GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: 5 Sams on January 10, 2014, 03:49:25 PM

Title: "Supporting" other counties....
Post by: 5 Sams on January 10, 2014, 03:49:25 PM
...the jersies thread got me thinking.

Loads of people in Ireland have no difficulty in swearing blind loyalty to English soccer teams...indeed many on here do it...christ I did it myself when Eric Cantona was playing :o

However it seems to be taboo among us Gaels to express admiration or indeed support for another county team. As you may know I would have a certain grá for Kerry which stems from watching them in the Golden Years and the type of football they play and have played. But you dare not say it out loud that you are a Kerry "supporter" to certain other Gaels.....the same Gaels who profess undying love for foreigners living in England who are paid thousands of pounds a week.The same people who you will never ever get a chance to meet and have a pint with.... Unlike our own GAA heroes.

Discuss.
Title: Re: "Supporting" other counties....
Post by: AZOffaly on January 10, 2014, 03:56:01 PM
Because the GAA is about parish, place and identity. You cannot be from more than one place, and you can't choose where you are from. You may live in several different counties, and as a result have a fondness for all of them, or have a fondness for a particular county for any other reason, but you will always be a Down man, or an Offaly man. Wherever you were when you became self aware is where you are from. Being born in the Rotunda does not make you a Dub. And living in Rochfortbridge until you are 5 does not make you a Westmeath Man. *shudder*

I have various reasons for having a fondness for Kerry, Limerick hurling, Tipperary, Waterford and Mayo. Now that they've come back to earth since the mid 00's, even a slight tolerance of Westmeath :) However, I am not a fan of any of these. I am an Offaly man, and an Offaly fan.
Post by: Sandy Hill on January 10, 2014, 04:57:39 PM
I've always had a sneaking admiration for Meath!
Post by: T Fearon on January 10, 2014, 05:04:26 PM
"The same people who you will never ever get a chance to meet and have a pint with.... " Wanna bet?
Post by: deiseach on January 10, 2014, 05:15:54 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on January 10, 2014, 03:49:25 PM

Loads of people in Ireland have no difficulty in swearing blind loyalty to English soccer teams...indeed many on here do it...christ I did it myself when Eric Cantona was playing :o

However it seems to be taboo among us Gaels to express admiration or indeed support for another county team. As you may know I would have a certain grá for Kerry which stems from watching them in the Golden Years and the type of football they play and have played. But you dare not say it out loud that you are a Kerry "supporter" to certain other Gaels.....the same Gaels who profess undying love for foreigners living in England who are paid thousands of pounds a week.The same people who you will never ever get a chance to meet and have a pint with.... Unlike our own GAA heroes.

Discuss.

Here's one I prepared earlier (http://www.comeonthedeise.ie/2009/08/08/counties-that-i-dont-hate-down/) that might be of particular interest to you.

I think your comparison with English soccer is misconceived. You are far less likely to have supporters of an English soccer team have a good word to say about other English soccer teams. This is true even of Irish people who have no compelling reason to support the one that they do.
Post by: deiseach on January 10, 2014, 05:17:31 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 10, 2014, 03:56:01 PM
And living in Rochfortbridge until you are 5 does not make you a Westmeath Man. *shudder*

Thank you for sharing. That must have been hard for you.
Post by: Rossfan on January 10, 2014, 05:18:13 PM
I only support Ros County teams.
However I might from time to time "shout for" some other County depending on who they're playing usually ( e.g. Mayowr,Kerry or Dublin etc )  or where they're underdogs.
Post by: dec on January 10, 2014, 07:23:44 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on January 10, 2014, 03:49:25 PM

Discuss.

What you are saying is that you are afraid to admit that you have a secret admiration for Armagh.
Post by: moysider on January 10, 2014, 08:21:54 PM

I wouldn t be a fan of any other county team.

Occasionally teams have come along in other counties that I enjoyed watching.

The Cork team with JBM, Declan Barron, Denis Long, Dave McCarty and Ray Cummins.
The Kerry team of Moran, Sheehy and Egan.
The Ros team (God forgive me!) of Earley, Jigger and McManus.

More recently I liked the Tyrone team that won those AIs and this current Dublin team is easy to watch - well most of the time anyway :'(
Post by: ross4life on January 10, 2014, 08:53:52 PM
My Dad & relations are from Donegal so i'd always keep an eye on their results, its a while since i went to one of their games though. I think nearly everyone likes seeing the underdogs doing well.
Post by: Syferus on January 10, 2014, 08:59:07 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 10, 2014, 08:53:52 PM
My Dad & relations are from Donegal so i'd always keep an eye on their results, its a while since i went to one of their games though. I think nearly everyone likes seeing the underdogs doing well.

Unless they're Kerry.
Post by: Club Rossa on January 10, 2014, 09:02:45 PM
Syferus also supports the Tyrone minors.
Post by: Syferus on January 10, 2014, 09:04:49 PM
Quote from: Club Rossa on January 10, 2014, 09:02:45 PM
Syferus also supports the Tyrone minors.

Was awful disappointed they lost to those anti-football Rhubarbs in the final.
Post by: Club Rossa on January 10, 2014, 09:05:55 PM
 ;DI know you were lad.
Post by: Jinxy on January 10, 2014, 10:12:30 PM
Quote from: Sandy Hill on January 10, 2014, 04:57:39 PM
I've always had a sneaking admiration for Meath!

And who could blame you.
Post by: rodney trotter on January 10, 2014, 10:16:40 PM
Always like Wexford, had quality players but never won Leinster. Should have got past the Dubs on a few occasions. Like Galway too, natural footballers.
Post by: laoislad on January 10, 2014, 10:36:48 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on January 10, 2014, 10:16:40 PM
Always like Wexford, had quality players but never won Leinster. Should have got past the Dubs on a few occasions. Like Galway too, natural footballers.
They've won 10 of them.
Post by: Syferus on January 10, 2014, 10:42:11 PM

Sure even the Kerry ladeens if the '80s couldn't beat Wexford's four-in-a-row of AI titles!
Post by: ONeill on January 10, 2014, 11:14:05 PM
Massive fan of Mayo.
Post by: anglocelt39 on January 10, 2014, 11:18:37 PM
Wexford Rodders? In personal experience a narkier little shower of supporters or officials you will travel a long distance to match. Mind You I was not totally without blame on the occasions in question. Family connections with louth make soft spot for them. Longford lads can't be faulted. Galway always seemed to play the game like it was meant to be played. No problems with Down either,
Post by: laoislad on January 10, 2014, 11:47:40 PM
Tyrone. Greatest county in Ireland. Feck it's probably the greatest place on earth.
Closely followed by Armagh.
Post by: From the Bunker on January 11, 2014, 01:54:45 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 10, 2014, 11:14:05 PM
Massive fan of Mayo.

(http://image.img-erento.com/ventilation-system/large-fan-warehouse-size-ventilation-system-1808698-4720309_dia.jpg)

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 11, 2014, 02:16:03 AM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on January 10, 2014, 11:18:37 PM
Wexford Rodders? In personal experience a narkier little shower of supporters or officials you will travel a long distance to match. Mind You I was not totally without blame on the occasions in question. Family connections with louth make soft spot for them. Longford lads can't be faulted. Galway always seemed to play the game like it was meant to be played. No problems with Down either,

The myth of Galway  ::)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 11, 2014, 02:18:26 AM
Any of the other Connacht teams, Clare and Wexford Hurling and Cavan Football.

Used despise Meath and they us. I think a mutual respect and admiration now exists.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 11, 2014, 03:13:00 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 11, 2014, 02:16:03 AM

It has to be untrue to be a myth. ;)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 11, 2014, 03:48:30 AM
Quote from: Syferus on January 10, 2014, 10:42:11 PM

Sure even the Kerry ladeens if the '80s couldn't beat Wexford's four-in-a-row of AI titles!

1980 was especially sweet. Always good to put perennial losers like you in your proper place !
Post by: mylestheslasher on January 11, 2014, 09:20:05 AM
I always liked to see some of our neighbours do well like Leitrim or Fermanagh but outside that I'd always find myself hoping the underdogs would win or maybe a team that plays a nice brand of football. Sligo of course too. I used to have a gra for Kildare once upon a time, felt they brought great colour and their perennial under achieving was always attractive to a neutral but alas their recent behaviour has changed all that.
Post by: seafoid on January 11, 2014, 09:45:44 AM
Ros, Mayo, Cavan, Down, Limerick, Waherford, Wexford

I would have very little time for Sligo, Westmeath, Laois on the other hand.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 11, 2014, 10:17:52 AM
I thought you loved us too seafoid. Disgusted.
Post by: anglocelt39 on January 11, 2014, 10:18:41 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on January 11, 2014, 03:13:00 AM

No Myth, genuine football achievers, probably more football All Irelands than the rest of Connacht combined and 10% of the online noise. 3 in a row 60's 98 All Ireland Winners were super footballers, was a pleasure to watch their Under 21s unravel McGeeneys Gym monkeys last year, just a few examples there.
Post by: rodney trotter on January 11, 2014, 10:22:09 AM
Quote from: laoislad on January 10, 2014, 10:36:48 PM
They've won 10 of them.

Yeah, meant in more recent times when they had Mattie Forde . Red Barry etc
Post by: seafoid on January 11, 2014, 10:40:01 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 11, 2014, 10:17:52 AM
I thought you loved us too seafoid. Disgusted.
I was going to put Offaly in as well but it's time for ye to stand on your own two feet.
Did you ever see that Paidi video re Westmeath where he gets his hair cut in a barbershop owned by an Offaly medal winner from the 1970s?
And you can tell that the Offaly fella knows they won't go as far as Offaly did.
Post by: tyroneman on January 11, 2014, 10:46:10 AM
Never quite understood the mentality some provincial comrades have of supporting the other Ulster teams once their own county goes out. If Tyrone go out I certainly don't be cheering on Derry or Armagh.......

Do other provinces have a similar affiliation?

Did Meath, Laois or Louth fans support Dublin in the 2013 final?

Did Cork fans cheer on Kerry winning AIs after the rebels bowed out?

Do Galway row in behind Mayo once out?
Post by: mylestheslasher on January 11, 2014, 11:39:08 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on January 11, 2014, 10:46:10 AM
Never quite understood the mentality some provincial comrades have of supporting the other Ulster teams once their own county goes out. If Tyrone go out I certainly don't be cheering on Derry or Armagh.......

Have you ever spoken to the older generation of Tyrone people, those in their 60's or older. I've spoken to a few and found  that back when they were younger Tyrone were quite crap and a lot of people there use to look to the other Ulster counties and follow them such as Cavan in the 40's and 50's and Down in the 60's. Once lad told me he used to work in the south and on the way up home he used to stop in Cavan and buy the Anglo Celt to see what was going on in Cavan football. Obviously Tyrone became a power in their own right but remember no team from the 6 counties won an AI until the 1960's, 80 years into the GAA so you can understand why Ulster gaels used to look to the provincial winners to represent them and maybe that is why that continues today to a greater extent in Ulster than in other provinces?
Post by: reddgnhand on January 11, 2014, 12:40:51 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on January 11, 2014, 11:39:08 AM

Have you ever spoken to the older generation of Tyrone people, those in their 60's or older. I've spoken to a few and found  that back when they were younger Tyrone were quite crap and a lot of people there use to look to the other Ulster counties and follow them such as Cavan in the 40's and 50's and Down in the 60's. Once lad told me he used to work in the south and on the way up home he used to stop in Cavan and buy the Anglo Celt to see what was going on in Cavan football. Obviously Tyrone became a power in their own right but remember no team from the 6 counties won an AI until the 1960's, 80 years into the GAA so you can understand why Ulster gaels used to look to the provincial winners to represent them and maybe that is why that continues today to a greater extent in Ulster than in other provinces?

True. My father still talks about the great Down team and how him and all his mates went to the AIF. I remember when Armagh got to the final in 77 there was great hype  in Tyrone.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 11, 2014, 02:25:48 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on January 11, 2014, 10:18:41 AM

No Myth, genuine football achievers, probably more football All Irelands than the rest of Connacht combined and 10% of the online noise. 3 in a row 60's 98 All Ireland Winners were super footballers, was a pleasure to watch their Under 21s unravel McGeeneys Gym monkeys last year, just a few examples there.

Awe please, 1960's Galway team played vollyball, the rule changes in those years made the game anything but Gaelic football and Galway were the masters of vollyball. Have Galway won a game in Croke Park since 2001? What division are they in? One of their AI was thieved off Mayo and handed to Galway by the GAA. They are nothing more than Mayo's bitches. How many games / years in a row have we beat / hammered them. Media darlings, poor support, 3'rd best team in West after Mayo and Roscommon.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 11, 2014, 02:35:07 PM

Connacht supports her own, the exception would be Sligonian.be
Post by: anglocelt39 on January 11, 2014, 02:35:20 PM
throw out the bait and they will take it, every time.
Post by: muppet on January 11, 2014, 03:05:27 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on January 11, 2014, 02:35:20 PM
throw out the bait and they will take it, every time.

Save money and don't even use bait.
Post by: Syferus on January 11, 2014, 03:45:10 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 11, 2014, 02:35:07 PM

He just doesn't like the chuckle brothers.
Post by: Hardy on January 11, 2014, 03:50:10 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 11, 2014, 02:25:48 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on January 11, 2014, 10:18:41 AM

Awe please, 1960's Galway team played vollyball, the rule changes in those years made the game anything but Gaelic football

Those rule changes were ... ?
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on January 11, 2014, 11:45:40 PM

Good man. 100% agree. I am from Derry. I support Derry. The end.
Post by: armaghniac on January 12, 2014, 12:32:39 AM
QuoteNever quite understood the mentality some provincial comrades have of supporting the other Ulster teams once their own county goes out.

Because that's the GAA way, Mickey.

I am from Derry. I support Derry.

Well even that is more than most people in Derry!
Post by: larryin89 on January 12, 2014, 01:17:06 AM
There is a difference in having a fondness for a different county other than your own and supporting a different county,supporting another county is just plain weird.

I shout for anyone that plays Roscommon , I absolutely detest Roscommon . If Rossie played a team made up of nazi war criminals I'd become a nazi for the day.
Post by: muppet on January 12, 2014, 01:22:00 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on January 12, 2014, 01:17:06 AM
There is a difference in having a fondness for a different county other than your own and supporting a different county,supporting another county is just plain weird.

I shout for anyone that plays Roscommon , I absolutely detest Roscommon . If Rossie played a team made up of nazi war criminals I'd become a nazi for the day.

I'm guessing you have lamb for every meal?
Post by: The Hill is Blue on January 14, 2014, 01:27:31 PM
I've always had a soft spot for the Down team of the 1960s. Also the 1977 Armagh team. 
Post by: Jinxy on January 14, 2014, 01:49:28 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on January 12, 2014, 01:17:06 AM

Goering would do serious damage on the edge of the square.
Post by: ziggysego on January 14, 2014, 03:07:32 PM
I once put a Derry jersey on me in Lourdes. Later that day, I got my flight home. I took ill on the plane and collapsed. They had to do an emergency breaking at Belfast International on the run away, with the ambulance racing on to get me off the plane. I had a police escort to Antrim Area Hospital.

Not saying there is a connection between a Tyrone man wearing a Derry top and then falling gravely ill. I'm just saying that it happened.
Post by: Lar Naparka on January 14, 2014, 03:21:09 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 11, 2014, 02:35:07 PM

Yup, I think that's true.
If we're out and Galway are still in it, I'd back them against anyone else. No problem at all.
Same with the Rossies.  If they're out of Connacht. I'll back them hoors. ;D
Some Lots of their fans can be a bit agricultural at times but generally they are a very sound bunch.
Post by: Fuzzman on January 14, 2014, 03:42:58 PM
Ziggy, why or why did you firstly have a Derry jersey and secondly had you nothing else clean to wear or why did you think of wearing it on the flight home knowing that loads would see you wearing it an assume you're a Derry man Sur.

Is that Guinness ad still in Dungiven where it shows a picture of a horse and cart and says Horse it into ye sur?

In 2002, when I had just arrived home from a summer in Australia, I went to the Armagh v Dublin match and happily supported Armagh. I didn't know many Armagh wans as I come from near the Derry border. After the match I met a bunch of typical Tyrone haters and they soon changed my mind about supporting Armagh though I was glad they beat Kerry in the final
Post by: ziggysego on January 14, 2014, 04:36:29 PM
It was raining and I didn't want my Tyrone top to get wet.
Post by: theticklemister on January 14, 2014, 04:45:22 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on January 14, 2014, 03:42:58 PM
Ziggy, why or why did you firstly have a Derry jersey and secondly had you nothing else clean to wear or why did you think of wearing it on the flight home knowing that loads would see you wearing it an assume you're a Derry man Sur.

Is that Guinness ad still in Dungiven where it shows a picture of a horse and cart and says Horse it into ye sur?

In 2002, when I had just arrived home from a summer in Australia, I went to the Armagh v Dublin match and happily supported Armagh. I didn't know many Armagh wans as I come from near the Derry border. After the match I met a bunch of typical Tyrone haters and they soon changed my mind about supporting Armagh though I was glad they beat Kerry in the final

At the said game in the nally stand watching our minors defeat longford. We cheered for armagh in the senior game and the dubs fans rained bottle, coins you name it down on top of us. The same dubs fans did th same when i venturered onto the hill with my derry top and bodhran in hand in 2007 when we played them in the AIQF. The bodhran became a temporary shield
Post by: The Iceman on January 14, 2014, 06:14:38 PM
Why can you support another parish level team but not another county team?
When a local club level team makes Ulster or All Ireland the entire town is decked out in club colours. And not just their side of the town. Take the Og's in Armagh for example - the whole town had green and gold on display (and rightly so) when they had their run a few years back......
I think people take it all a bit too serious. Especially the soccer ones.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 15, 2014, 03:57:07 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 11, 2014, 09:45:44 AM

What have you got against these counties ?

Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 15, 2014, 06:35:24 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 15, 2014, 03:57:07 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 11, 2014, 09:45:44 AM

What have you got against these counties ?

Bland
Post by: stew on January 15, 2014, 03:52:33 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on January 14, 2014, 03:42:58 PM

Why wouldn't they hate Tyrone? They screwed us out of our second AI the bastards, I despise them almost as much as I do Down.

I would support Antrim and hope to live long enough to see them be relevant in the AI series (both codes) But i doubt it.