Official Cavan GAA Thread

Started by BallyhaiseMan, November 10, 2006, 01:47:12 PM

Celt_Man

Aye there is a big day line up for the opening of the 3G pitch on Bank Holiday Monday... Under 10s from all the clubs in the county are involved somehow... Under 17s are playing too...

The whole thing is meant to be in this week's Celt
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

PhilsJemmysField

Denn Forever -- The main event at this year's Jamboree will be the Saw Doctors on the Sunday Night we are going a lot more old style this year with Ulster Tug of War, Darts and Boxing with a bit an Air Show thrown in.

Celt_Man

END TO END: Six to go and all to play for

Profile by Paul Fitzpatrick

Image related to story 3996709, see caption or article text
Sean Johnston's fitness will be crucial to Cavan's hopes.

The numbers game. Seven down, but only one to go. Twenty-eight players used, four wins gained. Forty-five days till lift-off.

With the championship bandwagon rolling into town in six weeks' time, the serious business of picking teams gets underway.

So, what has Tommy Carr being doing all of the long days and nights of his tenure in charge? To give the man his due, Cavan are an improved outfit.

Against Offaly, Wexford, Roscommon and Louth in particular, Cavan played some brilliant attacking football. Then again, while Division Three is the tightest of the four, the standard is poor. So, with one eye on the Erne men, it's hard to know where we are at - how good are our players and who are our good players?

The huge intangible at this stage is the fitness of the best attacking footballer in the county. Sean Johnston's injury was a nastier one than first thought and, at the time of writing, it's almost impossible to say how fit he'll be by June 13. The Cavan Gaels man, wires and pins protruding from under the skin of his elbow, has run himself ragged to keep up his fitness levels and has been swimming daily to hasten the recuperation process.

Johnston lacks for nothing in dedication which, along with his outrageous skill level, is why he is rated as one of the best forwards in the country. Eleven months ago, crippled by a torn hamstring, he supplied the magic needed to beat Fermanagh.

This time, the injury is worse, but he will have had more time to recover.

Aside from Jelly, then (incidentally, why have the national media not picked up on this nickname the way they have desperately clung to the "Gooch" sobriquet for dear life over the past decade?), what will TC's team be?

Fintan Reilly's spot is secure in goal. The Redhills man was late coming to senior inter-county football but has made the place his own since his first cousin James opted out. He'll make his championship debut at 31, and deservedly so.

In front of him, our full-back line has been made up of three Denn men, two rookies and one who wears the captain's armband. Tomas Corr has done as well as can be expected in a tough position, McPhilips has shone lots of strength and aggression - two things Cavan supporters have been crying out for in their defenders - while Martin Cahill has been consistently excellent.

Cahill is at his best rampaging forward, running in support and kicking scores and is wasted in the confines of corner back, where they say even oxygen is tight. Carr identified this by moving him to wing-forward for the final league match, which could be where he'll stay.

Michael Hannon is arguably the best man marker in the county but has struggled for form and had a wretched time with injuries for the past couple of seasons. He did well against Fermanagh in round seven and could well force his way in at corner-back to lend some experience to that line; that's if Under 21 captain Rory Dunne doesn't make a late break for the number three jersey.

In front of them is the toughest line in the side to choose. In the past, in a team primarily made up of ball-players, Cavan's half-back line could often be swapped for the half-forward line and nothing would really have changed. Lst year, for example, how many players did we have who could slot in in all six positions?

Aside from Mark McKeever, Martin Cahill, Ronan Flanagan, Paul Brady, Eugene Keating, Sean Brady and Martin Reilly (who made his inter-county debut at wing-back, remember) all featured in last year's championship; this year's squad, refreshingly, has less utility men and more specialists.

John McCutcheon, if he is fit, is a cert for the half-back line, while Dermot Sheridan, Paul Brady, Martin Cahill, Dane O'Dowd and Alan Clarke are all in the running for the wing-back spots. The Mullahoran pair look best equipped, with the much-improved Sheridan, who brings strength, aggression and athleticism, in the form of his life this season for DCU and for his club.

Flanagan, pound for pound the best footballer we have, is viewed as a forward by this manager it appears.

The number six jersey, at this stage, looks Eoin McGuigan's to lose. The Belturbet man has grown into the role having started the league at midfield and is likely to take his place on June 13, unless usurped by Sheridan or McCutcheon.

Before we leave the backline, stories emanating from the camp suggest that Joey Jordan has left the panel, and who can blame him? Anyone who watches club football in this county will know that Jordan is, without doubt, one of the best six defenders we have. Whether or not he'll cut it at inter-county level, well, regrettably, we'll never know as he wasn't given a chance in 2010 - Jordan didn't feature for as much as a minute in the National League, which is a real shame.

Without knowing the ins and outs, it appears that Ballinagh's Padraic O'Reilly is another player who hasn't been given nearly enough game time given his experience and ability.

Betwixt and between it all, at least we have no shortage of options at the back.

Which is more than can be said for our midfield. Nicholas Walsh is our most experienced performer but has struggled for form, and probably would've been dropped at one stage were he not injured. He is carrying a knock at present but he could well start against Fermanagh, and can do a good job.

David Givney looks an automatic choice. Barring injury, the Mountnugent man surely must start in the middle for the big one. He is the form player in this county thus far in 2010 - he can field, score, is mobile and has improved 100 per cent on last year.

His understudy at present is Ciaran Galligan, a fine athlete and a good fielder, while Lorcan Mulvey has played well since coming in midway through the league. He's strong and can play ball and could be the man to partner Givney yet.

The look of our attack, of course, will be defined by Johnston's availability. Gareth Smith, who has played every second of every match, including the McKenna Cup, on the 40, will start there, while Flanagan and Mackey will also take their places behind the band.

Of the rest, who knows? If McKeever or Cahill aren't in the half-back line they should be two lines further forward for sure. Then there's Raymond Galligan, Michael Brennan, Ray Cullivan and Martin Reilly, all of whom have live claims for a place but only a couple of whom will start. It's all to play for.

We await the upcoming challenge matches with baited breath.

Celt_Man

Good articlce for the most part but couple of questions....

Why is Hannon regarded as the best man marker in the county?  Maybe he was but certainly not at the present time
and
Is Mulvey not out with a knee injury for a considerable length of time?
and
Joey Jordan was on the panel?? Jaysus didn't even cop that if he was togged out for the Fermanagh game and Gunner - fecked from the handball the day before - came on ahead of him, you wouldn't blame him for getting fed up and walking away

No you wouldn't blame him and I have yet to be convinced by Brady but Cavan always seem to pick him.

Quote from: Denn Forever on April 29, 2010, 05:30:04 PM
No you wouldn't blame him and I have yet to be convinced by Brady but Cavan always seem to pick him.

Gunner DF? id have to disagree with that
Gunner has arguabely been one of our most consistent performers down the years for Cavan.
Drawn game against Tyrone 2005,He was the best man on a field of multipe all stars,and players of the year awardees.The only bad game i can remember him having  for Cavan was when Coulter gave him a roasting at corner back,in Breffini when Benny set up and scored a goal.
Hes been a consistently solid performer for Cavan,the same as your clubmate Martin Cahill.

Lawrence of Knockbride

Can't say I'm impressed by the article. There may/may not be a better keeper than Fintan but I don't remember a game that I could say he's played well in. If this is the form of Dermot Sheridan's life we're in trouble. He was terrible against Louth at midfield and sometimes he just falls asleep and doesn't look interested. If his head is right then he's a great asset but this year it looks like quite a big "if".
As sad as it is Mulvey could be the best option at MF with Givney unless some of the U-21s come in. I think we'll ultimately pay the price for playing him though as he can't be trusted to behave himself for 70 minutes.
Not to nit-pick but Nesty hasn't played every minute this year. What about full-forward. A big position that nobody has claimed. Galligan, Brennan and Cullivan (sort of) have all had a go at it.

But where do you play him? 

The most I have seen him is for Mullahoran and he didn't impress me there.

So if you are going to play, where? 

We are looking for someone to play with Givney so maybe at midfield?  He is commited and can look after himself so why not?  Is high fielding a big component of Gaelic Football nowadays anyway?

But we have a long time so now is the time to look outside the box.

Quote from: Denn Forever on April 29, 2010, 09:26:01 PM
But where do you play him? 

The most I have seen him is for Mullahoran and he didn't impress me there.

So if you are going to play, where? 

We are looking for someone to play with Givney so maybe at midfield?  He is commited and can look after himself so why not?  Is high fielding a big component of Gaelic Football nowadays anyway?

But we have a long time so now is the time to look outside the box.
Id play him wing or if Eoin McGuigan isnt fit,Centre Back.
A half back line consisting of
Paul Brady  Eoin McGuigan   John McCutcheon
has a nice ring to it,would you not agree?
Plus it frees Ronan Flanagan,McKeever up for the forwards.

The kindest thing may have been to let us be relegated last year.

Celt_Man

Tonight's results.

ACFL Division 1

Killygarry  1-5 0-10 Mullahoran 
Ramor United  0-10 2-7 Castlerahan 
Crosserlough  0-4 2-14 Cavan Gaels 
Ballinagh  2-17 2-8 Redhills   
Lacken  0-13 0-7 Belturbet 
Denn  0-8 1-14 Killeshandra   
Lavey  2-8 2-14 Kingscourt 

ACFL Division 2

Ballyhaise  0-14 0-6 Drung   
Drumgoon  0-8 0-7 Kill   
Butlersbridge  1-9 4-12 Knockbride   
Bailieboro  0-13 1-13 Drumlane 

ACFL Division 3

Templeport  0-11 3-9 Kildallan   
Arva  2-7 0-7 Ballymachugh   
Cornafean  0-14 0-6 Corlough   

Lawrence of Knockbride

Quote from: Denn Forever on April 30, 2010, 09:59:35 PM
Where's mousy this year? And who does Martin Cahill think he is? Running onto the field and him not even togged?

Celt_Man

Quote from: Lawrence of Knockbride on May 01, 2010, 01:02:32 AM
Where's mousy this year? And who does Martin Cahill think he is? Running onto the field and him not even togged?
What happened there?

Lawrence of Knockbride

Quote from: Celt_Man on May 01, 2010, 01:04:02 AM
Quote from: Lawrence of Knockbride on May 01, 2010, 01:02:32 AM
What happened there?
One of the Denn lads was after swinging a box right beside the Denn dugout and the ref was approaching looking like he was going to produce a justified red card when Cahill raced in his direction jumping like a man posessed presumably trying to convince the ref not to send him off. This of course caused a 10 man handbags affair.

Dougal

that was pretty stupid on cahills behalf alright.

im going to have to do a list like BH man ,only a list of killeshandra stalkers. ;D
Fcuk you I won't do what ya tell me!!!