Shameful acts from Hogan cup

Started by Peter Solan the Great, April 10, 2010, 11:47:52 PM

Peter Solan the Great

Shameful acts from the St Colmans supporters at the Hogan cup final. Worse then soccer holigans apparently. Its a shame that a team cant win with dignity. Anyone else at the final to verify the acts? more can be seen from this blog.

http://www.mikessportsfile.blogspot.com/

DirtyDozen12

That doesnt read too good for St Colemans.

Poor form
Beer, now there's a temporary solution!!!

The louts responsible for this behaviour need to be identified and where possible firm action taken, though i would seriously doubt that any of them belong to a GAA club.

our_fella

Five of the St. Colman's supporters were taken away by the gardai following the final whistle as they attempted to make their way onto the playing surface.
Peter, i cant help but notice you mentioned that there were 5 college supporters taken away by the GardaĆ­, when there was only 3.

My next point is regarding the abuse directed at Galvin,
To his credit Galvin never rose to the bait and completely ignored the St.Coleman's supporters who were merely yards away from him for the entire match.
this was not as bad as you make it out, as the majority of the college support were situated towards the hill 16 end of the hogan stand, and Galvin was standing towards the canal end.

Drink, no doubt, was a major factor in the behaviour of the supporters as the smell of alcohol emanating from their section of the ground was strong
you must have some nose on you to be able to smell a whole section of drink with about 200-300 supporters. Personally i think this is your typical southern bias towards an ulster team winning another all-ireland this year. the same type of complaing was evident when they beat a mayo team in the semi final. Blow everything out of proportion

Brick Tamlin

That makes interesting reading.
I was pitchside for the whole match and although the Colmans support were vocal and boisterous i dont think they were in any way as bad as what this guy says, ffs the smell of alcohol eminating across the stand, is he serious?
They did chant throughout the entire match and sang their hearts out, occasionaly sailing close to the wind with their lyrics but i definitely didnt witness any of the carry on this guy speaks about. One person was escorted away by Gardai but i saw no others. I also witnessed a flag or two being confiscated. There was minimal stewarding and Gardai presence needed to keep the crowd in check and not a squad of riot police as this guy would have you believe.

Anyways, congratulations to St Colmans on a fantastic and comprehensive victory. It was fully deserved and capped a great year for Viiolet Hill on the field of play.
I have to say that this team have some fantastic attacking players in their ranks but i think a special word has to go to the unsung heroes at the back who were excellent throughout the year.
Didnt know much about St Brendans beforehand but i really think that once Colmans got out of Ulster their name was on the trophy.

Big deal, Ive been to a few schools games this yr, and the chanting has been soccer type stuff, but nothing to get your knickers in a twist, My word they tryed to get on the pitch :o no way, they chanted at Galvin :o no suprises there in all fairness but I personally have a alot of time for him, what else they let a flare off :o

OMG  :o

Move along nothing to see here.

The Indo will love this one for Monday morning.  ::)

Peter Solan the Great

Quote from: our_fella on April 11, 2010, 12:14:59 AM
Five of the St. Colman's supporters were taken away by the gardai following the final whistle as they attempted to make their way onto the playing surface.
Peter, i cant help but notice you mentioned that there were 5 college supporters taken away by the GardaĆ­, when there was only 3.

My next point is regarding the abuse directed at Galvin,
To his credit Galvin never rose to the bait and completely ignored the St.Coleman's supporters who were merely yards away from him for the entire match.
this was not as bad as you make it out, as the majority of the college support were situated towards the hill 16 end of the hogan stand, and Galvin was standing towards the canal end.

Drink, no doubt, was a major factor in the behaviour of the supporters as the smell of alcohol emanating from their section of the ground was strong
you must have some nose on you to be able to smell a whole section of drink with about 200-300 supporters. Personally i think this is your typical southern bias towards an ulster team winning another all-ireland this year. the same type of complaing was evident when they beat a mayo team in the semi final. Blow everything out of proportion

This blog has not a thing to do with me. I saw it on the GAAtipster website. Its interesting reading and if true puts a sad slant on St Colemans win.

sandwiches_in_the_boot

Particularly enjoyed his match report...  ::)
"A cynic is a man who, when he smells flowers, looks around for a coffin."
H. L. Mencken

Cosmo Kramer

Didn't this Newry crowd get up to all sorts in the semi as well? It's impossible to know for sure how bad things were without being there, unsurprisingly there are a few Down lads here trying to play things down. But that's two games in a row where this school's been dragged through the mud, no smoke without fire and all that...it should probably at least be investigated by the GAA to see if there is an issue with the school. I don't buy in to any of this northern bias craic, anytime I've been up there it's been great and there's been no ill feeling at all, quite the opposite in fact.
A few Mayo GAA videos if anyone is interested - www.youtube.com/CosmoKramer100

So we are supposed to take as gospel truth, on this non story, the blog of a "journalist" who lists as amongst his favourite books Tadgh Kennelly's "unfinished business"? I rest the case for the defence, the witness has been discredited!

down6061689194

Really what went on there goes on at most Dublin games (Pitch Invasions in the Final)
Ive seen flares, smelt drink and heard some choice words about a load of Kerry lads.

Think that because these lads are probably of school age society has banded them and wants justification.

Echo the sentiment, "Nothing to see here."

sandwiches_in_the_boot

Banter and chants, pitch invasions, people on the drink?

Surely not at an All Ireland final!

Next thing you'll be telling is respected players are assaulting referees.
"A cynic is a man who, when he smells flowers, looks around for a coffin."
H. L. Mencken

Heard their behaviour was nothing short of an absolute disgrace. But then these bandwagon louts are all the rage at Gaa matches. Lingfield must have had a Sunday match this weekend

Brick Tamlin

this is seriously being blown out of all proportion.