GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: tyrone86 on August 03, 2008, 05:50:53 PM

Title: Quarter Final Draw
Post by: tyrone86 on August 03, 2008, 05:50:53 PM
Supposed to be live on Newstalk http://www.blueface.tv/newstalk/live/radio.html (http://www.blueface.tv/newstalk/live/radio.html)
Title: Re: Quarter Final Draw
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 03, 2008, 05:51:25 PM
Dublin V Kerry PLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEASE  ;D
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 03, 2008, 05:57:07 PM
Dublin Tyrone please.....
Post by: orangeman on August 03, 2008, 05:57:12 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on August 03, 2008, 05:50:53 PM
Supposed to be live on Newstalk http://www.blueface.tv/newstalk/live/radio.html (http://www.blueface.tv/newstalk/live/radio.html)

When ?
Post by: Real1995 on August 03, 2008, 05:58:53 PM
Live on TV3...Armagh v Kildare....its just going to happen  ;D
Post by: tyrone86 on August 03, 2008, 06:01:48 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 03, 2008, 05:57:12 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on August 03, 2008, 05:50:53 PM

When ?

After the six o clock news
Post by: Arthur on August 03, 2008, 06:03:00 PM
I'd say Armagh v Tyrone more likely and held in Clones - Dublin v Kildare, Cork v Wexford and Galway v Kerry.
Post by: gerry on August 03, 2008, 06:07:44 PM
bring on the dubs
Post by: Owenmoresider on August 03, 2008, 06:07:53 PM
Cork v Kildare
Dublin v Tyrone  ;D
Armagh v Wexford
Galway v Kerry
Post by: Ball Hopper on August 03, 2008, 06:08:16 PM
Semi-Finals:  Cork-Kildare meet Galway-Kerry

Dublin-Tyrone meet Armagh-Wexford

Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 03, 2008, 06:08:35 PM
YES YES YES....
Post by: PatDaly on August 03, 2008, 06:09:23 PM
Armagh v Wexford
Dublin v Tyrone

Cork v Kildare
Galway v Kerry
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 03, 2008, 06:09:54 PM
Thanks a bunch Paul Earley. >:(
Post by: blasmere on August 03, 2008, 06:10:00 PM
Yet another cork v kerry clash looming

dublin v kerry final
Post by: tyrone86 on August 03, 2008, 06:10:52 PM
Or alternatively another Tyrone Armagh Semi  ;D
Post by: orangeman on August 03, 2008, 06:11:05 PM
Armagh v Wexford
Dublin v Tyrone

Cork v Kildare
Galway v Kerry
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 03, 2008, 06:17:18 PM
Cork V Kildare in Thurles

Galway V Kerry in Gaelic Grounds in Limerick

Armagh v Wexford
Dublin Tyrone  In Croke Park as a double header.
Post by: Real1995 on August 03, 2008, 06:17:26 PM
armagh v wexford game not worthy of discussing on TV3  ::)
Post by: Arthur on August 03, 2008, 06:20:14 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on August 03, 2008, 06:17:18 PM

Armagh v Wexford

Saturday I take it?
Post by: carnaross on August 03, 2008, 06:21:09 PM
Galway will beat Kerry, Tyrone will beat Dublin  :D ;D, Armagh will beat Wexford and Cork will beat Kildare.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 03, 2008, 06:21:36 PM
Quote from: Arthur on August 03, 2008, 06:20:14 PM

Armagh v Wexford

Saturday I take it?

yeh theres a double header set for Saturday
Post by: stew on August 03, 2008, 06:24:30 PM
Armagh are facing the unknown and I hope to God they are not over confident going into that game. I think they will sneak it by a couple of points, we have the experience and that may well be the difference but Wexford will be chomping at the bit and will be up for a crack at Armagh. prediction. Armagh 1-12 Wexford 1-10.

I hope Tyrone can take the Dubs, I would fancy us to beat Tyrone in the semi final if both teams got there, I think Dublin would be a bit to god for us.

Galway have some excellent forwards and will put it up to Kerry, this will be an open game and I am predicting a Galway victory.

I hope Kildare can beat Cork but that is a tough proposition, Cork should win this but they tend to fold at the business end of the championship, prediction, Cork.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on August 03, 2008, 06:25:34 PM
Sickened by that draw  :'(
Tyrone, Kildare and Wexford all very beatable and a semi-final apperance would have represented good progress for us, of course I knew we'd get those hoors from Kerry.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 03, 2008, 06:26:45 PM
Quote from: carnaross on August 03, 2008, 06:21:09 PM
Galway will beat Kerry, Tyrone will beat Dublin  :D ;D, Armagh will beat Wexford and Cork will beat Kildare.

I would say the chances of us beating Kerry are slim and none to be honest. Would have fancied our chances against any of the others but not Kerry. Just hope we can put up a decent fight.
Post by: ringy on August 03, 2008, 06:43:44 PM

Armagh v Wexford

Cork and Kildare will be in Croke Park with the Cork and Kilkenny match.

On the draw itself, absolutely sick at the prospect that if we beat Kildare we more than likely on paper anyway play Kerry in the semi,Im literally sick
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on August 03, 2008, 06:50:47 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 03, 2008, 06:08:35 PM
YES YES YES....

Be careful what you wish for!
Post by: Rav67 on August 03, 2008, 07:00:11 PM
Anyone else think it was a bit of a coincidence that Cork and Dublin were the first 2 out of the hat?  Cork couldn't play Kerry again and likewise Dublin with Wexford so it made it a bit easier to have them as the first 2 out.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 03, 2008, 07:42:37 PM
Quote from: ringy on August 03, 2008, 06:43:44 PM

Armagh v Wexford

On the draw itself, absolutely sick at the prospect that if we beat Kildare we more than likely on paper anyway play Kerry in the semi,Im literally sick

yeh sorry you're right about Cork Footballers, forgot about that.

id say Dublin, Tyrone on its own could get at least 65-70,000, definetely a case for a stand alone fixture,
However isnt it Dublin's management and team who arent willing to give an extra week(even thought it would let alot more of their fans see the team) because all their training is geared towards next Saturday.

Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 03, 2008, 07:54:10 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on August 03, 2008, 07:42:37 PM

Armagh v Wexford

yeh sorry you're right about Cork Footballers, forgot about that.

id say Dublin, Tyrone on its own could get at least 65-70,000, definetely a case for a stand alone fixture,
However isnt it Dublin's management and team who arent willing to give an extra week(even thought it would let alot more of their fans see the team) because all their training is geared towards next Saturday.

What you mean 65-70k it would be a sell-out!!!

You mean the fact that they have been told that their game is the 9th and that they are planning all their training towards that date...Can you blame them for not wanting to change the date...
Post by: Hound on August 03, 2008, 08:01:31 PM
Dublin v Tyrone would sell 83,000 on its own no bother.

A pity a double bill will mean thousands will be locked out. Especially as the 4 qualifiers this weekend combined was nearly 20,000 short of a full house
Post by: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 08:09:37 PM
rumour has it it might be stand alone yet. but i stress - rumour.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on August 03, 2008, 08:11:26 PM
All-Ireland SFC quarter-final draw:
Saturday, 9 August

ALL MATCHES TO BE PLAYED IN CROKE PARK

Armagh -v- Wexford, 2.00pm

Galway -v- Kerry, 4.00pm

Sunday, 10 August

Cork -v- Kildare, 2.00pm

Saturday, 16 August

Dublin -v- Tyrone, 4.00pm
Post by: AFS on August 03, 2008, 08:18:50 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on August 03, 2008, 08:11:26 PM
Saturday, 9 August

Galway -v- Kerry, 4.00pm

Sunday, 10 August

Cork -v- Kildare, 2.00pm

Saturday, 16 August

This is the way I've heard it'll be too. Proper order too, everyone gets a go in Croker.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on August 03, 2008, 08:24:06 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2008/0803/sfc_qf.html?gaa
Post by: AFS on August 03, 2008, 08:29:26 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on August 03, 2008, 08:24:06 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2008/0803/sfc_qf.html?gaa

Haha, that was quick. Didn't realise it was confirmed already, and here was me thinking I had inside info.
Post by: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 08:30:04 PM
that has me concerned as a dublin fan. f**** preparations up completely.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on August 03, 2008, 08:38:16 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 08:30:04 PM

It gives Tyrone another week to recover as well
Post by: stew on August 03, 2008, 08:41:06 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 08:30:04 PM

That decision is a nighmare for Dublin, those scabby bastids make out like bandits and get time to recover, you would nearly think HQ believe that PTG is still playing for the tyronies they way they are still pandering to them. ;)
Post by: Doire abĂș on August 03, 2008, 08:57:34 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 08:09:37 PM
rumour has it it might be stand alone yet. but i stress - rumour.

Of course it will be. The GAA love the coin.

EDIT: Should've read the rest of the posts before posting!
Post by: mackers on August 03, 2008, 09:12:16 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on August 03, 2008, 08:11:26 PM
Saturday, 9 August

Galway -v- Kerry, 4.00pm

Sunday, 10 August

Cork -v- Kildare, 2.00pm

Saturday, 16 August

Looks like we are going to have to break the hoodoo of playing out of the Cusack Stand dressing rooms then. Best result we've had coming out of there was a draw with Sligo in 2002. Good draw for us although we thought that in 2004! If we can put C McKeever on Forde and stay as competitive in midfield as we did in the second half in the replay then we should come through OK.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 03, 2008, 09:14:49 PM
QuoteAll-Ireland SFC quarter-final draw:
Saturday, 9 August

Galway -v- Kerry, 4.00pm

Sunday, 10 August

Cork -v- Kildare, 2.00pm

Saturday, 16 August

Good to see the sensible decision being made. Nobody was going to get everything they wanted but this is the best compromise.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on August 03, 2008, 09:17:26 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 03, 2008, 06:26:45 PM
Quote from: carnaross on August 03, 2008, 06:21:09 PM
Galway will beat Kerry, Tyrone will beat Dublin  :D ;D, Armagh will beat Wexford and Cork will beat Kildare.

I would say the chances of us beating Kerry are slim and none to be honest. Would have fancied our chances against any of the others but not Kerry. Just hope we can put up a decent fight.
Yes its a shit draw, but I would like to see each and every one of our lads give it 110% and leave Croke Park with no regrets next weekend.  If its good enough, great, but no f***ing regrets.  
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 03, 2008, 09:19:02 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 03, 2008, 09:14:49 PM
Saturday, 9 August

Galway -v- Kerry, 4.00pm

Sunday, 10 August

Cork -v- Kildare, 2.00pm

Saturday, 16 August

Good to see the sensible decision being made. Nobody was going to get everything they wanted but this is the best compromise.

Typical Dublin getting f*cked over...
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on August 03, 2008, 09:25:48 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 03, 2008, 09:19:02 PM
Saturday, 9 August

Galway -v- Kerry, 4.00pm

Sunday, 10 August

Cork -v- Kildare, 2.00pm

Saturday, 16 August

Dry your eyes, a sensible decision was made. If Dublin are so confident of victory what difference does it make if its the 9th or 16th, it will be a 70 minute game involving the same 30 players on the same pitch no matter what. Maybe you's have researched the long term weather forecast and thats whats bothering you's? The fixtures were never set in stone and were merely a guideline. In the past they have been shifted about eg Armagh v Laois in 05. How do teams prepare for qualifiers or replays with 1 weeeks notice?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 03, 2008, 09:28:50 PM
Armagh's q/final to be followed by Kerry v Galway - same as 2002. Hopefully its an omen!
Post by: tyronefan on August 03, 2008, 09:29:18 PM
Jesus typical dubs  youes cry until youes a stand alone game and then youes are still not happy
Post by: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 09:30:10 PM
wouldn't hold the back page yet, i think you're going to see a pretty venomous protest from Dublin on this. Its a an absolute disgrace we've been shafted again to fill the coffers of the assoication. hope the county board tell them to fook off, because the squad and management are livid.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 03, 2008, 09:35:38 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on August 03, 2008, 09:25:48 PM
Saturday, 9 August

Galway -v- Kerry, 4.00pm

Sunday, 10 August

Cork -v- Kildare, 2.00pm

Saturday, 16 August

Dry your eyes, a sensible decision was made. If Dublin are so confident of victory what difference does it make if its the 9th or 16th, it will be a 70 minute game involving the same 30 players on the same pitch no matter what. Maybe you's have researched the long term weather forecast and thats whats bothering you's? The fixtures were never set in stone and were merely a guideline. In the past they have been shifted about eg Armagh v Laois in 05. How do teams prepare for qualifiers or replays with 1 weeeks notice?

How are they guidelines???? The Qtr-finals were set out in the Master Planner for the 9th August end of story...and Dublin have been planning to play on that date...so now have a 5 week break between matched which is too long, Tyrone get an extra weeks break and our rest period before the semi-final is cut or if its a draw there is none...
Post by: 20leg-end08 on August 03, 2008, 10:06:08 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 03, 2008, 09:35:38 PM
Saturday, 9 August

Galway -v- Kerry, 4.00pm

Sunday, 10 August

Cork -v- Kildare, 2.00pm

Saturday, 16 August

How are they guidelines???? The Qtr-finals were set out in the Master Planner for the 9th August end of story...and Dublin have been planning to play on that date...so now have a 5 week break between matched which is too long, Tyrone get an extra weeks break and our rest period before the semi-final is cut or if its a draw there is none...

You's are getting your way with your standalone match - an extra week will hardly make a huge difference if Dublin really think they're the best team in Ireland. You's have a home match in pretty much every championship match that you's play so get over it. If the Dubs are good enough they'l beat Tyrone.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on August 03, 2008, 10:08:14 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 03, 2008, 09:35:38 PM
Saturday, 9 August

Galway -v- Kerry, 4.00pm

Sunday, 10 August

Cork -v- Kildare, 2.00pm

Saturday, 16 August

The Dubs are starting to panic already and are resorting to telling lies to back up their arguements. The Leinster final was on the 20th July, so how does that make it 5 weeks to Saturday the 16th of August  - its not even 4 weeks. Such a bit of moaning about a match being moved by a week. I dont recall any moaning from Armagh or Laois in 05 and think a game may have been moved last year to.
Post by: tyronefan on August 03, 2008, 10:10:41 PM
maybe the dubs are coming up with the excuses now so they will have something to blame when they are beat   ; ::) ;D ;D
Post by: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 10:12:53 PM
sick of being used to fund the association. bear that in mind the next time the Gaa hands your club out a few quid. ther eis no advantage now to winning the provinical championship and we'd have been better off being beaten as we've no match practice where as tyrone have benefitted from losing in the provinical stages, what a farce.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 03, 2008, 10:14:01 PM
Quote from: tyronefan on August 03, 2008, 10:10:41 PM
maybe the dubs are coming up with the excuses now so they will have something to blame when they are beat   ; ::) ;D ;D
Just what I was thinking.

Indiana
Quotebecause the squad and management are livid.
If I was a dub this would set alarm bells ringing - the attitude in the camp should be "bring them on" and not "oh god they've another week, and our plans are ruined, they'll beat us now".
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on August 03, 2008, 10:14:47 PM
Yeah clubs and up and down the country would fold without the Dubs keeping them afloat. Dublin are the GAA.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 03, 2008, 10:17:30 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on August 03, 2008, 10:14:47 PM
Yeah clubs and up and down the country would fold without the Dubs keeping them afloat. Dublin are the GAA.
They have to be taking the piss - how long have they been crying now for a stand alone fixture and now when they get it they're still not happy. 
I was pretty sure Dublin would be the team to beat before today but if these type of things are unsettling them then they can forget it.
Post by: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 10:18:12 PM
well its true mate the economics don't lie. for the record pints we've no fear of Tyrone, looking forward to doing  a number on them. simply looking for fair play in the fixtures where cork and the rest appear to set the agenda.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 03, 2008, 10:21:27 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 10:18:12 PM
well its true mate the economics don't lie. for the record pints we've no fear of Tyrone, looking forward to doing  a number on them. simply looking for fair play in the fixtures where cork and the rest appear to set the agenda.
every county has sunshine supporters - I wouldnt like the gaa to be relying on the pissed up soccer fans who gather on the hill 4 or 5 times a year.
Post by: 20leg-end08 on August 03, 2008, 10:26:23 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 03, 2008, 10:21:27 PM
well its true mate the economics don't lie. for the record pints we've no fear of Tyrone, looking forward to doing  a number on them. simply looking for fair play in the fixtures where cork and the rest appear to set the agenda.
every county has sunshine supporters - I wouldnt like the gaa to be relying on the pissed up soccer fans who gather on the hill 4 or 5 times a year.

Spot on - how many of the dubs that pack croke park for the big matches would travel upto clones or casement or down to Kerry if they didnt have the use of Croke park for every game?
Post by: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 10:35:37 PM
how many tyrone fans bothered to watch a home championship match against westmeath last week?
answer= f**k all.
how many tyrone fans went to watch them play mayo?
answer=f**k all
Up your jaxy .
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on August 03, 2008, 10:45:40 PM
I can see why the Dubs havent won sam since 95. They're more interested in who's got the biggest support and when the match will be played, than the actual game itself. Im pretty sure Mickey Harte and our players werent too bothered which weekend the game will be played. The Dublin team should be well used to late changes to their fixtures, sure dont their own fans turn up late and get every match delayed at the last minute.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 03, 2008, 10:49:20 PM
Quote from: 20leg-end08 on August 03, 2008, 10:26:23 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 03, 2008, 10:21:27 PM

Spot on - how many of the dubs that pack croke park for the big matches would travel upto clones or casement or down to Kerry if they didnt have the use of Croke park for every game?

Yes so when we beat Derry in Clones and had over 90% of the crowd or when we played the 2 games in Thurles with massive crowds there was no-one from Dublin or when we played Longford last year we didn't sell out the ground!!!!

Anyway as it is decided lets just go out and beat these diving/cheating Tyrone players, then lets beat Armagh and then Kerry and shut up everyone else in the country who comes out with rubbish about a poor Dublin team, a poor Leinster championship etc...
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 03, 2008, 11:02:38 PM
QuoteAnyway as it is decided lets just go out and beat these diving/cheating Tyrone players, then lets beat Armagh and then Kerry and shut up everyone else in the country

Since Kerry, Armagh and Tyrone are the very teams with recent experience in shutting Dublin up,  that statement is tempting fate somehwhat.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 03, 2008, 11:10:57 PM
QuoteIts a an absolute disgrace we've been shafted again to fill the coffers of the assoication. hope the county board tell them to fook off, because the squad and management are livid.

hang on, dont you guys consistently argue that Dublin should get standalone fxtures so that ye can all get in to see the game....? and you typically justify these demands with the massive numbers and revenue ye bring in ?  If ye use ye're numbers to put pressure on the GAA then dont be crying when it comes back to bite ye in the arse.
Post by: magickingdom on August 04, 2008, 09:18:18 PM

Armagh v Wexford

your dead right to be sick ringy... see you soon  ;)
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on August 17, 2008, 11:27:25 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on August 03, 2008, 06:50:47 PM
YES YES YES....

Dont say you werent warned.
Post by: thebuzz on August 18, 2008, 12:38:27 AM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on August 03, 2008, 06:50:47 PM
YES YES YES....

Dont say you werent warned.

DUBSFORSAM1 is in the same league as Tankie when it comes to mouthing off about how good the Dubs are. As far as I'm aware he hasn't braved the board since the big defeat.