what kind of bike did ye have as a kid ?

Started by ArmaghGAAforum, June 15, 2009, 08:56:03 PM

mikasas

there also was the learning to skid using the back brake. You were the ticket when this trick was mastered.
Break Ball Specialist.

Quote from: full back on June 16, 2009, 12:35:47 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 16, 2009, 12:33:31 PM
Quote from: full back on June 16, 2009, 09:49:58 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on June 16, 2009, 09:32:11 AM
Did anyone else put an old empty Tip-Top carton on the back wheel under the mudguard to make your bike sound like a motorbike??

Yep, made one hell of a raquet :D

Also, used to go through a pair of trainers every few weeks by using them as brakes on the back tyre

Was Mammy Full Back as "happy" about that as mammy BC was ;D

The cards on the spokes were the job !

I would say they both had similar thoughts on it :D

A good clip around the lugs was to be expected when the sole was hanging off them or your sock was falling out through the hole in them
It was like holes in the knees of your school trousers, always got a slap for that too  :D

Got a Raleigh Burner meself from Santy....only had it a week and my Granda's wee black labrador pup knocked it down from it's standard position propped against the wall outstide the back door and the wee fecker ate the nice foam handles off it. I spent 3 days trying to drive over it after that.
Then I got a Dawes Ascent mountain bike with 18 (count them...18) gears  :o
It was the ticket for going to training as I had a bit of an uphill journey on the way home, but I always got to training in about 10 mins flat!

Did anyone ever right themselves aff trying to do "jumps" off ramps made from a couple of blocks and a plank?
I did myeself more damage at that craic.

first bike was a fold in the middle thing, old man paid 20 pound for it with mudguards and carrier on it, off they came and learned how to wheelie and skid sideways using the backpedal brake.was the bees knees for me. then had a racer type thing with the 3 speed wheel at the back, it was alright but i always wanted a raleigh grifter and later a 10 speed raleigh winner, had neither and then started riding other things than bicycles.

Had a grifter and they were some bike.
Maybe it's nostalgia playing tricks but I remember doing serious jumps on the grifter on ramps that were made from old sheets of timber lying about the yard and a few blocks - definitely note to code.
Took the bike over the fields, through shucks, it was the best all round bike for a wee fella in my day

Quote from: The Iceman on June 16, 2009, 03:34:39 PM
Had a grifter and they were some bike.
Maybe it's nostalgia playing tricks but I remember doing serious jumps on the grifter on ramps that were made from old sheets of timber lying about the yard and a few blocks - definitely note to code.
Took the bike over the fields, through shucks, it was the best all round bike for a wee fella in my day

The grifter was a seriously heavy yolk for the fields.

Got a peugot racer with the quick release skinny wheels one christmas, wouldn't have been complete without the two shoe laces tied around the middle bar for sliding the hurley stick into it all the same.

Had a Raleigh Grifter aswell, some yoke for burning up and down the back lane!

The bmx was the revolution though. Riding with no hands, wheelying for more than 10 pedals, free-wheeling whilst standing on the front stunt nuts, free-wheeling whilst standing on the back stunt nuts...The options were endless. The stunt nuts were always a great way for maximising passengers. One on the front, one on back, one standing pedalling like f**k and another sitting on the saddle!

We would have built some ramps too and got people to lie on the ground to jump over them like Eval. I remember one of lads pulling an auld bike from the river and me and him painting it with a lovely tin of blue emulsion!

i still have the scar on my arm, when i stuck mine in the hedge

High Wide and Handsome

Here hi there are sum fancy looking bikes in the collection. Mine was an antique of a thing that was more a death trap than a bike, the old mikasas were worn to get a grip on the handle bars lol. She made a clinker of a noise tho when you put a lolley pop stick between the back spokes. King of the road it was!!

Things changed one Christmas though, when I got a proper mountain bike with a helmet. Weird not having to stand up and use the sole of your right foot on the back tyre to break.!!
"Swing er over!"

turkey+ham

Sprick 10 speed racer. Heavy oul yoke. In the days before credit cards were in everyone's pocket, the best thing for the 'authentic' motorbike noise was a kidney donor card - outlasted any amount of playing cards

Raleigh Mag Burner - black. It was the coolest of the cool.

Graduated to a Raleigh Mauraruder mountain bike which was also a serious bike, you'd got 4 onto it - kinda miss cycling now

saw illdecide on his fairy-wheels the other day.... struggling up a hill he was  ;D

milltown row

i had the Tomahawk. living on the Falls rd it was not safe to have a bike and with 20 people living in the one house, buy one of them a bike........

anyway we got this bike and after about two days of learning how to ride the fooker, me and my older Bro went to the fields at the old school. down the hills we went after about 4 or 5 goes i went down the hill hit a rock and my foot was caught in the spokes. I'd totally snapped my leg. a compound fracture above the ankle.

looking at it now i can remember my foot resting on my knee!!!! was in hospital from end of May till mid July. in those days ya stayed in the hospital. 

next bike was a grifter and moved onto the ten speed racer that took me to work when i was 16. eventually ending up with the spring suspension Raleigh mountain bike (got that about 16 years ago)