Casement Park in line for major overhaul - 40,000 all seater Stadium.

Started by Joxer, October 06, 2010, 02:42:28 PM

Quote from: johnnycool on March 10, 2025, 10:45:28 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 10, 2025, 09:36:47 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 10, 2025, 09:27:19 AMI can see both sides of this argument and my gut feel is to side with Antrim as they are ultimately the ones expected to back down.

This is about finances, straight up, no H&S bull, lets not kid ourselves.

The Ulster Council it is estimated stand to loose approx £200K if the game goes ahead in Corrigan. Pairc Esler holds 10K extra at £20 a ticket say.

In the same breath on one of the Antrim threads one of the contributors is saying funding has been reduced for the Gaelfast project since COVID and they don't have enough coaches to deliver the program they set out to do.

Where do they think that money comes from?

Antrim need to compromise, but get agreements from the Ulster Council and Croke Park that the funding for Gaelfast is improved and I know it might be a hard sell for the players, but it's for the greater good of Antrim GAA.

The Ulster Council and Croke Park want this issue to go away, so make them dig deep for that to happen.

The money wasn't coming from the Ulster Council that's for sure. The Ulster council looks after itself and they have made a pigs ear of Casement and still bullying Antrim in the process, very Trump like

Check out who pays those coaches before making that statement, there's a few St Galls lads in the mix so shouldn't be too hard to check.

That may well be an admin thing, but this debacle is leverage for Antrim in this regard if they use it correctly.

Antrim CB and in particular the then chairman have also made a pigs ear of Casement if you go right back to the start of this thread.

If we are sticking with Galefast then that was from Croker, the Ulster council have staff, coaches for sure I'm not disputing that, you did say the funding has reduced, but I'm sure the funding came from Croke, I could be wrong on that.

And I'm not disputing previous chairmen involved in handing Casement over, but when doing that the least the Ulster council could have done when in control was not make a pigs ear out of it and creating the debacle we have now.

Now they are doubling down on things, If Antrim sell out for more shite from then that's worse again. Maybe you are so used to that with the Down CB pissing on hurling in Down over the years that you see things like that  ;)
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 10, 2025, 10:59:55 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 10, 2025, 10:45:28 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 10, 2025, 09:36:47 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 10, 2025, 09:27:19 AMI can see both sides of this argument and my gut feel is to side with Antrim as they are ultimately the ones expected to back down.

This is about finances, straight up, no H&S bull, lets not kid ourselves.

The Ulster Council it is estimated stand to loose approx £200K if the game goes ahead in Corrigan. Pairc Esler holds 10K extra at £20 a ticket say.

In the same breath on one of the Antrim threads one of the contributors is saying funding has been reduced for the Gaelfast project since COVID and they don't have enough coaches to deliver the program they set out to do.

Where do they think that money comes from?

Antrim need to compromise, but get agreements from the Ulster Council and Croke Park that the funding for Gaelfast is improved and I know it might be a hard sell for the players, but it's for the greater good of Antrim GAA.

The Ulster Council and Croke Park want this issue to go away, so make them dig deep for that to happen.

The money wasn't coming from the Ulster Council that's for sure. The Ulster council looks after itself and they have made a pigs ear of Casement and still bullying Antrim in the process, very Trump like

Check out who pays those coaches before making that statement, there's a few St Galls lads in the mix so shouldn't be too hard to check.

That may well be an admin thing, but this debacle is leverage for Antrim in this regard if they use it correctly.

Antrim CB and in particular the then chairman have also made a pigs ear of Casement if you go right back to the start of this thread.

If we are sticking with Galefast then that was from Croker, the Ulster council have staff, coaches for sure I'm not disputing that, you did say the funding has reduced, but I'm sure the funding came from Croke, I could be wrong on that.

And I'm not disputing previous chairmen involved in handing Casement over, but when doing that the least the Ulster council could have done when in control was not make a pigs ear out of it and creating the debacle we have now.

Now they are doubling down on things, If Antrim sell out for more shite from then that's worse again. Maybe you are so used to that with the Down CB pissing on hurling in Down over the years that you see things like that  ;)

Antrim are going to get pissed on one way or the other, the question you need to ask is do you get a bit of sugar added to that piss to make it palatable.

Antrim are small fry to the Ulster Council football wise. Your footballers have as much sway with the Ulster Council as the Down hurlers even if the current secretary is a former Down hurling Chairman.  ;)

Quote from: AustinPowers on March 10, 2025, 10:24:08 AM
Quote from: general_lee on March 10, 2025, 10:20:17 AM
Quote from: SaffronSports on March 09, 2025, 06:13:54 PMWhen Armagh were going to Clones they were competing for major honours. Antrim are really struggling and don't need to be having their only advantage taken away.
Clones was basically a home ground for Armagh back then anyway. It's a completely different situation now. It's borderline embarrassing what the Ulster Council is doing. Unfortunately there is an unpleasant element within the Armagh support and it's not the buckfast brigade

Who are they?
The same c***ts that cry when GAA clubs distribute tickets to fully paid GAA members ahead of the general public.

The fact that they exert time and energy following the county team vs very little/none towards their own club may just be coincidence.

ClubScene13

Quote from: general_lee on March 10, 2025, 01:47:49 PM
Quote from: SaffronSports on March 09, 2025, 06:13:54 PMWhen Armagh were going to Clones they were competing for major honours. Antrim are really struggling and don't need to be having their only advantage taken away.
Clones was basically a home ground for Armagh back then anyway. It's a completely different situation now. It's borderline embarrassing what the Ulster Council is doing. Unfortunately there is an unpleasant element within the Armagh support and it's not the buckfast brigade

Who are they?
The same c***ts that cry when GAA clubs distribute tickets to fully paid GAA members ahead of the general public.

The fact that they exert time and energy following the county team vs very little/none towards their own club may just be coincidence.

I think yous have it worse than other counties for this here craic. These fan pages that crop up everywhere a dead giveaway as to who would close the curtains if the club were playing out the back, I don't see too many of these for other counties.

In fairness, Armagh having unreal support is not a new thing, I just think with the Cross dominating element you have a lot more county only supporters. I don't have a problem with it, but they do need to pipe down from time to time and get off the high horse, the wheels of Armagh GAA will keep turning without your 5 posts a week on the trip to Tralee or Castlebar.

Is there?

The vast vast majority I've spoken to aren't too bothered and are 100% behind Antrim. Theres a bigger picture here than missing out on a single match. (Realistically it'll not be worth going to anyway and be on TV)

Hectic

Antrim are very accommodating to Down hurling so a bit of gratitude.

And it is about Health and Safety and not money - don't take my word for it, that's from the horses mouth. 

So should be easy to shut down by asking Antrim to provide a H&S certificate.

Quote from: Hectic on March 10, 2025, 04:29:47 PMAntrim are very accommodating to Down hurling so a bit of gratitude.

And it is about Health and Safety and not money - don't take my word for it, that's from the horses mouth. 

Is this aimed at me?

If you read what I said in the way it was meant you'd see that I said I support Antrim and have in previous comments on this.

Antrim are now in a position not of their making (which I've also said) and Frankie Quinn will be under huge pressure (which I've also said) and have much sympathy for the man, but the Ulster council aren't going to take that £200k hit without a fight.

That's my point.

It's not an anti Antrim stance, it's stating facts.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 10, 2025, 10:59:55 AMAnd I'm not disputing previous chairmen involved in handing Casement over, but when doing that the least the Ulster council could have done when in control was not make a pigs ear out of it and creating the debacle we have now.

Casement is now closed for 12 years, why the idea of a neutral venue for Antrim games not introduced then, whoever came out of the draw first? The present issue was very predictable and should have been anticipated then.

Quote from: johnnycool on March 10, 2025, 05:07:56 PMAntrim are now in a position not of their making (which I've also said) and Frankie Quinn will be under huge pressure (which I've also said) and have much sympathy for the man, but the Ulster council aren't going to take that £200k hit without a fight.

The GAA generally is not going to allow counties suit themselves in relation to the location of games, The Antrim County Board would not allow clubs have absolute discretion on where club games were played.

MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

AustinPowers

Quote from: general_lee on March 10, 2025, 01:47:49 PM

Who are they?

Sure that's  the  case in every county.

Hectic

Quote from: johnnycool on March 10, 2025, 05:07:56 PM
Quote from: Hectic on March 10, 2025, 04:29:47 PMAntrim are very accommodating to Down hurling so a bit of gratitude.

Is this aimed at me?

If you read what I said in the way it was meant you'd see that I said I support Antrim and have in previous comments on this.

Antrim are now in a position not of their making (which I've also said) and Frankie Quinn will be under huge pressure (which I've also said) and have much sympathy for the man, but the Ulster council aren't going to take that £200k hit without a fight.

That's my point.

It's not an anti Antrim stance, it's stating facts.

Apologies, I got too fixated on the idea that it could determine the sort of development support Antrim get going forward.

And of course it's not just Down teams that are afforded the opportunity to develop in the Antrim hurling leagues.

Does the Antrim hurling support not travel down from the Glens? I thought the crowd was disappointing against Laois in a very important game. There was more at the Down game in football a couple of years ago.

Quote from: Orior on March 10, 2025, 07:20:29 PMDoes the Antrim hurling support not travel down from the Glens? I thought the crowd was disappointing against Laois in a very important game. There was more at the Down game in football a couple of years ago.

I'd imagine there wee plenty from the glens at the game from what I seen coming through the gate, the game against the Glens probably played a small part in the local ones going, though I doubt much
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

I doubt there'd be much overlap. I was also a bit disappointed in the crowd although tbf I couldn't actually make it myself so can say nothing. There was a good crowd at waterford but even the stand was half empty for the Laois match.Westmeath wasn't that busy either.

JPGJOHNNYG

Just use the new old Trafford plans for Casement that should save a few quid and the capacity is about right too ;D

93-DY-SAM

Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on March 11, 2025, 11:02:01 AMJust use the new old Trafford plans for Casement that should save a few quid and the capacity is about right too ;D

Looks like a Circus Big Top which is very appropriate.