Official Cavan GAA Thread

Started by BallyhaiseMan, November 10, 2006, 01:47:12 PM

footy15

Will Corlough be fit for Templeport today?

Westside

Corlough have a core group of maybe 16 lads, then a few locals that will throw on a jersey and play if needs be. The strange thing is that emmigration hasn't hit them nearly as hard as Kildallan (worst hit in West Cavan by far) and Templeport. It would be a real pity to see them fold especially with the facilities they have, the older lads and the lads in their 20's simply wouldn't amalgamate with Templeport or Swad, they'd sooner not play. I still think Corlough will hold on and field a team for a few years yet.

Can't see them beating Templeport tonight, TP have been playing well under Gerry Flanagan (former Leitrim player) and TP have beaten Corlough well in the past few meetings, but as always with Junior you can never be sure.

footy15

If you could keep Mcmanus quiet , maybe Corlough could a have a slight chance but i cant see them winning it

Westside

Cavan Minors got a serious hammering against Dublin in a challenge yesterday.. Alan O'Mara tweeted about it. 6-8 to 0-7 I think, he commented on how much bigger the Dublin players were, Cavan outmuscled all over the field.

footy15

is it templeport, kildallon, corlough or maybe cornafean

Have  you seen Killeshandras new pitch yet?

Cornafean??

Westside

Corlough ground out a 2 point win over Templeport through sheer force of will this evening. They may not have much talent, even for Junior, but I have rarely seen a team with such a stomach for a dogfight. Fair play to them.
Kieran McManus remains the best forward in West Cavan, deserves a go on the Cavan Juniors.

footy15

Quote from: Westside on June 18, 2011, 10:02:52 PM
Corlough ground out a 2 point win over Templeport through sheer force of will this evening. They may not have much talent, even for Junior, but I have rarely seen a team with such a stomach for a dogfight. Fair play to them.
Kieran McManus remains the best forward in West Cavan, deserves a go on the Cavan Juniors.
[/quote

Mc manus was in panel for a while, .

Where at the game
Quote from: Westside on June 18, 2011, 10:02:52 PM

Corlough played all the football in the second half , after being level at half time

footy15

Anyone at the Corlough v Templeport game

Dougal

ive lost all hope for cavan football,a lad just called up to the county minors,missing training this morning cos he was still drunk and 1 of the seniors, full in the pub at 2 today.is there 15 players in the county that can stay off the beer for a couple of weeks?
Fcuk you I won't do what ya tell me!!!

Quote from: Westside on June 18, 2011, 12:32:53 AM
Corlough's best player Martin Cassidy quit a few weeks ago and they were missing their fullback Joe Prior, they work with the bare minimum of players most well past retiring but don't want to quit as they won't be able to field a team, they won this game after sacking their manager and losing every single game before this and they STILL managed to get the bit between their teeth and get back a 6 point deficit to the top team in the group. It's a testament to the lads involved that they can even field a team never mind win up in Mountnugent no matter how many players Mountnugent were missing.

Its a terror,my own club is exactly the opposite,over 45 players have played League football between the 3 teams so far this year,and lads whom would be decent enough but became disillusioned over being told not even to bother togging out for the seniors by the previous management team.
We lost 1 to Emigration this year and 3/4 whom couldnt be bothered anymore.
Corlough and Maghera are a credit to their communities,battling away with such a small pick.

Division One is very interesting this year, Very competitive and it bodes well for an exciting senior championship.

Team................. Played Won Lost Drawn Points For Points Against Points Diff Points
Redhills................ 10..... 7 .....1 .....2 .........148.......... 144 ...............4....... 16
Ramor United....... 10..... 7...... 3 ....0 ..........150.......... 118............. 32....... 14
Ballinagh ............... 9..... 6...... 2.... 1 ..........158.......... 123............. 35....... 13
Mullahoran.......... 10 ......6..... 4 .....0.......... 115.......... 101............. 14....... 12
Kingscourt........... 10 ......5..... 4..... 1 ...........140.......... 115............. 25....... 11
Cavan Gaels........ 10.......5..... 4..... 1 ...........159.......... 147............. 12....... 11
Gowna ..................9 .......4 ....3..... 2........... 117.......... 111............... 6....... 10
Castlerahan ......... 9 .......4..... 3..... 2.......... 123.......... 119............... 4........ 10
Lacken ................ 9 .......3..... 4..... 2 ..........120.......... 133............ -13.......... 8
Cuchullains........ 10....... 4..... 6..... 0.......... 133.......... 149............ -16.......... 8
Drumlane.......... 10....... 3...... 5.... 2........... 109......... 135............ -26.......... 8
Killygarry.......... 10....... 3...... 6.... 1........... 128......... 142............ -14.......... 7
Belturbet............ 9....... 3....... 5... 1............ 101......... 117............ -16......... 7
Ballyhaise.......... 9........ 2.......5... 2............ 103......... 115............ -12......... 6
Lavey................ 9........ 2.......5... 2............ 105......... 119............ -14......... 6
Killeshandra....... 9........ 2......6.... 1............ 119......... 140............ -21......... 5

Celt_Man

Quote from: Dougal on June 19, 2011, 05:32:36 PM
ive lost all hope for cavan football,a lad just called up to the county minors,missing training this morning cos he was still drunk and 1 of the seniors, full in the pub at 2 today.is there 15 players in the county that can stay off the beer for a couple of weeks?

Jaysus...
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

Westside

Quote from: Celt_Man on June 19, 2011, 06:09:50 PM
Quote from: Dougal on June 19, 2011, 05:32:36 PM

Jaysus...

I met one of the Minors out last Sunday night, thoughts of a game against Tyrone seemed the furthest thing from his mind.. Lets hope it's the same lad.. If our MINOR teams can't adhere to drinking bans, or need them in the first place, then we will rightly never win anything again.

Tyrone/Longford double looks like a good bet so...

Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on June 19, 2011, 05:55:35 PM
Division One is very interesting this year, Very competitive and it bodes well for an exciting senior championship.

Team................. Played Won Lost Drawn Points For Points Against Points Diff Points
Redhills................ 10..... 7 .....1 .....2 .........148.......... 144 ...............4....... 16
Ramor United....... 10..... 7...... 3 ....0 ..........150.......... 118............. 32....... 14
Ballinagh ............... 9..... 6...... 2.... 1 ..........158.......... 123............. 35....... 13
Mullahoran.......... 10 ......6..... 4 .....0.......... 115.......... 101............. 14....... 12
Kingscourt........... 10 ......5..... 4..... 1 ...........140.......... 115............. 25....... 11
Cavan Gaels........ 10.......5..... 4..... 1 ...........159.......... 147............. 12....... 11
Gowna ..................9 .......4 ....3..... 2........... 117.......... 111............... 6....... 10
Castlerahan ......... 9 .......4..... 3..... 2.......... 123.......... 119............... 4........ 10
Lacken ................ 9 .......3..... 4..... 2 ..........120.......... 133............ -13.......... 8
Cuchullains........ 10....... 4..... 6..... 0.......... 133.......... 149............ -16.......... 8
Drumlane.......... 10....... 3...... 5.... 2........... 109......... 135............ -26.......... 8
Killygarry.......... 10....... 3...... 6.... 1........... 128......... 142............ -14.......... 7
Belturbet............ 9....... 3....... 5... 1............ 101......... 117............ -16......... 7
Ballyhaise.......... 9........ 2.......5... 2............ 103......... 115............ -12......... 6
Lavey................ 9........ 2.......5... 2............ 105......... 119............ -14......... 6
Killeshandra....... 9........ 2......6.... 1............ 119......... 140............ -21......... 5

I was down at the Ballyhaise Killeshandra game on Saturday. A good 2nd half performance by ye. We are in big trouble this year. Between injury, suspensions and lads travelling I believe we were short 15 players that would be in the 1st team panel, hence the extremely small and light team we put out. Cullivan was very good at midfield. How McCrudden stayed on the field is beyond me and how that guy in black passes as a referee is also beyond me. Well done BHM anyway.