Computer Help

Started by Armagh CĂșchulainns, January 11, 2009, 01:20:58 PM

Mhic Easmuint

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 20, 2011, 10:48:00 PM
If not, turn it off and turn it on again. works for me ;)

Always start at the simple ones.  Got phone call the other day, laptop just turned off, no lights on or anything, asking was it fecked?

It wasn't feckin plugged in and the battery had run down.

Quote from: Abble on January 09, 2011, 10:45:01 PM
bro-in-law's computer is bukked. It was running windows xp and all of a a sudden was coming up with error message:
"windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt
\windows\system32\config\system

You can attempt to repair this file by starting windows setup using the original setup cd rom.

select 'r' at the first screen to start repair"
etc, etc

now, 80% of time i can try my hand at most friends pc problems but this one has thrown me. for start even when attempting to use safe mode it always comes up with the error dialogue screen, then to make matters worse (as there are google resolutions about to resolve this) there is no original windows xp cd !!!

so, as the bro-in-law doesnt care much about whats on the machine, he's happy enough if it got wiped and we maybe got our hands on a windows cd he's happy.

any suggestions ?
1. its a painstaking process without the original windows cd and can only be repaired by the professionals ?
2. how can i wipe the machine to install windows again ?

Lads has anyone got an answer to this query as mine is coming up with the exact same screen and what do i do

Mhic Easmuint

I have come across a similiar problem before.  The resolution was similiar to this:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307545
Don;t know if you would want to try that.  The Recovery Console Can be downloaded here: http://forums.pcpitstop.com/index.php?/topic/150212-boot-to-recovery-console-wo-xp-cd/

To wipe and install windows you will need the recovery disks for the computer or else a windows disc.
If just installing by Windows Disk you will probably need to download drivers for different components of the computer.

Quote from: Mhic Easmuint on January 21, 2011, 10:41:12 AM
I have come across a similiar problem before.  The resolution was similiar to this:
Don;t know if you would want to try that.  The Recovery Console Can be downloaded here: http://forums.pcpitstop.com/index.php?/topic/150212-boot-to-recovery-console-wo-xp-cd/

To wipe and install windows you will need the recovery disks for the computer or else a windows disc.
If just installing by Windows Disk you will probably need to download drivers for different components of the computer.

I have the origional windows disks with the laptop, if i insert it in will it try and fix the problem or will it wipe windows and re-install it. Also (sorry for asking stupid questions) will this format the laptop or can windows be installed again with wiping c drive...thanks for your help

Mhic Easmuint

Quote from: illdecide on January 21, 2011, 12:16:08 PM

I have the origional windows disks with the laptop, if i insert it in will it try and fix the problem or will it wipe windows and re-install it. Also (sorry for asking stupid questions) will this format the laptop or can windows be installed again with wiping c drive...thanks for your help

If it's a normal windows disk there might be an option for a repair install.  which won't delete any files. 

If you go through the windows setup it will give you the options on screen there might be one for repair, but there will be an option to format and there is plenty of warning before you would wipe anything. 

To backup before hand if you had one of these:
http://www.usbnow.co.uk/Adapters_&_Connectors-USB_to_IDE_Adapters/c42_46/p52/USB_2.0_IDE_&_SATA_Cable_(with_Power_Supply)/product_info.html
You could taske the hard drive out and plug into that and into another computer to backup the data.

Quote from: Mhic Easmuint on January 20, 2011, 10:44:17 PM
Have you checked the device manager to see if the drivers are ok for the Networking/Wireless Adapter?
there should be none in there with a yellow exclamation mark
connected it directly to the internet and got 108 updates, installed them and it worked, thank god

A guy is fixing the laptop at the minute, he says the hard drive is not damaged as he's taken it out and tested it but there seems to be a bad file corruption somewhere. He said he's run a test and it cannot find the "Windows" file anywhere, he said he's never came across this...ever. That could only happen with me :D

Quote from: Mhic Easmuint on January 21, 2011, 12:23:55 PM

If it's a normal windows disk there might be an option for a repair install.  which won't delete any files. 

If you go through the windows setup it will give you the options on screen there might be one for repair, but there will be an option to format and there is plenty of warning before you would wipe anything. 

http://www.usbnow.co.uk/Adapters_&_Connectors-USB_to_IDE_Adapters/c42_46/p52/USB_2.0_IDE_&_SATA_Cable_(with_Power_Supply)/product_info.html
You could taske the hard drive out and plug into that and into another computer to backup the data.

Hi Mhic

Does that USB cable fit standard desktop PC's hard drives?

MY PC freezes upon boot up, and if I could access the hard drive I'd just dump it!

Mhic Easmuint

Quote from: illdecide on January 24, 2011, 10:50:29 AM
A guy is fixing the laptop at the minute, he says the hard drive is not damaged as he's taken it out and tested it but there seems to be a bad file corruption somewhere. He said he's run a test and it cannot find the "Windows" file anywhere, he said he's never came across this...ever. That could only happen with me :D

aye pain in the ass of a thing, could need to do that long process listed on the Micorosft site I posted earlier.

Mhic Easmuint

Quote from: Norf Tyrone on January 24, 2011, 10:56:10 AM
Quote from: Mhic Easmuint on January 21, 2011, 12:23:55 PM

Hi Mhic

Does that USB cable fit standard desktop PC's hard drives?

MY PC freezes upon boot up, and if I could access the hard drive I'd just dump it!

Yep it does.
It will both old IDE Drive and SATA Drives. Can even connect CD Drives to it

My HP wireless printer wont print wirelessly today even though it is connected to the hub and the lights ao the panel are as they should be. Can t figure it out. Have it connected to 2 laptops in the house and up to today everything was fine.

Anyone any ideas?

Quote from: Gaffer on January 26, 2011, 09:31:19 PM
My HP wireless printer wont print wirelessly today even though it is connected to the hub and the lights ao the panel are as they should be. Can t figure it out. Have it connected to 2 laptops in the house and up to today everything was fine.

Anyone any ideas?

Got this sorted if anyone's interested. Turns out , the wireless printer wouldn't work cos my phone was out of order. ( Didn t realise this when I was posting)  Anyway, as soon as BT had sorted my phone , my printer worked again.

Never would have thought that would have caused ithe problem. Even though the phone was out of order the Broadband continued to work and the printer was always connected to the Hub

Just in case it ever happens to any of yous !

Quote from: Gaffer on January 29, 2011, 05:21:50 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on January 26, 2011, 09:31:19 PM

Anyone any ideas?

Got this sorted if anyone's interested. Turns out , the wireless printer wouldn't work cos my phone was out of order. ( Didn t realise this when I was posting)  Anyway, as soon as BT had sorted my phone , my printer worked again.

Never would have thought that would have caused ithe problem. Even though the phone was out of order the Broadband continued to work and the printer was always connected to the Hub

Just in case it ever happens to any of yous !
That sounds truly weird. Was your phone out of order and replaced or was some configuration adjustment made to the router by your provider?

There were loose wires at the BT box which knocked my fone off, according to the BT engineer.