Armagh v Galway AIQF

Started by tonto1888, June 13, 2022, 03:07:13 PM

full moon

The brawl really didn't help Armagh this time, the momentum was all with them, it felt like there was a long delay from normal time to extra time starting to deal with the brawl.

Credit to both teams though

Quote from: marty34 on June 27, 2022, 12:38:47 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on June 27, 2022, 12:15:35 PM
Quote from: trailer on June 27, 2022, 11:43:59 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 27, 2022, 11:38:59 AM
Quote from: trailer on June 27, 2022, 11:34:37 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on June 27, 2022, 11:22:37 AM
Quote from: trailer on June 27, 2022, 11:16:29 AM
So there you are now. Some thoughts.

It was fantastic entertainment.
Rian O'Neill is a serious player. What a huge performance. Great score at the end but he was everywhere. But he is all Armagh have. A lot of the rest of them are limited players.
The sending off was a funny one. Initally I thought it very harsh, felt a yellow was enough but looking at it again last night I can see why Coldrick gave it.
Galway are a good team. A lot of Armagh ppl felt that it was only a matter of turning up. Had heard a lot of stories of Armagh fans getting carried away. Galway didn't get caught in the hype and after they settled they went about their business with great efficiency. They did shite the togs. They need to learn how to lose games out.

The row was the row and yer man made a bollocks of himself. Everyone will get off no matter what suspensions the GAA throw at them. Coldrick made a balls of it. Contributing to a melee is the referees get out of jail card. But this is a problem of the GAAs making. They have let Armagh off all year and they will continue to behave this way. Dublin and Kerry also got let off similarly.

If the GAA are serious about dealing with the issue they need to address the mess that is the rulebook. A referees report must be sacrosanct. No reds overturned ever. No matter what. If the ref gets it wrong, he gets it wrong. Tough. Use only video to retrospectively ban for serious foul play missed by the referee. If he deals with it, then that's the matter closed. No appeals on technicalities because the report wasn't submitted in 4 different versions of Irish or this nonsense.
So Coldrick made a balls of it but the refs report must be sacrosanct. If you're winding at least don't make it so obvious. Sean Kelly doesn't deserve to miss an all ireland semi final. Thought the ref was woeful all day tbh.

I'm not winding. If Coldrick thought he had any power he'd have lined 15 from each side. The rulebook is a mess and then by extension so was his handling of the row.
I was kind of on your side but you know what you're proving everyone's point. Armagh can do no wrong. It's their responsibility. There is a clear Armagh directive, one in all in. Can't send us all off boys. They all pumped up out of their minds like McGeeney was when he played.

Armagh are playing with the big boys now and need to realise that every single incident will be poured over. Tyrone live with this daily.

Tyrone haven't lived with it much this year anyway, they were long gone before the championship had even begun in earnest.

Sean Kelly will get off on appeal because looking at the replay he done nothing to warrant a red card. The Galway player that swung a punch at Kelly should get banned and after that it was all argy bargy stuff with very little actual foul play. But the media will make a big deal of it as usual and big bad Armagh will probably get the blame.

Jesus Christ. A person could have lost his sight.
If Armagh owned up here ppl would have more sympathy.
Plenty of Armagh people calling out the gouging, not so many others calling Comer out for starting it. It is unsightly and the GAA needs to do more to stop it.

What did Comer do?

James Morgan started it. He was shoving Comer the whole way to the tunnel.

Rian O'Neill is a serious player. What a huge performance. Great score at the end but he was everywhere. But he is all Armagh have. A lot of the rest of them are limited players.
The sending off was a funny one. Initally I thought it very harsh, felt a yellow was enough but looking at it again last night I can see why Coldrick gave it.
Galway are a good team. A lot of Armagh ppl felt that it was only a matter of turning up. Had heard a lot of stories of Armagh fans getting carried away. Galway didn't get caught in the hype and after they settled they went about their business with great efficiency. They did shite the togs. They need to learn how to lose games out.

The row was the row and yer man made a bollocks of himself. Everyone will get off no matter what suspensions the GAA throw at them. Coldrick made a balls of it. Contributing to a melee is the referees get out of jail card. But this is a problem of the GAAs making. They have let Armagh off all year and they will continue to behave this way. Dublin and Kerry also got let off similarly.

If the GAA are serious about dealing with the issue they need to address the mess that is the rulebook. A referees report must be sacrosanct. No reds overturned ever. No matter what. If the ref gets it wrong, he gets it wrong. Tough. Use only video to retrospectively ban for serious foul play missed by the referee. If he deals with it, then that's the matter closed. No appeals on technicalities because the report wasn't submitted in 4 different versions of Irish or this nonsense.
So Coldrick made a balls of it but the refs report must be sacrosanct. If you're winding at least don't make it so obvious. Sean Kelly doesn't deserve to miss an all ireland semi final. Thought the ref was woeful all day tbh.

I'm not winding. If Coldrick thought he had any power he'd have lined 15 from each side. The rulebook is a mess and then by extension so was his handling of the row.
I was kind of on your side but you know what you're proving everyone's point. Armagh can do no wrong. It's their responsibility. There is a clear Armagh directive, one in all in. Can't send us all off boys. They all pumped up out of their minds like McGeeney was when he played.

Armagh are playing with the big boys now and need to realise that every single incident will be poured over. Tyrone live with this daily.

Tyrone haven't lived with it much this year anyway, they were long gone before the championship had even begun in earnest.

Sean Kelly will get off on appeal because looking at the replay he done nothing to warrant a red card. The Galway player that swung a punch at Kelly should get banned and after that it was all argy bargy stuff with very little actual foul play. But the media will make a big deal of it as usual and big bad Armagh will probably get the blame.

Plenty of Armagh people calling out the gouging, not so many others calling Comer out for starting it. It is unsightly and the GAA needs to do more to stop it.

How did Comer start it? Did he organise a reck of men to come piling in whilst having a disagreement with Morgan?

Brick Tamlin

Quote from: general_lee on June 27, 2022, 12:09:36 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 27, 2022, 11:49:22 AM
Its all in the coaching and team culture built up over a number of years. If anyone thinks that McKLeever and McGeeneys 'style' isnt all over that team then they need their heads read.
Monkey see monkey do.
Its premeditated not to ever actually strike. Becasue thats a sending off offence. So lads, no striking whatever you do.
But make sure you grapple, wrestle, grab, twist and hold onto him like your life depends on it and dont ever back down or let go first. Thats a sign of weakness and we cant have that, because after all, we're all big men and we like to flex how big we are.

Whilst there is alot to admire about Armagh's journey and football theyve played, they still get involved too much, indulge in thuggish shite and foul too easily. Their obsession with chest beating macho bull shit and insistence in turning every game into a dick-measuring contest was always gonna bite them at some stage.
Theyve lost this particular dick-measuring contest and its gonna hurt for a while.
I've read some shite on here (mostly Tyrone and Derry people, ironically) chastising Armagh for yesterdays handbags. I'm not sure Armagh are coached to do anything specifically in terms of dark arts but the only criticism I'll accept is that the management clearly haven't learned anything this year in terms of other teams riling them up.

I've asked it before but what exactly do Armagh, or any team for that matter, have to gain by starting a melee? There is literally nothing to be achieved from a premeditated melee.  Fair criticism of McGeeney/McKeever would be that their players fall for this shite too much: happened with Donegal, it happened with Tyrone and it happened again yesterday. TK deserves a hefty ban and if the powers that be make an example of him, so be it; moronic behaviour from him and something he shouldn't have involved himself with.

Youve asked so ill answer (even though id thought the answer pretty obvious).
Teams/players will engage in nonsense and start into other players (usually the star men) because if you can get a psychological advantage at all by putting your opponent off his game so much that he might lash out or take his eye off the ball or his own game, then its worthwhile and can help your own team that extra 1%. We all know it goes on and our games, rules and officials facilitate it. Its usually the inferior footballer, the technically weaker player who has to rely on starting shite with his opponent becasue he's simply not good enough to go toe-to-toe with his direct opponent.
Cant believe this needs explaining

Quote from: marty34 on June 27, 2022, 12:29:38 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on June 27, 2022, 11:51:32 AM

Genuinely hope he does get off-very unfair on him. Will Nugent and Greg's suspension carry to next year? They both deserve to get off too. 

Don't think you'll find too many people complaining if that lad gets off too.

Why Mc Cabe?

His was a deserved red.
A yellow at best imo. Split second off being a perfect tackle- if you're getting red carded for that then may as well make it non contact

Quote from: trailer on June 27, 2022, 12:41:14 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 27, 2022, 12:13:30 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 27, 2022, 11:55:08 AM
Its all in the coaching and team culture built up over a number of years. If anyone thinks that McKLeever and McGeeneys 'style' isnt all over that team then they need their heads read.
Monkey see monkey do.
Its premeditated not to ever actually strike. Becasue thats a sending off offence. So lads, no striking whatever you do.
But make sure you grapple, wrestle, grab, twist and hold onto him like your life depends on it and dont ever back down or let go first. Thats a sign of weakness and we cant have that, because after all, we're all big men and we like to flex how big we are.

Whilst there is alot to admire about Armagh's journey and football theyve played, they still get involved too much, indulge in thuggish shite and foul too easily. Their obsession with chest beating macho bull shit and insistence in turning every game into a dick-measuring contest was always gonna bite them at some stage.
Theyve lost this particular dick-measuring contest and its gonna hurt for a while.

Ridiculous to blame the manager and the defensive coach for an incident that happened on the pitch simply because they were tough players when they played themselves. The players on the pitch take responsibility for their own actions and one Armagh player stepped over the line. The rest of it is simply hand wringing and faux outrage from people with an anti Armagh agenda.

I think there is a lot of truth to what he said actually. A team that is consistently getting into scrapes has a culture of it in the camp. Where else does a culture like  this come from? Even McGeeneys very poor interview afterwards showed the culture and mentality.

There is a culture of rule and law breaking in Armagh. No respect for authority or law and order. Bandit country.
Proudly. And only place in Ireland the brits couldn't walk through if you want to go down that road...

There is actually a case to be made for throwing Armagh out of next years Championship. Derrytresk got 5 years for similar behaviour. Albeit they are a Tyrone team and the GAA use the Tyrone rule book when it comes to disciplinary proceedings involving the county.

Dreadnought

Quote from: Keyser soze on June 27, 2022, 10:58:05 AM
Quote from: Dreadnought on June 27, 2022, 10:08:46 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on June 27, 2022, 09:41:51 AM
Quote from: Dreadnought on June 27, 2022, 09:34:57 AM
Quote from: Gael80 on June 27, 2022, 09:31:57 AM
Quote from: Dreadnought on June 27, 2022, 09:25:52 AM
Quote from: Gael80 on June 27, 2022, 09:23:26 AM

We'll agree to disagree, in the world of finance the GAA will listen to the likes of Joyce and the public opinion on using penalties, with pressure being applied from sponsors and media. We seen the reality of the plan yesterday and I expect some head scratching in Croke Park this morning. There would have to be compromise and the Dublin Meath saga could never happen again but after such a high profile game yesterday the GAA will use it to make a slight change again imo.

The world of finance? The GAA are turning down lucrative replays here. For once, we can't throw the finance thing at them

😂.. no we can't to be fair but is it sustainable? My opinion like many is more about fairness on the players but when we think about it, the GAA are potentially throwing away over €1million, imagine a semi final goes the same way as yesterday. Media and sponsors would of loved another Armagh v Galway game in a packed stadium. I think decide on the day in the first match is crazy and when common sense takes over the authorities will all agree.

But we can't have it both ways, especially in these times. Are we expecting players and supporters of one of teh teams go out to Croke Park 3 weekends in a row now? We've known about this all year. A big game would always have these discussions, but we'll get used to it and move on
Happily. Cut ticket prices for a replay though.

Well of course you'd say that this morning. But it's not just price (and they used to cut replay prices alright). Just next weekend was meant to be off for players, and now we have some saying 3 weeks in a row is no issue, with the final 2 weeks after. Potentially 4 games in 5 weeks? Nah way...

Ah ffs catch yourself on, players would play a game every night of the week to get to an AI semi-final.

Of course they would. That's literally my point, but it wouldn't be fair on them. But it's not up to the GAA to flog them like that, they have to think on that stuff now. There's a reason we don't leave these decisions to the players. The right call was made with penalties seeing as we have a split season.

APM

I think I'd like to see separate threads for those that want to analyse the match and those that want to analyse the row.

Quote from: Taylor on June 27, 2022, 12:17:52 PM
The Armagh #2 ran after Comer and barged into him on the way to the tunnel.

Thats how the melee started

Two people jostling is not a melee.
Who next joined these two people? That is where the problem lies.

Quote from: trailer on June 27, 2022, 12:41:14 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 27, 2022, 12:13:30 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 27, 2022, 11:55:08 AM
Monkey see monkey do.

Ridiculous to blame the manager and the defensive coach for an incident that happened on the pitch simply because they were tough players when they played themselves. The players on the pitch take responsibility for their own actions and one Armagh player stepped over the line. The rest of it is simply hand wringing and faux outrage from people with an anti Armagh agenda.

I think there is a lot of truth to what he said actually. A team that is consistently getting into scrapes has a culture of it in the camp. Where else does a culture like  this come from? Even McGeeneys very poor interview afterwards showed the culture and mentality.

There is a culture of rule and law breaking in Armagh. No respect for authority or law and order. Bandit country.

Bit harsh that.

There's great people in Armagh.

Quote from: Dreadnought on June 27, 2022, 12:51:23 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on June 27, 2022, 10:58:05 AM
Quote from: Dreadnought on June 27, 2022, 10:08:46 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on June 27, 2022, 09:41:51 AM
Quote from: Dreadnought on June 27, 2022, 09:34:57 AM
Quote from: Gael80 on June 27, 2022, 09:31:57 AM
Quote from: Dreadnought on June 27, 2022, 09:25:52 AM
Quote from: Gael80 on June 27, 2022, 09:23:26 AM

We'll agree to disagree, in the world of finance the GAA will listen to the likes of Joyce and the public opinion on using penalties, with pressure being applied from sponsors and media. We seen the reality of the plan yesterday and I expect some head scratching in Croke Park this morning. There would have to be compromise and the Dublin Meath saga could never happen again but after such a high profile game yesterday the GAA will use it to make a slight change again imo.

The world of finance? The GAA are turning down lucrative replays here. For once, we can't throw the finance thing at them

😂.. no we can't to be fair but is it sustainable? My opinion like many is more about fairness on the players but when we think about it, the GAA are potentially throwing away over €1million, imagine a semi final goes the same way as yesterday. Media and sponsors would of loved another Armagh v Galway game in a packed stadium. I think decide on the day in the first match is crazy and when common sense takes over the authorities will all agree.

But we can't have it both ways, especially in these times. Are we expecting players and supporters of one of teh teams go out to Croke Park 3 weekends in a row now? We've known about this all year. A big game would always have these discussions, but we'll get used to it and move on
Happily. Cut ticket prices for a replay though.

Well of course you'd say that this morning. But it's not just price (and they used to cut replay prices alright). Just next weekend was meant to be off for players, and now we have some saying 3 weeks in a row is no issue, with the final 2 weeks after. Potentially 4 games in 5 weeks? Nah way...

Ah ffs catch yourself on, players would play a game every night of the week to get to an AI semi-final.

Of course they would. That's literally my point, but it wouldn't be fair on them. But it's not up to the GAA to flog them like that, they have to think on that stuff now. There's a reason we don't leave these decisions to the players. The right call was made with penalties seeing as we have a split season.
Ah in fairness at that level those lads could play 2 days in a row. Molloy from Galway played twice in one day for NUIG and Corofin I'm nearly sure once as well. A week is plenty of time to recover to be honest. I know it's a different level but I've seen club teams in Armagh play Sunday Wednesday Friday Sunday.

Brick Tamlin

Bollix. Its a red all day. duty of care to person you tackle.
If you go high as a player turns then you risk punishment.
Add in the fact that he had eyes on the player the whole time and made no attempt to follow the ball or intercept, as well as raise the arm.
Too loose and reckless.

Quote from: trailer on June 27, 2022, 12:44:35 PM
Quote from: marty34 on June 27, 2022, 12:38:47 PM

What did Comer do?

James Morgan started it. He was shoving Comer the whole way to the tunnel.

Watched it again - the Armagh No. 3 was over goading Comer also.

First thing for the semi-finals in one team each in the Hogan and Cusack Stand changing rooms.

Put the photo bench in mid-field for the photographers.  :)

Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 27, 2022, 12:54:17 PM
Bollix. Its a red all day. duty of care to person you tackle.
If you go high as a player turns then you risk punishment.
Add in the fact that he had eyes on the player the whole time and made no attempt to follow the ball or intercept, as well as raise the arm.
Too loose and reckless.
Tell me you've never played football without telling me you've never played football.

Anyway, didn't matter in the grand scheme of things