Official Cavan GAA Thread

Started by BallyhaiseMan, November 10, 2006, 01:47:12 PM

Most Improved player: McCutcheon followed by Dunne
Most consistent: Miller, Johnstone
Rising Star: Givney
Best at the Back: For me strangely this year it been Fannin when hes got a chance
Worst attitude: All star for Jelly, McKeever notable silver
Best Attitude: Galligan, Eddie
Someone who deserves a call up: Eoin Smith seems to have been called up
One to drop off panel: Anyone acting the bollix, don't know of anyone yet.
Most underachieving player: Lyng, McKeever
Unfittest: Podge (lack of matches), McCabe
Three players to call up from U21's: Some talent there but not for a year or two
Should McKeever be back: No. Fucked up once too many hasn't been performing anyhow.
Flanagan's best Position: Sweeper in front of FB line
your choice of captain: We don't have any real leaders but Flanagan is a decent choice
Is Mulvey good enough: Can give a decent 15 minutes but is limited. Good enough for the panel.

the salmon of knowledge

Most Improved player: dunne
Most consistent: Miller
Rising Star: Givney
Best at the Back: gunner
Worst attitude: wibbley wobbley wonder wearing the no 13
Best Attitude: Galligan, Eddie
Someone who deserves a call up: john tierney i suppose sean maguire from lavey seems to be playing well
One to drop off panel:
Most underachieving player: walsh
Unfittest: none of them look razor sharp
Three players to call up from U21's: givney and cullivan already there, mc kiernan is still light
Should McKeever be back: No.
Flanagan's best Position: whb
your choice of captain: give ro a chance there
Is Mulvey good enough: most underrated player on the panel

boojangles

Quote from: Drung on April 21, 2009, 03:14:31 PM
Take it easy Boojangles, just joking with ya man!

Don't post comments about yourself like that if you don't want someone to pull the piss.

Whatever Drung,keep it to the football and You and me will have no problems.little digs like that or trying to set me up and you can go sit on it! I come on here to have sensible debate about Cavan GAA,I have other ways to have a laugh.

I havent supported Cavan enough this year to complete that list but there are some very interesting comments.
What I seen of Cian Mackey in Newry,he has the ability to be a real star for us in the Summer,if he applies himself and is played in the right role.
I agree with Myles? about Fannin,think he should be a definite starter,I have rarely seen him let Cavan down over the last 4-5 years.
Mulvey definitely has a role as maybe a cameo ala Antrim. Flanagan seems the best man for Captain in the long run and lets hope we see Micky Lyng continue to improve.the man has had a torrid few years,the more games he gets the better IMO.

Cavan are playing Galway on Sunday in Headford. Anyone making the trip over? Not sure if it is a good idea to play Galway, they are one of those teams that can really open up and hammer a team. A hammering is not what we need right now. Anyone remember a few years ago we played Dublin (in templeport I  think), Pierson did his cruciate and McKeever went on the beer instead of turning up. Dublin trounced us and the panel were demoralised. I think maybe we should be playing teams at our own level instead of teams that are a definite level above us. I suppose if we keep the score tight it will give us a boost though.

Also see our game in the 1st rd of Ulster is going to be on a Saturday evening under lights, either in Breffni or Newry.

Swadman

QuoteCavan are playing Galway on Sunday in Headford. Anyone making the trip over? Not sure if it is a good idea to play Galway, they are one of those teams that can really open up and hammer a team. A hammering is not what we need right now. Anyone remember a few years ago we played Dublin (in templeport I  think), Pierson did his cruciate and McKeever went on the beer instead of turning up. Dublin trounced us and the panel were demoralised. I think maybe we should be playing teams at our own level instead of teams that are a definite level above us. I suppose if we keep the score tight it will give us a boost though.
I have to agree with you Myles, I still remember the humiliation of the Dublin game in the Templeport pitch opening. Pierson was starting to go well until that injury put him out for a long time. McKeever and A N Other from B/nagh didnt make it past Killeshandra, took a wrong turn into the Shamrock. I hope the attitude of the current panel is a little more respectful, dare I say, professional, to challange games. I was involved in my own club when we were planning our pitch opening to co-incide with our centenary. Cavan let us down, promised to come the following year, let us down again !!! We had to get Fermanagh & Leitrim,  ??? But hey, we are in West Cavan, maybe thats where they think we should be playing anyway.
No, I'm not bitter. I'm over it now. ;D

jimjim

Cavan Team V Galway

1. James Reilly Drung
2. Michael Brides Oliver Plunketts
3. Rory Dunne Redhills
4. Eoin Smith Killigarry
5. John Mc Cutcheon Cootehill
6. Padraig Reilly Ballinagh
7. Keith Fannin Drumgoon
8. David Givney Mountnugent
9. Nicholas Walsh Cavan Gaels
10. Sean Brady Castlerahan
11. Raymond Cullivan Ballyhaise
12. Cian Mackey Castlerahan
13. Jason Reilly Belturbet
14. Dermot Mc Cabe Gowna
15. Gerry Pearson Gowna
16. Fintan Reilly Redhills
17. Michael Lyng Cavan Gaels
18. Ronan Flanagan Castlerahan
19. Lorcan Mulvey Butlersbridge
20. Michael Hannon Drumgoon
21. Martin Reilly Killigarry
22. Gearoid Mc Kiernan Swanlinbar
23. Declan Mc Kiernan Killeshandra
24. Larry Reilly Knockbride

Galway team:
1- Doherty
2- K. Fitz
3- D. Finnegan
4- Damien Burke
5- D.Meehan
6- D.Reilly
7- Alan Burke
8- Bradshaw
9-Bergin
10- Coleman
11- Breathnach
12- G. O Donnell
13- Mattie Clancy
14- Armstrong
15-N.Joyce

Any Thoughts??

Clearly Carr is still in experimental mode. I'll give him this game to try out new people in new positions but he really needs to start firming up his team selection. Rory Dunne at FB is not a solution I fear no more than podge was. Eoin Smiths inclusion is good to see but its an awful pity he wasn't in earlier. McCabe is finished in the middle so its FF or bust for him. I like the idea of him in there but Cavan need to learn that just cos the FF is big doesn't mean you can just balloon shite hail mary balls in on top of him. They need to be diagonal direct balls in front of him. Dermot also needs to realise that he just can't stand still on the edge of the small box waitin for perfect balls, he has to be mobile.

cavan4sam

If he is good enough, he will be able to adapt.

D Best Full Forward ever

If Ted is played Full Back he will show how gud he is! no point in playin him corner back! was rabbitte eva played corner bak??

Fair play to Ted and Best of luck

He deserves his chance

Quote from: cavan4sam on April 23, 2009, 12:54:15 PM
If he is good enough, he will be able to adapt.

Sure by that logic we should be playing James Reilly at FF. FB is a specialist position.

cavan4sam

Im not saying that, what im saying is that at intercounty football you need everyone of full back line to be able to play in all 3 positions. Im sure he is a very good full back, ive listened to ye guys talk about him for so long, maybe now he will show us. I seen him play against us and he was playing on Sean, came off around 50 50. I hope is does the business cos Cavan need a good full back.

Homer

I'm sure the Cavan backs breathed a sigh of relief at the absences of Meehan, Joyce and Bane, but that's still a fairly strong Galway side and indeed FF line.

Rory Dunne is young lad I rate very highly, and I wouldn't rule him out as a full-back just yet. To be honest, I can't see us finding an all-round FB at this stage so I think we'll have to make do with a 'horses for courses' approach. Great to see Eoin Smith being given a chance. I know some of ye have suggested that corner-back isn't his position but I don't think Galway will play Matt Clancy up front, they'll more than likely have him operating as a third midfielder in that case 'Ted' and Dunne will be inside as joint-FBs on Armstrong and Nicky Joyce  

I've personally always preferred Fannin as a half-back, and it's good to see him start there, but I'd imagine he'll end up in the FB line at some point or may pick up Clancy if he moves out. I presume Gunner's absence is due to handball commitments. I heard recently that he may be missing for the first round of the Championship for similar reasons (note: this is completely unconfirmed) so no harm trying out a few others. As mentioned earlier in the thread there's plenty of worry over Podge's fitness, hopefully more and more matches will bring him on. He'll have it tough against Fiachra Breathnach.

Givney on Bradshaw and Walsh on Bergin doesn't really fill me with a lot of confidence, but I haven't seen a whole pile of either this year so I'll wait and see.

The return of Mackey and Brady is encouraging and bar any other mishaps both should have just enough time to regain fitness for the championship. Cullivan wouldn't be a CHF in my mind; he'll possibly switch with one of the lads on the wing at some point.

Jason supposedly put in a big display at the weekend so there may be life in the old dog yet. 'Star' Donaghy gave the Galway FB a torrid time last day out so there's hope McCabe can exploit some of the same weaknesses (although I fully agree with Myles's point in relation to him just sitting on the square). Hopefully Pearson can pick up where he left off and most importantly come through unscathed. Cavan are a bit over-reliant on Johnston, so no harm leaving him out and letting others step up to mark.

Fingers-crossed Cavan can give them a bit of a game or at least survive without any moral-sapping hammering.

boojangles

Quote from: cavan4sam on April 23, 2009, 02:14:13 PM
Im not saying that, what im saying is that at intercounty football you need everyone of full back line to be able to play in all 3 positions. Im sure he is a very good full back, ive listened to ye guys talk about him for so long, maybe now he will show us. I seen him play against us and he was playing on Sean, came off around 50 50. I hope is does the business cos Cavan need a good full back.
Agree with C4Sam here,If he is good enough which i think he is, he should be able to play in any of the Full-Back positions.Although I would be a wee bit worried that he may not have the pace for Corner back. Anyway Best of Luck Hope he shows well.
Don't like to see Gearoid McKiernan in on a County Senior panel and him only out of Minor.What is the point in that? While he is a big tall lad, he is very slight and IMO needs alot of coaching.Give him 2-3 years and he mite make it but throwing him into Senior InterCounty level before he is fully developed is stupid IMO.There are very few young lads who can make the transition so quick.Club football and Under-21 county should be enough.
Surely there are more experienced midfielders in the County?
Swadman what do you think?

D Best Full Forward ever

I cant see him having much problem with speed! but if Tommy Carr wants to see his true potential full back is where he should play

Lawrence of Knockbride

Welcome to the board D Best Full Forward ever even if you have D Worst User Name ever. Glad to see you've sorted out your Hoganstand spelling form your first post. Don't mean to sound pretentious but "eva" for "ever" and "gud" for "good" makes no sense to me.

Anyway, I'd be thinking that although it may be desirable for a FB to be able to play CB I think that a lot of FBs are one-position only and Smith sounds like he's that type of player (from wath a few Killygarry boys have told me-I still haven't seen him play). Anyway, I agree that a morale victory will do us in this particular game.

I'm away this weekend so no club or inter-county games for Lawrence :'(. So as many reports as possible on Sunday evening please lads.