Neil Francis

Started by vetoldthe, June 17, 2018, 07:01:31 PM

Quote from: Jinxy on June 20, 2018, 10:43:58 AM
Whatever about the country in general, I used to really enjoy watching rugby before I was exposed to the Dublin fee-paying schools scene, via the Dublin college scene.
God, you couldn't make up some of these lads, they'd put Ross O'Carroll-Kelly to shame.
Once they found out you didn't go to Blackrock, Clongowes etc. and worse again, YOU PLAYED GAELIC FOOTBALL, they quickly ran out of things to talk about.  :D
It's good to see some of the provincial towns doing well, but for the foreseeable future the game in Leinster will be very much rooted in that incestuous South Dublin-based Senior Cup scene.
That takes some of the good out of it for me.

South County Dublin is hurling country now.

Hurling is only a game for bad rugby players.

Quote from: Jinxy on June 20, 2018, 10:48:26 AM

Definitely less skillful. Hit & hope, the great undefined GAA skill.

Whatever about the country in general, I used to really enjoy watching rugby before I was exposed to the Dublin fee-paying schools scene, via the Dublin college scene.
God, you couldn't make up some of these lads, they'd put Ross O'Carroll-Kelly to shame.
Once they found out you didn't go to Blackrock, Clongowes etc. and worse again, YOU PLAYED GAELIC FOOTBALL, they quickly ran out of things to talk about.  :D
It's good to see some of the provincial towns doing well, but for the foreseeable future the game in Leinster will be very much rooted in that incestuous South Dublin-based Senior Cup scene.
And its outpost in Clongowes too.

It must have been some shock for them when a school in Roscrea won the Leinster Senior Cup though.

Quote from: Owenmoresider on June 20, 2018, 11:00:15 AM
And its outpost in Clongowes too.

It must have been some shock for them when a school in Roscrea won the Leinster Senior Cup though.

They tried to change the rules after it  ;D

Quote from: Crete Boom on June 19, 2018, 05:05:17 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 19, 2018, 04:23:13 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on June 19, 2018, 02:16:45 PM
the reason Tugby would not be that worried about the GAA is the natural catchment areas are so very different .  protestants, professional, wannabes and shopkeepers make up the majority of the rugby senior teams team in the west of Ireland with a few corrowed from the winter from the GAA,
I used to play/ train with ballina for a few winter in a vain attempt at staying fit and thin and its a fine club very welcoming and were very early in importing foreign coaches and players who made a huge difference to the club , But there is always a sense of those who belong v tourists  and the bar afterwards was always like the vicarage tea party .
also interesting to note they now employ a fine GAA journalist as a PR agent how many GAA clubs with a paid PRO?

Lad, you are way off the Mark. Maybe 20 years ago but no more. Check out where the U18s on Ballina Town club come from today.

It was way off the mark in my time there which started 25 years ago.

really so are you still a member there ?
my point  they will take the players from anywhere as you would professionals , but they know who belongs there and who will be gone as soon as they stop playing unless they coach like the undertaker.
i'm not slagging them off just pointing out facts
Not all country rugby team are manned by protestants but  all protestants have some connection to the rugby club . nowhere so much as Ballina .

Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 10:44:50 AM
I will indulge

Top of my head passing skills

left, right, pop, spin, cat-flap, flat, short, long, disguised, "off the ground pop", "off the ground pass" "during the tackle",  "at full pace", under, over, switch, screen, wrap "off load one hand" "off load two hands", "rip and pop"

I'm sure I could add more if was engaged but I'm not so final thing now add a defined tackle where you have a heap of decisions to process and try do those skills listed above under that kind of pressure. No doubt you think the best athletes in the world (NBA) are just throw, catch and pass merchants too. There's a reason why GAA coaches rob ideas from Rugby and Basketball. My last piece of advice, unwanted no doubt, is never be dismissive of other sports other ideas especially in front of children. Kids are generally repelled by that kind of negativity, if they are playing others sports it's because they enjoy them, they don't need their choices questioned.

Really all those are different ball skills?? Throw, throw and throw.

As for your last line of condescending advice it is unwanted as I never do that. I explained why kids were leaving my club in my original post which you ignored. I also said that i understood why rugby etc were successful in recruiting kids and how the GAA need to learn from it and you ignored that too. You prefer to think my club is full of ignorant dinosaurs that drive kids away. I still stand by my points that Rugby is a competitor. You respect them, learn from them but don't be a fool and consider them anything but a competitor.

Quote from: Itchy on June 20, 2018, 12:40:32 PM
I will indulge

left, right, pop, spin, cat-flap, flat, short, long, disguised, "off the ground pop", "off the ground pass" "during the tackle",  "at full pace", under, over, switch, screen, wrap "off load one hand" "off load two hands", "rip and pop"

I'm sure I could add more if was engaged but I'm not so final thing now add a defined tackle where you have a heap of decisions to process and try do those skills listed above under that kind of pressure. No doubt you think the best athletes in the world (NBA) are just throw, catch and pass merchants too. There's a reason why GAA coaches rob ideas from Rugby and Basketball. My last piece of advice, unwanted no doubt, is never be dismissive of other sports other ideas especially in front of children. Kids are generally repelled by that kind of negativity, if they are playing others sports it's because they enjoy them, they don't need their choices questioned.

As for your last line of condescending advice it is unwanted as I never do that. I explained why kids were leaving my club in my original post which you ignored. I also said that i understood why rugby etc were successful in recruiting kids and how the GAA need to learn from it and you ignored that too. You prefer to think my club is full of ignorant dinosaurs that drive kids away. I still stand by my points that Rugby is a competitor. You respect them, learn from them but don't be a fool and consider them anything but a competitor.

Oh yes the Big Bad Rugby Club are winning and the lads are having, god forbid. fun. You sound like a priest from the 50s where sport is not about fun but losing, that's your life lesson now suck it up. I say you're some craic as a coach.

You see rugby as unskilled game and one you certainly don't respect, you already posted some other derogatory homophobic comments on the game, why would anyone see your club as full of dinosaurs? Now I am finally out of this conversation, give me a shout when you move into the Paleocene era.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 01:03:50 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 20, 2018, 12:40:32 PM
I will indulge

Oh yes the Big Bad Rugby Club are winning and the lads are having, god forbid. fun. You sound like a priest from the 50s where sport is not about fun but losing, that's your life lesson now suck it up. I say you're some craic as a coach.

You see rugby as unskilled game and one you certainly don't respect, you already posted some other derogatory homophobic comments on the game, why would anyone see your club as full of dinosaurs? Now I am finally out of this conversation, give me a shout when you move into the Paleocene era.

Not sure what a priest from the 50s was like (I assume they were all the same). Yes, I am good craic as a coach, no doubt about it.

I do see rugby as a largely unskilled game yes. That wasn't the point of my post but I wont disagree with you there. Very few balls skills in comparison to Football, Hurling, Basketball etc. That makes it a lot easier for kids to pick up.

Its a game also full of dangerous head injuries and a game full of drug abuse. Its a game of muscle over brain. However it is good at some things and as an organisation the GAA should learn from what they are good at. Like self promotion for example, they are very good at getting people to watch their games who have no background in the game. Convicning people that some "test" match against Australia is important for example. Also good at no tolerance of abusing referrees.

Anyway, long may Kildare collaborate with rugby teams and produce teams that do very poorly for their sizable population of 220k.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 10:50:00 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 20, 2018, 10:48:26 AM

Definitely less skillful. Hit & hope, the great undefined GAA skill.

You watched much hurling recently?

I wonder does any sport have as much self loathing as the GAA, when see guys who bother to comment thousands of times on GAA mattesr run off in a huff because some one criticized rugby , I just wonder

Quote from: rosnarun on June 20, 2018, 03:14:32 PM
I wonder does any sport have as much self loathing as the GAA, when see guys who bother to comment thousands of times on GAA mattesr run off in a huff because some one criticized rugby , I just wonder

Who ran off? I engaged made my point, it's now a circular argument, I'm not here to preach about rugby. When you see idiots bring in religion and sexual preference then there really is no point engaging any further.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 03:24:21 PM

Who ran off? I engaged made my point, it's now a circular argument, I'm not here to preach about rugby. When you see idiots bring in religion and sexual preference then there really is no point engaging any further.

You are the idiot that brought priests into it. Regarding sexual preference, you are referring to a joke I made about the Scrum being like a scene out of a gay porn movie, thats weak. Surely you can slag me off with something better than that??

Anyway, I complimented rugby on a few things just because I wont agree it is a highly skilled game Dinny threw his toys away. Sure any gobshite can see it is low down in the skill level steaks

Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2018, 03:24:21 PM

QuoteNow I am finally out of this conversation, give me a shout when you move into the Paleocene era.

sounds like running off to me , or is it refusing to engage,
people religious beliefs  have nothing to do with merely that's their tribe and their clubs and I did not confine it to Protestantsi also inclide the professions , you country solicitors and doctors and smack shopkeeprs . where the real snobbery lies ,
in short Notions

Can't be arsed engaging anymore, you are both entitled to your opinion, pretty obvious we disagree and I am not going get anywhere, I didn't join the board to talk rugby but I will defend the sport, in fact I would pretty much defend all sports. Anyway that's fine, not going fall out over it, just moving on, is that ok?