Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: armaghniac on February 15, 2019, 03:14:09 PM

Title: Dialect test
Post by: armaghniac on February 15, 2019, 03:14:09 PM
https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2019/02/15/upshot/british-irish-dialect-quiz.html

interesting, although I didn't add in any XMGisms.
Title: Re: Dialect test
Post by: LooseCannon on February 15, 2019, 03:24:47 PM
Sligo and Kilkenny, both wrong.
Post by: passedit on February 15, 2019, 04:10:31 PM
Belfast. But dark red over all of the north
Post by: gallsman on February 15, 2019, 04:35:28 PM
"Gowl"

"Lashing"

"Plank"

All three brought a smile to my face.
Post by: omaghjoe on February 15, 2019, 04:41:01 PM
Fairly accurate for me despite livin in Belfast and California for a good number of years

Couldnt believe how localised entry/alley is
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 15, 2019, 04:52:03 PM
Very good. Dark red for all of Ulster with places named as Derry and Belfast. Considering I'm from N. Antrim that's pretty accurate.
Post by: tonto1888 on February 15, 2019, 04:55:49 PM
Gave me Lisburn. I'm from, and live in, Lurgan with 12 years in Manchester
Post by: BennyCake on February 15, 2019, 04:58:42 PM
OMAGH? Wtf?

They didn't have DICK as an option for a stupid person!
Post by: Puckoon on February 15, 2019, 05:04:09 PM
Bang on the money for me, relatively speaking. Given 17 years exile.
Post by: omaghjoe on February 15, 2019, 05:04:48 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on February 15, 2019, 04:58:42 PM
OMAGH? Wtf?

A dick is a dick they're not really stupid

I actually ticked eejit for stupid person but thinking about it.... an eejit is more of a fool isnt it?
Post by: BennyCake on February 15, 2019, 05:27:41 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on February 15, 2019, 05:04:48 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on February 15, 2019, 04:58:42 PM
OMAGH? Wtf?

A dick is a dick they're not really stupid

I actually ticked eejit for stupid person but thinking about it.... an eejit is more of a fool isnt it?

I suppose Dick is versatile:

You're such a dick
Look at that dick
Quit acting the dick
Get down out of that, ye dick
You look such a dick
Are you gonna be a dick all your life?

And so on.
Post by: dec on February 15, 2019, 05:48:55 PM
yoke is a fairly all purpose word. Nearly anything could be a yoke.
Post by: omaghjoe on February 15, 2019, 05:53:09 PM
is it a "yock" up by Strabane?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 15, 2019, 05:59:58 PM
It put me in Omagh, then I answered the extra questions and it put me in Lisburn. I left out the answers I'd have given from my time in Manchester. Since I'm from Lurgan it wasn't far wrong. That's a great bit of data gathering. A fun exercise that compiles a lot of useful information.
Post by: omaghjoe on February 15, 2019, 06:06:26 PM
What really divides East and West Ulster is the way "there" or "where" is said

"Thon" is a quare way to pinpoint people from West Tyrone
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 15, 2019, 06:36:21 PM
They say 'thon' in Armagh too.
Post by: omaghjoe on February 15, 2019, 08:30:01 PM
Well I do I apologise. I stand corrected....

Think it was that "peace ad" way back in the 90s

Q "What do they call take that in Omagh?"
A "Take thon"

"hahahahah"

Also pretty sure East Tyronies/Armaghians used to give me grief about that when i politely queried after "how do" for hello and "wick" for a week
Post by: laoislad on February 15, 2019, 08:32:52 PM
I got Kilkenny.
Close enough seeing as I grew up in a village on the Laois/Kilkenny border.
Post by: lurganblue on February 15, 2019, 10:18:24 PM
Lisburn me ballix.

They didn't list Mai as an option for what you call your mother.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 15, 2019, 10:25:01 PM
I got Sligo.
Post by: Sheugh Water on February 15, 2019, 10:26:44 PM
 Bang on Derry fir me
Post by: DickyRock on February 15, 2019, 10:33:04 PM
Omagh. Close enough
Post by: ziggysego on February 15, 2019, 10:38:24 PM
I got Donegal.
Post by: Sheugh Water on February 15, 2019, 10:47:51 PM
Wains, lashing, foundered, slippers(for pe), babby, mucker, mammy, granny, granda, stewing tae. Funny but we say tig andno word in there for "dobbing school"
Post by: omaghjoe on February 15, 2019, 10:50:34 PM
Do you mean scheming school?

Also is stewed tae not tae that has been left on to long and comes out like tar?
Post by: Sheugh Water on February 15, 2019, 10:56:14 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on February 15, 2019, 10:50:34 PM
Do you mean scheming school?

Also is stewed tae not tae that has been left on to long and comes out like tar?

Yes scheming school, but in Derry City ive only ever heard dobbing used, yep stewing is tar tae but i think its in there somewhere if you take the extra questions. Never heard gutties until i went to uni with pile of yous Tyronies
Post by: omaghjoe on February 15, 2019, 11:22:14 PM
Also unimpressed with their spelling of your name sheugh, they spelt it "shuck" which implies no throaty rasp.
Shuck is how a Belfast man would mispronounce it.... if they ever said culchie words
Post by: macdanger2 on February 15, 2019, 11:32:21 PM
Roscommon and KK for me
Post by: Rossfan on February 15, 2019, 11:51:47 PM
You lucky hoor ya ;D
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 16, 2019, 12:22:28 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on February 15, 2019, 11:22:14 PM
Also unimpressed with their spelling of your name sheugh, they spelt it "shuck" which implies no throaty rasp.
Shuck is how a Belfast man would mispronounce it.... if they ever said culchie words

I doubt if a Belfastard would even know the word
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 16, 2019, 12:23:36 AM
Everybody I know seems to be getting Omagh or Lisburn. I wonder if this went viral in Omagh first and they got a ton of data from there.
Post by: macdanger2 on February 16, 2019, 12:25:08 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 15, 2019, 11:51:47 PM
You lucky hoor ya ;D

I know, I could pass myself off as a hurling snob now  ;D
Post by: RedHand88 on February 16, 2019, 08:20:26 AM
Lisburn, suppose it's halfway between Tyrone and belfast where I've spent half my life.
Post by: RedHand88 on February 16, 2019, 11:03:01 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 16, 2019, 08:22:28 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on February 16, 2019, 08:20:26 AM
Lisburn, suppose it's halfway between Tyrone and belfast where I've spent half my life.
It is not.

Well 1/3, I'm east Tyrone.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on February 16, 2019, 12:10:24 PM
I got Omagh too, possibly because I used to scheme school in my gutties.
Post by: J70 on February 16, 2019, 12:22:33 PM
Pegged me as Donegal. Very impressive.
Post by: Itchy on February 16, 2019, 01:29:57 PM
Impressed. Had dark colouring from Sligo to Louth, so basically South Ulster which is bang on.
Post by: weareros on February 16, 2019, 01:48:37 PM
Put me right in Roscommon. Surprised at the accuracy.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on February 16, 2019, 05:58:27 PM
Lisburn?

27 years in Armagh and 33 in Omagh.

Did it again -  Derry & Lisburn but definitely west Ulster.
Post by: An Watcher on February 16, 2019, 08:01:04 PM
Derry for me, close enough, altho surprised not to see scheming in there.  Weans was a goodun
Post by: armaghniac on February 17, 2019, 03:21:59 PM
What is the story with snails? There was a question on snails and all of Britain and Ireland was dark red for "snail" except for Waterford and south Tipp.
Post by: markl121 on February 17, 2019, 04:22:54 PM
Omagh for me. Would be difficult to be catergorised correctly when the majority of the population from Derry live in the city and don't realy speak anything like us south derry folk.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 17, 2019, 05:41:02 PM
Scarily accurate for me. Enjoyable test.
Post by: Sheugh Water on February 17, 2019, 06:03:47 PM
Quote from: markl121 on February 17, 2019, 04:22:54 PM
Omagh for me. Would be difficult to be catergorised correctly when the majority of the population from Derry live in the city and don't realy speak anything like us south derry folk.

Yep, Deery City much closer to Dinegal in their lingo
Post by: armaghniac on February 17, 2019, 06:49:42 PM
https://theulsterfry.com/featured/hillsborough-woman-livid-after-accent-test-says-shes-from-northern-ireland/
Post by: Main Street on February 17, 2019, 07:26:58 PM
Pegged together - Monaghan & Cavan.
I'm embarrased.
If only it had a question on a description of bad weather which had the option of
"shockin', it's a tarror"
Post by: thebuzz on February 17, 2019, 09:04:25 PM
It wasn't accurate for me. Don't know where I went wrong. Just showed Ulster.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 17, 2019, 09:39:49 PM
Quote from: thebuzz on February 17, 2019, 09:04:25 PM
It wasn't accurate for me. Don't know where I went wrong. Just showed Ulster.
Usually names a town. I have only seen variations of Omagh, Lisburn, Belfast or Derry.
Post by: Itchy on February 17, 2019, 11:16:11 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 17, 2019, 07:26:58 PM
Pegged together - Monaghan & Cavan.
I'm embarrased.
If only it had a question on a description of bad weather which had the option of
"shockin', it's a tarror"

Don't be embarrassed lad, we can't choose or parents and we can't choose where we are from. There are worse places than monaghan such as North Korea and Meath
Post by: omaghjoe on February 18, 2019, 03:51:51 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 17, 2019, 03:21:59 PM
What is the story with snails? There was a question on snails and all of Britain and Ireland was dark red for "snail" except for Waterford and south Tipp.

Noticed that also
Post by: Taylor on February 18, 2019, 08:05:02 AM
Enjoyed that.

Ended up Londonderry. Embarassed for everyone belonging to me
Post by: ONeill on February 18, 2019, 01:57:20 PM
Spain.
Post by: omaghjoe on February 18, 2019, 08:41:18 PM
BTW guddies (not gutties!) to me were always the rubber soled black shoes, were as the sports shoe was always runners

Omagh townies would call the actual runners guddies.

Also a townie is not necessarily a derogatory term and defo not necessarily a lower class person, it could apply to the golfers types also. Basically someone who wasnt into farming or cars, was a bit showy and soft on the football field and called it "Gaelic".
The lower class types would be "skiprats" or "townie scumbags"

.... and alot of Omagh wans would call their Granny "Nan" thats got to be a garrison hangover that one
Post by: imtommygunn on February 18, 2019, 08:46:17 PM
I would have had townie down as a derogatory term. Pretty much like Culchie really from the other side.
Post by: Sheugh Water on February 18, 2019, 08:59:26 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on February 18, 2019, 08:41:18 PM
BTW guddies (not gutties!) to me were always the rubber soled black shoes, were as the sports shoe was always runners

Also a townie is not necessarily a derogatory term and defo not necessarily a lower class person, it could apply to the golfers types also. Basically someone who wasnt into farming or cars, was a bit showy and soft on the football field and called it "Gaelic".

.... and alot of Omagh wans would call their Granny "Nan" thats got to be a garrison hangover that one

In Derry City runners has more and more become the normal word for sports shoes, but up until 90s it was always slippers and is still used for sports shoes.

Skiprat, hood, sc**bag or strabane man the words used for lower class types
Post by: armaghniac on February 18, 2019, 09:05:33 PM
It doesn't have Brit or Down person as derogatory terms.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on February 19, 2019, 07:40:36 AM

Definitely gutties - just your spelling was a bit too phonetical.

Townies is a derogatory term in Omagh when used by those living in the surrounding countryside or by core non-Omagh GAA types or the culchies.  It indicated people who were a seen to not have the backbone and core that the culchies had themselves. It's the derision often directed at Omagh ones who played soccer and football or didn't glorify a culchie lifestyle.  Used in school by culchie GAA teachers in directing insult to those who lived in the town or played for the town GAA teams when finding ways not to pick them for school teams. Look for how long it took for Omagh players to breakthrough onto underage and then senior football teams.  Same happened in Dungannon. 

Never heard the term Skiprat ever used in Omagh to describe anyone and rarely heard or hear Nan being used for Granny except with women who think they are too young to be grannies.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 19, 2019, 07:46:13 AM
Is trainers a Fermanagh term? First time I heard that used for runners was when I met my wife.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 19, 2019, 08:32:32 AM
No I would use it too. I think even Scottish people use it.
Post by: omaghjoe on February 20, 2019, 03:47:43 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on February 19, 2019, 07:40:36 AM

Townies is a derogatory term in Omagh when used by those living in the surrounding countryside or by core non-Omagh GAA types or the culchies.  It indicated people who were a seen to not have the backbone and core that the culchies had themselves. It's the derision often directed at Omagh ones who played soccer and football or didn't glorify a culchie lifestyle.  Used in school by culchie GAA teachers in directing insult to those who lived in the town or played for the town GAA teams when finding ways not to pick them for school teams. Look for how long it took for Omagh players to breakthrough onto underage and then senior football teams.  Same happened in Dungannon. 

Never heard the term Skiprat ever used in Omagh to describe anyone and rarely heard or hear Nan being used for Granny except with women who think they are too young to be grannies.

"Didnt glorify a culchie lifestyle"  :D :D :D no bias there ;) Looks like the townies take more insult to "townie" that what is meant aww bless. I'd imagine the Dublin road types dont like being thrown into the same box as Strathroy

Omagh wans were always more into soccer when I was at school and would get picked more often for the school teams as they were usually a bit flashier and talked each other up all the time. The break thru of players is more to do with GAA being taken seriously in schools, the success of the county senior team, and the demise of soccer in the town.
I dont think there was any of them picked for the 97/98 minors despite being at the trials so it wasnt like they didnt get a chance

My spelling was to phonetical  ;D ;D...... Im glad to have rectified that problem.

Skiprat was used all the time often by Omagh wans, not sure on its popularity now
Post by: Puckoon on February 20, 2019, 09:18:19 PM

Correct on the gutties, and on the townies. One of the stranger things in my youth was being called a Townie by all and sundry in school football and club underage football - only to take the bus to a challenge game for St Enda's against O'Donovan Rossa and proceed to get lambasted as a crowd of sheep shaggin culchies for the duration.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on February 20, 2019, 09:58:49 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 20, 2019, 09:18:19 PM

Correct on the gutties, and on the townies. One of the stranger things in my youth was being called a Townie by all and sundry in school football and club underage football - only to take the bus to a challenge game for St Enda's against O'Donovan Rossa and proceed to get lambasted as a crowd of sheep shaggin culchies for the duration.

However, the true dialect test for an Omagh townie is when they say 'mines', i.e. 'Who owns this book? It's mines'
Post by: omaghjoe on February 20, 2019, 10:12:42 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on February 20, 2019, 09:58:49 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 20, 2019, 09:18:19 PM

However, the true dialect test for an Omagh townie is when they say 'mines', i.e. 'Who owns this book? It's mines'

No actually its whether you cross the threshold of 50% of "the boys" have the suffix "ie"/"y"
Post by: omaghjoe on February 21, 2019, 12:07:54 AM
Also dont they say "mines" in Newton/Derg?

Or is theirs more of "my-an" / "my-ans"
Post by: Owen Brannigan on February 21, 2019, 07:24:47 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on February 21, 2019, 12:07:54 AM
Also dont they say "mines" in Newton/Derg?

Or is theirs more of "my-an" / "my-ans"

My-ans
Post by: Owen Brannigan on February 21, 2019, 07:29:29 AM
Is

wile/while wine (considerably high winds) or the pronunciation of wild as wile/while

an area specific saying?