Words only the Irish use.

Started by SidelineKick, December 05, 2008, 11:52:57 AM

Quote from: Denn Forever on April 15, 2010, 04:18:17 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 15, 2010, 12:28:53 PM
Top of the list for us people would be "ag caitheamh clochanna leis na Cabhánaigh".

So, who are we throwing stones at?

The Caaaaavan lads. Popular sport in North Meath (back in another millennium when Cavan supporters would be passing through on their way to/from Croke Park).

Sorry, AZ - I wasn't clear - that's the word "cur" in the gaeilge.

"a wee want"

He has a wee want in him.=not near wise.

Too lazy to read all the pages so forgive me if this was mentioned, but around me in Kildare we use the word 'browner'.
An annoyin hoor pretty much who annoys everyone with the poo talk.

Also in the midlands 'ya stones', an eegit in other words.

ya cud'nt turn a swait (sweet) in ur mouth.....

"the place was packed"

sure yer wan is a quare cub!

"that boy is good"

Quote from: Denn Forever on February 13, 2013, 08:19:05 PM
They were "slobbering" after the disco, similar to this fight.

Quote from: ballinaman on February 13, 2013, 03:10:17 PM
Perth Fight

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=qdECya67DP4

:( >:(

This is in the wrong thread. It should be in a thread called "Embarrassing wankers who leave our shores to show how the Irish live up the stereotype of being stupid drunken pricks who love a fight."

cadence

poundies is mashed spuds in donegal.

we also use the phrase "damn a hate" to say you've had nothing to do when asked what's the crack. it has a double meaning. the obvious one being that having nothing to do is a hateful thing and you're not that happy about it. the second meaning is that life has not been that interesting for you of late, nothing exciting happening, but you're relaxed and not that bothered about this. few damn a hates are said in a rueful way, most are said in a relaxed way. damn a hate... always thought it was a great name for a band. that and molten rock... \m/

cadence

anyone said tran, meaning stubborn.

they use scunnered in scotland too i think.

Quote from: cadence on February 13, 2013, 11:20:08 PM

Is it not thran?

Quote from: cadence on February 13, 2013, 11:18:52 PM
poundies is mashed spuds in donegal.

Not just Donegal. Don't be so parochial!  :P ;)

cadence

Quote from: theticklemister on February 13, 2013, 11:40:20 PM

Is it not thran?

it is. miles away! i meant to put up thran and scunnered and did half of both. equal ops and all that.

Answering a  question with another question or a sentence where an English person would use 'yes ' or 'no'.

Are you going to the match?
Irish A-why would I/ why wouldn't I ?
Irish B- I am/I am not
English default - Yes /no

Quote from: cadence on February 14, 2013, 08:33:35 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 13, 2013, 11:40:20 PM

Is it not thran?

it is. miles away! i meant to put up thran and scunnered and did half of both. equal ops and all that.

Feck

Why not just say fúck, you mean the same thing?