Dublin vs Kerry - Sunday September 1st

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, August 05, 2013, 03:35:20 PM

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 16, 2013, 12:59:27 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 16, 2013, 12:43:14 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 16, 2013, 12:18:59 PM
You'd think that the two greatest rivals, in any sport in the world would have more posts than two counties with a mere 6 All Irelands shared between the two of them! :)

Out of respect for Mayo, Tyrone & Syferus, we're all hanging on until after ye're semi-final

Somehow he will find 10 Roscommon men on the Dublin and Kerry teams through their great great great great grandaddys pet cat, he will claim that Lucan is East Roscommon and Tarbert players should rightfully be donning the Primrose and Blue.

Be ready to be reminded Kerry lads about 2006 and Ennis when 542,617 Rossies filled the stands.

Still sore that a Roscommon man will be lifting Sam in September, I guess.

easytiger95

It's on like Donkey Kong!! Let's get this started......

Snapshots of a rivalry

84/85 - Old enough to hate and fear them, not old enough to understand why. I was three in 78 and didn't know why my father spoke with such trepidation of them. They were aliens with exotic names - Ogie, Paidi, Ambrose, Jacko. We were in our pomp, clattering culchies on our way to Cork, winning Sam and infamy against Galway, big and brash as Joe McNally's tache. And of course we matched them - weren't Rock and Duff the best strike force out there, wasn't John O'Leary the best shot stopper in the country, wasn't Mullins the best midfielder in the country? Once maybe, but along with my memories of Jack O'Shea's loping strides was the feeling of inevitability about it all. My innocence gone forever, mingled feelings of hatred and disgust - and insult added to injury by my sadistic headmaster from the Kingdom who constantly rubbed it in and dangled promises of days off if the Dubs beat Kerry. He must have known something - the pain was just beginning.

2001 - Surely it wasn't that long! It was and despite annual jousts in the league, this was the first time in 16 years that there was blood in the water. They had faded and we had emerged, but we never had their efficiency. Despite dominating the early 90s in Leinster and the League, all we had to show was an All Ireland where we staggered over the line. Away we faded again and they found themselves - and what a discovery. Daragh O'Se, Dara O Cinneide, the Pony himself and the silent genius - the embodiment of Kerry football - Maurice Fitz. We travelled not in hope - Meath beat us by three points in the Leinster Final but they hadn't roused themselves to do so. It looked like we would suffer a double indignity that year. And yet...

We travelled down the night before, did the dog on it in The County Bar and Hayes', stood on the Killainin end and dreamed once more of stealing victory from the culchies' lair. And think about it, Collie and Dessie missed chances that physics students are still trying to figure out how the ball avoided the net. 8 points down and still in it - Vinny's gonna get ya, and he did, Darren Homan popped up to write his name into the annals and then.....to say we were there to witness it is inaccurate becasue we didn't, couldn't appreciate Maurice's kick inside the stadium. I'm proud to say that inside Larry's Bar that night, jsut off the square in Thurles, a blue clad crowd applauded a kick as Tommy Carr's purple veined face howled, as a stadium swooned and as one man bent the air to his own devices. Thank God for the Sunday Game.

And the next week? Just as much drink and craic but again that inevitable feeling. We had heart but were limited and they had what seemed an unlimited supply of artists. Pride redeemed but we were a long way off. There's a big difference between a rivalry and a beating...

More to follow

Crete Boom

Quote from: Syferus on August 16, 2013, 03:09:40 PM
You'd think that the two greatest rivals, in any sport in the world would have more posts than two counties with a mere 6 All Irelands shared between the two of them! :)

Out of respect for Mayo, Tyrone & Syferus, we're all hanging on until after ye're semi-final

Somehow he will find 10 Roscommon men on the Dublin and Kerry teams through their great great great great grandaddys pet cat, he will claim that Lucan is East Roscommon and Tarbert players should rightfully be donning the Primrose and Blue.

Be ready to be reminded Kerry lads about 2006 and Ennis when 542,617 Rossies filled the stands.

I think you mean the Tom Markham cup there Syferus cause as far as I know you were knocked out of the race for Sam by Tyrone in the qualifiers!!

I am not suprised that you get a but confused about all matter GAA when you still can't grasp that Ballagh is Mayo for GAA players hence the men/woman that chose to play for the club considers themselves Mayomen/Mayowomen not being bothered by some admintrative or government clasification as to where Ballagh lies for administrative purposes ;)

Crete Boom

Quote from: easytiger95 on August 16, 2013, 03:15:36 PM

Snapshots of a rivalry

84/85 - Old enough to hate and fear them, not old enough to understand why. I was three in 78 and didn't know why my father spoke with such trepidation of them. They were aliens with exotic names - Ogie, Paidi, Ambrose, Jacko. We were in our pomp, clattering culchies on our way to Cork, winning Sam and infamy against Galway, big and brash as Joe McNally's tache. And of course we matched them - weren't Rock and Duff the best strike force out there, wasn't John O'Leary the best shot stopper in the country, wasn't Mullins the best midfielder in the country? Once maybe, but along with my memories of Jack O'Shea's loping strides was the feeling of inevitability about it all. My innocence gone forever, mingled feelings of hatred and disgust - and insult added to injury by my sadistic headmaster from the Kingdom who constantly rubbed it in and dangled promises of days off if the Dubs beat Kerry. He must have known something - the pain was just beginning.

2001 - Surely it wasn't that long! It was and despite annual jousts in the league, this was the first time in 16 years that there was blood in the water. They had faded and we had emerged, but we never had their efficiency. Despite dominating the early 90s in Leinster and the League, all we had to show was an All Ireland where we staggered over the line. Away we faded again and they found themselves - and what a discovery. Daragh O'Se, Dara O Cinneide, the Pony himself and the silent genius - the embodiment of Kerry football - Maurice Fitz. We travelled not in hope - Meath beat us by three points in the Leinster Final but they hadn't roused themselves to do so. It looked like we would suffer a double indignity that year. And yet...

We travelled down the night before, did the dog on it in The County Bar and Hayes', stood on the Killainin end and dreamed once more of stealing victory from the culchies' lair. And think about it, Collie and Dessie missed chances that physics students are still trying to figure out how the ball avoided the net. 8 points down and still in it - Vinny's gonna get ya, and he did, Darren Homan popped up to write his name into the annals and then.....to say we were there to witness it is inaccurate becasue we didn't, couldn't appreciate Maurice's kick inside the stadium. I'm proud to say that inside Larry's Bar that night, jsut off the square in Thurles, a blue clad crowd applauded a kick as Tommy Carr's purple veined face howled, as a stadium swooned and as one man bent the air to his own devices. Thank God for the Sunday Game.

And the next week? Just as much drink and craic but again that inevitable feeling. We had heart but were limited and they had what seemed an unlimited supply of artists. Pride redeemed but we were a long way off. There's a big difference between a rivalry and a beating...

More to follow

I think you will get the happy ending you got in 2011 around 5p.m. on the 1st of Sept coming easytiger and probably in a more realxed last ten mins too although I doubt much Dubs will care what way a win comes along against the Kingdom.

We need to do some about the Rosquitos:

Quote from: easytiger95 on August 16, 2013, 03:15:36 PM

Snapshots of a rivalry

More to follow

Cracking post, ET.  You've  a similar trajectory as myself, though I was going on 8 for the 78 final.  First game I ever saw on tv.  The fear instilled by that only started to fade when I saw us beat them in the league in Killarney a few years back!

Quote from: Crete Boom on August 16, 2013, 04:08:00 PM

I think you mean the Tom Markham cup there Syferus cause as far as I know you were knocked out of the race for Sam by Tyrone in the qualifiers!!

I am not suprised that you get a but confused about all matter GAA when you still can't grasp that Ballagh is Mayo for GAA players hence the men/woman that chose to play for the club considers themselves Mayomen/Mayowomen not being bothered by some admintrative or government clasification as to where Ballagh lies for administrative purposes ;)

Roscommon minor soccer player Andy Moran will graciously accept Sam Maguire when the Combined Counties' inevitable march to glory ends in September.

A glorious day for Ballagh. Two AIs for the town in one day, both collected by Rossies? We're giving no one else a chance at this rate.

easytiger95

What are all these sheepstealers doing here? Not many rams to be rustled round De Nortside.....

Anyhoo ...

2004 was the ramshackle end to a ramshackle era. 5 points all at halftime and Whelo had rattled the crossbar from 30 yards out, sparking memories of his rocket against Armagh in 2002. But it was just the light dying, and it was fitting that Kerry's goal came from a ball that came back off the post. Dublin were flatfooted, Kerry stole in, game over. it was a parade of points, Galvin, O'Cinneide, Gooch, Mike Frank was still around...That was the day that we knew, as we lay bleeding on the tracks, that the light at the end of the tunnel had been the Sunday express from Killarney.

2007 and three successive Leinsters had beefed up our credentials, a good tussle with a Meath side with some pretensions had sharpened us and the general consensus was now or never. Never said Kerry and two images remain from that day - Gooch on the ball, stopping time as he pointed and directed his chess pieces around the board, playing the angles and finding the scores. As for us? Well we went on one of those second half rolls we used to specialise in, six points on the spin, playing football like the Stone Roses first album, stupendous, rushing, exhilarating - but ultimately, like the Roses, no follow up. Ray Cosgrove got on the end of a move and tried to replay his glorious finishing of 2002 - but it flashed wide. And all the while, the Gooch was in his bubble. 2 points and an ocean between us.

2009 - They say after a nuclear war, the only things that will survive will be cockroaches. This was our ground zero and the only surprise was how surprised we were. We'd fought our way put of a corner against Kildare and Gilroy seemed to have toughened us up. I was  in the Premium with my brother and I'm ashamed to say we didn't leave the bar for the second half - there was an aul kerry wan beside us who from five minutes in was screaming at us to bring out Ciaran Whelan as well, they'd take care of him as well. Whelo rumbled on, the big white gloves, the same soaring catches - and nothing in front of him to hit. It was no way for the big Blue to go out. We poured one on the kerb for him and his team. But the darkest hour is always before the dawn...

Kerry will rip down Dublin in a display of cynicism that will trump anything ever seen before

off the ball with this game abit, but watching dublin v Kildare 92, the dubs should been 2 men down after 20mins with K Barr fisty cuffs and J Sheedy punch on the back of glen ryan head when he was on his knees. G the refs didnt half let thinsg go in them days, they be red carded pretty quick these days

On another note what a net busting goal from Keith Barr, mighty goal

Quote from: easytiger95 on August 16, 2013, 09:25:33 PM
What are all these sheepstealers doing here? Not many rams to be rustled round De Nortside.....

Anyhow...

2004 was the ramshackle end to a ramshackle era. 5 points all at halftime and Whelo had rattled the crossbar from 30 yards out, sparking memories of his rocket against Armagh in 2002. But it was just the light dying, and it was fitting that Kerry's goal came from a ball that came back off the post. Dublin were flatfooted, Kerry stole in, game over. it was a parade of points, Galvin, O'Cinneide, Gooch, Mike Frank was still around...That was the day that we knew, as we lay bleeding on the tracks, that the light at the end of the tunnel had been the Sunday express from Killarney.

2007 and three successive Leinsters had beefed up our credentials, a good tussle with a Meath side with some pretensions had sharpened us and the general consensus was now or never. Never said Kerry and two images remain from that day - Gooch on the ball, stopping time as he pointed and directed his chess pieces around the board, playing the angles and finding the scores. As for us? Well we went on one of those second half rolls we used to specialise in, six points on the spin, playing football like the Stone Roses first album, stupendous, rushing, exhilarating - but ultimately, like the Roses, no follow up. Ray Cosgrove got on the end of a move and tried to replay his glorious finishing of 2002 - but it flashed wide. And all the while, the Gooch was in his bubble. 2 points and an ocean between us.

2009 - They say after a nuclear war, the only things that will survive will be cockroaches. This was our ground zero and the only surprise was how surprised we were. We'd fought our way put of a corner against Kildare and Gilroy seemed to have toughened us up. I was  in the Premium with my brother and I'm ashamed to say we didn't leave the bar for the second half - there was an aul kerry wan beside us who from five minutes in was screaming at us to bring out Ciaran Whelan as well, they'd take care of him as well. Whelo rumbled on, the big white gloves, the same soaring catches - and nothing in front of him to hit. It was no way for the big Blue to go out. We poured one on the kerb for him and his team. But the darkest hour is always before the dawn...

There's probably more Rossies in Dublin than in Roscommon this stage.

This match is a foregone conclusion, and that's coming from someone that's going to be attending it. Happy to get another chance to see Gooch in action, though.

Quote from: Syferus on August 16, 2013, 10:37:25 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on August 16, 2013, 09:25:33 PM

Anyhow...

There's probably more Rossies in Dublin than in Roscommon this stage.

This match is a foregone conclusion, and that's coming from someone that's going to be attending it. Happy to get another chance to see Gooch in action, though.

You're into the Gooch action are ya Syf lad?  :o

Johnnybegood

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 16, 2013, 10:20:37 PM
off the ball with this game abit, but watching dublin v Kildare 92, the dubs should been 2 men down after 20mins with K Barr fisty cuffs and J Sheedy punch on the back of glen ryan head when he was on his knees. G the refs didnt half let thinsg go in them days, they be red carded pretty quick these days

On another note what a net busting goal from Keith Barr, mighty goal
and not one kildare player threw a punch

Joe Brolly's article and its hard to argue with any of it really. I think this Kerry team have been one of the great sides of modern times but next week could see the end of a lot of their careers.

Brolly: Gooch not doing the hard yards

Age old rivals Dublin and Kerry are due to cross swords in the All-Ireland SFC semi-final on Sunday week and, speaking on FQfm digital radio station, the RTE pundit questioned Cooper's suitability to the number 11 jersey.

"Cooper at centre half-forward is good in the sense that it frees him from the restrictions of the full-forward line but the problem is he's looking for easy ball around the half-back line.

"He's not doing the primary role of a centre half-forward. If you look at Brian McGuigan or Greg Blaney, players like that, they could also win the breaking ball, the hard yards.

"A centre-forward must do the hard yards and that's just not the type of footballer Colm is. He's looking for easy ball and it's going to be very, very difficult for him."

Comparing the 'Gooch' to up-and-coming Dublin star Kilkenny, the 1993 All-Ireland Derry winner said: "He's (Kilkenny) proper, he's powerful and he's a battler.

"Colm is peerless in terms of his skills but I'm on record as saying that I don't believe he cane lead a team in adversity and I've never seen him lead a team in adversity. There's a huge burden on his shoulders and he's not just that type of person."

Brolly also raised doubts over Paul Galvin's stamina and Kieran Donaghy's role in the Kingdom game plan.

"Paul Galvin's engine is nowhere near where it was. He's happy now to pick up a breaking ball in or around the half-back line and hand-pass it off, a wee nice kick-pass.

"The modern game, the wing-forward template, is Paul Flynn or Mark McHugh etc., workaholic flying machines who can play from box to box for 70 minutes.

"They don't know how to use Kieran Donaghy. Are they going to kick the ball or are they not going to kick the ball? Because they've been so defensive it's difficult for them to get the ball forward quickly. Declan O'Sullivan is not a natural corner-forward.

"James O'Donoghue looks very, very good but aside from that they have wholesale problems. Eamonn Fitzmaurice has clearly decided that he wants to play like Donegal and that's been the template and you can see that."

Comparing the 'Gooch' to up-and-coming Dublin star Kilkenny, the 1993 All-Ireland Derry winner said: "He's (Kilkenny) proper, he's powerful and he's a battler.

As opposed to gooch being improper,weak and timid?