St. Brigid's Markievicz Park

P.S well done to Padraig Pearses for progressing into the intermediate Connacht final today.
Post by: galwayman on October 31, 2011, 06:56:12 PM
Was an enjoyable game in Tuam yesterday.Have to say Corofin were impressive.Granted Tuam Stars were poor on the day - in the first half especially - but credit to Corofin they played really well.Some of their point taking in the first half was top notch.
Should be a good double header next week in McHale with the junior final between Clonbur and Islandeady as well
Post by: emmetryan on November 01, 2011, 10:19:07 AM
Is the final the last weekend in November? Might get the train down (if it's doable).
Post by: ross4life on November 01, 2011, 05:44:31 PM
Quote from: emmetryan on November 01, 2011, 10:19:07 AM
Is the final the last weekend in November? Might get the train down (if it's doable).

Final is currently down for Sunday 20th November.
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 01, 2011, 05:47:03 PM
Wishing the Mayo teams luck, Islandeady, Davitts and Ballintubber.
Post by: sligoman2 on November 02, 2011, 10:29:27 AM
Good luck to tourlesrrane. Great that no one thinks we ha e a chance.  Perfect time for an upset
Post by: SLIGONIAN on November 02, 2011, 01:32:59 PM
Best of luck Tourlestrane, really hope ye can do it...
Post by: sans pessimism on November 02, 2011, 06:19:38 PM
Best of luck to the Tubber boys on Sunday.They will
have it tough against the Galway gang.
Post by: emmetryan on November 03, 2011, 07:00:07 PM
Cheers for that ross4life
Post by: magpie seanie on November 03, 2011, 11:49:22 PM
Good luck to Tourlestrane. Tough opponents but I know well that if Tourlestrane hit their top form they can be awesome. Hope they can do it.
Post by: ck on November 04, 2011, 06:12:17 PM
All the very best to Tourlestrane. I hear O'Hara is out but that can only be enough to drive the lads on.
Post by: ck on November 05, 2011, 10:20:08 AM
Anyone got any odds on Tourlestrane? I think they could be worth a punt
Post by: ross4life on November 05, 2011, 05:31:58 PM
Ck you should be able to get odds on Paddypower.

Disappointing display by Padraig Pearses in the intermediate Connacht final today (lost 1-13 to 0-8) held their own in the 1st half but fell away badly in the 2nd, well done to Davitts Michael Conroy 0-8 had a fine game hopefully St. Brigid's do better tomorrow best of luck to them.
Post by: Mano on November 05, 2011, 08:23:05 PM
Quote from: ck on November 05, 2011, 10:20:08 AM
Anyone got any odds on Tourlestrane? I think they could be worth a punt

10/3 ck. Could be worth a few quid.

Home game is a big advantage - wouldn't like to be going to Kiltoom. Brigids may be complacent after the hammering they gave Harps last year.

Best of luck to Tourlestrane tomorrow
Post by: Rossfan on November 05, 2011, 09:22:09 PM
Come on the Brids.
Remeber ye're representing the whole County tomorrow so don't let us down.
Post by: spuds on November 05, 2011, 10:29:36 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 05, 2011, 09:22:09 PM
Come on the Brids.
Remeber ye're representing the hole County tomorrow so don't let us down.
Post by: Rossfan on November 05, 2011, 11:05:32 PM
Quote from: spuds on November 05, 2011, 10:29:36 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 05, 2011, 09:22:09 PM
Come on the Brids.
Remeber ye're representing the hole County tomorrow so don't let us down.
Don't give up the day job and hopefully ye *****s will be well bet tomorrow. :P
Post by: maigheo on November 06, 2011, 02:46:48 PM
ballintubber 0.04 corofin 0.01.  ten min. gone. Tubber playing with breeze
Post by: maigheo on November 06, 2011, 02:49:08 PM
c.oconnor with a goal to put tubber six up
Post by: maigheo on November 06, 2011, 02:56:45 PM
corofin with 3 points to make it 1.04 to 0.04
Post by: maigheo on November 06, 2011, 03:28:17 PM
Tubber 1.05 Corofin 1.08 .2 min into 2ind half
Post by: Rossfan on November 06, 2011, 03:30:14 PM
15 to 8 for St Brids. Were 5-4 down at h/t.
5 or 6 left. Goal Ballintubber - level.
Post by: maigheo on November 06, 2011, 03:37:28 PM
C.oconnor with a goal to bring Tubber level 12 min gone in 2ind half
Post by: maigheo on November 06, 2011, 03:46:45 PM
Tubber 2.06 corofin 1.11. 5 min left.Corofin back in control again
Post by: ross4life on November 06, 2011, 03:47:56 PM
Ft Brigid's 0-16 tourlestrane 0-10 well done another connacht final appearance! apart from the opening 10mins brigid's were in total control has the makings of a good final.
Post by: Rossfan on November 06, 2011, 03:48:42 PM
Brids back in Connacht Final with a 16 pts to  10 win .
Tour led 4 to 0 after 10 mins !
Post by: maigheo on November 06, 2011, 03:51:55 PM
Corofin ahead by 1 pt in injury time
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 06, 2011, 03:57:16 PM
All over. Corofin win by 1.
Post by: Mano on November 06, 2011, 04:03:12 PM
Well done to Brigids on their win today. Senan Kilbride is unmarkable on days like today and unfortunately our full back line are very small. We did n't have a forward who could take a score like him.

Leitrim referee did us no favours. Didn't punish Brigids for third man tackles and pulled back a goal chance for a free when we were through on goal.
Post by: galwayman on November 06, 2011, 04:04:29 PM
Sounded like a cracker in McHale Park. Fair play to Corofin. Have to admire them. Huge game for them now against Brigids.
I'm sure they haven't forgotten Karol Mannion's last second winning goal in Tuam a few years back in the Connacht final.
Brigids seem to be some side. They keep coming back year after year.

Also well done to Clonbur on winning the Connacht junior championship today
Post by: SLIGONIAN on November 06, 2011, 07:26:15 PM
Quote from: Mano on November 06, 2011, 04:03:12 PM
Well done to Brigids on their win today. Senan Kilbride is unmarkable on days like today and unfortunately our full back line are very small. We did n't have a forward who could take a score like him.

Leitrim referee did us no favours. Didn't punish Brigids for third man tackles and pulled back a goal chance for a free when we were through on goal.
Ye did the county and yereselves proud over the yr and today, for long periods ye matched them, Adrian McIntyre has to be begged into the sligo set up, thought he was unreal today, there were several times tour had the brigids backs on the run and didnt punish imo, brigids kept ticking away, i thought ref was ok tbh, he cost tour a goal chance with a stupid early whistle blow, Gary Gaughan looks back to form, after last yr definitly a better showing just a pity it couldnt be sustained, once they started finding kilbride inside it was over, kennedy held him for 40 mins with help of slow supply but after that he couldnt handle his physical advantage... Most clubs would of used OHaras injury and durkins as a an excuse all yr, like we did with wilson and feeney, but got on with it and still won Sligo without them although durkin helped towards the end. Fair play to ye.
Post by: ck on November 06, 2011, 07:58:19 PM
Corofin were lucky but deserving. I can see them winning it out.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 06, 2011, 08:27:58 PM
Quote from: ck on November 06, 2011, 07:58:19 PM
Corofin were lucky but deserving. I can see them winning it out.

I'd say Brigid's will be favourites but Corofin are a hoor of an outfit to beat. Even when they don't seem to be playing well they still manage to hang around in games. Did the same today by all accounts. Looked like they were going to be well beaten early and then hit 1-7 without reply out of nowhere.
Post by: emmetryan on November 06, 2011, 10:24:31 PM
Any word on a venue for the final yet?
Post by: ross4life on November 06, 2011, 10:53:30 PM
Yeah they will be favourites defending connacht champions,all ireland finalists but for me it's a hard game to call corofin's record in connacht is just as impressive as the rossies. From what i understand the final will be played in kiltoom.
Post by: Syferus on November 07, 2011, 02:46:49 AM
Quote from: ross4life on November 06, 2011, 10:53:30 PM
Yeah they will be favourites defending connacht champions,all ireland finalists but for me it's a hard game to call corofin's record in connacht is just as impressive as the rossies. From what i understand the final will be played in kiltoom.

I heard it'd be Kiltoom too, and I'd have expected it to be in the Hyde. As long as Kiltoom has enough capacity to cope with the demands of a provincial final it would make for an even better atmosphere and, weather permitting, a great game.
Post by: emmetryan on November 07, 2011, 11:42:25 AM
Really? Feck. Are there any busses from Athlone to there?
Post by: Rossfan on November 07, 2011, 01:48:31 PM
You'd better bring your bike  :D
Post by: emmetryan on November 07, 2011, 02:28:50 PM
Hmm Google maps says 5 miles from Athlone train station. That's not unmanageable on foot (I've done much, much crazier).
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 07, 2011, 02:57:16 PM
Is it not a bit odd to have a provincial final literally on the home field of one of the finalists? I presumed the final would have been in one of the provincial county grounds.
Post by: Rossie11 on November 07, 2011, 03:39:00 PM
Quote from: emmetryan on November 07, 2011, 02:28:50 PM
Hmm Google maps says 5 miles from Athlone train station. That's not unmanageable on foot (I've done much, much crazier).
Its at least 8 miles from athlone
Post by: emmetryan on November 07, 2011, 04:03:52 PM
Really? Hmm ok. This is what popped out for me on Google Maps http://maps.google.com/maps?saddr=Kiltoom,+Cornaseer,+Ireland&daddr=Athlone,+Co.+West+Meath,+Ireland&hl=en&sll=53.448225,-7.98285&sspn=0.062669,0.181789&geocode=FSXpLwMdpJuF_ynPeOqmAThcSDHjjDRBaMQulg%3BFSgzLwMdFMWG_ymfjGQ-AUlcSDGA471GjRr52g&vpsrc=0&dirflg=w&mra=ltm&t=m&z=13

8 miles would be 16 in total but with roughly 3 hours between legs. Not undoable but not pleasant.
Post by: ballinaman on November 07, 2011, 04:24:29 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 07, 2011, 02:57:16 PM
Is it not a bit odd to have a provincial final literally on the home field of one of the finalists? I presumed the final would have been in one of the provincial county grounds.
98,04 and 07 Connacht finals  ;)
Post by: Rossie11 on November 07, 2011, 04:28:07 PM
Emmet Kiltoom is a fairly big parish. Pitch is another few miles past your point on map.
You would easily get a lift hitching I reckon if you walked as far as Mulligans garage (1mile from station)
Post by: emmetryan on November 07, 2011, 05:36:39 PM
Ah cheers for the heads up. Yeah I should be able to arrange something if all else fails.
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 07, 2011, 07:15:59 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 07, 2011, 04:24:29 PM

yeah and we won one at home as well an unreal day . Thats why i could not understand why ballintubber were  playing in mc hale park ,do you no longer play your games at home any more does it allways have to go to the county grounds 
Post by: Lone Shark on November 07, 2011, 07:40:14 PM
It's on the Roscommon road - surely there would be a bus going out that direction that you could take and get them to stop in the general area - it is a bit in off the beaten track but it beats walking five miles each way.
Post by: coosanglen on November 07, 2011, 09:35:02 PM

Ja's the man!

Re: Connacht Senior club championship 2011
« Reply #68 on: Today at 02:57:16 PM »

Provincial club games can now only be played in a nominated/designated county ground, Kiltoom is the second Roscommon county ground that's why the game can be played there. In days gone by provincial club games could be played at the home club, but due to health and safety I guess that is no longer the case.
Post by: Syferus on November 08, 2011, 12:09:24 AM
Quote from: coosanglen on November 07, 2011, 09:35:02 PM

Ja's the man!

Re: Connacht Senior club championship 2011
« Reply #68 on: Today at 02:57:16 PM »

Provincial club games can now only be played in a nominated/designated county ground, Kiltoom is the second Roscommon county ground that's why the game can be played there. In days gone by provincial club games could be played at the home club, but due to health and safety I guess that is no longer the case.

Yeah, that makes sense! What's the exact capacity of Kiltoom anyways?
Post by: ross4life on November 09, 2011, 10:33:16 PM
Final is currently down for a 2pm throw in, emmetryan bus eireann Westport to Dublin routes travel into Kiltoom i'm sure you could get a request stop near the pitch.
Post by: emmetryan on November 09, 2011, 11:05:36 PM
Cheers for the info. I think I've a lift sorted from Athlone but I'll keep that option in mind.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on November 10, 2011, 10:49:18 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on November 07, 2011, 07:15:59 PM

yeah and we won one at home as well an unreal day . Thats why i could not understand why ballintubber were  playing in mc hale park ,do you no longer play your games at home any more does it allways have to go to the county grounds

Ballina, Crossmolina and Charlestown have all played Connacht Club championship games on their home ground in the last ten years because those three venues are designated county ground, can host NFL games etc. At least they were unless something changed in recent years.
Ballintubber's home ground, Clogher, isn't a county ground. And then there's the problem that the opposition might go to the wrong pitch, eh Deel Rover?!
Post by: sans pessimism on November 11, 2011, 10:06:04 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on November 10, 2011, 10:49:18 AM

Ballina, Crossmolina and Charlestown have all played Connacht Club championship games on their home ground in the last ten years because those three venues are designated county ground, can host NFL games etc. At least they were unless something changed in recent years.
Ballintubber's home ground, Clogher, isn't a county ground. And then there's the problem that the opposition might go to the wrong pitch, eh Deel Rover?!
;) ;D
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 12, 2011, 10:37:25 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on November 10, 2011, 10:49:18 AM

:D It depends what pitch they were sent to by the fixtures committee  R&g ;) ;D   
Post by: ross4life on November 14, 2011, 04:32:47 PM
For those that can't make it, St. Brigid's vs Corofin will be live on TG4 this Sunday (2pm throw in)
Post by: emmetryan on November 19, 2011, 04:21:20 PM
Got my transport sorted. Is there a game before it or is it the senior final standalone?
Post by: ross4life on November 19, 2011, 04:43:41 PM
Stand alone i understand & i'm hearing the Connacht HQ won't allow St. Brigids to open the club house bar until after the match.

Anyways best of luck to St Brigid's the winners will play the London champions (away) in December.
Post by: Syferus on November 19, 2011, 10:01:00 PM
Good and, relatively speaking, warm weather around the area today and the prospects are good for tommorow. There's something sadly ironic about the fact mid-November club Connacht final will have significantly better conditions than the July Connacht final.
Post by: galwayman on November 20, 2011, 02:20:33 PM
The ref is doing his best to ruin the game.handing out yellows all sides.
Very pernickety
Post by: spuds on November 20, 2011, 02:22:04 PM
Perfect day for football in Kiltoom, good open game. Ref being very fussy throwing out yellow cards for some tackles that don't even deserve a free.
21 mins gone,   Brigids 0-3  0-5 Corofin

Ref losing the plot now, ruining a good game giving frees for absolutely nothing. Last 3 against Corofin

29 mins gone,  Brigids 0-4  0-6 Corofin

Some nice passages of play when that t*t Duffy stops trying to take all the attention. Goal disallowed to Corofin, seems harsh.

30mins +2...now HT, Lundy point  Brigids 0-4   0-7  Corofin

Corofin could have been a few more ahead at halftime. Corofin midfielder Burke through and hopped ball, chance went, ended up getting a point from that move. Goal disallowed also. Brigids will be happy enough to be only 3 down. Pity that Marty Duffy officiating, he really is consistently awful. A junior B ref if ever I saw one. Plenty of football being played and he might have now to give a second yellow in second half after his overly fussy yellows.
Post by: Tubberman on November 20, 2011, 02:33:15 PM
Goal should have stood, wasn't a square ball and he climbed above the defender, don't think he fouled him.
Brigids look very flat.
Post by: Lone Shark on November 20, 2011, 02:34:50 PM
St Brigids hanging on by a thread here. They seem to be getting every decision and are very much second best so far. They need to sort themselves out in a big way at half time.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 20, 2011, 02:42:46 PM
Quote from: Lone Shark on November 20, 2011, 02:34:50 PM
St Brigids hanging on by a thread here. They seem to be getting every decision and are very much second best so far. They need to sort themselves out in a big way at half time.

Yeah Corofin will probably feel they should be further ahead. Have left some decent goal chances out there as well so Brigid's are still in it.

The disallowed Corofin goal may well have been fine as well. The replays aren't 100% clear but I would verge on saying it was legitimate.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 20, 2011, 02:51:01 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 20, 2011, 02:42:46 PM
Quote from: Lone Shark on November 20, 2011, 02:34:50 PM

Yeah Corofin will probably feel they should be further ahead. Have left some decent goal chances out there as well so Brigid's are still in it.

The disallowed Corofin goal may well have been fine as well. The replays aren't 100% clear but I would verge on saying it was legitimate.

Corofin mans left hand was on the defenders shoulder holding him down I thought, touch and go maybe but  a foul nonetheless.
Post by: galwayman on November 20, 2011, 02:52:05 PM
This would be a really good game if that idiot of a ref would stop trying to dominate it!!
Corofin look the better side but a long way to go yet.
There was nothing wrong with Justin Burkes goal either.
Post by: spuds on November 20, 2011, 03:00:31 PM
45mins gone,

Brigids 0-9  0-7 Corofin

5 points on the run for the Rossies

Ref giving everything to Brigids, awful stuff altogether. Not Brigids fault Duffy so bad
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 20, 2011, 03:01:19 PM
Corofin getting rode rotten by the ref here. Even Coman Goggins is going mad about it on commentary.
Post by: yellowcard on November 20, 2011, 03:04:33 PM
Ref is a real homer, Brigids getting all the border line calls.
Post by: spuds on November 20, 2011, 03:06:27 PM
Donovan with last 2, a free and a beaut from endline to level it at 0-9 each 51 mins

56 mins, Frankie with last 2, a soft free and a class finish
Another Donovan free

Brigids 0-11  0-10 Corofin

13 yellow cards in a game that has not seen any real dirty play
Post by: king of leon on November 20, 2011, 03:12:06 PM
Fook that referee is a disgrace.... Thought it was only in ulster we had problems with these kind of cowboys,thats the worst ive seen in a long time!!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 20, 2011, 03:19:52 PM
All over. Marty Duffy would more suited to refereeing in Serie A with a performance like that. Corofin will be rightly disgusted.
Post by: spuds on November 20, 2011, 03:20:18 PM
60mins+4   Full time

Brigids 0- 11  Corofin 0-10

Congrats Brigids

Shame on you Marty Duffy
Post by: yellowcard on November 20, 2011, 03:20:49 PM
Duffy will do well to get off this field, no sign of any gardai!!
Post by: heffo on November 20, 2011, 03:22:00 PM
Some Pikeys in Corofin.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 20, 2011, 03:22:49 PM
What kind of person goes to a match, feels aggrieved at the refereeing and then tries to physically accost him?!

Dodgy enough stewarding there. Could have got messy.

Good game.
Post by: 4father on November 20, 2011, 03:23:03 PM
But what a score from Dolan. 

Referee was awful but no excuse for that.
Post by: spuds on November 20, 2011, 03:25:02 PM
Quote from: heffo on November 20, 2011, 03:22:00 PM
Some Pikeys in Corofin.

Never good to see but in fairness was frustrating to see as a neutral so can only imagine what it was like as a Corofin man to deal with. Marty Duffy is not up to this level, never was. He has ruined more games that I can remember.
Post by: Capt Pat on November 20, 2011, 03:26:31 PM
I only half watched the second half and only half noticed a few frees going harshly against Corofin. Spell out to me what the ref got wrong.
Post by: 4father on November 20, 2011, 03:26:52 PM
Your man presenting that trophy was a duck egg of Johnny Sack out of the Sopranos.
Post by: king of leon on November 20, 2011, 03:27:48 PM
Yep referee was terrible but no excuse for the scenes after that.. Decent game but Corofin had at least 4 chances to get a shot at goal in the last 2 minutes but no appeared to have the nerve to go for it..

Very tough on a team who have trained hard all year to lose in a manner like this!
Post by: 4father on November 20, 2011, 03:28:00 PM
St Brigids number 10 deserved a dig in the nose with his antics all day during that game. 

Post by: bennydorano on November 20, 2011, 03:31:05 PM
Great game, have to say at end i was thinking to myself, why's the ref getting that treatment. No Corofin player had the stones to take a shot there at the end either.
Post by: Qwerty28 on November 20, 2011, 03:31:41 PM
How did Brigids get home advantage for this? Is Hyde Park out of action and they were entitled to home county advantage?

First game like that I've seen where not one Guard next or near the place when they could have been needed at the end!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 20, 2011, 03:31:53 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on November 20, 2011, 03:26:31 PM
I only half watched the second half and only half noticed a few frees going harshly against Corofin. Spell out to me what the ref got wrong.

Think there was just a general trend all game of every close call going Brigid's way. It was like a Heineken Cup game when you would sometimes have a "homer" ref.
Post by: maigheo on November 20, 2011, 03:41:20 PM
was it not Liam Devanney who was the ref?
Post by: yellowcard on November 20, 2011, 03:43:10 PM
What is the rationale for the Connacht Council giving home venue to one of the finalists? Surely in this day and age a provincial final shouldn't be played in any of the finalists county grounds let alone their club grounds.

Thats no fault of Brigids, indeed it seemed like a good set up for a club ground, but supporters were able to get onto the field at will after the match, dangerous considering the refs performance and the anger from Corofin supporters. I'm sure even Brigids will acknowledge they got a lot of marginal calls from the ref and the amount of stewarts with 'Brigids' bibs meant it was a fairly intimidating place for the officials. As for those condemning the Corofin supporters, well I can understand their anger and thankfully nothing too unsavoury happened. Manys a club would have had a few lunatics that would have physically assaulted Duffy there today.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 20, 2011, 03:44:01 PM
Quote from: maigheo on November 20, 2011, 03:41:20 PM

Yeah I think it was. Someone said Duffy earlier on in the thread but the radio said it was Devanney.
Post by: spuds on November 20, 2011, 03:47:15 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 20, 2011, 03:44:01 PM
Quote from: maigheo on November 20, 2011, 03:41:20 PM

Yeah I think it was. Someone said Duffy earlier on in the thread but the radio said it was Devanney.

I thought it looked like Duffy, stand corrected if not.
Post by: moysider on November 20, 2011, 03:48:55 PM
Quote from: spuds on November 20, 2011, 03:25:02 PM
Some Pikeys in Corofin.

Never good to see but in fairness was frustrating to see as a neutral so can only imagine what it was like as a Corofin man to deal with. Marty Duffy is not up to this level, never was. He has ruined more games that I can remember.

Marty has had some howlers but we can t blame him for a game he didn t do! That was Liam Devenney.
Terrible scenes altogether.
Post by: spuds on November 20, 2011, 03:56:05 PM
Quote from: moysider on November 20, 2011, 03:48:55 PM
Quote from: spuds on November 20, 2011, 03:25:02 PM
Some Pikeys in Corofin.

Marty has had some howlers but we can t blame him for a game he didn t do! That was Liam Devenney.
Terrible scenes altogether.

Absolutely, and the scenes after the final whistle were no better !
Post by: ross4life on November 20, 2011, 04:05:44 PM
First off well done to St Brigid's it's a long time since a Roscommon team won back to back Connacht titles! Ref ruined the game never let it flow but the basic mistakes by both teams on a perfect day for football made it a poor advert for Connacht club football! 2nd half display won it for them as they held Corofin to just 3 scores.

Ref gave soft frees to both sides & would have to see a replay of the disallowed goal, from my view the Corofin man went in with his knees & the St brigid's man had to go off injured at HT. finally Corofin fans let themselves down at the end though Cake Curran did a fine job on stewarding.

P.S Marty Duffy getting some amount stick here when i'm sure he was at home watching the game  :D
Post by: Abble on November 20, 2011, 04:08:51 PM
There were quite a few marginal calls throughout for both sides. I'd say after the first half corofin weren't complaining too much when they were 3 up. And corofin cant blame the ref for st. brigids 5 or 6 pts in a row at start of second half which paved the way. I'd say corofin have only themselves to blame
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 20, 2011, 04:10:18 PM
Quote from: ross4life on November 20, 2011, 04:05:44 PM

Ref gave soft frees to both sides & would have to see a replay of the disallowed goal, from my view the Corofin man went in with his knees & the St brigid's man had to go off injured at HT. finally Corofin fans let themselves down at the end though Cake Curran did a fine job on stewarding.

Jaysus you make it sound like the ref did a bang up job straight down the line.

You know he's been poor when even the commentators are saying he's riding one of the teams.
Post by: Celt_Man on November 20, 2011, 04:27:56 PM
Referee was a complete joke there today.... he must have given a dozen frees in the opening 6 minutes of the second half...  Not nice to see those scenes at the end but when you make such a balls of such a very important game it is understandable that emotions are higher extremely high - not condoning boys wanting to knock the head off him though
Post by: ross4life on November 20, 2011, 04:29:19 PM
Quote from: Abble on November 20, 2011, 04:08:51 PM
There were quite a few marginal calls throughout for both sides. I'd say after the first half corofin weren't complaining too much when they were 3 up. And corofin cant blame the ref for st. brigids 5 or 6 pts in a row at start of second half which paved the way. I'd say corofin have only themselves to blame
Good post, Corofin where well in control of that game at HT but where poor in the 2nd half though as poor as they where they had enough of the ball near the end to level the game but didn't.

Ref was poor but didn't exactly do a Martin Sludden to deserve that carry on at the end of the game.
Post by: sans pessimism on November 20, 2011, 04:44:50 PM
poor ref,exciting finish,disgraceful scenes after final whistle.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 20, 2011, 04:46:09 PM
Kieran Fitzgerald fairly tore the ref a new one on the radio there. Don't think I've ever heard him so angry.

Would not surprise me if the fallout from this is no more provincial finals on the home ground of one of the competing teams. In fairness I raised that point myself even befiore the game. Not like there isn't a shortage of grounds out there.
Post by: ross4life on November 20, 2011, 05:08:13 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 20, 2011, 04:46:09 PM
Would not surprise me if the fallout from this is no more provincial finals on the home ground of one of the competing teams. In fairness I raised that point myself even befiore the game. Not like there isn't a shortage of grounds out there.

Yes & it wasn't the first time competing team had home advantage, i guess when Galway play Mayo in Connacht final next July you will be calling for neutral venue  ;)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 20, 2011, 05:15:03 PM
Quote from: ross4life on November 20, 2011, 05:08:13 PM

Yes & it wasn't the first time competing team had home advantage, i guess when Galway play Mayo in Connacht final next July you will be calling for neutral venue  ;)

Bit of a difference between that and a club side having a provincial final on their home ground but you know that. It would have been equally ridiculous for Corofin or anyone else to have a final on their home ground even though it's happened before. Doesn't mean it should still be happening.
Post by: spuds on November 20, 2011, 05:20:10 PM
Quote from: ross4life on November 20, 2011, 04:29:19 PM
Good post, Corofin where well in control of that game at HT but where poor in the 2nd half though as poor as they where they had enough of the ball near the end to level the game but didn't.

Ref was poor but didn't exactly do a Martin Sludden to deserve that carry on at the end of the game.

Corofin will hardly have been happy with only being 3 points up at halftime, 2 clear goal chances, one scored and disallowed harshly IMO. The ref gave a series of soft frees to Brigids at start of second half, obviously they were dominant in this period anyway. Brigids defended well at the end. I'd say there will be a lot of banging of bar counters around Corofin tonight.
Post by: ross4life on November 20, 2011, 05:29:40 PM
Quote from: spuds on November 20, 2011, 05:20:10 PM

Corofin will hardly have been happy with only being 3 points up at halftime, 2 clear goal chances, one scored and disallowed harshly IMO. The ref gave a series of soft frees to Brigids at start of second half, obviously they were dominant in this period anyway. Brigids defended well at the end. I'd say there will be a lot of banging of bar counters around Corofin tonight.
Don't forget the clear goal chance St Brigid's had that was well saved & those two close in soft frees O'Donovan got in the 2nd half.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 20, 2011, 05:33:34 PM
Quote from: ross4life on November 20, 2011, 05:29:40 PM
Quote from: spuds on November 20, 2011, 05:20:10 PM

Don't forget the clear goal chance St Brigid's had that was well saved & those two close in soft frees O'Donovan got in the 2nd half.

Yes they were clear frees. One of them the arm was nearly pulled off the Corofin player. Jesus buy a clue would ya.
Post by: Rossfan on November 20, 2011, 05:34:09 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 20, 2011, 05:15:03 PM

Bit of a difference between that and a club side having a provincial final on their home ground but you know that. It would have been equally ridiculous for Corofin or anyone else to have a final on their home ground even though it's happened before. Doesn't mean it should still be happening.
They are entitled to play it at any County status ground of which Kiltoom is one.
Anyway Brigids played Salthill in  a Final in Pearse Stadium and Ballina in their grounds in a Final in recent years.
So what's sauce for the goose ..... and all that.
Anyway well done Brids , good to see a Connacht title coming to our County again.
They didnt play well for a lot of the game but stepped it up middle of the second half and could have won more comfortably if Mannion could have kicked straight near the end.
THe ref... he wasnt great  :-\ ( and he wasn't Duffy  ;D ;D).
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 20, 2011, 05:37:28 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 20, 2011, 05:34:09 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 20, 2011, 05:15:03 PM

They are entitled to play it at any County status ground of which Kiltoom is one.
Anyway Brigids played Salthill in  a Final in Pearse Stadium and Ballina in their grounds in a Final in recent years.

Pearse Stadium isn't Salthill's home ground. Granted it's very close to it.
Post by: Buckass on November 20, 2011, 05:48:02 PM
As a neutral whose only bias was backing Brigids @ 19/10 at half-time, the ref was shocking. He was a home pitch ref full stop. The number of easy vital frees he gave to Brigids was the difference. Even in 1st half I thought the Ros side were getting some suspect calls their way. In 2nd half it was blatant all thru. At vital stages he gave Karol Mannion an unbelievably soft free after he'd gone to ground and looked to have overcarried from which there was a score and then Sice was fouled on way out, Kelly touched it on ground and free given in while goal was good in 1st half.
You can say all you like about Corofin only having themselves to blame blah de blah but that's not looking at it squarely. Brigids won by one and imho the ref was worth 4-5 to them at least. Thanks for the few euro Mr Devenney tho!
Post by: Lone Shark on November 20, 2011, 06:00:26 PM
I'd have been hoping for a Brigids win today due to the in-laws all being from Cam, but even from that perspective Corofin were absolutely robbed today. Brigids got four points from frees in the first half and at least two of them were for nothing at all - there were two overcarrying decisions against Corofin that made no sense to me, the goal was contentious at best and if anything it got worse in the second half.

Kiltoom is a grand venue and I'd have no problem with the game being held there - either you decide you want neutral venues and bring everyone up to Castlebar, or you leave things as they are. The ground had nothing to do with St Brigids win today, the ref was the main factor by a mile.

None of this excuses what happened at the end by the way. The ref was grossly incompetent on the day but that can happen to anyone. I'd say it's safe to assume they wouldn't have done the same to Kieran Fitzgerald if he gave away two goals due to bad handpasses in front of his own posts.
Post by: spectator on November 20, 2011, 07:33:59 PM
Like Tourlestrane in the semi (also against Brigids), Corofin came out with all guns blazing in the first half and imo drained their tanks more than they should have with the second half to come. They got lots of men behind the ball in defence & attacked with a quicksilver Hussein Bolt type speed that had Brigids floundering at times. They had obviously studied the video of the Brigids v Tourlestarane game closely. Brigids gameplan played into their hands in the first half though. Instead of going fast and direct, Brigids dilly-dallied around the middle third giving the Corofin cavalry time to arrive and flood the sector, swarming the man with the ball. Then when the Brigids midfield lost competitiveness towards the end of the first half, Corofin took a strong hold on possession and pressed home their advantage with late points. They really should have been 6 - 7 points more ahead at that stage, some bad wides and of course the contentious dis-allowed goal cost them big time.

The ref seemed to take the approach that he wasn't going to let any messing develop from the start, imo. There's history between these two sides & when Corofin started with some tough tackling from the off, he took action early. Corofin looked to me like a team who had decided beforehand that this was a way to get at Brigids and put them off their more natural footballing game, and with Brigids on occasion retaliating, it inevitably descended into a card fest. While Corofin have some reasons to be sore I don't think the reffing was as biased as some here are trying to make out, tbh. Definitely some of the frees given were baffling and \ or soft, but having said that they went for and against both teams over the course of the game. As such, there's no justification for saying the ref went out to be a 'homer' or biased towards Brigids imho. Corofin's early tough tackling approach might have contributed towards setting the tone for his handling of the game though, i reckon.

When the game was there to be won, Brigids got stuck in and had more in the tank for the second half than Corofin, outscoring the Galway champions by 0.7 - 0.3 over the final half hour. Hard Luck to Corofin, it's never easy to lose a close final like that, especially with some contentious calls going against you. Congrats to Brigids, they showed fantastic grit and courage to dig out that second half performance after getting the run-around at times during the first half.

Whatever about the rights and wrongs of the ref's decisions, nothing can justify the treatment he was subjected to at the final whistle lads.
Post by: Syferus on November 20, 2011, 08:09:07 PM
Quote from: spectator on November 20, 2011, 07:33:59 PM
Like Tourlestrane in the semi (also against Brigids), Corofin came out with all guns blazing in the first half and imo drained their tanks more than they should have with the second half to come. They got lots of men behind the ball in defence & attacked with a quicksilver Hussein Bolt type speed that had Brigids floundering at times. They had obviously studied the video of the Brigids v Tourlestarane game closely. Brigids gameplan played into their hands in the first half though. Instead of going fast and direct, Brigids dilly-dallied around the middle third giving the Corofin cavalry time to arrive and flood the sector, swarming the man with the ball. Then when the Brigids midfield lost competitiveness towards the end of the first half, Corofin took a strong hold on possession and pressed home their advantage with late points. They really should have been 6 - 7 points more ahead at that stage, some bad wides and of course the contentious dis-allowed goal cost them big time.

The ref seemed to take the approach that he wasn't going to let any messing develop from the start, imo. There's history between these two sides & when Corofin started with some tough tackling from the off, he took action early. Corofin looked to me like a team who had decided beforehand that this was a way to get at Brigids and put them off their more natural footballing game, and with Brigids on occasion retaliating, it inevitably descended into a card fest. While Corofin have some reasons to be sore I don't think the reffing was as biased as some here are trying to make out, tbh. Definitely some of the frees given were baffling and \ or soft, but having said that they went for and against both teams over the course of the game. As such, there's no justification for saying the ref went out to be a 'homer' or biased towards Brigids imho. Corofin's early tough tackling approach might have contributed towards setting the tone for his handling of the game though, i reckon.

When the game was there to be won, Brigids got stuck in and had more in the tank for the second half than Corofin, outscoring the Galway champions by 0.7 - 0.3 over the final half hour. Hard Luck to Corofin, it's never easy to lose a close final like that, especially with some contentious calls going against you. Congrats to Brigids, they showed fantastic grit and courage to dig out that second half performance after getting the run-around at times during the first half.

Whatever about the rights and wrongs of the ref's decisions, nothing can justify the treatment he was subjected to at the final whistle lads.

About right. The referee had a real impact, no doubt, but in the second half Brigids started playing and the Corofin backs had no answers. Senan soloing the ball with two Corofin players hanging off him and finishing it up with a point was beautiful. Likewise was Frankie's 45 from the edge and his winning point was one that can rest easily beside those famous sideline cuts for Roscommon in 2003.

The most bizarre thing for me on the day was that Brigids remain muddled in how they play in attack, half the time they'll drag Senan out to take frees that by any right sense should be took by frankie and aimed at him. Before Frankie's 45 there was an easier free closer to the middle of the 45 that Senan took. If Brigids just play route one to Senan with Frankie taking almost all the frees then they will beat anyone, even Crossmaglen, a team I believe Brigids would have beat last season if they'd utilized Senan more efficiently.

Well done to Brigids and Corofin, even despite the referee it was a match with plenty of passion and skill.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 20, 2011, 08:23:29 PM
Some of the Rossies here would want to have watched the match with their other eye open as well. If the shoe was on the other foot they would be going tonto.

Having said that I hope Brigid's manage to go all the way now. Not their fault that the ref was out of his tree.
Post by: ross matt on November 20, 2011, 08:30:09 PM
Well done to Brigids. The better footballing side. However from talking to brigids supporters who were there it was clear the ref was'nt up to it and his bad decisions cost Corofin more than the Kiltoom side. Overall though Corofin are a dour physical side who are not reflective of Galway football. I watched some of it on TV and saw Damien Burke put in a tackle with the boot today that he got sent off for in the Galway championship this year. Clearly the ref was overly concerned about things boiling over.

The venue had nothing to do with it. Bridgets a lost a connacht final to salthill in pearse stadium which is right next door to their home pitch the prairie. I can perfectly understand Kieran Fitzgeralds frustration but the ref didnt deserve what happened after the match.
Post by: ross matt on November 20, 2011, 08:33:51 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 20, 2011, 08:23:29 PM
Some of the Rossies here would want to have watched the match with their other eye open as well. If the shoe was on the other foot they would be going tonto.

If the shoe was on the other foot and a bunch of rossies did what some of the corofin supporters did to the ref after the match you'd be the first one taking the high morale ground. I'm amazed you were'nt abused from the tv by the random Rossie supporter that you always meet when a Galway side loses to a Roscommon one. Dont choke in on the sour grapes tonight.
Post by: yellowcard on November 20, 2011, 08:35:18 PM
I have no allegiance to either side or county but any fair minded individual would say that Corofin were given a very raw deal by an incompetent and over fussy referee today. It was an enthralling contest wnonetheless Without having brilliant football. Kilbrides point in the second half was some effort under serious pressure.

Referees have such a bearing on games at this time of year especially though as scores from play are hard enough to come by and the games are invariably tight affairs. Corofin deserved at least a draw from todays game.
Post by: Syferus on November 20, 2011, 08:35:29 PM

Not really. Brigids were by far the better team for the entirety of the second half, and that had alot less to do with the referee than alot of people would have you believe. Corofin had a huge, huge call go against them in the first half, but in almost all the incidents there was something that the referee could interpret as a foul, I'd have preferred a more open game but that wasn't what the referee was allowing and if one team adapts to a referee's nuances better than another that's simply smart play, not robbery.

If the shoe was on the other foot I'd be hugely disappointed but I'd be able to accept it and leave it at that and wish the other team every success. Brigids represent the whole of Connacht now.
Post by: Jinxy on November 20, 2011, 08:36:50 PM
Lads are there two Marty Duffys?
Only saw a snippet at the end of the news but it wasn't the Marty Duffy (who we all know and love).
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 20, 2011, 08:38:50 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 20, 2011, 08:36:50 PM
Only saw a snippet at the end of the news but it wasn't the Marty Duffy (who we all know and love).

No it was Liam Devanney. Somebody thought it was Duffy earlier and it kinda grew legs by itself.
Post by: ross4life on November 20, 2011, 08:43:10 PM
Yeah Mayo Ref Liam Devanney he did a few Intermediate,Junior games & got some good reviews but clearly couldn't handle the pressure of Connacht senior final, how many yellow cards did he give out today about 13? i can't remember many bad fouls.
Post by: Jinxy on November 20, 2011, 08:49:41 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 20, 2011, 08:38:50 PM

No it was Liam Devanney. Somebody thought it was Duffy earlier and it kinda grew legs by itself.

So lads that didn't even see the game are giving out about a ref that didn't even ref the game.
Post by: Syferus on November 20, 2011, 08:52:12 PM
Quote from: ross4life on November 20, 2011, 08:43:10 PM
Yeah Mayo Ref Liam Devanney he did a few Intermediate,Junior games & got some good reviews but clearly couldn't handle the pressure of Connacht senior final, how many yellow cards did he give out today about 13? i can't remember many bad fouls.

To be honest, there was a real edge in the game so a good portion of the yellows were warranted (he gave 15 iirc), but he obviously went too far with them.
Post by: Jinxy on November 20, 2011, 08:56:06 PM
If you have to give out more than 10 yellows, it means you should have sent someone off already.
Post by: ross4life on November 20, 2011, 08:56:34 PM
Quote from: Syferus on November 20, 2011, 08:52:12 PM
Quote from: ross4life on November 20, 2011, 08:43:10 PM

To be honest, there was a real edge in the game so a good portion of the yellows were warranted (he gave 15 iirc), but he obviously went too far with them.
Indeed a few where warranted but the way he dished out yellow cards i was surprised no one got sent off.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 20, 2011, 09:01:24 PM
Not sure if reliable but someone posted elsewhere that the foul count was 32-15.
Post by: spuds on November 20, 2011, 09:03:43 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 20, 2011, 08:49:41 PM

So lads that didn't even see the game are giving out about a ref that didn't even ref the game.

Was myself that thought it was Daffy Duffy, he looked like him I thought. My comments on Devanney's reffing stand.
Quote from: ross matt on November 20, 2011, 08:33:51 PM

If the shoe was on the other foot and a bunch of rossies did what some of the corofin supporters did to the ref after the match you'd be the first one taking the high morale ground. I'm amazed you were'nt abused from the tv by the random Rossie supporter that you always meet when a Galway side loses to a Roscommon one. Dont choke in on the sour grapes tonight.
Think that is unfair, he is only saying what others here have also said. You are just having a cheap shot here because he is a Galway poster. Why not comment on Lone Shark's balanced post instead of having a pop with that crap.
Post by: bridgegael on November 20, 2011, 09:57:11 PM
only saw the last five mins of the match,  no real bad decisions or talking points from wat i saw.  now because there was only a point in it, i had a feeling that the ref would be targeted after the match.  where did the stewards go?? why did it take so long to get to him?
Post by: moysider on November 20, 2011, 10:26:04 PM

Don t know how Marty Duffy was dragged into this. His brother was doin the line. Michael.

Feel sorry for Liam Devenney tbh. This would have been a big game for him too and he certainly would not have gone out to shaft anybody. Imagine family havin to watch those scenes at the end too. As somebody who toyed around with the idea of refereeing when I was younger, I m glad I had more sense. It s a thankless job - and a dangerous one too.

I ll balance that by saying I ve been very annoyed with refs in the past. Compared to some of the cowboys out there, today's ref performance wasn t that bad. I d say he was calling it as he saw it, without bias. The call on the disallowed goal could have been for the foul on the defender - it wasn t a square ball. If he thought it was, then he honestly thought it was. Maybe he got it wrong bur refs usually have to make a call on these from 30/40 metres away. How can you do this with certainty? The cute old refs blow early before the forward makes contact just to avoid a scene. But often the call then is wrong as well. The simple solution is to get rid of this rule.

As well as that in any match with a point or two margin there will always be decisions that may have decided the game. It happens in all sports. We ve all had to grin a bear a few.  The Welsh team had to suffer a borderline decision in the World Cup, but fans did not try to lynck the ref.

But the lack of respect towards refs in our football is concerning. Who would want to put themselves through that?
Post by: mouview on November 20, 2011, 10:36:34 PM
Quote from: ross matt on November 20, 2011, 08:30:09 PM
Well done to Brigids. The better footballing side. However from talking to brigids supporters who were there it was clear the ref was'nt up to it and his bad decisions cost Corofin more than the Kiltoom side. Overall though Corofin are a dour physical side who are not reflective of Galway football. I watched some of it on TV and saw Damien Burke put in a tackle with the boot today that he got sent off for in the Galway championship this year. Clearly the ref was overly concerned about things boiling over.

Hmm.. not entirely sure Brigid's were better footballing side, some of Corofin's scores from play were very good examples of teamwork. Corofin are often dour, though whether or not they're properly reflective of Galway club football which is usually rubbish anyway is a moot point. In fairness the football they played v Tuam in the county final was very good and not of their normal variety. Corofin's 'downfall' today was their inability to tackle cleanly and not allow any contact to be (mis)construed as a foul. Damien Burke has long been very poor in this dept. This doesn't excure the referee's display however which was simply appalling.
Post by: ross matt on November 20, 2011, 11:03:14 PM
Quote from: spuds on November 20, 2011, 09:03:43 PM

Was myself that thought it was Daffy Duffy, he looked like him I thought. My comments on Devanney's reffing stand.

Think that is unfair, he is only saying what others here have also said. You are just having a cheap shot here because he is a Galway poster. Why not comment on Lone Shark's balanced post instead of having a pop with that crap.

Not unfair. This guy has form. He is like a character from a sawdocters song. For what its worth I've the height of respect for Galway football and what its contributed to the game. The complete opposite to his opinion on Ross football.
Post by: ross matt on November 20, 2011, 11:08:58 PM
Quote from: mouview on November 20, 2011, 10:36:34 PM
Quote from: ross matt on November 20, 2011, 08:30:09 PM

Hmm.. not entirely sure Brigid's were better footballing side, some of Corofin's scores from play were very good examples of teamwork. Corofin are often dour, though whether or not they're properly reflective of Galway club football which is usually rubbish anyway is a moot point. In fairness the football they played v Tuam in the county final was very good and not of their normal variety. Corofin's 'downfall' today was their inability to tackle cleanly and not allow any contact to be (mis)construed as a foul. Damien Burke has long been very poor in this dept. This doesn't excure the referee's display however which was simply appalling.
Gaway football at club and county has been poor but when at its best its attacking and attractive. I think Bridgets are a far better example of this than  Corofin therefore I would consider them the better footballing side.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 20, 2011, 11:19:47 PM
Quote from: ross matt on November 20, 2011, 11:03:14 PM
Quote from: spuds on November 20, 2011, 09:03:43 PM

Not unfair. This guy has form. He is like a character from a sawdocters song. For what its worth I've the height of respect for Galway football and what its contributed to the game. The complete opposite to his opinion on Ross football.

I don't have any opinion on Roscommon football matt. None at all. I just thought some of the Rossie posters were a bit too keen to quickly overlook the performance of the referee in a one point game especially when there has barely been a neutral who saw the game that didn't think he was absolutely brutal. Especially for one side. That's all.

You seem to have held a grudge against me for years because I happened to once mention getting dog's abuse from Roscommon fans after a game (unpleasant but unfortunately also very true). Doesn't mean I think all Roscommon fans are like that no more than the Corofin fans today. Some people lose the heads in defeat and sometimes even victory. I thought you had gotten over that but maybe not. I don't take any abuse personally though. Sure we're only talking football.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 20, 2011, 11:41:44 PM
Jeez lads there's some awful blinkered people watching this match. The ref was terrible for both sides, he clearly decided that it was a big game and he didn't want it to get out of hand, which it could easily have given last yrs final and the close manner of it. So he decided to pull for everything when he probably should have just let it go a bit and sent off two lads if it looked like it was going south, 7 from Corofin & 10 from SB would have been a start. I think any neutral watching would say he probably gave decisions to SB that were more decisive, thems the breaks, he was poor but ultimately unbiased IMO.

At the end Corofin had plenty of chances to go to ET, Burke didn't want to stand up and be counted, among others, but he's a county player & you'd expect more.

Best of luck to the Connacht champions from here on in.
Post by: ross matt on November 20, 2011, 11:56:12 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on November 20, 2011, 11:41:44 PM
Jeez lads there's some awful blinkered people watching this match. The ref was terrible for both sides, he clearly decided that it was a big game and he didn't want it to get out of hand, which it could easily have given last yrs final and the close manner of it. So he decided to pull for everything when he probably should have just let it go a bit and sent off two lads if it looked like it was going south, 7 from Corofin & 10 from SB would have been a start. I think any neutral watching would say he probably gave decisions to SB that were more decisive, thems the breaks, he was poor but ultimately unbiased IMO.

At the end Corofin had plenty of chances to go to ET, Burke didn't want to stand up and be counted, among others, but he's a county player & you'd expect more.

Excellent post.
Post by: Abble on November 21, 2011, 08:04:10 AM
Quote from: ross matt on November 20, 2011, 11:56:12 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on November 20, 2011, 11:41:44 PM

Excellent post.

plus in fairness and i think most would agree....but there's not another ref in the country who'd have wanted that game yesterday, there's only so much a ref can do at the end of the day.
Post by: Barney on November 21, 2011, 08:34:14 AM
Maybe the Corofin supporters should just have accepted it like the Kerry supporters did when Joe McQuillan robbed them. The ref was only responsible for one side of those beatings. The teams blew it themselves.

There are far too many refs getting these big games though. How many are on the national panel? I know there are big numbers needed for the club championships and the national leagues but so many are substandard that it is at crisis point. They are never accountable and maybe the GAA should start more rigorous assessment rather than political appointments by Boards and provincial councils.
Post by: moysider on November 21, 2011, 09:50:44 AM
True Barney but younger refs have to learn their trade as well, and they wont develop just doing local games. Devenney would be seen as a top prospect but after yesterday will he bother.
Post by: DuffleKing on November 21, 2011, 10:02:51 AM

He shouldn't bother - he's brutal.
If a junior b player got a run for the county he'd know himself he's way below the standard
Post by: Buckass on November 21, 2011, 10:14:29 AM
Abble:....there's only so much a ref can do at the end of the day. 

:D :D :D
Post by: StoneWall on November 21, 2011, 10:27:47 AM
To be honest when I tuned in to TG4 yesterday I was amazed to see Liam Devanney as the ref. Anytime I have seen Devanney in action in club games in Mayo he is blatantly biased towards the home team and overall is a poor ref. Any marginal calls yesterday went to St Bridgets. I take the various points about referring being a tough job but there has to be a certain standard especially for a big game like this.

Corofin had chances at the end to force extra time but no one wanted to take the responsibility. Best of luck to Bridgets against the London champs.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 21, 2011, 10:39:36 AM
Disgraceful scenes, puke football, foul ridden and played in a spiteful manner...sorry I thought i was posting on the Ulster club thread ;)
Post by: Rossfan on November 21, 2011, 10:51:00 AM
So following on from the logic of the anti Intl Rules brigade -- time do do away with club football  :D
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 21, 2011, 10:52:42 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 21, 2011, 10:51:00 AM
So following on from the logic of the anti Intl Rules brigade -- time do do away with club football  :D

Definitely, just leave Andy where he currently is :P
Post by: ha ha derry on November 21, 2011, 12:32:57 PM
I watched the first 20 mins of the game, that was enough. Two comitted teams trying to play championship football and a b***s of a ref trying to stop them.
Post by: galwayman on November 21, 2011, 06:31:18 PM
Is this Devenney relatively new on the scene? Had never heard of him prior to yesterday.

It was obvious from an early stage in the game that he was going to take centre stage.He made so many bad calls it was frustrating to watch. The disallowed goal was a bad decision. The Corofin forward clearly ran in after the ball had arrived in the square and punched it home.
Then I think it was the last score Brigids got was one of the worst decisions I have seen in a long time where the ball was on the deck, the Brigids lad touched it on the ground, stumbled and got a free in. There was 2 Corofin lads around him at the time and neither of them so much as attempted to lay a hand on him. A bizarre decision.

Now of course Corofin have to look at themselves also as they didn't perform well in the second half at all and fair play to Brigids for stepping up to the mark after half time. And I agree with other posters who have pointed out the failure of any Corofin player to take responsibility for going for an equaliser near the end.

However to suggest that the refereeing didn't have a major bearing on the outcome of that game is plainly wrong given that it was a one point game in the end.

Also I know Kieran Fitzgerald to be an absolute gentleman and it would be unlike him to come out and say what he did in pubic after the game if he did not feel particularly aggrieved.
I have captained my own club in county finals and know that I would feel exactly the same if I were on the receiving end of a refereeing performance like that yesterday.

PS Just to clarify I have zero connection with the Corofin club other than happening to be from the same county.
Best of luck to Brigids in the AI series. It is certainly no fault of theirs that the ref made a balls of the game.
Post by: eddie d on November 21, 2011, 07:11:43 PM
IMO referees should give interviews after televised games. For non-televised games i think referees should compile a write up(along with their report) of any decisions they make and their reasoning while also including any mistakes they think they have made. This should then be forwarded to both clubs concerned a couple of days after the game, when the referee has time to review the game, if recorded.

I think this could go some way to preventing the scenes in yesterdays game, and indeed games in other counties in recent weeks. This may not work, but in relation to live games, if a referee was interviewed immediately after the game, this may stop many spectators from surrounding the ref.

any thoughs? would it work in 90% of the games that aren't live?would a ref admitting a mistake solve matters?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on November 21, 2011, 07:23:10 PM
This thread on anfearrua was deleted by mods, a prodimentaly clare, munster forum, :o you wouldnt think they get too hung up on the injustice yday but there you go....some comments on the bias of the ref i believe..
Post by: neilthemac on November 21, 2011, 07:59:21 PM
Up Brigids.
And féck the begrudgers

Corofin had ample time and chance to win or draw this game.
They can only blame themselves for that.
As for the referee - yes he was brutal. But, did he cause Corofin to lose the game? No
Post by: ross4life on November 21, 2011, 08:10:50 PM
SLIGONIAN, i see Liam Devenney was the ref for a couple of Sligo games this year, Sligo v Galway in Minor championship & Sligo v Galway in the FBD, how did he do it those games?
Post by: neilthemac on November 21, 2011, 08:23:20 PM
(http://img845.imageshack.us/img845/6004/photowju.jpg)

there it is, square ball
and he fouled the defender after
goal rightly disallowed
Post by: ross matt on November 21, 2011, 09:33:05 PM
Just watched it again on TG4 and to be fair to Corofin it looked a legitimate goal in that it appeared he ran in after it. However in your picture Neilthemac he does appear to be waiting in the square for it.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 21, 2011, 09:35:15 PM
The only reason he got to the ball was he leant his elbow on the defender's shoulder. I thought it was a clear foul out - square ball or not.
Post by: commonman on November 21, 2011, 09:46:30 PM
Being at the game, not too far from that goalmouth, and the ref whistled for the free out, for what i thought was a foul on the defender, long before the ball had hit the net. Whatever about some of the other calls, he got this one right
Post by: Syferus on November 21, 2011, 11:10:24 PM
Yeah, the replays tonight confirmed that the ref got the big call right, which is a big thing for him and for Corofin. Outside of that he was overly fussy but hardly intentionally biased.
Post by: muppet on November 22, 2011, 12:22:03 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on November 21, 2011, 07:23:10 PM
This thread on anfearrua was deleted by mods, a prodimentaly clare, munster forum, :o you wouldnt think they get too hung up on the injustice yday but there you go....some comments on the bias of the ref i believe..

f**king prodimentalists!
Post by: NetNitrate on November 22, 2011, 01:47:15 AM
That ref is surely owed a lot of apologies. How many experts like Martin Brehony swore it was a legitimate goal. It wasn't and for at least 3 good reasons.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 22, 2011, 12:24:55 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on November 21, 2011, 08:23:20 PM
(http://img845.imageshack.us/img845/6004/photowju.jpg)

there it is, square ball
and he fouled the defender after
goal rightly disallowed

I don't think it was a square ball, follow the "gaze" of the 3 players in the square and the ball already seems to be well inside the square. Given the direction the ball came from and the fact the Corofin player ran full tilt into the square I would safely say it wasn't a square ball. Hand on the shoulder is another matter.
Post by: dublin7 on November 22, 2011, 12:52:15 PM
Anyone who can call that a square ball from that angle must have some  depth perception skills. Maybe a free out, but that isn't what the ref gave.

The ref was out of his depth & had a shocker. You would have to question how these guys are appointed with so little experience.

Should never have played the game in brigid's ground either. Totally unsuitable for the game. Neutral venues for provincial finals should be a given.
Post by: Buckass on November 22, 2011, 01:30:46 PM
Replays on tg4 show it was a perfectly good goal. Watching it with a Corkonian and 2 Westmeath heads and all of us thought TG4 pics showed it was good goal. What was keeper @? No square ball and contact with ball before he landed on full back
Post by: Syferus on November 22, 2011, 02:18:16 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on November 22, 2011, 12:52:15 PM
Anyone who can call that a square ball from that angle must have some  depth perception skills. Maybe a free out, but that isn't what the ref gave.

The ref was out of his depth & had a shocker. You would have to question how these guys are appointed with so little experience.

Should never have played the game in brigid's ground either. Totally unsuitable for the game. Neutral venues for provincial finals should be a given.

The venue was perfect for this level of match and it's the second county ground, which is why it was an option in the first place. More club finals should be played at smaller venues as the atmosphere is far better than sticking 4-5,000 into stadia built for 30,000+.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 22, 2011, 02:29:53 PM
Quote from: Syferus on November 22, 2011, 02:18:16 PM

The venue was perfect for this level of match and it's the second county ground, which is why it was an option in the first place. More club finals should be played at smaller venues as the atmosphere is far better than sticking 4-5,000 into stadia built for 30,000+.

I think the argument is a club final shouldn't be held on the home ground of one of the competing clubs and it shouldn't IMO. No matter who is in the final. No shortage of suitable grounds out there these days. I know Brigid's are hardly the first in this regard as Ballina for example have had provincial finals on their ground with them playing in it.

In fairness this is a seperate argument to the performance of the ref.
Post by: ross4life on November 22, 2011, 03:34:05 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 22, 2011, 02:29:53 PM

I think the argument is a club final shouldn't be held on the home ground of one of the competing clubs and it shouldn't IMO. No matter who is in the final. No shortage of suitable grounds out there these days. I know Brigid's are hardly the first in this regard as Ballina for example have had provincial finals on their ground with them playing in it.

Really? would the venue issue be raised if St. Brigid's won without talking points or indeed if Corofin won. As Syferus said it's a fine pitch ideal for Club finals & a poor ref performance shouldn't stop games from  been played there in the future.
Post by: seafoid on November 22, 2011, 03:37:11 PM
Quote from: ross4life on November 22, 2011, 03:34:05 PM

Really? would the venue issue be raised if St. Brigid's won without talking points or indeed if Corofin won. As Syferus said it's a fine pitch ideal for Club finals & a poor ref performance shouldn't stop games from  been played there in the future.

it is no use beating Corofin if St Brigids don't win the all-Ireland. 
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 22, 2011, 03:39:16 PM

Really? would the venue issue be raised if St. Brigid's won without talking points or indeed if Corofin won.

Eh yes considering I raised the point on here well before the match took place.

Argument is not about the suitability of Kiltoom as a venue. I'm sure it's a fine facility. Just that club finals should not be played on the home ground of one of the competing clubs. I don't think this is a difficult concept to grasp myself.
Post by: Tubberman on November 22, 2011, 03:40:12 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 22, 2011, 03:37:11 PM

it is no use beating Corofin if St Brigids don't win the all-Ireland.

No point in most teams togging out at all so....
Post by: ross4life on November 22, 2011, 03:52:19 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 22, 2011, 03:39:16 PM

Really? would the venue issue be raised if St. Brigid's won without talking points or indeed if Corofin won.

Argument is not about the suitability of Kiltoom as a venue. I'm sure it's a fine facility. Just that club finals should not be played on the home ground of one of the competing clubs. I don't think this is a difficult concept to grasp myself.
In fairness you raised the point before the match because it was news to you that a competing team was at home in a club Connacht final before.

I hear your argument but i for one have no problem with teams having home advantage & must remember St.Brigid's have been on both sides of the coin now.
Post by: Lone Shark on November 22, 2011, 04:25:02 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on November 21, 2011, 07:59:21 PM
As for the referee - yes he was brutal. But, did he cause Corofin to lose the game? No

Just out of curiosity, is there anyone on this board not from Roscommon who shares this view? I fully accept that Devanney just had a poor day, it wasn't bias, and I'd have no problem with the location of the game - but surely to God it's easy to see that he changed the result of this game with a long sequence of decisions in favour of Brigids?
Post by: neilthemac on November 22, 2011, 09:27:05 PM

What about Tuam?
Corofin had no problem playing Tuam Stars there!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 22, 2011, 09:44:49 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on November 22, 2011, 09:27:05 PM

What about Tuam?

In fairness a county final was only ever going to be in either Salthill or Tuam. It would have no made no sense at all to drag two teams and their fans from the greater Tuam area into Salthill.
Post by: spuds on November 22, 2011, 10:42:20 PM
Quote from: Lone Shark on November 22, 2011, 04:25:02 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on November 21, 2011, 07:59:21 PM

Just out of curiosity, is there anyone on this board not from Roscommon who shares this view? I fully accept that Devanney just had a poor day, it wasn't bias, and I'd have no problem with the location of the game - but surely to God it's easy to see that he changed the result of this game with a long sequence of decisions in favour of Brigids?

Quote from: neilthemac on November 22, 2011, 09:27:05 PM

What about Tuam?

Funny how the Rossie posters are only willing to take umbrage with the Galway poster and not with the majority of neutrals that saw the referee as having a huge influence on the result. 2 good teams and the potential for a more memorable match ruined. Not Brigids fault and best of luck to them, hope they can go a step further than last year.
Post by: coosanglen on November 22, 2011, 11:14:46 PM
In reply to the post about Corofin having no problem playing Tuam Stars in Tuam Stadium, Tuam Stadium is not the home ground of Tuam Stars, they have their own separate grounds and in fact have nothing to do with the Stadium, due to their success over the years Corofin would be more used to playing in the stadium than the stars would.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on November 22, 2011, 11:15:49 PM
As a brigids man i am delighted we got to have this match in Kiltoom and won. It made it so much better.....

We had done our homework and knew what the Ref would be like, Corofin obviously had not. He was fussy but he was fussy for both sides. 4/5 of the total free count were for overcarrying and picking the ball off the ground. In saying that most brigids people would say we got probably got the calls today but we worked very hard for them. Corofin were mouthing at the ref, constantly having the ball brought forward and were playing for time in the first few minutes of the 2nd throwing the ball over the fence.

The disallowed goal would have been disallowed by probably 9/10 refs.... the rule is unenforceable and everyone has being saying it for years. Probably a free out anyway...

Karol got a soft free and Cathal scored from it, P.Kelly also got a soft one but he went down on the ball and a Corofin player put his foot in McHugh was booked for it in the 1st half (although he used much more force)

Some great tackling and harrassing in the last 10 to keep Corofin out. Ref was informed before the match if it was close or anything happened to make his way to the Centre (clubhouse) side.... he went the wrong way and maybe should have been closer when he blew the whistle to the exit.
Post by: muppet on November 22, 2011, 11:40:13 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on November 22, 2011, 11:15:49 PM
As a brigids man i am delighted we got to have this match in Kiltoom and won. It made it so much better.....

We had done our homework and knew what the Ref would be like, Corofin obviously had not. He was fussy but he was fussy for both sides. 4/5 of the total free count were for overcarrying and picking the ball off the ground. In saying that most brigids people would say we got probably got the calls today but we worked very hard for them. Corofin were mouthing at the ref, constantly having the ball brought forward and were playing for time in the first few minutes of the 2nd throwing the ball over the fence.

The disallowed goal would have been disallowed by probably 9/10 refs.... the rule is unenforceable and everyone has being saying it for years. Probably a free out anyway...

Karol got a soft free and Cathal scored from it, P.Kelly also got a soft one but he went down on the ball and a Corofin player put his foot in McHugh was booked for it in the 1st half (although he used much more force)

Some great tackling and harrassing in the last 10 to keep Corofin out. Ref was informed before the match if it was close or anything happened to make his way to the Centre (clubhouse) side.... he went the wrong way and maybe should have been closer when he blew the whistle to the exit.

The 'centre side'! Surely Shepherds can give better directions than that?
Post by: galwayman on November 22, 2011, 11:57:13 PM
QuoteP.Kelly also got a soft one but he went down on the ball and a Corofin player put his foot in[/quote

Would have to disagree with you on that one. Watch the video again. There were two Corofin men around him and at no stage did either of them put their foot or hand anywhere near the Brigids player. Not a free in a million years.

As I said in a previous post -> best of luck to Brigids in the AI series. The referees performance was no fault of theirs.
Post by: Syferus on November 23, 2011, 12:26:24 AM
Ah c'mon now, spuds. I think the vast majority of Roscommon/Brigids supporters have said the ref was very fussy and it'd have been better to have a more open game. The ref got the big call right and the rest was him going to the letter of the law with most things, be it steps or pushes, Brigids may have gotten the majority of the breaks but that can also be explained by the tight Corofin defending and the rather loose Brigids defending in the first half, meaning there was less latitude for Corofin players to win frees.

It wasn't the travestry of refereeing some would have you believe because in the end what decided the game was Brigids pulling away when it really mattered and Corofin not finding it within themselves to kick an equalizer from a series of half-chances they had near the end. It was hardly vintage stuff but it was definitely an entertaining and exciting game.
Post by: spuds on November 23, 2011, 12:38:03 AM
Quote from: Syferus on November 23, 2011, 12:26:24 AM
Ah c'mon now, spuds. I think the vast majority of Roscommon/Brigids supporters have said the ref was very fussy and it'd have been better to have a more open game. The ref got the big call right and the rest was him going to the letter of the law with most things, be it steps or pushes, Brigids may have gotten the majority of the breaks but that can also be explained by the tight Corofin defending and the rather loose Brigids defending in the first half, meaning there was less latitude for Corofin players to win frees.

It wasn't the travestry of refereeing some would have you believe because in the end what decided the game was Brigids pulling away when it really mattered and Corofin not finding it within themselves to kick an equalizer from a series of half-chances they had near the end. It was hardly vintage stuff but it was definitely an entertaining and exciting game.

Not saying that it was a terrible match, just that it could have been a much more enjoyable spectacle if the ref had allowed. Agree that Brigids were the better side in the 2nd half but got assistance from the overly fussy refereeing with handy frees, Corofin were a bit toothless at the end whereas Brigids can be satisfied that they closed the game out. Not sure whether he got the big calls right, the disallowed goal being the biggie. We are not going to agree on that one.
Post by: Shrewdness on November 26, 2011, 06:29:04 PM
Those people on here who accused Marty Duffy of being the referee really need to get their facts  straight before they go mouthing off.
Just because it looks like Marty Duffy, walks like Marty Duffy and quacks like Marty Duffy doesn't automatically make it Marty Duffy. ::)

Apparently Brigid's played Corofin in a challenge during the summer, and i heard it described as a ''bad tempered'' affair.

As for the game itself, there is no doubt that Brigid's magnificent achievement in winning 2 in a row has been completely overshadowed by all the talk about the referee.
The wonderful performances of players like Frankie Dolan, Peter Domican and Eoin Sheehy to name just three, have hardly warranted a mention, which is a huge pity.
Post by: Rossfan on November 26, 2011, 07:39:40 PM
They have Breheny and Silke spouting one sided crap in the media all week so no wonder no one's talking about the great win by our Co and now Provincial Champions.

Time for St B's to concentrate on the required improvements to their own game and focus on their games.
Let the Galways whinge on  ...sure they might get amedal if they keep it up long enough.
Any chance of the Tyrone Co Board doing the investigation as the CC are unlikely to come down heavy on a Galway team .
Mind you they abused a Mayo Ref so maybe they will get some comeuppance  :o
Post by: Tubberman on November 27, 2011, 11:58:57 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 26, 2011, 07:39:40 PM
They have Breheny and Silke spouting one sided crap in the media all week so no wonder no one's talking about the great win by our Co and now Provincial Champions.

Time for St B's to concentrate on the required improvements to their own game and focus on their games.
Let the Galways whinge on  ...sure they might get amedal if they keep it up long enough.
Any chance of the Tyrone Co Board doing the investigation as the CC are unlikely to come down heavy on a Galway team .
Mind you they abused a Mayo Ref so maybe they will get some comeuppance  :o

That's some size of a chip you're carrying there...
Post by: Rossfan on November 27, 2011, 02:49:59 PM
Only repeating what I've been hearing all over the County during the week.
Post by: ross4life on November 30, 2011, 07:34:47 PM
Up next for St. Brigid's is All Ireland quarter final v Fulham Irish this Sunday 1pm in Ruislip. Crossmaglen were given a good game v the London champions (Neasden Gaels) last year so can imagine it will be tough competitive game.

The winner will play the Leinster champions Feb 19th.

Post by: ross4life on December 04, 2011, 07:17:20 PM
Well done St Brigid's on reaching yet another All Ireland semi final today, FT 1-12 to 0-7 comfortable win in the end after the good start (15mins on the clock it was 1-4 to 0-0) there was only ever going to be one winner.

Semi final could be a unique pairing St Brigid's v St Brigid's but i'm sure Garrycastle will have something to say about it
Post by: haze on December 04, 2011, 08:11:02 PM
Regardless of who wins in Leinster it will be unique. I know St Brigids are based in Kiltoom but would I be right in thinking that that the Roscommon part of Athlone town play with Brigids? Just think it would be very interesting too see two clubs who pretty much share the same town play each other in such an important match. Dessie Dolan v Frankie Dolan could be worth admission fee alone
Post by: ross4life on December 04, 2011, 08:13:12 PM
Good point unique semi final either way.
Post by: Rossfan on December 04, 2011, 09:55:48 PM
Well done to the Kiltoom/Cam bucks as they continue their assault on the Andy Merrigan.
Went about it the right way today -- hit the ground running and don't give the underdogs a chance to get into the game.

If they meet Garrycastle I wonder where they will play it.?
If Munster Council fixture logic is used it'll probably be in Wexford Park  ::) :D
Post by: shark on December 05, 2011, 02:08:22 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 04, 2011, 09:55:48 PM
Well done to the Kiltoom/Cam bucks as they continue their assault on the Andy Merrigan.
Went about it the right way today -- hit the ground running and don't give the underdogs a chance to get into the game.

If Munster Council fixture logic is used it'll probably be in Wexford Park  ::) :D

Pairc Ciarain well able to take a crowd
Post by: Syferus on December 05, 2011, 02:16:12 AM
Quote from: shark on December 05, 2011, 02:08:22 AM

Pairc Ciarain well able to take a crowd

I'd imagine the county ground (and at a neutral venue in this case) rule would still stand so that's not an option, which is a real pity.

It'd likely be Pearse Park or O'Connor Park, Tullamore is particularly near. St. Brendan's Park in Birr might be a dark horse if they wanted a more compact ground.
Post by: shark on December 05, 2011, 04:39:45 AM
Quote from: Syferus on December 05, 2011, 02:16:12 AM
Quote from: shark on December 05, 2011, 02:08:22 AM
I'd imagine the county ground (and at a neutral venue in this case) rule would still stand so that's not an option, which is a real pity.It'd likely be Pearse Park or O'Connor Park, Tullamore is particularly near. St. Brendan's Park in Birr might be a dark horse if they wanted a more compact ground.

Well Pairc Ciarain held a Leinster U21 game between Westmeath and Offaly this year. Anyway it's a non issue for now!
Post by: ck on December 05, 2011, 01:55:24 PM
Does it have to be a Connacht ground? They couldnt take it out of the province surely?
Post by: Rossfan on December 05, 2011, 01:57:55 PM
Are these Semis on a home/away or Neutral venue basis?
Or is it just home venue for Munster tams when they play Connacht teams?
Post by: ross4life on December 05, 2011, 03:29:23 PM
IMO Pearse park longford would be big/good enough to host this semi final but i'm sure John Prenty will throw his hat into the ring as McHale park has to be paid off.