What's your relationship with alcohol?

Started by Boycey, October 12, 2018, 11:27:30 PM

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: johnnycool on February 15, 2021, 10:44:06 AM
Interesting read in the IN about the young lad from Watty Grahams, Ciaran McCloy;

https://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2021/02/15/news/ciaran-mccloy-2220581/

It's a pretty common story in Ireland sadly as we culturally have an unhealthy relationship with alcohol especially at too young of an age. Most come through those years unscathed but a lot don't.

I had a similar journey in my late teens early 20s, still live with it somewhat. Its a major problem, drugs is a growing monster

JohnDenver

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on February 15, 2021, 11:00:30 AM
Interesting read in the IN about the young lad from Watty Grahams, Ciaran McCloy;

https://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2021/02/15/news/ciaran-mccloy-2220581/

It's a pretty common story in Ireland sadly as we culturally have an unhealthy relationship with alcohol especially at too young of an age. Most come through those years unscathed but a lot don't.

I had a similar journey in my late teens early 20s, still live with it somewhat. Its a major problem, drugs is a growing monster

Would you say it's a more visible problem in towns and cities like Derry or Belfast?  Maghera is obviously a town too, but I would say there are no shortage of drugs in rural areas and rural GAA clubs - but it possibly wouldn't be as evident.

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: JohnDenver on February 15, 2021, 11:06:27 AM

Not sure tbh, but drugs are everywhere now, it wasn't like back in my younger days, I listen to younger lads at work(from all over rural and towns) talk about cocaine as if its a daily normal occurrence, id be worried that it will be accepted by the next generation as normal behaviour

Would you say it's a more visible problem in towns and cities like Derry or Belfast?  Maghera is obviously a town too, but I would say there are no shortage of drugs in rural areas and rural GAA clubs - but it possibly wouldn't be as evident.

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on February 15, 2021, 11:12:31 AM

Not sure tbh, but drugs are everywhere now, it wasn't like back in my younger days, I listen to younger lads at work(from all over rural and towns) talk about cocaine as if its a daily normal occurrence, id be worried that it will be accepted by the next generation as normal behaviour

Drugs are readily available almost everywhere, not just the big towns

Ethan Tremblay

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on February 15, 2021, 11:12:31 AM

A very good read and best of luck to that lad, not an easy thing to admit at that age, but a great step towards staying sober. 
When I think back to my own days at that age, most nights out were usually heavy and if I was to list of the stuff I drank on a single night out I would probably shock myself now. 

Personally, with alcohol, I view the social aspect of it as the reason I drink, meeting up with friends every few weekends to catch up, watching sport at a bar or whatever.  I never could understand how people view packing into a cubicle to sniff coke off a toilet seat as sociable, or indeed what they get out of it at the end of it all. 

Drugs is a growing monster and it is as casual to get a bag of cocaine as it is a pint, that's the sad reality of it all. 
I tend to think of myself as a one man wolfpack...

restorepride

I don't think it is that 'visible' but the bouncers are the ones who could tell you best - they have to deal with it and the 'energy' some of the drugs give the users.  Cocaine is available everywhere apparently and 'affordable'.   A couple of ours still left at home who would socialise at weekends in normal times.  They say that the younger ones are more into 'pills' and other drugs than alcohol as it can be a 'cheaper' night than buying drink in a bar/club - and easier to disguise and conceal outside of pubs than cans etc.  Cocaine slightly older age-group, maybe early twenties on - only a couple of phone messages away, still often delivered in toilets with the grooves of a house key/car key being used to snort.  We have always talked to them about this stuff so they are fairly open about it - they would say that 'drugs' are the new norm as opposed to drink.  Scary.  Fair play to young McCloy for being so open.

tintin25

Not a massive drinker these days (a night out every few months) but ended up going out after a work do a couple of weeks ago.  Anyways, drank way too much to the point I woke up the next day with serious fear and couldn't recount parts of the night (I do mind getting home though).  Anyways, spoke to some colleagues on the Monday who said that whilst I was steaming I wasn't giving any bad manners and said there was nothing to worry about.  Since found out that a colleague (who I would be pally enough with) took a couple of videos of me in a drunken state (bit of dancing and slabbering but again nothing offensive) and showed them to a few colleagues (including myself).  I jokingly asked him to delete them but he thinks they are harmless and laughed it off.  It's still not sitting well with me so should I just text/speak to him direct and say I'm serious about it or just take my medicine and it'll be forgotten about?  Don't want to create an awkward situation but people videoing stuff on nights out really sickens my hole.

Quote from: tintin25 on March 25, 2023, 02:46:01 PM
Not a massive drinker these days (a night out every few months) but ended up going out after a work do a couple of weeks ago.  Anyways, drank way too much to the point I woke up the next day with serious fear and couldn't recount parts of the night (I do mind getting home though).  Anyways, spoke to some colleagues on the Monday who said that whilst I was steaming I wasn't giving any bad manners and said there was nothing to worry about.  Since found out that a colleague (who I would be pally enough with) took a couple of videos of me in a drunken state (bit of dancing and slabbering but again nothing offensive) and showed them to a few colleagues (including myself).  I jokingly asked him to delete them but he thinks they are harmless and laughed it off.  It's still not sitting well with me so should I just text/speak to him direct and say I'm serious about it or just take my medicine and it'll be forgotten about?  Don't want to create an awkward situation but people videoing stuff on nights out really sickens my hole.

I'd ask them to delete them in a more serious way. Tell them you're annoyed. Would it affect your job?

Quote from: restorepride on February 15, 2021, 08:01:53 PM

I don't think it is that 'visible' but the bouncers are the ones who could tell you best - they have to deal with it and the 'energy' some of the drugs give the users.  Cocaine is available everywhere apparently and 'affordable'.   A couple of ours still left at home who would socialise at weekends in normal times.  They say that the younger ones are more into 'pills' and other drugs than alcohol as it can be a 'cheaper' night than buying drink in a bar/club - and easier to disguise and conceal outside of pubs than cans etc.  Cocaine slightly older age-group, maybe early twenties on - only a couple of phone messages away, still often delivered in toilets with the grooves of a house key/car key being used to snort.  We have always talked to them about this stuff so they are fairly open about it - they would say that 'drugs' are the new norm as opposed to drink.  Scary.  Fair play to young McCloy for being so open.

Friend of a friend works in a bar in Belfast City centre. Says more than a few people spend the night drinking pints of water yet be off their faces. Obvious what's going on.

Quote from: RedHand88 on March 25, 2023, 03:13:14 PM

I'd ask them to delete them in a more serious way. Tell them you're annoyed. Would it affect your job?

Ignore it, you've asked him and as for being pally with him, just don't bother with him, he'll get the point and if you persist he may end up sharing it with others.

We've a policy for stag weekends, phones stay in the hotel  ;D

square_ball

What a gobshite for videoing someone with a few drinks in them. I'd think less of that person than you to be honest. People that have the phones out videoing on nights out and stag do's are assholes plain and simple.

The beer fear can last a long time when you rarely go out (I know from bitter experience). Your brain is probably amplifying the issue, however if you are pally enough with this chap then I'd just be honest and say you're still annoyed about the videos and tell him you'd appreciate him deleting them.

tintin25

It won't affect my job, no.  There was no management there, only a few us after the main do had finished.  The guy who took the videos was drunk too and whilst he appeared in a couple of the videos along with another female colleague it was apparent I was the one who was most 'worse for wear' and the main attraction so to speak.  He even took one of me sleeping on a sofa (female colleague let us come back to hers so we could get a taxi) and they were both laughing away in the background).  Just annoyed I let myself get that drunk.

Between covid and young family I barely, if ever drink. Don't miss it at all as got awful hangovers n fear. Just miss the craic aspect with the lads!

tintin25

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 25, 2023, 03:38:41 PM

Ignore it, you've asked him and as for being pally with him, just don't bother with him, he'll get the point and if you persist he may end up sharing it with others.

We've a policy for stag weekends, phones stay in the hotel  ;D

Thinking this may be the way to go.  Should be said he's about 7/8 years younger than me and the female colleague is younger again (btw she did nothing wrong but she wouldn't be bothered by being in the videos as she was fairly sober and of that TikTok era that love the attention).  I guess you see people (esp work colleagues) in different light after these things.