Official Cavan GAA Thread

Started by BallyhaiseMan, November 10, 2006, 01:47:12 PM

anglocelt39

Usually is.

Heard very little so far about our minor team being the best since our last great minor team of last year, so maybe that's a plus.

We've restored respect at senior level after last year. We need it all to go right on Sunday, Down only need some of it to go right but feck it, with an improved approach on the sideline, a full 70 minute performance and a bit of luck we can extend the season. Here's hoping.
Undefeated at the Polo Grounds

my team for Down would be

1.Miller
2.Cahill
3.Hannon
4.Fannin
5.Gunner
6.McKeever
7.Forde
8.Mulvey
9.Walsh
10.Cullivan
11.Lyng
12. Sean Brady
13.Pierson
14.McCabe
15.Jelly

Crowe,Brennan  Chesty ,Cunningham and Jayo very unlucky to miss out.

Was reading an article on the hoganstand that Cavan, for the 1st time in a long time, have a full panel to choose from. Then up pops another article informing us that Darren Rabbitte won't make it.

So we have all named our teams, so what about a guess at the score. Can't see goals in us with Jayo likely to be on the bench and I can see goals in Down with Coulter likely to go in on Forde. Taking a cold hearted look at it I would guess the following score...

Down 2-10
Cavan 0-13

Hopefully I will be wrong and you can all call me a negative bollocks next Sunday ;)

cavanmaniac

Ah feck it myles can we not just call ye a negative ould bollocks now??!! ;D

On team selection, Ballyhaise man and I are on the same hymn sheet here:

1.Miller
2.Cahill
3.Hannon (we can't carry Forde here any longer, nuff said)
4.Fannin
5.Gunner
6.McKeever (Chesty ain't a number 6. Why hasn't he tried out at number 3, his club position?)
7.Forde
8.Mulvey
9.Walsh
10.Cullivan
11.Lyng
12. Sean Brady
13.Pierson
14.McCabe
15.Jelly

I like the look of that team. My biggest problems were Forde at no. 3, Chesty at no.6 and the need for both good scavengers and physical strength in the middle eight. Gunner, McKeever and Forde are a decent half back line in that respect, Crowe another gutsy option too. Mulvey and Walsh will be well aided on any potential spoiling mission by a physically strong Cullivan and Sean Brady who plays midfield for both his clubs UCD and Castlerahan and does well there. He also has a nice eye for a pass inside (had a very productive opening 15 mins against Kildare last year in this respect) as does Lyng, which is vital if we're to hit McCabe accurately and indeed more so the smaller lads who need virtually clean ball to get hands to it.

Throw Larry and Jayo into the mix for the last 15 mins of a tight match, to hopefully feed off a still functional McCabe, and things look positive. That's the plan anyway, as we all know, there's many a slip between cup and lip....

cavan4ever

Anyone hear anything about our county manager misbehaving at the weekend ?

lads
is it all ticket on Sun ?

cavan4ever

i heard it was and then i heard it was just the covered stand that was ticket.  If it was gonna be all-ticket id say they would be out by now.

cavan4ever

Paul Grimley's Armagh involvement has been firmly cast aside and a new dawn beckons for him as trainer to the Cavan footballers who face Down in the 2007 Ulster SFC opener at Breffni Park this Sunday.

So far, he has been delighted with the commitment which his new charges have given to himself and new Cavan manager Donal Keoghan.

"They don't give any trouble and they are very dedicated and committed to their training and they are very keen to do well which from a management or training point of view is always a plus," Grimley said.

Assistant manager to Armagh supremo Joe Kernan for five years, Grimley stepped down last August having helped guide the Orchard county to the 2002 All-Ireland title and four Ulster SFC titles along with a National League crown.

He feels there is no difference in the commitment shown by this Cavan side and the Armagh players, whom he trained so successfully.

"There is no difference (between them). I have been involved with Armagh for five years and the fantastic work ethic that they had and their great attitude with that. Obviously when I came to Cavan I tried to instill that in these players and thankfully they have responded to that."

Having lost last year's corresponding fixture, it will certainly mean a lot to Cavan supporters if their side can beat Down this coming weekend.

Grimley believes that psychologically, his players are well positioned for victory.

"The players are in a good frame of mind. They are all looking forward to the Ulster championship and they are very upbeat and very positive and obviously last year's result is long gone as is our league programme. We are looking forward to taking on Down. There is a challenge there that has to be met and especially when it is at home."

The Armagh Harps clubman feels that there may be an Ulster championship in this team this year.

"I think when you are involved in management you have to believe that whatever you are doing is the right thing and you have to believe that it will take you as far as you possibly want to go," continued Grimley.

"We want to get to an Ulster final. It remains to be seen if we can get that far. Obviously we are not taking our eye off the ball, we realise here that we have a very strong challenge to overcome this Sunday.

"The attitude here is that while it would be lovely to be involved in an Ulster final, we have to take one game at a time. We are under no illusions as to what it will take.

He is cautious not to let the thoughts of Cavan supporters influence the players, adding: "The players are mentally very strong themselves but at the end of the day supporters don't win matches - it's the footballers who win them. As far as people would say good players make good managers."

Quote from: cavan4ever on May 09, 2007, 08:47:47 AM
i heard it was and then i heard it was just the covered stand that was ticket.  If it was gonna be all-ticket id say they would be out by now.

thanks Chief
if I can get away from that confirmation in Virginia in time, I hope to get there.
If its as good as the last Cavan v Down game I saw in Breffni, then it will be well worth the tonge lashing from the wife for leaving the apres confirmation dinner !
:)

cavan4ever

sure the games not till 4 anyway unless the confirmation is mad late u will make it. 

Homer

I'm sure most of you lot have already seen this post on the hoganstand but just in case ye missed it, I thought I'd post it here. Made my day anyway.

Match a club with a car/vehickle

1. Cavan Gaels - BMW (No extras, standard 2.0, beiche coloured)Just about convinces you that its middle class
2. Mullahoran - John Deere 5003 Series (Brand New !)all torque
3. Ballinagh - Toyata Landcruiser (like Morris's). 5th gear never works well
4. Castlerahan - a Corvette (guy with mullet and moustache driving though)
5. Gowna - Volvo FH12 (big engine, slightly outdated). Everybody calls the truck "P"
6. Cuchulainns - Toyata Corrolla (bit flat, but goes well)
7. Crosserlough - VW Jetta (very reliable, but is found wanting in a real race)
8. Kingscourt- Ford Capris (good condition) - great car back in the day. This car's demise is attributed to the formation of a soccer club in the town.
9. Belturbet - Honda Civic (Great engine but the rest is dissappointing)
10. Denn - Ford Probe (lots of shouts, never amounted to much though)You can see this car parked outside Hairy Neds most evenings
11. Lacken - Some breed of a 4x4 with a winch, handy for pulling and dragging
12. Drumalee - The word "Drumalee" itself suggests a white Ford Escort, furry dice, spoiler, teddys .. u get the message.
14. Killygarry - New VW Golf (had a good reputation but things are going downhill). Has a nice garage to put it in all the same.
15. Drumlane - a souped up Ford Fiesta. Punching above its weight
16. Ballyhaise - Volvo estate (lots of room to work with. Needs Sat-Nav to get around the pitch
17. Ramor - Opel manta (see Kingscourt). Opel Mantas are very very hard on juice :1
18. Lavey - Some type of really classy teleporter
19. Knockbride - A Rover. Tried soo hard to be a high-end car (sounds good, but not taken seriously by the big boys)
20. Drumgoon - Ford Mondeo - Was going to take over the world at one stage, not impressive any more
21. Redhills - Seat Toledo - lacks substance, bit tinny. Some handy features though. A "good young car"
22. Drung - Toyata Celica with a HUGE Exahust - Emits alot of fumes
23. Cootehill - a Glasgow Celtic coloured car, doesnt matter what make. A Celtic coloured donkey will do.
24. Laragh - an orange ice-cream van. Tried to change the colour of the van to sky blue at one stage,as this was affecting its performance ;)
25. Shercock - a convertible skoda. Nothing to keep the rain off, like the pitch
26. Baileboro - Some sort of a Jaguar that some mechanic was doing up. He promised all his mates it was going to blow their minds - but its up on blocks now.
27. Ballymachugh - Ford 7610 4wd. Practical
28. Swadlinbar - Camoflauged bullet proof van.
29. Cavan Gaels (B) - a BMW car door ... doesnt matter as long as it LOOKS affluent. Perception is everything, apparently.
30. Kill - Opel Corsa with a sunroof. Needs more punch
31. Butlersbridge - Nissan Micra with a Mercedes badge (sponsered by the Black Horse)
32. Kildallon - Hillman Hunter, with knee bandages
33. Shannon Gaels - Ford T Model without the engine
34. Munterconnaught - A Pimped-Up school bus
35. Killeshandra - Fiat Punto, with alloys, exhaust and the works. A Ceili band in the back. Biker convoy tailing it
36. Templeport - Morris Minor. Complete with driver, wearing a driving hat at a jaunty angle.
37. Arva - A VW ..... mini van. A .. van .. that .. boxes ..you in the ribs ... when .. its tackling you .. and buys you a pint of Brandy in the pub afterwards and then slaps you really hard on the back.
38. Mullahoran (B)- A forklift. A very proud forklift with a white check shirt and a nice hair parting. Fuelled on bottles of Bud
39. Maghera - AC Milan coloured tractor lawnmower.
40. Corlough - a Motorized Pram
41. Mountnugent - a Wheelbarrow. Not a great wheelbarrow

From Hoganstand, by JCB Man

:D :D :D

cavanmaniac

Quote from: Homer on May 09, 2007, 03:39:49 PM
I'm sure most of you lot have already seen this post on the hoganstand but just in case ye missed it, I thought I'd post it here. Made my day anyway.

Match a club with a car/vehickle

1. Cavan Gaels - BMW (No extras, standard 2.0, beiche coloured)Just about convinces you that its middle class
2. Mullahoran - John Deere 5003 Series (Brand New !)all torque

5. Gowna - Volvo FH12 (big engine, slightly outdated). Everybody calls the truck "P"
6. Cuchulainns - Toyata Corrolla (bit flat, but goes well)
7. Crosserlough - VW Jetta (very reliable, but is found wanting in a real race)
8. Kingscourt- Ford Capris (good condition) - great car back in the day. This car's demise is attributed to the formation of a soccer club in the town.

16. Ballyhaise - Volvo estate (lots of room to work with. Needs Sat-Nav to get around the pitch

17. Ramor - Opel manta (see Kingscourt). Opel Mantas are very very hard on juice :1

Best of all though:

11. Lacken - Some breed of a 4x4 with a winch, handy for pulling and dragging  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Needs Sat Nav to get around the pitch  :D

That post is hilarious Homer

i see the team well ive seen two teams named, in the other thread,
Gunner at cornerback makes sense,Hes the pefect man to mark Coulter,Quick,Strong and outstanding in the air.
Chesty at full back though,i have my doubts.

But what makes me happy about this is,it shows Grimley has the tactical knowledge that has been missing from our team managements of the past in that he will actually make changes when necessary.

CC1

Nice to hear that we're a Skoda, an ever improving car. Too true about the convertable bit though...  :-[
"Hey, don't worry; don't be afraid, ever, because this is just a ride."

CC1 seeing as you're a shercock man
Is Michael O Reily starting at Midfield for the minors?
Seen him play Under 21 last year and was very impressed.